City of Alturas
Modoc County
City of Alturas is a city authority in the State of California, serving 2,715 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — None — no online permit portal exists. The Building Permit Application is a downloadable PDF submitted directly to the Building Department (200 W. Q20
- Permit required
- Yes92% source
- Key document
- permit application form cited by 4 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · code of ordinances
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 92% · code of ordinances
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 62% · permit application form
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 65% · zoning ordinance
- Is there a historic-district review? Yes, for properties within the Downtown Historic District (-DH) Overlay Zone only — Zoning Ordinance §28.23.050 requires design review there. It is unclear how many, if any, single-family residential parcels fall within this overlay; it reads as a downtown/commercial-core district. 60% · zoning ordinance
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No PV-specific trigger identified — a full-text search of the codified zoning ordinance and municipal code found zero references to solar, photovoltaic, or renewable energy of any kind, so no Use Permit or Council-approval pathway is specifically written for residential solar. 70% · code of ordinances (full-text search)
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No codified system-size cap exists for residential solar. 85% · code of ordinances (full-text search)
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 80% · code of ordinances
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? No 68% · permit application form
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 90% · permit application form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? The city's generic Building Permit Application (project identification/APN, contractor's license declaration OR owner-builder declaration, workers' comp declaration, construction-lending-agency declaration, signature) plus a minimum of two sets of plans and specifications as required by MC §5-27(a). No solar-specific checklist exists. 78% · permit application form
- How many copies, and in what format? Minimum of two sets of plans and specifications, paper/PDF only — no online portal exists, so submittal is by mail, email, or in person to the Building Department. 78% · code of ordinances
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? None — no online permit portal exists. The Building Permit Application is a downloadable PDF submitted directly to the Building Department (200 W. North Street, Alturas, CA / 530-233-2512). 85% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? No 85% · department page
- How is the fee calculated? Valuation 80% · code of ordinances
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 88% · code of ordinances (local amendment, Exhibit C)
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days from issuance; may be extended twice for 180 days each (total maximum permit life 1.5 years) before a new permit is required. 90% · code of ordinances (local amendment, Exhibit C)
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Surprise Valley Electrification Corp. (SVEC) — a member-owned rural electric cooperative headquartered in Alturas. 90% · utility's own page
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit 85% · utility interconnection agreement
28 questions answered against City of Alturas’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building Department page names an in-house Building Official/Chief Building Inspector, and MC §5-25(b) codifies the Director of Public Works as building official for the city.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofalturas.us/department/building/index.php
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherMC §5-23 adopts the CBC, CEC (electrical), CPC, CMC, CFC, Energy Code and Green Building Code all under the same chapter, enforced by the same in-house Building Department (§5-25(b)); no evidence of delegation to a contractor or to Modoc County was found anywhere on the city's site or in the code.
code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH5BUCOHO_ARTIIBURE_S5-23ADMOCO
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherMC §5-25(e): 'Work without a permit is unlawful... it shall be unlawful for any person...to erect, construct, enlarge, alter, repair...any building or structure...without having first obtained a building permit.' No solar-specific exemption exists in Exhibit A's work-exempt-from-permit list.
code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH5BUCOHO_ARTIIBURE_S5-25ADEN
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe city publishes only one generic 'Building Permit Application' PDF (no separate electrical-only application exists anywhere on the site), and §5-27(a) routes all permit applications through one intake process. Exhibit A does list a separate 'Electrical permits' exemption category, so the underlying code treats electrical as its own permit type even though intake is combined in practice — hence moderate rather than high confidence.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofalturas.us/Documents/Department/Building/City%20of%20Alturas%20Building%20Permit%20Application.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherMC §5-26(a): 'Nothing contained in this article shall be construed to prevent any person from performing his/her own building, plumbing, electrical or mechanical work for his/her own private use when performed with the appropriate permit(s)...and as allowed by state law' — read alongside the Building Permit Application's standard licensed-contractor vs. owner-builder declaration (Section 2a/2b).
code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH5BUCOHO_ARTIIBURE_S5-26EX
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Permit Application only requires the standard state-law contractor license number/class (Section 2a) — no city-specific contractor registration or business-license step is referenced anywhere on the Building Department page or in Chapter 5.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofalturas.us/Documents/Department/Building/City%20of%20Alturas%20Building%20Permit%20Application.pdf
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherMC §5-26(a) (quoted at Q5) explicitly protects an owner performing their own electrical/building work under permit, and the Building Permit Application's Section 2b is a full standard Owner-Builder Declaration under B&P Code §7044.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofalturas.us/Documents/Department/Building/City%20of%20Alturas%20Building%20Permit%20Application.pdf
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
The city's generic Building Permit Application (project identification/APN, contractor's license declaration OR owner-builder declaration, workers' comp declaration, construction-lending-agency declaration, signature) plus a minimum of two sets of plans and specifications as required by MC §5-27(a). No solar-specific checklist exists.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the city's only published application form with the general submittal requirement in §5-27(a); there is no dedicated solar/PV submittal checklist anywhere on the site (confirmed by reviewing every document linked from the Building and Planning & Zoning pages).
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofalturas.us/Documents/Department/Building/City%20of%20Alturas%20Building%20Permit%20Application.pdf
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Minimum of two sets of plans and specifications, paper/PDF only — no online portal exists, so submittal is by mail, email, or in person to the Building Department.
Why the confidence is not higherMC §5-27(a): 'Application shall be accompanied by a minimum of two sets of plans and specifications as required. One set of plans and specifications shall be subject to retention by the building department.' No online portal was found anywhere on the city's site (see Q20/Q21).
code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH5BUCOHO_ARTIIBURE_S5-27PE
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Application PDF and the entire Documents/Department/Building and Documents/Department/Planning and Zoning folders as linked from the city site — no site-plan content requirement is spelled out anywhere (only the general 'plans and specifications' requirement of MC §5-27(a), with no itemized list of what a site plan must show)
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Application PDF, Chapter 5 of the municipal code (Articles I-VII), and the Planning & Zoning permit-application-instructions page — no one-line/three-line diagram requirement is stated anywhere; no PV-specific submittal document exists at all
https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH5BUCOHO
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame review as Q11 — no string/conductor calculation requirement appears anywhere in city documents
https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH5BUCOHO
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChapter 5 Exhibit C local amendments (§5-82) and Exhibit D policies (§5-83) — no PV-specific structural-PE-stamp threshold exists; only the state CBC's own generic engineered-design thresholds would apply by default, unconfirmed for solar
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Exhibit C/D review as Q13 — no electrical-PE-stamp threshold of any kind is published
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe Building Department page, its linked Documents folder, and the Municode text of Chapter 5, Exhibit B (§5-81) itself — the code's own editor's note says explicitly 'Exhibit B Fee Schedules are not set out at length herein but are on file and available for inspection in the Building and Safety Department Office,' confirming the dollar fee schedule is genuinely not published online anywhere
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Valuation
Why the confidence is not higherMC §5-28(a): fees 'shall be assigned based on the value of the proposed construction... in accordance with Exhibits A and B, the city building permit fee schedule.' The dollar figures themselves are not published online (see Q15 not_found), but the calculation basis is stated plainly in the code.
code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH5BUCOHO_ARTVIIEX._S5-81EXEESC
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherMC §5-82(a)(b) locally amends CBC §107.3: 'When submittal documents are required by Section 106.3.2, a plan review fee shall be paid. Said plan review fee shall be 50% of the building permit fee.'
code of ordinances (local amendment, Exhibit C) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH5BUCOHO_ARTVIIEX._S5-82EXOCAM
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department page and Chapter 5 (all articles) — no stated plan-review turnaround time exists anywhere; only the plan-review FEE (50% of permit fee, Q17) is specified, not a timeline
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days from issuance; may be extended twice for 180 days each (total maximum permit life 1.5 years) before a new permit is required.
Why the confidence is not higherMC §5-82(a), local amendment to CBC Appendix Ch.1 §105.3.2: 'Every permit issued...shall expire and become null and void 180 days from the date of issuance. Any permittee holding an unexpired permit may apply for an extension...for up to two 180 day extension periods. The maximum allowable total permit time period shall not exceed one and one half (1½) years.'
code of ordinances (local amendment, Exhibit C) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH5BUCOHO_ARTVIIEX._S5-82EXOCAM
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
None — no online permit portal exists. The Building Permit Application is a downloadable PDF submitted directly to the Building Department (200 W. North Street, Alturas, CA / 530-233-2512).
Why the confidence is not higherChecked the Building Department page, the site-wide 'How Do I' page, and every link in the site's main navigation; the only permit-related item anywhere is the static PDF application. The site's one online portal (ipn.paymentus.com/cp/coaa) is explicitly a utility-bill payment system, not a permitting portal.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofalturas.us/how_do_i/index.php
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame finding as Q20 — no online application/upload/payment system for permits exists on the city's site.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofalturas.us/department/building/index.php
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Surprise Valley Electrification Corp. (SVEC) — a member-owned rural electric cooperative headquartered in Alturas.
Why the confidence is not higherSVEC's own site states its mailing address is 800 W 12th St, Alturas, CA 96101 and that Alturas is within its primary service territory. This required correcting two dead-end traps first: a lookalike 'cityofalturas.org' domain that is unrelated commercial spam, and 'surprisevalleyelectric.com' (a private electrical CONTRACTOR named 'Valley Electric' in Fort Bidwell, not the utility), both of which had to be discarded before finding the real cooperative site at surprisevalleyelectric.org.
utility's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://surprisevalleyelectric.org/
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit
Why the confidence is not higherSVEC's own Net Metering Agreement §12 ('Pre-Operation Inspection'): 'Prior to interconnection...Member-Generator shall cause the Facility...to be inspected and approved by the state electrical inspector and by any other governmental authority having jurisdiction, and proof of such inspection and approval shall be furnished to the Cooperative.' Interconnection/PTO cannot happen until AHJ sign-off is complete and proven to the utility.
utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-08-31 https://surprisevalleyelectric.org/sites/default/files/Net%20Metering%20Agreement.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo architectural/design review requirement is triggered for standard residential building permits outside the Downtown Historic District Overlay Zone (see Q25); the zoning ordinance contains no PV-specific review step (control-proven, see Q28).
zoning ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofalturas.us/Documents/Department/Planning%20and%20Zoning/Alturas_Zoning_Ordinance_2014___FINAL_DOCUMENT_APPROVED_BY_CC.pdf
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Yes, for properties within the Downtown Historic District (-DH) Overlay Zone only — Zoning Ordinance §28.23.050 requires design review there. It is unclear how many, if any, single-family residential parcels fall within this overlay; it reads as a downtown/commercial-core district.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from Zoning Ordinance §28.23.050, but the ordinance does not state the overlay's exact residential footprint, and no solar-specific interaction with the DH overlay was found anywhere.
zoning ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofalturas.us/Documents/Department/Planning%20and%20Zoning/Alturas_Zoning_Ordinance_2014___FINAL_DOCUMENT_APPROVED_BY_CC.pdf
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChapter 5 Exhibit C local amendments (§5-82, which does cover roof covering, snow load and frost depth) and the Building Permit Application — no wind/windstorm certification requirement appears anywhere
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No PV-specific trigger identified — a full-text search of the codified zoning ordinance and municipal code found zero references to solar, photovoltaic, or renewable energy of any kind, so no Use Permit or Council-approval pathway is specifically written for residential solar.
Why the confidence is not higherControl-proven absence: searched the complete Municode text of all 36 chapters of the Alturas Municipal Code (via the Municode API, all top-level chapters pulled and concatenated) for 'solar', 'photovoltaic', '65850', and 'renewable' — zero hits on all four terms, against a positive control of 'electrical' (17 hits) and a fabricated control of 'zzqqx' (0 hits), confirming the search itself worked.
code of ordinances (full-text search) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No codified system-size cap exists for residential solar.
Why the confidence is not higherSame full-code search as Q27 — zero hits for 'solar'/'photovoltaic'/'renewable' anywhere in the 36-chapter code, including the Zoning Ordinance's use tables and the Building chapter, control-proven against 'electrical' (17 hits) and 'zzqqx' (0 hits).
code of ordinances (full-text search) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 (as the electrical portion of the 2025 California Electrical Code cycle, effective 1 Jan 2026) 65% · code of ordinances (self-executing adoption clause, inference)
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (effective 1 Jan 2026 statewide), via the same self-executing ratchet 70% · code of ordinances (self-executing adoption clause, inference)
- Which fire code edition is in force? Ambiguous / internally conflicting — MC §5-23(a)(7) (Ord. 474, self-executing) adopts 'the California Fire Code, 2007 Edition...and all subsequent editions thereof,' which would ratchet to the 2025 CFC; but Chapter 10 §10-2 (Ord. 447, older and never updated) separately still codifies the 'Uniform Fire Code, 1997 Edition' with no ratchet clause at all. The two provisions were never reconciled. 55% · code of ordinances (internal conflict)
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 95% · code of ordinances
- What is the installation judged against? The currently-adopted California Building/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical/Fire/Energy/Green Building Codes (Title 24), as adopted and self-ratcheted under MC §5-23, together with the city's own local amendments in Exhibit C. No PV-specific standard is separately cited anywhere in city documents. 80% · code of ordinances
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Alturas on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Required by inheritance from the currently-adopted NEC/CEC edition (NEC 690.12), but the city publishes no document of its own that states this — the phrase 'rapid shutdown' does not appear anywhere in the 36-chapter code. 55% · code of ordinances (full-text search, inference)
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 82% · code of ordinances (full-text search)
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes — the utility requires a visible-break disconnecting device on the member's side of the meter, in a lockable metal enclosure that the Cooperative can secure with its own padlock, located adjacent to its bi-directional meter. 85% · utility interconnection agreement
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Adjacent to the utility's bi-directional meter (member-side disconnect installed next to SVEC's metering equipment). 85% · utility interconnection agreement
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Likely yes, by inference — the Zoning Ordinance treats freestanding site features generically as 'Accessory Structures' subject to their own setback table (§28.41.070 and the district development-standards tables), and there is no separate ground-mount-solar carve-out anywhere in the code. 60% · zoning ordinance (inference)
20 questions answered against City of Alturas’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 (as the electrical portion of the 2025 California Electrical Code cycle, effective 1 Jan 2026)
Why the confidence is not higherMC §5-23(a)(5) adopts 'the California Electrical Code, 2007 Edition...and all subsequent editions thereof,' with §5-23(b) making each new triennial edition self-executing '180 days after formal adoption by the state.' The codified text is not retyped for each cycle, so this is inferred from the ratchet clause rather than confirmed by a current independent city statement (no equivalent of Kings County's live portal notice was found for Alturas).
code of ordinances (self-executing adoption clause, inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH5BUCOHO_ARTIIBURE_S5-23ADMOCO
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (effective 1 Jan 2026 statewide), via the same self-executing ratchet
Why the confidence is not higherMC §5-23(a)(1)/(b), same mechanism as Q29. Confidence is not higher because there is no independent current city confirmation (e.g., a portal notice) that the ratchet has actually been implemented in practice, only the self-executing text of the ordinance itself.
code of ordinances (self-executing adoption clause, inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH5BUCOHO_ARTIIBURE_S5-23ADMOCO
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Ambiguous / internally conflicting — MC §5-23(a)(7) (Ord. 474, self-executing) adopts 'the California Fire Code, 2007 Edition...and all subsequent editions thereof,' which would ratchet to the 2025 CFC; but Chapter 10 §10-2 (Ord. 447, older and never updated) separately still codifies the 'Uniform Fire Code, 1997 Edition' with no ratchet clause at all. The two provisions were never reconciled.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth provisions are live text in the current Municode publication with no cross-reference or repeal of one by the other; §5-23 is the later ordinance (474 > 447) and covers the same Title-24 code family with an explicit self-updating clause, so it is more likely the operative one in practice, but this is inference, not a stated resolution.
code of ordinances (internal conflict) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH10FIPR_ARTIIFIPRCO_S10-2ADUNFICO
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherMC §5-82, Exhibit C ('Local Amendments'), amends the CBC's permit-expiration section, plan-review-fee section, inspection-hours section, and roof-covering/snow-load/frost-depth sections due to 'topo-geographical, geographical and climatic conditions' — none PV-related.
code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH5BUCOHO_ARTVIIEX._S5-82EXOCAM
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The currently-adopted California Building/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical/Fire/Energy/Green Building Codes (Title 24), as adopted and self-ratcheted under MC §5-23, together with the city's own local amendments in Exhibit C. No PV-specific standard is separately cited anywhere in city documents.
Why the confidence is not higherSynthesized directly from §5-23 (adoption) and §5-82 (local amendments); no solar-specific standard exists to add to this list (control-proven at Q27/Q28).
code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH5BUCOHO_ARTIIBURE_S5-23ADMOCO
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChapter 5 Exhibit C (§5-82, the complete local-amendments text, three parts, fully read) — no service-upgrade or busbar-sizing rule of any kind exists beyond whatever the adopted NEC/CEC itself contains by default
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame full read of Exhibit C (§5-82) as Q34 — no mounting-system or attachment-spacing rule beyond the generic roof-covering/snow-load/frost-depth amendments, none of which are PV-specific
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull-code search (Q27/Q28 method) for 'solar'/'photovoltaic'/'setback'/'pathway' context, plus Chapter 10 (Fire Protection) in full — no ridge-setback or access-pathway rule specific to PV exists; whichever fire code edition is actually in force (see Q31's internal conflict) would carry its own generic default requirement, but the city states none locally
https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH10FIPR
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Required by inheritance from the currently-adopted NEC/CEC edition (NEC 690.12), but the city publishes no document of its own that states this — the phrase 'rapid shutdown' does not appear anywhere in the 36-chapter code.
Why the confidence is not higherControl-proven absence in the same full-code search as Q27/Q28 ('rapid shutdown' and '690.12': 0 hits; 'electrical': 17 hits; 'zzqqx': 0 hits). The requirement is inferred purely from the adopted-code ratchet (Q29), not stated locally.
code of ordinances (full-text search, inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull-code search (Q27/Q28) plus the Building Permit Application — no placard/label requirement of any kind is stated by the city (control-proven absence)
https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherControl-proven — the city has no PV-specific ordinance text of any kind (Q27/Q28), so it necessarily specifies no placard wording of its own.
code of ordinances (full-text search) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame full-code search as Q39 — no letter-height, colour or material spec exists anywhere in city documents
https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull-code search plus the Building Permit Application and Planning & Zoning permit-instructions page — no site-plan/facility-map placard requirement is stated
https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes — the utility requires a visible-break disconnecting device on the member's side of the meter, in a lockable metal enclosure that the Cooperative can secure with its own padlock, located adjacent to its bi-directional meter.
Why the confidence is not higherSVEC's own Net Metering Agreement §9 ('Disconnection'): 'Member-Generator shall furnish and install, on its side of the meter, a disconnecting device capable of fully disconnecting and isolating the Facility...The disconnecting device shall be located adjacent to the Cooperative's bi-directional metering equipment and shall be of the visible break type in a metal enclosure that can be secured by a Cooperative-owned padlock.'
utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-08-31 https://surprisevalleyelectric.org/sites/default/files/Net%20Metering%20Agreement.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull-code search for label-placement language beyond the utility's own disconnect-location rule (captured separately at Q48) — no city-side label-placement rule exists
https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull-code search plus Chapter 5 Exhibit C/D — no city-stated equipment-listing requirement exists; CEC §110.3 would apply by default as part of the adopted code but is not restated locally
https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull-code search (zero hits for 'solar'/'battery'/'ESS'/'energy storage') plus SVEC's Net Metering Policy and Net Metering Agreement PDFs (fully OCR'd/extracted) — neither the city nor the utility document addresses batteries or ESS at all
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame review as Q45 — no separate ESS permit or inspection requirement exists anywhere
https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Likely yes, by inference — the Zoning Ordinance treats freestanding site features generically as 'Accessory Structures' subject to their own setback table (§28.41.070 and the district development-standards tables), and there is no separate ground-mount-solar carve-out anywhere in the code.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the zoning ordinance's general accessory-structure framework rather than a solar-specific statement, since no ground-mount PV provision exists at all (control-proven at Q27/Q28).
zoning ordinance (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofalturas.us/Documents/Department/Planning%20and%20Zoning/Alturas_Zoning_Ordinance_2014___FINAL_DOCUMENT_APPROVED_BY_CC.pdf
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Adjacent to the utility's bi-directional meter (member-side disconnect installed next to SVEC's metering equipment).
Why the confidence is not higherSame source and quotation as Q42.
utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-08-31 https://surprisevalleyelectric.org/sites/default/files/Net%20Metering%20Agreement.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
Nothing recorded for City of Alturas on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 85% · code of ordinances
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? Not published for solar specifically. Generically, MC §5-30 requires an inspection-record card be posted and requires inspection/approval before continuing work past any specified point; for a typical residential PV retrofit this would most likely mean a single final electrical/building inspection, but no solar-specific sequence is published. 55% · code of ordinances (inference)
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No 78% · department page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Green tag 72% · utility's own page
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer 85% · utility interconnection agreement
14 questions answered against City of Alturas’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department page, the site-wide How Do I page, and the Fire Department page (which does offer online appointment booking for the Fire Marshal, but that is unrelated to building/electrical inspections) — no stated method for booking a building/electrical inspection was found; only a general office phone number (530-233-2512) is published
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame review as Q49 — no advance-notice requirement is published
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame review as Q49/Q50 — no same-day or AM/PM window language exists anywhere on the site
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherMC §5-25(b): 'This article shall be enforced by the building department'; §5-30(a): 'All work for which a permit is required by this article shall be subject to inspection and approval by the building official.' No delegation to a firm or to Modoc County was found anywhere.
code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH5BUCOHO_ARTIIBURE_S5-30IN
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedN/A — Q52 establishes the Building Department performs its own final inspection in-house; there is no delegation to identify
https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH5BUCOHO_ARTIIBURE_S5-30IN
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Not published for solar specifically. Generically, MC §5-30 requires an inspection-record card be posted and requires inspection/approval before continuing work past any specified point; for a typical residential PV retrofit this would most likely mean a single final electrical/building inspection, but no solar-specific sequence is published.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the general inspection chapter (§5-30) in the absence of any solar-specific document; the city publishes no PV inspection checklist or sequence (see Q57).
code of ordinances (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH5BUCOHO_ARTIIBURE_S5-30IN
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMC §5-30 (Inspections) in full, and the Building Permit Application — no rough-in or mid-roof inspection stage is specified for any permit type, solar or otherwise; the code only speaks generically of 'inspection and approval' at unspecified 'points'
https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH5BUCOHO_ARTIIBURE_S5-30IN
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull review of every Building Department document (Permit Application, Rental Housing Program materials, Ordinance 531) — no published inspection checklist of any kind exists to confirm whether labels/listings are checked
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe only documents published anywhere under the Building Department are the generic Building Permit Application, the Rental Housing Program materials, and Ordinance 531 — no inspection checklist of any kind (solar or otherwise) is published.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofalturas.us/department/building/index.php
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame document review as Q56 — no on-site-documents-at-inspection requirement is published anywhere
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChapter 5, Exhibit B (fee schedule) — the editor's note confirms the fee schedule itself, which would contain any re-inspection fee, is not published online at all (see Q15)
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChapter 5 in full and the Building Department page — no published process for how corrections are issued or cleared exists beyond the code's general 'approval required' language (§5-30(c))
https://library.municode.com/ca/alturas/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH5BUCOHO_ARTIIBURE_S5-30IN
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Green tag
Why the confidence is not higherThe utility's own new-service instructions state: 'Once your service panel has been installed, you must contact the County Building Inspector to approve and green tag your service panel. SVEC cannot install a meter without a green tag.' This is SVEC boilerplate written for its whole multi-county rural territory (hence 'County Building Inspector'), but the 'green tag' terminology is the utility's own description of the AHJ pass document, and for a permit inside Alturas city limits the equivalent city Building Official sign-off would be what triggers it. No city document itself uses this or any other specific term for its final approval.
utility's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://surprisevalleyelectric.org/newmodified-service-1
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer
Why the confidence is not higherSVEC's Net Metering Agreement §12 requires the Member-Generator (i.e., the applicant/installer) to furnish proof of AHJ inspection and approval to the Cooperative before interconnection — the AHJ itself takes no active role in notifying the utility.
utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-08-31 https://surprisevalleyelectric.org/sites/default/files/Net%20Metering%20Agreement.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Alturas against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Alturas is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical — both administered in-house by the City's Public Works Department, which is codified as the Building Department; Fire code adoption sits in the same chapter with no codified PV role. NOT delegated to Modoc County: the city maintains its own Building Department, Planning & Zoning Department and Fire Department, entirely separate from Modoc County's own Building Safety office, which is AHJ only for the unincorporated county.
- Overridden by
- No local expedited-solar (Gov. Code §65850.5/§65850.52, AB 2188/SB 379) ordinance was found anywhere in the codified municipal code (full-text search of all 36 chapters returned zero hits for 'solar', 'photovoltaic', '65850', or 'renewable' — control-proven, see Q28/Q37/Q39). State law nonetheless applies by operation of law regardless of local codification, and AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) now bars the city from adopting any residential amendment more restrictive than the state code through 1 Jun 2031.
- Why not higher
- MC §5-41 declares the Public Works Department to be the Building Department 'as defined by title 8, chapter 9, article 7, section 16602.5 of the [state] Administrative Code'; §5-25(b) states plainly 'The director of public works is the building official for the city of Alturas.' The city's own website independently confirms this: the Building Department contact, Dominic Budmark, is titled 'Assistant Director of Public Works/Chief Building Inspector' on a cityofalturas.us email. This is distinct from Modoc County, which has its own separate Building Safety department serving only unincorporated territory (countyofmodoc.gov). Confidence is 90 rather than higher because the org-chart title ('Assistant Director') is one step below the code's named official ('Director'), consistent with the code's own deputization clause (§5-25(b)) but not spelled out as such anywhere.
- Permit required
- Yes92%
- Portal
- None — no online permit portal exists. The Building Permit Application is a downloadable PDF submitted directly to the Building Department (200 W. North Street, Alturas, CA / 530-233-2512).85%
- Electrical code
- 2023 (as the electrical portion of the 2025 California Electrical Code cycle, effective 1 Jan 2026)65%
- Own placard wording
- No82%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 82%
No
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top 85%
Yes — the utility requires a visible-break disconnecting device on the member's side of the meter, in a lockable metal enclosure that the Cooperative can secure with its own padlock, located adjacent to its bi-directional meter.
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.