City of Antioch
Contra Costa County
City of Antioch is a city authority in the State of California, serving 115,291 residents. 11,454 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Instant/same-day for SolarAPP+-eligible systems (automated code-compliance approval); no separate turnaround figure published for standard (non-SolarApp) plan review Q18 Where you file — Antioch Civic Access (Tyler Enterprise Permitting & Licensing / EnerGov) at antiochca-energovweb.tylerhost.net, Q20
- Permit required
- Yes98% source
- What it costs
- $328.00 flat City permit fee, plus a $35.00 SolarAPP+ processing fee ($25 additional if paired with energy storage) — roughly $363–$388 all-in88% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Instant/same-day for SolarAPP+-eligible systems (automated code-compliance approval); no separate turnaround figure published for standard (non-SolarApp) plan review65% source
- Key document
- ordinance cited by 8 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 88% · ordinance
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 98% · department page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 82% · fee schedule
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No independent City HOA-approval requirement; state Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714), referenced directly in the local ordinance's own definition section, limits any HOA/CC&R restriction on solar installation 75% · ordinance
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No separate wind/windstorm certification — structural wind and seismic load adequacy is self-verified by the installer 'using standard engineering evaluation techniques' per §8-20.03(A), not a distinct certificate 70% · ordinance
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No — for qualifying small residential rooftop systems, approval is administrative (by the Building Official) per §8-20.04(C); no Use Permit or Council approval requirement was found for such systems 75% · ordinance
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No hard cap — the ≤10kW AC / 30kW thermal threshold in §8-20.01(1) only gates eligibility for the streamlined administrative process; larger residential systems are permitted but go through standard (non-expedited) plan review 80% · ordinance
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 62% · department page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? No 60% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 68% · department page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? SolarAPP+ Approval Documents, SolarAPP+ Inspection Checklist, single-line diagram, and the Citizen Access permit application (plus Licensed Contractor/Owner-Builder Declaration for non-SolarApp submittals) 80% · department page
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic submittal only via Citizen Access / SolarAPP+ portal; no physical copy count specified for solar 60% · ordinance
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Not clearly required for a simple rooftop retrofit — the City's 4-step SolarAPP+ process does not list a site plan; the detailed site-plan requirements in the general Residential Permit Checklist page appear written for other permit types (new construction/additions), not confirmed as applied to PV retrofits 50% · department page
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 95% · department page
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Effectively yes — SolarAPP+'s automated compliance check enforces explicit string/conductor limits (max 2 DC strings in parallel, max 9 current-carrying conductors per raceway, wire ratings) though not as a separately stamped calc package 65% · eligibility checklist
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No PE stamp required for SolarAPP+-eligible small systems (≤10kW AC/30kW thermal) — applicant/installer self-verifies structural adequacy 'using standard engineering evaluation techniques' per §8-20.03(A); threshold above that not documented 65% · ordinance
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No PE stamp required for SolarAPP+-eligible small systems — installer self-verifies the existing electrical system's adequacy at the applicant's cost per §8-20.03(B) 65% · ordinance
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Antioch Civic Access (Tyler Enterprise Permitting & Licensing / EnerGov) at antiochca-energovweb.tylerhost.net, paired with SolarAPP+ at gosolarapp.org for the solar-specific code-compliance review 90% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 88% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $328.00 flat City permit fee, plus a $35.00 SolarAPP+ processing fee ($25 additional if paired with energy storage) — roughly $363–$388 all-in 88% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Flat 88% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No 65% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Instant/same-day for SolarAPP+-eligible systems (automated code-compliance approval); no separate turnaround figure published for standard (non-SolarApp) plan review 65% · department page
- Which utility handles interconnection here? PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric) — by elimination: Antioch is not among the Contra Costa County cities listed on MCE's own CCA service-area page, and Contra Costa's other CCA (Ava Community Energy) does not serve this part of the county either, leaving PG&E as the default bundled utility 62% · utility service-area page
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit 85% · ordinance
28 questions answered against City of Antioch’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Municipal Code Ch. 8-20 and live Solar Permits webpage both describe Antioch's Building Division as the issuing/inspecting authority.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/294/Solar-Permits
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding + Electrical are combined and self-performed by Antioch's Building Division (single $328 solar fee line, single Ch.20 permit); fire code enforcement is delegated to Contra Costa County Fire Protection District per §8-15.03 — noted under jurisdiction.delegated_to.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-25984
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherStated plainly on the City's Solar Permits page and required under Municipal Code Ch. 8-20.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/294/Solar-Permits
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule lists one flat 'Solar Photovoltaic System – Residential' fee ($328) rather than separate building/electrical valuation lines; Ch. 20 describes one consolidated permit and one consolidated inspection.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/4587/Master-Fee-Schedule-Effective-July-1-2026-as-Amended-June-9-2026-PDF
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ eligibility checklist requires the system be 'Installed by contractor with all licenses required by jurisdiction,' but the City's Forms page separately hosts a 'Licensed Contractor / Owner-Builder Declaration' implying a homeowner owner-builder path exists outside the expedited SolarAPP+ route. Not stated as one bright-line rule.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/289/Forms-Documents
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo Antioch-specific contractor registry was found; SolarAPP+ requires the contractor to register on the national gosolarapp.org platform (by CSLB license), which is a state-level system, not a separate City registration.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/294/Solar-Permits
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherA 'Licensed Contractor / Owner-Builder Declaration' form is published by the Building Division, implying owner-builder self-permitting is allowed on the standard (non-SolarApp) path; the SolarApp+ expedited path itself requires a licensed contractor.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/289/Forms-Documents
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
SolarAPP+ Approval Documents, SolarAPP+ Inspection Checklist, single-line diagram, and the Citizen Access permit application (plus Licensed Contractor/Owner-Builder Declaration for non-SolarApp submittals)
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly listed in the City's 4-step Solar Permits process page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/294/Solar-Permits
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic submittal only via Citizen Access / SolarAPP+ portal; no physical copy count specified for solar
Why the confidence is not higherCh. 8-20.04(A) permits 'personal, mailed, or electronic submittal' but current practice per the Online Permitting System page is fully electronic; no copy count published for solar specifically.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-37484
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Not clearly required for a simple rooftop retrofit — the City's 4-step SolarAPP+ process does not list a site plan; the detailed site-plan requirements in the general Residential Permit Checklist page appear written for other permit types (new construction/additions), not confirmed as applied to PV retrofits
Why the confidence is not higherTwo City sources point different directions and neither is solar-specific; genuine ambiguity rather than a clean finding.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/841/Building-Permit-Requirements
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building Inspections page states a Single-Line Diagram (SLD) is a mandatory on-site document for solar inspections, and it's required in the SolarApp+ submittal step.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/946/Building-Inspections
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Effectively yes — SolarAPP+'s automated compliance check enforces explicit string/conductor limits (max 2 DC strings in parallel, max 9 current-carrying conductors per raceway, wire ratings) though not as a separately stamped calc package
Why the confidence is not higherExtracted directly from the City-hosted SolarAPP+ PV Eligibility Checklist PDF, read with pdftotext (not a fetch-tool summary).
eligibility checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/146/Rooftop-Residential-Retrofit-PV-Systems---Eligibility-Checklist-PDF
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
No PE stamp required for SolarAPP+-eligible small systems (≤10kW AC/30kW thermal) — applicant/installer self-verifies structural adequacy 'using standard engineering evaluation techniques' per §8-20.03(A); threshold above that not documented
Why the confidence is not higherDirect ordinance text; upper-threshold requirement not found in any source reviewed.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-37484
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
No PE stamp required for SolarAPP+-eligible small systems — installer self-verifies the existing electrical system's adequacy at the applicant's cost per §8-20.03(B)
Why the confidence is not higherDirect ordinance text.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-37484
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$328.00 flat City permit fee, plus a $35.00 SolarAPP+ processing fee ($25 additional if paired with energy storage) — roughly $363–$388 all-in
Why the confidence is not higherThe $328 figure is read directly from the current Master Fee Schedule PDF (effective 7/1/2026) via pdftotext, cross-checked against the City's own Solar Permits page for the SolarAPP+ processing fee.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/4587/Master-Fee-Schedule-Effective-July-1-2026-as-Amended-June-9-2026-PDF
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule lists 'Solar Photovoltaic System – Residential $328.00' as one flat line, distinct from valuation-based commercial solar tiers and from the general per-square-foot residential construction fee table on the same page.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/4587/Master-Fee-Schedule-Effective-July-1-2026-as-Amended-June-9-2026-PDF
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe general 'Plan Check Fee — 67% of Building Permit Fee' line applies to the valuation-based building permit table; the $328 residential solar line appears to be a stand-alone total fee, structured like other flat-fee items (e.g., address assignments) rather than a base fee plus add-on plan check.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/4587/Master-Fee-Schedule-Effective-July-1-2026-as-Amended-June-9-2026-PDF
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Instant/same-day for SolarAPP+-eligible systems (automated code-compliance approval); no separate turnaround figure published for standard (non-SolarApp) plan review
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ is designed for real-time approval; the City's Solar Permits page describes the 4-step process without stating a day count for either path.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/294/Solar-Permits
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMunicipal Code Title 8 Ch. 1 (Building Code adoption + §8-1.04 Local Procedures) — covers fee/valuation/refund rules but does not state a permit validity/expiration period; would presumably default to the adopted CBC's own administrative expiration provision, but that provision's text was not independently pulled to confirm no local amendment overrides it
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-26008
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Antioch Civic Access (Tyler Enterprise Permitting & Licensing / EnerGov) at antiochca-energovweb.tylerhost.net, paired with SolarAPP+ at gosolarapp.org for the solar-specific code-compliance review
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed on the City's own Online Permitting System and Solar Permits pages.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/941/Online-Permitting-System
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe 4-step SolarAPP+ → Citizen Access → inspection-scheduling process described on the City's Solar Permits page is entirely online end-to-end.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/294/Solar-Permits
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric) — by elimination: Antioch is not among the Contra Costa County cities listed on MCE's own CCA service-area page, and Contra Costa's other CCA (Ava Community Energy) does not serve this part of the county either, leaving PG&E as the default bundled utility
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from absence rather than a direct PG&E territory map — pge.com blocks automated reading, so a direct PG&E confirmation could not be obtained; this is elimination logic, not a first-party PG&E statement.
utility service-area page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.mcecleanenergy.org/service-area/
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §8-20.04(C) states explicitly that City approval 'does not authorize the applicant to connect the small residential rooftop energy system to the local utility provider's electricity grid. The applicant is responsible for obtaining such approval or permission from the local utility provider' — i.e., utility sign-off happens after permit issuance, before final connection.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-37484
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No independent City HOA-approval requirement; state Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714), referenced directly in the local ordinance's own definition section, limits any HOA/CC&R restriction on solar installation
Why the confidence is not higherCh. 8-20.01(2) folds Civ. Code §714 compliance directly into the definition of a qualifying system — a direct textual link, though it addresses HOA limits rather than affirmatively stating 'no HOA approval needed.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-37484
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMunicipal Code Ch. 20 (Small Rooftop Solar Systems, full text read), Ch. 16 (California Historical Code) table of contents, and the City's Solar Permits / Planning Division pages — no solar-specific historic-district review requirement or carve-out found anywhere
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-25984
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No separate wind/windstorm certification — structural wind and seismic load adequacy is self-verified by the installer 'using standard engineering evaluation techniques' per §8-20.03(A), not a distinct certificate
Why the confidence is not higherDirect ordinance text; California doesn't use a TDI-style wind certification scheme like some other states.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-37484
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No — for qualifying small residential rooftop systems, approval is administrative (by the Building Official) per §8-20.04(C); no Use Permit or Council approval requirement was found for such systems
Why the confidence is not higherDirect ordinance text describing administrative approval; larger/non-conforming systems outside the Ch.20 definition were not separately confirmed to need a Use Permit.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-37484
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No hard cap — the ≤10kW AC / 30kW thermal threshold in §8-20.01(1) only gates eligibility for the streamlined administrative process; larger residential systems are permitted but go through standard (non-expedited) plan review
Why the confidence is not higherDirect ordinance text defining 'small residential rooftop solar energy system.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-37484
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code), per the City's own Building Division page stating 2025 California codes took effect Jan 1, 2026 65% · department page
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code, per the City's Building Division page (effective Jan 1, 2026) 65% · department page
- Which fire code edition is in force? Codified text is internally inconsistent: §8-15.01 adopts 'the 2022 California Fire Code' while §8-15.03's own heading still reads 'the 2019 California Fire Code as amended' (both sections last amended by the same 2023 ordinance); Contra Costa County Fire Protection District amendments (Ord. 2019-37) apply on top. The 2025 cycle is presumably now in force per the City's general Jan 1, 2026 code-update statement but this was not independently confirmed for the Fire Code specifically. 45% · ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 85% · ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The adopted CA Building/Electrical/Residential/Fire Codes (2022 cycle codified; City states 2025 cycle in force since 1/1/2026) with City and Contra Costa FPD amendments, plus the SolarAPP+ national eligibility/compliance checklist for systems using the expedited path 75% · ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Antioch on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12; the SolarAPP+ eligibility checklist specifically excludes reliance on the 690.12(B)(2)(3) 'no exposed wiring or conductive parts' exemption method 78% · eligibility checklist
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Yes — standard NEC/SolarAPP+ placards (rapid-shutdown label, disconnect labeling, conduit ID stickers) are checked at final inspection; no distinct Antioch-only placard set beyond that national standard was identified 68% · department page
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No independent Antioch-specific placard wording found — relies on the standard NEC/SolarAPP+ label content 58% · department page
- Where must the labels be placed? At the main service equipment / point of interconnection — the only location detail found is the general inspection requirement that 'placards, conduit stickers [be] legible and applied' there 55% · department page
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Not fully specified — the City's Solar Permits page notes 'A Knife Blade Lockable Disconnect is required' (when applicable), consistent with the general readily-accessible, lockable AC disconnect standard near the meter, but an exact placement rule (e.g., utility-side vs. house-side) was not confirmed 50% · department page
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes — modules and inverters must be listed on the California Energy Commission (CEC) approved-equipment list 85% · eligibility checklist
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes — lithium-ion only; must be paired with new PV (no standalone ESS via SolarAPP+); ESS must be under 400 lbs with center of mass under 4 ft from the floor in high seismic design categories (D, E, F); not installed within habitable space; AC-coupled ESS may not be paralleled 88% · eligibility checklist
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No — under the SolarAPP+ path, ESS is combined with the PV permit; ESS must be paired with new PV and is not offered as a standalone permit/inspection 70% · eligibility checklist
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Ground-mounted systems are entirely excluded from the SolarAPP+ streamlined eligibility path ('No ground mounted systems'), implying they must go through standard plan review as a structure — an explicit zoning 'structure' classification was not independently located 55% · eligibility checklist
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No Antioch-specific amendment found; the applicable limits are the SolarAPP+ national eligibility thresholds — service ≤400A, service disconnect ≤225A, busbars ≤225A 65% · eligibility checklist
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Per the SolarAPP+ eligibility checklist: ≥7/8" rooftop conduit standoff height, ≤10" mounting height above roof surface on pitched (>2/12) roofs, ≥20% of any tilt-up array contained under 2 ft above roof, only one racking system type per installation 75% · eligibility checklist
20 questions answered against City of Antioch’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code), per the City's own Building Division page stating 2025 California codes took effect Jan 1, 2026
Why the confidence is not higherThe American Legal-hosted Municipal Code (current only through Ord. 2243-C-S, passed 12-10-2024) still codifies the 2022 CEC (based on the 2021 NEC, last amended by Ord. 2226-C-S in 2023) — the 2025-cycle adoption ordinance had evidently not yet been codified there as of this check, so I am relying on the City's own forward-looking statement over the lagging code library.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/203/Building-Division
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code, per the City's Building Division page (effective Jan 1, 2026)
Why the confidence is not higherSame codification lag as Q29: the AM Legal municipal code library's §8-1.01 still reads '2022 California Building Code' (Ord. 2226-C-S, passed 2-28-23), not yet updated to reflect the 2025 cycle the City says is now in force.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/203/Building-Division
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Codified text is internally inconsistent: §8-15.01 adopts 'the 2022 California Fire Code' while §8-15.03's own heading still reads 'the 2019 California Fire Code as amended' (both sections last amended by the same 2023 ordinance); Contra Costa County Fire Protection District amendments (Ord. 2019-37) apply on top. The 2025 cycle is presumably now in force per the City's general Jan 1, 2026 code-update statement but this was not independently confirmed for the Fire Code specifically.
Why the confidence is not higherFlagging a real discrepancy in the source itself rather than picking one of the two conflicting section headings — this is exactly the kind of internal inconsistency worth surfacing rather than papering over.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-26294
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCBC adopts Appendix Chapters I (patio covers) and J (grading) beyond the base code; the Fire Code incorporates Contra Costa County Fire Protection District amendments under County Ordinance 2019-37.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-26294
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The adopted CA Building/Electrical/Residential/Fire Codes (2022 cycle codified; City states 2025 cycle in force since 1/1/2026) with City and Contra Costa FPD amendments, plus the SolarAPP+ national eligibility/compliance checklist for systems using the expedited path
Why the confidence is not higherSynthesized from Ch. 1, 3, 15 adoption sections plus the SolarAPP+ checklists.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-25984
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
No Antioch-specific amendment found; the applicable limits are the SolarAPP+ national eligibility thresholds — service ≤400A, service disconnect ≤225A, busbars ≤225A
Why the confidence is not higherThese figures come from the City-hosted SolarAPP+ eligibility checklist PDF (extracted with pdftotext), which is a national standard document, not a locally-drafted amendment.
eligibility checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/146/Rooftop-Residential-Retrofit-PV-Systems---Eligibility-Checklist-PDF
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Per the SolarAPP+ eligibility checklist: ≥7/8" rooftop conduit standoff height, ≤10" mounting height above roof surface on pitched (>2/12) roofs, ≥20% of any tilt-up array contained under 2 ft above roof, only one racking system type per installation
Why the confidence is not higherExtracted directly from the City-hosted PDF via pdftotext.
eligibility checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/146/Rooftop-Residential-Retrofit-PV-Systems---Eligibility-Checklist-PDF
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMunicipal Code Ch. 15 (Fire Code adoption section, full text read) and both SolarAPP+ eligibility checklists — no Antioch-specific ridge setback or fire-access pathway table located; presumably governed by reference to the adopted CFC's own pathway tables (e.g. CFC §1204), but that table itself was not retrieved
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-26294
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12; the SolarAPP+ eligibility checklist specifically excludes reliance on the 690.12(B)(2)(3) 'no exposed wiring or conductive parts' exemption method
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly extracted from the City-hosted eligibility checklist PDF. Which NEC edition is in force carries the same codification-lag caveat as Q29.
eligibility checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/146/Rooftop-Residential-Retrofit-PV-Systems---Eligibility-Checklist-PDF
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes — standard NEC/SolarAPP+ placards (rapid-shutdown label, disconnect labeling, conduit ID stickers) are checked at final inspection; no distinct Antioch-only placard set beyond that national standard was identified
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed by the City's own Building Inspections page listing 'placards, conduit stickers legible and applied' as a required checked item.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/946/Building-Inspections
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No independent Antioch-specific placard wording found — relies on the standard NEC/SolarAPP+ label content
Why the confidence is not higherLooked in the Solar Permits page, Building Inspections page, both SolarAPP+ eligibility checklists, and the Forms & Documents page — no city-authored placard-wording template surfaced anywhere.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/946/Building-Inspections
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity Solar Permits page, Building Inspections page, Forms & Documents page, and both SolarAPP+ eligibility checklist PDFs (read via pdftotext, not summarized) — none specify placard letter height, color, or material
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame set of City solar/inspection pages and both SolarAPP+ checklist PDFs — no site plan / facility map placard (NEC 705.10-style) requirement described anywhere in Antioch's own materials
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAttempted to reach PG&E's own interconnection / Rule 21 / distributed generation manual directly (pge.com) for utility-specific placard requirements — the site returned a 404 to automated fetch and is known to block automated reading; no PG&E DG manual content could be retrieved this run
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
At the main service equipment / point of interconnection — the only location detail found is the general inspection requirement that 'placards, conduit stickers [be] legible and applied' there
Why the confidence is not higherNo more specific placement table located.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/946/Building-Inspections
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes — modules and inverters must be listed on the California Energy Commission (CEC) approved-equipment list
Why the confidence is not higherExtracted directly from the City-hosted SolarAPP+ eligibility checklist PDF.
eligibility checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/146/Rooftop-Residential-Retrofit-PV-Systems---Eligibility-Checklist-PDF
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes — lithium-ion only; must be paired with new PV (no standalone ESS via SolarAPP+); ESS must be under 400 lbs with center of mass under 4 ft from the floor in high seismic design categories (D, E, F); not installed within habitable space; AC-coupled ESS may not be paralleled
Why the confidence is not higherExtracted directly from the City-hosted SolarAPP+ PV+ESS Eligibility Checklist PDF via pdftotext.
eligibility checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/145/Rooftop-Residential-Retrofit-PV-Systems-with-Energy-Storage-Systems---Eligibility-Checklist-PDF
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No — under the SolarAPP+ path, ESS is combined with the PV permit; ESS must be paired with new PV and is not offered as a standalone permit/inspection
Why the confidence is not higherDirect reading of the PV+ESS eligibility checklist ('ESS must be paired with new PV at this time').
eligibility checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/145/Rooftop-Residential-Retrofit-PV-Systems-with-Energy-Storage-Systems---Eligibility-Checklist-PDF
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Ground-mounted systems are entirely excluded from the SolarAPP+ streamlined eligibility path ('No ground mounted systems'), implying they must go through standard plan review as a structure — an explicit zoning 'structure' classification was not independently located
Why the confidence is not higherInference from an exclusion rule, not a direct zoning-code statement; the zoning ordinance's own definition of 'structure' could not be retrieved (site-search tooling on the code library was unreliable during this run).
eligibility checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/146/Rooftop-Residential-Retrofit-PV-Systems---Eligibility-Checklist-PDF
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Not fully specified — the City's Solar Permits page notes 'A Knife Blade Lockable Disconnect is required' (when applicable), consistent with the general readily-accessible, lockable AC disconnect standard near the meter, but an exact placement rule (e.g., utility-side vs. house-side) was not confirmed
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E's own interconnection/Rule 21 handbook, which would normally give the precise placement spec, could not be fetched — pge.com blocks automated reading.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/294/Solar-Permits
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal (Civic Access) or Phone (925-779-7065) 90% · department page
- How much notice is required? At least 3 business days in advance; requests must be submitted by 1:00 PM the day before the desired date 90% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? AM (9am–12pm) and PM (12pm–3pm) windows are offered but not guaranteed; as of 8/1/2023 there is no guarantee of even next-day inspection availability 90% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes (Delegated in part) — the City's own Building Official performs the inspection, with a consolidated component potentially performed jointly with the Fire Chief, whose role is delegated to Contra Costa County Fire Protection District 82% · ordinance
- If delegated, to whom? Contra Costa County Fire Protection District (fire-code portion of the consolidated inspection only) 78% · ordinance
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes 90% · department page
- What must be on site at inspection? Printed building permit copy, printed approved construction plans, printed SolarApp+ Inspection Checklist, Single-Line Diagram, permit card, and an accessible ladder for roof access if needed 90% · department page
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes 90% · department page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (permit closeout) — not explicitly named in any source reviewed; inferred because solar is a retrofit rather than new construction, so a Certificate of Occupancy would not apply 48% · department page
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer 90% · ordinance
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $351.00 88% · fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? At plan-review stage: a written correction notice detailing deficiencies is issued, appealable to the Board of Administrative Appeals (§8-20.04(B)). At inspection stage: a failed inspection authorizes a subsequent re-inspection, subject to the $351 re-inspection fee. 80% · ordinance
14 questions answered against City of Antioch’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal (Civic Access) or Phone (925-779-7065)
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the Building Inspections page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/946/Building-Inspections
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
At least 3 business days in advance; requests must be submitted by 1:00 PM the day before the desired date
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the Building Inspections page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/946/Building-Inspections
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
AM (9am–12pm) and PM (12pm–3pm) windows are offered but not guaranteed; as of 8/1/2023 there is no guarantee of even next-day inspection availability
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the Building Inspections page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/946/Building-Inspections
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes (Delegated in part) — the City's own Building Official performs the inspection, with a consolidated component potentially performed jointly with the Fire Chief, whose role is delegated to Contra Costa County Fire Protection District
Why the confidence is not higherCh. 8-20.05 names both the Building Official and 'the Fire Chief or his/her designee' for the consolidated inspection; Ch. 15 establishes that the Fire Chief role sits with the County Fire Protection District.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-37484
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Contra Costa County Fire Protection District (fire-code portion of the consolidated inspection only)
Why the confidence is not higherCh. 8-15.03 names the Fire Chief of the Contra Costa County Fire Protection District (or designee) as the enforcement authority for the Fire Code within city boundaries.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-26294
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Only ONE inspection is required for a qualifying small residential rooftop solar system — a single, consolidated Building Official + Fire Chief/designee inspection
Why the confidence is not higherDirect ordinance text, §8-20.05.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-37484
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe ordinance explicitly limits qualifying systems to a single consolidated inspection with no separate rough-in/mid-roof stage.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-37484
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Inspections page requires 'placards, conduit stickers legible and applied' and 'Modules and Inverters must be listed on CEC' among checked items.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/946/Building-Inspections
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe mandatory printed 'SolarApp Inspection Checklist' plus the itemized requirements on the City's Building Inspections page together constitute a published inspection checklist.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/946/Building-Inspections
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Printed building permit copy, printed approved construction plans, printed SolarApp+ Inspection Checklist, Single-Line Diagram, permit card, and an accessible ladder for roof access if needed
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly listed on the City's Building Inspections page as required on-site materials (with explicit consequence of automatic failure if missing).
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/946/Building-Inspections
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$351.00
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule line item 'Reinspection (missed, incomplete, or 3rd inspection) — $351.00' under Community Development/Building Fees; verified this is the correct line and not the unrelated $160 Residential Rental Inspection Program re-inspection fee found elsewhere in the same document.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/4587/Master-Fee-Schedule-Effective-July-1-2026-as-Amended-June-9-2026-PDF
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
At plan-review stage: a written correction notice detailing deficiencies is issued, appealable to the Board of Administrative Appeals (§8-20.04(B)). At inspection stage: a failed inspection authorizes a subsequent re-inspection, subject to the $351 re-inspection fee.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines direct ordinance text (§8-20.04(B), §8-20.05) with the fee schedule's re-inspection line.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-37484
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (permit closeout) — not explicitly named in any source reviewed; inferred because solar is a retrofit rather than new construction, so a Certificate of Occupancy would not apply
Why the confidence is not higherNo source directly states what document/tag is issued on a passing solar inspection; this is an inference from the nature of the work, not a documented fact.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.antiochca.gov/946/Building-Inspections
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §8-20.04(C) states plainly that City approval 'does not authorize the applicant to connect... The applicant is responsible for obtaining such approval or permission from the local utility provider.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-37484
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Antioch against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Antioch is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (combined single permit for residential rooftop PV, administered by the City's Building Division)
- Delegated to
- Contra Costa County Fire Protection District — fire code enforcement and the fire-side portion of the consolidated small-system inspection only (Municipal Code §8-15.03, §8-20.05)
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code §65850.5 (mandates expedited/administrative review for small residential rooftop solar, codified locally as Antioch Municipal Code Title 8, Ch. 20); Cal. Civil Code §714 (Solar Rights Act, limits HOA/CC&R restrictions, cited directly in §8-20.01(2))
- Why not higher
- Antioch's own Municipal Code Title 8 Ch. 20 'Small Rooftop Solar Systems' (adopted 2015, still in force) directly codifies the City as issuing authority via its Building Official, with SolarAPP+ / Civic Access (Tyler EnerGov) as the live permitting route confirmed on the City's own website. Fire code (Ch. 15) is adopted by the City but enforcement is explicitly assigned to the Contra Costa County Fire Protection District, and Ch. 20's 'consolidated inspection' names both the Building Official and the Fire Chief (i.e., the County's Fire Chief) — a split worth flagging.
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/antioch/latest/antioch_ca/0-0-0-37484
Check the code edition before you build
This authority's published code edition does not match what the state has adopted. That usually means the authority's ordinance has not been updated for the current cycle — but a local amendment can also be lawful. Confirm with the building department before you submit.
- Permit required
- Yes98%
- Permit cost
- $328.00 flat City permit fee, plus a $35.00 SolarAPP+ processing fee ($25 additional if paired with energy storage) — roughly $363–$388 all-in88%
- Plan review
- Instant/same-day for SolarAPP+-eligible systems (automated code-compliance approval); no separate turnaround figure published for standard (non-SolarApp) plan review65%
- Portal
- Antioch Civic Access (Tyler Enterprise Permitting & Licensing / EnerGov) at antiochca-energovweb.tylerhost.net,90%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code), per the City's own Building Division page stating 2025 California codes took effect Jan 1, 202665%
- Own placard wording
- No independent Antioch-specific placard wording found — relies on the standard NEC/SolarAPP+ label content58%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal (Civic Access) or Phone (925-779-7065)90%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 58%
No independent Antioch-specific placard wording found — relies on the standard NEC/SolarAPP+ label content
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go 55%
At the main service equipment / point of interconnection — the only location detail found is the general inspection requirement that 'placards, conduit stickers [be] legible and applied' there
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.