City of Arcadia

Los Angeles County

Verified Aug. 4, 2026

City of Arcadia is a city authority in the State of California, serving 56,681 residents. 3,238 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined — solar permits are issued under a single unified permit type Q4 Plan review — SolarAPP+-eligible systems: instant, automated same-day permit issuance. Non-eligible systems reviewed through standard plan check: no published turnaround time… Q18 Where you file — City of Arcadia EDGE Portal (Tyler EnerGov 'ePermitting Gateway', arcadiaca-energovpub.tylerhost.net) for permit issuance and inspection scheduling; Q20

Permit required
Yes90% source
What it costs
Residential rooftop PV ≤10 kW: $36.00 permit + $172.00 plan check; >10 kW: $72.00 permit + $196.00 plan check; plus a 5.5% Technology Fee on permit+plan-check fees.85% source
Plan review turnaround
SolarAPP+-eligible systems: instant, automated same-day permit issuance. Non-eligible systems reviewed through standard plan check: no published turnaround time found.65% source
Key document
department page + application form cited by 6 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 92% · department page
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 88% · department page
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 90% · codified ordinance
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined — solar permits are issued under a single unified permit type 72% · department page
    • Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No, for City permitting purposes — Development Code §9103.01.100(C)(1) states the City 'shall not require... approval for any solar energy system permit based on the approval of the system by an association' (Civil Code §4080). Separately, Arcadia recognizes 5 HOAs with their own Architectural Review Boards (Resolution 7272) that review exterior work generally, but the Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714) limits what an HOA/ARB may deny for solar specifically. 70% · codified ordinance + department page
    • Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Yes, conditionally — a Minor Use Permit is required only if the Community Development Director makes a written finding that the specific solar installation has a 'specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety' (Development Code §9103.01.100(D)) 85% · codified ordinance
    • Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No local numeric size cap — Development Code Division 9 defines 'Solar Energy System' and 'Small Residential Solar Energy System' entirely by cross-reference to Gov. Code §65850.5(j)(4) and (j)(3) respectively, rather than setting its own kW or size threshold. 80% · codified ordinance
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

    • Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either — SolarAPP+ path is 'Licensed Contractors Only'; the standard (non-SolarAPP+) Building-Plan Check Application has a distinct 'Contractor or Owner/Builder' field 68% · department page + application form
    • Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes, via the standard (non-SolarAPP+) path 62% · permit application form
  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • How many copies, and in what format? Digital format only, submitted via the EDGE Portal or on a flash drive — no paper copy count specified 75% · department page
    • Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — a 'fully dimensioned and scaled plot plan showing all buildings on the site' is required for plan submittal generally; the only solar-specific submittal document (a 2014 statewide template, never filled in by the City) additionally recommends a site diagram showing panel arrangement, north arrow, lot dimensions and setbacks 58% · department page
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? City of Arcadia EDGE Portal (Tyler EnerGov 'ePermitting Gateway', arcadiaca-energovpub.tylerhost.net) for permit issuance and inspection scheduling; SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for automated design review/approval on eligible systems 95% · department page
    • Can the whole application be completed online? Yes, for SolarAPP+-eligible systems — design submission, permit application, payment, and inspection scheduling are all completed online across solarapp.nrel.gov and the EDGE Portal 88% · department page
    • What does a residential solar permit cost? Residential rooftop PV ≤10 kW: $36.00 permit + $172.00 plan check; >10 kW: $72.00 permit + $196.00 plan check; plus a 5.5% Technology Fee on permit+plan-check fees. Battery/Energy Storage System: $67.00 permit + $63.00 plan review. 85% · fee schedule (Council resolution)
    • How is the fee calculated? Tiered — flat fee within kW size brackets (≤10 kW / >10 kW residential; further commercial tiers), not a straight per-kW or valuation formula 82% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes — separate residential solar plan-check line items ($172 ≤10 kW / $196 >10 kW) distinct from the permit-issuance fee 90% · fee schedule
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

    • What is the stated plan-review turnaround? SolarAPP+-eligible systems: instant, automated same-day permit issuance. Non-eligible systems reviewed through standard plan check: no published turnaround time found. 65% · department page
    • How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days (standard CBC default; no Arcadia-specific amendment found) 55% · department page
    • Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) handles interconnection as the distribution utility. Arcadia is also a member agency of Clean Power Alliance (a Community Choice Aggregator), which supplies default generation to ~98% of Arcadia accounts, but CCAs play no role in interconnection/NEM — that stays with SCE. 82% · city page + utility/CCA source

28 questions answered against City of Arcadia’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity runs its own Building Services Division and Fire Department; confirmed absent from both the LA County DPW building-contract-city list and the LACoFD contracting list, checked by name.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/index.php

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both

Why the confidence is not higherCity issues both building and electrical permits itself via its EDGE portal and SolarAPP+; not delegated to county.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/solar_app.php

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherDevelopment Code §9103.01.110 governs the permitting of 'all small residential rooftop solar energy systems' and requires an expedited administrative permit application.

codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Planning%20and%20Zoning%20Services/Development%20Code/Development%20Code%20by%20Section/Division%203%20Site%20Planning%20and%20General%20Development%20Standards.pdf?t=202512220732370

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined — solar permits are issued under a single unified permit type

Why the confidence is not higherThe SolarAPP+ page tells applicants to find their permit by number using the example format 'SOLR-23-XXXX', indicating one combined solar permit record covering both building and electrical rather than two separate permit numbers.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/solar_app.php

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either — SolarAPP+ path is 'Licensed Contractors Only'; the standard (non-SolarAPP+) Building-Plan Check Application has a distinct 'Contractor or Owner/Builder' field

Why the confidence is not higherTwo different documents give two different answers depending on path; no single ordinance statement found reconciling them.

department page + application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/solar_app.php

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Services index page, SolarAPP+ page, EDGE portal description — no statement of a pre-registration requirement for contractors distinct from holding a valid CSLB license

https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/index.php

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes, via the standard (non-SolarAPP+) path

Why the confidence is not higherThe general Building-Plan Check Application form has a field labeled 'Email Address for Contractor or Owner/Builder', implying owner-builder self-permitting is accepted outside the SolarAPP+ track, which is itself restricted to licensed contractors only.

permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Building%20Services/Applications%20and%20Forms/Building%20and%20Construction/Building-Plan%20Check%20Application.pdf?t=202512111246480

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedApplications and Forms page; the only PV-specific submittal document linked ('Photovoltaic Submittal & Installation Guidelines.pdf') is the un-customized 2014 statewide 'California Solar Permitting Guidebook' template with its checklist placeholders (e.g. '[WEBSITE ADDRESS]', '[LIST TYPE OF PERMIT(S)...]') still unfilled — it is not Arcadia's actual completed checklist

https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Building%20Services/Applications%20and%20Forms/Building%20and%20Construction/Photovoltaic%20Submittal%20%26%20Installation%20Guidelines.pdf?t=202512111251070

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

Digital format only, submitted via the EDGE Portal or on a flash drive — no paper copy count specified

Why the confidence is not higherStated generally for all plan submittals on the Plan Check Information page, not solar-specific.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/plan_check_information.php

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Yes — a 'fully dimensioned and scaled plot plan showing all buildings on the site' is required for plan submittal generally; the only solar-specific submittal document (a 2014 statewide template, never filled in by the City) additionally recommends a site diagram showing panel arrangement, north arrow, lot dimensions and setbacks

Why the confidence is not higherThe general plan-check requirement is confirmed on the City's own page; the solar-specific detail comes only from an un-customized template PDF with bracketed placeholders still unfilled, so it is not confirmed as Arcadia's actual requirement.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/plan_check_information.php

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page's linked eligibility-checklist URL (help.solar-app.org/category/135-eligible-systems) — the link is dead (301s to help.gosolarapp.org, which 404s); the only PV submittal PDF is the un-customized generic template

https://help.solar-app.org/category/135-eligible-systems

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame dead eligibility-checklist link and un-customized generic template as Q11

https://help.solar-app.org/category/135-eligible-systems

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedUn-customized generic 'Structural Criteria' toolkit template inside the PV Guidelines PDF (placeholders unfilled); no separate Arcadia structural-criteria bulletin found on Applications and Forms page

https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Building%20Services/Applications%20and%20Forms/Building%20and%20Construction/Photovoltaic%20Submittal%20%26%20Installation%20Guidelines.pdf?t=202512111251070

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

Residential rooftop PV ≤10 kW: $36.00 permit + $172.00 plan check; >10 kW: $72.00 permit + $196.00 plan check; plus a 5.5% Technology Fee on permit+plan-check fees. Battery/Energy Storage System: $67.00 permit + $63.00 plan review.

Why the confidence is not higherFrom the City's Building & Safety Fee Schedule, Resolution No. 7558 (adopted by Council 16 Apr 2024), whose 'NEW FEES EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2024' column is the current effective schedule. Linked from the City's own AB 2234 page as 'the latest Fee Schedule.' Fees are CPI-adjusted annually per the resolution's own text, so a later unpublished increase is possible.

fee schedule (Council resolution) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Building%20Services/Assembly%20Bill%202234/7558.pdf?t=202512081123430

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Tiered — flat fee within kW size brackets (≤10 kW / >10 kW residential; further commercial tiers), not a straight per-kW or valuation formula

Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule lists distinct flat dollar amounts per size bracket rather than a per-kW multiplier or percent-of-valuation formula.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Building%20Services/Assembly%20Bill%202234/7558.pdf?t=202512081123430

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

Yes — separate residential solar plan-check line items ($172 ≤10 kW / $196 >10 kW) distinct from the permit-issuance fee

Why the confidence is not higherExplicit separate line items in the same fee schedule.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Building%20Services/Assembly%20Bill%202234/7558.pdf?t=202512081123430

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

SolarAPP+-eligible systems: instant, automated same-day permit issuance. Non-eligible systems reviewed through standard plan check: no published turnaround time found.

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own SolarAPP+ page describes 'an online application for an auto-issued permit'; no business-day SLA is published anywhere on the Building Services or Plan Check Information pages for the conventional path.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/solar_app.php

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

180 days (standard CBC default; no Arcadia-specific amendment found)

Why the confidence is not higherPlan Check Information page states plan review itself 'expires by time limitation... if the permit is not obtained within 180 days'; this is the same 180-day figure used by the state-model CBC for issued-permit expiration, but no Arcadia page was found stating the issued-permit expiration figure directly, so this is inferred by analogy to the adopted 2025 CBC default.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/plan_check_information.php

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

City of Arcadia EDGE Portal (Tyler EnerGov 'ePermitting Gateway', arcadiaca-energovpub.tylerhost.net) for permit issuance and inspection scheduling; SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for automated design review/approval on eligible systems

Why the confidence is not higherNamed and linked directly on the City's own Building Services and SolarAPP+ pages.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/solar_app.php

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Yes, for SolarAPP+-eligible systems — design submission, permit application, payment, and inspection scheduling are all completed online across solarapp.nrel.gov and the EDGE Portal

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's SolarAPP+ page walks through all four steps (design, permit, payment, inspection request) entirely online with no in-person requirement stated.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/solar_app.php

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Southern California Edison (SCE) handles interconnection as the distribution utility. Arcadia is also a member agency of Clean Power Alliance (a Community Choice Aggregator), which supplies default generation to ~98% of Arcadia accounts, but CCAs play no role in interconnection/NEM — that stays with SCE.

Why the confidence is not higherSCE confirmed from the City's own Building Services page, which links an 'SCE — Request for Power (Upgrade or New)' resource for service upgrades; CCA membership confirmed directly from Clean Power Alliance's own Arcadia member-agency snapshot (OCR'd from the PDF, dated April 2021, so participation-rate figures are dated even though membership itself is a structural, not a numeric, fact). PowerToChoose was not used per instructions.

city page + utility/CCA source checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Building%20Services/PSA%20City%20Website%20Language.pdf

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSCE interconnection resources linked from the City's own page; on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook 302s to the SCE homepage and the SCE direct-interconnections page 404s, so the sequence (before/after/parallel to city permit) could not be confirmed from a live SCE source, and no Arcadia document states it either

https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Building%20Services/PSA%20City%20Website%20Language.pdf

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

No, for City permitting purposes — Development Code §9103.01.100(C)(1) states the City 'shall not require... approval for any solar energy system permit based on the approval of the system by an association' (Civil Code §4080). Separately, Arcadia recognizes 5 HOAs with their own Architectural Review Boards (Resolution 7272) that review exterior work generally, but the Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714) limits what an HOA/ARB may deny for solar specifically.

Why the confidence is not higherNarrow finding, not a flat yes/no: the City-permit answer and the private-HOA-review answer differ, and only a subset of Arcadia properties sit within one of the 5 named HOA areas.

codified ordinance + department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/planning_zoning_services/homeowners_associations.php

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedHistoric Preservation Commission page — confirms the Commission reviews 'modifications to designated historic landmarks or resources within a designated historic district' in general, but names no specific district, and no solar-specific historic-district rule was found on the Building Services or Planning pages

https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/boards_commissions/historic_preservation_commission.php

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedDevelopment Code §9103.01.100(C)(1)-(11), which lists every performance/structural/safety standard imposed on solar systems, with no wind or windstorm certification requirement among them (positive control: the same section's structural/setback/height requirements are clearly present, so the search mechanism works)

https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Planning%20and%20Zoning%20Services/Development%20Code/Development%20Code%20by%20Section/Division%203%20Site%20Planning%20and%20General%20Development%20Standards.pdf?t=202512220732370

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

Yes, conditionally — a Minor Use Permit is required only if the Community Development Director makes a written finding that the specific solar installation has a 'specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety' (Development Code §9103.01.100(D))

Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated in the codified solar ordinance as an exception process, not a general requirement.

codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Planning%20and%20Zoning%20Services/Development%20Code/Development%20Code%20by%20Section/Division%203%20Site%20Planning%20and%20General%20Development%20Standards.pdf?t=202512220732370

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

No local numeric size cap — Development Code Division 9 defines 'Solar Energy System' and 'Small Residential Solar Energy System' entirely by cross-reference to Gov. Code §65850.5(j)(4) and (j)(3) respectively, rather than setting its own kW or size threshold.

Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed by reading the actual definitions section; the City chose to defer to the state statutory definition rather than write its own.

codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Planning%20and%20Zoning%20Services/Development%20Code/Development%20Code%20by%20Section/Division%209%20Definitions.pdf?t=202512220734260

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (adopted as the 2025 California Electrical Code, part of the current 2025 CBC triennial cycle) 82% · department page
    • Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code 90% · department page
    • Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code 88% · department page
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes — Development Code §9103.01.100/§9103.01.110 (Ord. No. 2375) are Arcadia-specific local amendments implementing and adding to Gov. Code §65850.5/Civil Code §714 beyond bare state adoption 72% · codified ordinance
    • What is the installation judged against? The 2025 CBC/CEC/CRC as adopted, plus Development Code §9103.01.100/.110's location, mounting, height, and setback standards for solar specifically 80% · codified ordinance
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    Nothing recorded for City of Arcadia on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    • Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown is required per NEC 690.12 as incorporated by the 2023 NEC / 2025 California Electrical Code 68% · inference from adopted code edition
  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    Nothing recorded for City of Arcadia on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment must meet standards from 'accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories' per Development Code §9103.01.100(C)(10)-(11), i.e., NRTL-listed equipment, though no city-maintained 'approved products list' was found 68% · codified ordinance
    • Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, batteries/ESS are permitted. The Building & Safety fee schedule carries a dedicated 'Energy Storage System' permit ($67) and plan-review ($63) line, separate from PV. The Arcadia Fire Department's separate operational-permit fee schedule also lists 'Energy Storage System — $465' and 'Lithium Batteries — $465' inside its generic California Fire Code Chapter-1 operational-permit list (alongside Aerosol Product, Compressed Gases, etc.); whether that $465 operational permit actually applies to a typical 1–2 unit residential garage battery, as opposed to only larger/commercial installations, is not stated and is flagged here rather than resolved. 65% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes — separate Building Division ESS permit ($67) and ESS plan review ($63) fee lines distinct from the PV lines 82% · fee schedule
    • Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes — 'Ground-mounted systems and freestanding solar structures shall conform to the setback requirements for any accessory structure in single-family residential zones... and shall not exceed a height of six (6) feet' (Development Code §9103.01.100(C)(2)-(3)) 88% · codified ordinance
    • Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? 'Roof-mounted collector panels shall be flush mounted at the same or as close as possible to the pitch of the roof' and, where feasible, placed to minimize visibility from public streets without reducing operating efficiency (Development Code §9103.01.100(C)(5)) 88% · codified ordinance

20 questions answered against City of Arcadia’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2023 NEC (adopted as the 2025 California Electrical Code, part of the current 2025 CBC triennial cycle)

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Plan Check Information page states the City enforces 'the 2025 California Building Code, Mechanical Code, Plumbing Code, Fire Code, Electrical Code, Residential Code, Green Building Standards Code, Energy Code, and Wildland Urban Interface Code'; the 2025 CEC is based on the 2023 NEC per the standard statewide triennial cycle.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/plan_check_information.php

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2025 California Building Code

Why the confidence is not higherStated plainly on the City's own current Plan Check Information page.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/plan_check_information.php

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

2025 California Fire Code

Why the confidence is not higherStated plainly on the City's own current Plan Check Information page, which lists 'Fire Code' among the 2025-cycle codes the City enforces; the Arcadia Fire Department fee schedules (dated internally 1 Jul 2026) are consistent with a current 2025 CFC cycle.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/plan_check_information.php

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Yes — Development Code §9103.01.100/§9103.01.110 (Ord. No. 2375) are Arcadia-specific local amendments implementing and adding to Gov. Code §65850.5/Civil Code §714 beyond bare state adoption

Why the confidence is not higherThese are zoning-code local amendments, not necessarily technical CBC/CEC/CFC amendments; no separate local technical-code amendment ordinance was located within this run's time budget.

codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Planning%20and%20Zoning%20Services/Development%20Code/Development%20Code%20by%20Section/Division%203%20Site%20Planning%20and%20General%20Development%20Standards.pdf?t=202512220732370

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

The 2025 CBC/CEC/CRC as adopted, plus Development Code §9103.01.100/.110's location, mounting, height, and setback standards for solar specifically

Why the confidence is not higherCombination of the City's stated current code cycle and its own codified solar-specific zoning standard.

codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Planning%20and%20Zoning%20Services/Development%20Code/Development%20Code%20by%20Section/Division%203%20Site%20Planning%20and%20General%20Development%20Standards.pdf?t=202512220732370

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSCE 'Request for Power (Upgrade or New)' resource page (general business/economic-development content, no busbar/service-upgrade sizing rule); Building & Safety fee schedule (no busbar-specific line item)

https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Building%20Services/PSA%20City%20Website%20Language.pdf

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

'Roof-mounted collector panels shall be flush mounted at the same or as close as possible to the pitch of the roof' and, where feasible, placed to minimize visibility from public streets without reducing operating efficiency (Development Code §9103.01.100(C)(5))

Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from the codified ordinance.

codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Planning%20and%20Zoning%20Services/Development%20Code/Development%20Code%20by%20Section/Division%203%20Site%20Planning%20and%20General%20Development%20Standards.pdf?t=202512220732370

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedFire Prevention Resource Center page (checked with positive control 'sprinkler' = 16 hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx' = 0 hits, 'solar' = 0 hits — confirmed absence); Fire Prevention Plans and Permits page; Development Code Division 3 solar section (zoning standards only, no fire-access-pathway/ridge-setback spec)

https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/fire/fire_prevention/resource_center.php

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Yes, rapid shutdown is required per NEC 690.12 as incorporated by the 2023 NEC / 2025 California Electrical Code

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the confirmed current code edition (2025 CEC/2023 NEC); no Arcadia-specific document was found citing 690.12 by section number, and the only solar-specific submittal PDF the City links is an un-customized 2014 statewide template whose rapid-shutdown language (if any) predates the array-boundary scheme and cannot be relied on.

inference from adopted code edition checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/plan_check_information.php

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedFire Prevention Resource Center (control-verified absent), Fire Prevention Plans and Permits page, SolarAPP+ page, and the un-customized generic PV Guidelines PDF — no Arcadia-specific placard list found

https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/fire/fire_prevention/resource_center.php

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame set of pages as Q38 — no City-specified placard wording found

https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/fire/fire_prevention/resource_center.php

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame set of pages as Q38 — no letter height/colour/material specification found

https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/fire/fire_prevention/resource_center.php

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame set of pages as Q38 — no site-plan/facility-map placard requirement found beyond the generic NEC 705.10 baseline

https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/fire/fire_prevention/resource_center.php

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSCE's interconnection documents: on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook 302-redirects to the SCE homepage; the direct SCE interconnections page 404s. No working SCE DG-manual placard spec could be reached.

https://on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame dead SCE links as Q42, plus the same City pages as Q38 — no label-placement rule found

https://on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Equipment must meet standards from 'accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories' per Development Code §9103.01.100(C)(10)-(11), i.e., NRTL-listed equipment, though no city-maintained 'approved products list' was found

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance requires UL/accredited-lab certification generically rather than naming a specific approved-equipment list maintained by the City.

codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Planning%20and%20Zoning%20Services/Development%20Code/Development%20Code%20by%20Section/Division%203%20Site%20Planning%20and%20General%20Development%20Standards.pdf?t=202512220732370

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Yes, batteries/ESS are permitted. The Building & Safety fee schedule carries a dedicated 'Energy Storage System' permit ($67) and plan-review ($63) line, separate from PV. The Arcadia Fire Department's separate operational-permit fee schedule also lists 'Energy Storage System — $465' and 'Lithium Batteries — $465' inside its generic California Fire Code Chapter-1 operational-permit list (alongside Aerosol Product, Compressed Gases, etc.); whether that $465 operational permit actually applies to a typical 1–2 unit residential garage battery, as opposed to only larger/commercial installations, is not stated and is flagged here rather than resolved.

Why the confidence is not higherTwo different city fee schedules (Building vs. Fire) both carry ESS line items but neither document states residential-scale applicability thresholds for the Fire operational permit.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Fire/Fire%20Prevention/Resource%20Center/2026%20Arcadia%20Fire%20Department%20Fee%20Schedule.pdf?t=202607012023110

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

Yes — separate Building Division ESS permit ($67) and ESS plan review ($63) fee lines distinct from the PV lines

Why the confidence is not higherExplicit separate line items in the current Building & Safety fee schedule.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Building%20Services/Assembly%20Bill%202234/7558.pdf?t=202512081123430

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Yes — 'Ground-mounted systems and freestanding solar structures shall conform to the setback requirements for any accessory structure in single-family residential zones... and shall not exceed a height of six (6) feet' (Development Code §9103.01.100(C)(2)-(3))

Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from the codified ordinance; also consistent with SolarAPP+ explicitly excluding 'ballasted or ground mounted systems' from its automated review, implying ground-mount goes through standard structural/accessory-structure review.

codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Planning%20and%20Zoning%20Services/Development%20Code/Development%20Code%20by%20Section/Division%203%20Site%20Planning%20and%20General%20Development%20Standards.pdf?t=202512220732370

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame dead SCE interconnection-handbook/direct-interconnections links as Q42/Q23; no local fire-code proxy rule for AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter was found on any Arcadia Fire or Building page checked in this run

https://on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How is an inspection booked? Portal — inspections are requested through the City of Arcadia EDGE Portal ('Under the Building heading, click Request Inspection') 90% · department page
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

    • Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes — 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by Building Division for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review' (Development Code §9103.01.110(G)) 88% · codified ordinance
    • If delegated, to whom? N/A — not delegated; Arcadia's own Building Division performs the final solar inspection itself 85% · codified ordinance
  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    • Which inspections are required, and in what order? For SolarAPP+-eligible small residential rooftop systems: a single consolidated Building Division inspection is required, with a re-inspection allowed if it fails. No separate rough-in, electrical-only, or fire inspection stage is named for the eligible category. 78% · codified ordinance
    • Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No, not for SolarAPP+-eligible small residential rooftop systems — the ordinance calls for a single consolidated final inspection, not a separate rough-in/mid-roof stage 75% · codified ordinance
  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

    Nothing recorded for City of Arcadia on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

    • Is there a re-inspection fee? $144.00 (inferred from the general 'extra inspection... not being ready' / 'no fee prescribed' hourly line item, since no line item is labeled specifically 'reinspection fee') 55% · fee schedule + policy memo
    • How are corrections issued and cleared? The inspector notes the reinspection fee on a written correction notice; a copy is kept in the active permit file. Appeals go first to the Building Inspection Supervisor, then to the Building Official. 60% · internal policy memo

14 questions answered against City of Arcadia’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Portal — inspections are requested through the City of Arcadia EDGE Portal ('Under the Building heading, click Request Inspection')

Why the confidence is not higherStated directly on both the general Building Services page ('To request a Building Inspection, please submit a request here') and the SolarAPP+ page.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/solar_app.php

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Services page, SolarAPP+ page — inspection-request process is described but no minimum notice period (business days) is stated

https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/solar_app.php

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame pages as Q50 — no mention of AM/PM or same-day windows

https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/solar_app.php

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes — 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by Building Division for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review' (Development Code §9103.01.110(G))

Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from the codified ordinance; confirms it is not delegated.

codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Planning%20and%20Zoning%20Services/Development%20Code/Development%20Code%20by%20Section/Division%203%20Site%20Planning%20and%20General%20Development%20Standards.pdf?t=202512220732370

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

N/A — not delegated; Arcadia's own Building Division performs the final solar inspection itself

Why the confidence is not higherSame ordinance section as Q52.

codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Planning%20and%20Zoning%20Services/Development%20Code/Development%20Code%20by%20Section/Division%203%20Site%20Planning%20and%20General%20Development%20Standards.pdf?t=202512220732370

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

For SolarAPP+-eligible small residential rooftop systems: a single consolidated Building Division inspection is required, with a re-inspection allowed if it fails. No separate rough-in, electrical-only, or fire inspection stage is named for the eligible category.

Why the confidence is not higherDirectly from Development Code §9103.01.110(G); non-eligible systems (ground-mount, battery add-ons, main panel upgrades) likely follow the ordinary multi-stage building/electrical inspection sequence, but that sequence is not spelled out anywhere found in this run.

codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Planning%20and%20Zoning%20Services/Development%20Code/Development%20Code%20by%20Section/Division%203%20Site%20Planning%20and%20General%20Development%20Standards.pdf?t=202512220732370

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

No, not for SolarAPP+-eligible small residential rooftop systems — the ordinance calls for a single consolidated final inspection, not a separate rough-in/mid-roof stage

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the 'only one inspection... consolidated inspections' language; not an explicit denial of a rough-in stage, just that only one inspection is described.

codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Planning%20and%20Zoning%20Services/Development%20Code/Development%20Code%20by%20Section/Division%203%20Site%20Planning%20and%20General%20Development%20Standards.pdf?t=202512220732370

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedDevelopment Code §9103.01.110(G) describes the single consolidated inspection but does not itemize what the inspector checks (labels/listings specifically); no separate inspection checklist page was found

https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Planning%20and%20Zoning%20Services/Development%20Code/Development%20Code%20by%20Section/Division%203%20Site%20Planning%20and%20General%20Development%20Standards.pdf?t=202512220732370

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedApplications and Forms page and Fire Prevention Resource Center page — no document titled or resembling a solar inspection checklist found on either

https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/applications_and_forms.php

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame pages as Q56/Q57 — no explicit list of documents required on-site at inspection

https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/solar_app.php

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

$144.00 (inferred from the general 'extra inspection... not being ready' / 'no fee prescribed' hourly line item, since no line item is labeled specifically 'reinspection fee')

Why the confidence is not higherThe City has a separate written 'Building Permit Reinspection Fee Requirements' policy (effective 10-01-2015) describing WHEN a reinspection fee is charged, but it states no dollar figure; the fee schedule's closest matching line item is the generic $144 'extra inspection' / 'per hour, minimum 1 hour' charge. This is an inference bridging two City documents, not a single explicit statement.

fee schedule + policy memo checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Building%20Services/Assembly%20Bill%202234/7558.pdf?t=202512081123430

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

The inspector notes the reinspection fee on a written correction notice; a copy is kept in the active permit file. Appeals go first to the Building Inspection Supervisor, then to the Building Official.

Why the confidence is not higherFrom the City's 'Building Permit Reinspection Fee Requirements' policy memo (effective 10-01-2015, signed by then-Building-Official Don Stockham), which is appended to the back of the City's Photovoltaic Submittal & Installation Guidelines PDF; it is a general building policy, not solar-specific, and is now 11 years old.

internal policy memo checked 2026-08-30 https://www.arcadiaca.gov/Document%20Center/Government/Development%20Services/Building%20Services/Applications%20and%20Forms/Building%20and%20Construction/Photovoltaic%20Submittal%20%26%20Installation%20Guidelines.pdf?t=202512111251070

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Services and SolarAPP+ pages — describe permit issuance and inspection scheduling but do not name what document/tag is issued on a passed final (no 'Final', 'CO', or 'Green Tag' terminology found for solar specifically)

https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/solar_app.php

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSCE dead interconnection-handbook link (Q42/Q48) and all Arcadia Building/SolarAPP+ pages checked — none states who (installer vs. AHJ) notifies SCE for Permission to Operate

https://on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Arcadia against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Arcadia is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
Holds
Building, electrical, and fire (Arcadia runs its own Building Services Division under Building Official Kenneth Fields, and its own Fire Department / Fire Prevention Bureau under Fire Marshal Mark Krikorian; it is NOT one of the cities on LA County Public Works' building-and-safety contract-city list, and NOT on LA County Fire Department's contracting list, so neither county agency holds jurisdiction here)
Overridden by
California Gov. Code §65850.5/§65850.52 mandates ministerial, non-discretionary review of small residential rooftop solar, which Arcadia has codified almost verbatim at Development Code §9103.01.110; AB 130 (2025) freezes any more-restrictive local residential amendment through 1 Jun 2031; the Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714/§4600, cross-referenced at §9103.01.100(C)(1)) bars the City from conditioning a solar permit on HOA/association approval; and Southern California Edison, not the City, controls interconnection/NEM sign-off — Arcadia is also a member agency of Clean Power Alliance (a CCA), which supplies default generation to ~98% of Arcadia accounts but has no role in interconnection, which stays with SCE as the wires utility.
Why not higher
Building Services index page names the Building Official and shows Arcadia issuing its own permits via its own EDGE (Tyler EnerGov) portal; Fire Prevention page names Arcadia's own Fire Marshal and Station 105; LA County DPW's Building & Safety contract-city list and LA County Fire's contracting-city list were both checked BY NAME on 30 Aug 2026 and Arcadia appears on neither, confirming the brief's suggested lead. Development Code §9103.01.100/.110 (Ord. 2375) is Arcadia's own codified ministerial solar ordinance.

https://www.arcadiaca.gov/government/development_services/building_services/index.php

Permit required
Yes90%
Permit cost
Residential rooftop PV ≤10 kW: $36.00 permit + $172.00 plan check; >10 kW: $72.00 permit + $196.00 plan check; plus a 5.5% Technology Fee on permit+plan-check fees.85%
Plan review
SolarAPP+-eligible systems: instant, automated same-day permit issuance. Non-eligible systems reviewed through standard plan check: no published turnaround time found.65%
Portal
City of Arcadia EDGE Portal (Tyler EnerGov 'ePermitting Gateway', arcadiaca-energovpub.tylerhost.net) for permit issuance and inspection scheduling;95%
Electrical code
2023 NEC (adopted as the 2025 California Electrical Code, part of the current 2025 CBC triennial cycle)82%
Booking an inspection
Portal — inspections are requested through the City of Arcadia EDGE Portal ('Under the Building heading, click Request Inspection')90%
Labels & placards for this authority

Wording None%

Size, colour & material None%

Where they go None%

What the utility wants on top None%

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Los Angeles County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of Arcadia · city
Solar Requirements
Authority Contact
Address
240 West Huntington Drive, Arcadia, CA 91007
Main Phone
Office Hours
7:30 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.
Building Department
Department
Development Services Department - Building Services Division
Direct Phone
(626) 574-5400
Dept Hours
7:30 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.
6:30 a.m. to 7:30 a.m. and 4 p.m. to 5 p.m.
Portal Software
EnerGov (Tyler)
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
online_portal
Book in advance
next business day
Same-day cutoff
4:30 p.m.
Booking phone
Getting the earliest slot
At 08:00 AM call 626-574-5416
Notes
Uses Tyler Technologies EnerGov platform branded locally as EDGE (ePermitting and Development Gateway). Online inspection scheduling available via EDGE portal. To schedule: log in, go to Building > Request Inspection, locate permit by number (solar permits use format SOLR-XX-XXXX). SolarAPP+ permits require uploading SolarAPP+ Approval Document with approval number. Submit by 4:30 PM for next-business-day inspection; requests accepted up to 7 days in advance. On morning of inspection, call assigned inspector 7:45-8:30 AM for arrival window: John Zurick (626) 574-5417, Matthew Brewer (626) 574-5418, Christine Martinez (626) 574-5449; if unknown call (626) 574-5416. Building Official: Kenneth Fields, CBO, CASp. City on 4/10 schedule — closed alternate Fridays. Office hours Mon-Thu 7:30am-5:30pm, open Fridays 7:30am-4:30pm. Address: 240 West Huntington Dr, Arcadia CA 91007. SolarAPP+ integration available for instant residential solar permits.