City of Atwater
Merced County
City of Atwater is a city authority in the State of California, serving 31,970 residents. 2,942 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined — one 'Solar Building Permit' issued through Cloudpermit covers the PV install (structural+electrical); Q4 Where you file — SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for the automated plan-review/permit step, feeding into Cloudpermit (us.cloudpermit.com) — the City's own permitting/inspection portal… Q20
- Permit required
- Yes97% source
- What it costs
- Not itemized as a distinct dollar figure for residential solar. The FY2026-27 Miscellaneous Fee Schedule (the 'separate resolution' referenced by MC 15.04.060/15.04.080) has no PV/solar line;50% source
- Key document
- authority's own page cited by 5 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · authority's own page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both — Building and Electrical, performed in-house (not delegated to a contract plan-check firm) 90% · budget document
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 97% · ordinance
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined — one 'Solar Building Permit' issued through Cloudpermit covers the PV install (structural+electrical); a main electrical panel upgrade done at the same time requires its own SEPARATE application, permit and fee 80% · authority's own page
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No local requirement found that HOA/architectural approval be obtained before the City will issue a permit 60% · ordinance
- Is there a historic-district review? No 80% · code table of contents
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 65% · authority's own page
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Codified cap: 10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal, AND scoped to single- or duplex-family dwellings only (the AB2188-era figure). Separately and independently, for any address interconnecting through Merced Irrigation District, MID's own Net-Metering program caps allowable generation at 120% of the customer's trailing 24-month average annual consumption (or an estimate at 2 W/sq ft for new construction / no history) — a load-based cap layered on top of the size cap. 90% · ordinance
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Licensed contractor — a C-46 (Solar) or C-10 (Electrical) CSLB-licensed contractor registered with SolarAPP+; C-10 specifically required for any main panel upgrade; 'permit runners' are explicitly barred from requesting SolarAPP+ permits 85% · authority's own page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes, in two separate senses — (a) the contractor must be registered/approved on the NREL SolarAPP+ platform before the city will accept a SolarAPP+ submittal, and (b) MC Ch.5.08.090 sets a City of Atwater business-license tax schedule specifically for 'Contractor', implying any contractor performing work in the city must hold an Atwater business license 65% · ordinance
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? For SolarAPP+ track: the NREL SolarAPP+ approval package (approval ID number) plus supporting design documents uploaded into Cloudpermit; for a simultaneous main panel upgrade, a separate application/plan set. No Atwater-specific itemized submittal checklist (beyond the generic national NREL eligibility list) was found published on the city's own site. 70% · authority's own page
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes (inferred) — a single-line diagram is a standard, unavoidable input field in the SolarAPP+ software Atwater uses, and Merced Irrigation District's own residential PV interconnection application independently requires a 'Single Line Diagram and Site Plan' for any MID-served address 70% · utility document
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for the automated plan-review/permit step, feeding into Cloudpermit (us.cloudpermit.com) — the City's own permitting/inspection portal — for permit issuance and inspection scheduling 95% · authority's own page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 90% · authority's own page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? Not itemized as a distinct dollar figure for residential solar. The FY2026-27 Miscellaneous Fee Schedule (the 'separate resolution' referenced by MC 15.04.060/15.04.080) has no PV/solar line; the applicable published components are 'Building Inspection Fee (minimum 1 hour) — $130/hour' and a Planning-Division time-tiered 'Building Permit Application Plan Review' fee of $59 (≤15 min), $118 (16-30 min), or $236 (>30 min). Separately, SolarAPP+ itself charges a non-city $25 processing fee. 50% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Not a published valuation-based table for residential solar; the components found are hourly/time-tiered rather than a percent-of-valuation schedule 50% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 80% · ordinance
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Governed by the unamended base rule in 2025 CBC §105.5 / 2025 CRC §R105.5 (the standard permit-expiration period, generally 180 days industry-wide); Atwater's only local change is procedural — it allows the Building Official to grant MORE THAN ONE extension (rather than just one) where delay is due to economic conditions or causes beyond the applicant's control 70% · ordinance
- Which utility handles interconnection here? SPLIT utility territory, not clean single-utility PG&E as briefed — Pacific Gas & Electric AND Merced Irrigation District (MID), a public-power irrigation district, both serve electric load inside the Atwater city limits 80% · budget document
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit / after the AHJ's final inspection, for both utilities — sequence is not parallel or utility-first 90% · utility document
28 questions answered against City of Atwater’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Community Development / Building Division pages and Municipal Code Title 15 show Atwater adopts and enforces the CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC in-house; FY2026-27 Final Budget Book lists a budgeted 1.00-FTE 'Chief Building Official/Fire Code Official' position inside the Community Development Department (not a contracted plan-check firm).
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/building-division/
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both — Building and Electrical, performed in-house (not delegated to a contract plan-check firm)
Why the confidence is not higherCommunity Development Dept (Planning, Building, Engineering) holds a named budgeted position 'Chief Building Official/Fire Code Official' (1.00 FTE every year 2023-24 through 2026-27); building@atwater.org and the Cloudpermit portal are city-run, not a consultant subdomain (no Willdan/Transtech/CSG/4LEAF/Interwest/Bureau Veritas/TRB/Charles Abbott names or emails found anywhere on the site).
budget document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/FY-2026-27-Final-Budget-Book.pdf
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code 15.04.130 codifies a 'Small residential rooftop solar energy system review process' requiring permit application to the Building Division; the city's own Building Permits/SolarAPP+ page confirms a 'Solar Building Permit' must be obtained via Cloudpermit before work commences.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04GEPR_15.04.130SMREROSOENSYREPR
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined — one 'Solar Building Permit' issued through Cloudpermit covers the PV install (structural+electrical); a main electrical panel upgrade done at the same time requires its own SEPARATE application, permit and fee
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Automated Solar Permitting (SolarAPP+) page states applicants 'apply for a Solar Building Permit' as a single permit, but explicitly: 'All main panel upgrades require a separate application, permit and fees.'
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/building-permits/
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Licensed contractor — a C-46 (Solar) or C-10 (Electrical) CSLB-licensed contractor registered with SolarAPP+; C-10 specifically required for any main panel upgrade; 'permit runners' are explicitly barred from requesting SolarAPP+ permits
Why the confidence is not higherCity's SolarAPP+ FAQ page: 'Only Electrical C-10 licensed contractors may obtain panel upgrade permits' and 'Permit Runners are not allowed to request SolarAPP+ permits'; eligibility list requires 'licensed contractor and registered with SolarAPP+.'
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/building-permits/
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes, in two separate senses — (a) the contractor must be registered/approved on the NREL SolarAPP+ platform before the city will accept a SolarAPP+ submittal, and (b) MC Ch.5.08.090 sets a City of Atwater business-license tax schedule specifically for 'Contractor', implying any contractor performing work in the city must hold an Atwater business license
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page requires platform registration explicitly; the Ch.5.08.090 contractor license-tax line is inferred to apply generally to contractors working in the city, but no single document ties the business license directly to permit issuance as a precondition, so this is a moderate-confidence inference rather than a directly stated rule.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT5BUTALIRE_CH5.08SCLITA_5.08.090CO
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMC Title 15 general provisions (15.04.010-.140) and the city's SolarAPP+ FAQ page — SolarAPP+ explicitly excludes homeowners/owner-installers (contractor + platform registration only), but the standard (non-SolarAPP+) permit path is silent on owner-builder eligibility for PV specifically; did not find an affirmative statement either way for the standard track
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
For SolarAPP+ track: the NREL SolarAPP+ approval package (approval ID number) plus supporting design documents uploaded into Cloudpermit; for a simultaneous main panel upgrade, a separate application/plan set. No Atwater-specific itemized submittal checklist (beyond the generic national NREL eligibility list) was found published on the city's own site.
Why the confidence is not higherBased on the city's own step-by-step SolarAPP+/Cloudpermit process description; the linked 'SolarAPP+ Eligibility Checklist' is NREL's generic national document, not an Atwater-specific one, so a locally itemized checklist could not be confirmed to exist.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/building-permits/
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division and Building Permits pages, and MC 15.04.050 ('Permit-Application') — no copy-count or format specification published beyond the general reference to electronic submittal via Cloudpermit
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division Handouts list and building-permits page; NREL's generic SolarAPP+ eligibility PDF (linked from the city's own page) could not be retrieved this run (solarapp.nrel.gov did not resolve/DNS failure from this environment), so its site-plan content requirements could not be independently confirmed as Atwater's own
https://help.solar-app.org/article/116-what-projects-qualify-to-be-submitted-in-solarapp
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes (inferred) — a single-line diagram is a standard, unavoidable input field in the SolarAPP+ software Atwater uses, and Merced Irrigation District's own residential PV interconnection application independently requires a 'Single Line Diagram and Site Plan' for any MID-served address
Why the confidence is not higherAtwater's own page does not itemize drawing requirements; this is inferred from (a) SolarAPP+'s national standard workflow and (b) MID's own published Solar Application Checklist, which is authoritative for MID-interconnected parts of the city but not proof of the city's own building-permit checklist.
utility document checked 2026-08-30 https://mercedid.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/02/Solar-Application-Process-Final.pdf
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMC Ch.15.12 (California Electrical Code adoption/amendments) and the SolarAPP+/Cloudpermit process page — no explicit local requirement for string/conductor calculations found beyond what NEC compliance inherently requires
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMC Ch.15.08 (CBC adoption/amendments) and Ch.15.04 general provisions — no locally-published structural PE-stamp threshold found for small residential rooftop solar
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMC Ch.15.12 (CEC adoption/amendments) — no locally-published electrical PE-stamp threshold found
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Not itemized as a distinct dollar figure for residential solar. The FY2026-27 Miscellaneous Fee Schedule (the 'separate resolution' referenced by MC 15.04.060/15.04.080) has no PV/solar line; the applicable published components are 'Building Inspection Fee (minimum 1 hour) — $130/hour' and a Planning-Division time-tiered 'Building Permit Application Plan Review' fee of $59 (≤15 min), $118 (16-30 min), or $236 (>30 min). Separately, SolarAPP+ itself charges a non-city $25 processing fee.
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own current (1 Jul 2026, CPI-adjusted) fee schedule was fully text-extracted and grepped for 'solar'/'photovoltaic'/'PV' with zero hits; the figures above are the general Building/Planning fee mechanisms that would apply in the absence of a dedicated line, not a confirmed total.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/FY-2026-27-Misc-Fee-Schedule.pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Not a published valuation-based table for residential solar; the components found are hourly/time-tiered rather than a percent-of-valuation schedule
Why the confidence is not higherNo 'valuation' table or UBC-1997-style schedule was found anywhere in the 12-page Misc Fee Schedule; only hourly Building Inspection and time-banded Plan Review fees exist as generally-applicable mechanisms.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/FY-2026-27-Misc-Fee-Schedule.pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.04.080 ('Plan checking fees') separately authorizes plan-check fees 'as set forth by separate resolution', and the current fee schedule lists a distinct Planning-Division 'Building Permit Application Plan Review' fee separate from the Building Division's hourly inspection fee.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04GEPR_15.04.080PLCHFE
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division and Building Permits/Cloudpermit pages — no stated plan-review turnaround (business days) published
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Governed by the unamended base rule in 2025 CBC §105.5 / 2025 CRC §R105.5 (the standard permit-expiration period, generally 180 days industry-wide); Atwater's only local change is procedural — it allows the Building Official to grant MORE THAN ONE extension (rather than just one) where delay is due to economic conditions or causes beyond the applicant's control
Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.08.030 and 15.09.020 both amend only the number-of-extensions clause of CBC §105.5/CRC §R105.5, quoting it by section number rather than restating the base day-count, so the underlying day figure itself was not independently re-verified against the 2025 code text this run.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.08CABUCO_15.08.030BUPEEX
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for the automated plan-review/permit step, feeding into Cloudpermit (us.cloudpermit.com) — the City's own permitting/inspection portal — for permit issuance and inspection scheduling
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly and in detail on the city's own 'Automated Solar Permitting' page.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/building-permits/
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe entire described workflow — SolarAPP+ submittal/payment, Cloudpermit application/upload, Cloudpermit-scheduled inspection, and Cloudpermit-submitted revisions — is described as fully online; no walk-in step is mentioned.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/building-permits/
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
SPLIT utility territory, not clean single-utility PG&E as briefed — Pacific Gas & Electric AND Merced Irrigation District (MID), a public-power irrigation district, both serve electric load inside the Atwater city limits
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own FY2026-27 Final Budget Book bills BOTH utilities at DIFFERENT Atwater facilities in the same fiscal year: Fire Dept utilities line reads 'PG&E and MID'; the WWTP utilities line separately itemizes 'PG&E for WWTP $600,000' AND 'MID Power for WWTP $80,000' (plus the city's own 'Solar for WWTP $305,000'). MID's own website independently states its power service covers 'Livingston, Atwater, Winton and Merced' and publishes a full residential PV interconnection program (own $600 application fee, own construction standard, own NEM tariff). PG&E also confirmed present via the same budget (e.g. 'PG&E for City Buildings $94,500'). Which utility applies depends on the specific parcel/meter and was not resolved to a single answer this run — this contradicts the brief's single 'PG&E' assumption and should be confirmed per-address.
budget document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/FY-2026-27-Final-Budget-Book.pdf
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit / after the AHJ's final inspection, for both utilities — sequence is not parallel or utility-first
Why the confidence is not higherMID's own published 'Solar Application Checklist' states explicitly, in order: (4) 'The contractor obtains and submits a copy of the Final Inspection Card from the governing city or county, along with voltage measurement photos' THEN (5) 'MID Field Inspection' THEN (6) 'Permission to Operate.' MID's Solar Power webpage separately states 'MID will perform an inspection (after the City/County Code inspection).' PG&E's own Rule 21 (§D.13.b) is understood from prior-verified multi-run findings to gate PTO on AHJ final-inspection clearance in the same way, though this was not independently re-extracted from the 26MB tariff PDF this run.
utility document checked 2026-08-30 https://mercedid.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/02/Solar-Application-Process-Final.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No local requirement found that HOA/architectural approval be obtained before the City will issue a permit
Why the confidence is not higherNo such condition appears in MC Title 15's permit chapter; the codified small-residential-solar ordinance itself cross-references Civil Code §714(c)(iii) (the Solar Rights Act), which limits what HOAs may restrict — a signal the city treats HOA approval as a private-law matter, not a permit precondition. This is an absence finding, not a document that affirmatively says 'no HOA approval required.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04GEPR_15.04.130SMREROSOENSYREPR
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherFull walk of the entire Municipal Code table of contents (all ~2,066 headings, Titles 1-18) found zero chapters or sections containing 'Historic' anywhere; this is a control-proven absence in the sense that the same full-TOC scan correctly surfaced the real, narrowly-worded 'Small residential rooftop solar energy system' section, proving the scan mechanism works.
code table of contents checked 2026-08-30 https://api.municode.com/codesToc/fullTree/latest?productId=14847
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherCalifornia does not use a separate 'wind certification' regime the way some Gulf-Coast/Texas jurisdictions do; the Building Division's own page publishes the CRC/CBC design wind speed as a design VALUE ('Wind Speed -> 85 Miles per hour') to be used in structural calculations, not a separate certification requirement, and no local ordinance imposing an additional wind certification was found.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/building-division/
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMC Ch.17.71 (Conditional Use Permit procedure) and Ch.17.75 (Specific Uses) — neither names solar/PV as a use requiring a CUP or Council approval, but this was not cross-checked against every individual zoning district's own enumerated list of conditional uses (~19 districts), so a full absence cannot yet be certified
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Codified cap: 10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal, AND scoped to single- or duplex-family dwellings only (the AB2188-era figure). Separately and independently, for any address interconnecting through Merced Irrigation District, MID's own Net-Metering program caps allowable generation at 120% of the customer's trailing 24-month average annual consumption (or an estimate at 2 W/sq ft for new construction / no history) — a load-based cap layered on top of the size cap.
Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.04.130.A.1-3 states the 10kW/30kW/single-or-duplex-family definition verbatim; MID's own 'Solar Application Checklist' independently states the 120%-of-consumption sizing rule under 'PV System Sizing Requirements.' The two caps are not coordinated with each other and neither one was found to reconcile with a live SolarAPP+-configured ceiling (which could not be checked — see not_found).
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04GEPR_15.04.130SMREROSOENSYREPR
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 97% · ordinance
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (based on the 2024 IBC) and 2025 California Residential Code (based on the 2024 IRC), both effective 1-1-2026 per Ord. CS 1075 97% · ordinance
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (based on the 2024 IFC), effective 1-1-2026, including Appendices C, D, I and J 97% · ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? No substantive local technical amendments to the Electrical, Green, or Fire codes; the Building and Residential codes carry only ONE local amendment each, a procedural one (permit-extension count, see Q19) — not a technical/solar-relevant change 85% · ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The unamended 2025 CBC/CRC/CGBSC, 2025 CEC (2023 NEC), and 2025 CFC as adopted by reference, plus MC 15.04.130's own checklist-based expedited-review criteria for systems that qualify (≤10kW AC/30kW thermal, single/duplex-family) 90% · ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Not locally elaborated — governed solely by whatever the state-adopted, unamended 2025 CFC prescribes (no Atwater-specific ridge-setback or access-pathway rule found) 65% · ordinance
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, per NEC 690.12 as incorporated by the adopted 2023 NEC/2025 CEC; no local amendment narrows or restates it 80% · ordinance
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? No Atwater-specific placard list found beyond what the unamended 2025 CFC/2025 CEC already require (e.g. NEC 690.56, CFC 605.11 disconnect/rapid-shutdown labeling); for the subset of addresses interconnected through Merced Irrigation District, MID's own construction standard additionally mandates two specific 'Dual Power Supply' placards (see Q42) 70% · authority's own page
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No, the City itself does not specify its own placard wording; MID (for its interconnected customers) does specify exact wording 75% · ordinance
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Not specified by the City; MID (for MID-interconnected customers) specifies: red reflective, weather-resistant material; white lettering; minimum 3/8-inch letter height; permanently attached 75% · utility document
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes — for MID-interconnected addresses. MID's own Net-Metering Construction Standard (55010) requires two specific placards beyond anything the City requires: 'WARNING! DUAL POWER SUPPLY SOLAR ELECTRIC SYSTEM' attached to the exterior of the net-meter panel, and 'DUAL POWER SUPPLY SOLAR ELECTRIC SYSTEM DISCONNECT' attached to the exterior of the AC-disconnect enclosure 90% · utility document
- Where must the labels be placed? Per MID: on the exterior of the net-meter panel and the exterior of the AC-disconnect enclosure, with both devices located within 10 ft of the main service panel/disconnect and on the street-side of any fencing/gates 88% · utility document
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Per MID (for MID-interconnected addresses): the AC disconnect and the dedicated MID 'performance meter' must be located within 10 ft of the main service panel/disconnect and within 10 ft of each other, on the street-side of fencing/gates, 4-6 ft above grade 85% · utility document
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes, by default — UL-listing/NEC-compliance is inherent in the adopted 2025 CEC (2023 NEC); no additional Atwater-specific approved-equipment list was found 55% · ordinance
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, batteries/ESS are permitted, under the unamended 2025 CFC's ESS provisions and a Fire Department 'Battery System' operational permit ($284 per the current fee schedule). For addresses interconnected through MID specifically, MID additionally requires that any single-line diagram for a system including an ESS carry the mandatory note 'The Energy Storage System (ESS) will only be charged by the PV system' (i.e., MID does not allow grid-charging of the battery on its net-metering tariff), and MID does not offer virtual net metering 75% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes 80% · fee schedule
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes, by inference — treated as a 'Structure' under the general zoning definition, subject to the applicable zoning district's ordinary setbacks; there is no dedicated solar/ground-mount zoning chapter and no PV carve-out from the Structure definition 65% · ordinance
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No 90% · ordinance
20 questions answered against City of Atwater’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.12.010: 'California Electric Code, 2025 Edition ... based on the 2023 Edition National Electric Code', effective 1-1-2026 per Ord. CS 1075 (adopted 11-10-2025).
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.12CAELCO_15.12.010AD
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (based on the 2024 IBC) and 2025 California Residential Code (based on the 2024 IRC), both effective 1-1-2026 per Ord. CS 1075
Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.08.010 and 15.09.010, both amended most recently by Ord. CS 1075, §1, 11-10-2025, eff. 1-1-2026.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.08CABUCO_15.08.010AD
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (based on the 2024 IFC), effective 1-1-2026, including Appendices C, D, I and J
Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.28.010, amended by Ord. CS 1075, §1, 11-10-2025, eff. 1-1-2026.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.28CAFICO_15.28.010AD
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
No substantive local technical amendments to the Electrical, Green, or Fire codes; the Building and Residential codes carry only ONE local amendment each, a procedural one (permit-extension count, see Q19) — not a technical/solar-relevant change
Why the confidence is not higherControl-proven: MC 15.12.020 (Electrical Amendments) reads 'None.'; MC 15.10.020 (Green Code Amendments) reads 'None.'; MC Ch.15.28 (Fire) has no Amendments section at all — only a single Adoption section. MC 15.08.050 (Building Amendments) and 15.09.020 (Residential Amendments) each read only the permit-extension change quoted at Q19.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.12CAELCO_15.12.020AM
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The unamended 2025 CBC/CRC/CGBSC, 2025 CEC (2023 NEC), and 2025 CFC as adopted by reference, plus MC 15.04.130's own checklist-based expedited-review criteria for systems that qualify (≤10kW AC/30kW thermal, single/duplex-family)
Why the confidence is not higherSynthesis of the adoption sections and the small-residential-solar ordinance; no additional locally-authored technical solar standard exists.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04GEPR_15.04.130SMREROSOENSYREPR
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
No
Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.12.020, the section titled 'Amendments' within the California Electrical Code chapter, reads in full: 'None.' — a control-proven absence directly ruling out any Atwater equivalent of the Palm Springs-style 225A-minimum-busbar or attic-derating amendment.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.12CAELCO_15.12.020AM
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMC Ch.15.08/15.09 (CBC/CRC amendments, both 'None') and Building Division Handouts list — no local mounting-system or attachment-spacing requirement found beyond the unamended state code
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Not locally elaborated — governed solely by whatever the state-adopted, unamended 2025 CFC prescribes (no Atwater-specific ridge-setback or access-pathway rule found)
Why the confidence is not higherMC Ch.15.28 is a single-section 'Adoption' chapter with no Amendments section and no cross-reference to solar-specific fire-access rules; this is an absence finding based on that chapter containing nothing beyond the bare adoption clause.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.28CAFICO_15.28.010AD
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, per NEC 690.12 as incorporated by the adopted 2023 NEC/2025 CEC; no local amendment narrows or restates it
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the confirmed 2023 NEC adoption (Q29) combined with the control-proven absence of any Electrical Code amendment (Q32/34); Atwater's own documents were not found to quote 690.12 verbatim, so this is a code-edition inference rather than a directly-quoted local text.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.12CAELCO_15.12.010AD
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No Atwater-specific placard list found beyond what the unamended 2025 CFC/2025 CEC already require (e.g. NEC 690.56, CFC 605.11 disconnect/rapid-shutdown labeling); for the subset of addresses interconnected through Merced Irrigation District, MID's own construction standard additionally mandates two specific 'Dual Power Supply' placards (see Q42)
Why the confidence is not higherAbsence confirmed by reading the complete Building Division 'Handouts' list (11 items — Framing, Egress, Patio Cover, etc.) with no solar/placard-titled document, and by the Signs chapter (15.24.010) merely adopting CBC Appendix H for commercial/business signage.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/building-division/
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No, the City itself does not specify its own placard wording; MID (for its interconnected customers) does specify exact wording
Why the confidence is not higherNo Electrical/Fire Code amendment or handout supplies city-authored placard wording (see Q38 absence). Contrast with MID at Q42.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.12CAELCO_15.12.020AM
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified by the City; MID (for MID-interconnected customers) specifies: red reflective, weather-resistant material; white lettering; minimum 3/8-inch letter height; permanently attached
Why the confidence is not higherMID Construction Standard 55010 ('Net Metering 0-100kW'), Figure 7 'Net Metering Safety Labels' and its accompanying notes.
utility document checked 2026-08-30 https://mercedid.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/MID-Net-Metering-Standards-0-100kW.pdf
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division Handouts list and MC 15.04.130 — no Atwater-published site-plan/facility-map placard specification found
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes — for MID-interconnected addresses. MID's own Net-Metering Construction Standard (55010) requires two specific placards beyond anything the City requires: 'WARNING! DUAL POWER SUPPLY SOLAR ELECTRIC SYSTEM' attached to the exterior of the net-meter panel, and 'DUAL POWER SUPPLY SOLAR ELECTRIC SYSTEM DISCONNECT' attached to the exterior of the AC-disconnect enclosure
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from MID Construction Standard 55010, Figure 7, including the material/colour/lettering notes.
utility document checked 2026-08-30 https://mercedid.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/MID-Net-Metering-Standards-0-100kW.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Per MID: on the exterior of the net-meter panel and the exterior of the AC-disconnect enclosure, with both devices located within 10 ft of the main service panel/disconnect and on the street-side of any fencing/gates
Why the confidence is not higherMID Construction Standard 55010, General Notes 2 and 4, and Figure 3 ('Net Metering Equipment Layout').
utility document checked 2026-08-30 https://mercedid.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/MID-Net-Metering-Standards-0-100kW.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes, by default — UL-listing/NEC-compliance is inherent in the adopted 2025 CEC (2023 NEC); no additional Atwater-specific approved-equipment list was found
Why the confidence is not higherInference from the unamended electrical code adoption; no standalone 'approved equipment list' document was located on the city's site.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.12CAELCO_15.12.010AD
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes, batteries/ESS are permitted, under the unamended 2025 CFC's ESS provisions and a Fire Department 'Battery System' operational permit ($284 per the current fee schedule). For addresses interconnected through MID specifically, MID additionally requires that any single-line diagram for a system including an ESS carry the mandatory note 'The Energy Storage System (ESS) will only be charged by the PV system' (i.e., MID does not allow grid-charging of the battery on its net-metering tariff), and MID does not offer virtual net metering
Why the confidence is not higherFire fee confirmed in the FY2026-27 Misc Fee Schedule ('Battery System — $284' under Operational Permits); MID's ESS charging restriction is quoted verbatim from its own Construction Standard 55010 (Figures 11-13) and Solar Application Checklist. The Fire/CFC portion is general; the charging-source restriction is MID-specific, not a citywide rule.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/FY-2026-27-Misc-Fee-Schedule.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe FY2026-27 Miscellaneous Fee Schedule lists a distinct Fire Department operational-permit line item, 'Battery System — $284', separate from any PV building-permit fee.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/FY-2026-27-Misc-Fee-Schedule.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes, by inference — treated as a 'Structure' under the general zoning definition, subject to the applicable zoning district's ordinary setbacks; there is no dedicated solar/ground-mount zoning chapter and no PV carve-out from the Structure definition
Why the confidence is not higherMC 17.06.605 defines 'Structure' broadly as 'Anything constructed or erected, the use of which required location on or under the ground or attached to something having a permanent location on the ground', excepting only awnings/benches/statuary/fish ponds/pavement/tents/vehicles/low fences — a ground-mounted PV array is not among the exceptions. A full scan of Title 17's chapter list (17.03 through 17.79) confirmed no 'Alternative Energy'/solar-specific zoning chapter exists.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZO_CH17.06DE_17.06.605ST
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Per MID (for MID-interconnected addresses): the AC disconnect and the dedicated MID 'performance meter' must be located within 10 ft of the main service panel/disconnect and within 10 ft of each other, on the street-side of fencing/gates, 4-6 ft above grade
Why the confidence is not higherMID Construction Standard 55010, General Notes 2 and 4, Figure 3. This is confirmed only for the MID side of the city's split electric territory (Q22); the PG&E-side spec was not independently re-extracted this run.
utility document checked 2026-08-30 https://mercedid.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/MID-Net-Metering-Standards-0-100kW.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal 90% · authority's own page
- How much notice is required? 24 hours 85% · authority's own page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes (self-performed, in-house) 90% · authority's own page
- If delegated, to whom? Not delegated — the Building Division performs the final inspection itself; N/A 85% · budget document
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For a system eligible for the expedited small-residential-solar path: only ONE inspection is required, which 'may include a consolidated inspection by the Building Official and Fire Chief' 85% · ordinance
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 80% · ordinance
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No 80% · authority's own page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? For MID-interconnected addresses: the CONTRACTOR/installer submits the AHJ's Final Inspection Card plus voltage-measurement photos to MID; MID then performs its own field inspection and directly notifies the CONTRACTOR that PTO has been granted; the contractor (not the AHJ or MID) is responsible for actually energizing the system 80% · utility document
- Is there a re-inspection fee? Not itemized as a distinct 'solar re-inspection' fee; the general 'Building Inspection Fee (minimum 1 hour) — $130/hour' is the only Building Division mechanism that would apply, absent a dedicated line (Code Enforcement's separate $57 re-inspection fee is a nuisance/code-enforcement program, not a construction-permit one) 50% · fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? For the application-completeness stage: MC 15.04.130.G requires the Building Official to 'issue a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies in the application and any additional information required'; the ordinance does not separately describe an inspection-stage correction/re-inspection workflow beyond authorizing a subsequent inspection if the first fails (15.04.130.F) 55% · ordinance
14 questions answered against City of Atwater’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own SolarAPP+ page: 'SolarAPP+ inspections shall be scheduled through Cloudpermit.'
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/building-permits/
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
24 hours
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page: 'Inspection Request Line: (209) 356-2529 **Inspections must be called in 24 hours in advance, before 4:00 PM, for a next day inspection.' This is published for the phone-in line generally; whether Cloudpermit's online scheduler carries an identical or different notice rule was not separately confirmed.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/building-division/
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page and Cloudpermit registration page — no mention of same-day or AM/PM inspection windows
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes (self-performed, in-house)
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division (Community Development Dept, Chief Building Official/Fire Code Official, 1.00 FTE) directly schedules and conducts final inspections via Cloudpermit; no delegation to a contract inspection firm was found anywhere on the city's site.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/building-division/
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Not delegated — the Building Division performs the final inspection itself; N/A
Why the confidence is not higherSame evidence as Q52: in-house Chief Building Official/Fire Code Official position and city-run Cloudpermit portal, no third-party inspection firm identified.
budget document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/FY-2026-27-Final-Budget-Book.pdf
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For a system eligible for the expedited small-residential-solar path: only ONE inspection is required, which 'may include a consolidated inspection by the Building Official and Fire Chief'
Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.04.130.F, quoted directly (including its own drafting note that a separate fire inspection would apply only 'if your City does not have an agreement in place with your local fire authority').
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04GEPR_15.04.130SMREROSOENSYREPR
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.04.130.F states explicitly that 'only one inspection shall be required' for an eligible small residential rooftop solar system — a codified rule against a separate rough-in/mid-roof inspection for the expedited category.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04GEPR_15.04.130SMREROSOENSYREPR
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page and MC 15.04.130 — no explicit statement that the inspector verifies labels/listings as part of the solar final; standard building-inspection practice would likely include this but it is not documented by the city
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Division's complete published 'Handouts' list (Affidavit for Plan Reproduction, Detached Carport Detail, Electrical Kitchen and Bath Remodel, Existing-Proposed Floor Plan, Pool Barrier, Roof Sheathing Nailing Requirements, Span Tables, Window Egress and Flashing, Business License Inspection Guideline, Framing and Footing Details, Alternate Front Bracing Detail, Patio Cover Sample) contains no solar-specific inspection checklist; the only 'checklist' linked from the solar page is NREL's generic national SolarAPP+ eligibility document, not an Atwater-authored inspection checklist.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/building-division/
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division and Building Permits pages — no published list of documents required to be on-site at the time of a solar inspection
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Not itemized as a distinct 'solar re-inspection' fee; the general 'Building Inspection Fee (minimum 1 hour) — $130/hour' is the only Building Division mechanism that would apply, absent a dedicated line (Code Enforcement's separate $57 re-inspection fee is a nuisance/code-enforcement program, not a construction-permit one)
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule text-extracted and grepped; no line item labelled 're-inspection' appears under the Building Division or Planning Division headings (only under Fire and Code Enforcement, which are different programs).
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.atwater.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/FY-2026-27-Misc-Fee-Schedule.pdf
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
For the application-completeness stage: MC 15.04.130.G requires the Building Official to 'issue a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies in the application and any additional information required'; the ordinance does not separately describe an inspection-stage correction/re-inspection workflow beyond authorizing a subsequent inspection if the first fails (15.04.130.F)
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted directly from MC 15.04.130.F and .G; this document conflates application-stage and inspection-stage correction language, so confidence is moderate rather than high.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/atwater/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04GEPR_15.04.130SMREROSOENSYREPR
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMC 15.04.130 and Building Division page — no term (CO/Final/Green tag/Letter) explicitly named for what is issued on a passed solar inspection; Cloudpermit presumably marks the permit 'finaled' but this was not confirmed in city-published text
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
For MID-interconnected addresses: the CONTRACTOR/installer submits the AHJ's Final Inspection Card plus voltage-measurement photos to MID; MID then performs its own field inspection and directly notifies the CONTRACTOR that PTO has been granted; the contractor (not the AHJ or MID) is responsible for actually energizing the system
Why the confidence is not higherMID's own 'Solar Application Checklist', steps 4-6, quoted directly. The PG&E-side process for the other part of Atwater's split territory was not independently re-verified this run (see Q22).
utility document checked 2026-08-30 https://mercedid.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/02/Solar-Application-Process-Final.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Atwater against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Atwater is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Both — Building and Electrical, in-house (Community Development Dept: Chief Building Official/Fire Code Official)
- Overridden by
- Not overridden for Building/Electrical. Two important qualifications found this run: (1) the operational Atwater Fire Department's SUPPRESSION STAFF are CAL FIRE employees under a cooperative agreement in effect since 2008 (a large ~$2.9M/yr line item in the FY2026-27 budget, 'CAL FIRE Agreement') — but this is a STAFFING arrangement, not a jurisdictional handover: 'Policy direction remains with the Atwater City Council' per the city's own Fire Dept page, and the city's own Chief Building Official also holds the title 'Fire Code Official', so fire-code plan review/inspection for PV stays with the city's own Building Division, consistent with MC 15.04.130.F's option for a single consolidated Building-Official/Fire-Chief inspection. (2) Electric-utility interconnection is NOT cleanly PG&E as briefed — see Q22 — Atwater is split between PG&E and Merced Irrigation District (MID), and for MID-served addresses MID's own inspection and Permission-to-Operate process must follow the city's final inspection before the system may be energized.
- Why not higher
- City of Atwater's own Community Development Department (Planning, Building, Engineering) budgets a 1.00-FTE 'Chief Building Official/Fire Code Official' every fiscal year 2023-24 through 2026-27; Municipal Code Title 15 shows the city adopting and locally administering the 2025 CBC/CRC/CGBSC/CEC/CFC and its own MC 15.04.130 small-residential-solar ordinance; the Cloudpermit permitting/inspection portal and building@atwater.org contact are city-run, not a third-party consultant's subdomain. The one genuine complication is the CAL FIRE-staffed fire department (a staffing contract, not a jurisdiction transfer) and the split PG&E/MID electric territory, both detailed above.
https://www.atwater.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/FY-2026-27-Final-Budget-Book.pdf
- Permit required
- Yes97%
- Permit cost
- Not itemized as a distinct dollar figure for residential solar. The FY2026-27 Miscellaneous Fee Schedule (the 'separate resolution' referenced by MC 15.04.060/15.04.080) has no PV/solar…50%
- Portal
- SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for the automated plan-review/permit step, feeding into Cloudpermit (us.cloudpermit.com) — the City's own permitting/inspection portal — for permit issuance…95%
- Electrical code
- 202397%
- Own placard wording
- No, the City itself does not specify its own placard wording; MID (for its interconnected customers) does specify exact wording75%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal90%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 75%
No, the City itself does not specify its own placard wording; MID (for its interconnected customers) does specify exact wording
Size, colour & material 75%
Not specified by the City; MID (for MID-interconnected customers) specifies: red reflective, weather-resistant material; white lettering; minimum 3/8-inch letter height; permanently attached
Where they go 88%
Per MID: on the exterior of the net-meter panel and the exterior of the AC-disconnect enclosure, with both devices located within 10 ft of the main service panel/disconnect and on the street-side of any fencing/gates
What the utility wants on top 90%
Yes — for MID-interconnected addresses. MID's own Net-Metering Construction Standard (55010) requires two specific placards beyond anything the City requires: 'WARNING! DUAL POWER SUPPLY SOLAR ELECTRIC SYSTEM' attached to the exterior of the net-meter panel, and 'DUAL POWER SUPPLY SOLAR ELECTRIC SYSTEM DISCONNECT' attached to the exterior of the AC-disconnect enclosure
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.