City of Avalon
Los Angeles County
City of Avalon is a city authority in the State of California, serving 3,460 residents. 34 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Separate Q4 Plan review — Not stated as a specific day-count for solar in AMC 8-6 ('within a reasonable period of time' after a complete application, 8-6.06(d)). Q18 Where you file — iWorq Land Management System permit portal (avalon.portal.iworq.net/portalhome/avalon) Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $450 flat (Electrical Permit — 'Solar Systems' line, under 'Services, Switchboards')65% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Not stated as a specific day-count for solar in AMC 8-6 ('within a reasonable period of time' after a complete application, 8-6.06(d)).55% source
- Key document
- municipal code (inference from administrative-process structure) cited by 11 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 92% · municipal code
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Delegated 85% · contractor's own client portfolio page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · municipal code
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Separate 55% · fee schedule PDF (extracted with pdftotext, not a summarizer)
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 82% · municipal code
- Is there a historic-district review? No 60% · municipal code (inference from administrative-process structure)
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 60% · municipal code (absence, general CA practice)
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Conditionally yes — AMC 8-6.07 allows the Building Official to require a discretionary Use Permit if the Official finds, on substantial evidence, that the system 'could have a specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety'; that decision is appealable to the Planning Commission. 82% · municipal code
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal, and installed on a single- or duplex-family dwelling only (AMC 8-6.02 definition of 'Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy System'); larger systems fall outside this streamlined chapter and are not addressed by it. 92% · municipal code
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Any contractor (of applicable licensed classes) 50% · municipal code (inference)
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 68% · municipal code
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes (inferred) 50% · municipal code (inference, state law)
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes (general) — the City's Planning Application Information page requires a Site Plan showing property lines, adjoining structures within 10 feet, and utility locations for all building-related applications; no solar-specific site-plan checklist was located separately. 55% · authority department page
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No mandatory PE stamp for a qualifying small residential rooftop system (≤10kW AC / 30kW thermal, single/duplex dwelling) — AMC 8-6.04(a)(1) allows the applicant to self-verify structural adequacy 'using standard engineering evaluation techniques.' 75% · municipal code
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No mandatory PE stamp for a qualifying system — AMC 8-6.04(a)(2) allows the applicant to self-verify, at the applicant's cost, that the existing electrical system (wiring, panel/subpanel sizing) is adequate using 'standard electrical inspection techniques.' 70% · municipal code
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? iWorq Land Management System permit portal (avalon.portal.iworq.net/portalhome/avalon) 78% · authority portal link
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes (per statutory mandate) 68% · municipal code
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $450 flat (Electrical Permit — 'Solar Systems' line, under 'Services, Switchboards') 65% · fee schedule PDF (extracted with pdftotext -layout)
- How is the fee calculated? Flat 72% · fee schedule PDF
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No (not clearly separate for the flat solar line) 52% · fee schedule PDF
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Not stated as a specific day-count for solar in AMC 8-6 ('within a reasonable period of time' after a complete application, 8-6.06(d)). The City's on-call Building Official contractor, 4LEAF, advertises a general (non-solar-specific) SLA of 48 hours for over-the-counter/emergency reviews and 10 working days for full document checks, with 5-working-day rechecks. 55% · contractor's own portfolio page (general SLA, not solar-specific)
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days if work is not commenced (or is suspended/abandoned for 180 days), per the unamended CBC/CRC Section 105.5/R105.5 administrative provisions adopted by AMC 8-1.02/8-8.01 — no Avalon-specific amendment to permit expiration was found. 60% · municipal code (base-code default, no local amendment found)
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 92% · utility's own published article
28 questions answered against City of Avalon’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Planning & Building Department page confirms it oversees all development including permitting; AMC 8-6.01 states the chapter 'applies to the permitting of all small residential rooftop solar energy systems in the City.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Delegated
Why the confidence is not higherThe City legally retains Building and Electrical permitting authority, but as of 2024 has contracted the entire Building Official/plan-check/permitting function to 4LEAF, Inc. on an on-call basis (per 4LEAF's own portfolio page: 'Plan Review, Building Official, Permitting, Emergency Response'), and Planning to Sagecrest Environmental + Planning (per the City's own department page). This is functionally closer to the 'entire division is contract staff' shape than simple self-performance.
contractor's own client portfolio page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.4leafinc.com/portfolio/city-of-avalon-ca/
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherAMC 8-6.01 applies to all small residential rooftop solar energy systems and requires the streamlined permit process; 8-6.06(d) directs staff to 'issue a building permit or other nondiscretionary permit.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Separate
Why the confidence is not higherThe FY2025-26 Miscellaneous Fee Schedule shows a general valuation-based 'Building Permits' fee table AND a distinct flat 'Electrical Permit > Services, Switchboards > Solar Systems $450' line item, suggesting two different fee categories exist for solar, though it is not clearly stated whether the $450 electrical line is meant to be the entire project cost or an add-on to a building-permit valuation fee. Confidence is capped because the schedule's own internal PDF title reads 'DRAFT Miscellaneous Fee Schedule FY26' despite being the live published document.
fee schedule PDF (extracted with pdftotext, not a summarizer) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofavalon.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1774
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Any contractor (of applicable licensed classes)
Why the confidence is not higherNo Avalon-specific restriction on who may pull an electrical permit was found in AMC Title 8; the definition of a qualifying system in AMC 8-6.02(3) simply requires conformance with CEC/IEEE/UL/CPUC standards. This is inference from general California contractor-licensing law (C-10/C-46/B classes), not a document unique to Avalon.
municipal code (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherAMC 3-1.103 requires a business license and tax certificate for any business conducted in the City, with no contractor exemption found in the chapter as reviewed; the City's own online Business License Application is listed as one of the core Planning & Building forms.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35896776
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes (inferred)
Why the confidence is not higherNo AMC provision restricts owner-builder permitting for solar; general California owner-builder law (Contractors State License Board / B&P Code) allows a homeowner of an owner-occupied dwelling to self-permit. No Avalon-specific document confirms or denies this for solar specifically.
municipal code (inference, state law) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPlanning & Building Forms and Resources page (lists Business License, Building Permit, Encroachment Permit, Planning Commissioner, Planning Project, and Transient Rental/Complaint/Tax applications only) and AMC 8-6.03(c), which requires but does not itself enumerate a checklist
https://www.cityofavalon.gov/324/Planning-Building-Forms-and-Resources
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Forms and Resources page; the general Planning Application Information page specifies copy counts for major planning applications (2 sets 11x17, 1 full-size, 1 electronic PDF) but this is not confirmed to apply to the AMC 8-6 administrative solar path specifically
https://www.cityofavalon.gov/185/Planning-Application-Information
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes (general) — the City's Planning Application Information page requires a Site Plan showing property lines, adjoining structures within 10 feet, and utility locations for all building-related applications; no solar-specific site-plan checklist was located separately.
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the City's general plan-submittal requirement for building/planning applications, not a document written specifically for the AMC 8-6 solar streamlined process, so it is presented at reduced confidence as a likely-applicable general requirement rather than a confirmed solar-specific one.
authority department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofavalon.gov/185/Planning-Application-Information
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAMC 8-6.02-8-6.08 (Small Residential Rooftop Solar Systems chapter, read in full) and the Forms and Resources page — no document specifies a one-line/three-line diagram requirement for Avalon specifically
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame chapter and Forms and Resources page — no string/conductor calculation requirement document was located
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
No mandatory PE stamp for a qualifying small residential rooftop system (≤10kW AC / 30kW thermal, single/duplex dwelling) — AMC 8-6.04(a)(1) allows the applicant to self-verify structural adequacy 'using standard engineering evaluation techniques.'
Why the confidence is not higherDirect text of AMC 8-6.04(a)(1); consistent with the statewide Solar Rights Act self-certification model this chapter implements.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
No mandatory PE stamp for a qualifying system — AMC 8-6.04(a)(2) allows the applicant to self-verify, at the applicant's cost, that the existing electrical system (wiring, panel/subpanel sizing) is adequate using 'standard electrical inspection techniques.'
Why the confidence is not higherDirect text of AMC 8-6.04(a)(2); no separate electrical-PE requirement found elsewhere in AMC Title 8.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$450 flat (Electrical Permit — 'Solar Systems' line, under 'Services, Switchboards')
Why the confidence is not higherFY2025-26 Miscellaneous Fee Schedule, Section XI Planning (Building/Electrical Permits subsection). Confidence reduced because the PDF's own internal title metadata reads 'DRAFT Miscellaneous Fee Schedule FY26_060325.xlsx' (created 23 Jun 2025) even though it is the document currently linked as the live fee schedule, and it is unclear whether an additional general valuation-based Building Permit fee also applies on top of this line for a given project.
fee schedule PDF (extracted with pdftotext -layout) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofavalon.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1774
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat
Why the confidence is not higherThe 'Solar Systems' line under Electrical Permit fees is a single flat $450 figure, not tiered by kW, valuation, or panel count.
fee schedule PDF checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofavalon.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1774
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No (not clearly separate for the flat solar line)
Why the confidence is not higherThe fee schedule shows one flat $450 'Solar Systems' electrical-permit line, with no adjacent plan-check line for it specifically. A general 'Plan Check = 1.5x Building Permit Fee' line exists elsewhere in the schedule, but it is tied to the valuation-based Building Permit table, not clearly to the flat solar electrical line — so this is presented at reduced confidence rather than a clean Yes/No.
fee schedule PDF checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofavalon.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1774
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Not stated as a specific day-count for solar in AMC 8-6 ('within a reasonable period of time' after a complete application, 8-6.06(d)). The City's on-call Building Official contractor, 4LEAF, advertises a general (non-solar-specific) SLA of 48 hours for over-the-counter/emergency reviews and 10 working days for full document checks, with 5-working-day rechecks.
Why the confidence is not higherAMC 8-6 sets no numeric turnaround for the streamlined solar process; the 4LEAF SLA is 4LEAF's general contract commitment to the City across all permit types, not a solar-specific published figure, so it is offered as best-available context at reduced confidence.
contractor's own portfolio page (general SLA, not solar-specific) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.4leafinc.com/portfolio/city-of-avalon-ca/
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days if work is not commenced (or is suspended/abandoned for 180 days), per the unamended CBC/CRC Section 105.5/R105.5 administrative provisions adopted by AMC 8-1.02/8-8.01 — no Avalon-specific amendment to permit expiration was found.
Why the confidence is not higherAMC 8-1.02 adopts CBC Chapter 1 administrative provisions wholesale as the City's permit administration rules, and no local amendment to the expiration section was found among the Chapter 8-1 amendments reviewed (fire sprinklers, roof covering, refunds, work-before-permit penalty) — so the base (unamended) code default is inferred to apply.
municipal code (base-code default, no local amendment found) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35904806
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
iWorq Land Management System permit portal (avalon.portal.iworq.net/portalhome/avalon)
Why the confidence is not higherLinked directly from the City's own Government/Departments navigation. Could not be verified further (the portal returned HTTP 403 to both a plain fetch and a headless-Chrome render), so its content/scope beyond existing could not be confirmed.
authority portal link checked 2026-08-31 https://avalon.portal.iworq.net/portalhome/avalon
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes (per statutory mandate)
Why the confidence is not higherAMC 8-6.05 requires the City to make electronic submittal of the required permit application and documents 'available to all small residential rooftop solar energy system permit applicants,' with electronic signatures accepted in lieu of wet signatures. The portal itself could not be directly verified (403 to automated access).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherSCE's own 'Cleaning Up Power Production on Catalina Island' article states SCE has served Santa Catalina Island since 1962, and confirms this is NOT the mainland utility relationship: the island 'is not connected to the mainland's electrical grid' and power is generated on-island at the Pebbly Beach Generating Station (historically diesel-fueled). This directly matches and confirms the brief's flag about the isolated island grid.
utility's own published article checked 2026-08-31 https://energized.edison.com/stories/cleaning-up-power-production-on-catalina-island
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's general Rule 21 / grid-interconnection page and the 'Cleaning Up Power Production on Catalina Island' article — neither states where SCE's interconnection/PTO step falls relative to the City's building permit specifically for Catalina's isolated grid; general mainland sequencing may not transfer given the island's separate generation constraints
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherAMC 8-6.06(f): 'The City shall not condition approval of an application on the approval of an association, as defined in Section 4080 of the Civil Code' — i.e., the City itself does not require or gate on HOA/architectural approval for a qualifying small residential rooftop solar system, though a private HOA/CC&R may still separately require it (not a City permitting requirement).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherAMC 8-6.06 establishes an administrative, nondiscretionary review process for qualifying systems (Planning Commission/discretionary review is reserved for the rare Use Permit path under 8-6.07, triggered only by a finding of specific adverse health/safety impact). No separate historic-district solar review provision was found in Title 8 or Title 9 as reviewed.
municipal code (inference from administrative-process structure) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherCalifornia has no TDI-style windstorm certification program; wind design is handled through the adopted CBC/CRC structural provisions (ASCE 7-based) rather than a separate certification step. No Avalon-specific wind-certification requirement was found in Title 8.
municipal code (absence, general CA practice) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35904845
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Conditionally yes — AMC 8-6.07 allows the Building Official to require a discretionary Use Permit if the Official finds, on substantial evidence, that the system 'could have a specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety'; that decision is appealable to the Planning Commission.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect text of AMC 8-6.06(e) and 8-6.07.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal, and installed on a single- or duplex-family dwelling only (AMC 8-6.02 definition of 'Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy System'); larger systems fall outside this streamlined chapter and are not addressed by it.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect text of AMC 8-6.02, the AB 2188-era statutory figure.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2017 (per Avalon's own codified California Electrical Code, 2019 Edition, AMC 8-4.01, last amended by Ord. 1181-20, eff. 6 Feb 2020). State law makes the 2023 NEC-based 2025 CEC effective statewide from 1 Jan 2026; Avalon's own published municipal code has not been re-codified to reflect that cycle as of this check. 68% · municipal code
- Which building code edition is in force? California Building Code, 2019 Edition (AMC 8-1.01, Ord. 1181-20, eff. 6 Feb 2020) is what Avalon's own code currently shows; the 2025 CBC took statewide effect 1 Jan 2026 by operation of state law, and Avalon's own codified text has not been updated to reflect it as of this check. 68% · municipal code
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2019 California Fire Code, incorporated by reference via 'Title 32, Fire Code, of the Los Angeles County Code, as amended and in effect on April 9, 2020' (AMC 4-3.101, most recently amended by Ord. No. 1201-21, eff. 21 Oct 2021 — that 2021 amendment repealed local Sections 4-3.102/.103 but did not update the cited base edition/date). 65% · municipal code
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes, local amendments exist (e.g., mandatory NFPA 13 sprinklers beyond the base CBC trigger, a revised roof-covering classification table, refund procedures, doubled work-without-permit penalties) but NONE found are solar/PV-specific. 88% · municipal code (direct full-text review of four chapters)
- What is the installation judged against? California Electrical Code, 2019 Edition (AMC 8-4.01) Articles 690/705 for PV, referencing IEEE, accredited testing laboratories (e.g. UL), and CPUC safety/reliability rules per AMC 8-6.02(3); fire aspects judged against the incorporated 2019 California Fire Code (via LA County Code Title 32, AMC 4-3.101). 78% · municipal code
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? No Avalon-specific ridge-setback/pathway ordinance was found; the base (unamended) 2019 California Fire Code, as incorporated via LA County Code Title 32 (AMC 4-3.101), governs by default. 60% · municipal code (controlled absence — full chapter read)
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes — rapid shutdown is required under NEC Article 690.12 as incorporated into the California Electrical Code, 2019 Edition (based on the 2017 NEC); no local amendment to CEC Article 690 exists in AMC Chapter 8-4, which contains only adoption, penalty, and refund sections. 75% · municipal code
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? No Avalon-specific placard requirement was found; base 2019 CEC/CFC-required markings (e.g., NEC 690.56/705.12 disconnect and power-source markings, rapid-shutdown labels) would apply by default at the service equipment. 55% · municipal code (controlled absence)
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 78% · municipal code (controlled absence)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 82% · municipal code
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Not addressed by any Avalon-specific ordinance; batteries/ESS would fall under the base (unamended) 2019 California Fire Code Energy Storage System provisions as incorporated via LA County Code Title 32. The FY2025-26 Miscellaneous Fee Schedule has zero battery/ESS fee lines (control-checked: 0 hits for 'battery', 'energy storage', or 'ESS' against 10 hits for 'fire' and 0 for a fabricated 'zzqqx' control). 62% · fee schedule PDF (controlled absence) + municipal code
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? AMC 8-6.04(a)(2) requires the applicant to self-verify, using 'standard electrical inspection techniques,' that existing line, load, ground and bonding wiring and main panel/subpanel sizes are adequately sized to carry the new PV loads — no separate Avalon-specific busbar-rating amendment (e.g., to NEC 705.12) was found. 68% · municipal code
20 questions answered against City of Avalon’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2017 (per Avalon's own codified California Electrical Code, 2019 Edition, AMC 8-4.01, last amended by Ord. 1181-20, eff. 6 Feb 2020). State law makes the 2023 NEC-based 2025 CEC effective statewide from 1 Jan 2026; Avalon's own published municipal code has not been re-codified to reflect that cycle as of this check.
Why the confidence is not higherAMC 8-4.01 text reviewed directly and is unambiguous about the 2019 CEC edition and its 2020 effective date; the flag about statewide 2025 CEC supersession is based on the standard California triennial code-adoption cycle rather than an Avalon-specific document, so confidence reflects both the clean primary source and the genuine ambiguity about what currently governs in practice.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35904821
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
California Building Code, 2019 Edition (AMC 8-1.01, Ord. 1181-20, eff. 6 Feb 2020) is what Avalon's own code currently shows; the 2025 CBC took statewide effect 1 Jan 2026 by operation of state law, and Avalon's own codified text has not been updated to reflect it as of this check.
Why the confidence is not higherAMC 8-1.01 reviewed directly ("The California Building Code, 2019 Edition ... shall be the City's Building Code"); no newer codified adoption ordinance was found on eCode360, and site search tools on the City's own site could not confirm or rule out an uncodified newer ordinance.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35904806
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2019 California Fire Code, incorporated by reference via 'Title 32, Fire Code, of the Los Angeles County Code, as amended and in effect on April 9, 2020' (AMC 4-3.101, most recently amended by Ord. No. 1201-21, eff. 21 Oct 2021 — that 2021 amendment repealed local Sections 4-3.102/.103 but did not update the cited base edition/date).
Why the confidence is not higherDirect text of AMC 4-3.101. This is a wholesale-adoption-of-county-code-text pattern: Avalon's own Fire Department enforces the incorporated LA County Fire Code text rather than LACoFD performing the work.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35897103
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes, local amendments exist (e.g., mandatory NFPA 13 sprinklers beyond the base CBC trigger, a revised roof-covering classification table, refund procedures, doubled work-without-permit penalties) but NONE found are solar/PV-specific.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly reviewed the full text of AMC Chapters 8-1 (Building Code), 8-4 (Electrical Code), 8-8 (Residential Code) and 4-3 (Fire Prevention/Fire Code). None of the sections in any of these chapters mention solar, photovoltaic, rapid shutdown, or PV setbacks/pathways; the ONLY solar-specific provisions in Title 8 are the standalone AMC Chapter 8-6. Chapter 4-3's local-amendment sections (4-3.102, 4-3.103) were affirmatively repealed by Ord. 1201-21 and are marked '(Reserved),' leaving no local fire-code text at all beyond the bare adoption and penalty sections — a genuine, directly-read absence rather than a failed keyword search.
municipal code (direct full-text review of four chapters) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35904806
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
California Electrical Code, 2019 Edition (AMC 8-4.01) Articles 690/705 for PV, referencing IEEE, accredited testing laboratories (e.g. UL), and CPUC safety/reliability rules per AMC 8-6.02(3); fire aspects judged against the incorporated 2019 California Fire Code (via LA County Code Title 32, AMC 4-3.101).
Why the confidence is not higherCombines AMC 8-4.01, AMC 8-6.02(3), and AMC 4-3.101 — all directly reviewed.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
AMC 8-6.04(a)(2) requires the applicant to self-verify, using 'standard electrical inspection techniques,' that existing line, load, ground and bonding wiring and main panel/subpanel sizes are adequately sized to carry the new PV loads — no separate Avalon-specific busbar-rating amendment (e.g., to NEC 705.12) was found.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect text of AMC 8-6.04(a)(2); no busbar-specific bulletin was located on the Planning & Building Forms and Resources page.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAMC Chapters 8-1 (Building Code), 8-6 (Solar), and 8-8 (Residential Code), read in full — no Avalon-specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing amendment was found
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
No Avalon-specific ridge-setback/pathway ordinance was found; the base (unamended) 2019 California Fire Code, as incorporated via LA County Code Title 32 (AMC 4-3.101), governs by default.
Why the confidence is not higherFull direct read of AMC Chapter 4-3 (Fire Prevention) found only the adoption section and a penalties section — the local-amendment sections were repealed in 2021 and marked '(Reserved)' — so there is no Avalon-authored setback/pathway text to cite; the incorporated county/state base code default is inferred to apply.
municipal code (controlled absence — full chapter read) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35897103
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes — rapid shutdown is required under NEC Article 690.12 as incorporated into the California Electrical Code, 2019 Edition (based on the 2017 NEC); no local amendment to CEC Article 690 exists in AMC Chapter 8-4, which contains only adoption, penalty, and refund sections.
Why the confidence is not higherAMC Chapter 8-4 reviewed in full; contains no amendments to CEC Article 690.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35904821
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No Avalon-specific placard requirement was found; base 2019 CEC/CFC-required markings (e.g., NEC 690.56/705.12 disconnect and power-source markings, rapid-shutdown labels) would apply by default at the service equipment.
Why the confidence is not higherFull direct review of AMC Chapters 8-1, 8-4, 8-6, and 4-3 found no placard specification of any kind for solar; this is presented as the inferred base-code default rather than a confirmed Avalon requirement.
municipal code (controlled absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35904821
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherDirect full-text review of AMC Chapters 8-1, 8-4, 8-6, and 4-3 found no Avalon-authored placard wording anywhere in Title 8 or Title 4.
municipal code (controlled absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAMC Chapters 8-1, 8-4, 8-6, and 4-3, read in full — no letter-height, colour, or material specification for any solar placard was found
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAMC Chapter 8-6 and the Forms and Resources page — no facility-map/site-plan placard (705.10-style) requirement was located
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's Catalina Island pages, general Rule 21/grid-interconnection page, and the separate Santa Catalina Island Gas & Water tariff book page — no Catalina/Avalon-specific SCE distributed-generation manual or placard specification beyond SCE's general mainland materials was located
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame SCE sources as Q42 — no Avalon/Catalina-specific label-placement requirement was located
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherAMC 8-6.02(3): a qualifying system must 'conform to all applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Not addressed by any Avalon-specific ordinance; batteries/ESS would fall under the base (unamended) 2019 California Fire Code Energy Storage System provisions as incorporated via LA County Code Title 32. The FY2025-26 Miscellaneous Fee Schedule has zero battery/ESS fee lines (control-checked: 0 hits for 'battery', 'energy storage', or 'ESS' against 10 hits for 'fire' and 0 for a fabricated 'zzqqx' control).
Why the confidence is not higherAMC Chapter 8-6 (the City's only solar-specific chapter) is scoped by statute to photovoltaic/solar-thermal systems and does not mention batteries; no separate ESS ordinance was found in Title 8 or Title 4.
fee schedule PDF (controlled absence) + municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofavalon.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1774
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAMC Chapter 8-6 (scoped to PV/solar-thermal only, no ESS mention) and the FY2025-26 fee schedule (zero battery/ESS lines) — no statement on whether ESS requires its own separate permit/inspection was found
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAMC Chapter 8-6 and Chapter 8-1 (Building Code) — no statement on whether a ground-mounted array is treated as its own structure was found
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's general Rule 21/grid-interconnection page and Catalina Island pages — no Avalon/Catalina-specific AC-disconnect-to-meter placement spec was located
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone or Email 75% · authority department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 85% · municipal code
- If delegated, to whom? N/A — performed in-house by the (4LEAF-staffed) City Building Department, not delegated to another jurisdiction or agency. 78% · contractor's own portfolio page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? A single final inspection, performed by the Building Department, for systems eligible for the expedited small-residential-rooftop-solar review (AMC 8-6.08(a)-(b)). 85% · municipal code
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 82% · municipal code
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No standalone published solar inspection/eligibility checklist document was located, despite AMC 8-6.03(c) legally requiring the Official to adopt one ('standard plan(s) and checklist(s)') by 30 Sep 2015. 65% · department page (statutory duty vs. document not located)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (the single required inspection is signed off/finaled by the Building Department); no separate Certificate of Occupancy or PTO letter is described in AMC 8-6 for a PV addition to an existing dwelling. 55% · municipal code (inference)
- How are corrections issued and cleared? A written correction notice detailing all deficiencies is issued to the applicant for resubmission. 80% · municipal code
14 questions answered against City of Avalon’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone or Email
Why the confidence is not higherThe Planning & Building Department page states: 'Building inspections may be scheduled at the department window, or through the Senior Administrative Assistant - Donna Romo by email... or by calling 310-510-0220, ext. 116.' The City's iWorq permit portal may also support inspection requests but this could not be verified (403 to automated access).
authority department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofavalon.gov/184/Planning-Building
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPlanning & Building Department page (gives booking method/contact but not a stated notice period)
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Planning & Building Department page — no mention of AM/PM windows or same-day inspection availability
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherAMC 8-6.08(a): 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by the Building Department for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review.' The Building Department's day-to-day inspection function is staffed under the City's 2024 on-call contract with 4LEAF, Inc., but the inspection remains a City (Building Department) function, not a delegation to another jurisdiction.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — performed in-house by the (4LEAF-staffed) City Building Department, not delegated to another jurisdiction or agency.
Why the confidence is not higherSee Q52; 4LEAF is a staffing contractor to the City's own Building Department, not a separate AHJ.
contractor's own portfolio page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.4leafinc.com/portfolio/city-of-avalon-ca/
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
A single final inspection, performed by the Building Department, for systems eligible for the expedited small-residential-rooftop-solar review (AMC 8-6.08(a)-(b)).
Why the confidence is not higherDirect text of AMC 8-6.08.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherAMC 8-6.08(a) requires only ONE inspection for eligible expedited-review systems, with no separate rough-in or mid-roof stage described.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAMC 8-6.08 and the Planning & Building Department page — neither explicitly states that the inspector verifies equipment labels/listings, though this is standard building-inspection practice
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No standalone published solar inspection/eligibility checklist document was located, despite AMC 8-6.03(c) legally requiring the Official to adopt one ('standard plan(s) and checklist(s)') by 30 Sep 2015.
Why the confidence is not higherThe Planning & Building Forms and Resources page was reviewed directly and lists only: Business License Application, Building Permit Application, Encroachment Permit Application, Planning Commissioner Application, Planning Project Application Form, and Transient Rental/Complaint/Tax forms — no solar-specific checklist among them.
department page (statutory duty vs. document not located) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofavalon.gov/324/Planning-Building-Forms-and-Resources
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAMC Chapter 8-6 and Planning & Building Department page — no statement of what documents must be physically on site at inspection was found
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFY2025-26 Miscellaneous Fee Schedule, searched for 'reinspection' — found only a Fire/Hazardous-Materials 'Reinspection $322' line and an unrelated Fats-Oils-Grease 'Re-Inspection Fee $191' line; no Building/Electrical/Solar-specific reinspection fee line was found
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
A written correction notice detailing all deficiencies is issued to the applicant for resubmission.
Why the confidence is not higherAMC 8-6.06(b): 'If an application is deemed incomplete, a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies in the application ... shall be sent to the applicant for resubmission.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (the single required inspection is signed off/finaled by the Building Department); no separate Certificate of Occupancy or PTO letter is described in AMC 8-6 for a PV addition to an existing dwelling.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from AMC 8-6.08's single-final-inspection model; no document was found that names the specific document/artifact issued upon passing.
municipal code (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/35898030
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's Catalina Island and grid-interconnection pages — no document naming who (AHJ, installer, or utility) initiates the SCE Permission-to-Operate handoff for Catalina specifically was located
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Avalon against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Avalon is the authority having jurisdiction 85% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical permitting/inspection (City's own Planning & Building Department). Fire code enforcement sits with the City's OWN Avalon Fire Department (not LA County Fire/LACoFD) — but AFD enforces the fire CODE TEXT of LA County Code Title 32 (2019 CFC), adopted wholesale by reference, not a locally-authored fire code.
- Delegated to
- 4LEAF, Inc. holds the Building Official, plan review, permitting, and front-counter administration functions under an on-call contract since 2024 (city retains legal jurisdiction). Planning/zoning review is separately contracted to Sagecrest Environmental + Planning. Fire suppression and code enforcement stay fully in-house at the Avalon Fire Department; only Advanced Life Support/paramedic service is contracted out, to LA County Fire/Baywatch.
- Overridden by
- Southern California Edison (SCE) gates grid interconnection and Permission to Operate. SCE has served Catalina Island since 1962 via a physically isolated island grid, generated on-island at the Pebbly Beach Generating Station, NOT connected to the mainland transmission/CAISO grid — a materially different interconnection context than mainland SCE territory. No Avalon/Catalina-specific carve-out to standard Rule 21/NEM procedure text was located.
- Why not higher
- The City's own Planning & Building Department page states the City 'Contracts with Sagecrest Environmental + Planning for City Planning Services and 4LEAF for Building Services,' and 4LEAF's own client portfolio page (Years of Service: 2024-Present) confirms it supplies the Building Official, plan review, and permitting functions. AMC Ch. 8-6 (Small Residential Rooftop Solar Systems) codifies the City as the permitting authority for residential PV, with inspection performed by 'the Building Department' (8-6.08). The City's own Fire Department page shows Avalon retains its own municipal department (Fire Chief Michael Alegria, 11 full-time firefighters), not LACoFD, even though AMC 4-3.101 adopts the fire code TEXT of 'Title 32, Fire Code, of the Los Angeles County Code' by reference — a wholesale-adoption-of-county-text pattern distinct from LACoFD performing the work itself. The electric utility is SCE, confirmed via SCE's own 'Cleaning Up Power Production on Catalina Island' article describing an isolated island grid served by on-island generation since 1962; further corroborated by SCE publishing a SEPARATE tariff book only for Catalina's gas & water service (not electric), implying electric runs on SCE's standard statewide tariff rather than an island-specific electric tariff — though no explicit Catalina carve-out language was found in the general Rule 21 materials reviewed.
Check the code edition before you build
This authority's published code edition does not match what the state has adopted. That usually means the authority's ordinance has not been updated for the current cycle — but a local amendment can also be lawful. Confirm with the building department before you submit.
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $450 flat (Electrical Permit — 'Solar Systems' line, under 'Services, Switchboards')65%
- Plan review
- Not stated as a specific day-count for solar in AMC 8-6 ('within a reasonable period of time' after a complete application, 8-6.06(d)).55%
- Portal
- iWorq Land Management System permit portal (avalon.portal.iworq.net/portalhome/avalon)78%
- Electrical code
- 2017 (per Avalon's own codified California Electrical Code, 2019 Edition, AMC 8-4.01, last amended by Ord. 1181-20, eff. 6 Feb 2020).68%
- Own placard wording
- No78%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone or Email75%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 78%
No
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.