City of Beaumont
Riverside County
City of Beaumont is a city authority in the State of California, serving 53,036 residents. 8,794 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Two different stated turnarounds exist and appear to conflict: the general Apply-for-Permit page states 'Departments have 15 business days for 1st review and 7 days… Q18 Where you file — Citizen Self Service (CSS) portal, run on Tyler Technologies EnerGov (beaumontca-energovpub.tylerhost.net), used for direct city submittal, status tracking, Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- Roof-mounted residential PV <15kW: $136 building plan review + $240 building inspection ($376 total), +$7.50/+$7.50 per each additional 15kW.90% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Two different stated turnarounds exist and appear to conflict: the general Apply-for-Permit page states 'Departments have 15 business days for 1st review and 7 days for each subsequent review';75% source
- Key document
- department page (absence) cited by 7 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 88% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · department page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 78% · fee schedule
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 72% · department page (absence)
- Is there a historic-district review? No 60% · site search (absence)
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No / not applicable 78% · department page
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Not required for standard residential rooftop or ground-mount PV under state-mandated ministerial review (Gov. Code Sec 65850.5/65850.52); no Specific Use Permit or Council-approval step for residential solar was found in Beaumont's Planning/Zoning pages. 65% · site search (absence) + state statute
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No absolute cap on residential system size for standard plan review. The only size threshold found is the 38.4 kW AC nameplate-rating ceiling that gates eligibility for the automated/Symbium expedited-permitting pathway under Gov. Code Sec 65850.52 (SB 379); larger systems still go through standard city plan review. 82% · department page
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 75% · published checklist/forms
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes, for the Symbium expedited pathway (explicit precondition); for standard direct-to-city plan review this is not stated as a precondition to applying, though the city's general Business License ordinance requires anyone 'conducting business within the City of Beaumont' to hold one. 68% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 75% · published form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Completed Building Permit Application (Contractor or Owner-Builder), site/plot plan, single-line diagram, manufacturer's equipment specification sheets, and (per the general checklist) structural calculations and Title 24 energy calculations where applicable. For the Symbium expedited path, the Symbium-issued documents themselves substitute for city plan-check. 78% · department page
- How many copies, and in what format? Digital only, PDF format. Each document saved and labeled individually (e.g. 'Permit Application', 'Site Plan'); no paper copies accepted. Submitted via email to permits@beaumontca.gov or uploaded through the CSS portal. 90% · department page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes, a plot plan is required, showing all structures on the lot with dimensions and distances to property lines, a north arrow, and slope direction (up-slope/down-slope). This is the city's generic plot-plan template, not a PV-specific site-plan spec. 65% · published handout
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 88% · department page
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Citizen Self Service (CSS) portal, run on Tyler Technologies EnerGov (beaumontca-energovpub.tylerhost.net), used for direct city submittal, status tracking, and payments; for the expedited residential PV/ESS pathway the city additionally contracts with third-party vendor Symbium for automated plan review. The Apply-for-Permit page separately lists 'Solar APP+ PV Systems' as a CSS-available permit category distinct from 'Roof Mounted Solar,' which is worth flagging as possibly inconsistent naming rather than a second, distinct automated-permitting product (SolarAPP+ proper is the NREL/ICC platform; the streamlining page itself names only Symbium). 78% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 82% · portal landing page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? Roof-mounted residential PV <15kW: $136 building plan review + $240 building inspection ($376 total), +$7.50/+$7.50 per each additional 15kW. Ground-mount residential PV <15kW: $204 + $385 ($589 total). Standalone battery storage: $95 + $357, +$32/+$44 per additional battery. Battery-with-solar combo add-on: $126 + $44. If the battery exceeds 20kWh, add a separate Riverside County Fire fee of $150 plan review + $150 inspection (a battery <=20kWh is $150 plan review / $0 inspection). 90% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered 88% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 88% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Two different stated turnarounds exist and appear to conflict: the general Apply-for-Permit page states 'Departments have 15 business days for 1st review and 7 days for each subsequent review'; the PV Streamlining page separately states 'City plan review is typically completed within 24-48 hours' for standard (non-Symbium) solar submittals via the CSS Portal. Flagging both rather than resolving in the city's favor. 75% · department page
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Not stated by the city; the default under the adopted 2025 California Residential/Building Code (Section R105.5/105.5) is 180 days from issuance (permit expires if work has not commenced, or is suspended, for 180 days), and no Beaumont-specific amendment to that default was located. 55% · adopting ordinance summary (inference)
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 88% · city department page
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel, with Permission to Operate (PTO) gated on the city's building/electrical final -- inferred from SCE's standard statewide Rule 21/NEM interconnection process rather than a Beaumont-specific document. 48% · utility page (general, not Beaumont-specific)
28 questions answered against City of Beaumont’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Beaumont Building & Safety Division's own Apply for Permit/Plan Review and Photovoltaic Permit Streamlining pages describe the city issuing residential PV/ESS permits directly (via CSS portal, email, or the Symbium automated-review vendor under contract to the city).
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1456/Photovoltaic-Permit-Streamlining
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Division issues and inspects building and electrical permits directly. Fire is delegated to Riverside County Fire/CAL FIRE (see jurisdiction block) for the ESS-specific fire-detection review only; PV-only systems have no city or county fire review at all per the fee schedule (no residential PV line under Fire fees).
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1295/Apply-for-PermitPlan-Review
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherPV Streamlining page describes obtaining a permit (standard or expedited) as the path to installing residential PV/ESS; the fee schedule prices roof-mounted and ground-mount residential PV permits explicitly.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1456/Photovoltaic-Permit-Streamlining
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's fee schedule prices PV and battery installations as single 'Photovoltaic & Energy Storage' permit-type line items (one plan-review fee + one inspection fee per system), with no separate electrical-permit fee line for PV; the streamlining workflow also describes one permit being issued, not two.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2313/Development-Fee-Schedule-Planning-Public-Works-Building--Fire
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherCity offers both a 'Building Permit Application - Contractor' (requiring A/B/C-10/C-46 license for the Symbium expedited path specifically) and a 'Building Permit Application - Owner/Builder' form with no trade exclusion, so either a licensed contractor or a qualifying homeowner may pull the permit.
published checklist/forms checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1282/Applications-Handouts-and-Forms
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes, for the Symbium expedited pathway (explicit precondition); for standard direct-to-city plan review this is not stated as a precondition to applying, though the city's general Business License ordinance requires anyone 'conducting business within the City of Beaumont' to hold one.
Why the confidence is not higherPV Streamlining page lists possession of a 'City of Beaumont Business License' as one of the four eligibility conditions to use the Symbium automated-review software. The Business Licenses page states the general requirement but the standard-review Apply-for-Permit page does not repeat it as a submittal precondition.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1456/Photovoltaic-Permit-Streamlining
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity publishes a standard California 'Owner-Builder' Building Permit Application (no exclusion of electrical or solar work) alongside the CSLB Section 7044/7031.5 declarations; this is the general owner-builder path, not a solar-specific carve-out, so residential rooftop PV self-install/self-permit follows the same route as any other trade.
published form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2899/Building-Permit-Application-for-Owner-Builder
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Completed Building Permit Application (Contractor or Owner-Builder), site/plot plan, single-line diagram, manufacturer's equipment specification sheets, and (per the general checklist) structural calculations and Title 24 energy calculations where applicable. For the Symbium expedited path, the Symbium-issued documents themselves substitute for city plan-check.
Why the confidence is not higherSynthesized from the Apply-for-Permit page's general digital-submittal list (Permit Application, Site Plan, Architectural Plans, Structural Calcs, Title 24 Calculations, Truss Calcs) plus the PV Streamlining page's explicit pre-inspection document list (Single Line Diagram, manufacturer specs, Approved Symbium Issued Documents). No single PV-specific checklist consolidates this into one document.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1295/Apply-for-PermitPlan-Review
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Digital only, PDF format. Each document saved and labeled individually (e.g. 'Permit Application', 'Site Plan'); no paper copies accepted. Submitted via email to permits@beaumontca.gov or uploaded through the CSS portal.
Why the confidence is not higherApply for Permit/Plan Review page states this explicitly: 'The City of Beaumont accepts only digital submittals... Only PDF documents are accepted... Each document should be saved individually.' This is general to all permit types, not PV-specific, but nothing suggests PV is handled differently.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1295/Apply-for-PermitPlan-Review
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes, a plot plan is required, showing all structures on the lot with dimensions and distances to property lines, a north arrow, and slope direction (up-slope/down-slope). This is the city's generic plot-plan template, not a PV-specific site-plan spec.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own 'Plot Plan Handout' (generic to all permit types including accessory structures) specifies these elements; no PV/ground-mount-specific site plan requirement (e.g. array location, setback from fire access) was found in any Beaumont document.
published handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/37884/Plot-Plan-Handout
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherPhotovoltaic Permit Streamlining page requires a 'Single Line Diagram (11" x 17")' to be uploaded to the CSS Portal and printed and available on-site for the inspector.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1456/Photovoltaic-Permit-Streamlining
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedApply for Permit/Plan Review page (general submittal checklist), Photovoltaic Permit Streamlining page, Codes & Standards page -- none specify a requirement for string sizing or conductor ampacity calculations to be submitted separately from the single-line diagram.
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedApply for Permit/Plan Review page, PV Streamlining page, Codes & Standards page, Applications/Handouts/Forms page -- no document states a structural PE-stamp threshold for residential PV mounting/racking.
https://www.beaumontca.gov/1282/Applications-Handouts-and-Forms
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame set of pages as q13 -- no document states an electrical PE-stamp threshold for residential PV.
https://www.beaumontca.gov/1282/Applications-Handouts-and-Forms
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Roof-mounted residential PV <15kW: $136 building plan review + $240 building inspection ($376 total), +$7.50/+$7.50 per each additional 15kW. Ground-mount residential PV <15kW: $204 + $385 ($589 total). Standalone battery storage: $95 + $357, +$32/+$44 per additional battery. Battery-with-solar combo add-on: $126 + $44. If the battery exceeds 20kWh, add a separate Riverside County Fire fee of $150 plan review + $150 inspection (a battery <=20kWh is $150 plan review / $0 inspection).
Why the confidence is not higherCity-wide Fee Schedule PDF, internal revision stamp reads 'Effective July 1, 2023 / Updated 7/1/2026' -- current as of this run, read directly with pdftotext, not from a webpage figure or filename date.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2313/Development-Fee-Schedule-Planning-Public-Works-Building--Fire
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule prices a base tier (<15kW residential roof/ground mount) then adds per-kW increments in 15kW steps (residential) or kW bands 51-250 / 251+ (non-residential) -- a tiered-by-size structure, not flat, per-panel, or pure valuation-based.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2313/Development-Fee-Schedule-Planning-Public-Works-Building--Fire
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule breaks every PV/ESS line item into separate 'Building Plan Review' and 'Building Inspection' columns, and includes a general line 'PLAN REVIEW REVISIONS AND/OR DEFERRED SUBMITTALS' -- plan check is billed and tracked separately from inspection throughout.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2313/Development-Fee-Schedule-Planning-Public-Works-Building--Fire
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Two different stated turnarounds exist and appear to conflict: the general Apply-for-Permit page states 'Departments have 15 business days for 1st review and 7 days for each subsequent review'; the PV Streamlining page separately states 'City plan review is typically completed within 24-48 hours' for standard (non-Symbium) solar submittals via the CSS Portal. Flagging both rather than resolving in the city's favor.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth statements are on the city's own current pages but they are not reconciled anywhere -- the 24-48hr figure may reflect an informal/aspirational practice for the narrower solar case that overrides the general 15-day figure, or may be inconsistent messaging.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1456/Photovoltaic-Permit-Streamlining
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Not stated by the city; the default under the adopted 2025 California Residential/Building Code (Section R105.5/105.5) is 180 days from issuance (permit expires if work has not commenced, or is suspended, for 180 days), and no Beaumont-specific amendment to that default was located.
Why the confidence is not higherCodes & Standards page confirms 2025 CBC/CRC adoption but does not itself restate the permit-validity section, and no separate Beaumont handout on permit expiration was found via site search for 'permit expiration' / 'permit validity'.
adopting ordinance summary (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1279/Codes-Standards
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Citizen Self Service (CSS) portal, run on Tyler Technologies EnerGov (beaumontca-energovpub.tylerhost.net), used for direct city submittal, status tracking, and payments; for the expedited residential PV/ESS pathway the city additionally contracts with third-party vendor Symbium for automated plan review. The Apply-for-Permit page separately lists 'Solar APP+ PV Systems' as a CSS-available permit category distinct from 'Roof Mounted Solar,' which is worth flagging as possibly inconsistent naming rather than a second, distinct automated-permitting product (SolarAPP+ proper is the NREL/ICC platform; the streamlining page itself names only Symbium).
Why the confidence is not higherPV Streamlining page names Symbium explicitly as the automated-review vendor; Apply-for-Permit page names the CSS portal (linked to the EnerGov host) and separately lists a 'Solar APP+ PV Systems' item, which I could not reconcile with the Symbium-only description on the streamlining page within this run.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1295/Apply-for-PermitPlan-Review
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherApply-for-Permit page lists 'Roof Mounted Solar' and 'Solar APP+ PV Systems' among the permit types 'available through our CSS portal' (as opposed to the email-only route for other permit types), and the PV Streamlining flow describes online submission through to automatic issuance.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1295/Apply-for-PermitPlan-Review
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Electric Vehicle Charging page lists SCE by name under 'Public Utilities' (alongside Beaumont Cherry Valley Water District for water/sewer and SoCal Gas) -- confirmed from a city-side source naming the utility, not inferred from PowerToChoose or a ZIP lookup. No municipal electric utility or CCA was found serving Beaumont in this run.
city department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1162/Electric-Vehicle-Charging
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel, with Permission to Operate (PTO) gated on the city's building/electrical final -- inferred from SCE's standard statewide Rule 21/NEM interconnection process rather than a Beaumont-specific document.
Why the confidence is not higherNo Beaumont-specific document describes the interconnection sequence. SCE's dedicated interconnection handbook (on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook) 302-redirects to the SCE homepage with no working content and no Wayback capture found in this run; SCE's general 'Building, Renovation and Project Planning' consulting page is live but does not spell out sequencing relative to the city permit.
utility page (general, not Beaumont-specific) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sce.com/partners/consulting-services/building-renovations-planning-project-requests
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo HOA/architectural-approval precondition appears in the PV Streamlining eligibility list or the general Apply-for-Permit checklist; California's Solar Rights Act (Civil Code Sec 714) independently preempts unreasonable HOA restrictions on solar statewide.
department page (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1456/Photovoltaic-Permit-Streamlining
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherSite search for 'historic district' on beaumontca.gov returned no Planning Division historic-preservation-overlay or historic-district ordinance; positive control ('electrical') and fabricated control ('zzqqx') on the same search endpoint returned real results and a genuine no-results page respectively, confirming the search itself works.
site search (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=historic%20district
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No / not applicable
Why the confidence is not higherWind/windstorm certification (TDI-style) is a Texas-coastal construct with no California equivalent; Beaumont's own Codes & Standards page instead references the ASCE 7 Hazard Tool for 'Basic Wind Speed' as part of standard structural design criteria incorporated into the adopted 2025 CBC/CRC, not a separate certification regime.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1279/Codes-Standards
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Not required for standard residential rooftop or ground-mount PV under state-mandated ministerial review (Gov. Code Sec 65850.5/65850.52); no Specific Use Permit or Council-approval step for residential solar was found in Beaumont's Planning/Zoning pages.
Why the confidence is not higherAbsence checked against Beaumont's Planning, Specific Plans, and Zoning Information pages via site search for 'Specific Use Permit'; none reference residential PV. Ministerial statutory review under Gov Code Sec 65850.5/.52 independently forecloses discretionary Council review for qualifying systems.
site search (absence) + state statute checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=Specific%20Use%20Permit
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No absolute cap on residential system size for standard plan review. The only size threshold found is the 38.4 kW AC nameplate-rating ceiling that gates eligibility for the automated/Symbium expedited-permitting pathway under Gov. Code Sec 65850.52 (SB 379); larger systems still go through standard city plan review.
Why the confidence is not higherPV Streamlining page states the Symbium pathway is limited to 'residential photovoltaic system and/or battery energy storage system that is no larger than 38.4 kilowatts alternating current nameplate rating' -- this is an eligibility threshold for the fast-track program, not a jurisdiction-wide interconnection cap.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1456/Photovoltaic-Permit-Streamlining
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 88% · adopting ordinance summary
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code and 2025 California Residential Code 92% · adopting ordinance summary
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (per Beaumont's Codes & Standards page). Note: Riverside County Fire's own published Residential ESS Guideline (OFM-16), the document actually governing residential battery review, is dated Nov 2024 and cites the 2022 CFC -- it may not yet have been updated to reference the 2025 cycle explicitly. 70% · adopting ordinance summary
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 72% · adopting ordinance summary
- What is the installation judged against? The adopted 2025 California Electrical/Building/Residential/Fire Codes as locally amended by Beaumont's Additional Design Criteria table (ambient temperature 99F for conductor ampacity, ASCE-7-derived wind speed/seismic/snow values via the ASCE 7 Hazard Tool, soil lateral bearing 1,500 psf default, Climate Zone 10, 2 in/hr 100-yr rainfall). 80% · adopting ordinance summary
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Beaumont on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown is required under the adopted 2025 California Electrical Code (i.e. NEC 690.12 as carried into the current CEC cycle). No Beaumont-specific rapid-shutdown handout exists to independently verify wording or confirm it has not been left over from a stale (pre-2019 array-boundary) scheme -- this is inferred from the code-adoption statement rather than seen written out. 60% · adopting ordinance (inference)
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 55% · site search (absence)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? No explicit approved-equipment list ordinance was found; the PV Streamlining page requires 'Manufacturer's specification for all equipment' to be submitted and available at inspection, which implies standard UL-listing verification rather than a city-maintained approved-products list. 55% · department page
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, batteries/ESS are permitted, subject to: (1) a construction permit submitted to BOTH the Beaumont Building Department and Riverside County Fire's Office of the Fire Marshal (RVC-OFM); (2) fire-detection compliance per CRC R328.7/CFC 1207.11.6 -- one of three options for garage-installed ESS (interconnected listed heat detector + relay to smoke alarms; a UL 985 household fire-warning system via a deferred Fire Alarm permit; or a listed heat/smoke alarm for unconditioned spaces), or installation in an exterior location instead; and (3) for systems over 20kWh, a Riverside County Fire Prevention Division inspection is required before the building final. 90% · county fire-marshal technical guideline
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes 88% · fee schedule
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes (implied) 65% · fee schedule (inference)
20 questions answered against City of Beaumont’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherCodes & Standards page lists '2025 California Electrical Code' as adopted; the 2025 California Code cycle (effective 1 Jan 2026) is based on the 2023 NEC as amended into CEC Part 3.
adopting ordinance summary checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1279/Codes-Standards
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code and 2025 California Residential Code
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly on the city's Codes & Standards page, alongside 2025 CMC, CPC, Energy Code, Historical Building Code, Existing Building Code, and Green Building Code -- the full 2025 California code cycle.
adopting ordinance summary checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1279/Codes-Standards
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (per Beaumont's Codes & Standards page). Note: Riverside County Fire's own published Residential ESS Guideline (OFM-16), the document actually governing residential battery review, is dated Nov 2024 and cites the 2022 CFC -- it may not yet have been updated to reference the 2025 cycle explicitly.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect statement on Codes & Standards page for the 2025 CFC city-wide adoption; cross-checked against RVC-OFM's ESS-specific guideline PDF, which internally still cites 'the 2022 California Fire Code (CFC), Chapter 12' -- flagging the discrepancy rather than resolving it.
adopting ordinance summary checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1279/Codes-Standards
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Codes & Standards page's own 'Additional Design Criteria' table amends base-code defaults for Beaumont specifically (e.g. Ambient Temperature 99 degrees F for 2019 CEC electrical-conductor ampacity correction, Soil Lateral Bearing Capacity 1,500 psf per 2019 CBC default, Climate Zone 10) -- these are local design-parameter amendments codified via Beaumont Municipal Code Title 15. I could not retrieve the full ordinance text itself: library.municode.com returned HTTP 403 to both curl and WebFetch (Angular JS shell requiring an authenticated API call), so I cannot confirm the complete amendment list beyond this summary table.
adopting ordinance summary checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1279/Codes-Standards
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The adopted 2025 California Electrical/Building/Residential/Fire Codes as locally amended by Beaumont's Additional Design Criteria table (ambient temperature 99F for conductor ampacity, ASCE-7-derived wind speed/seismic/snow values via the ASCE 7 Hazard Tool, soil lateral bearing 1,500 psf default, Climate Zone 10, 2 in/hr 100-yr rainfall).
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the Codes & Standards page as the design-criteria table governing all construction including electrical work.
adopting ordinance summary checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1279/Codes-Standards
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCodes & Standards page's 'Additional Design Criteria' table (only covers ambient temperature, soil bearing, wind/seismic/snow via ASCE 7 tool, climate zone, rainfall) and Municode Title 15 (blocked -- 403 to both curl and WebFetch on library.municode.com, an Angular JS shell). No Beaumont-specific busbar/120%-rule or service-upgrade amendment was located.
https://library.municode.com/ca/beaumont/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedApplications, Handouts and Forms page -- the Standard Plans list includes Block Wall, Patio Cover, Pilaster, Plot Plan Example, and two Retaining Wall variants, but no solar racking/mounting standard plan or attachment-spacing bulletin.
https://www.beaumontca.gov/1282/Applications-Handouts-and-Forms
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRiverside County Fire Marshal's 'Technical Policies & Specs' page (walked the full guideline-ofm and technical-policies listings) and Beaumont's Fire Services / Fire Hazard Severity Zones pages -- no PV-specific ridge-setback or roof-access-pathway bulletin was found at either the city or the county fire marshal level (only the general FD-access apparatus-road guideline OFM-01A, which does not address rooftop PV). The requirement presumably defaults to the codified 2025 CRC/CFC pathway sections, but I could not confirm the specific figures from a source I could read.
https://rvcfire.org/our-departments/fire-marshal/technical-policies-specs
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Rapid shutdown is required under the adopted 2025 California Electrical Code (i.e. NEC 690.12 as carried into the current CEC cycle). No Beaumont-specific rapid-shutdown handout exists to independently verify wording or confirm it has not been left over from a stale (pre-2019 array-boundary) scheme -- this is inferred from the code-adoption statement rather than seen written out.
Why the confidence is not higherSite search for 'rapid shutdown' on beaumontca.gov returned no relevant results (only unrelated documents), so there is no local bulletin to check for the stale-citation problem flagged in this brief; the answer rests entirely on the Codes & Standards page's adoption of the 2025 CEC.
adopting ordinance (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1279/Codes-Standards
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSite search for 'placard' and 'label' on beaumontca.gov (positive control 'electrical' and fabricated control 'zzqqx' both behaved correctly, confirming the search works) -- no service-equipment placard specification document was found.
https://www.beaumontca.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=label
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo Beaumont-specific placard-wording document was found via site search for 'placard' or 'label' (results were all unrelated: On-Premises Service Applications, Neighborhood Watch, submittal-requirement checklists for other permit types). Absence proven by search with a working positive control ('electrical' returned real hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx' returned a genuine no-results page).
site search (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=placard
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame site search as q38/q39 for 'placard'/'label' -- no letter-height, colour, or material specification found.
https://www.beaumontca.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=placard
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPlot Plan Handout (generic, not solar-specific) and PV Streamlining page -- neither describes a 705.10-style facility/site-plan placard requirement distinct from the general plot plan.
https://www.beaumontca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/37884/Plot-Plan-Handout
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's dedicated interconnection handbook (on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook, confirmed via curl -I to 302-redirect to the SCE homepage with no working content) and SCE's general 'Building, Renovation and Project Planning' consulting page (live but does not spell out placard requirements beyond the AHJ's).
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q38/q40 -- no Beaumont document specifies label placement location.
https://www.beaumontca.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=label
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
No explicit approved-equipment list ordinance was found; the PV Streamlining page requires 'Manufacturer's specification for all equipment' to be submitted and available at inspection, which implies standard UL-listing verification rather than a city-maintained approved-products list.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the equipment-documentation requirement on the streamlining page; no separate 'approved equipment' bulletin or list page found.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1456/Photovoltaic-Permit-Streamlining
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes, batteries/ESS are permitted, subject to: (1) a construction permit submitted to BOTH the Beaumont Building Department and Riverside County Fire's Office of the Fire Marshal (RVC-OFM); (2) fire-detection compliance per CRC R328.7/CFC 1207.11.6 -- one of three options for garage-installed ESS (interconnected listed heat detector + relay to smoke alarms; a UL 985 household fire-warning system via a deferred Fire Alarm permit; or a listed heat/smoke alarm for unconditioned spaces), or installation in an exterior location instead; and (3) for systems over 20kWh, a Riverside County Fire Prevention Division inspection is required before the building final.
Why the confidence is not higherCorroborated by three independent current sources: Riverside County Fire's 'Residential ESS Guideline' (OFM-16, dated 10/8/2024, extracted directly with pdftotext); Beaumont's PV Streamlining page ('If your system contained a battery energy storage system that exceeded 20 kilowatts an inspection from the fire prevention division is required first'); and the city's fee schedule, which prices Battery Energy Systems Residential Under/Over 20kWh as distinct fire-fee line items.
county fire-marshal technical guideline checked 2026-08-30 https://rvcfire.org/pdf/fire-marshal/guideline-ofm/Residential%20ESS%20Guideline.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity fee schedule prices 'Battery Storage' and 'Battery Storage with Solar' as distinct Building & Safety line items from PV-only permits, and Riverside County Fire separately charges 'Battery Energy Systems - Residential Under/Over 20 kWh' fees with a dedicated fire-prevention inspection required for systems over 20kWh (per the PV Streamlining page and OFM-16 guideline).
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2313/Development-Fee-Schedule-Planning-Public-Works-Building--Fire
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes (implied)
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule prices 'Ground Mount' PV as its own category with materially higher plan-review and inspection fees than roof-mounted (e.g. $204/$385 vs $136/$240 for the <15kW residential tier), consistent with a ground-mount array being reviewed as its own structure, though no ordinance text stating 'ground-mount PV is a structure' was located.
fee schedule (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2313/Development-Fee-Schedule-Planning-Public-Works-Building--Fire
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's interconnection handbook (dead, see q42) and general SCE consulting/planning page (no disconnect-placement detail); no Beaumont-specific document addresses AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal or Email 88% · department page
- How much notice is required? By 3:00pm for next-business-day inspection (effectively about 1 business day notice); requests are only accepted within a 7-day scheduling window of the current date. 88% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Not offered/not mentioned -- the Inspections page describes only next-business-day scheduling with no AM/PM window or same-day option stated. 58% · department page (absence)
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 82% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? Riverside County Fire Department (CAL FIRE contract), Fire Prevention / Office of the Fire Marshal -- but only for the ESS-over-20kWh fire-detection inspection component, not for PV or for the building/electrical final generally. 82% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For standard roof-mounted or ground-mount PV: permit issuance, then a single building/electrical final inspection requested after work is complete. For systems with a battery/ESS over 20kWh: the Riverside County Fire Prevention inspection is required first, before the building final. 68% · department page
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No 65% · site search (absence)
- What must be on site at inspection? Approved Symbium-issued documents (8.5"x11" minimum print), manufacturer's specification sheets for all equipment (8.5"x11" minimum), and the Single Line Diagram (11"x17" minimum) -- all uploaded to the CSS Portal beforehand and printed for the inspector on-site. 90% · department page
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Likely yes, though not stated in so many words -- the PV Streamlining page requires manufacturer's equipment specification sheets and the single-line diagram to be printed and available on-site 'for the inspector,' which functionally requires the inspector to compare installed equipment/labels against the submitted documents. 55% · department page (inference)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? A passed final inspection recorded in the CSS Portal (no distinct 'Green Tag' or Certificate of Occupancy is described for an accessory PV/ESS installation on an existing single-family home). 50% · department page (inference)
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $128.00 flat 90% · fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? Via email (if the inspection was requested by email, the inspector emails back approval or comments) or via the CSS Portal (results are documented directly in the permit record online, with no separate email sent). 65% · department page
14 questions answered against City of Beaumont’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal or Email
Why the confidence is not higherInspections page states two methods: 'Inspection requests can be made thru our Customer Service Portal or by email to BuildingInspector@beaumontca.gov.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/61/Inspections
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
By 3:00pm for next-business-day inspection (effectively about 1 business day notice); requests are only accepted within a 7-day scheduling window of the current date.
Why the confidence is not higherInspections page: 'Inspection requests must be received by 3:00pm for next business day inspection' and 'INSPECTION REQUESTS WILL ONLY BE ACCEPTED WHEN THE SCHEDULED IS WITHIN 7 DAYS OF CURRENT DATE.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/61/Inspections
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Not offered/not mentioned -- the Inspections page describes only next-business-day scheduling with no AM/PM window or same-day option stated.
Why the confidence is not higherThe one page that would describe scheduling windows (Inspections) is silent on AM/PM options; also mentions 'the site technician's name, email and phone number so the inspector may make arrangements for the virtual inspection,' implying flexible/virtual scheduling rather than fixed windows.
department page (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/61/Inspections
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building Inspector (BuildingInspector@beaumontca.gov) performs the building/electrical final for residential PV. The one exception is that for ESS over 20kWh, a Riverside County Fire Prevention inspection is required as an additional, separate step before the building final -- see q53.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/61/Inspections
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Riverside County Fire Department (CAL FIRE contract), Fire Prevention / Office of the Fire Marshal -- but only for the ESS-over-20kWh fire-detection inspection component, not for PV or for the building/electrical final generally.
Why the confidence is not higherPV Streamlining page: 'If your system contained a battery energy storage system that exceeded 20 kilowatts an inspection from the fire prevention division is required first. To request an inspection with fire, please submit and email to that department.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1456/Photovoltaic-Permit-Streamlining
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For standard roof-mounted or ground-mount PV: permit issuance, then a single building/electrical final inspection requested after work is complete. For systems with a battery/ESS over 20kWh: the Riverside County Fire Prevention inspection is required first, before the building final.
Why the confidence is not higherAssembled from the PV Streamlining page's step-by-step description ('Step 3: Permit is Issued... After the permit is issued and the work is performed, you can request an inspection from the Building Department... If your system contained a battery energy storage system that exceeded 20 kilowatts an inspection from the fire prevention division is required first'). No multi-stage rough-in sequence is described for PV.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1456/Photovoltaic-Permit-Streamlining
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Streamlining page and Inspections page -- the streamlining workflow describes only a single post-completion inspection request step with no mention of a rough-in or mid-roof inspection for PV specifically.
https://www.beaumontca.gov/1456/Photovoltaic-Permit-Streamlining
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Likely yes, though not stated in so many words -- the PV Streamlining page requires manufacturer's equipment specification sheets and the single-line diagram to be printed and available on-site 'for the inspector,' which functionally requires the inspector to compare installed equipment/labels against the submitted documents.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the stated on-site document requirement rather than an explicit checklist item saying 'inspector verifies labels and listings.'
department page (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1456/Photovoltaic-Permit-Streamlining
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No
Why the confidence is not higherSite search for 'checklist' on beaumontca.gov surfaced only Food Truck, Sidewalk Vendor, New Resident, Sewer-Improvement, and Water-Improvement checklists -- no residential PV or general building-inspection checklist was found among the results (6 pages of hits reviewed for the top page).
site search (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=checklist
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Approved Symbium-issued documents (8.5"x11" minimum print), manufacturer's specification sheets for all equipment (8.5"x11" minimum), and the Single Line Diagram (11"x17" minimum) -- all uploaded to the CSS Portal beforehand and printed for the inspector on-site.
Why the confidence is not higherPV Streamlining page states this explicitly, including the minimum print sizes for each document.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/1456/Photovoltaic-Permit-Streamlining
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$128.00 flat
Why the confidence is not higherCity-wide Fee Schedule, Building & Safety Miscellaneous Fees / Inspections table: 'REINSPECTION FEE $128.00' -- a general fee applying across all Building & Safety permit types including PV, dated internally 'Updated 7/1/2026.'
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2313/Development-Fee-Schedule-Planning-Public-Works-Building--Fire
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Via email (if the inspection was requested by email, the inspector emails back approval or comments) or via the CSS Portal (results are documented directly in the permit record online, with no separate email sent).
Why the confidence is not higherInspections page states both channels explicitly but does not describe a formal written 'correction notice' document or a re-submittal process beyond re-requesting an inspection.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/61/Inspections
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
A passed final inspection recorded in the CSS Portal (no distinct 'Green Tag' or Certificate of Occupancy is described for an accessory PV/ESS installation on an existing single-family home).
Why the confidence is not higherNeither the Inspections page nor the PV Streamlining page names what document or record is issued on a passing inspection; inferred from the general permit/portal workflow (permit record updated to 'final/approved' status) rather than a stated deliverable.
department page (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.beaumontca.gov/61/Inspections
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Streamlining page, Inspections page, and SCE's dead interconnection handbook (see q42/q48) -- no Beaumont or SCE document found in this run describing who notifies SCE to trigger Permission to Operate.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Beaumont against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Beaumont is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (Building & Safety Division issues and inspects building, electrical, mechanical and plumbing permits for residential PV/ESS directly). Fire plan review and inspection is delegated to Riverside County Fire Department / CAL FIRE under the county's contract-city fire-services arrangement -- the county employs a Fire Safety Specialist (Supervising Fire Marshal) who reviews fire-suppression-related aspects (residential ESS >20kWh) even though submittals route through the city's permits@beaumontca.gov mailbox.
- Delegated to
- Riverside County Fire Department (CAL FIRE contract), Office of the Fire Marshal -- for fire plan review/inspection of residential Energy Storage Systems only (Guideline OFM-16 requires ESS construction-permit submittals to go to BOTH the city Building Department and RVC-OFM). Building and electrical are NOT delegated.
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code Sec 65850.52 (SB 379) requires ministerial/automated permitting for residential PV+ESS up to 38.4 kW AC -- Beaumont implements this via a third-party vendor (Symbium); CA AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) freezes more-restrictive local residential code amendments 1 Oct 2025-1 Jun 2031; Civil Code Sec 714 (Solar Rights Act) preempts HOA restrictions.
- Why not higher
- City's own Building & Safety and Fire Services pages state this directly. Fire Services page: 'Fire Services are provided by CAL FIRE/Riverside County Fire Department... As part of the County's Fire Services to the City of Beaumont, they also employ a Fire Safety Specialist who oversees plan review, installation, and inspections of fire suppressant systems' -- confirming a Lake-Elsinore-style whole-fire-function contract rather than a suppression-only or staffed-department model. Building & Safety page and Photovoltaic Permit Streamlining page confirm the city issues building/electrical permits directly and in-house (CSS portal + email to permits@beaumontca.gov), with no county or state delegation of that function. Not independently verified: I could not retrieve the codified adoption ordinance in Beaumont Municipal Code Title 15 itself (Municode's library.municode.com returns a 403 to both curl and WebFetch -- an Angular/JS shell requiring an internal API call I could not authenticate to), so amendment specifics rely on the city's own Codes & Standards summary page rather than the ordinance text.
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- Roof-mounted residential PV <15kW: $136 building plan review + $240 building inspection ($376 total), +$7.50/+$7.50 per each additional 15kW.90%
- Plan review
- Two different stated turnarounds exist and appear to conflict: the general Apply-for-Permit page states 'Departments have 15 business days for 1st review and 7 days for each subsequent…75%
- Portal
- Citizen Self Service (CSS) portal, run on Tyler Technologies EnerGov (beaumontca-energovpub.tylerhost.net), used for direct city submittal, status tracking, and payments;78%
- Electrical code
- 202388%
- Own placard wording
- No55%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal or Email88%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 55%
No
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.