City of Blythe
Riverside County
City of Blythe is a city authority in the State of California, serving 18,317 residents. 1,277 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, the 2025 California Electrical Code code cycle it enforces, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — As soon as possible following a complete submittal (no fixed day-count) for the standard nondiscretionary process. Q18 Where you file — SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org) Q20
- Permit required
- Yes98% source
- Plan review turnaround
- As soon as possible following a complete submittal (no fixed day-count) for the standard nondiscretionary process.82% source
- Key document
- municipal code cited by 7 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · municipal code
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 88% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 98% · municipal code
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 72% · permit application form
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 90% · municipal code
- Is there a historic-district review? No 75% · municipal code table of contents
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 68% · municipal code
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Yes, conditionally: (a) the Building Official may require an applicant to obtain a discretionary 'use permit' if the official finds, based on substantial evidence, the system could have a 'specific, adverse impact' on public health/safety -- appealable to City Council per BMC 2.64.170-.190; (b) a ground-mounted (as opposed to roof-mounted) system requires Planning Department review, which roof-mount systems are exempt from. 82% · municipal code
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal -- but this is the ELIGIBILITY GATE for the streamlined/expedited Ch. 15.62 process (the AB 2188-era statewide figure), not an absolute ban on larger residential systems, which would simply route to standard (non-expedited) plan review/use-permit process. No additional zoning-use-table size cap was found for residential ('accessory') solar -- the permitted-use table (BMC 17.08.010) lists only 'Commercial Solar Energy Facilities' as its own use-type row; there is no separate accessory-solar line or district-specific kW limit. 85% · municipal code
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 88% · municipal code
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 70% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 85% · municipal code
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Completed permit application; completed 'Standard Electrical Plan' (or, if not used, a full electrical plan showing: main service/utility disconnect location, module/string counts, inverter/combiner make & model, one-line diagram, grounding/bonding and conductor/conduit sizing, battery location/venting if applicable, equipment cut sheets, CEC 690/705 labeling); site diagram showing panel layout, north arrow, lot dimensions, existing shading, and distances to property lines/adjacent structures; structural documentation (stamped structural engineering for the roof, or manufacturer/rack documentation for an approved racking system). 80% · published checklist
- How many copies, and in what format? Not specified as a fixed number of copies; the bulletin allows submittal in person at City Hall or by email/facsimile ('electronic submittal' authorized by BMC 15.62.060(B)), implying digital/single-copy submittal is acceptable. 55% · municipal code
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes -- must show: arrangement of panels on roof or ground, north arrow, lot dimensions, existing shading elements, and distance from property lines to adjacent buildings/structures (existing and proposed). 85% · published checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 82% · published checklist
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes 78% · published checklist / standard plan form
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Roof-mount systems require stamped, signed structural engineering for the roof UNLESS an approved racking system is used, in which case manufacturer documentation (max allowable weight, attachment method, product evaluation, and a structural design with stamp/signature for the racking itself) is submitted instead. No specific kW threshold is stated -- the requirement applies to all roof-mount systems by one route or the other. 75% · published checklist
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No electrical PE-stamp threshold is stated; the City instead uses a prescriptive Standard Electrical Plan (a fillable worksheet keyed to 2013 CEC Art. 690/705 calculations) as an alternative to a full engineered electrical plan for qualifying systems. 58% · published checklist / standard plan form
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org) 95% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? No / partial -- the SolarAPP+ code-compliance review and plan submission is done online, but the City permit itself must still be applied for in person at Development Services (235 N. Broadway) or via email/fax; no full self-service online city permitting portal was found. 78% · department page
- How is the fee calculated? Valuation-based (per the 1997 Uniform Administrative Code, Table 3-B, Electrical Permit Fees) 65% · published checklist
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? As soon as possible following a complete submittal (no fixed day-count) for the standard nondiscretionary process. 82% · municipal code
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 12 months from issuance to obtain an approved inspection, or the permit becomes invalid if work is suspended/abandoned for 180 days after being commenced (one or more 180-day extensions may be granted in writing). 80% · municipal code
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 75% · city directory / FAQ
28 questions answered against City of Blythe’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own codified Municipal Code Ch. 15.62 (Small Residential Solar Energy System Permits) governs residential PV permitting, and the Building Division's own page/process pages (SolarAPP+, permit application) confirm the City issues the permit.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.62SMRESOENSYPE
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding AND Electrical permits are both issued in-house by the Development Services Department's Building Division (single combined permit application form covers Building/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical). Fire-code enforcement is ALSO retained in-house: BMC 15.20.020 designates 'the building division of the department of development services...or any...employee so designated by the city manager as the fire marshal,' and the Building page names Jason Brown as 'Chief Building Inspector/Fire Marshal' (city email jbrown@cityofblythe.ca.gov) -- not delegated to Riverside County Fire, which is not one of the four answer options but is a real finding worth noting (see jurisdiction.why).
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/29/Building
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBMC 15.62.030 Applicability: chapter applies to permitting of all small residential rooftop solar energy systems; solar bulletin confirms building review and permit is required.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.62SMRESOENSYPE
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's single 'Permit Application' form (Development Services/Building Division) has one shared form with checkboxes for BUILDING / *ELECTRICAL / *PLUMBING / *MECHANICAL / *OTHER rather than separate application documents, and BMC 15.62.070 describes a single non-discretionary 'building permit or other non-discretionary permit' issued for the whole solar installation -- so electrical is folded into one permit process rather than a wholly separate electrical-only permit track.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/311
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherBMC 15.02.030 (Owner's permits): any permit required under Title 15 'may be issued to an owner to do any work regulated by this title in a single-family dwelling or duplex...if such person is the bona fide owner,' with electrical/mechanical/plumbing work in a non-owner-occupied structure requiring a licensed contractor. So an owner-occupant may self-perform electrical work; otherwise a licensed contractor is required.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.02GEPR
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own SolarAPP+ page states: 'Active City of Blythe Business License is required' before applying for the city permit (contractor must also be added to the SolarAPP+ eligibility list). General BMC Ch. 5.02 (Business Licenses) requires any person transacting business in the city to hold a license, consistent with this. Confidence not higher because the business-license requirement is stated specifically on the SolarAPP+ pathway page rather than in the general Ch. 15.62 solar ordinance itself.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/193/SolarAPP
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBMC 15.02.030 permits a 'bona fide owner' of a single-family dwelling or duplex to obtain any permit under Title 15 (including electrical) to do work themselves, which extends to self-installed/self-permitted small residential PV.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.02GEPR
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Completed permit application; completed 'Standard Electrical Plan' (or, if not used, a full electrical plan showing: main service/utility disconnect location, module/string counts, inverter/combiner make & model, one-line diagram, grounding/bonding and conductor/conduit sizing, battery location/venting if applicable, equipment cut sheets, CEC 690/705 labeling); site diagram showing panel layout, north arrow, lot dimensions, existing shading, and distances to property lines/adjacent structures; structural documentation (stamped structural engineering for the roof, or manufacturer/rack documentation for an approved racking system).
Why the confidence is not higherCity's 'Submittal Requirements for Small Residential Solar Energy Systems' bulletin (Attachment #2 to Ord. 872-15), the only published city checklist; document is dated 2015 (still the sole handout referenced from the current Building page) so some specifics may be superseded.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/933
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Not specified as a fixed number of copies; the bulletin allows submittal in person at City Hall or by email/facsimile ('electronic submittal' authorized by BMC 15.62.060(B)), implying digital/single-copy submittal is acceptable.
Why the confidence is not higherNo explicit copy count stated anywhere in the ordinance or the 2015 submittal bulletin; inferred from the electronic-submittal authorization.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.62SMRESOENSYPE
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes -- must show: arrangement of panels on roof or ground, north arrow, lot dimensions, existing shading elements, and distance from property lines to adjacent buildings/structures (existing and proposed).
Why the confidence is not higherCity's 2015 Submittal Requirements bulletin, item 2(c).
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/933
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherOne-line diagram of system explicitly required in the submittal checklist (Attachment #2, item 2c) and reproduced as a template in the Standard Electrical Plan attachments.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/933
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Standard Electrical Plan forms (Attachments #3/#4) require string/conductor sizing calculations (module Voc/Isc, conductor ampacity via Table A, overcurrent-device sizing) as part of the submittal.
published checklist / standard plan form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/933
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Roof-mount systems require stamped, signed structural engineering for the roof UNLESS an approved racking system is used, in which case manufacturer documentation (max allowable weight, attachment method, product evaluation, and a structural design with stamp/signature for the racking itself) is submitted instead. No specific kW threshold is stated -- the requirement applies to all roof-mount systems by one route or the other.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's 2015 Submittal Requirements bulletin, item 2(d).
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/933
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
No electrical PE-stamp threshold is stated; the City instead uses a prescriptive Standard Electrical Plan (a fillable worksheet keyed to 2013 CEC Art. 690/705 calculations) as an alternative to a full engineered electrical plan for qualifying systems.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the structure of the City's Standard Electrical Plan attachments, which exist specifically as a non-PE-stamped alternative; no section of Ch. 15.62 or the bulletin requires an electrical PE stamp at any threshold.
published checklist / standard plan form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/933
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSearched the City site for 'schedule of fees', 'master fee schedule', 'building permit fee', and 'comprehensive fee study' -- no current, dated fee schedule with dollar amounts is published anywhere on cityofblythe.ca.gov. The only related document found is a Nov 24, 2025 RFP Addendum in which the City is soliciting proposals for its FIRST 'Comprehensive Fee Study, Cost Allocation Plan, and Development Impact Fee Nexus Study,' confirming no current comprehensive fee schedule exists to read a dollar figure from.
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Valuation-based (per the 1997 Uniform Administrative Code, Table 3-B, Electrical Permit Fees)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's 2015 solar bulletin states fees 'will be calculated as they've always been, based upon Table 3-B -- Electrical Permit Fees, contained in the 1997 Uniform Administrative Code,' first adopted by the city in 1990 (1997 ed. adopted 1999). This is the only statement of fee methodology found; no more current fee schedule was located (city is only now, as of Nov 2025, procuring its first Comprehensive Fee Study), so it is unclear whether this 2015 statement is still fully current.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/933
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSearched the 2015 solar submittal bulletin (only city fee statement found) and site-wide for 'schedule of fees'/'plan check fee' -- no separate plan-check fee line is stated anywhere, and no current comprehensive fee schedule exists to confirm either way (see Q15).
https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=schedule%20of%20fees
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
As soon as possible following a complete submittal (no fixed day-count) for the standard nondiscretionary process.
Why the confidence is not higherCurrent codified text of BMC 15.62.070(A), as amended by Ord. No. 898 (11-12-19), reads 'the building department shall issue a building permit or other non-discretionary permit as soon as possible following a complete submittal.' NOTE: the ORIGINAL 2015 ordinance text (still reproduced in the City's posted PDF, Ord. 872-15) specified 'the same day for over-the-counter applications or within 3 business days for electronically filed applications' -- that specific commitment was removed by the 2019 amendment, so the currently codified standard is looser than the still-posted original document suggests.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.62SMRESOENSYPE
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
12 months from issuance to obtain an approved inspection, or the permit becomes invalid if work is suspended/abandoned for 180 days after being commenced (one or more 180-day extensions may be granted in writing).
Why the confidence is not higherBMC 15.04.020(B), amending 2022 CBC Section 105.5 (Expiration) -- general building-permit validity rule, applicable to solar permits as there is no solar-specific validity provision.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.04CABUCO
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own dedicated SolarAPP+ department page describes the automated-review workflow and links directly to gosolarapp.org.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/193/SolarAPP
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
No / partial -- the SolarAPP+ code-compliance review and plan submission is done online, but the City permit itself must still be applied for in person at Development Services (235 N. Broadway) or via email/fax; no full self-service online city permitting portal was found.
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page: step 2 'Apply for a City of Blythe Permit...at the Development Services Department located in City Hall'; solar bulletin step 3 says applications 'can be submitted...in person...or via email.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/193/SolarAPP
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherThree independent city-side sources agree: (1) the City's own online Resource/Utility Provider directory lists 'Southern California Edison' (bid=43); (2) the City's Project Review Committee FAQ states that development submittals are routed to 26 outside agencies for comment including 'Edison, Gas Company, City Fire Department...'; (3) BMC Title 13 (Public Services) covers only water and sewer utilities -- there is no city electric franchise or municipally billed electric line, consistent with SCE (not a municipal utility) serving Blythe. Note: Palo Verde Irrigation District, which also serves the area, is a WATER agency, not the electric utility -- do not confuse the two.
city directory / FAQ checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=utility%20provider
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked SCE's own DG/interconnection pages and the City's solar bulletin/ordinance/SolarAPP+ page for a stated sequence (before/after/parallel to city permit) -- SCE's public DG pages returned no usable content (a known SCE soft-404 pattern), and no Blythe document states where SCE sits in the sequence relative to the city permit or inspection.
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherBMC 15.62.070(E): 'The city shall not condition the approval of an application on the approval of an association as defined in Civil Code Section 4080' -- HOA/architectural approval cannot be required as a precondition.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.62SMRESOENSYPE
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherFull walk of Title 17 (Zoning) table of contents shows no historic-district or landmark-review chapter at all; the only 'historical' provision in the whole code is Ch. 15.24 (California Historical Building Code), a voluntary alternative code standard for qualified historic buildings, not a design-review gate on ordinary residential permits.
municipal code table of contents checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT17ZO
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo windstorm-certification requirement was found in the Building Code local amendments (BMC 15.04.020, which addresses only fences, permit expiration, and refunds) or in the City's 2015 solar submittal bulletin/standard-plan attachments -- roof-mount systems rely on stamped structural engineering (or approved racking documentation) judged against the adopted 2022 CBC/ASCE 7, with no separate local wind-speed or exposure-category mandate found, unlike some other desert-corridor cities (e.g., Banning) that impose one in a dedicated solar handout.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.04CABUCO
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Yes, conditionally: (a) the Building Official may require an applicant to obtain a discretionary 'use permit' if the official finds, based on substantial evidence, the system could have a 'specific, adverse impact' on public health/safety -- appealable to City Council per BMC 2.64.170-.190; (b) a ground-mounted (as opposed to roof-mounted) system requires Planning Department review, which roof-mount systems are exempt from.
Why the confidence is not higherBMC 15.62.070(A),(C); City's 2015 solar submittal bulletin, item 1(b).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.62SMRESOENSYPE
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal -- but this is the ELIGIBILITY GATE for the streamlined/expedited Ch. 15.62 process (the AB 2188-era statewide figure), not an absolute ban on larger residential systems, which would simply route to standard (non-expedited) plan review/use-permit process. No additional zoning-use-table size cap was found for residential ('accessory') solar -- the permitted-use table (BMC 17.08.010) lists only 'Commercial Solar Energy Facilities' as its own use-type row; there is no separate accessory-solar line or district-specific kW limit.
Why the confidence is not higherBMC 15.62.020(L)(1); BMC 17.08.010 permitted-use table (checked in full).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.62SMRESOENSYPE
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2022 (per the 2022 California Electrical Code, adopted by Ord. No. 919, 12-13-22) 78% · municipal code
- Which building code edition is in force? 2022 (California Building Code, 2022 Edition, Title 24 Part 2) per codified BMC 15.04.010 78% · municipal code
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2022 (California Fire Code, 2022 Edition, Title 24 Part 9) per codified BMC 15.20.010 78% · municipal code
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes, but narrow 85% · municipal code
- What is the installation judged against? The 2022 California Electrical Code, plus IEEE and accredited-testing-laboratory (e.g., UL) standards and applicable CPUC safety/reliability rules per BMC 15.62.040(C); field inspection is judged against the approved plans and code requirements per the City's inspection checklist. 82% · municipal code
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? No PV-specific ridge setback or fire-access pathway rule was found. 72% · municipal code
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Required under the currently adopted 2022 CEC (which incorporates NEC 690.12 rapid-shutdown requirements). 62% · municipal code (inference) / stale city handout (contradiction)
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? AC disconnect placard ('PV SYSTEM AC DISCONNECT'); DC/safety disconnect placard(s); a permanent plaque or directory identifying the location of all disconnecting means, mounted on the main service panel; a DC power-source label at the PV DC disconnect (rated max power-point current/voltage, max system voltage, short-circuit current per CEC 690.63); an AC power-source label at the point of interconnection for microinverter systems (PV source, rated AC output current, nominal AC voltage per CEC 690.64); and, where applicable, the CEC 690.17 'LINE AND LOAD TERMINALS MAY BE ENERGIZED' warning and the CEC 690.64(B)(7) 'DO NOT RELOCATE THE OVERCURRENT DEVICE' warning. 75% · published standard plan form
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Yes 75% · published standard plan form
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Phenolic plaque with contrasting colors between text and background; no type size is mandated by code, but the City's own form states '20 point (3/8") should be considered the minimum.' 75% · published standard plan form
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Yes -- a permanent plaque/directory identifying the location of all disconnecting means must be mounted on the main service panel, and a 'disconnect map' must be provided on the main panel showing the location of all solar arrays. 78% · published standard plan form
- Where must the labels be placed? At the point of interconnection (accessible location); at the PV DC disconnecting means; on or near the main service panel (directory/map); and at AC and DC disconnect switches. 74% · published standard plan form
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 80% · municipal code
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, batteries are permitted (the submittal checklist requires their location and venting to be shown on the electrical diagram if included), but the City's simplified 'Standard Electrical Plan' path explicitly EXCLUDES battery systems ('This plan is NOT intended for systems containing batteries') -- a system with storage must use a full engineered electrical plan rather than the streamlined standard-plan route. 78% · published checklist / standard plan form
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No dedicated separate ESS permit or inspection process was found; batteries appear to be folded into the same building/electrical permit and single consolidated final inspection used for the PV system itself. 60% · municipal code
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes, by inference 65% · municipal code (definitions) + city bulletin
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No 80% · municipal code
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? No universal spacing figure is prescribed. For a custom (non-standard-plan) racking system, the applicant must submit manufacturer documentation of maximum allowable weight, attachment method, product evaluation, and a stamped structural design for the rack system. 70% · published checklist
20 questions answered against City of Blythe’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2022 (per the 2022 California Electrical Code, adopted by Ord. No. 919, 12-13-22)
Why the confidence is not higherBMC 15.10.010 codifies the 2022 CEC and is the current text through Supplement 24 (codified through Ord. No. 944, 11-12-25) -- no later buildings-and-construction ordinance appears in the Ordinance Disposition Table. CONFLICT FLAG: the City's own live Building Department page (checked same day) lists '2025 California Electrical Code' among its 'Current Codes Editions' -- this is NOT yet reflected in the codified ordinance, and no 2025-cycle buildings ordinance appears in Municode's Ordinance Disposition/Comparative Table through Ord. 944. Report both; the codified law is the stronger-dated source.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.10CAELCO
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2022 (California Building Code, 2022 Edition, Title 24 Part 2) per codified BMC 15.04.010
Why the confidence is not higherSame conflict as Q29: City's Building page lists '2025 California Building Code' but the codified ordinance (current through Nov 2025 supplement) still shows the 2022 edition adopted by Ord. 919 with no later buildings ordinance in the disposition table.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.04CABUCO
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2022 (California Fire Code, 2022 Edition, Title 24 Part 9) per codified BMC 15.20.010
Why the confidence is not higherSame code-cycle-lag conflict as Q29/Q30: Building page lists '2025 California Fire Code' but codified law (current through Nov 2025) still reads 2022, adopted by Ord. 919.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.20CAFICO
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes, but narrow
Why the confidence is not higherRead each adoption chapter's full text directly (not a keyword search): Building (15.04.020) amends only fence-height exemption, permit expiration (105.5), and refunds (109.7); Fire (15.20.060) amends only the code title, the appeals-board composition, violation penalties, and extends the Group R sprinkler requirement to mobile/modular/manufactured homes; Electrical (15.10) has NO amendments at all beyond the bare adoption section (15.10.010) -- confirmed by reading the complete chapter, which contains only one section.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.04CABUCO
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2022 California Electrical Code, plus IEEE and accredited-testing-laboratory (e.g., UL) standards and applicable CPUC safety/reliability rules per BMC 15.62.040(C); field inspection is judged against the approved plans and code requirements per the City's inspection checklist.
Why the confidence is not higherBMC 15.62.040(C); 2015 solar submittal bulletin, item 5.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.62SMRESOENSYPE
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
No
Why the confidence is not higherFull text of BMC Ch. 15.10 (California Electrical Code) contains only the bare adoption section (15.10.010) with zero amendments -- no local busbar-sizing or service-upgrade rule exists (no Palm Springs-style 225A minimum-busbar or attic-ambient-derating amendment). Control-checked: chapter has exactly one section, read in full.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.10CAELCO
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
No universal spacing figure is prescribed. For a custom (non-standard-plan) racking system, the applicant must submit manufacturer documentation of maximum allowable weight, attachment method, product evaluation, and a stamped structural design for the rack system.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's 2015 solar submittal bulletin, item 2(d).
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/933
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
No PV-specific ridge setback or fire-access pathway rule was found.
Why the confidence is not higherRead the complete local fire-code amendment section (BMC 15.20.060, subsections A-D) -- it addresses only the code title, appeals board, violation penalties, and Group R sprinklers; no ridge setback, pathway, or access-clearance provision exists. The 2015 solar bulletin likewise does not specify one. Control-checked from full chapter text, not a keyword search.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.20CAFICO
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Required under the currently adopted 2022 CEC (which incorporates NEC 690.12 rapid-shutdown requirements).
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the current code adoption (2022 CEC, based on the 2020 NEC, which mandates 690.12 rapid shutdown) -- NOT from a Blythe-specific citation. The City's OWN posted 26-page submittal packet (Ord. 933 attachments) is explicitly pinned to the 2013 CEC throughout and never once cites Section 690.12 anywhere in its text -- a stale document that predates the rapid-shutdown mandate, flagged as a conflict rather than resolved.
municipal code (inference) / stale city handout (contradiction) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.10CAELCO
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
AC disconnect placard ('PV SYSTEM AC DISCONNECT'); DC/safety disconnect placard(s); a permanent plaque or directory identifying the location of all disconnecting means, mounted on the main service panel; a DC power-source label at the PV DC disconnect (rated max power-point current/voltage, max system voltage, short-circuit current per CEC 690.63); an AC power-source label at the point of interconnection for microinverter systems (PV source, rated AC output current, nominal AC voltage per CEC 690.64); and, where applicable, the CEC 690.17 'LINE AND LOAD TERMINALS MAY BE ENERGIZED' warning and the CEC 690.64(B)(7) 'DO NOT RELOCATE THE OVERCURRENT DEVICE' warning.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Standard Electrical Plan attachments (Attachments #3 and #4 to Ord. 933), the only city-published signage specification; document is 2013-CEC-vintage (2015) so wording should be cross-checked against the current 2022 CEC.
published standard plan form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/933
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherExact placard wording is given verbatim in the sample diagrams within the City's Standard Electrical Plan attachments (see Q38).
published standard plan form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/933
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Phenolic plaque with contrasting colors between text and background; no type size is mandated by code, but the City's own form states '20 point (3/8") should be considered the minimum.'
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Standard Electrical Plan attachment (Central Inverter Systems), note beneath the DC-label instructions.
published standard plan form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/933
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes -- a permanent plaque/directory identifying the location of all disconnecting means must be mounted on the main service panel, and a 'disconnect map' must be provided on the main panel showing the location of all solar arrays.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Standard Electrical Plan attachments, signage diagrams.
published standard plan form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/933
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked SCE's public DG/interconnection and solar-customer pages for any signage requirement beyond the City's own -- SCE's relevant pages returned no usable content (a documented SCE soft-404 pattern); no substitute utility's document used per standing instruction not to borrow across utilities.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
At the point of interconnection (accessible location); at the PV DC disconnecting means; on or near the main service panel (directory/map); and at AC and DC disconnect switches.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Standard Electrical Plan attachments.
published standard plan form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/933
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBMC 15.62.040(C) requires systems to meet standards of 'accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories'; the 2015 submittal bulletin requires equipment cut sheets and labeling per CEC 690/705 for all major components.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.62SMRESOENSYPE
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes, batteries are permitted (the submittal checklist requires their location and venting to be shown on the electrical diagram if included), but the City's simplified 'Standard Electrical Plan' path explicitly EXCLUDES battery systems ('This plan is NOT intended for systems containing batteries') -- a system with storage must use a full engineered electrical plan rather than the streamlined standard-plan route.
Why the confidence is not higher2015 solar submittal bulletin item 2(c) bullet on batteries; Standard Electrical Plan attachments' scope statements.
published checklist / standard plan form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/933
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No dedicated separate ESS permit or inspection process was found; batteries appear to be folded into the same building/electrical permit and single consolidated final inspection used for the PV system itself.
Why the confidence is not higherAbsence checked across Ch. 15.62 (no ESS-specific section) and the 2015 submittal bulletin (no separate ESS permit/inspection step mentioned).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.62SMRESOENSYPE
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes, by inference
Why the confidence is not higherBMC 17.04's general definition of 'Structure' ('anything constructed or built...which requires location on the ground or is attached to something having a location on the ground') is broad enough to capture a ground-mounted array, and the City's 2015 solar bulletin requires Planning Department review specifically for ground-mount installations (not required for roof-mount), confirming they are treated as a distinct site-development item. No dedicated residential ground-mount PV setback/height chapter was found -- only the separate Commercial (utility-scale, ≥10-acre) Solar Energy Facilities chapter (BMC 17.57) sets ground-mount standards, and that is explicitly a commercial, not residential, ordinance.
municipal code (definitions) + city bulletin checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT17ZO_DIVIGEPR_CH17.04DE
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked SCE's public DG/interconnection pages for a meter-proximity/AC-disconnect-location specification -- pages returned no usable content (SCE soft-404 pattern); no Blythe-specific document addresses this either.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone or walk-in -- call or visit the Development Services/Building Division at (760) 922-6130. 85% · department page
- How much notice is required? 2 business days 88% · municipal code
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? A 2-hour inspection window is provided (not described as fixed AM/PM blocks). 84% · municipal code
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 92% · municipal code
- If delegated, to whom? N/A -- not delegated; performed in-house by the City of Blythe Building Department. 90% · municipal code
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? One consolidated final inspection after installation is complete, covering all disciplines together (structural attachment/grounding, electrical connections/labels, and signage) -- there is no separate rough-in stage. 80% · municipal code
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 85% · municipal code
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes 84% · published checklist
- What must be on site at inspection? Permit holders must be able to show conformance with all technical requirements in the field; system installation instructions must be provided to the inspector along with the approved standard-plan worksheet/spec sheets. 75% · published checklist / standard plan form
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes 84% · published checklist
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- How are corrections issued and cleared? Deficiencies at the APPLICATION stage: a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies is sent to the applicant for resubmission (BMC 15.62.070(F)). At the INSPECTION stage, a failed inspection authorizes a subsequent (re-)inspection, which is not bound by the 2-business-day/2-hour-window standard that applies to the first inspection (BMC 15.62.070(I)). 78% · municipal code
14 questions answered against City of Blythe’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone or walk-in -- call or visit the Development Services/Building Division at (760) 922-6130.
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page step 3 ('Contact the Development Services Department at (760) 922-6130, or by visiting the office'); solar bulletin item 5.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/193/SolarAPP
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
2 business days
Why the confidence is not higherBMC 15.62.070(H): 'An inspection will be scheduled within two business days of a request.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.62SMRESOENSYPE
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
A 2-hour inspection window is provided (not described as fixed AM/PM blocks).
Why the confidence is not higherBMC 15.62.070(H): '...will provide the applicant with a two-hour inspection window.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.62SMRESOENSYPE
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBMC 15.62.070(G): 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by the building department for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.62SMRESOENSYPE
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A -- not delegated; performed in-house by the City of Blythe Building Department.
Why the confidence is not higherSame as Q52.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.62SMRESOENSYPE
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
One consolidated final inspection after installation is complete, covering all disciplines together (structural attachment/grounding, electrical connections/labels, and signage) -- there is no separate rough-in stage.
Why the confidence is not higherBMC 15.62.070(G)-(H); 2015 bulletin's 'Common points of inspection' list.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.62SMRESOENSYPE
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherBMC 15.62.070(G) mandates only ONE inspection for eligible systems -- no rough-in or mid-roof stage is required.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.62SMRESOENSYPE
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higher2015 bulletin's inspection checklist explicitly lists: 'module and model number matches plans and specification sheets' and 'appropriate signs are properly constructed, installed, and displayed,' plus 'equipment ratings are consistent with application and installed signs.'
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/933
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's 2015 submittal bulletin, item 5, publishes a 'Common points of inspection' checklist.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/933
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Permit holders must be able to show conformance with all technical requirements in the field; system installation instructions must be provided to the inspector along with the approved standard-plan worksheet/spec sheets.
Why the confidence is not higher2015 bulletin item 5 ('Permit holders must be prepared to show conformance with all technical requirements in the field'); Standard Electrical Plan cover instruction: 'Provide this document to the Inspector along with ALL system Installation Instructions.'
published checklist / standard plan form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofblythe.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/933
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked BMC 15.62.070(I) (authorizes a 'subsequent inspection' on failure but states no fee) and the site-wide fee-schedule search (Q15/17) -- no current comprehensive fee schedule exists to confirm a re-inspection dollar amount.
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Deficiencies at the APPLICATION stage: a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies is sent to the applicant for resubmission (BMC 15.62.070(F)). At the INSPECTION stage, a failed inspection authorizes a subsequent (re-)inspection, which is not bound by the 2-business-day/2-hour-window standard that applies to the first inspection (BMC 15.62.070(I)).
Why the confidence is not higherBMC 15.62.070(F),(I).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/blythe/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.62SMRESOENSYPE
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Ch. 15.62 (no PV-specific sign-off term used), the 2015 submittal bulletin (describes only 'final approval,' not a document/tag name), and BMC 17.80 (Certificates of Occupancy) -- a CO is required only for a building 'erected, moved, enlarged or altered' or a change of use, which an ordinary PV retrofit is not, so no Blythe document states what is actually issued on a passing solar inspection (e.g., a named 'final' card or green tag).
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the City's solar ordinance, bulletin, and SCE's public interconnection pages for a PTO-notification step -- none of the City's own documents address who notifies SCE, and SCE's relevant pages returned no usable content (soft-404 pattern); not substituted from another utility's process.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Blythe against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Blythe is the authority having jurisdiction 85% confidence
- Holds
- Building AND Electrical AND Fire code enforcement/plan-review, all retained in-house by the City of Blythe's Development Services Department (Building Division). BMC 15.20.020 designates 'the building division of the department of development services...or any...employee so designated by the city manager as the fire marshal' to enforce the Fire Code, and the Building page names the same person, Jason Brown, as both 'Chief Building Inspector' and 'Fire Marshal.' Riverside County Fire Department operates Station 43 within the city (confirmed via the city's business/resource directory) and most likely provides suppression/emergency response, but there is no evidence it holds fire-code plan review or PV/ESS permitting authority for Blythe -- that function is retained by the city's own combined Building Official/Fire Marshal.
- Overridden by
- State law only: BMC Ch. 15.62 implements Gov. Code Sec. 65850.5/AB 2188 (streamlined residential solar permitting) and cross-references Gov. Code Sec. 65850.55/66015 and H&SC Sec. 17951 for fee limits; no county or other local agency was found to override or share the City's building/electrical/fire permitting authority for residential PV.
- Why not higher
- City's own codified ordinance (BMC Ch. 15.62, current through the Nov 2025 Municode supplement) plus the Building Department's own staff listing and fire-code enforcement clause (15.20.020) together establish that Blythe is the AHJ and self-performs all three functions. Confidence is not higher because the Riverside County Fire Station 43 / Blythe relationship (suppression vs. code enforcement) was confirmed only from a 2014-dated community business-directory listing rather than an interagency agreement document, and no such agreement was found on the city site.
- Permit required
- Yes98%
- Plan review
- As soon as possible following a complete submittal (no fixed day-count) for the standard nondiscretionary process.82%
- Portal
- SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org)95%
- Electrical code
- 2022 (per the 2022 California Electrical Code, adopted by Ord. No. 919, 12-13-22)78%
- Own placard wording
- Yes75%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone or walk-in -- call or visit the Development Services/Building Division at (760) 922-6130.85%
Labels & placards for this authority
City of Blythe writes its own placard wording. A standard NEC label set will not satisfy it — the exact text, and in most cases the size, colour and font, are specified below.
Wording 75%
Yes
Size, colour & material 75%
Phenolic plaque with contrasting colors between text and background; no type size is mandated by code, but the City's own form states '20 point (3/8") should be considered the minimum.'
Where they go 74%
At the point of interconnection (accessible location); at the PV DC disconnecting means; on or near the main service panel (directory/map); and at AC and DC disconnect switches.
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.