City of Brawley
Imperial County
City of Brawley is a city authority in the State of California, serving 26,416 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — No dedicated online permit application/tracking portal found; paper PDF application submitted to the Building Division counter. Q20
- Permit required
- Yes85% source
- What it costs
- Valuation-based (see fee formula); no PV-specific line item published60% source
- Key document
- fee schedule cited by 5 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 92% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 85% · fee schedule
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 85% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 62% · permit application form
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 68% · zoning ordinance
- Is there a historic-district review? No 68% · zoning ordinance
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 62% · adopting ordinance
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No PV-specific requirement found 55% · zoning ordinance
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No residential system-size cap found in the zoning ordinance 62% · zoning ordinance
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either (licensed electrician/contractor, or owner-builder) 50% · department page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 92% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 68% · permit application form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes (implied) 60% · utility interconnection page
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? No dedicated online permit application/tracking portal found; paper PDF application submitted to the Building Division counter. A separate bill-pay-only portal exists at municipalonlinepayments.com/brawleyca. 65% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? No 65% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? Valuation-based (see fee formula); no PV-specific line item published 60% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Valuation 82% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 90% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days 88% · permit application form
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Imperial Irrigation District (IID) 90% · utility interconnection page
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel 75% · utility interconnection page
28 questions answered against City of Brawley’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Brawley Building Division (Development Services Dept.), 205 S Imperial Ave, issues building/electrical/plumbing/mechanical permits directly per its own page and fee schedule; Brawley is an incorporated city so Imperial County Planning & Development Services (which runs SolarAPP+ for the unincorporated county) has no jurisdiction here.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division's own fee schedule lists Building, Electrical, Plumbing and Mechanical permit fees together under one Building Department; no delegation to Imperial County or a contracted plan-check firm was found (the 'Interim Building Official' title on the 2026 code-adoption staff report reflects a staff vacancy, not an outsourcing contract).
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/building-permit-fees-packet.pdf
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherA residential grid-tied PV system involves both a structural roof attachment and new electrical work, both of which are permitted trades on Brawley's own Building/Electrical fee schedule; this is also required statewide under Gov. Code §65850.5.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/building-permit-fees-packet.pdf
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherBrawley's single-page 'City of Brawley Permit Application' (OCR'd from the scanned PDF) has one Permit Number field with itemized Building/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical fee lines feeding one 'TOTAL' — a combination permit — but the form is generic (not solar-specific), so this is an inference from its structure rather than a stated solar policy.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/building-permit-application.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either (licensed electrician/contractor, or owner-builder)
Why the confidence is not higherNo Brawley-specific restriction was found; California Business & Professions Code allows a C-10 electrical or C-46 solar contractor, a licensed general contractor working within scope, or an owner-builder to pull the electrical permit. This is inference from state law, not a Brawley document.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division's own page states verbatim: 'The Brawley City Code requires that all contractors obtain a City Contractor's Business License prior to doing work in the city.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Building Permit Application (OCR'd from the scanned PDF at brawley-ca.gov/assets/building-permit-application.pdf) contains an owner-builder exemption declaration ('...Owner-Builder... I shall not employ any person... subject to Workers Compensation Insurance Laws...'), consistent with the CA B&P Code owner-builder pathway. No solar-specific restriction on this was found.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/building-permit-application.pdf
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page (its 4 published documents: contractor business-license application, building permit application, building permit fees packet, user fee study) and the generic Building Permit Application form itself — no PV/solar-specific submittal checklist exists on any of them.
https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame four Building Division documents as Q8 — none specify copy count or file format for any submittal, let alone a solar one.
https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page and the generic Building Permit Application form — no site-plan content checklist published; the application only asks for parcel number/legal description fields.
https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/building-permit-application.pdf
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes (implied)
Why the confidence is not higherBrawley has no published solar checklist of its own, but Imperial Irrigation District's own interconnection page requires a 'One-line Diagram (w/ local jurisdiction approval)' for every interconnection application regardless of size, which means the city's building/electrical plan review does require and approve a one-line diagram even though Brawley does not publish that requirement itself.
utility interconnection page checked 2026-08-30 http://web.archive.org/web/20260509161538/https://www.iid.com/power/rooftop-solar/interconnection
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page and generic permit application — no calculation checklist (string/conductor sizing) is published anywhere on the site.
https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Fees Packet and Building Division page — neither states a valuation or size threshold that triggers a structural PE stamp; third-party aggregator sites quote a '10 kW' figure but it is not sourced to any Brawley document so it was not used.
https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/building-permit-fees-packet.pdf
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame review as Q13 — no electrical PE-stamp threshold published by the city.
https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/building-permit-fees-packet.pdf
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Valuation-based (see fee formula); no PV-specific line item published
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permit Fees Packet's 'BUILDING PERMIT FEES' table computes the fee from total project valuation (e.g. $2,001-$25,000 valuation = $69.25 for the first $2,000 plus $14.00 per additional $1,000), plus a Plan Review Fee of 65% of the building permit fee; there is no separate solar/PV fee line. The table is stamped '2009' inside the PDF even though it is the document currently published on the live site (PDF itself was rescanned Oct 2025), so the base rates may be dated.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/building-permit-fees-packet.pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Valuation
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Permit Fees Packet's fee table is explicitly a total-valuation sliding scale ('Total Valuation | Fee'), with no separate per-kW or per-panel tier.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/building-permit-fees-packet.pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFee packet states directly: 'Plan Review Fee: 65% of Building Permit Fee.'
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/building-permit-fees-packet.pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page and both fee PDFs — no stated plan-review turnaround time (business days) was found anywhere on the site.
https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Building Permit Application form states (OCR'd from the scanned PDF): permit becomes null and void if work is not commenced within 180 days, or if work is suspended/abandoned for a period of 180 days after commencement — standard CBC §105.5 language reproduced on Brawley's own form.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/building-permit-application.pdf
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
No dedicated online permit application/tracking portal found; paper PDF application submitted to the Building Division counter. A separate bill-pay-only portal exists at municipalonlinepayments.com/brawleyca.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page links only to 4 PDFs and a 'Pay Online' link to municipalonlinepayments.com/brawleyca (a bill-payment portal, not a permit application/tracking system such as Accela/Citizenserve/eTRAKiT); no such system was found in a search of the city's site either.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame evidence as Q20 — only a paper application and a bill-payment portal were found; no online permit application intake exists.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Imperial Irrigation District (IID)
Why the confidence is not higherIID's own site runs a 'Rooftop Solar / Distributed Generation Interconnection' section covering the district's residential solar interconnection process; IID is a public irrigation district providing retail electric service in its territory (which includes Brawley), not an investor-owned utility. Confirmed from IID's own page, not a ZIP-code lookup tool.
utility interconnection page checked 2026-08-30 http://web.archive.org/web/20260509161538/https://www.iid.com/power/rooftop-solar/interconnection
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel
Why the confidence is not higherIID's own interconnection page requires a 'One-line Diagram (w/ local jurisdiction approval)' and 'Site Plan (w/ local jurisdiction approval)' as part of every interconnection application (even under 10 kW) — meaning city plan approval must be obtained on the drawings before/alongside IID's review — and after the system is installed, a 'Building Permit Sign-Off' must be uploaded to IID's PowerClerk platform before Permission to Operate is granted. So city approval sits both before (drawing approval) and after (final sign-off) the utility step.
utility interconnection page checked 2026-08-30 http://web.archive.org/web/20260509161538/https://www.iid.com/power/rooftop-solar/interconnection
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherBrawley's Zoning Ordinance (full text searched; positive control 'setback' = 60 hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx' = 0 hits, confirming the search worked) contains no architectural-review/design-review board process for standard residential construction. Its only 'homeowners association' reference (Sec. dealing with planned developments) requires an HOA for common-area maintenance in subdivisions, not a solar approval gate. Document is dated September 2008 in its footer, so this reflects that base text, not any unlisted later amendment.
zoning ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/planning/zoning_and_ordinances/brawley-zoning-ordinance.pdf
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame full-text search of the Zoning Ordinance found no historic-district chapter; the only 'historic' references are incidental mentions of historic buildings/landmarks as one factor in generic CEQA-style site-planning findings, not a review pathway.
zoning ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/planning/zoning_and_ordinances/brawley-zoning-ordinance.pdf
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherCalifornia's adopted building code (2025 CBC, incorporating ASCE 7 wind design) does not use a separate windstorm-certification scheme comparable to Texas's TDI; the Brawley code-adoption ordinance (2nd reading 4/7/2026) contains no windstorm-certification provision, and the Zoning Ordinance text search found none either.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/meetings/20260407-agenda.pdf
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No PV-specific requirement found
Why the confidence is not higherZoning Ordinance's Conditional-Use-Permit/variance article (Art. XIX) is a general nonconforming-use/variance mechanism; the full-text search found no clause naming solar or PV that would trigger a Specific Use Permit or Council hearing for a residential rooftop system.
zoning ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/planning/zoning_and_ordinances/brawley-zoning-ordinance.pdf
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No residential system-size cap found in the zoning ordinance
Why the confidence is not higherFull-text search of the Zoning Ordinance found only one incidental 'solar' hit (landscaping design for solar access/shade); no residential PV system-size cap exists in the document. Sizing for net billing is instead governed by IID's state-tariff interconnection rules, not a city zoning limit.
zoning ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/planning/zoning_and_ordinances/brawley-zoning-ordinance.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (as the 2025 California Electrical Code) 88% · adopting ordinance
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code / California Residential Code 88% · adopting ordinance
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code, with local amendments to Chapters 11, 12 and 34 88% · adopting ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 85% · adopting ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building Standards Code (CBC/CRC/CEC/CPC/CMC/Energy/Green/CFC) as adopted by reference and locally amended per BMC Ch. 7 (Ordinance No. 2026-01, 2nd reading 4/7/2026) 85% · adopting ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Governed by the 2025 California Fire Code's PV access/pathway/ridge-setback provisions, adopted by reference with no local amendment to that section 62% · adopting ordinance
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown required per NEC 690.12, under the 2023 NEC as adopted (2025 CEC), unamended locally 62% · adopting ordinance
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? No Brawley-specific placard beyond the state-code markings (2025 CEC/CFC) — no local supplement found 55% · department page
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 55% · department page
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Not specified locally — governed by whatever letter-height/colour/material the adopted 2025 CEC/CFC marking sections require 50% · department page
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Not specified locally beyond NEC 690/705 and CFC 605.11 as adopted 50% · department page
- Where must the labels be placed? Not specified by the city; governed by the adopted 2025 CEC/CFC label-placement rules (e.g., at service disconnect, meter, and point of interconnection) 50% · department page
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? No Brawley-specific approved-equipment list found 55% · department page
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Permitted, subject to the unamended 2025 CRC/CFC ESS provisions (e.g. CRC R327/CFC Ch. 12) — no Brawley-specific restriction found 55% · adopting ordinance
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No local rule found 72% · adopting ordinance
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? No local rule found 68% · adopting ordinance
20 questions answered against City of Brawley’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC (as the 2025 California Electrical Code)
Why the confidence is not higherCity Council 2nd-reading staff report/ordinance (4/7/2026 agenda) adopts 'the 2025 California Building Standards Code' by reference, explicitly listing the '2025 California Electrical Code' as one of its 13 component codes; the CA cycle pairs the 2025 CBSC with the 2023 NEC (as the 2022 cycle paired with the 2020 NEC). Ordinance effective ~30 days after 4/7/2026 (~7 May 2026).
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/meetings/20260407-agenda.pdf
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code / California Residential Code
Why the confidence is not higherSame ordinance text lists '2025 California Building Code' and '2025 California Residential Code' among the adopted components.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/meetings/20260407-agenda.pdf
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code, with local amendments to Chapters 11, 12 and 34
Why the confidence is not higherSame ordinance lists '2025 California Fire Code' as adopted, plus locally strikes specific exceptions in Fire Code Chapters 11 (vertical opening protection), 12 (fuel-cell EV residential use) and 34 (tire-storage distance) and adds Fire Code Appendices A-Q and Appendix Ch. 4.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/meetings/20260407-agenda.pdf
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe ordinance's own findings section states 'The Ordinance proposes minor revisions... including... revised Part 9 exceptions outlined in Chapter 11, 12 and 34' of the Fire Code — a local amendment — while explicitly stating 'This Ordinance proposes no suggested local amendments' to the other (building/residential/electrical) technical codes.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/meetings/20260407-agenda.pdf
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Building Standards Code (CBC/CRC/CEC/CPC/CMC/Energy/Green/CFC) as adopted by reference and locally amended per BMC Ch. 7 (Ordinance No. 2026-01, 2nd reading 4/7/2026)
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly from the adopting ordinance text.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/meetings/20260407-agenda.pdf
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
No local rule found
Why the confidence is not higherThe ordinance's full amendment list (items a-g) only touches Fire Code Chapters 11, 12 and 34 (vertical openings, fuel-cell EVs, tire storage) — none address service upgrades or busbar/120% rule sizing, so this is governed by the unamended 2025 CEC/CBC as adopted.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/meetings/20260407-agenda.pdf
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
No local rule found
Why the confidence is not higherSame review of the ordinance's full amendment list — no mounting-system or attachment-spacing amendment exists; governed by the unamended 2025 CBC/CRC and manufacturer engineering/listing.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/meetings/20260407-agenda.pdf
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Governed by the 2025 California Fire Code's PV access/pathway/ridge-setback provisions, adopted by reference with no local amendment to that section
Why the confidence is not higherThe ordinance's amendment list (checked in full) modifies only CFC Chapters 11, 12 and 34; it does not touch the CFC's solar-access/setback section, so the unamended statewide CFC PV setback matrix applies. The literal CFC section text was not re-pulled this session.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/meetings/20260407-agenda.pdf
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Rapid shutdown required per NEC 690.12, under the 2023 NEC as adopted (2025 CEC), unamended locally
Why the confidence is not higherSame reasoning as Q36 — the ordinance's local-amendment list does not touch the Electrical Code, so the statewide 2023 NEC rapid-shutdown provisions apply as adopted.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/meetings/20260407-agenda.pdf
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No Brawley-specific placard beyond the state-code markings (2025 CEC/CFC) — no local supplement found
Why the confidence is not higherChecked the Building Division page (4 documents, none placard-related) and the Fire Department's Operational Permit Requirements page — neither publishes a PV placard/marking bulletin; the ordinance's amendment list also does not touch marking requirements, so the unamended 2025 CEC/CFC marking rules (e.g. NEC 690.56/705.10, CFC 605.11) govern by default.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/fire-department/operational-permits
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame review — no city document (Building Division's 4 PDFs, Fire Department operational-permit page, or the code-adoption ordinance) specifies its own placard wording; only the state-code default markings apply.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/fire-department/operational-permits
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified locally — governed by whatever letter-height/colour/material the adopted 2025 CEC/CFC marking sections require
Why the confidence is not higherNo Brawley document (Building Division page, Fire Dept. page, or adoption ordinance) adds a letter-height, colour or material spec of its own.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/fire-department/operational-permits
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified locally beyond NEC 690/705 and CFC 605.11 as adopted
Why the confidence is not higherNo Brawley-specific site-plan/facility-map placard requirement was found on the Building Division or Fire Department pages; governed by the unamended state code as adopted.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/fire-department/operational-permits
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedIID's Distributed Generation Interconnection page lists required submittal documents (one-line diagram, site plan, bill of materials, AC-disconnect cut sheet) but the archived capture read this session did not contain an explicit additional placarding specification beyond those checklist items; the underlying checklist/example PDFs linked from that page were not opened this session.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260509161538/https://www.iid.com/power/rooftop-solar/interconnection
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified by the city; governed by the adopted 2025 CEC/CFC label-placement rules (e.g., at service disconnect, meter, and point of interconnection)
Why the confidence is not higherNo Brawley document specifies label placement beyond what the state code as adopted requires.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/fire-department/operational-permits
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
No Brawley-specific approved-equipment list found
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page/fee schedule/application do not reference an approved-product list; standard NEC/UL listing requirement applies via the adopted 2025 CEC.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Permitted, subject to the unamended 2025 CRC/CFC ESS provisions (e.g. CRC R327/CFC Ch. 12) — no Brawley-specific restriction found
Why the confidence is not higherThe ordinance's amendment list only touches CFC Chapters 11, 12 (partially, for fuel-cell EVs) and 34; no additional battery/ESS-specific local rule was found.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/meetings/20260407-agenda.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page, fee schedule, and adoption ordinance were all checked — none state whether ESS gets its own permit/inspection distinct from the PV electrical permit.
https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedZoning Ordinance's accessory-building/setback sections (Sec. 27.172-27.173) were read in full — they enumerate garages, carports, storage sheds and covered patios by name but do not mention solar arrays, so whether a ground-mount is treated as an 'accessory structure' for setback purposes is not explicit.
https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/planning/zoning_and_ordinances/brawley-zoning-ordinance.pdf
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedIID's Distributed Generation Interconnection page requires an 'AC Disconnect cut sheet' as a submittal item but the page text captured this session does not state where the disconnect must be located relative to the meter; the linked checklist/example PDFs were not opened this session.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260509161538/https://www.iid.com/power/rooftop-solar/interconnection
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone 55% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 58% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? Not delegated — City of Brawley Building Division performs its own inspections 55% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Brawley on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No 75% · department page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer 68% · utility interconnection page
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $47.00 per hour (minimum charge varies by inspection type; after-hours minimum 2 hours) 82% · fee schedule
14 questions answered against City of Brawley’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division's page lists only a phone number ((760) 344-8622) and no online inspection-request portal or email address; no dedicated 'request an inspection' page was found for the Building Division specifically (note: a different 24-hour-notice phone process exists for the Engineering/Public-Works Division's own inspections of public-improvement projects, which is a separate department and not building/electrical).
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page and its 4 PDFs were checked — none state a required notice period for building/electrical inspections. (The city's Engineering Division publishes a 24-hour notice requirement, but that is for public-improvement/encroachment inspections, a different department, and was not used here to avoid misattributing it.)
https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page — no mention of same-day or AM/PM inspection windows.
https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherNo evidence of any third-party inspection contract was found (the 'Interim Building Official' title reflects a staff vacancy, not outsourcing); Brawley's own Building Division lists a Building/Rehabilitation Inspector and a Building Inspector on staff, consistent with the city performing its own inspections.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Not delegated — City of Brawley Building Division performs its own inspections
Why the confidence is not higherSame staffing evidence as Q52 (named in-house Building Inspector and Building/Rehabilitation Inspector roles on the Building Division page).
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page and its 4 PDFs — no published inspection sequence/stage list for any permit type, including solar.
https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame documents as Q54 — no mention of a rough-in or mid-roof inspection requirement.
https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame documents as Q54 — no statement on what an inspector checks for labels/listings.
https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division's page publishes exactly 4 documents (contractor business-license application, building permit application, building permit fees packet, user fee study) — no inspection checklist of any kind is among them.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame documents as Q54 — nothing on-site documentation requirements are stated.
https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$47.00 per hour (minimum charge varies by inspection type; after-hours minimum 2 hours)
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permit Fees Packet states directly: 'Reinspection fees assessed under provisions of Building Code... $47.00 per hour' under 'Other Inspections and Fees'.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brawley-ca.gov/assets/building-permit-fees-packet.pdf
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page and its 4 PDFs — no description of how corrections are issued or cleared.
https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page and its 4 PDFs — none state what document/tag is issued on a passed final (CO, Final, green tag, or letter).
https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer
Why the confidence is not higherIID's own interconnection page states that after installation, the applicant uploads the 'Building Permit Sign-Off' and other required documents to IID's PowerClerk platform to be reviewed for Permission to Operate — i.e., the installer/customer notifies and submits to the utility, not an automatic AHJ-to-utility handoff.
utility interconnection page checked 2026-08-30 http://web.archive.org/web/20260509161538/https://www.iid.com/power/rooftop-solar/interconnection
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Brawley against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Brawley is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical
- Overridden by
- California AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) froze more-restrictive local residential amendments 1 Oct 2025-1 Jun 2031; consistent with this, Brawley's 2025 code-adoption ordinance (2nd reading 4/7/2026) states it 'proposes no suggested local amendments' to the residential/electrical technical codes (only to non-residential-triggering Fire Code chapters).
- Why not higher
- City of Brawley's own Building Division page (Development Services Dept., 205 S Imperial Ave) and its fee schedule/permit application show the city issues building, electrical, plumbing and mechanical permits directly in-house (named Building Inspector and Building/Rehabilitation Inspector staff). Brawley is an incorporated city, so Imperial County Planning & Development Services — which does run a SolarAPP+ program — has no jurisdiction over it; that county program was checked and applies only to the unincorporated county. No evidence was found of a contracted third-party plan-check/inspection firm; the 'Interim Building Official' title on the 2026 ordinance reflects a staff vacancy, not delegation.
https://www.brawley-ca.gov/departments/development-services/building-division
- Permit required
- Yes85%
- Permit cost
- Valuation-based (see fee formula); no PV-specific line item published60%
- Portal
- No dedicated online permit application/tracking portal found; paper PDF application submitted to the Building Division counter.65%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC (as the 2025 California Electrical Code)88%
- Own placard wording
- No55%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone55%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 55%
No
Size, colour & material 50%
Not specified locally — governed by whatever letter-height/colour/material the adopted 2025 CEC/CFC marking sections require
Where they go 50%
Not specified by the city; governed by the adopted 2025 CEC/CFC label-placement rules (e.g., at service disconnect, meter, and point of interconnection)
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.