City of Brentwood

Contra Costa County

Verified Aug. 5, 2026

City of Brentwood is a city authority in the State of California, serving 64,292 residents. 10,445 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — 3 days (if the application is complete) Q18 Where you file — eTRAKiT (hosted by aspGov), at brent-trk.aspgov.com/eTRAKiT/ Q20

Permit required
Yes95% source
What it costs
$285 base + $50.32 for each additional inverter (systems under 10kW)58% source
Plan review turnaround
3 days (if the application is complete)90% source
Key document
department page cited by 3 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · municipal code
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · municipal code
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 68% · department page
    • Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 10 kW AC nameplate rating (or 30 kW thermal) for the expedited 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' definition; larger systems fall outside this streamlined chapter 95% · municipal code
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • What documents make up a complete submittal? For the SolarAPP+ pathway: SolarAPP+ Approval Document, Completed Declarations Form (signed by contractor), Completed Residential Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm Certification (signed by property owner), Completed Authorization to Act as Agent Form (signed by property owner). For the general (non-SolarAPP+) pathway: a building permit application plus the items on the city's 'small residential rooftop solar energy checklist' per BMC §15.12.030(A). 85% · department page
    • How many copies, and in what format? Electronic only, via the eTRAKiT portal — PDF/document uploads, no paper copies accepted for the standard flow 78% · department page
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? eTRAKiT (hosted by aspGov), at brent-trk.aspgov.com/eTRAKiT/ 90% · department page
    • Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 88% · department page
    • What does a residential solar permit cost? $285 base + $50.32 for each additional inverter (systems under 10kW) 58% · third-party aggregator
    • How is the fee calculated? Tiered 55% · third-party aggregator
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

    • What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 3 days (if the application is complete) 90% · municipal code
    • Which utility handles interconnection here? PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric) 72% · third-party (solar installer)

28 questions answered against City of Brentwood’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building Division page states it enforces CA Building/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical codes for the city; BMC Ch. 15.12 (Small Residential Rooftop Solar Systems) is the city's own solar-permitting chapter.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both

Why the confidence is not higherCity issues Building/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical permits directly (own Building Inspection Division, own eTRAKiT portal). Fire Code enforcement only is delegated to CCCFPD per BMC §15.06.010(D); WUI code enforcement is expressly retained by the city per §15.06.020(D).

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43616160

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherBMC §15.12.010(C)/(B) and §15.12.030(A) require a building permit application for small residential rooftop solar energy systems.

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43616417

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined

Why the confidence is not higherThe city's SolarAPP+ page instructs applicants to submit one permit type/subtype ('SolarAPP+/Solar' or 'Solar+Storage') covering the whole system — not a separate electrical permit. Only confirmed for the SolarAPP+ pathway; the non-SolarAPP+ standard path's permit structure wasn't independently confirmed.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/development-services/solarapp-submittals

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ path requires a CA-licensed contractor (C-10, C-46, or B classification) registered with SolarAPP+. Separately, the city publishes an 'Owner Builder Form' among its Building handouts, implying a homeowner self-permit path exists (see q7). Could not confirm requirements for the non-SolarAPP+ contractor path beyond this.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/development-services/solarapp-submittals

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ Submittals page and Development Services page — found that SolarAPP+ requires contractors 'previously registered with SolarAPP+' (a national platform, not a Brentwood-specific registration), but no city-specific pre-registration requirement was stated for either pathway.

https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/development-services/solarapp-submittals

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity publishes an 'Owner Builder Form' in its Building Reference Information/Handouts folder, implying an owner-builder self-permit path exists (standard under CA B&P Code §7044), but I did not find explicit city text stating homeowners may self-install solar specifically.

handout (title only — PDF body unreadable, Akamai-blocked) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brentwoodca.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/2630/637794151306300000

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

For the SolarAPP+ pathway: SolarAPP+ Approval Document, Completed Declarations Form (signed by contractor), Completed Residential Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm Certification (signed by property owner), Completed Authorization to Act as Agent Form (signed by property owner). For the general (non-SolarAPP+) pathway: a building permit application plus the items on the city's 'small residential rooftop solar energy checklist' per BMC §15.12.030(A).

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page lists the exact upload list for that pathway in detail. BMC §15.12.030(A) confirms a checklist-based submittal exists for the general pathway, but the checklist PDF itself could not be extracted (Akamai blocks both curl and WebFetch on brentwoodca.gov's showpublisheddocument endpoint; Chrome's native PDF viewer isn't attachable for text extraction).

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/development-services/solarapp-submittals

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

Electronic only, via the eTRAKiT portal — PDF/document uploads, no paper copies accepted for the standard flow

Why the confidence is not higherElectronic Submittal Portal page states: 'We are now accepting all building permit applications electronically,' covering solar permits.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/development-services/electronic-submittal-portal

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBMC Ch. 15.12 (references a 'small residential rooftop solar energy checklist' available online) and the Development Services handouts folder; the checklist PDF itself could not be extracted — brentwoodca.gov's showpublisheddocument endpoint returns Akamai 'Access Denied' to curl and WebFetch, and Chrome's native PDF viewer is not attachable for text extraction.

https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/development-services/-folder-204

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame checklist/Application Submittal Matrix PDF, inaccessible for the same reason as q10.

https://www.brentwoodca.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/2646/639063201670170000

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame inaccessible checklist/matrix PDF.

https://www.brentwoodca.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/2646/639063201670170000

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame inaccessible checklist/matrix PDF; also checked BMC Ch. 15.04 and 15.12 text, no PE-stamp threshold stated there.

https://ecode360.com/43616403

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as q13.

https://ecode360.com/43616403

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

$285 base + $50.32 for each additional inverter (systems under 10kW)

Why the confidence is not higherThis figure comes from a third-party solar-industry fee aggregator (Peroon Energy Consulting), not the city's own fee schedule — the city's PDF fee documents (Application Submittal Matrix, Development Fee Study, etc.) could not be extracted because brentwoodca.gov's document endpoint returns Akamai 'Access Denied' to both curl and WebFetch, and Chrome's native PDF viewer blocks CDP/text extraction. Treat this figure as unverified against the primary source.

third-party aggregator checked 2026-08-30 https://peroonenergyconsulting.com/resources

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Tiered

Why the confidence is not higherSame secondary source shows a flat base fee plus a per-additional-inverter add-on, which is a tiered structure rather than pure flat/valuation/per-kW. Not verified against the city's own fee schedule (PDF inaccessible — see q15 why).

third-party aggregator checked 2026-08-30 https://peroonenergyconsulting.com/resources

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBMC §15.06.010(C) states CCCFPD sets its own fees for fire-code permits (separate from city fees) but does not confirm whether a distinct plan-check fee applies to standard small residential PV under the streamlined checklist; fee-schedule PDFs inaccessible (Akamai-blocked).

https://ecode360.com/43616160

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

3 days (if the application is complete)

Why the confidence is not higherBMC §15.12.030(A): 'An application that satisfies the application and checklist requirements will be considered complete, and the city will issue the building permit within three days.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43616417

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBMC Ch. 15.04 and 15.12 text; no Brentwood-specific permit-validity/expiration duration stated (only the default CBC rule would apply, which I did not independently confirm as adopted without amendment).

https://ecode360.com/43616124

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

eTRAKiT (hosted by aspGov), at brent-trk.aspgov.com/eTRAKiT/

Why the confidence is not higherLinked directly from the city's Electronic Submittal Portal page as the destination for building permit applications.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/development-services/electronic-submittal-portal

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherPage states: 'We are now accepting all building permit applications electronically,' listing solar permits explicitly among the permit types covered.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/development-services/electronic-submittal-portal

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric)

Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed only via third-party sources (local solar installer sites) and a PG&E CPUC proceeding filing referencing a Brentwood/Contra Costa County project, not a Brentwood city-side document. No municipal utility exists in Brentwood/Contra Costa County, consistent with these sources.

third-party (solar installer) checked 2026-08-30 https://poweredbycontinuum.com/locations/brentwood/

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page process description (city permit → third-party fee payment) and Development Services page; no statement of where PG&E interconnection sits relative to permit issuance.

https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/development-services/solarapp-submittals

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBMC Ch. 15.12 and SolarAPP+ eligibility criteria; no HOA/architectural review requirement mentioned.

https://ecode360.com/43616403

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBMC Ch. 15.12 and Building Division page; no historic-district review provision found.

https://ecode360.com/43616403

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBMC Ch. 15.04/15.12 and Building handouts list; no windstorm/wind certification requirement found (California does not use a TDI-style wind certification scheme).

https://ecode360.com/43616403

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBMC Ch. 15.12 (streamlined chapter implies no CUP/Council step for compliant systems) — but no explicit statement was found addressing oversized or non-compliant systems.

https://ecode360.com/43616403

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

10 kW AC nameplate rating (or 30 kW thermal) for the expedited 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' definition; larger systems fall outside this streamlined chapter

Why the confidence is not higherBMC §15.12.020, defining 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' per Gov. Code §65850.5, sets this exact threshold, also requiring the array not exceed the city's max legal building height under BMC Title 17 (Zoning).

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43616408

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 70% · municipal code
    • Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2/2.5) 95% · municipal code
    • Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), as amended by Contra Costa County Fire Protection District Ordinance 2025-14 90% · municipal code
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 88% · municipal code
    • What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building Standards Code (incl. California Electrical Code), Civil Code §714(c), and Gov. Code §65850.5, per BMC §15.12.020's definition of a compliant small residential rooftop solar energy system 82% · municipal code
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    Nothing recorded for City of Brentwood on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    • Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown is required as part of the adopted 2025 California Electrical Code (NEC Article 690.12), which BMC §15.04.010 adopts by reference; exact NEC edition base year not stated verbatim by the city (see q29) 55% · municipal code (inference)
  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    Nothing recorded for City of Brentwood on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes — batteries/ESS are permitted; the city's SolarAPP+ permit type explicitly includes a 'Solar+Storage' subtype alongside plain 'Solar' 75% · department page
    • Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Not clearly separate — ESS is folded into the same 'Solar+Storage' permit subtype rather than requiring its own distinct permit, for the SolarAPP+ pathway 62% · department page
    • Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Likely yes, though not explicitly stated — ground-mount systems fall outside SolarAPP+ eligibility (which requires roof-mount on a permitted main dwelling with 'no trenching'), pushing them to the standard building-permit review where a ground-mount array would ordinarily be evaluated as an accessory structure 55% · department page (inference)
    • Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No Brentwood-specific busbar-sizing rule found; however, the SolarAPP+ pathway explicitly excludes any project that includes a main service panel upgrade — such projects must use the standard (non-SolarAPP+) permit path instead 65% · department page

20 questions answered against City of Brentwood’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2023

Why the confidence is not higherBMC §15.04.010(A) adopts the 2025 California Building Standards Code (Part 3 = California Electrical Code) by reference (Ord. 1090, 12/9/2025), but the code text itself doesn't state the underlying NFPA 70/NEC year. 2023 NEC is inferred from California's standard triennial code-adoption pattern (the 2025 CEC cycle is based on the 2023 NEC), not stated verbatim in the ordinance.

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43616124

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2/2.5)

Why the confidence is not higherBMC §15.04.010(A): 'the following volumes and appendices of the California Building Standards Code, 2025 Edition ... are adopted by reference,' current per Ord. 1090 (12/9/2025).

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43616124

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), as amended by Contra Costa County Fire Protection District Ordinance 2025-14

Why the confidence is not higherBMC §15.06.010(A) adopts this by reference, with enforcement delegated to CCCFPD.

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43616160

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherBMC §15.04.020 amends the 2025 California Plumbing Code (CPC §1208.5, prohibiting underground metallic gas piping without a soils analysis, due to corrosive Brentwood-area soils). CCCFPD Ordinances 2025-14 and 2025-15 likewise amend the state Fire and WUI codes as adopted locally.

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43616158

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

The 2025 California Building Standards Code (incl. California Electrical Code), Civil Code §714(c), and Gov. Code §65850.5, per BMC §15.12.020's definition of a compliant small residential rooftop solar energy system

Why the confidence is not higherBMC §15.12.020 explicitly ties compliance to 'all applicable state fire, structural, electrical, and other building codes, and to Civil Code Section 714(c).'

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43616408

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

No Brentwood-specific busbar-sizing rule found; however, the SolarAPP+ pathway explicitly excludes any project that includes a main service panel upgrade — such projects must use the standard (non-SolarAPP+) permit path instead

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page: 'The project cannot include a main service panel upgrade' as an eligibility criterion for that streamlined pathway.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/development-services/solarapp-submittals

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBMC Ch. 15.04/15.12 text and checklist/matrix PDF (inaccessible); no specific mounting-system/attachment-spacing rule found.

https://ecode360.com/43616403

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBMC Ch. 15.06 (Fire/WUI) and CCCFPD site search; found that CCCFPD Ord. 2025-14 amends the CA Fire Code and that CCCFPD has its own 'Solar Application (PV)' and 'Solar Notification' forms, but could not extract the specific ridge-setback/access-pathway figures — CCCFPD's PDFs were not opened, and the site's HTML pages didn't state the figures.

https://ecode360.com/43616159

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Rapid shutdown is required as part of the adopted 2025 California Electrical Code (NEC Article 690.12), which BMC §15.04.010 adopts by reference; exact NEC edition base year not stated verbatim by the city (see q29)

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the code adoption chain (2025 CEC referenced in §15.04.010) rather than a Brentwood-specific statement naming rapid shutdown or NEC 690.12 directly.

municipal code (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43616124

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBMC Ch. 15.06/15.12, SolarAPP+ page, and CCCFPD site search; no specific placard list found (CCCFPD's 'Solar Notification Form' exists but its contents weren't accessible).

https://ecode360.com/43616159

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame sources as q38; no placard-wording language found.

https://ecode360.com/43616403

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame sources as q38; no letter-height/color/material spec found.

https://ecode360.com/43616403

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame sources as q38; NEC 705.10 is incorporated via the adopted 2025 CEC, but no Brentwood-specific facility-map placard content was found.

https://ecode360.com/43616124

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched for PG&E-specific DG/interconnection manual placard requirements; not reached (PG&E's own site treated as generally difficult per project brief, and no city-side citation of a PG&E placard spec was found).

https://poweredbycontinuum.com/locations/brentwood/

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as q38/40; no label-placement rule found in accessible text.

https://ecode360.com/43616403

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBMC Ch. 15.12 and SolarAPP+ page; no authority-specific approved-equipment list found (only general state code compliance language).

https://ecode360.com/43616408

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Yes — batteries/ESS are permitted; the city's SolarAPP+ permit type explicitly includes a 'Solar+Storage' subtype alongside plain 'Solar'

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page instructs applicants to select 'the permit type/subtype combination of SolarAPP+/Solar or Solar+Storage,' confirming a combined solar-plus-storage permitting path exists.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/development-services/solarapp-submittals

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

Not clearly separate — ESS is folded into the same 'Solar+Storage' permit subtype rather than requiring its own distinct permit, for the SolarAPP+ pathway

Why the confidence is not higherSame SolarAPP+ page language; did not find a distinct standalone ESS permit process description for the non-SolarAPP+ pathway.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/development-services/solarapp-submittals

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Likely yes, though not explicitly stated — ground-mount systems fall outside SolarAPP+ eligibility (which requires roof-mount on a permitted main dwelling with 'no trenching'), pushing them to the standard building-permit review where a ground-mount array would ordinarily be evaluated as an accessory structure

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from SolarAPP+ eligibility criteria ('PV system must be installed on a permitted main dwelling rooftop only') rather than a direct city statement calling ground mounts 'structures.'

department page (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/development-services/solarapp-submittals

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched city and PG&E-adjacent sources for AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter; no Brentwood- or PG&E-specific rule found in accessible pages.

https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/development-services/solarapp-submittals

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How is an inspection booked? Phone — Interactive Voice Request (IVR) system at (925) 809-7930 95% · department page
    • How much notice is required? 1, 2, or 3 business days' notice (caller's choice of next business day, two business days out, or three business days out) 85% · department page
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

    • Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 82% · municipal code
    • If delegated, to whom? Contra Costa County Fire Protection District (for Fire Code enforcement/inspection aspects only) 78% · municipal code
  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    • Which inspections are required, and in what order? For small residential rooftop solar: a single consolidated inspection (covering the whole system); additional re-inspection(s) only if the system fails 85% · municipal code
    • Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 82% · municipal code
  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

    Nothing recorded for City of Brentwood on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

    • How are corrections issued and cleared? For incomplete applications (pre-permit-issuance stage): the city issues a written correction notice detailing each deficiency 60% · municipal code

14 questions answered against City of Brentwood’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Phone — Interactive Voice Request (IVR) system at (925) 809-7930

Why the confidence is not higherSchedule an Inspection page gives the full IVR call script for booking/cancelling inspections by phone.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building/schedule-an-inspection

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

1, 2, or 3 business days' notice (caller's choice of next business day, two business days out, or three business days out)

Why the confidence is not higherIVR script Step 5 offers exactly these three options with no same-day option.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building/schedule-an-inspection

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSchedule an Inspection (IVR) page — full script reviewed; no AM/PM or same-day window option mentioned.

https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building/schedule-an-inspection

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherBMC §15.12.030(B): 'the city will require only one inspection' for a small residential rooftop solar energy system permit, confirming the city's own Building Inspection Division performs it (fire-code-specific inspection aspects are delegated to CCCFPD — see q53).

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43616417

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

Contra Costa County Fire Protection District (for Fire Code enforcement/inspection aspects only)

Why the confidence is not higherBMC §15.06.010(D) delegates Fire Code enforcement to the CCCFPD fire chief; this is a partial delegation limited to fire-code matters, not general building/electrical inspection.

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43616160

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

For small residential rooftop solar: a single consolidated inspection (covering the whole system); additional re-inspection(s) only if the system fails

Why the confidence is not higherBMC §15.12.030(B): 'the city will require only one inspection (which may include a consolidated inspection). However if the system fails inspection, the city may perform one or more subsequent inspections.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43616417

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

No

Why the confidence is not higherSame code section explicitly limits the city to one inspection for a compliant small residential rooftop solar system, i.e., no separate rough-in/mid-roof inspection is layered on.

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43616417

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBMC Ch. 15.12 inspection language; no explicit statement that the inspector verifies labels/listings (standard practice elsewhere, but not stated here).

https://ecode360.com/43616417

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedDevelopment Services handouts folder listing (37 documents reviewed by title) and Building Division page; no distinct 'inspection checklist' document title found (only the pre-permit submittal checklist).

https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/development-services/-folder-204

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSchedule an Inspection page and BMC Ch. 15.12; no explicit 'what must be on site' list found.

https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building/schedule-an-inspection

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedFee-schedule PDFs (Akamai-blocked, could not extract); no re-inspection fee figure found elsewhere.

https://www.brentwoodca.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/2646/639063201670170000

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

For incomplete applications (pre-permit-issuance stage): the city issues a written correction notice detailing each deficiency

Why the confidence is not higherBMC §15.12.030(A) describes this for the application-completeness stage; I did not find text describing the post-inspection-failure correction/clearance process specifically.

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43616417

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBMC Ch. 15.12 and Schedule an Inspection page; no statement of what document/tag is issued on a passed inspection.

https://ecode360.com/43616417

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page and PG&E-adjacent sources; no Brentwood- or PG&E-specific statement of who submits the Permission-to-Operate paperwork.

https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/development-services/solarapp-submittals

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Brentwood against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Brentwood is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
Holds
Building, Electrical, Plumbing, and Mechanical (self-performed, own Building Inspection Division); Fire Code enforcement is delegated to the Contra Costa County Fire Protection District (CCCFPD)
Delegated to
Contra Costa County Fire Protection District — fire code enforcement only (Wildland-Urban Interface code enforcement is explicitly retained by the city, not delegated)
Overridden by
CA Gov. Code §65850.5 (SB 379 lineage) mandates the expedited small-residential-rooftop-solar permitting process the city has codified as BMC Ch. 15.12 (3-day review, one inspection)
Why not higher
City's own Building Division page states it enforces the CA Building, Electrical, Plumbing, and Mechanical Codes directly. BMC §15.06.010(D) explicitly delegates Fire Code enforcement to the CCCFPD fire chief under Health & Safety Code §13869.7, while §15.06.020(D) keeps WUI code enforcement with the city — a split worth flagging. Ch. 15.12 codifies the state-mandated streamlined solar process.

https://ecode360.com/43616159

Permit required
Yes95%
Permit cost
$285 base + $50.32 for each additional inverter (systems under 10kW)58%
Plan review
3 days (if the application is complete)90%
Portal
eTRAKiT (hosted by aspGov), at brent-trk.aspgov.com/eTRAKiT/90%
Electrical code
202370%
Booking an inspection
Phone — Interactive Voice Request (IVR) system at (925) 809-793095%
Labels & placards for this authority

Wording None%

Size, colour & material None%

Where they go None%

What the utility wants on top None%

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Contra Costa County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of Brentwood · city
Solar Requirements
Notes
Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/building
Authority Contact
Address
150 City Park Way, Brentwood, CA 94513
Main Phone
(925) 516-5400
Building Department
Department
Community Development Department - Building Division
Direct Phone
(925) 516-5405
Portal Software
eTRAKiT
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
online_portal
Notes
City uses eTRAKiT (ASP.gov) portal for permit tracking and inspection scheduling. Inspections can also be scheduled or cancelled via IVR phone system at (925) 809-7930. Solar permits use SolarAPP+ (https://www.brentwoodca.gov/government/community-development/development-services/solarapp-submittals) for automated code-compliance review of residential roof-mounted retrofit PV systems; after SolarAPP+ approval, applicants are directed to the electronic submittal portal (eTRAKiT). Building Division at 150 City Park Way, Brentwood, CA 94513. Walk-in hours Mon-Thu 9am-4pm; Fri by appointment only. Chief Building Official: Ken Murphy.