City of Buellton

Santa Barbara County

Verified Aug. 6, 2026

City of Buellton is a city authority in the State of California, serving 5,161 residents. 554 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — No authority-specific turnaround stated; state law sets the floor Q18 Where you file — Santa Barbara County's Accela 'Citizen Access' Citizen Portal (aca-prod.accela.com/SBCO), Q20

Permit required
Yes92% source
What it costs
$450 base for the first 15 kWdc, plus $15/kW for each kW above 15 kWdc (residential); $1,000 base for the first 50 kWdc, +$7/kW from 50-250 kW,88% source
Plan review turnaround
No authority-specific turnaround stated; state law sets the floor55% source
Key document
fee schedule cited by 5 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 90% · municipal code
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Delegated 90% · department page
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 92% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 68% · fee schedule
    • Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 70% · municipal code
    • Is there a historic-district review? No solar-specific historic-district review requirement found 62% · municipal code
    • Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No SUP/Council approval for roof-mount; ground-mount requires only an administrative zoning clearance, not a discretionary Specific Use Permit or Council hearing 78% · municipal code
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes for ground-mounted systems; a site plan/plot plan is standard county building-permit practice for roof-mounted 60% · municipal code
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? Santa Barbara County's Accela 'Citizen Access' Citizen Portal (aca-prod.accela.com/SBCO), which Buellton's Planning page effectively routes solar applicants to since the County performs all building review/issuance/inspection for the city 85% · permit portal
    • Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 60% · permit portal
    • What does a residential solar permit cost? $450 base for the first 15 kWdc, plus $15/kW for each kW above 15 kWdc (residential); $1,000 base for the first 50 kWdc, +$7/kW from 50-250 kW, +$5/kW above 250 kW (nonresidential) — plus a 6.00% Technology & Records Maintenance surcharge and a 3.70% General Plan Maintenance surcharge on the base fee 88% · fee schedule
    • How is the fee calculated? Tiered 85% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate plan-check fee? No 80% · fee schedule
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

28 questions answered against City of Buellton’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherThe city is the legal AHJ: BMC 17.08.020-.080 codifies the city's own Building/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical/Housing/Dangerous-Buildings codes (each 'adopted by reference' from Santa Barbara County Code Ch.10), and BMC 8.12.010/.020 codify the city's own Fire Code, with 'Jurisdiction' expressly defined as 'the city of Buellton.' The city's own Planning Dept. page then states plainly that the City CONTRACTS OUT the performance of that function to Santa Barbara County Building & Safety Division. Legal AHJ and performing AHJ are different entities here — see jurisdiction block.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/43122308

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Delegated

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Planning Dept. page: 'The City contracts with the County of Santa Barbara Building and Safety Division for building permit review and issuance and building inspection services.' BMC 8.12.010 separately defines 'Building department' as 'the county of Santa Barbara building and safety division' and 'Chief'/'fire chief' as the county fire chief — both electrical/building AND fire are performed by the county, not city staff.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofbuellton.com/departments/planning/

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherBMC 17.08.020/.030 adopt the county Building and Electrical Codes as the city's own; Santa Barbara County's current Fee Schedule for Building Permits (eff. 7/1/2026, Fee Ordinance 5271) carries explicit 'Residential photovoltaic system (per KWdc)' and 'Nonresidential photovoltaic system' fee lines under ELECTRICAL PERMIT FEES, which would not exist if no permit were required.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofbuellton.com/files/Development%20Impact%20Fee%20Schedules/Building%20%20-%20%20Safety%20Fee%20Schedule%20Eff.%207-1-26.pdf

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined

Why the confidence is not higherIn the county fee schedule (which governs Buellton's permits), the 'Residential photovoltaic system (per KWdc)' line sits entirely inside the ELECTRICAL PERMIT FEES section (not a separate Building Permit Fees line), and its 'Inspection Fee' column reads 'State limited fee collected under plan check' rather than listing an independent inspection charge — consistent with one combined electrical permit covering plan review and inspection for a standard roof-mount residential PV system, not a companion Building Permit. Not higher because no city or county document says this in so many words; it is inferred from the fee-schedule structure.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofbuellton.com/files/Development%20Impact%20Fee%20Schedules/Building%20%20-%20%20Safety%20Fee%20Schedule%20Eff.%207-1-26.pdf

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either

Why the confidence is not higherNo Buellton- or Santa Barbara County-specific document was found stating who may pull the electrical permit for residential PV. Under general California law (B&P Code §7026 / §7044 owner-builder exemption), a licensed C-10 electrical or C-46 solar contractor may pull it, or the homeowner may self-permit as owner-builder on their own single-family residence. This is a statewide default, not an authority-specific finding — flagged at reduced confidence.

inference from state law (no authority-specific document found) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.countyofsb.org/2233

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched Buellton Municipal Code Title 5 (Business Licenses and Regulations, ecode360 guid 43113954) table of contents for a contractor-registration chapter — only Cable TV, Adult-Oriented Business Licenses, Card Games, Mobilehome Rent Control, Business Licenses (Ch. 5.18, general), Solicitors/Peddlers and Taxicabs chapters exist; could not retrieve the full body text of Ch. 5.18 to see if it separately conditions a construction-contractor's local business license on registration prior to permit application, and found no Santa Barbara County Building & Safety statement on contractor pre-registration (countyofsb.org's Building Safety pages are a CivicPlus 'Engage' React app that returns zero rendered body text to a plain fetch even with a Googlebot user-agent — confirmed by a zero-hit control search for the word 'inspection' on its own Building Inspection Process page).

https://ecode360.com/43113954

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherNo Buellton or Santa Barbara County document specifically addresses homeowner self-permitting for solar. General California law (Business & Professions Code §7044) allows an owner of a single-family residence to act as their own contractor (owner-builder) and pull permits directly, including electrical, provided the work is not for sale within one year. This is a statewide default applied here as inference, not a county-specific confirmation.

inference from state law (no authority-specific document found) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.countyofsb.org/2233

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedLooked for a Buellton- or Santa Barbara County-published residential solar/PV submittal checklist. Buellton's own Planning Dept. page lists checklists for ADUs, CUPs, development plans, lot line adjustments, EV charging stations, land-use exemptions, temporary-use permits, parcel/tract maps and zoning clearances — no solar-specific checklist appears among them. Santa Barbara County's 'Case-Specific Submittal Checklists & Supplemental Application Forms' page (countyofsb.org/pl-case-specific-submittal-checklists-supplemental-application-forms) and its SolarApp+ page both returned 200 but zero server-rendered body text (CivicPlus 'Engage' React app; content loads via an authenticated content.civicplus.com API call I could not complete without a headless browser).

https://www.cityofbuellton.com/departments/planning/

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q8 — no accessible checklist document to read a copy-count or format requirement from.

https://www.cityofbuellton.com/departments/planning/

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Yes for ground-mounted systems; a site plan/plot plan is standard county building-permit practice for roof-mounted

Why the confidence is not higherBMC 19.06.190(B): ground-mounted solar panels 'shall be classified as accessory structures, and shall require zoning clearance (Section 19.08.100)' — a zoning clearance application requires a site plan showing the structure's location and setbacks. For roof-mounted systems (19.06.190(A), no zoning clearance required), a plot plan/site plan is standard for any Santa Barbara County building-permit plan set, but I could not find a document stating this specifically for PV (county solar checklist page unreachable — see Q8).

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/43124020

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedLooked in BMC Title 17 (Buildings and Construction) and the county Building Permit fee schedule for a one-line/three-line diagram requirement; neither states submittal-drawing content. The county's solar-specific checklist, which would normally state this, is on a page I could not render (see Q8).

https://ecode360.com/43121888

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q11 — no city or reachable county document specifies string/conductor calculation requirements.

https://ecode360.com/43121888

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched BMC 17.08 (adoption chapters) for a structural PE-stamp threshold specific to solar or accessory structures; none is stated. Santa Barbara County's own local amendments to the CBC structural chapter (which would carry any such threshold) sit in Santa Barbara County Code Ch. 10, which I could not retrieve — countyofsb.org's code/building-code pages are the same unrenderable CivicPlus 'Engage' app, and library.municode.com/ca/santa_barbara_county and codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/santabarbaraco both returned generic/404 shells rather than the county code text.

https://ecode360.com/43122308

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q13 — no electrical PE-stamp threshold found in the reachable Buellton documents.

https://ecode360.com/43122308

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

$450 base for the first 15 kWdc, plus $15/kW for each kW above 15 kWdc (residential); $1,000 base for the first 50 kWdc, +$7/kW from 50-250 kW, +$5/kW above 250 kW (nonresidential) — plus a 6.00% Technology & Records Maintenance surcharge and a 3.70% General Plan Maintenance surcharge on the base fee

Why the confidence is not higherSanta Barbara County Planning & Development 'Fee Schedule for Building Permits,' effective 7/1/2026 (Fee Ordinance 5271) — the schedule Buellton's own Planning page links to as the operative building-fee schedule, under ELECTRICAL PERMIT FEES: 'Residential photovoltaic system (per KWdc) ... $450 [base, 15kw or less]; Each kw above 15kw: $15.' Inspection is folded into this line ('State limited fee collected under plan check'), not billed separately. Not higher confidence because the two percentage surcharges are stated as columns of the table and I did not independently recompute the all-in total for a sample system size.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofbuellton.com/files/Development%20Impact%20Fee%20Schedules/Building%20%20-%20%20Safety%20Fee%20Schedule%20Eff.%207-1-26.pdf

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Tiered

Why the confidence is not higherSame fee schedule: a flat base fee applies up to a 15 kWdc threshold, with a separate per-kW rate applied only above that threshold — a tiered/base-plus-increment structure, not a pure per-kW or flat fee.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofbuellton.com/files/Development%20Impact%20Fee%20Schedules/Building%20%20-%20%20Safety%20Fee%20Schedule%20Eff.%207-1-26.pdf

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

No

Why the confidence is not higherThe fee schedule's own 'Inspection Fee' column for 'Residential photovoltaic system' reads 'State limited fee collected under plan check' — i.e., there is one combined fee collected under the plan-check line rather than a separate inspection or plan-check charge, apparently reflecting the state cap on residential PV permit fees (Gov. Code §65850.5(f)).

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofbuellton.com/files/Development%20Impact%20Fee%20Schedules/Building%20%20-%20%20Safety%20Fee%20Schedule%20Eff.%207-1-26.pdf

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

No authority-specific turnaround stated; state law sets the floor

Why the confidence is not higherNeither Buellton's Planning page nor the reachable parts of Santa Barbara County's site state a plan-review turnaround in business days for solar specifically. California Gov. Code §65850.5(g) requires a ministerial, non-discretionary review of an eligible 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' application, generally within one business day of submittal for jurisdictions under the statute's population threshold (or automatically deemed approved). Santa Barbara County's SolarApp+ program page (title confirmed, but its body text is not server-rendered and could not be read this run) suggests some residential PV permits may be issued same-day/automatically, consistent with the statute, but I could not confirm the county's own stated number.

statute + program page (body text unreadable this run) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.countyofsb.org/pl-santa-barbara-county-solarapp

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedLooked in BMC 17.08 (building code adoption) and the county fee schedule for a stated permit-validity/expiration period; neither states one. The California Building Code's own default (105.5, 180 days) would apply via the adopted county code, but I could not confirm Santa Barbara County has not locally amended that provision, because Santa Barbara County Code Ch. 10 is unreachable via this run's tools (see Q13).

https://ecode360.com/43122308

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

Santa Barbara County's Accela 'Citizen Access' Citizen Portal (aca-prod.accela.com/SBCO), which Buellton's Planning page effectively routes solar applicants to since the County performs all building review/issuance/inspection for the city

Why the confidence is not higherFetched the portal directly: page title 'Santa Barbara County Citizen Portal,' with distinct Apply/Search/Get Help modules for Transportation, Fire, Water Resources, Building and Planning. The county's own SolarApp+ page also embeds an 'Click Here to Apply' button linking to this same Accela URL.

permit portal checked 2026-08-31 https://aca-prod.accela.com/SBCO/Default.aspx

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherThe Accela Citizen Access portal exposes an 'Apply' function for the Building module (and separately for Fire and Planning), which on Accela deployments generally allows full online submission including plan uploads; I could not render the specific Building > Apply workflow page to confirm every step (plans, fees, and issuance) completes online without an in-person or emailed step, so this is a moderate-confidence inference from the portal's own module structure rather than a directly read statement.

permit portal checked 2026-08-31 https://aca-prod.accela.com/SBCO/Default.aspx

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)

Why the confidence is not higherBuellton's own current General Plan (Updated 05/2025), Public Facilities & Services chapter: 'The Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E) supplies electricity to the City of Buellton ... PG&E has one substation serving the Buellton area, the Easy Street substation.' This directly contradicts the assumption (common for this part of coastal/interior Santa Barbara County) that Southern California Edison serves the Santa Ynez Valley — the city's own document names PG&E. Not higher confidence because this Public Facilities narrative reads as carried forward from an earlier General Plan edition and I could not find a second, more recent city document (e.g. a utility billing or franchise page) independently corroborating it for 2026.

general plan checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofbuellton.com/files/2025%20General%20Plan/CURRENT%20General%20Plan%20Updated%2005-2025.pdf

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedDid not find a Buellton or PG&E document stating where interconnection sits relative to permitting in the sequence (before/after/parallel). PG&E's own Rule 21/DG interconnection handbook was not fetched this run — utility-level document, out of scope of what the city or county itself publishes.

https://www.cityofbuellton.com/files/2025%20General%20Plan/CURRENT%20General%20Plan%20Updated%2005-2025.pdf

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherBMC 19.06.190 (the city's only zoning-code section on solar panels) imposes no HOA or architectural-review requirement — subsection (A) requires no zoning clearance at all for roof-mounted panels on an existing building, and (B) requires only a zoning clearance (an administrative, non-discretionary process) for ground-mounted panels. Control-checked: a full-text search of the surrounding Chapter 19.06 body (which includes this section) found 0 hits for 'HOA,' 'homeowners association' or 'design review,' while positive controls 'electric' (14), 'fire' (5) and 'Solar' (4) all hit and the fabricated control 'zzqqx' returned 0. This does not rule out a private CC&R requiring HOA approval, which sits outside city authority.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/43124020

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

No solar-specific historic-district review requirement found

Why the confidence is not higherSame control-checked search of BMC Chapter 19.06 (see Q24): the only 'historic district' language in that chapter concerns ADU parking-reduction eligibility, not solar. Buellton does have a downtown 'Avenue of Flags' Specific Plan area with its own design guidelines; I did not check whether that Specific Plan imposes a design/architectural review on rooftop equipment specifically, so this is scoped to the zoning code's solar section rather than a citywide guarantee.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/43124020

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo wind/windstorm certification requirement was found in BMC 19.06.190 or Title 17; Santa Barbara County's own structural amendments (which would carry any such requirement) are in the unreachable Santa Barbara County Code Ch. 10 (see Q13).

https://ecode360.com/43124020

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

No SUP/Council approval for roof-mount; ground-mount requires only an administrative zoning clearance, not a discretionary Specific Use Permit or Council hearing

Why the confidence is not higherBMC 19.06.190: roof-mounted panels on an existing building require no zoning clearance at all (subsection A); ground-mounted panels are classified as accessory structures requiring a zoning clearance under §19.08.100 — zoning clearances in Buellton are director-level/administrative approvals, not Council or Planning Commission hearings.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/43124020

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBMC 19.06.190 states no numeric system-size cap for either roof- or ground-mounted panels; searched Title 19 generally (control-checked, 'Solar' hits present, 'zzqqx' absent) with no cap found. California's 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' definition (Gov. Code §65850.5(j), roughly ≤10 kW AC for the expedited-review track) is a state procedural threshold, not a hard cap on system size, so it does not answer this question and is not recorded as if it were.

https://ecode360.com/43124020

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? 2020 NEC (as incorporated into the 2022 CEC) — likely superseded statewide by the 2023 NEC/2025 CEC effective 1 Jan 2026, not yet confirmed adopted locally 45% · inference from the parallel fire-code cycle; county electrical code text unreachable
    • Which building code edition is in force? 2022 California Building Code (by the same reasoning as Q29) — not directly confirmed 45% · inference; county building code text unreachable
    • Which fire code edition is in force? 2022 California Fire Code 88% · municipal code
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 72% · municipal code
    • What is the installation judged against? The Santa Barbara County Primary Building Code and Primary Electrical Code (Santa Barbara County Code Ch. 10, Arts. III and IV), which the city has adopted by reference as BMC 17.08.020/.030 — these are themselves based on the state-mandated California Building/Electrical Code (Title 24) family 75% · municipal code
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    Nothing recorded for City of Buellton on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    • Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12 by virtue of the state-mandated electrical code (see Q29 for edition uncertainty) 55% · inference from statewide NEC adoption
  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    Nothing recorded for City of Buellton on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

20 questions answered against City of Buellton’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2020 NEC (as incorporated into the 2022 CEC) — likely superseded statewide by the 2023 NEC/2025 CEC effective 1 Jan 2026, not yet confirmed adopted locally

Why the confidence is not higherBuellton's own Electrical Code section (BMC 17.08.030) names no edition itself — it adopts 'the Santa Barbara County Primary Electrical Code, codified as Chapter 10, Article IV of the Santa Barbara County Code' by reference, without a year. The parallel Fire Code section (8.12.020) is edition-specific and currently reads '2022 Edition,' last locally amended by Ord. 23-01 (10/12/2023), with no newer code-cycle ordinance appearing in Buellton's Ordinance List through its latest update (Ord. 26-03, 3/26/2026) — so by analogy the Building/Electrical Code family is probably still on the 2022 cycle (2020 NEC) as of this run, but I could not directly verify Santa Barbara County's own Code Ch. 10 Art. IV text (countyofsb.org and library.municode.com/ca/santa_barbara_county are both unrenderable to this run's tools).

inference from the parallel fire-code cycle; county electrical code text unreachable checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/43115090

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2022 California Building Code (by the same reasoning as Q29) — not directly confirmed

Why the confidence is not higherSee Q29 reasoning: BMC 17.08.020 adopts 'the Santa Barbara County Primary Building Code ... Chapter 10, Article III' by reference with no edition year; inferred from the parallel, edition-specific Fire Code section (8.12.020, '2022 Edition,' last amended Ord. 23-01, 10/12/2023) that Buellton/Santa Barbara County is probably still mid-2022-cycle as of this run.

inference; county building code text unreachable checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/43122308

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

2022 California Fire Code

Why the confidence is not higherBMC 8.12.020: 'The 2022 Edition of the California Fire Code as adopted and amended by the Santa Barbara County board of supervisors as Chapter 15 of the Santa Barbara County Code is hereby ratified and adopted by reference as the fire code of the city,' last amended by Ord. 23-01 (10/12/2023). Not higher because the 2025 CFC took effect statewide 1 Jan 2026 and Buellton's own codified text (current through Ord. 26-03, 3/26/2026) has not yet been updated to reflect it, so the city's own document may itself be one cycle stale.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/43115090

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherBMC 8.12.030: the city separately adopted the '2025 Fire Hazard Severity Zone Map for the city of Buellton, as designated by the State Fire Marshal' by Ord. 25-05 (6/26/2025) — a local WUI/FHSZ overlay layered on top of the wholesale CFC/CBC/CEC reference. I found no additional local technical amendments to the Building or Electrical Code text itself beyond the bare cross-reference to the county code.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/43115090

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

The Santa Barbara County Primary Building Code and Primary Electrical Code (Santa Barbara County Code Ch. 10, Arts. III and IV), which the city has adopted by reference as BMC 17.08.020/.030 — these are themselves based on the state-mandated California Building/Electrical Code (Title 24) family

Why the confidence is not higherBMC 17.08.020/.030 text, quoted directly: 'The Santa Barbara County Primary Building Code, codified as Chapter 10, Article III, of the Santa Barbara County Code, is adopted by reference as the Building Code of the city' (and the parallel sentence for Electrical). Not higher because I could not read the underlying county code text to see if it in turn amends the state model code further.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/43122308

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched BMC 17.08 for a service-upgrade/busbar-sizing rule; none is stated. The county building fee schedule has a generic 'Services, per amps (up to 1,000 amps, then hourly)' electrical fee line but no accompanying technical busbar rule, and Santa Barbara County Code Ch. 10 (where any such amendment would sit) is unreachable this run.

https://www.cityofbuellton.com/files/Development%20Impact%20Fee%20Schedules/Building%20%20-%20%20Safety%20Fee%20Schedule%20Eff.%207-1-26.pdf

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo mounting-system/attachment-spacing requirement was found in BMC 17.08, 19.06.190, or the fee schedule.

https://ecode360.com/43124020

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched for ridge setback/fire-pathway requirements in BMC 8.12 (Fire Prevention) and Title 17; Buellton's own code text only ratifies '2022 CFC ... as Chapter 15 of the Santa Barbara County Code' without restating the setback/pathway tables, and Santa Barbara County Code Ch. 15 is unreachable via this run's tools (countyofsb.org returns zero rendered body text; see Q13).

https://ecode360.com/43115090

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Yes, rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12 by virtue of the state-mandated electrical code (see Q29 for edition uncertainty)

Why the confidence is not higherNo Buellton or reachable Santa Barbara County document states this in its own words, but NEC §690.12 module-level rapid shutdown has been mandatory in every California Electrical Code cycle since the 2019 CEC (2017 NEC) at the latest, and Buellton/Santa Barbara County adopts the state-mandated electrical code wholesale (BMC 17.08.030) with no exempting local amendment found.

inference from statewide NEC adoption checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/43122308

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedLooked for a Buellton- or Santa Barbara County-authored placard list beyond the state code baseline. Buellton has no solar-specific checklist (Q8); Santa Barbara County's Building Safety and SolarApp+ pages return 200 but zero rendered body text (CivicPlus 'Engage' React app — confirmed unrenderable by a zero-hit control search for the word 'inspection' on the county's own Building Inspection Process page, which must contain that word if it rendered).

https://www.cityofbuellton.com/departments/planning/

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q38 — no city- or county-authored placard wording found.

https://www.cityofbuellton.com/departments/planning/

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q38 — no letter-height/colour/material specification found in any reachable Buellton or Santa Barbara County document.

https://www.cityofbuellton.com/departments/planning/

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q38 — no NEC 705.10-style facility-map placard requirement found in any reachable city or county document.

https://www.cityofbuellton.com/departments/planning/

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedDid not fetch PG&E's own Rule 21/DG interconnection handbook or 'Greenbook' this run (utility-level document, out of scope of what the city itself publishes); Buellton's General Plan Public Facilities chapter names PG&E as the utility (see Q22) but says nothing about placards.

https://www.cityofbuellton.com/files/2025%20General%20Plan/CURRENT%20General%20Plan%20Updated%2005-2025.pdf

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q38 — no city- or county-specified label-placement location found beyond generic references to 'disconnect locations' implied by standard plan-set practice.

https://www.cityofbuellton.com/departments/planning/

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherNo Buellton- or county-specific equipment-list document was found, but the California Electrical Code (adopted wholesale per BMC 17.08.030) requires listed/labeled equipment (CEC Art. 110, 690) as a baseline statewide requirement, which functions as an approved-list requirement in practice (UL/CEC-listed PV modules, inverters, disconnects, racking).

inference from statewide CEC adoption checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/43122308

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Batteries/ESS are permitted subject to the state-adopted California Fire Code and California Residential/Building Code ESS provisions (ratified by BMC 8.12.020/17.08.020); no Buellton- or Santa Barbara County-specific local amendment to those provisions was found

Why the confidence is not higherBMC 8.12.020 ratifies the '2022 Edition of the California Fire Code ... as Chapter 15 of the Santa Barbara County Code' wholesale, which in its 2022-edition form carries R-3/one- and two-family-dwelling ESS provisions (garage/exterior placement, UL 9540 listing, quantity limits) as a state minimum. I could not confirm any Buellton- or Santa Barbara County-specific local amendment narrowing or expanding those provisions, because Santa Barbara County Code Ch. 15 itself is unreachable this run (see Q36).

inference from statewide CFC adoption; county fire code text unreachable checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/43115090

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

No separate ESS-specific fee/permit line was found; ESS work appears to fall under the standard Electrical or Building permit fee lines

Why the confidence is not higherControl-checked full-text search of the county's current 'Fee Schedule for Building Permits' (eff. 7/1/2026): 'battery' returns 0 hits (fabricated-style negative test against the positive controls 'electrical' [3 hits] and 'photovoltaic' [2 hits], both of which are present) — there is no dedicated Battery/ESS line in either the building or the (separately checked) Santa Barbara County Fire fee schedule. A residential battery installation would presumably be billed under a generic line such as 'Power Apparatus' or 'Miscellaneous Apparatus, Conduits, and Conductors,' but no document states this explicitly.

fee schedule (proven absence, control-checked) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofbuellton.com/files/Development%20Impact%20Fee%20Schedules/Building%20%20-%20%20Safety%20Fee%20Schedule%20Eff.%207-1-26.pdf

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherBMC 19.06.190(B): 'When solar panels are located on the ground they shall be classified as accessory structures, and shall require zoning clearance (Section 19.08.100).' Stated in the city's own zoning code in plain terms.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/43124020

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedPG&E's own service-equipment/Rule 21 placement requirements were not fetched this run (utility-level document; Buellton's own code and fee schedule are silent on AC-disconnect-to-meter placement).

https://www.cityofbuellton.com/files/2025%20General%20Plan/CURRENT%20General%20Plan%20Updated%2005-2025.pdf

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

    • Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Delegated 90% · department page
    • If delegated, to whom? Santa Barbara County Building & Safety Division (building/electrical); Santa Barbara County Fire Department, administering the Santa Barbara County Fire Protection District (fire-related component, if any) 88% · department page
  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    Nothing recorded for City of Buellton on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

    Nothing recorded for City of Buellton on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

14 questions answered against City of Buellton’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Portal

Why the confidence is not higherAll Buellton building permitting is performed by Santa Barbara County Building & Safety Division through the county's Accela 'Citizen Access' Citizen Portal, which exposes Building-module 'Apply/Search/Get Help' functions; Accela deployments of this kind typically include online inspection-request scheduling under the same login, but I could not render the specific inspection-scheduling sub-page to confirm the exact channel(s) offered (phone/email may also be available), so this is a moderate-confidence inference from the portal's module structure rather than a directly read statement.

permit portal (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://aca-prod.accela.com/SBCO/Default.aspx

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSanta Barbara County's Building Inspection Process page (countyofsb.org/pl-building-inspection-process) returned 200 but zero rendered body text on a direct fetch — confirmed by a control search for the words 'inspection,' 'schedule,' 'notice' and '24 hour,' all of which returned 0 hits despite this being a page whose entire purpose is to describe the inspection process (CivicPlus 'Engage' React app; content loads via an authenticated API call I could not complete without a headless browser). Buellton's own Planning page does not state a notice period either.

https://www.countyofsb.org/pl-building-inspection-process

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame page and same rendering failure as Q50 — no same-day/AM-PM window information could be retrieved.

https://www.countyofsb.org/pl-building-inspection-process

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Delegated

Why the confidence is not higherBuellton's own Planning Dept. page: 'The City contracts with the County of Santa Barbara Building and Safety Division for building permit review and issuance and building inspection services' — the city performs none of its own final solar/electrical inspections. Fire-related inspection is likewise performed by the Santa Barbara County Fire Department per BMC 8.12.010's definition of 'Chief'/'fire chief' as the county fire chief.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofbuellton.com/departments/planning/

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

Santa Barbara County Building & Safety Division (building/electrical); Santa Barbara County Fire Department, administering the Santa Barbara County Fire Protection District (fire-related component, if any)

Why the confidence is not higherSame Planning Dept. page statement as Q52, plus BMC 8.12.010's definitions naming the county building & safety division and county fire chief by title. Not 95+ because the split between the two county agencies for any solar-triggered fire inspection specifically (as opposed to routine building/electrical inspection) is not spelled out in a single document.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofbuellton.com/departments/planning/

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedCould not retrieve a stage-by-stage inspection sequence for residential PV from either Buellton's Planning page or Santa Barbara County's Building Inspection Process page (unrenderable, see Q50).

https://www.countyofsb.org/pl-building-inspection-process

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame rendering limitation as Q54 — no statement on a rough-in/mid-roof inspection requirement could be retrieved.

https://www.countyofsb.org/pl-building-inspection-process

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo document states whether the inspector explicitly verifies labels/listings as a discrete step; implied by the general UL-listing requirement (Q44) but not stated as an inspection-checklist item anywhere reachable.

https://www.countyofsb.org/pl-building-inspection-process

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched for a published Santa Barbara County residential-solar inspection checklist; the county's relevant pages (SolarApp+, Building Inspection Process, Case-Specific Submittal Checklists) all return 200 with zero rendered body text under this run's tools (see Q8/Q50), so I cannot confirm whether one exists or not — this is a genuine retrieval gap, not a proven absence.

https://www.countyofsb.org/pl-santa-barbara-county-solarapp

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame retrieval limitation as Q57 — no document-on-site requirement could be read from the unrenderable county pages.

https://www.countyofsb.org/pl-santa-barbara-county-solarapp

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

$313 per hour, one-hour minimum

Why the confidence is not higherSanta Barbara County 'Fee Schedule for Building Permits,' eff. 7/1/2026: 'Re-inspection Fee (one hour minimum — charged a) after two failed inspections, b) work is not accessible, or c) work is not ready for a scheduled inspection) ... $313 Per hour.' This is the general re-inspection fee (not solar-specific) that would apply to a solar re-inspection.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofbuellton.com/files/Development%20Impact%20Fee%20Schedules/Building%20%20-%20%20Safety%20Fee%20Schedule%20Eff.%207-1-26.pdf

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo document describing the corrections-issued-and-cleared workflow for Santa Barbara County building inspections could be retrieved (same rendering limitation, see Q50).

https://www.countyofsb.org/pl-building-inspection-process

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Final (inspection sign-off) — a full Certificate of Occupancy is not typically issued for a residential PV retrofit on an already-occupied home

Why the confidence is not higherNo Buellton or Santa Barbara County document names the specific document issued on a passed solar inspection. This value follows standard California Building Code practice (a 'final' inspection approval closing the permit) rather than a document I read stating it for Buellton/Santa Barbara County specifically.

inference from standard CBC permit-closeout practice checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofbuellton.com/files/Development%20Impact%20Fee%20Schedules/Building%20%20-%20%20Safety%20Fee%20Schedule%20Eff.%207-1-26.pdf

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Installer

Why the confidence is not higherNo Buellton, Santa Barbara County, or PG&E document was fetched this run stating who submits the interconnection/PTO paperwork. Recorded as 'Installer' based on standard industry practice (the installer typically files PG&E's interconnection completion/PTO request after the AHJ's final inspection), not a document read this run.

industry-standard inference; utility document not fetched this run checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofbuellton.com/files/2025%20General%20Plan/CURRENT%20General%20Plan%20Updated%2005-2025.pdf

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Buellton against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Buellton is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
Holds
Building, Electrical, Plumbing, Mechanical, Housing, Dangerous-Buildings and Fire Code adoption and legal jurisdiction (BMC Title 17 and BMC 8.12) — but ALL plan review, permit issuance and inspection for building/electrical is performed by the Santa Barbara County Building & Safety Division under contract, and fire-code enforcement/inspection is performed by the Santa Barbara County Fire Department (Santa Barbara County Fire Protection District), not city staff
Delegated to
Santa Barbara County Building & Safety Division (building/electrical/plumbing/mechanical); Santa Barbara County Fire Department / Santa Barbara County Fire Protection District (fire)
Overridden by
California Gov. Code §65850.5 (Solar Rights Act) governs the required ministerial/expedited review timeline the county must follow regardless of which agency performs it; no evidence found of any entity overriding the city's own retained legal jurisdiction over code adoption itself
Why not higher
Buellton Municipal Code 17.08.020-.080 adopts the Santa Barbara County Primary Building/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical/Housing/Dangerous-Buildings Codes 'by reference' as the city's own; BMC 8.12.010 defines 'Jurisdiction' as 'the city of Buellton' but 'Building department' as 'the county of Santa Barbara building and safety division' and 'Chief'/'fire chief' as the Santa Barbara County fire chief — an explicit codified delegation hook, not an inference. The city's own Planning Department page confirms this in plain English: 'The City contracts with the County of Santa Barbara Building and Safety Division for building permit review and issuance and building inspection services.' The brief's implicit assumption that Buellton runs its own Building Department is wrong — legal jurisdiction and performing jurisdiction are split, on the city→county pattern (mirror image of the more common city→private-firm delegation), similar to the Hercules/Contra Costa County shape but county-wide standard for this part of Santa Barbara County rather than a five-city contract list.

https://www.cityofbuellton.com/departments/planning/

Check the code edition before you build

This authority's published code edition does not match what the state has adopted. That usually means the authority's ordinance has not been updated for the current cycle — but a local amendment can also be lawful. Confirm with the building department before you submit.

Building code
This authority publishes 2022 2022 California Building Code (by the same reasoning as Q29) — not directly confirmed 45% · source
The state has adopted 2024/2025 2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2, Volumes 1 & 2), based on the 2024 International Building Code, and 2025 California Residential Code (Title 24, Part 2.5), 92% · source
Fire code
This authority publishes 2022 2022 California Fire Code 88% · source
The state has adopted 2024/2025 2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), based on the 2024 International Fire Code, adopted by the Office of the State Fire Marshal with BSC approval. 90% · source
Permit required
Yes92%
Permit cost
$450 base for the first 15 kWdc, plus $15/kW for each kW above 15 kWdc (residential); $1,000 base for the first 50 kWdc, +$7/kW from 50-250 kW,88%
Plan review
No authority-specific turnaround stated; state law sets the floor55%
Portal
Santa Barbara County's Accela 'Citizen Access' Citizen Portal (aca-prod.accela.com/SBCO), which Buellton's Planning page effectively routes solar applicants to since the County performs all…85%
Electrical code
2020 NEC (as incorporated into the 2022 CEC) — likely superseded statewide by the 2023 NEC/2025 CEC effective 1 Jan 2026, not yet confirmed adopted locally45%
Booking an inspection
Portal55%
Labels & placards for this authority

Wording None%

Size, colour & material None%

Where they go None%

What the utility wants on top None%

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Santa Barbara County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of Buellton · city
Solar Requirements
Authority Contact
Address
107 West Highway 246, Buellton, CA 93427
Main Phone
(805) 688-5177
Building Department
Department
Santa Barbara County Building & Safety Division (contracted)
Direct Phone
(805) 568-3118
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
phone
Book in advance
next business day
Request an inspection
Notes
Buellton contracts all building permits and inspections to Santa Barbara County Building & Safety Division (South County office). To schedule a final solar inspection, call (805) 568-3118 or email Inspection-South@countyofsb.org. Inspection requests received during business hours are typically scheduled for the next business day; if next day is unavailable, within 5 business days. General county building phone listed on Buellton's planning page: (805) 568-3030 (Santa Barbara office) or (805) 934-6230 (Santa Maria/north county). City of Buellton Planning Dept (planning questions only, not inspections): (805) 688-7474 / planning@cityofbuellton.com. County also offers 10-day expedited plan review for qualified small residential rooftop solar systems and participates in SolarApp+. (collected Jul 2026)