City of Buena Park
Orange County
City of Buena Park is a city authority in the State of California, serving 84,034 residents. 3,567 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — ViewPoint Cloud (OpenGov) Citizen Access Portal at buenaparkca.viewpointcloud.com, with an embedded Symbium instant-permit widget for residential solar/ESS on the… Q20
- Permit required
- Yes98% source
- Key document
- authority's own document cited by 11 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · authority's own page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · authority's own page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 98% · authority's own page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 78% · fee schedule
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No (not required as a city permit precondition) 55% · authority's own document
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 70% · authority's own document
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No hard cap identified; 10 kW AC is only the threshold for the expedited/instant permitting path 70% · authority's own document
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 85% · authority's own document
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 85% · authority's own page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 80% · authority's own page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Per the Solar PV submittal checklist: (3) sets of plans (min. 11x17), manufacturer spec sheets/installation instructions/UL listings, a roof plan on a site plan showing all PV equipment, a roof framing plan, structural support/lateral calculations (PE/architect-stamped), electrical drawings (single-line diagram, inverter data, module data, array data, conductor calculations, labeling, grounding, disconnect details, system calculations), a completed Building Permit Application, and the 'Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Solar Voltaic Permitting' if seeking expedited processing. 92% · authority's own document
- How many copies, and in what format? Minimum (3) sets of plans, sheet size 11" x 17" minimum. New submittals/resubmittals must be brought in person -- the Building Division does not accept plans by courier, electronic submission, or mail (an online instant-permit path exists separately via Symbium/ViewPoint Cloud for qualifying systems). 90% · authority's own document
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes -- a roof plan projected on a site plan showing the location/dimensions of all PV equipment and arrays, plus (for the expedited path) a diagram of roof layout, panels, clear access pathways, and approximate disconnect/roof-access-point locations. 92% · authority's own document
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 92% · authority's own document
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes 92% · authority's own document
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Yes for the engineered/structural portion. Handout requires structural calculations 'by a licensed professional engineer or architect to verify supporting members are adequate,' and specifically for panels weighing more than 4 lbs/ft2, PE/architect-stamped lateral calculations. No separate residential system-size threshold beyond that weight trigger is stated. 82% · authority's own document
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No separate electrical PE-stamp threshold is stated for typical residential PV; the handout requires the plans be signed by a licensed B/C-46/C-10 contractor, with only the 'engineered portions' (chiefly structural) needing a PE/architect stamp. An electrical PE stamp would only be triggered case-by-case if plan check calls for engineering analysis. 55% · authority's own document
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? ViewPoint Cloud (OpenGov) Citizen Access Portal at buenaparkca.viewpointcloud.com, with an embedded Symbium instant-permit widget for residential solar/ESS on the same Online Building Permits page. 95% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 90% · authority's own page
- How is the fee calculated? Valuation 85% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 85% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days 90% · authority's own page
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 95% · authority's own page
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit 65% · authority's own document
28 questions answered against City of Buena Park’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building Division pages state it issues residential solar permits directly (via ViewPoint Cloud portal and an embedded Symbium instant-permit tool); fire plan review/inspection is separately handled by OCFA, a JPA the city belongs to, per the city's Fire Services page.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/city_departments/community_development/building_division/building_permits/index.php
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding and Electrical are both issued/reviewed in-house by the Community Development Dept. Building Division (one 'Solar Permit'), per the Building Permits page. Fire-code plan review/inspection is carried out by Orange County Fire Authority (OCFA) under a service contract, not delegated by Buena Park to another building department -- Buena Park's own Fire Services page states 'Fire Services are contracted through an agreement with the Orange County Fire Authority (OCFA).'
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/city_departments/fire_services.php
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permits page has a dedicated 'SOLAR & EV CHARGING SYSTEM PERMITS' section describing the Solar Permit required for residential PV installation.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/city_departments/community_development/building_division/building_permits/index.php
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe fee schedule lists a single 'Photovoltaic (Solar) System Permit Fee' (valuation-based) rather than a separate standalone electrical permit fee for PV; the Solar PV submittal checklist bundles electrical drawings into the one Solar Permit package rather than requiring a second permit application.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/departments/Building/Resolution%20No.%2014482%20-%20Fees.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV submittal handout requires plans 'signed by a State of California licensed B, C-46 or C-10 contractor'; separately, the Building Permits page allows an owner-builder (homeowner) to obtain the permit for work on their own 1- or 2-family residence performed by themselves or an immediate family member.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permits page: 'Contractors working in the City of Buena Park are required to have a Buena Park business license.' Applies generally to permit applicants, not solar-specific, hence not full 95.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/city_departments/community_development/building_division/building_permits/index.php
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permits page 'WHO CAN OBTAIN A PERMIT?' section: a homeowner may obtain a permit for construction/alteration of a 1- or 2-family dwelling if they reside/intend to reside there, perform the work themselves, and sign the required workers'-comp-exemption statement. This is a general owner-builder policy, not a solar-specific carve-out, so moderate rather than top confidence.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/city_departments/community_development/building_division/building_permits/index.php
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Per the Solar PV submittal checklist: (3) sets of plans (min. 11x17), manufacturer spec sheets/installation instructions/UL listings, a roof plan on a site plan showing all PV equipment, a roof framing plan, structural support/lateral calculations (PE/architect-stamped), electrical drawings (single-line diagram, inverter data, module data, array data, conductor calculations, labeling, grounding, disconnect details, system calculations), a completed Building Permit Application, and the 'Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Solar Voltaic Permitting' if seeking expedited processing.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly enumerated in the city's 'Solar Photo-Voltaic System' submittal-requirements handout and the Eligibility Checklist PDF; handout carries a 2019 creation-date stamp and references the 2016 CBC/2013 CEC, so some cross-referenced code-section citations are stale even though the checklist itself is dated 12/20/2025.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Minimum (3) sets of plans, sheet size 11" x 17" minimum. New submittals/resubmittals must be brought in person -- the Building Division does not accept plans by courier, electronic submission, or mail (an online instant-permit path exists separately via Symbium/ViewPoint Cloud for qualifying systems).
Why the confidence is not higherCopy count/size from the Solar PV handout; in-person-only submittal rule stated plainly on both the Building Division and Building Permits pages.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes -- a roof plan projected on a site plan showing the location/dimensions of all PV equipment and arrays, plus (for the expedited path) a diagram of roof layout, panels, clear access pathways, and approximate disconnect/roof-access-point locations.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the Solar PV handout's 'ROOF PLAN' section with the Eligibility Checklist's Fire Safety Requirement D.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV handout, Electrical item 3: 'Single Line Wiring Diagram: show conduit and conductor sizes and types, including location and rating of over current devices.'
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV handout requires 'Conductor Calculations: Provide conductor size calculations showing their ampacities adjusted using the appropriate deration factors' and separate array/string information (modules per series string, parallel source circuits).
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Yes for the engineered/structural portion. Handout requires structural calculations 'by a licensed professional engineer or architect to verify supporting members are adequate,' and specifically for panels weighing more than 4 lbs/ft2, PE/architect-stamped lateral calculations. No separate residential system-size threshold beyond that weight trigger is stated.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote from the Solar PV handout's 'ROOF PLAN' section; the handout is dated (references the 2016 CBC) so the exact code citation is stale even though the PE-stamp requirement itself is standard practice.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
No separate electrical PE-stamp threshold is stated for typical residential PV; the handout requires the plans be signed by a licensed B/C-46/C-10 contractor, with only the 'engineered portions' (chiefly structural) needing a PE/architect stamp. An electrical PE stamp would only be triggered case-by-case if plan check calls for engineering analysis.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the absence of any electrical-specific PE-stamp threshold in the Solar PV handout or Eligibility Checklist, both of which list only a contractor-license signature requirement for the electrical drawings.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's fee resolution (Res. No. 14482, Exhibit B, pp.9-11, OCR'd since the PDF's text layer is corrupted/unmappable) confirms the PV permit fee is valuation-based off a table referred to only as 'Table A', with a default project valuation of $1,000/panel (or as amended by state law, cited in the resolution as 'AB1124') absent a higher invoiced cost. The 'Table A' rate table itself (dollars owed per valuation bracket) is not attached to or reproduced in this document, so no specific dollar figure can be sourced.
https://www.buenapark.com/departments/Building/Resolution%20No.%2014482%20-%20Fees.pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Valuation
Why the confidence is not higherFee resolution: 'Photovoltaic (Solar) System Permit Fee ... Based on a valuation of $1,000 per panel or as amended by State Law (AB1124) [per] Table A', i.e. computed as a percentage/graduated fee against a per-panel default project valuation.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/departments/Building/Resolution%20No.%2014482%20-%20Fees.pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSame fee-schedule page: 'Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical Plan Review ... Collected at time of building plan submittal and assessed at a percent of building permit (inspection) fee: 85% with a $82 minimum' -- a distinct plan-check fee line from the permit/inspection fee itself.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/departments/Building/Resolution%20No.%2014482%20-%20Fees.pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Building Permits, Online Building Permits, and Forms & Handouts pages for a stated business-day plan-review turnaround; none publish one. The city instead offers two paths that bypass a review-turnaround altogether: an in-field combined plan-review/final-inspection for Eligibility-Checklist-qualifying systems, and instant same-day issuance for qualifying residential solar/ESS via the embedded Symbium tool.
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permits page, general conditions: 'Permits become null and void if work authorized is not commenced within 180 days of the issuance date or if such work is suspended or abandoned at any time after the work is commenced for a period of 180 days.'
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/city_departments/community_development/building_division/building_permits/index.php
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
ViewPoint Cloud (OpenGov) Citizen Access Portal at buenaparkca.viewpointcloud.com, with an embedded Symbium instant-permit widget for residential solar/ESS on the same Online Building Permits page.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth are linked and named directly on the city's Online Building Permits page.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/city_departments/community_development/building_division/building_permits/online_building_permits.php
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherOnline Building Permits page: 'The City is proud to announce the launch of instant permits for Residential Solar and Energy Storage Systems through Symbium. Symbium provides real time, automated solar and energy storage permit plan check and issuance -- no wait time for City review!' Online permits are paid by credit card or e-check.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/city_departments/community_development/building_division/building_permits/online_building_permits.php
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building Division 'Helpful Links / Utility Companies' page lists 'Southern California Edison' with SCE's phone number and sce.com as the electric utility for Buena Park (not inferred from PowerToChoose).
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/city_departments/community_development/building_division/helpful_links.php
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV handout's final paragraph: '...if the installation requires a service upgrade, that work must be complete and ready for inspection at the same time as the final inspection of the solar installation. We will issue only one release to the utility company for the meter and the solar installation' -- indicating the utility connection/PTO step follows the city's final sign-off rather than preceding or running fully in parallel with permitting.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No (not required as a city permit precondition)
Why the confidence is not higherNeither the Solar PV handout nor the Eligibility Checklist lists HOA/architectural approval among submittal requirements. California's Solar Rights Act (Civil Code 714) also bars HOAs from unreasonably restricting solar, which is consistent with the city not conditioning permit issuance on HOA sign-off. This is an inference from an absence in the city's own checklists, not an explicit city statement, hence moderate confidence.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Solar PV handout, Eligibility Checklist, and Building Division/Building Permits pages for any historic-district or preservation-overlay review step; none is mentioned. Buena Park's zoning ordinance (Title 19, eCode360 custid BU4909) could not be searched directly -- ecode360.com returned HTTP 403 on both a plain fetch and a fetch with the Referer: https://www.iccsafe.org/ header, and Internet Archive's CDX index for this custid only has shallow (table-of-contents-level) captures, not chapter text.
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherCalifornia has no TDI-style windstorm-certification regime; wind loading for rooftop PV is addressed through standard CBC structural engineering review (the PE/architect lateral-load calculations already required in the Solar PV handout), and no separate wind/windstorm certificate is listed anywhere in the city's PV submittal materials.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Solar PV handout, Eligibility Checklist, and Building Permits page for any Specific-Use-Permit/Council-approval trigger for residential rooftop PV; none is mentioned (consistent with by-right accessory-use treatment under the Solar Rights Act), but Buena Park's zoning ordinance itself (which would govern any large/ground-mount exception) could not be searched -- eCode360 (BU4909) is blocked (HTTP 403) and not usefully archived (see Q25).
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No hard cap identified; 10 kW AC is only the threshold for the expedited/instant permitting path
Why the confidence is not higherEligibility Checklist for Expedited Solar Voltaic Permitting, item A: 'System size is 10 kW AC rating or less.' Systems above 10kW AC are not barred -- the handout says they simply do not qualify for streamlined processing and go through standard plan review instead.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://cms7files1.revize.com/buenaparkca/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Expedited%20PV%20Checklist%202025.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (as the base of the 2025 California Electrical Code, Title 24 Part 3), effective 1 Jan 2026 65% · authority's own page + statewide adoption pattern
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code, effective 1 Jan 2026 95% · authority's own page
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code 95% · adopting ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes, but not to the solar/ESS-specific chapter 85% · adopting ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building/Electrical Code editions (effective 1 Jan 2026) plus the city's Solar PV submittal-requirements handout and Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Solar Voltaic Permitting; fire aspects judged against the 2025 California Fire Code as adopted by Buena Park Ordinance No. 1765 and enforced by OCFA. 85% · authority's own page
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Governed by 2025 CFC Chapter 12 (Energy Systems) as adopted without Buena-Park-specific numeric amendment; the city's own Eligibility Checklist requires 'clear access pathways,' a 'fire classification' rating, and a roof diagram showing pathway/disconnect/access-point locations, but does not itself restate the numeric ridge-setback/pathway-width table (that lives in the state fire code text, not reproduced in city documents). 60% · adopting ordinance + authority's own checklist
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12, carried forward into the 2025 CEC (2023 NEC base) now in force; the city's own Solar PV handout is dated 2019 and only cites the older '2013 CEC Article 690' for labeling/shutdown language, so it does not use the modern 'rapid shutdown' terminology itself. 60% · authority's own document (dated)
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? NEC/CEC Article 690 standard labeling (AC/DC disconnect labels, dual-power-source warning at the main service panel, PV system labeling) -- no additional Buena-Park-specific placard identified. 70% · authority's own document (dated)
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 65% · authority's own document
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Functionally yes -- a roof-layout diagram is required on site at inspection showing panels, modules, clear access pathways, and approximate disconnect/roof-access-point locations, though the city does not use the term 'facility map placard.' 65% · authority's own document
- Where must the labels be placed? AC/DC disconnects and all solar equipment must be shown on the roof/site plan relative to the main electrical service; the DC disconnect must sit before DC array conductors penetrate the roof surface or enter the building, and the AC/DC disconnect must be at the inverter. 60% · authority's own document
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? No formal city-maintained approved-equipment list; all equipment must be UL-listed 65% · authority's own document
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, batteries/ESS are permitted, governed by 2025 CFC Chapter 12 (Energy Systems) as adopted by Ordinance 1765 without a Buena-Park-specific technical amendment; OCFA applies CFC Article 64 / 2007 IFC Section 608 chemical-quantity thresholds to trigger its own plan review. 80% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes 75% · fee schedule
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Yes -- service panel bus-bar and derating rule 90% · authority's own document
20 questions answered against City of Buena Park’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC (as the base of the 2025 California Electrical Code, Title 24 Part 3), effective 1 Jan 2026
Why the confidence is not higherBuena Park's Building Division page states new code-cycle submittals are required starting 1 Jan 2026 (last 2022-cycle submittal date was 25 Nov 2025). California's Title 24 Part 3 for that cycle is labelled the '2025 California Electrical Code'; per the statewide code-adoption pattern each CA code cycle folds in the immediately-preceding odd-year NFPA 70 edition (2023 NEC) with state amendments. A DGS/BSC codes-page fetch returned an ambiguous auto-summary describing the link as 'NFPA 70 2025 edition,' which is very likely a mislabeling of NFPA's 'NFPA 70, California Edition, 2025' product code rather than a genuine 2025 NEC (no such national edition exists -- NEC editions run 2020/2023/2026); this should be independently re-verified against the CBSC triennial adoption matrix rather than trusted from this fetch alone.
authority's own page + statewide adoption pattern checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/city_departments/community_development/building_division/index.php
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code, effective 1 Jan 2026
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page: 'Code changes will take effect beginning January 1, 2026 ... The last date for new plan check submittals under the 2022 California Building Codes will be November 25, 2025. Submittals subsequent to this date shall comply with the 2025 California Building Codes.'
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/city_departments/community_development/building_division/index.php
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code
Why the confidence is not higherBuena Park Ordinance No. 1765 (passed and adopted 9 Dec 2025), Section 16.00.010: 'the 2025 California Fire Code ... [is] adopted by reference.' OCFA (the city's contracted fire agency) enforces it.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://storageocfaprod001.blob.core.windows.net/blobocfaprod01/2025/07/Buena-Park-Ordinance.pdf
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes, but not to the solar/ESS-specific chapter
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance No. 1765 amends numerous CFC chapters relative to the state model (fees, definitions, several technical chapters 'as amended by the State Fire Marshal' with added local text), but its own text states 'Chapter 12 [Energy Systems, which covers PV and battery storage] is adopted in its entirety as amended by the State Fire Marshal' -- i.e. no Buena-Park-specific technical amendment to the solar/ESS chapter. Separately, California's AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) bars any CA city, Buena Park included, from adopting a more-restrictive residential building-code amendment between 1 Oct 2025 and 1 Jun 2031, which further constrains local building-code (as opposed to fire-code) amendments in this cycle.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://storageocfaprod001.blob.core.windows.net/blobocfaprod01/2025/07/Buena-Park-Ordinance.pdf
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Building/Electrical Code editions (effective 1 Jan 2026) plus the city's Solar PV submittal-requirements handout and Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Solar Voltaic Permitting; fire aspects judged against the 2025 California Fire Code as adopted by Buena Park Ordinance No. 1765 and enforced by OCFA.
Why the confidence is not higherSynthesizes Q29-31/Q8 sourcing.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/city_departments/community_development/building_division/index.php
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Yes -- service panel bus-bar and derating rule
Why the confidence is not higherEligibility Checklist requires the PV system be 'interconnected to a single-phase AC service panel of nominal 120/220 Vac with a bus bar rating of 225 A or less' and confirms it is 'not a derated main service panel'; the Solar PV handout adds explicitly, in bold: 'FOR THE PURPOSE OF SOLAR INSTALLATION, DERATING OF THE SERVICE PANEL IS NOT PERMITTED.'
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://cms7files1.revize.com/buenaparkca/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Expedited%20PV%20Checklist%202025.pdf
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Solar PV handout and Eligibility Checklist for a prescriptive mounting-system or attachment-spacing table; neither publishes one. Both only require engineered connection/flashing details and PE/architect structural calculations reviewed case-by-case, not a fixed spacing standard.
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Governed by 2025 CFC Chapter 12 (Energy Systems) as adopted without Buena-Park-specific numeric amendment; the city's own Eligibility Checklist requires 'clear access pathways,' a 'fire classification' rating, and a roof diagram showing pathway/disconnect/access-point locations, but does not itself restate the numeric ridge-setback/pathway-width table (that lives in the state fire code text, not reproduced in city documents).
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 1765 confirms no local amendment to CFC Ch.12; Eligibility Checklist confirms the pathway/roof-diagram submittal requirement but not the underlying numbers.
adopting ordinance + authority's own checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://storageocfaprod001.blob.core.windows.net/blobocfaprod01/2025/07/Buena-Park-Ordinance.pdf
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12, carried forward into the 2025 CEC (2023 NEC base) now in force; the city's own Solar PV handout is dated 2019 and only cites the older '2013 CEC Article 690' for labeling/shutdown language, so it does not use the modern 'rapid shutdown' terminology itself.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Solar PV handout (creation-date-stamped April 2019) cites 2013 CEC Article 690, which predates today's 2025 CEC in force; rapid-shutdown applicability is inferred from the statewide code requirement rather than quoted verbatim from a current Buena Park document.
authority's own document (dated) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
NEC/CEC Article 690 standard labeling (AC/DC disconnect labels, dual-power-source warning at the main service panel, PV system labeling) -- no additional Buena-Park-specific placard identified.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV handout, Electrical item 8: 'System Labels and Warnings: Show required signage on the plans per 2013 CEC Article 690.' The code-section citation is stale (2013 CEC) but no separate city placard requirement is described anywhere else in the city's materials.
authority's own document (dated) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe handout points to the (then-current) NEC/CEC Article 690 for signage content rather than prescribing its own wording; no Buena-Park-specific placard text appears in the handout, Eligibility Checklist, or Building Permits page.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Solar PV handout and Eligibility Checklist; neither specifies letter height, colour, or material for required labels -- both simply point to NEC/CEC Article 690 without restating its formatting requirements.
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Functionally yes -- a roof-layout diagram is required on site at inspection showing panels, modules, clear access pathways, and approximate disconnect/roof-access-point locations, though the city does not use the term 'facility map placard.'
Why the confidence is not higherEligibility Checklist, Fire Safety Requirement D: 'A diagram of the roof layout of all panels, modules, clear access pathways and approximate locations of electrical disconnecting means and roof access points is completed and attached' and must be on site at inspection.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://cms7files1.revize.com/buenaparkca/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Expedited%20PV%20Checklist%202025.pdf
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedLooked for SCE's Rule 21 tariff / Interconnection Handbook for any placard requirements beyond the AHJ's. SCE's own site links the handbook via the shortlink on.sce.com/InterconnectionHandbook, which redirects (both live, 30 Aug 2026, and in Internet Archive captures from 2022 and Jan 2025) to an authentication-gated SharePoint document (login.microsoftonline.com); no publicly reachable copy was found.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
AC/DC disconnects and all solar equipment must be shown on the roof/site plan relative to the main electrical service; the DC disconnect must sit before DC array conductors penetrate the roof surface or enter the building, and the AC/DC disconnect must be at the inverter.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV handout, Electrical items 2 and 10.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
No formal city-maintained approved-equipment list; all equipment must be UL-listed
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV handout, Administrative item 2: 'Attach all manufacturer specification sheets, installation instructions and U.L. listings to the plans' -- a listing (UL) requirement rather than a city-specific approved-products list.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes, batteries/ESS are permitted, governed by 2025 CFC Chapter 12 (Energy Systems) as adopted by Ordinance 1765 without a Buena-Park-specific technical amendment; OCFA applies CFC Article 64 / 2007 IFC Section 608 chemical-quantity thresholds to trigger its own plan review.
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 1765 (CFC Ch.12 adoption) plus OCFA's PD Fee Schedule 2026 line item: 'Battery Systems, stationary storage and cell sites (chemical quantities require application of CFC Art 64 or 2007 IFC Section 608) -- $963' (plan review) and 'Battery systems INSP ONLY -- $233'.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://storageocfaprod001.blob.core.windows.net/blobocfaprod01/2025/06/PD-Fee-Schedule-2026.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherOCFA's Fee Schedule carries separate line items PR375 (Battery Systems plan review, $963) and PR375i (inspection only, $233), distinct from the general/PV permit fee lines -- confirming a distinct ESS-specific plan review/inspection track exists when triggered.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://storageocfaprod001.blob.core.windows.net/blobocfaprod01/2025/06/PD-Fee-Schedule-2026.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Solar PV handout, Eligibility Checklist, and Building Division pages for a statement on whether a ground-mounted array is treated as an accessory structure (setbacks, height, footings); none address ground-mount PV specifically. This would sit in the zoning ordinance (Title 19), which is blocked on eCode360 (see Q25).
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedLooked for a stated AC-disconnect-to-meter placement rule in SCE's DG/interconnection materials (see Q42 -- handbook unreachable, redirects to gated SharePoint) and in the city's own Solar PV handout, which specifies disconnect placement relative to the inverter and roof penetration but not relative to the utility meter.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal or Phone 95% · authority's own page
- How much notice is required? Approximately 1 business day for phone requests 85% · authority's own page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? AM (8:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.) and PM (12:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m.) windows are offered; no same-day inspection option is mentioned. 90% · authority's own page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 85% · authority's own document
- If delegated, to whom? OCFA (Orange County Fire Authority) 80% · fee schedule
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For Eligibility-Checklist-qualifying residential PV: one combined field plan-review-and-final inspection. For non-qualifying/standard-path systems, the general building-inspection sequence in the Building Permits page applies (foundation/rough stages as applicable, then final). 80% · authority's own document
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No (for the expedited/eligible path) 65% · authority's own document
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes 92% · authority's own document
- What must be on site at inspection? Approved permit plans, the Eligibility Checklist (for the expedited path), and the posted Inspection Record Card. 88% · authority's own document
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes 90% · authority's own document
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (inspection sign-off/approval, which also authorizes the utility connection) 75% · authority's own page
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? AHJ 55% · authority's own document
- How are corrections issued and cleared? General process page: 'If corrections are required, corrected plans are submitted, reviewed, and approved.' For the expedited PV field-inspection path specifically, the Solar PV handout states that if the installation deviates from the checklist/approved plans, 'new plans must be submitted for review and approval' and the project drops out of the expedited track into standard review. 80% · authority's own page
14 questions answered against City of Buena Park’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal or Phone
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Information page: online requests via the 'Citizen Access Portal,' or by phone via the 'Building Department Inspection Request Line' (714-562-3641, a 24/7 answering-machine line).
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/city_departments/community_development/building_division/inspection_information.php
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Approximately 1 business day for phone requests
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Information page: phone 'Request must be made no later than 1-day prior for next day inspection.' The online portal does not state a separate minimum-notice window.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/city_departments/community_development/building_division/inspection_information.php
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
AM (8:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.) and PM (12:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m.) windows are offered; no same-day inspection option is mentioned.
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Information page, 'INSPECTION TIMEFRAMES' section.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/city_departments/community_development/building_division/inspection_information.php
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuena Park's own Building Division inspector performs the final solar inspection; for Eligibility-Checklist-qualifying systems this is combined with the field plan review in one visit (Solar PV handout). OCFA performs a separate review only when 'Photovoltaic System - Residential Alternative Compliance' review is specifically requested by the building official (OCFA Fee Schedule item PR362), which is the exception rather than the default path.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
OCFA (Orange County Fire Authority)
Why the confidence is not higherOCFA Fee Schedule item PR362 'Photovoltaic System - Residential Alternative Compliance' and PR363 'Photovoltaic System - Commercial (Requested by Building Official)' -- OCFA is the delegate only for this fire-related alternative-compliance path.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://storageocfaprod001.blob.core.windows.net/blobocfaprod01/2025/06/PD-Fee-Schedule-2026.pdf
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For Eligibility-Checklist-qualifying residential PV: one combined field plan-review-and-final inspection. For non-qualifying/standard-path systems, the general building-inspection sequence in the Building Permits page applies (foundation/rough stages as applicable, then final).
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV handout: 'the plan review of the system is performed in the field at the same time as the final inspection ... This is one inspection for both.'
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No (for the expedited/eligible path)
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV handout describes only a single combined field-review/final inspection for Eligibility-Checklist-qualifying systems; no separate rough-in/mid-roof step is mentioned for that path. Not explicitly addressed for standard (non-eligible) systems.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherEligibility Checklist, Fire Safety Requirement C: 'All required markings and labels are provided,' checked against the installed system at the combined field inspection per the handout's note that 'the inspector will conduct a plan review and inspection of the system and compare it to the checklist above.'
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://cms7files1.revize.com/buenaparkca/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Expedited%20PV%20Checklist%202025.pdf
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Solar Voltaic Permitting doubles as the published field inspection checklist; per the handout, 'the permit plans and this checklist must be on the job site at time of inspection.'
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://cms7files1.revize.com/buenaparkca/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Expedited%20PV%20Checklist%202025.pdf
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Approved permit plans, the Eligibility Checklist (for the expedited path), and the posted Inspection Record Card.
Why the confidence is not higherEligibility Checklist note 2 ('The permit plans and this checklist must be on the job site at time of inspection') plus the general Building Permits/Inspection Information pages' requirement that the Inspection Record Card be posted on site and approved plans be available to the inspector.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://cms7files1.revize.com/buenaparkca/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Expedited%20PV%20Checklist%202025.pdf
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Inspection Information page and OCR'd the fee resolution's Community Development fee-schedule pages (Res. No. 14482, pp.5-15). The Inspection Information page confirms a re-inspection fee exists ('a re-inspection fee may be assessed if ... the work is not ready for inspection or required corrections ... have not been completed') but no dollar figure for it was located in either source.
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
General process page: 'If corrections are required, corrected plans are submitted, reviewed, and approved.' For the expedited PV field-inspection path specifically, the Solar PV handout states that if the installation deviates from the checklist/approved plans, 'new plans must be submitted for review and approval' and the project drops out of the expedited track into standard review.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the Building Permits general-process text with the Solar PV handout's Plan Review/Final Inspection note.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/city_departments/community_development/building_division/building_permits/index.php
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (inspection sign-off/approval, which also authorizes the utility connection)
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral process description: 'a final inspection is made, the work approved, the connection of utilities is authorized...'; the Solar PV handout adds, for solar specifically, that the city issues 'one release to the utility company for the meter and the solar installation' on completion.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/city_departments/community_development/building_division/building_permits/index.php
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
AHJ
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV handout: 'We will issue only one release to the utility company for the meter and the solar installation' -- language framing the city's sign-off as the event that authorizes/releases the connection to SCE, though the mechanics of who formally files the PTO paperwork with SCE (installer vs. city) are not spelled out, hence moderate rather than high confidence; SCE's own DG/interconnection process documentation was unreachable (see Q42/Q48) to cross-check.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.buenapark.com/Document_center/City%20Departments/Community%20development/Building%20division/Forms%20and%20Handouts/Information/SolarPhotovoltaicSystem.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Buena Park against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Buena Park is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (issued together by the Community Development Dept. Building Division); Fire-code plan review and inspection are carried out by Orange County Fire Authority (OCFA) under a service contract, not by a city fire department.
- Delegated to
- Orange County Fire Authority (fire-code plan review/inspection only)
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code S65850.52 (SB 379) requires automated online permitting for eligible residential PV/ESS, which Buena Park implements via an embedded Symbium tool; CA AB 130 (Stats. 2025 Ch. 22) bars the city from adopting more-restrictive residential code amendments 1 Oct 2025-1 Jun 2031.
- Why not higher
- City's Building Permits/Online Building Permits pages show the Community Development Dept. Building Division issuing residential solar permits directly (ViewPoint Cloud + Symbium). The city's own Fire Services page states plainly: 'The City of Buena Park's Fire Services are contracted through an agreement with the Orange County Fire Authority (OCFA)' -- confirmed independently on OCFA's member-cities page, which lists Buena Park among its 23 member cities. This is a genuine split of jurisdiction (city holds building/electrical; OCFA holds fire) rather than the city being the sole AHJ for everything, and is worth stating explicitly since the brief's premise did not specify this.
https://www.buenapark.com/city_departments/fire_services.php
- Permit required
- Yes98%
- Portal
- ViewPoint Cloud (OpenGov) Citizen Access Portal at buenaparkca.viewpointcloud.com, with an embedded Symbium instant-permit widget for residential solar/ESS on the same Online Building…95%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC (as the base of the 2025 California Electrical Code, Title 24 Part 3), effective 1 Jan 202665%
- Own placard wording
- No65%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal or Phone95%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 65%
No
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go 60%
AC/DC disconnects and all solar equipment must be shown on the roof/site plan relative to the main electrical service; the DC disconnect must sit before DC array conductors penetrate the roof surface or enter the building, and the AC/DC disconnect must be at the inverter.
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.