City of Calexico
Imperial County
City of Calexico is a city authority in the State of California, serving 38,633 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Either Q4 Where you file — No dedicated online permit portal identified — permits are submitted in person or the small-residential-solar application may be submitted electronically (e.g. Q20
- Permit required
- Yes90% source
- What it costs
- Photovoltaic/Solar Panel System (Residential): $68.70–$389.29 depending on scope, per the 'Temporary Fee Schedule' Exhibit A adopted 15 Apr 2026 (Resolution, effective on adoption,72% source
- Key document
- ordinance cited by 5 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 90% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 82% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 90% · ordinance
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Either 60% · permit application form
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 88% · ordinance
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 55% · ordinance
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Only if the city makes a written finding of a 'specific, adverse impact' that can't be mitigated — otherwise no discretionary approval is required 78% · ordinance
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No zoning-code kW cap found; the effective cap is IID's net-metering rule that a system may only be sized to offset up to 100% of the customer's trailing 12-month usage, and ch. 17.11's expedited process is itself scoped to the state-law definition of a 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' (Gov. Code §65850.5) 65% · utility website (Wayback Machine capture, 23 May 2026)
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 62% · permit application form
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 65% · permit application form
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 85% · permit application form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- How many copies, and in what format? Two (2) complete sets of construction plans for residential work (one set returned upon approval); non-residential new construction requires three sets plus four for department routing 70% · checklist
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — for panel/electrical-service work the Electrical Panel Application requires a site plan showing the existing main service panel (MSP), main service line (MSL), and scope of work; a separate 54-item Planning Division 'Site Plan Content Requirements' form (rev. 11/09) exists for development applications generally 62% · permit application form
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? No dedicated online permit portal identified — permits are submitted in person or the small-residential-solar application may be submitted electronically (e.g. email) per municipal code; no Accela/CitizenServe/eTRAKiT or similar system found on the city's site 60% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? No 60% · ordinance
- What does a residential solar permit cost? Photovoltaic/Solar Panel System (Residential): $68.70–$389.29 depending on scope, per the 'Temporary Fee Schedule' Exhibit A adopted 15 Apr 2026 (Resolution, effective on adoption, expires 30 Jun 2029). Local press reported this as a cut from a prior ~$687 flat fee to about $210 for a typical residential system. 72% · fee schedule / council staff report
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered/hourly — fees in the new schedule are built from a standard hourly rate ($228.99/hr per the adopted Maximus cost-of-service study) times estimated staff time per project scope, not a per-kW or per-panel formula 62% · fee schedule / council staff report
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No separate line item for a PV plan-check fee under the new schedule 55% · fee schedule / council staff report
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Imperial Irrigation District (IID) — a publicly owned irrigation district, not an investor-owned utility 90% · utility website
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel, with a gate before work starts 63% · utility website (Wayback Machine capture, 23 May 2026 — live page returns 403 to automated fetch)
28 questions answered against City of Calexico’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building & Safety Division issues building/electrical permits in-house, and Calexico Municipal Code ch. 17.11 (Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy Systems, added by Ord. 1177/2017, amended by Ord. 1191/2018) requires the Planning Department to issue permits for residential rooftop PV. No delegation to Imperial County or a third-party firm found.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.calexico.ca.gov/?SEC=E55F1A34-A2C2-494C-B70D-126381D9D281
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherDevelopment Services Department, Building & Safety Division (Building Official William Hudson) issues both building and electrical permits itself; the Planning Division separately administers the ch. 17.11 expedited solar review. No delegation to the county or a contract inspector was found.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.calexico.ca.gov/?SEC=E55F1A34-A2C2-494C-B70D-126381D9D281
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCalexico Mun. Code §17.11.1170: on a complete application the Planning Department 'shall approve the application and issue all required permits' for a small residential rooftop solar energy system — a permit is issued, so one is required.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.zoneomics.com/code/calexico-CA/chapter_6
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Either
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Division's general fee schedule lists 'Photovoltaic/Solar Panel System' as one Building-permit line item, but a separate 'Electrical Panel Application' (Contractor's Application) exists for panel/service work, with its own fee and its own checkbox for 'Electrical Inspection Required by IID'. A PV job needing a service change would pull both; a simple like-for-like PV permit would not.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.calexico.ca.gov/vertical/sites/%7B342ED706-1EBB-4FDE-BD1E-9543BAD44C09%7D/uploads/Electrical_Panel_Contractos_Application.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Owner-Builder Application (Building Permit Application) lets a residential property owner sign the CA Business & Professions Code §7044 owner-builder declaration and pull permits themselves; otherwise a licensed contractor's application (with State License # required) is used. No solar-specific carve-out limiting this to electricians only was found.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.calexico.ca.gov/vertical/sites/%7B342ED706-1EBB-4FDE-BD1E-9543BAD44C09%7D/uploads/Building_Permit_Application_OWNER_BUILDER_APPLICATION.pdf
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBoth the Owner-Builder and the Contractor's Electrical Panel Application forms have a mandatory 'City License # (required)' field alongside the state CSLB number, indicating the city requires its own contractor registration/business license before an application is accepted. No separate policy statement confirming this was found, hence not higher.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.calexico.ca.gov/vertical/sites/%7B342ED706-1EBB-4FDE-BD1E-9543BAD44C09%7D/uploads/Electrical_Panel_Contractos_Application.pdf
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Owner-Builder Application for Building Permit is a standing form allowing a residential property owner to declare exemption from the Contractor's State License Law under B&P Code §7044 and self-permit; nothing in ch. 17.11 excludes solar from this.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.calexico.ca.gov/vertical/sites/%7B342ED706-1EBB-4FDE-BD1E-9543BAD44C09%7D/uploads/Building_Permit_Application_OWNER_BUILDER_APPLICATION.pdf
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's general 'Plan Submittal Requirements (Residential & Non-Residential)' handout and Calexico Mun. Code §17.11.1150 (application requirements for small residential rooftop solar); neither lists a solar-specific document checklist (one-line diagram, spec sheets, etc.) beyond 'required permit processing and inspection fees' and generic plan sets
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Two (2) complete sets of construction plans for residential work (one set returned upon approval); non-residential new construction requires three sets plus four for department routing
Why the confidence is not higherFrom the city's general 'Plan Submittal Requirements (Residential & Non-Residential)' handout (rev. 06/30/2014), which is the only submittal-copy-count document published; it is not solar-specific.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.calexico.ca.gov/vertical/sites/%7B342ED706-1EBB-4FDE-BD1E-9543BAD44C09%7D/uploads/Plan_Submittal_Requirements_(Residential__Non-Residential).pdf
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — for panel/electrical-service work the Electrical Panel Application requires a site plan showing the existing main service panel (MSP), main service line (MSL), and scope of work; a separate 54-item Planning Division 'Site Plan Content Requirements' form (rev. 11/09) exists for development applications generally
Why the confidence is not higherTwo different site-plan standards exist depending on which form governs a given solar job (simple electrical-service site plan vs. the full Planning Division development site plan, which is dated 2009 and clearly aimed at new construction/zoning applications, not routine rooftop PV). Which one a reviewer actually demands for a plain PV permit is not stated anywhere.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.calexico.ca.gov/vertical/sites/%7B342ED706-1EBB-4FDE-BD1E-9543BAD44C09%7D/uploads/Electrical_Panel_Contractos_Application.pdf
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCalexico Mun. Code ch. 17.11 (solar ordinance) and the Building Division's general submittal/site-plan PDFs; none mention a one-line or three-line electrical diagram requirement
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame ch. 17.11 ordinance text and Building Division forms; no mention of string/conductor sizing calculations as a submittal item
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCh. 17.11 development standards (§17.11.1140) and the Owner-Builder Application's generic foundation/structural language; neither states a valuation or system-size threshold triggering a structural PE stamp for a roof-mount array
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame sources as q13; no electrical PE-stamp threshold stated anywhere found for Calexico
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Photovoltaic/Solar Panel System (Residential): $68.70–$389.29 depending on scope, per the 'Temporary Fee Schedule' Exhibit A adopted 15 Apr 2026 (Resolution, effective on adoption, expires 30 Jun 2029). Local press reported this as a cut from a prior ~$687 flat fee to about $210 for a typical residential system.
Why the confidence is not higherPrimary source is the City Council staff report/Exhibit A (OCR'd from a scanned agenda PDF; the Exhibit A table's 'recommended' vs. 'current' columns did not OCR cleanly, so the exact old figure is corroborated only by the Calexico Chronicle's paraphrase of the same staff report, not by a clean read of the current-fee column myself).
fee schedule / council staff report checked 2026-08-30 https://www.calexico.ca.gov/vertical/sites/%7B342ED706-1EBB-4FDE-BD1E-9543BAD44C09%7D/uploads/CC_Agenda_04-15-2026_Item_12.pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered/hourly — fees in the new schedule are built from a standard hourly rate ($228.99/hr per the adopted Maximus cost-of-service study) times estimated staff time per project scope, not a per-kW or per-panel formula
Why the confidence is not higherExhibit A header states fees are 'based on adopted Maximus Study standard hourly rate and average number of inspections required'; the PV line gives a dollar range rather than a single flat number or a $/kW multiplier, consistent with an hours-based tier rather than valuation or per-panel pricing.
fee schedule / council staff report checked 2026-08-30 https://www.calexico.ca.gov/vertical/sites/%7B342ED706-1EBB-4FDE-BD1E-9543BAD44C09%7D/uploads/CC_Agenda_04-15-2026_Item_12.pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No separate line item for a PV plan-check fee under the new schedule
Why the confidence is not higherStaff report says several fee cuts came from 'the elimination of an additional plan check fee,' and the Exhibit A 'Photovoltaic/Solar Panel System' row is a single figure with no companion plan-check row (unlike some other permit types, e.g. re-roof, which do list a distinct plan-check percentage). Not stated explicitly for PV, so only moderate confidence.
fee schedule / council staff report checked 2026-08-30 https://www.calexico.ca.gov/vertical/sites/%7B342ED706-1EBB-4FDE-BD1E-9543BAD44C09%7D/uploads/CC_Agenda_04-15-2026_Item_12.pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCh. 17.11.1160-1170 (review is 'expedited, administrative, nondiscretionary' but gives no numeric day count) and the Building Department page (no turnaround time published)
https://www.calexico.ca.gov/?SEC=E55F1A34-A2C2-494C-B70D-126381D9D281
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department page, permit application forms, and Municode Title 15 (which could not be opened — library.municode.com returns a JavaScript shell with no content to automated fetch); no Calexico-specific permit-expiration period found
https://library.municode.com/ca/calexico/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
No dedicated online permit portal identified — permits are submitted in person or the small-residential-solar application may be submitted electronically (e.g. email) per municipal code; no Accela/CitizenServe/eTRAKiT or similar system found on the city's site
Why the confidence is not higherChecked the Building Department page, the Application Forms & Fees page, and searched broadly for a named portal; none exists. Ch. 17.11.1150 explicitly allows 'in person or by electronic submittal,' which is document email/upload, not an interactive permit portal.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.calexico.ca.gov/?SEC=E55F1A34-A2C2-494C-B70D-126381D9D281
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo online application portal was found; the ordinance permits electronic (e.g., email) document submittal for small residential rooftop solar, which is not the same as completing an application through a web portal.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.zoneomics.com/code/calexico-CA/chapter_6
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Imperial Irrigation District (IID) — a publicly owned irrigation district, not an investor-owned utility
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed from IID's own site (rooftop-solar/interconnection pages) and independently from the fact IID maintains an office at 301 Imperial Ave, Calexico; not taken from a ZIP-code lookup tool per the brief's warning.
utility website checked 2026-08-30 https://www.iid.com/power/rooftop-solar/interconnection
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel, with a gate before work starts
Why the confidence is not higherIID's own Solar FAQ says the customer is responsible both for the city building permit and for submitting IID's interconnection application, and that IID's 'approval to proceed is required prior to any work being done on the system' — so the two processes run concurrently but IID sign-off must occur before installation begins, and IID also inspects before Permission to Operate.
utility website (Wayback Machine capture, 23 May 2026 — live page returns 403 to automated fetch) checked 2026-08-30 http://web.archive.org/web/20260523004957/https://www.iid.com/power/rooftop-solar/solar-faqs
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherCalexico Mun. Code §17.11.1190: 'the city shall not condition approval [of a small residential rooftop solar energy system permit] on the approval of the system by an association,' tracking Civil Code §4600/§4080. HOA/CC&R restrictions may still exist privately, but the city does not require HOA sign-off as part of its own permit.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.zoneomics.com/code/calexico-CA/chapter_6
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCalexico Planning Division page and Title 17 zoning ordinance search (via Zoneomics/search engine); found individual NRHP-listed buildings (e.g. Calexico Carnegie Library) but no zoning-code historic-district overlay chapter
https://www.calexico.ca.gov/?SEC=F089922B-6B0D-469A-B327-EE1D56685998
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo wind/windstorm certification requirement (a Texas Department of Insurance-style concept) exists in California permitting; Calexico's solar ordinance (ch. 17.11) and building forms reference only CEC/UL/IEEE listing and standard structural calculations, not a separate windstorm certificate.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.zoneomics.com/code/calexico-CA/chapter_6
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Only if the city makes a written finding of a 'specific, adverse impact' that can't be mitigated — otherwise no discretionary approval is required
Why the confidence is not higherCalexico Mun. Code §17.11.1160: review is 'limited to an expedited, administrative, nondiscretionary review'; if findings show a specific adverse impact, 'a conditional use permit may be required.' Denials require written findings of substantial evidence per §17.11.1170.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.zoneomics.com/code/calexico-CA/chapter_6
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No zoning-code kW cap found; the effective cap is IID's net-metering rule that a system may only be sized to offset up to 100% of the customer's trailing 12-month usage, and ch. 17.11's expedited process is itself scoped to the state-law definition of a 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' (Gov. Code §65850.5)
Why the confidence is not higherIID's Solar FAQ states customers 'can install a system large enough to offset only up to 100 percent... of your previous 12 month electric usage.' Ch. 17.11.1120 defines eligibility by cross-reference to Gov. Code §65850.5 rather than restating a kW number itself.
utility website (Wayback Machine capture, 23 May 2026) checked 2026-08-30 http://web.archive.org/web/20260523004957/https://www.iid.com/power/rooftop-solar/solar-faqs
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC, as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24 Part 3), effective statewide 1 Jan 2026 68% · state agency filing list
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2), effective statewide 1 Jan 2026, unamended locally 68% · state agency filing list
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code, effective statewide 1 Jan 2026, unamended locally (as far as could be confirmed) 55% · state agency filing list
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? No 78% · state agency filing list
- What is the installation judged against? The California Electrical Code plus product listing/certification — Calexico Mun. Code §17.11.1140 requires the system to meet 'applicable health and safety standards' under the California Electrical Code, IEEE standards, and listing by an accredited testing laboratory (e.g., UL) 80% · ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Calexico on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12, as adopted via the current statewide California Electrical Code (no Calexico amendment on file) 60% · state agency filing list
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
Nothing recorded for City of Calexico on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 75% · ordinance
20 questions answered against City of Calexico’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC, as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24 Part 3), effective statewide 1 Jan 2026
Why the confidence is not higherCalifornia Building Standards Commission's own ordinance-filing lists show no local amendment ordinance on file for Calexico for either the 2022 or the 2025 code cycle, so the unamended statewide code applies by default. The city's own building-department web page still references 2019 CalGreen text, so the city's site is not a reliable current source and I am relying on the state default rather than city content.
state agency filing list checked 2026-08-30 https://www.dgs.ca.gov/BSC/Codes/2025-Ordinances
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2), effective statewide 1 Jan 2026, unamended locally
Why the confidence is not higherSame basis as NEC answer: no Calexico ordinance appears on DGS's 2022 or 2025 filed-ordinance lists, meaning the city has not filed local amendments and the statewide base code governs. Calexico's own Municode-indexed Title 15 chapter titles (e.g., 'Uniform Building Code') appear stale/uncodified for recent cycles.
state agency filing list checked 2026-08-30 https://www.dgs.ca.gov/BSC/Codes/2025-Ordinances
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code, effective statewide 1 Jan 2026, unamended locally (as far as could be confirmed)
Why the confidence is not higherSame DGS filing-list evidence as building/electrical, extended to fire by inference since CBSC coordinates all Title 24 parts together; Calexico's Municode index still shows an older 'Chapter 15.22 UNIFORM FIRE CODE' title which could not be opened (Municode's SPA returns no content to automated fetch), so I could not directly confirm the fire chapter's current cross-reference.
state agency filing list checked 2026-08-30 https://www.dgs.ca.gov/BSC/Codes/2025-Ordinances
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
No
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Calexico has no ordinance listed on the California Building Standards Commission's filed-ordinance registers for either the 2022 or the 2025 triennial code cycle — i.e., no local amendments to the Building Standards Code have been filed with the state.
state agency filing list checked 2026-08-30 https://www.dgs.ca.gov/BSC/Codes/2022-Ordinances
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The California Electrical Code plus product listing/certification — Calexico Mun. Code §17.11.1140 requires the system to meet 'applicable health and safety standards' under the California Electrical Code, IEEE standards, and listing by an accredited testing laboratory (e.g., UL)
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly from the city's own solar ordinance development-standards section.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.zoneomics.com/code/calexico-CA/chapter_6
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCh. 17.11 solar ordinance and the general Electrical Panel Application; neither states a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing beyond referencing the California Electrical Code generally
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCh. 17.11.1140 (development standards) — states only that equipment must meet CEC/IEEE/UL standards, with no specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing rule of the city's own
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCh. 17.11 solar ordinance and Municode Title 15 fire-prevention chapter (15.20/15.22, page could not be opened past the Municode JS shell); no Calexico-specific ridge-setback or fire-access-pathway figure found — the DGS filed-ordinance registers show no local amendment, so the unamended statewide fire code default would govern, but I could not confirm the exact current figures from a Calexico source
https://library.municode.com/ca/calexico/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12, as adopted via the current statewide California Electrical Code (no Calexico amendment on file)
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the state-default CEC edition (see q29) rather than from any Calexico-specific rapid-shutdown statement, since none was found in ch. 17.11 or elsewhere on the city's site.
state agency filing list checked 2026-08-30 https://www.dgs.ca.gov/BSC/Codes/2025-Ordinances
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCh. 17.11 ordinance, Building Division forms, and IID's Solar FAQ/interconnection pages; none specify a placard list for the service equipment beyond generic NEC-listing language
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame sources as q38 — no city-authored placard wording found
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame sources as q38/39 — no letter-height, colour, or material spec found
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCh. 17.11 ordinance and Building Division site-plan handouts — no site-plan/facility-map placard requirement specific to solar found; the general Planning 'Site Plan Content Requirements' form (2009) is a development-application document, not a §705.10 facility-map placard spec
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedIID's public interconnection, net-metering, and Solar FAQ pages (including a Wayback Machine capture, since iid.com blocks automated fetch with Akamai's 403); IID's technical Regulation 21 interconnection handbook and its PowerClerk application portal could not be reached at all, so no utility-specific placard requirement could be confirmed or ruled out
http://web.archive.org/web/20260523004957/https://www.iid.com/power/rooftop-solar/solar-faqs
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame IID and city sources as q38/42 — no label-placement spec found
http://web.archive.org/web/20260523004957/https://www.iid.com/power/rooftop-solar/solar-faqs
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCalexico Mun. Code §17.11.1140 requires solar equipment to be listed/certified by an accredited testing laboratory (e.g., Underwriters Laboratories) and to conform to CEC/IEEE standards.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.zoneomics.com/code/calexico-CA/chapter_6
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCh. 17.11 solar ordinance and Municode Title 15 fire-prevention chapters (not fully reachable, see q36); no Calexico-specific battery/ESS permitting standard found
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q45 — no mention of a distinct ESS permit or inspection step
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTitle 17 zoning ordinance (ch. 17.11 and general accessory-structure provisions via search); no explicit statement that a ground-mounted PV array is or is not treated as an accessory structure
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedIID's public interconnection/Solar FAQ pages and its interconnection application (blocked by Akamai 403, no Wayback capture available for the application PDF itself); no AC-disconnect-to-meter placement spec located
http://web.archive.org/web/20260509161538/https://www.iid.com/power/rooftop-solar/interconnection
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone (voicemail) or Email 90% · department page
- How much notice is required? One business day — inspections requested by voicemail/email are 'scheduled for the following business day' 85% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Not offered/not mentioned — the department describes only next-business-day scheduling by voicemail/email, with no AM/PM window language 55% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 75% · permit application form
- If delegated, to whom? N/A — not delegated; the city's own Building & Safety Division performs the inspection(s) 70% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? One consolidated final inspection for the small residential rooftop solar permit; a separate fire-safety inspection may occur only if there is no consolidation agreement with the local fire authority 80% · ordinance
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 78% · ordinance
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes (inferred) 50% · ordinance
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final sign-off on the permit's inspection/job card (the fee schedule lists a 'Duplicate/Replacement Job Card/Permit' fee, indicating the city uses a job-card system); no distinct 'green tag' or CO terminology found for solar specifically 52% · fee schedule / council staff report
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer/customer — IID's own guidance says the customer (typically via their solar contractor) is 'ultimately responsible... to submit the required interconnection application to IID,' and IID issues final Permission to Operate itself after its own inspection and review 68% · utility website (Wayback Machine capture, 23 May 2026)
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $114.50 per each half-hour for a supplemental inspection during regular business hours; $457.98 (2-hour minimum) for an inspection outside normal business hours 68% · fee schedule / council staff report
14 questions answered against City of Calexico’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone (voicemail) or Email
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Department page: 'Leave a voicemail at the Inspection Line: (760) 768-7440' or 'e-mail us at inspections@calexico.ca.gov,' giving permit #, address, and inspection type.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.calexico.ca.gov/?SEC=E55F1A34-A2C2-494C-B70D-126381D9D281
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
One business day — inspections requested by voicemail/email are 'scheduled for the following business day'
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly on the Building Department page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.calexico.ca.gov/?SEC=E55F1A34-A2C2-494C-B70D-126381D9D281
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Not offered/not mentioned — the department describes only next-business-day scheduling by voicemail/email, with no AM/PM window language
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Department page describing inspection scheduling makes no mention of same-day service or AM/PM windows; this is treated as a proven absence on that specific page rather than confirmation there is truly no such option.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.calexico.ca.gov/?SEC=E55F1A34-A2C2-494C-B70D-126381D9D281
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity Building & Safety Division inspectors perform inspections in-house (in-house Building Official, per department page); the electrical-panel application further shows the city itself performs an 'Electrical Inspection Required by IID' as part of its own permit process, i.e. it is not contracted to the county or a third party.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.calexico.ca.gov/vertical/sites/%7B342ED706-1EBB-4FDE-BD1E-9543BAD44C09%7D/uploads/Electrical_Panel_Contractos_Application.pdf
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — not delegated; the city's own Building & Safety Division performs the inspection(s)
Why the confidence is not higherSame evidence as q52; no delegation to Imperial County or a contract firm was found anywhere in the city's building or fire pages.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.calexico.ca.gov/?SEC=E55F1A34-A2C2-494C-B70D-126381D9D281
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
One consolidated final inspection for the small residential rooftop solar permit; a separate fire-safety inspection may occur only if there is no consolidation agreement with the local fire authority
Why the confidence is not higherCalexico Mun. Code §17.11.1180: 'Only one inspection shall be required, which shall be done in a timely manner and may include a consolidated inspection,' with an exception for fire safety absent an agreement with the fire authority.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.zoneomics.com/code/calexico-CA/chapter_6
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame §17.11.1180 language limiting the process to a single (potentially consolidated) inspection means a separate rough-in/mid-roof inspection is not contemplated for a small residential rooftop system.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.zoneomics.com/code/calexico-CA/chapter_6
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Yes (inferred)
Why the confidence is not higherCh. 17.11.1140 requires equipment to be listed by an accredited testing laboratory as a condition of approval, which a field inspector would need to verify at inspection to confirm compliance; no explicit inspection-checklist document says this outright, hence only moderate confidence.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.zoneomics.com/code/calexico-CA/chapter_6
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department and Fire Prevention & Inspections pages; neither links a published inspection checklist for solar or otherwise
https://www.calexico.ca.gov/index.asp?SEC=955CA7D8-4E58-4ADF-9F07-BFAA69E61C96
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department page and ch. 17.11 ordinance; no statement of what documents must be on site at the time of inspection
https://www.calexico.ca.gov/?SEC=E55F1A34-A2C2-494C-B70D-126381D9D281
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$114.50 per each half-hour for a supplemental inspection during regular business hours; $457.98 (2-hour minimum) for an inspection outside normal business hours
Why the confidence is not higherFrom Exhibit A of the 15 Apr 2026 temporary fee schedule, general 'Inspections' section (not solar-specific, but this is the only inspection fee schedule the city publishes and would apply to a solar re-inspection).
fee schedule / council staff report checked 2026-08-30 https://www.calexico.ca.gov/vertical/sites/%7B342ED706-1EBB-4FDE-BD1E-9543BAD44C09%7D/uploads/CC_Agenda_04-15-2026_Item_12.pdf
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department page and ch. 17.11 ordinance; no description of how corrections are issued/cleared for a failed inspection
https://www.calexico.ca.gov/?SEC=E55F1A34-A2C2-494C-B70D-126381D9D281
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final sign-off on the permit's inspection/job card (the fee schedule lists a 'Duplicate/Replacement Job Card/Permit' fee, indicating the city uses a job-card system); no distinct 'green tag' or CO terminology found for solar specifically
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the job-card fee line item and standard CBC final-inspection practice; no document states explicitly what is issued to the homeowner on a passed solar final.
fee schedule / council staff report checked 2026-08-30 https://www.calexico.ca.gov/vertical/sites/%7B342ED706-1EBB-4FDE-BD1E-9543BAD44C09%7D/uploads/CC_Agenda_04-15-2026_Item_12.pdf
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer/customer — IID's own guidance says the customer (typically via their solar contractor) is 'ultimately responsible... to submit the required interconnection application to IID,' and IID issues final Permission to Operate itself after its own inspection and review
Why the confidence is not higherFrom IID's Solar FAQ; the city's electrical-panel application also shows the city performing an inspection 'Required by IID for power release,' so the city plays a supporting inspection role but does not itself notify IID for PTO.
utility website (Wayback Machine capture, 23 May 2026) checked 2026-08-30 http://web.archive.org/web/20260523004957/https://www.iid.com/power/rooftop-solar/solar-faqs
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Calexico against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Calexico is the authority having jurisdiction 85% confidence
- Holds
- building and electrical (in-house Development Services Department, Building & Safety Division); Planning Division separately administers the ch. 17.11 expedited solar review
- Overridden by
- Imperial Irrigation District (IID) retains interconnection authority and a power-release inspection requirement in parallel with the city's permit — IID is a municipally-styled public irrigation district, not an investor-owned utility, and the city's own electrical-panel application includes a checkbox/fee for an 'Electrical Inspection Required by IID for power release,' meaning the city cannot itself authorize energization
- Why not higher
- Contrary to a possible assumption that a small border city like Calexico contracts out building & safety, the city's own Development Services Department (Building & Safety Division, Building Official William Hudson) issues and inspects its own building and electrical permits — confirmed on the department page and on the city's own permit application forms, none of which reference Imperial County or a third-party plan-check/inspection firm. The Planning Division (not Building) administers the state-mandated ch. 17.11 expedited residential solar review. IID, a publicly-owned irrigation district (confirmed via IID's own site, not a ZIP-code utility lookup), is the interconnecting utility and requires its own application, approval-to-proceed, and inspection before Permission to Operate, running in parallel with — not subordinate to — the city process.
https://www.calexico.ca.gov/?SEC=E55F1A34-A2C2-494C-B70D-126381D9D281
- Permit required
- Yes90%
- Permit cost
- Photovoltaic/Solar Panel System (Residential): $68.70–$389.29 depending on scope, per the 'Temporary Fee Schedule' Exhibit A adopted 15 Apr 2026 (Resolution, effective on adoption,72%
- Portal
- No dedicated online permit portal identified — permits are submitted in person or the small-residential-solar application may be submitted electronically (e.g.60%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC, as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24 Part 3), effective statewide 1 Jan 202668%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone (voicemail) or Email90%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.