City of Calimesa
Riverside County
City of Calimesa is a city authority in the State of California, serving 10,026 residents. 1,720 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — 10 business days for first plan review under the manual/non-SolarAPP+ path (5 business days for each subsequent resubmittal, once plan-check fee is paid). Q18 Where you file — OpenGov Permit Portal (calimesaca.portal.opengov.com), live since approximately March 28, 2025, Q20
- Permit required
- Yes90% source
- What it costs
- $463 total for a residential rooftop PV system ≤ 15 kW ($166 Residential Plan Check + $297 Residential Inspection), +$15 per additional kW above 15 kW on the inspection fee.90% source
- Plan review turnaround
- 10 business days for first plan review under the manual/non-SolarAPP+ path (5 business days for each subsequent resubmittal, once plan-check fee is paid).55% source
- Key document
- published checklist (inference) cited by 8 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 90% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 85% · permit application form
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 90% · published handout
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 75% · fee schedule
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 55% · state statute (inference)
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Not a certification scheme like Texas TDI, but the city requires PV structural design to conform to its own designated "Special Wind Region": "The City of Calimesa is in a Special Wind Region. Provide design per 130 MPH (stand-off maximum spacing @ 48" O.C.)," with structural calculations required to show "Wind Design: 130 MPH Ultimate Design Wind Speed (Vult), Exposure C." 85% · published handout
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No explicit residential system-size cap was found in any city document reviewed (fee schedule, handouts, forms). The fee schedule prices residential PV in a single ≤/>15 kW AC tier structure but does not state a hard ceiling; commercial tiers are priced separately starting where residential is not defined to end. 45% · fee schedule (absence)
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 75% · permit application form
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 85% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 65% · published form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Completed permit application; Plot/Site Plan showing PV module locations, conduit/conductor routing, equipment (inverter, batteries) and electrical service interface; Single-Line Diagram; attachment/rack details; grounding/bonding detail; roof-load calculations if load exceeds 6.5 lbs/sf; manufacturer specification sheets for modules, inverter, batteries, conductors, disconnects and OCPDs; conductor/OCPD sizing justification; signage/plaque locations; roof plan showing 3' fire-code setbacks; wind design per the city's Special Wind Region (130 mph). Via SolarAPP+: SolarAPP+ Approval Documents, PV Solar Plans, Contractor Information, City of Calimesa Business License, and Property Owner Authorization Document. 85% · published checklist
- How many copies, and in what format? For SolarAPP+-eligible systems: fully digital, uploaded through the OpenGov portal (no copy count applies). For the manual/non-eligible path, the city's 2023 handout still specifies "Two (2) complete sets" of the Solar PV Standard Plan, roof plan, site plan and structural drawings. 60% · published checklist
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — a Site/Plot Plan showing the location of the PV modules, route of conduit/conductors, the equipment (inverter, batteries, etc.), the electrical service interface, all structures on the property, property lines and the service meter; plus a separate Roof Plan showing roof layout, PV panel locations, roof access point, code-compliant access pathways, PV fire classification and label/marking locations. 90% · published checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 90% · published checklist
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes 85% · published checklist
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Required for non-qualifying / non-standard-plan systems: the earlier (2021/2022) version of the handout describes a "Structural Criteria form (Form PV5)" for qualifying systems, and states "For non-qualifying systems, provide structural drawings and calculations stamped and signed by a California licensed architect or registered professional civil or structural engineer," including roof-covering type, framing, panel weight/attachment, and site-specific wind-design calculations (130 mph, Exposure C). 75% · published checklist
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Not required as a distinct threshold-triggered stamp in the documents reviewed — the handout requires only conductor/OCPD sizing justification and manufacturer spec sheets, not a stamped electrical PE calculation package. 45% · published checklist (inference)
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? OpenGov Permit Portal (calimesaca.portal.opengov.com), live since approximately March 28, 2025, used together with SolarAPP+ for eligible residential rooftop PV systems. 90% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 85% · published guide
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $463 total for a residential rooftop PV system ≤ 15 kW ($166 Residential Plan Check + $297 Residential Inspection), +$15 per additional kW above 15 kW on the inspection fee. A separate Energy Storage System (ESS) fee applies if batteries are included: $242 flat for a single-family system of up to 3 batteries, +$57 per additional 1-3 batteries. 90% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered 85% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 90% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 10 business days for first plan review under the manual/non-SolarAPP+ path (5 business days for each subsequent resubmittal, once plan-check fee is paid). Systems eligible for SolarAPP+ get automated/near-instant code-compliance review instead. 55% · published handout
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 80% · utility reference document hosted by the city
28 questions answered against City of Calimesa’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Calimesa Building & Safety Division page states the department "manages permits for residential, commercial, demolition, electrical, plumbing, solar..." and the city's own solar handouts and SolarApp+ guide describe the full residential PV permitting process end to end.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/166/Building-Safety
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety issues one "Permit Application" covering all trades (Building/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical) and the current Master Fee Schedule prices Solar/PV plan check and inspection as a single Building-Division line item, not split into separate Building and Electrical permits. In-house: Building Official David Fredborg is named on the city's own staff directory at a city extension; no contracted firm name appears anywhere reviewed.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/126
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own "Solar Minimum Requirements for Residential Solar" handout and SolarApp+ guide both describe a required Building & Safety permit and inspection process for residential PV; no exemption is stated for any residential PV system.
published handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherA single generic "Permit Application" form (DocumentCenter/126) is used for all trades, and the current Master Fee Schedule's "Solar and Photovoltaic" section prices one combined Residential Plan Check + Residential Inspection line rather than separate Building and Electrical permit fees. The 2023 handout notes "Panel Upgrades and Batteries can be included with the solar submittal, additional fees apply," i.e. added as a fee line to the same permit rather than issued as a separate electrical permit.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1856
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own Permit Application form has a checkbox: permit is issued in the name of "the Licensed Contractor" or "the Property Owner" as permit holder of record — no restriction to licensed electricians specifically found in the documents reviewed (ordinance text itself unreachable, see jurisdiction note).
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/126
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Business Licenses page states "Any person conducting business within the City must have a valid business license... This includes businesses based in other cities that enter Calimesa as part of their work such as contractors." The city's own SolarApp+ guide separately lists "City of Calimesa Business License" as a required upload when applying for the city permit.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/168/Business-Licenses
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city publishes a full "Owner-Builder" package (Property Owner's Package / Owner-Builder Acknowledgement) allowing a property owner to pull permits and "accomplish all of the work themselves" per CSLB owner-builder rules, generally (not solar-specific). Confidence reduced because this exact PDF still references "the City of Yucaipa" and an "on-line Yucaipa permit" for subcontractor registration — evidence it is a neighboring city's template not fully localized to Calimesa — and no solar-specific owner-builder restriction (or confirmation) was found.
published form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/1683
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Completed permit application; Plot/Site Plan showing PV module locations, conduit/conductor routing, equipment (inverter, batteries) and electrical service interface; Single-Line Diagram; attachment/rack details; grounding/bonding detail; roof-load calculations if load exceeds 6.5 lbs/sf; manufacturer specification sheets for modules, inverter, batteries, conductors, disconnects and OCPDs; conductor/OCPD sizing justification; signage/plaque locations; roof plan showing 3' fire-code setbacks; wind design per the city's Special Wind Region (130 mph). Via SolarAPP+: SolarAPP+ Approval Documents, PV Solar Plans, Contractor Information, City of Calimesa Business License, and Property Owner Authorization Document.
Why the confidence is not higherCombined list drawn directly from the city's own "Solar Minimum Requirements for Residential Solar" handout (v.1, 2/13/2023) and its SolarApp+ guide (2025). The 2023 handout predates the 2025 online-portal launch, so it is read as the technical-content source; the SolarApp+ guide is read for the current submittal/upload workflow.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
For SolarAPP+-eligible systems: fully digital, uploaded through the OpenGov portal (no copy count applies). For the manual/non-eligible path, the city's 2023 handout still specifies "Two (2) complete sets" of the Solar PV Standard Plan, roof plan, site plan and structural drawings.
Why the confidence is not higherSolarApp+ guide (2025) describes upload-only submittal via OpenGov; the older 2023 handout (still linked from Building & Safety) specifies two paper/PDF sets for the standard path and predates the online portal, so the two documents describe two different eras/paths — both are reported rather than picking one.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/124
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — a Site/Plot Plan showing the location of the PV modules, route of conduit/conductors, the equipment (inverter, batteries, etc.), the electrical service interface, all structures on the property, property lines and the service meter; plus a separate Roof Plan showing roof layout, PV panel locations, roof access point, code-compliant access pathways, PV fire classification and label/marking locations.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly itemized in the city's own "Solar Minimum Requirements for Residential Solar" handout, Submittal Package section.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherHandout item 3 of the Minimum Submittal Requirements: "Single-Line Diagram."
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherHandout requires "Justification for all conductor and over-current device sizing" and the inspection checklist separately verifies conductor ratings/sizes match plans.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Required for non-qualifying / non-standard-plan systems: the earlier (2021/2022) version of the handout describes a "Structural Criteria form (Form PV5)" for qualifying systems, and states "For non-qualifying systems, provide structural drawings and calculations stamped and signed by a California licensed architect or registered professional civil or structural engineer," including roof-covering type, framing, panel weight/attachment, and site-specific wind-design calculations (130 mph, Exposure C).
Why the confidence is not higherText drawn from the 2022 version of the city's solar handout (DocumentCenter/124); the current 2023 version (847) states the same structural-drawing requirement but does not repeat the "Form PV5"/qualifying-system language verbatim, so the exact threshold trigger could not be double-confirmed against the newest document.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/124
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Not required as a distinct threshold-triggered stamp in the documents reviewed — the handout requires only conductor/OCPD sizing justification and manufacturer spec sheets, not a stamped electrical PE calculation package.
Why the confidence is not higherAbsence inferred from the same handout that spells out the structural-PE-stamp trigger in detail but never mentions an electrical PE stamp; the underlying electrical code chapter itself could not be read (eCode360 blocked), so this is not a proven absence at the ordinance level, only in the city's own submittal handout.
published checklist (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$463 total for a residential rooftop PV system ≤ 15 kW ($166 Residential Plan Check + $297 Residential Inspection), +$15 per additional kW above 15 kW on the inspection fee. A separate Energy Storage System (ESS) fee applies if batteries are included: $242 flat for a single-family system of up to 3 batteries, +$57 per additional 1-3 batteries.
Why the confidence is not higherCurrent City of Calimesa Master Fee Schedule, effective September 1, 2025 — the version linked as the operative schedule from the city's own AB602 fee-transparency page. Not 95 because no separate standalone council resolution number for this exact document was found in the time available, though the transparency page explicitly labels it "Effective September 1, 2025."
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1856
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule prices a flat base Plan Check ($166) and flat base Inspection ($297) up to 15 kW, then adds $15 per additional kW above 15 kW — a flat-base-plus-per-kW-increment (tiered) structure, not a pure flat fee or pure valuation/per-panel fee.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1856
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee Schedule lists "Residential Plan Check" ($166) as a distinct line item from "Residential Inspection" ($297) under "Solar and Photovoltaic."
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1856
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
10 business days for first plan review under the manual/non-SolarAPP+ path (5 business days for each subsequent resubmittal, once plan-check fee is paid). Systems eligible for SolarAPP+ get automated/near-instant code-compliance review instead.
Why the confidence is not higherThe 10-business-day figure comes from the city's 2023 handout, which predates the city's own March 2025 online-portal/SolarAPP+ launch; the current SolarApp+ guide does not restate a manual turnaround figure, so this may be stale for the automated path (which the state's SB 379/SolarAPP+ mandate requires to be near-instant for eligible systems).
published handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Permit Application form (DocumentCenter/126, no expiration language present), the Solar Minimum Requirements handouts (847, 124, no expiration language), and the Building & Safety department page — none state a permit-validity duration for Calimesa specifically. The provision would normally sit in the locally-adopted CBC §105.5 administrative chapter, which is codified only on eCode360 (ecode360.com/CA4374); every retrieval method tried this run (WebFetch, curl with the iccsafe.org Referer header, and a headless-Chrome real render) was stopped by an interactive Cloudflare Turnstile challenge, not a simple block.
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
OpenGov Permit Portal (calimesaca.portal.opengov.com), live since approximately March 28, 2025, used together with SolarAPP+ for eligible residential rooftop PV systems.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety department page states the portal launched "As of March 28, 2025"; the city's own SolarApp+ guide walks through using both SolarAPP+ and the OpenGov portal together.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/166/Building-Safety
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolarApp+ guide describes a fully online path: SolarAPP+ for automated design review, then the OpenGov portal for city permit application, payment and document upload, then online inspection scheduling.
published guide checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1743/SolarApp
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Building & Safety forms page hosts a document titled "Electrical Service Requirements SCE 2022" (an excerpt of SCE's own Electric Service Requirements manual) as its residential electrical-service-requirements handout — first-party evidence the serving utility is SCE. Calimesa has no municipal electric utility of its own.
utility reference document hosted by the city checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/1675
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety page, solar handouts (847, 124) and SolarApp+ guide (1743) — none describe where SCE interconnection/PTO sits relative to the city permit timeline. SCE's own DG/Rule 21 interconnection manual was not retrieved this run.
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNot confirmed from Calimesa's own codified ordinance (eCode360 blocked this run). Inferred from California's statewide Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714) and Gov. Code §65850.5(f), which prohibit an HOA-approval condition on the type of small-residential-rooftop-solar permit the city processes; no Calimesa-specific document reviewed states otherwise.
state statute (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=714&lawCode=CIV
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Residential Zone Districts chapter (DocumentCenter/368) and Downtown Business District Design Standards (DocumentCenter/211) — neither describes a historic-district review triggered by residential rooftop solar; the Residential Zone Districts chapter's §...H "Solar Energy Design Standards" is a subdivision-design aesthetic-siting standard (obscure placement, matte finish, color-coordination) applicable to new development generally, not a historic-review process. The city's codified historic-preservation provisions (if any) sit on eCode360, which is Cloudflare-blocked this run.
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Not a certification scheme like Texas TDI, but the city requires PV structural design to conform to its own designated "Special Wind Region": "The City of Calimesa is in a Special Wind Region. Provide design per 130 MPH (stand-off maximum spacing @ 48" O.C.)," with structural calculations required to show "Wind Design: 130 MPH Ultimate Design Wind Speed (Vult), Exposure C."
Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim from the city's own Solar Minimum Requirements handout, both the 2022 and 2023 versions.
published handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's solar handouts (847, 124), SolarApp+ guide (1743), Permit Application form (126) — none mention a Specific Use Permit, Conditional Use Permit, or City Council approval step for residential rooftop solar. The codified zoning/entitlement chapter that would state this definitively is on eCode360, which is Cloudflare-blocked this run.
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No explicit residential system-size cap was found in any city document reviewed (fee schedule, handouts, forms). The fee schedule prices residential PV in a single ≤/>15 kW AC tier structure but does not state a hard ceiling; commercial tiers are priced separately starting where residential is not defined to end.
Why the confidence is not higherAbsence noted from the fee schedule, both solar handouts, and the SolarApp+ guide (positive control: "solar"/"kw" terms present throughout these documents; fabricated control "zzqqx" absent). Not proven at the ordinance level because the codified municipal code (where a size definition such as AB 2188's 10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal "small residential rooftop" threshold would normally be codified) could not be read this run — eCode360 is Cloudflare-blocked.
fee schedule (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1856
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 70% · published handout (inference of underlying amendment)
- What is the installation judged against? The locally-adopted California Building/Residential/Electrical/Fire Codes (specific edition not confirmed this run — see Q29-31) as locally amended (e.g. the Special Wind Region provision), plus the city's own "Solar Minimum Requirements" handout and inspection checklist. 55% · published handout
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? "Roof Plan showing 3' setbacks per California Fire Code" — the handout requires a roof plan showing the roof-access point, code-compliant access pathways, and 3-foot setbacks; no additional Calimesa-specific ridge-setback figure beyond the state CFC default was found. 70% · published handout
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Required under the state-adopted California Electrical Code (which has incorporated NEC 690.12 module-level rapid shutdown since at least the 2019/2020 CEC cycle); the city's own solar handout does not use the terms "rapid shutdown" or "690.12" anywhere in its text. 45% · published handout (absence) + state code default
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Sign identifying PV system attributes at the DC disconnect; sign identifying the AC disconnect; warning sign indicating "Dual Power Sources." 80% · published inspection checklist
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No — the handout names the required placard categories (DC disconnect PV sign, AC disconnect sign, Dual Power Sources warning sign) but does not spell out the exact wording text for any of them. 65% · published handout
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? A permit plaque/placard is referenced ("Signage locations for permanent plaque per California Electrical Code") as part of the minimum submittal requirements, but the handout does not itemize what the plaque/directory must show beyond that CEC cross-reference. 55% · published handout
- Where must the labels be placed? At the DC disconnect (PV system attributes sign) and at the AC disconnect (AC disconnect sign); a warning sign for dual power sources is also required, though its exact location is not specified beyond "at the installation." 65% · published inspection checklist
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 75% · published handout
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes — batteries are permitted and can be included with the same solar submittal; the current Master Fee Schedule prices a distinct "Energy Storage Systems (ESS)" fee: $242 flat for a single-family system of up to 3 batteries, +$57 per additional 1-3 batteries. 85% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No — batteries are added to the same solar permit submittal as an additional fee line, rather than issued as a wholly separate ESS permit application, per the city's own handout wording ("can be included with the solar submittal"). 60% · published handout (inference)
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Yes — maximum stand-off/attachment spacing of 48" on-center under the city's 130 mph Special Wind Region, Exposure C design requirement; racking/attachment documentation (rack manufacturer, max allowable weight, attachment method, product evaluation) required for non-qualifying systems. 85% · published handout
20 questions answered against City of Calimesa’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's "Development/Construction Requirements" Fire Prevention page (calimesa.gov/247) lists '2019 Edition' California Electrical/Building/Fire/Plumbing/Mechanical/Green Building/Residential/Historical/Existing Building Codes, but that same page contains an unedited internal draft note ("Fire Protection Standards (have not formally adopted these, should we)"), proving the page is stale/unfinished and not relied on as current. The codified adopting ordinance itself is on eCode360, which returned a Cloudflare interactive challenge to WebFetch, curl-with-Referer, and a real headless-Chrome render this run.
https://www.calimesa.gov/247/developmentconstruction-requirements
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q29 — the Fire Prevention "Development/Construction Requirements" page's code-edition list is not relied on due to its own unedited draft note, and the codified adopting ordinance on eCode360 is Cloudflare-blocked this run.
https://www.calimesa.gov/247/developmentconstruction-requirements
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q29/Q30 — the Fire Prevention page's stated '2019 Edition' California Fire Code is not relied on due to the page's own unedited draft note, and eCode360 (where the adopting ordinance is codified) is Cloudflare-blocked this run.
https://www.calimesa.gov/247/developmentconstruction-requirements
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own solar handout imposes at least one clear local structural amendment beyond the base model code: a locally-designated "Special Wind Region" at 130 mph Ultimate Design Wind Speed, Exposure C, with a specific 48" O.C. maximum stand-off spacing — evidence of a local amendment even though the amending ordinance text itself could not be read directly (eCode360 blocked).
published handout (inference of underlying amendment) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The locally-adopted California Building/Residential/Electrical/Fire Codes (specific edition not confirmed this run — see Q29-31) as locally amended (e.g. the Special Wind Region provision), plus the city's own "Solar Minimum Requirements" handout and inspection checklist.
Why the confidence is not higherConsistent with the handout's own framing ("the Building and Safety Division has provided the following items to assist in expediting our plan check and permitting process" against the adopted code); the exact code edition could not be confirmed from a reliable source this run.
published handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Solar Minimum Requirements handouts (847, 124) — neither states a local busbar/120%-or-100%-rule or service-upgrade amendment (unlike, e.g., Hemet's Standard Plan forms, which reproduce the unmodified state 705.12(D) table). The locally-amended CEC chapter itself is on eCode360, Cloudflare-blocked this run.
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Yes — maximum stand-off/attachment spacing of 48" on-center under the city's 130 mph Special Wind Region, Exposure C design requirement; racking/attachment documentation (rack manufacturer, max allowable weight, attachment method, product evaluation) required for non-qualifying systems.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated in the city's own Solar Minimum Requirements handout.
published handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
"Roof Plan showing 3' setbacks per California Fire Code" — the handout requires a roof plan showing the roof-access point, code-compliant access pathways, and 3-foot setbacks; no additional Calimesa-specific ridge-setback figure beyond the state CFC default was found.
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted directly from the handout's Minimum Submittal Requirements and Submittal Package sections; the underlying CFC section number/edition as locally amended could not be confirmed (eCode360 blocked).
published handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Required under the state-adopted California Electrical Code (which has incorporated NEC 690.12 module-level rapid shutdown since at least the 2019/2020 CEC cycle); the city's own solar handout does not use the terms "rapid shutdown" or "690.12" anywhere in its text.
Why the confidence is not higherControl-checked absence in the city's own 2023 handout (positive control "electrical" = 2 hits, fabricated control "zzqqx" = 0 hits, "690"/"rapid shutdown" = 0 hits) — a real gap in the city's OWN document. The requirement itself is a state default rather than a confirmed Calimesa-specific citation, and the exact CEC edition currently in force in Calimesa could not be confirmed this run (see Q29).
published handout (absence) + state code default checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Sign identifying PV system attributes at the DC disconnect; sign identifying the AC disconnect; warning sign indicating "Dual Power Sources."
Why the confidence is not higherListed as inspection-checklist item 4 in the city's own Solar Minimum Requirements handout.
published inspection checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No — the handout names the required placard categories (DC disconnect PV sign, AC disconnect sign, Dual Power Sources warning sign) but does not spell out the exact wording text for any of them.
Why the confidence is not higherRead in full: doc 847's signage-related content (submittal item 9 and inspection checklist item 4) names purposes/locations only, unlike e.g. Hemet's or Hollister's handouts which quote verbatim placard text.
published handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's solar handouts (847, 124) — signage items are named by category/purpose only (DC disconnect sign, AC disconnect sign, dual-power-source warning) with no letter-height, colour, or material specification given anywhere in the document. The CFC §605.11.1 provision that would normally supply this (as adopted/amended locally) is on eCode360, Cloudflare-blocked this run.
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
A permit plaque/placard is referenced ("Signage locations for permanent plaque per California Electrical Code") as part of the minimum submittal requirements, but the handout does not itemize what the plaque/directory must show beyond that CEC cross-reference.
Why the confidence is not higherHandout item 9 references a "permanent plaque" required "per California Electrical Code" without further detail; the underlying CEC section (likely 705.10/690.56) could not be confirmed from the code text itself (eCode360 blocked).
published handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's SCE-sourced "Electrical Service Requirements SCE 2022" handout (DocumentCenter/1675) covers meter-box mounting height/type generally but has no solar/PV-specific placard content. SCE's own DG/Rule 21 interconnection handbook, which would carry any utility-specific placard requirements, was not retrieved this run.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
At the DC disconnect (PV system attributes sign) and at the AC disconnect (AC disconnect sign); a warning sign for dual power sources is also required, though its exact location is not specified beyond "at the installation."
Why the confidence is not higherDerived from the inspection-checklist signage item in the city's own handout; no further placement detail (distances, height, service-panel proximity) was found.
published inspection checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherHandout requires "Listed/approved manufacturer Specification Sheets for all proposed equipment including modules, inverters, panels, racking system, support mounts, etc." and the inspection checklist verifies equipment ratings against installed signage.
published handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes — batteries are permitted and can be included with the same solar submittal; the current Master Fee Schedule prices a distinct "Energy Storage Systems (ESS)" fee: $242 flat for a single-family system of up to 3 batteries, +$57 per additional 1-3 batteries.
Why the confidence is not higherThe 2023 handout states "Panel Upgrades and Batteries can be included with the solar submittal, additional fees apply"; the current Master Fee Schedule (eff. 9/1/2025) confirms a live ESS fee line.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1856
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No — batteries are added to the same solar permit submittal as an additional fee line, rather than issued as a wholly separate ESS permit application, per the city's own handout wording ("can be included with the solar submittal").
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the 2023 handout's wording; the fee schedule prices ESS as its own line item, which is a separate cost but not stated to require a separate permit number.
published handout (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's solar handouts (847, 124) are both scoped to roof-mounted arrays ("Roof Plan showing roof layout," attachment-to-roof-structure detail); neither addresses ground-mounted PV or states whether it is treated as an accessory structure. The Residential Zone Districts chapter (DocumentCenter/368) defines general accessory-structure setbacks but does not name ground-mount solar specifically.
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's SCE-sourced Electrical Service Requirements handout (1675) addresses meter mounting height (4'-6'3" above grade) but not AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter; no Calimesa-specific solar disconnect-placement diagram was found, and SCE's own DG interconnection manual was not retrieved this run.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal (OpenGov, self-scheduled) or Phone (24-hour automated Building & Safety inspection voice-response line, (909) 795-9801 Ext 228) 80% · published guide
- How much notice is required? 1 business day — "Inspection requests received by 4pm the business day before will be scheduled for the next business day" (2023 handout); the 2025 SolarApp+ guide likewise states "Inspections can be scheduled for the next business day." 90% · published handout
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Yes — the applicant selects a preferred timeframe of AM or PM when requesting an inspection. 80% · published guide
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 85% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? A single final inspection after the system is installed — "Once permit to construct the solar installation has been issued and the system has been installed, it must be inspected before final approval is granted for the solar system" — no staged/rough-in sequence is described for standard residential rooftop PV. 70% · published handout
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 60% · published handout (absence)
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes 90% · published inspection checklist
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes 85% · published inspection checklist
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $171 per hour (Building Division "Reinspection" fee) 75% · fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? Plan-check corrections are issued and the applicant resubmits; the 2023 handout describes staged review timing — "1st Plan Review is 10 business days, once plan check fee payment is made, 2nd submittal is 5 business days and so forth" — implying written correction comments between submittals rather than a single pass/fail review. 50% · published handout (inference)
14 questions answered against City of Calimesa’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal (OpenGov, self-scheduled) or Phone (24-hour automated Building & Safety inspection voice-response line, (909) 795-9801 Ext 228)
Why the confidence is not higherSolarApp+ guide describes scheduling inspections online through the OpenGov account; the 2023 handout separately describes calling the same extension's 24-hour automated voice-response line.
published guide checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1743/SolarApp
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
1 business day — "Inspection requests received by 4pm the business day before will be scheduled for the next business day" (2023 handout); the 2025 SolarApp+ guide likewise states "Inspections can be scheduled for the next business day."
Why the confidence is not higherConsistent statement in both the 2023 handout and the 2025 SolarApp+ guide.
published handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Yes — the applicant selects a preferred timeframe of AM or PM when requesting an inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherSolarApp+ guide: "Provide the Permit number..., Address of the job, Type of inspection requested, Inspection date and preferred timeframe (AM or PM)."
published guide checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1743/SolarApp
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherIn-house Building & Safety Division (Building Official David Fredborg; Building Inspector Daniel Stater per the department page) performs the on-site final inspection; no contracted inspection firm found anywhere in the documents reviewed.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/166/Building-Safety
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNot applicable — Q52 establishes the City's own Building & Safety Division performs its own final solar inspection in-house; no delegation to another agency was found, so there is no FK value to record here.
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
A single final inspection after the system is installed — "Once permit to construct the solar installation has been issued and the system has been installed, it must be inspected before final approval is granted for the solar system" — no staged/rough-in sequence is described for standard residential rooftop PV.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect wording of the city's 2023 handout, consistent with California's statewide one-inspection default for small residential rooftop solar under Gov. Code §65850.5(f) (not independently confirmed against Calimesa's own codified text, which is unreachable this run).
published handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherOnly a single final inspection is described anywhere in the city's own solar documents; no rough-in or mid-roof inspection stage is mentioned.
published handout (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherInspection checklist items 4 and 5 in the city's own handout explicitly check that "Appropriate signs are properly constructed, installed and displayed" and that equipment ratings match installed signage/listings.
published inspection checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own "Solar Minimum Requirements for Residential Solar" handout contains a full published inspection checklist (module/conductor verification, sign checks, equipment-rating checks, exterior-equipment paint-match rule).
published inspection checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's solar handout (847) states only that the "Contractor/owner-builder must be prepared to show conformance with all technical requirements in the field"; it does not itemize which specific documents (permit card, approved plan set) must physically be on site. The general CBC administrative provision that would state this is on eCode360, Cloudflare-blocked this run.
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$171 per hour (Building Division "Reinspection" fee)
Why the confidence is not higherCurrent Master Fee Schedule (effective 9/1/2025), "Other Building Fees" section, lists "Reinspection" at $171/hour. This is a general building-division reinspection rate, not a solar-specific line; no separate solar reinspection fee was found.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1856
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Plan-check corrections are issued and the applicant resubmits; the 2023 handout describes staged review timing — "1st Plan Review is 10 business days, once plan check fee payment is made, 2nd submittal is 5 business days and so forth" — implying written correction comments between submittals rather than a single pass/fail review.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the plan-review timeline language in the 2023 handout; no explicit description of the correction-notice format (letter, red-lined plans, portal comment) was found, and this section predates the 2025 OpenGov portal which may now handle corrections differently.
published handout (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.calimesa.gov/documentcenter/view/847
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's solar handout (847) and SolarApp+ guide (1743) describe the inspection process but never name what document/tag is issued on a passing inspection (no "Final," "green tag," "Certificate of Occupancy," or "Letter" terminology found in either). The general CBC §110/111 provision that would state this is on eCode360, Cloudflare-blocked this run.
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's solar handout (847) and SolarApp+ guide (1743) describe the city permitting and inspection process end to end but do not state who (installer vs. city) submits interconnection/PTO paperwork to Southern California Edison. SCE's own NEM/interconnection process documentation was not retrieved this run.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Calimesa against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Calimesa is the authority having jurisdiction 82% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (in-house). The city's own staff directory names David Fredborg as "Building Official" (Building and Safety Division, 909-795-9801 ext. 228) on a city email/phone extension — the same extension the city's own solar handouts and SolarApp+ guide use for permitting and inspection contact, and the same name appears as the PDF Author on the city's SolarApp+ guide. No contracted plan-check/inspection firm name (e.g. Willdan, 4LEAF, Transtech, CSG, Interwest, EsGil) appears anywhere in the documents reviewed. Calimesa also runs its own in-house Fire Department with a Fire Prevention Bureau (Deputy Chief + Fire Prevention Inspectors on city extensions) that reviews new-construction/commercial building plans and fire-protection systems as part of the building permit process, but the city's own residential solar handouts describe only a Building & Safety submittal and a single Building-Division inspection — no separate residential-solar fire submittal or fire inspection is described anywhere found.
- Overridden by
- California Gov. Code §65850.5 / AB 2188 ("small residential rooftop solar") sets the statewide expedited, non-discretionary review framework; SB 379 (Gov. Code §65850.52) requires SolarAPP+-class automated permitting, which the city has implemented (live since ≈ March 2025) via an OpenGov portal plus the SolarAPP+ third-party review platform. Southern California Edison (SCE) independently controls interconnection/Permission-to-Operate — the city's own "Electrical Service Requirements SCE 2022" handout (hosted on the city's own DocumentCenter) is itself first-party evidence the electric utility is SCE, not a municipal utility.
- Why not higher
- City's own Building & Safety department page, its SolarApp+ guide, its "Solar Minimum Requirements for Residential Solar" handout (v.1, 2/13/2023, hosted at DocumentCenter/847) and its current Master Fee Schedule (effective 9/1/2025) all show the City of Calimesa Building & Safety Division issuing and inspecting residential solar permits city-wide, in-house. NOT higher because the city's codified Municipal Code is hosted exclusively on eCode360 (ecode360.com/CA4374), and every retrieval method attempted this run — plain WebFetch, curl with the iccsafe.org Referer header the eCode360 recipe calls for, and a real headless-Chrome render with --virtual-time-budget — was stopped by an interactive Cloudflare Turnstile challenge (response header 'cf-mitigated: challenge'), not a simple 403. codepublishing.com/CA/Calimesa (the code's former host) now hard-redirects to the same eCode360 URL, and no Wayback Machine snapshot of the TOC exists. So no codified ordinance text (Building/Electrical/Fire/Zoning solar chapter, local wind/CBSC amendments as codified, exact size caps, exact busbar rules) could be read this session — every ordinance-level answer below rests instead on the city's own PDF handouts, forms, fee schedule and department pages hosted directly on calimesa.gov, which ARE reachable and were extracted with pdftotext. Also worth flagging: the city's own "Development/Construction Requirements" fire-prevention page lists 2019-cycle code editions but contains an unedited internal draft note ("Fire Protection Standards (have not formally adopted these, should we)") proving that specific page is stale/unfinished, so its code-edition claims were NOT relied on for Q29-31 (booked not_found instead). Separately, the city's own "Owner-Builder" package PDF (DocumentCenter/1683) still references "the City of Yucaipa" and an "on-line Yucaipa permit" — a neighboring city's paperwork reused without full localization — flagged here rather than laundered as Calimesa-specific.
- Permit required
- Yes90%
- Permit cost
- $463 total for a residential rooftop PV system ≤ 15 kW ($166 Residential Plan Check + $297 Residential Inspection), +$15 per additional kW above 15 kW on the inspection fee.90%
- Plan review
- 10 business days for first plan review under the manual/non-SolarAPP+ path (5 business days for each subsequent resubmittal, once plan-check fee is paid).55%
- Portal
- OpenGov Permit Portal (calimesaca.portal.opengov.com), live since approximately March 28, 2025, used together with SolarAPP+ for eligible residential rooftop PV systems.90%
- Own placard wording
- No — the handout names the required placard categories (DC disconnect PV sign, AC disconnect sign,65%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal (OpenGov, self-scheduled) or Phone (24-hour automated Building & Safety inspection voice-response line, (909) 795-9801 Ext 228)80%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 65%
No — the handout names the required placard categories (DC disconnect PV sign, AC disconnect sign, Dual Power Sources warning sign) but does not spell out the exact wording text for any of them.
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go 65%
At the DC disconnect (PV system attributes sign) and at the AC disconnect (AC disconnect sign); a warning sign for dual power sources is also required, though its exact location is not specified beyond "at the installation."
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.