City of Camarillo
Ventura County
City of Camarillo is a city authority in the State of California, serving 70,741 residents. 5,470 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — OpenGov (camarilloca.portal.opengov.com) for standard applications, plan submission, payment, inspection scheduling and business tax; Q20
- Permit required
- Yes97% source
- What it costs
- $450 flat for residential up to 15 kW, plus $15 per additional kW over 15 kW (Fee Schedule Exhibit F, Item 16, 'Photovoltaic (Solar) - per GC 66015,' effective 7/1/25; prior fee was $257 + $16/kW).80% source
- Key document
- department handout (OCR'd, image-only PDF) cited by 6 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 88% · department handout (OCR'd, image-only PDF)
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 97% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 65% · department handout (OCR'd, image-only PDF)
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 60% · department handout (OCR'd, image-only PDF)
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 55% · structural criteria worksheet
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No -- for a standard eligible residential rooftop or compliant ground-mount install, only an administrative Zone Clearance and a Building & Safety permit are required; there is no Council or Specific-Use-Permit step referenced in any of the city's own PV-specific documents. 55% · department handout (OCR'd, image-only PDF)
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No hard ordinance cap found on residential system size; the SolarAPP+ automated-permitting path is capped at 10 kW AC (CEC rating) per the city's own Solar Eligibility Checklist -- systems above that, or with battery storage or a main panel upgrade, are routed to the standard (non-automated) permit process rather than being barred. 75% · checklist
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 90% · department handout (OCR'd, image-only PDF)
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 55% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 80% · department handout (OCR'd, image-only PDF)
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Zone Clearance from Community Development; Photovoltaic Electrical Permit application; UL listings for inverter (UL1741) and module (UL1703); panel count, system kW, and unit weight (psf); two complete sets of plans (legacy handout) now submitted digitally via OpenGov; for the SolarAPP+/expedited path, the completed Eligibility Checklist and, if any item fails, a Structural Criteria worksheet or stamped engineering calculations; a roof/site diagram showing panel layout, access pathways, disconnect locations and roof access points. 85% · checklist + handout
- How many copies, and in what format? Digital only, submitted through the OpenGov customer portal -- as of 1 Jul 2025 the City 'will no longer accept paper plans for permit applications. All plan submissions must be done digitally.' The predecessor PV handout (2021) had called for 'two complete sets of plans,' which is superseded by this policy. 88% · department page (policy notice)
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes -- a roof/site plan showing the panel/module layout, clear access pathways, and approximate locations of electrical disconnecting means and roof access points (Eligibility Checklist, Fire Safety Requirement D); ground-mount installs additionally require a plan reflecting footing/engineering per the PV handout. 85% · checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 75% · checklist
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes 75% · checklist
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Required whenever the flush-mount prescriptive Structural Criteria are not fully met (any 'N' answer triggers 'project-specific drawings and calculations stamped and signed by a California licensed civil or structural engineer'), and always for elevated/tilt-mounted roof arrays and for any ground-mounted system ('Requires engineering to reflect proper footings' -- PV handout item 9). 90% · structural criteria worksheet
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? OpenGov (camarilloca.portal.opengov.com) for standard applications, plan submission, payment, inspection scheduling and business tax; SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org) for eligible new residential rooftop PV systems under the automated path. 92% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 90% · portal landing page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $450 flat for residential up to 15 kW, plus $15 per additional kW over 15 kW (Fee Schedule Exhibit F, Item 16, 'Photovoltaic (Solar) - per GC 66015,' effective 7/1/25; prior fee was $257 + $16/kW). A General Plan Maintenance Surcharge (17.89%) and Technology Surcharge (11.34%) may also apply to this line item per Exhibit G -- the surcharge exemption language only carves out 'nonresidential alterations' and 'residential alterations (nonstructural),' which a new PV install is not -- which would put the effective total near $580 for a base <=15kW system, but the applicability to this specific stand-alone item is not stated explicitly. 80% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered 82% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No 62% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 90% · department page
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel 50% · inference (utility manual gated)
28 questions answered against City of Camarillo’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building & Safety Division page states it 'provides permitting, inspection and plan check services for the city' and publishes a dedicated Photovoltaic Solar Systems handout, Solar Eligibility Checklist and Structural Criteria for residential PV.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/departments/building___safety/index.php
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Division (city dept, operated under a services contract by Charles Abbott Associates, Inc. of Mission Viejo) issues a single 'Photovoltaic Electrical Permit' covering electrical and structural review. Zone Clearance from Community Development is required first (zoning, not delegated). Fire/life-safety review is delegated to Ventura County Fire Protection District, but VCFD's own fee schedule shows it only reviews COMMERCIAL PV and residential battery/ESS (UL9450A) -- not standard residential PV-only systems.
department handout (OCR'd, image-only PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Photovoltaic%20Solar%20Systems.pdf
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherPV handout item 4: 'A Photovoltaic Electrical Permit is required.' Confirmed by a dedicated fee-schedule line item (Exhibit F, Item 16, 'Photovoltaic (Solar) - per GC 66015').
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/CC%20RESOLUTION%202025-11.pdf
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherHandout describes a single 'Photovoltaic Electrical Permit' covering the install; an additional line item only appears if a service/panel upgrade is bundled in ('additional fee is required for electrical service upgrade ... noted at submittal'), suggesting one combined PV permit rather than separate building+electrical permits for a standard array-only job.
department handout (OCR'd, image-only PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Photovoltaic%20Solar%20Systems.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherPV handout item 1: 'Per Contractor's State License Board: Class A, Class B, Class C10, Class C46 and homeowners may install the system.'
department handout (OCR'd, image-only PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Photovoltaic%20Solar%20Systems.pdf
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Business Tax page: 'anyone operating a business must pay a yearly business tax ... If you operate your business in Camarillo, even if you have a business license from another city, you still need to apply.' This is a business-tax registration, not a permit-specific contractor registry, and the page does not explicitly state it gates permit issuance -- inferred, not confirmed against the permit intake process itself.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/business/business_tax/index.php
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherPV handout item 1 explicitly lists 'homeowners' alongside CSLB Class A/B/C10/C46 contractors as parties who 'may install the system.' Handouts list also separately offers an 'Owner-Builder Authorization of Agent Form.'
department handout (OCR'd, image-only PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Photovoltaic%20Solar%20Systems.pdf
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Zone Clearance from Community Development; Photovoltaic Electrical Permit application; UL listings for inverter (UL1741) and module (UL1703); panel count, system kW, and unit weight (psf); two complete sets of plans (legacy handout) now submitted digitally via OpenGov; for the SolarAPP+/expedited path, the completed Eligibility Checklist and, if any item fails, a Structural Criteria worksheet or stamped engineering calculations; a roof/site diagram showing panel layout, access pathways, disconnect locations and roof access points.
Why the confidence is not higherCombined from PV Systems handout (items 2,4,6,7) and the Eligibility Checklist / Structural Criteria worksheets, all city-published documents; the '2 sets of plans' element is from a 2021-dated handout that predates the city's July 2025 shift to all-digital OpenGov submission, so the copy-count is superseded by practice even though the document list itself still applies.
checklist + handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Solar%20Eligibility%20checklist.pdf
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Digital only, submitted through the OpenGov customer portal -- as of 1 Jul 2025 the City 'will no longer accept paper plans for permit applications. All plan submissions must be done digitally.' The predecessor PV handout (2021) had called for 'two complete sets of plans,' which is superseded by this policy.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building & Safety hot-topics notice, undated internally but the policy is stated as taking effect 1 Jul 2025 and the page was live as fetched.
department page (policy notice) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/departments/building___safety/index.php
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes -- a roof/site plan showing the panel/module layout, clear access pathways, and approximate locations of electrical disconnecting means and roof access points (Eligibility Checklist, Fire Safety Requirement D); ground-mount installs additionally require a plan reflecting footing/engineering per the PV handout.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Solar Photovoltaic Permitting, Fire Safety Requirements section, item D.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Solar%20Eligibility%20checklist.pdf
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherEligibility Checklist, Electrical Requirements item D: 'A Solar PV Standard Plan and supporting documentation is completed and attached' -- the 'Standard Plan' is the one-line/electrical diagram package in this CA expedited-permitting checklist format.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Solar%20Eligibility%20checklist.pdf
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherEligibility Checklist Electrical Requirements enumerate string/MPPT limits (max 4 strings per MPPT with fusing, 2 without), fuse ratings, DC combiner counts, inverter count and bus-bar rating -- these are the string/conductor calculation checks used to qualify for expedited review.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Solar%20Eligibility%20checklist.pdf
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Required whenever the flush-mount prescriptive Structural Criteria are not fully met (any 'N' answer triggers 'project-specific drawings and calculations stamped and signed by a California licensed civil or structural engineer'), and always for elevated/tilt-mounted roof arrays and for any ground-mounted system ('Requires engineering to reflect proper footings' -- PV handout item 9).
Why the confidence is not higherStructural Criteria for Residential Rooftop Solar Energy Installations, Summary section B; PV Systems handout items 8-9.
structural criteria worksheet checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Solar%20Struc%20Criteria.pdf
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the PV Systems handout, the Solar Eligibility Checklist, and the Structural Criteria worksheet -- none of the three mentions an electrical PE-stamp threshold (only the structural stamp is addressed).
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$450 flat for residential up to 15 kW, plus $15 per additional kW over 15 kW (Fee Schedule Exhibit F, Item 16, 'Photovoltaic (Solar) - per GC 66015,' effective 7/1/25; prior fee was $257 + $16/kW). A General Plan Maintenance Surcharge (17.89%) and Technology Surcharge (11.34%) may also apply to this line item per Exhibit G -- the surcharge exemption language only carves out 'nonresidential alterations' and 'residential alterations (nonstructural),' which a new PV install is not -- which would put the effective total near $580 for a base <=15kW system, but the applicability to this specific stand-alone item is not stated explicitly.
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Camarillo Master Fee Schedule, Exhibit F (Stand Alone Permits) and Exhibit G (Surcharges), Resolution 2025-11, in-document effective date 7/1/25.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/CC%20RESOLUTION%202025-11.pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered
Why the confidence is not higherFee is a flat per-permit amount up to a 15kW threshold, then a per-kW increment beyond it -- matches 'Tiered' more closely than a pure flat or pure per-kW structure.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/CC%20RESOLUTION%202025-11.pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No
Why the confidence is not higherExhibit F's Photovoltaic line item (16) has no separate 'Plan Check' sub-line, unlike some other items on the same schedule (e.g. Cell Sites, item 1, which explicitly lists an hourly Plan Check fee) -- suggesting plan check is bundled into the $450 flat PV fee.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/CC%20RESOLUTION%202025-11.pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Building & Safety index/hot-topics page and the SolarAPP+ notice for a stated plan-review turnaround (business days) for the standard, non-automated permit path -- none published. SolarAPP+ itself is designed for instant/same-day issuance of eligible projects but the city page does not restate a day-count SLA.
https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/departments/building___safety/index.php
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the PV handout, the fee schedule and the Building & Safety page for a stated permit-validity/expiration period -- none is published; only the state-model CBC default (105.5) would apply and that was not confirmed as unamended locally.
https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/departments/building___safety/building___safety_handouts.php
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
OpenGov (camarilloca.portal.opengov.com) for standard applications, plan submission, payment, inspection scheduling and business tax; SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org) for eligible new residential rooftop PV systems under the automated path.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's OpenGov roll-out notice and Building & Safety SolarAPP+ paragraph, both on the city's own site.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/permitting
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherOpenGov notice: residents 'can now complete applications, make payments, track progress, and schedule inspections -- entirely online.' SolarAPP+ additionally offers instant online permit issuance for eligible systems.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/permitting
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherNamed directly on the city's own 'Renewable Energy Sources' page ('Southern California Edison's Home Energy Guide'); the city has no Clean Power Alliance page live (404), so there is no CCA layer for Camarillo -- SCE is both the delivering and interconnecting utility.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/residents/trash___recycling/renewable_energy_sources.php
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel
Why the confidence is not higherINFERENCE from general SCE/CPUC Rule 21 practice for CA IOUs (not confirmed from a Camarillo- or SCE-published document specific to this jurisdiction): interconnection applications are typically filed in parallel with the building permit, but Permission-to-Operate is withheld until the AHJ's final inspection is passed. SCE's own DG/interconnection manuals are gated behind a Microsoft SharePoint login (on.sce.com/InterconnectionHandbook redirects to login.microsoftonline.com) and could not be read directly.
inference (utility manual gated) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sce.com/regulatory/distribution-manuals/electrical-service-requirements
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe PV Systems handout and the Eligibility Checklist -- the city's own complete lists of what a residential PV submittal requires -- do not include HOA or architectural-committee approval as a submittal item; only a Community Development Zone Clearance is listed. CA Civil Code 714 also bars HOAs from unreasonably restricting solar, independent of city practice.
department handout (OCR'd, image-only PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Photovoltaic%20Solar%20Systems.pdf
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Zoning page and the PV/Eligibility Checklist handouts for a historic-district or design-review overlay applicable to residential rooftop solar -- neither mentions one; could not independently confirm whether Old Town Camarillo carries a historic overlay district from a primary planning-code source (Municode's Camarillo library is a client-side Angular shell that returns no content to a plain fetch or its own API without an authenticated session).
https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/departments/community_development/zoning/index.php
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe Structural Criteria worksheet treats wind exposure (B/C/D) and design wind speed as prescriptive ASSUMPTIONS baked into its anchor-spacing tables rather than requiring a separate windstorm certification document; if those assumptions are not met, the fallback is a stamped structural engineer calculation (same path as any other structural exception), not a distinct wind certificate.
structural criteria worksheet checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Solar%20Struc%20Criteria.pdf
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No -- for a standard eligible residential rooftop or compliant ground-mount install, only an administrative Zone Clearance and a Building & Safety permit are required; there is no Council or Specific-Use-Permit step referenced in any of the city's own PV-specific documents.
Why the confidence is not higherAbsence checked against the PV Systems handout and the Eligibility Checklist, the city's own full lists of requirements for residential PV.
department handout (OCR'd, image-only PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Photovoltaic%20Solar%20Systems.pdf
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No hard ordinance cap found on residential system size; the SolarAPP+ automated-permitting path is capped at 10 kW AC (CEC rating) per the city's own Solar Eligibility Checklist -- systems above that, or with battery storage or a main panel upgrade, are routed to the standard (non-automated) permit process rather than being barred.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Solar Photovoltaic Permitting, General Requirements item A; Building & Safety page SolarAPP+ paragraph.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Solar%20Eligibility%20checklist.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (as the 2025 California Electrical Code, Title 24 Part 3) 55% · inference (state code cycle; local ordinance unreadable)
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code / California Residential Code (Title 24 Parts 2 and 2.5), statewide cycle effective 1 Jan 2026 50% · structural criteria worksheet (stale code-cycle citation)
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (with Appendix Chapters D and P), plus portions of the 2024 IFC, the 2025 California WUI Code, the 2024 IWUIC and Title 19 CCR 95% · adopting ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 85% · adopting ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC (Title 24) as adopted statewide, the 2025 California Fire Code as locally amended by VCFD Ordinance 34, and the city's own Structural Criteria / Eligibility Checklist worksheets for the prescriptive/expedited path. 70% · composite / ordinance + handout
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Clear access pathways are required and checked at submittal (Eligibility Checklist, Fire Safety Requirement A: 'Clear access pathways provided'), but neither the checklist, the PV handout, nor VCFD Ordinance 34 restates specific ridge-setback/pathway-width dimensions -- VCFD's ordinance does not amend CFC 605.11 (rooftop PV access), so the unamended 2025 CFC model-code pathway/setback figures would govern, but that text itself was not independently re-verified. 55% · checklist + ordinance cross-check
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown is required as a matter of the adopted NEC (NEC 690.12, carried through whichever edition applies -- inferred to be the 2023 NEC per the 2025 CEC cycle); no Camarillo-specific document was found that separately restates or modifies the rapid-shutdown requirement. 50% · inference
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Required markings/labels per the fire code are checked at submittal and inspection ('All required markings and labels are provided' and 'Fire classification solar system is provided' -- Eligibility Checklist, Fire Safety Requirements B-C), but no Camarillo- or VCFD-specific placard list beyond the state-model 2025 CFC marking requirements was found. 60% · checklist
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 65% · ordinance + handouts (absence checked)
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Yes -- a roof plan/diagram is required showing 'the roof layout of all panels, modules, clear access pathways and approximate locations of electrical disconnecting means and roof access points' (Eligibility Checklist Fire Safety Requirement D); the Structural Criteria worksheet separately requires 'a roof plan of the module and anchor layout' (Solar Array Check E). 82% · checklist + structural worksheet
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? No 62% · department handout (OCR'd, image-only PDF)
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Batteries are NOT eligible under the automated SolarAPP+ path ('Systems including Main Panel Upgrades, and Battery Storage are not currently eligible' -- Building & Safety page; Eligibility Checklist General Requirement D: system must be 'utility interactive and without battery storage'), but ARE permitted through the standard (non-automated) permit process. Residential battery/ESS installs are then subject to a VCFD-specific 'Energy Storage Systems - UL9450A Test Review (Residential Only)' fee, distinct from the PV-only path. 85% · fee schedule + department page + checklist
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes 90% · fee schedule
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes 80% · department handout (OCR'd, image-only PDF)
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Yes -- for the expedited/SolarAPP+ path, the PV system must interconnect to a single-phase 120/240V service panel with a bus-bar rating of 225A or less (Eligibility Checklist, Electrical Requirements item B). A separate 'Service Panel Upgrade' fee line exists on the fee schedule for jobs that exceed this and need an upgrade. 85% · checklist
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Yes -- flush-mounted arrays must sit 2-10 inches off the roof surface, not overhang roof edges, weigh no more than 4 psf (PV) or 5 psf (thermal), and meet prescriptive maximum horizontal anchor-spacing tables keyed to roof slope and rafter spacing (Table 1) and maximum rafter span tables (Table 2); anything outside those tables requires stamped engineering. 92% · structural criteria worksheet
20 questions answered against City of Camarillo’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC (as the 2025 California Electrical Code, Title 24 Part 3)
Why the confidence is not higherINFERENCE: California's 2025 Title 24 code cycle (based on the 2023 NEC) took effect statewide 1 Jan 2026. Camarillo's own adopting ordinance (Municipal Code building/electrical title) could not be read -- Municode's library.municode.com is a client-side Angular app that returns an empty shell to a plain fetch and its own /api endpoints return 401 without an authenticated session -- so local amendment status is unconfirmed. Per CA AB130 (Stats. 2025 Ch. 22), the city cannot have adopted a MORE restrictive residential amendment for the 2025-2031 window in any case.
inference (state code cycle; local ordinance unreadable) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.municode.com/library/ca/camarillo/
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code / California Residential Code (Title 24 Parts 2 and 2.5), statewide cycle effective 1 Jan 2026
Why the confidence is not higherINFERENCE for the same reason as NEC (Municode shell empty/gated). Notably, the city's own current Structural Criteria PDF for residential PV still states it is based on 'the 2013 California Building Code (CBC) and 2013 California Residential Code (CRC)' -- an unresolved contradiction between a live, in-use city handout and the current statewide code cycle, being reported rather than silently corrected.
structural criteria worksheet (stale code-cycle citation) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Solar%20Struc%20Criteria.pdf
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (with Appendix Chapters D and P), plus portions of the 2024 IFC, the 2025 California WUI Code, the 2024 IWUIC and Title 19 CCR
Why the confidence is not higherVentura County Fire Protection District Ordinance No. 34, Article 1, adopting the 2025 CFC by reference, repealing prior Ordinances 29 and 32.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Ordinance-34.pdf
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherVCFD Ordinance 34 amends multiple CFC sections relevant to PV/ESS: 604.7.4 (freestanding PV clearance -- 10ft/30ft rules), 1205.5.1 (vegetation control under ground-mount arrays), and 106.1 (exempts Group R-3 from pre-permit Fire District plan submittal). Building/electrical-side local amendments beyond a general Plumbing Code amendment on file could not be independently confirmed (Municode gated).
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Ordinance-34.pdf
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC (Title 24) as adopted statewide, the 2025 California Fire Code as locally amended by VCFD Ordinance 34, and the city's own Structural Criteria / Eligibility Checklist worksheets for the prescriptive/expedited path.
Why the confidence is not higherComposite of VCFD Ordinance 34 and the city's Structural Criteria and Eligibility Checklist handouts.
composite / ordinance + handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Solar%20Struc%20Criteria.pdf
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Yes -- for the expedited/SolarAPP+ path, the PV system must interconnect to a single-phase 120/240V service panel with a bus-bar rating of 225A or less (Eligibility Checklist, Electrical Requirements item B). A separate 'Service Panel Upgrade' fee line exists on the fee schedule for jobs that exceed this and need an upgrade.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Eligibility Checklist, Electrical Requirements B; Fee Schedule Exhibit F item 22.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Solar%20Eligibility%20checklist.pdf
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Yes -- flush-mounted arrays must sit 2-10 inches off the roof surface, not overhang roof edges, weigh no more than 4 psf (PV) or 5 psf (thermal), and meet prescriptive maximum horizontal anchor-spacing tables keyed to roof slope and rafter spacing (Table 1) and maximum rafter span tables (Table 2); anything outside those tables requires stamped engineering.
Why the confidence is not higherStructural Criteria for Residential Rooftop Solar Energy Installations, Solar Array Checks section and Tables 1-2.
structural criteria worksheet checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Solar%20Struc%20Criteria.pdf
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Clear access pathways are required and checked at submittal (Eligibility Checklist, Fire Safety Requirement A: 'Clear access pathways provided'), but neither the checklist, the PV handout, nor VCFD Ordinance 34 restates specific ridge-setback/pathway-width dimensions -- VCFD's ordinance does not amend CFC 605.11 (rooftop PV access), so the unamended 2025 CFC model-code pathway/setback figures would govern, but that text itself was not independently re-verified.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Eligibility Checklist Fire Safety Requirements; cross-checked VCFD Ordinance 34 for a 605.11 amendment and found none.
checklist + ordinance cross-check checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Solar%20Eligibility%20checklist.pdf
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Rapid shutdown is required as a matter of the adopted NEC (NEC 690.12, carried through whichever edition applies -- inferred to be the 2023 NEC per the 2025 CEC cycle); no Camarillo-specific document was found that separately restates or modifies the rapid-shutdown requirement.
Why the confidence is not higherINFERENCE from the state code-cycle finding at Q29; no local document (PV handout, Eligibility Checklist, VCFD Ordinance 34) mentions rapid shutdown by name.
inference checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Solar%20Eligibility%20checklist.pdf
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Required markings/labels per the fire code are checked at submittal and inspection ('All required markings and labels are provided' and 'Fire classification solar system is provided' -- Eligibility Checklist, Fire Safety Requirements B-C), but no Camarillo- or VCFD-specific placard list beyond the state-model 2025 CFC marking requirements was found.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Eligibility Checklist, Fire Safety Requirements B-C.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Solar%20Eligibility%20checklist.pdf
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherChecked the PV Systems handout, the Eligibility Checklist, the Structural Criteria worksheet, and VCFD Ordinance 34's Chapter 12 (Energy Systems) amendments -- none prescribes the city's or district's own placard wording; all reference compliance with code-required markings generically.
ordinance + handouts (absence checked) checked 2026-08-30 https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Ordinance-34.pdf
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the PV handout, Eligibility Checklist, Structural Criteria worksheet and VCFD Ordinance 34 (including its Chapter 12 Energy Systems amendments) for letter height, colour or material specifications for solar placards -- none found in any Camarillo- or VCFD-published document.
https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Ordinance-34.pdf
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes -- a roof plan/diagram is required showing 'the roof layout of all panels, modules, clear access pathways and approximate locations of electrical disconnecting means and roof access points' (Eligibility Checklist Fire Safety Requirement D); the Structural Criteria worksheet separately requires 'a roof plan of the module and anchor layout' (Solar Array Check E).
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Eligibility Checklist, Fire Safety Requirements D; Structural Criteria worksheet, Solar Array Checks E.
checklist + structural worksheet checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Solar%20Eligibility%20checklist.pdf
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's own Electrical Service Requirements distribution manual is linked from sce.com/regulatory/distribution-manuals/electrical-service-requirements but the linked SharePoint share (edisonintl.sharepoint.com/:b:/t/Public/Misc/...) redirects to a Microsoft OAuth login (login.microsoftonline.com/.../oauth2/authorize...) for both the plain URL and with '&download=1' / '?download=1' appended -- unlike the sister-agent's successful route, this specific share stayed gated. on.sce.com/InterconnectionHandbook likewise redirects to the same Microsoft login.
https://www.sce.com/regulatory/distribution-manuals/electrical-service-requirements
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame SharePoint gate as Q42 -- SCE's Electrical Service Requirements manual (which would specify utility label placement) could not be downloaded; redirects to Microsoft login every time.
https://www.sce.com/regulatory/distribution-manuals/electrical-service-requirements
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo Camarillo- or VCFD-specific 'approved equipment list' was found; the requirement is a general UL-listing standard (UL 1703 for modules, UL 1741 for inverters -- PV handout item 6), not a city-curated approved-products list.
department handout (OCR'd, image-only PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Photovoltaic%20Solar%20Systems.pdf
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Batteries are NOT eligible under the automated SolarAPP+ path ('Systems including Main Panel Upgrades, and Battery Storage are not currently eligible' -- Building & Safety page; Eligibility Checklist General Requirement D: system must be 'utility interactive and without battery storage'), but ARE permitted through the standard (non-automated) permit process. Residential battery/ESS installs are then subject to a VCFD-specific 'Energy Storage Systems - UL9450A Test Review (Residential Only)' fee, distinct from the PV-only path.
Why the confidence is not higherCity Building & Safety SolarAPP+ notice; Eligibility Checklist General Requirement D; VCFD FY2026-27 Fee Schedule, Miscellaneous Fees section.
fee schedule + department page + checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/Fee-Schedule-2026-2027.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherVCFD FY2026-27 Fee Schedule lists a dedicated 'Energy Storage Systems - UL9450A Test Review (Residential Only)' fee ($352) separate from any PV review, plus a general 'Energy Storage Systems' operational-permit fee ($704) and a New-Construction-form ESS fee ($572); the city's own Exhibit F fee schedule also carries a separate 'Energy Storage Systems' line (Item 5, $206 first unit).
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/Fee-Schedule-2026-2027.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherPV handout item 9: 'Ground-Mounted Installation -- Requires engineering to reflect proper footings,' treating it as a structure requiring foundation engineering. VCFD Ordinance 34 also imposes structure-like clearance rules on freestanding PV arrays (604.7.4: 10ft/30ft clearances by array size, 20ft cluster separation).
department handout (OCR'd, image-only PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Photovoltaic%20Solar%20Systems.pdf
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame SharePoint gate as Q42/Q43 -- SCE's Electrical Service Requirements manual, which would specify AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter, redirects to a Microsoft login and could not be read.
https://www.sce.com/regulatory/distribution-manuals/electrical-service-requirements
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal 85% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Yes -- AM/PM windows: Morning Inspections 9:00 AM-12:00 PM, Afternoon Inspections 1:00 PM-4:00 PM. Same-day inspections are implicitly available since the page instructs callers to cancel 'same day inspections' by phone to avoid a re-inspection fee. 90% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 88% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? Ventura County Fire Protection District (VCFD) -- but only for commercial PV and for residential battery/ESS systems (UL9450A test/inspection); standard residential PV-only installs are not delegated to VCFD for final inspection. 75% · fee schedule + ordinance
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? A single Photovoltaic Electrical Permit final inspection is the documented stage for a standard PV-only array (no separate rough-in stage described in the city's own PV handout); a service-panel-upgrade or battery/ESS component adds its own inspection tied to that separate permit fee line. 55% · department handout (OCR'd, image-only PDF)
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes 75% · checklist
- What must be on site at inspection? UL listings for the inverter and module (UL1741/UL1703), the approved/stamped plans (including any structural engineering calculations where required), and the completed Eligibility Checklist or Structural Criteria worksheet with job address, contractor license number and class filled in. 68% · structural worksheet + handout
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes 78% · checklist
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final 55% · inference
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer 55% · inference (utility manual gated)
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $146 (Missed Inspection / Excess Re-Inspection Fee, up from $56) -- a general fee applying to any permit type including PV, per the Fee Schedule. 85% · fee schedule
14 questions answered against City of Camarillo’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Request page routes permits issued on/after 7/1/25 (ZCBP-prefixed) to the OpenGov online scheduler, and pre-7/1/25 permits to a legacy online link; phone (805-388-5395/5383) is offered mainly for same-day cancellations to avoid a re-inspection fee, not as the primary booking channel.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/departments/building___safety/inspection_request.php
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Inspection Request page and the Building & Safety index page for a stated minimum lead time (business days) to book an inspection -- neither publishes one; the page only discusses same-day cancellation policy.
https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/departments/building___safety/inspection_request.php
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Yes -- AM/PM windows: Morning Inspections 9:00 AM-12:00 PM, Afternoon Inspections 1:00 PM-4:00 PM. Same-day inspections are implicitly available since the page instructs callers to cancel 'same day inspections' by phone to avoid a re-inspection fee.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Division page, Inspection Hours.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/departments/building___safety/index.php
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Division (city dept, staffed by contracted Charles Abbott Associates personnel in City Hall) performs the city's own final building/electrical inspections; VCFD only performs a fire-side inspection for commercial PV and residential ESS, not a standard residential PV-only final.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/departments/building___safety/index.php
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Ventura County Fire Protection District (VCFD) -- but only for commercial PV and for residential battery/ESS systems (UL9450A test/inspection); standard residential PV-only installs are not delegated to VCFD for final inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherVCFD FY2026-27 Fee Schedule (Commercial Photovoltaic Systems and residential ESS UL9450A line items); VCFD Ordinance 34 Section 106.1 exempting R-3 from Fire District plan submittal.
fee schedule + ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/Fee-Schedule-2026-2027.pdf
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
A single Photovoltaic Electrical Permit final inspection is the documented stage for a standard PV-only array (no separate rough-in stage described in the city's own PV handout); a service-panel-upgrade or battery/ESS component adds its own inspection tied to that separate permit fee line.
Why the confidence is not higherPV Systems handout and Fee Schedule Exhibit F line items (Photovoltaic, Service Panel Upgrade, Energy Storage Systems each priced/permitted as distinct items).
department handout (OCR'd, image-only PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Photovoltaic%20Solar%20Systems.pdf
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the PV Systems handout and the Inspection Request page for a rough-in or mid-roof inspection requirement specific to PV -- neither mentions one.
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherEligibility Checklist Fire Safety Requirement C: 'All required markings and labels are provided' is one of the items checked as part of the (self-certified, then inspected) eligibility package; PV handout item 6 requires UL listings for inverter/module to be submitted and thus available for field verification.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Solar%20Eligibility%20checklist.pdf
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city publishes both a Solar Eligibility Checklist and a Structural Criteria worksheet as standing, fillable documents used to check a submittal/installation against prescriptive requirements -- functioning as the published inspection/plan checklist for residential PV.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Solar%20Eligibility%20checklist.pdf
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
UL listings for the inverter and module (UL1741/UL1703), the approved/stamped plans (including any structural engineering calculations where required), and the completed Eligibility Checklist or Structural Criteria worksheet with job address, contractor license number and class filled in.
Why the confidence is not higherPV Systems handout item 6; Structural Criteria worksheet's signature block (Job Address, Contractor/Installer, License # & Class).
structural worksheet + handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/Departments/Building%20%26%20Safety/handouts/Solar%20Struc%20Criteria.pdf
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$146 (Missed Inspection / Excess Re-Inspection Fee, up from $56) -- a general fee applying to any permit type including PV, per the Fee Schedule.
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Camarillo Master Fee Schedule Exhibit F, Item 39, 'Missed Inspection/Excess Re-Inspection Fee,' effective 7/1/25.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/CC%20RESOLUTION%202025-11.pdf
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Inspection Request page and the Building & Safety index page for a description of how corrections are issued/documented and cleared (e.g. correction notice, re-inspection process) -- neither publishes a procedural description beyond the re-inspection fee itself.
https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/departments/building___safety/inspection_request.php
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final
Why the confidence is not higherINFERENCE: no Camarillo document was found stating the exact term used on pass (e.g. 'Final,' 'Green tag'); the OpenGov permit workflow and PV handout describe a pass/fail final inspection without naming the sign-off document.
inference checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/departments/building___safety/index.php
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer
Why the confidence is not higherINFERENCE from general SCE/CA NEM practice, not a Camarillo-specific document: the installer typically submits proof of the AHJ's passed final inspection to SCE to trigger Permission to Operate. SCE's own interconnection manual is gated (see Q42/Q48) so this could not be confirmed from SCE's own material.
inference (utility manual gated) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sce.com/clean-energy-efficiency/solar-generating-your-own-power
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Camarillo against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Camarillo is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and electrical -- City of Camarillo Building & Safety Division (a city department whose permitting/inspection/plan-check functions are operated under a services contract by Charles Abbott Associates, Inc. of Mission Viejo). Zoning/Zone Clearance is separately held by the city's Community Development Department. Fire/life-safety review and inspection is delegated to the Ventura County Fire Protection District (VCFD), confirmed by name and by 4 in-city stations on the city's own Fire Department page -- but VCFD's own FY2026-27 fee schedule and Ordinance 34 (Sec. 106.1) show Group R-3 (single-family) is EXEMPT from Fire District plan submittal, and only a 'Commercial Photovoltaic Systems' review fee exists for PV -- so VCFD is not a practical gate for standard residential PV-only jobs, only for commercial PV and for residential battery/ESS (its own UL9450A test-review fee applies there).
- Delegated to
- Ventura County Fire Protection District (fire/life-safety review and inspection; commercial PV and residential ESS only)
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code Section 65850.52 (SolarAPP+ automated permitting -- city's own Eligibility Checklist caps the automated path at 10kW AC, excludes battery storage and main panel upgrades); CA AB130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) freezing more-restrictive local residential building-code amendments 1 Oct 2025-1 Jun 2031.
- Why not higher
- City's Building & Safety page states it 'provides permitting, inspection and plan check services for the city' and independently publishes solar-specific handouts (PV Systems, Eligibility Checklist, Structural Criteria). The Fire Department page names VCFD directly with 4 Camarillo station addresses. VCFD's own Ordinance 34 and fee schedule show the R-3 exemption from fire plan review and the commercial-only PV review fee, which materially narrows VCFD's practical role for residential rooftop PV to almost nothing except battery/ESS.
https://www.cityofcamarillo.org/departments/building___safety/index.php
- Permit required
- Yes97%
- Permit cost
- $450 flat for residential up to 15 kW, plus $15 per additional kW over 15 kW (Fee Schedule Exhibit F, Item 16, 'Photovoltaic (Solar) - per GC 66015,' effective 7/1/25;80%
- Portal
- OpenGov (camarilloca.portal.opengov.com) for standard applications, plan submission, payment, inspection scheduling and business tax;92%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC (as the 2025 California Electrical Code, Title 24 Part 3)55%
- Own placard wording
- No65%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal85%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 65%
No
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.