City of Chowchilla

Madera County

Verified Aug. 4, 2026

City of Chowchilla is a city authority in the State of California, serving 19,039 residents. 1,788 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — 3 business days Q18 Where you file — SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org) Q20

Permit required
Yes95% source
What it costs
$300.00 flat, plus a $150.00 deposit90% source
Plan review turnaround
3 business days90% source
Key document
municipal code cited by 5 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · municipal code
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 75% · department page
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · municipal code
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 65% · permit application form
    • Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 88% · municipal code
    • Is there a historic-district review? Ambiguous / inference 50% · municipal code
    • Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 78% · municipal code
    • Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Only if the Building Official makes a written finding of a 'specific, adverse impact' on public health/safety 85% · municipal code
    • Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal (codified 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' cap, AB 2188-era) 90% · municipal code
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

    • Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 88% · municipal code
    • Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 60% · department page
    • Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 90% · municipal code
  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org) 92% · department page
    • Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 82% · department page
    • What does a residential solar permit cost? $300.00 flat, plus a $150.00 deposit 90% · fee schedule
    • How is the fee calculated? Flat 85% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate plan-check fee? No 75% · fee schedule
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

    • What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 3 business days 90% · municipal code
    • How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 60 days to commence work; permit becomes void if work is suspended/abandoned for 180 days 78% · municipal code
    • Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) 92% · general plan (city document)
    • Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel, with PTO gated on the AHJ's final inspection 68% · utility tariff

28 questions answered against City of Chowchilla’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own codified Municipal Code vests building, electrical and fire code adoption/enforcement in the City (MC Ch. 15.06 Building, 15.08 Electrical, 15.12 Fire, 15.50 solar-specific), and the Building and Fire Department pages confirm in-house staff.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.06CABUCO

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both

Why the confidence is not higherMC Ch. 15.06/15.08 vest building official/building inspector authority in the City; Building Division page names an in-house 'Senior Building Inspector' and states permits are issued/inspected in-house. However the Building page's own text — 'Depending on the level of necessary review, the City's currently approved contracted firm may evaluate this task' — flags that SOME plan check may be referred to an outside firm; no firm is named anywhere found (staff directory, fee schedule appendix, budget), so this is reported as a partial/unconfirmed delegation, not full delegation.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofchowchilla.org/157/Building

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.50.030(A): 'This chapter applies to the permitting of all small residential rooftop solar energy systems in the city.' Standard building/electrical permit required for any PV install.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Building Permit Application (DocumentCenter/View/3462) lists 'PV Solar' as its own checkbox in the 'Type of Permit' grid, separate from but alongside an 'Electrical' checkbox; in practice a solar job is applied for as a single 'PV Solar' permit covering the associated electrical work, not as two separate permit filings. No fee-schedule line separates a PV electrical permit from the PV building permit ($300 residential PV line bundles processing, plan review and inspection).

permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofchowchilla.org/DocumentCenter/View/3462

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.08.230: permits issued to (A) owner of a single-family dwelling who qualifies under subsection B (owner-occupied, detached, all work by owner, affidavit filed), (B) plant/master electrician, (C) government agencies, or (D) state-licensed contractors whose license includes electrical authorization.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.08ELCO

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherMC Title 5 / City's own Business License page: 'Any person conducting business within the Chowchilla city limits must have a City of Chowchilla Business License... It is unlawful to operate a business within the City of Chowchilla without a license.' This is a general business-license requirement, not a solar- or building-specific contractor pre-registration list, so confidence is reduced — no evidence of a separate Building Division contractor-registration step beyond the state license number field on the permit application.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofchowchilla.org/285/City-Business-License

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.08.230(B): the owner of a single-family dwelling may obtain the permit and do all work themselves, provided the dwelling is owner-occupied, detached, has no other dwelling unit, and the owner files an affidavit. The City's own Building Permit Application form also has an '[ ] Owner/Builder' checkbox.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.08ELCO

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedMC 15.50.060(D)-(E) requires the City to 'adopt a standard plan and checklist of all requirements' substantially conforming to the CA Solar Permitting Guidebook; checked the Building page (/157/Building), the SolarAPP+ page (/426), and site search for 'solar checklist'/'photovoltaic checklist' — no such city-published checklist or standard plan exists anywhere on cityofchowchilla.org. The only submittal document found is the generic Building Permit Application (DocumentCenter/View/3462), which is not solar-specific.

https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q8 — no dedicated solar submittal instructions found specifying number of copies or format (paper vs. digital) for a non-SolarAPP+ submittal.

https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q8 — no published site-plan content requirement specific to solar found; general Building Permit Application does not specify site-plan contents.

https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherNot stated in Chowchilla's own general submittal materials (MC 15.08.240(C) requires electrical plans/single-line diagrams only for commercial, industrial, and 5+-unit apartment installations — residential SFD is not listed). However the City's residential solar path runs through SolarAPP+, whose national platform requires a one-line diagram as part of every application it processes (per SolarAPP+'s own published eligibility/submittal standards). Reduced confidence because this is the national platform's requirement, not a Chowchilla-specific written rule.

department page / national platform standard checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofchowchilla.org/426/SolarAPP-Residential-Solar-Permitting

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherNot addressed in Chowchilla's own code. SolarAPP+, the City's designated residential solar portal, performs 'comprehensive code-compliance checks' as part of its automated review, which functionally requires string/conductor sizing inputs. Inference from the national platform, not a local written requirement.

department page / national platform standard checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofchowchilla.org/426/SolarAPP-Residential-Solar-Permitting

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked MC Ch. 15.06 (California Building Code adoption chapter), MC 15.50 (solar chapter) and the Building Permit Application — none states a structural PE-stamp threshold specific to PV; the application form has an optional 'Architect or Engineer Name/License Number' field but no stated trigger.

https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.06CABUCO

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q13 — no electrical PE-stamp threshold stated anywhere in MC Ch. 15.08 (Electrical Code) or the solar chapter.

https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.08ELCO

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

$300.00 flat, plus a $150.00 deposit

Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule FY2026-27 (approved by Council Resolution #38-26, 23 Jun 2026; PDF dated/printed 24 Jul 2026), Building Permit Fees — Miscellaneous Permits/Fees table: 'Residential Photovoltaic Solar System $300.00 (56.00 x 1.5 hours processing + 84.00 x 3 hours for inspection and plan review) $150.00 Deposit Required to be submitted For Residential Solar Systems.' (Note: the internal hourly build-up shown, 1.5hrs@$56 + 3hrs@$84 = $336, does not arithmetically equal the stated $300 headline figure — reported as written, not corrected.) A separate $150 fee applies when solar is installed concurrently with a new single-family dwelling (same schedule, New SFD Permit Fees notes, item V).

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofchowchilla.org/DocumentCenter/View/3678

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Flat

Why the confidence is not higherSame fee-schedule line reads as a single flat dollar figure ($300.00) rather than a per-kW, per-panel or valuation-based charge.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofchowchilla.org/DocumentCenter/View/3678

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

No

Why the confidence is not higherThe $300 residential PV line in the Master Fee Schedule is a single bundled figure explicitly built from processing + inspection + plan-review hours ('1.5 hours processing + 3 hours for inspection and plan review'); there is no separate stand-alone plan-check fee line for residential PV elsewhere in the schedule.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofchowchilla.org/DocumentCenter/View/3678

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

3 business days

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.50.060(A): 'The city's building department shall issue a building permit or other nondiscretionary permit within three business days of receipt of a complete application that meets the requirements of the approved checklist and standard plan.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

60 days to commence work; permit becomes void if work is suspended/abandoned for 180 days

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.08.300 (Electrical Code, Permit—Expiration): 'If the work authorized by a permit required by this chapter is not commenced within a period of sixty days after issuance, or if the work authorized by such permit is suspended or abandoned at any time after the work is commenced for a period of one hundred eighty days, the permit shall become void.' No solar-specific override found; this is the City's own local electrical-permit expiration rule and residential PV permits are processed as electrical/PV Solar permits.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.08ELCO

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org)

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own dedicated page: 'SolarAPP+ Residential Solar Permitting' — 'Submit Solar/Photovoltaic design at SolarAPP+... you will be given access to the application for the City of Chowchilla.' Non-eligible/other building permits are submitted by email/mail/in person, not through an online portal.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofchowchilla.org/426/SolarAPP-Residential-Solar-Permitting

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherFor SolarAPP+-eligible systems, the entire application (registration, contractor-license upload, design submittal, automated plan review, and issuance of the SolarAPP+ ID/job card) is completed online per the City's own SolarAPP+ page. Inspection scheduling itself is by phone (559-665-8615 x787), and non-SolarAPP+-eligible/other building permits go by email, mail or in person — so 'whole application online' is true only for the SolarAPP+ track.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofchowchilla.org/426/SolarAPP-Residential-Solar-Permitting

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)

Why the confidence is not higherCity of Chowchilla 2040 General Plan, Public Facilities and Services Element (adopted; document dated/printed 10 Oct 2023, still the live linked version as of Aug 2026): 'NATURAL GAS AND ELECTRIC SERVICES — Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E) provides natural gas and electricity to [the City of Chowchilla] and surrounding area... supplied from PG&E's inter-grid systems serving the State of California.' Corroborated by the General Plan's Public Safety Element (DocumentCenter/View/3937) naming two PG&E high-voltage transmission corridors through the planning area. No CCA/Community Choice Aggregation program found serving Chowchilla (site search for 'aggregation' and '3CE' returned zero results, against a working search engine confirmed by a 'zzqqx' fabricated-term null result).

general plan (city document) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofchowchilla.org/DocumentCenter/View/3361

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

Parallel, with PTO gated on the AHJ's final inspection

Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21 (tariff), §D.13.b: Permission to Operate (PTO) for NEM/NBT systems is processed only after receipt of, among other things, 'evidence of Applicant's final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority having jurisdiction' — so the utility interconnection application can be filed in parallel with the City permit/construction process, but PTO itself cannot be granted until the City's final inspection has passed. This is the utility's own statewide tariff, not a Chowchilla-specific document; no Chowchilla-specific sequencing statement was found.

utility tariff checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.50.060(F): 'The city shall not condition approval of an application on the approval of an association, as defined in California Civil Code section 4080.' Separately, MC 18.72.020(A)(3)(a) exempts 'the erection or alteration of one-family dwellings and related accessory buildings or structures' from the City's discretionary Site Plan Review process entirely, so no city architectural review is triggered either.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

Ambiguous / inference

Why the confidence is not higherMC Ch. 18.48 (Heritage Preservation) is a citywide ordinance requiring review of 'construction, demolition, relocation, or material change' to a designated heritage resource or heritage resource district (§18.48.060), with no solar-specific carve-out found (control-checked: 0 'solar' hits in the chapter). It would only reach a PV installation on a property actually designated as a heritage resource — no evidence found of how many, if any, single-family residential parcels carry that designation, so this is reported as a real but narrow-scope requirement rather than a blanket 'no'.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT18ZO_CH18.48HEPR

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherControl-checked absence: grepped the full text of MC Ch. 15.06 (Building), 15.08 (Electrical) and 15.12 (Fire Prevention Code, including its local amendments at 15.12.120) for 'wind' — zero true hits (the only 'wind' substring hits found elsewhere in the code are 'window/windows', unrelated). No windstorm-certification requirement found anywhere in the City's own code.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.12FIPRCO

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

Only if the Building Official makes a written finding of a 'specific, adverse impact' on public health/safety

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.50.060(A): 'A building official may require an applicant to apply for a use permit if the official finds, based on substantial evidence, that the solar energy system could have a specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety. Such decisions may be appealed to the city's planning commission.' Otherwise, no discretionary permit (SUP/CUP/Council approval) is required for a small residential rooftop system.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal (codified 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' cap, AB 2188-era)

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.50.020(B)(1): a 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' is defined as, among other things, 'a solar energy system that is no larger than ten kilowatts alternating current nameplate rating or thirty kilowatts thermal.' This cap gates eligibility for the expedited/3-business-day process under this chapter (15.50.060); it is not confirmed whether the City's SolarAPP+ implementation uses a higher national eligibility ceiling (e.g. 38.4 kW AC, seen elsewhere) since that figure sits behind SolarAPP+'s own login-gated jurisdiction configuration and was not independently verifiable in this run.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC, via the 2025 California Electrical Code (statewide, effective 1 Jan 2026) 78% · municipal code
    • Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (current statewide 2025 cycle, effective 1 Jan 2026) 78% · municipal code
    • Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (current statewide cycle) 78% · municipal code
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes, but not PV/ESS-specific 90% · municipal code
    • What is the installation judged against? The currently-adopted Title 24 codes (CBC/CRC, CEC, CFC, per MC 15.04.170/15.06/15.08/15.12), plus MC Ch. 15.50's own performance standards 80% · municipal code
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    Nothing recorded for City of Chowchilla on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    • Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes — PG&E's own Rule 21 requires a visible AC/interconnection disconnect 65% · utility tariff
    • Where must the labels be placed? Not specified by the City; PG&E Rule 21 requires the disconnect be visible/accessible 24/7 but does not give a Chowchilla-specific placement distance 55% · utility tariff
  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Utility-side rule only (no Chowchilla-specific location rule found): PG&E requires a visible, accessible disconnect, but not a fixed distance from the meter 60% · utility tariff
    • Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 85% · municipal code
    • Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Not addressed locally; batteries fall outside MC Ch. 15.50's scope 55% · municipal code (absence)
    • Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes, by inference 60% · municipal code (inference)
    • Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No 82% · municipal code

20 questions answered against City of Chowchilla’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2023 NEC, via the 2025 California Electrical Code (statewide, effective 1 Jan 2026)

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.08.010 adopts 'the currently adopted California Electrical Code' by a floating (non-year-specific) reference, and MC 15.04.170 (omnibus Title 24 adoption clause, last amended by Ord. No. 517-23, 28 Nov 2023) likewise adopts 'the current version of California Code of Regulations Title 24... California Electrical Code... together with all appendices.' Because the reference floats, whichever edition the state has currently adopted applies automatically without a further local ordinance — currently the 2025 CEC (2023 NEC base), effective 1 Jan 2026 statewide. No fixed year is written into the local code text itself.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.08ELCO

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2025 California Building Code (current statewide 2025 cycle, effective 1 Jan 2026)

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.06.010 adopts 'the currently adopted California Building Code' by the same floating reference described in Q29, via the omnibus MC 15.04.170 Title 24 clause (last amended Ord. No. 517-23, 28 Nov 2023).

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.06CABUCO

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

2025 California Fire Code (current statewide cycle)

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.12.010 adopts 'the currently adopted California Fire Code' by the same floating reference, subject to the local amendments at 15.12.120 (last amended Ord. No. 517-23, 28 Nov 2023).

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.12FIPRCO

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Yes, but not PV/ESS-specific

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.12.120 amends CFC §§102.6, 104.1, 104.3.2, 106.6, 307.1.1, 506.1, 903.2, 903.3.1, 903.3.5.1, 906.1, 1104.7.7 and 1104.7.8 (historic buildings, cost recovery, inspection frequency/fees, open burning, Knox boxes, sprinkler thresholds, extinguisher rating, door hardware). None of these amendments mention solar, photovoltaic, battery or energy storage (control-checked: 0 hits for 'solar'/'photovoltaic'/'battery'/'690.12'/'1205' against a positive control of 94 hits for 'fire' and 0 for the fabricated term 'zzqqx'). MC Ch. 15.08 (Electrical) and 15.06 (Building) carry only administrative/enforcement-title amendments, no technical PV content.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.12FIPRCO

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

The currently-adopted Title 24 codes (CBC/CRC, CEC, CFC, per MC 15.04.170/15.06/15.08/15.12), plus MC Ch. 15.50's own performance standards

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.50.040(A)-(C): 'All solar energy systems shall meet applicable health and safety standards and requirements imposed by the state of California, city of Chowchilla, local fire department, and local utility districts... [and] all applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

No

Why the confidence is not higherControl-checked absence: grepped the full text of MC Ch. 15.08 (Electrical Code) for 'busbar'/'bus bar' and '690.12' — zero hits, against a document that is demonstrably live and current (last amended Ord. No. 517-23, 28 Nov 2023). No Palm-Springs-style busbar-sizing or attic-derating amendment found.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.08ELCO

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked MC Ch. 15.50 (solar chapter), Ch. 15.06 (Building), the Building page (/157/Building) and DocumentCenter search for a dedicated structural/mounting bulletin — none found. No published mounting-system or attachment-spacing requirement beyond the generic state-adopted CBC/CRC.

https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedControl-checked absence in MC 15.12.120 (Fire Code local amendments): 0 hits for 'ridge', 'setback', 'pathway' or '1205' against a positive control of 94 'fire' hits and 0 for the fabricated term 'zzqqx'. No local fire-pathway or ridge-setback rule exists; whatever the currently-adopted CFC's own unamended pathway/setback provisions require would apply by default, but that generic state text was not independently retrieved in this run.

https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.12FIPRCO

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Rapid shutdown applies via the statewide-adopted CEC (690.12); no local text found

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.50.040(C) requires PV systems to meet 'all applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code'; because MC 15.08.010 floating-adopts 'the currently adopted' CEC, the state's own 690.12 rapid-shutdown requirement (2025 CEC, based on 2023 NEC) applies by inheritance. No Chowchilla-specific rapid-shutdown text, edition citation, or exemption was found anywhere in the code (control-checked: 0 hits for 'rapid shutdown'/'690.12' in the Electrical and Fire chapters).

municipal code (inference from floating code adoption) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.08ELCO

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedControl-checked absence in MC 15.12.120 (Fire) and full-text review of MC 15.08 (Electrical) and 15.50 (solar) — no placard/label specification for the service equipment, disconnect, or DC conduit found anywhere in the code; no dedicated signage handout found on the Building or SolarAPP+ pages.

https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame review as Q38 — no city-specified placard wording found anywhere in the code.

https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame review as Q38 — no letter height/colour/material specification found anywhere in the code.

https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame review as Q38 — no facility-map/site-plan placard requirement found; only the generic 705.10 NEC default would apply, not independently retrieved in this run.

https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Yes — PG&E's own Rule 21 requires a visible AC/interconnection disconnect

Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21, §H.1.d 'Visible Disconnect Required': the utility requires a visible, lockable disconnecting means with open/closed position markings, reachable 24/7, shown on the single-line diagram — a utility-side signage requirement independent of anything Chowchilla itself specifies (which is nothing, per Q38-41). This is PG&E's statewide tariff, not a document unique to Chowchilla.

utility tariff checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Not specified by the City; PG&E Rule 21 requires the disconnect be visible/accessible 24/7 but does not give a Chowchilla-specific placement distance

Why the confidence is not higherSee Q42 — PG&E Rule 21 §H.1.d requires visibility/24-hour accessibility of the disconnect but Chowchilla's own code is silent on exact placement (no meter-proximity distance found in MC 15.08 or 15.50).

utility tariff checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.50.040(C): PV equipment must meet standards set by 'the California Electrical Code, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories,' i.e., equipment must be UL-listed / IEEE-conformant.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Not addressed locally; batteries fall outside MC Ch. 15.50's scope

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.50.020(B) defines the chapter's scope as a 'solar energy system' (PV or solar-thermal collection/generation) — it does not mention energy storage. Control-checked: 0 hits for 'battery'/'energy storage' in MC 15.12 (Fire, including its local amendments) and MC 15.08 (Electrical). No dedicated ESS ordinance, fee line, or handout exists; a residential battery would be permitted (if at all) under the generic, currently-adopted CRC/CFC ESS provisions with no local augmentation found.

municipal code (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked the Building Permit Application (DocumentCenter/View/3462) — its 'Type of Permit' checklist has boxes for 'PV Solar' and 'Electrical' but no separate 'Battery'/'ESS' box; checked MC 15.12 and 15.50 for a standalone ESS permit/inspection clause — none found.

https://www.cityofchowchilla.org/DocumentCenter/View/3462

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Yes, by inference

Why the confidence is not higherMC 18.98.020 defines 'Structure' broadly as 'anything constructed or built. An edifice or building of any kind, or any piece of work artificially built up or composed of parts joined together in some definite manner,' with no solar/PV carve-out found anywhere in Title 18 (Zoning) — control-checked: MC Ch. 18.08 Land Use Tables have 0 'solar' hits. No ground-mount-specific PV provision exists to confirm this explicitly, so it is reported as inference from the general 'Structure' definition rather than a stated rule.

municipal code (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT18ZO_CH18.98DETE

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Utility-side rule only (no Chowchilla-specific location rule found): PG&E requires a visible, accessible disconnect, but not a fixed distance from the meter

Why the confidence is not higherSee Q42/Q43 — PG&E Rule 21 §H.1.d. No Chowchilla ordinance addresses AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter.

utility tariff checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How is an inspection booked? Phone 88% · department page
    • How much notice is required? 2 business days 88% · municipal code
    • Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? A two-hour inspection window is offered (not stated as AM/PM specifically) 82% · municipal code
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

    • Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 95% · municipal code
    • If delegated, to whom? N/A — performed in-house by the City; not delegated 88% · municipal code
  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    • Which inspections are required, and in what order? A single, consolidated final inspection covering the whole system 85% · municipal code
    • Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 82% · municipal code
  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

    • What is issued on pass? Final (inspection approval/sign-off) 45% · municipal code (inference)
    • Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer (inferred) 50% · utility tariff (inference)
    • Is there a re-inspection fee? $112.00 per inspection hour 88% · fee schedule
    • How are corrections issued and cleared? A written correction notice detailing all deficiencies is sent to the applicant for resubmission 85% · municipal code

14 questions answered against City of Chowchilla’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Phone

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding page: 'To schedule a building inspection, please call 559-665-8615, extension 787.' Confirmed by MC 15.50.060(H): an inspection request triggers scheduling by the City ('An inspection will be scheduled within two business days of a request').

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofchowchilla.org/157/Building

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

2 business days

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.50.060(H): 'An inspection will be scheduled within two business days of a request and provide a two-hour inspection window.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

A two-hour inspection window is offered (not stated as AM/PM specifically)

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.50.060(H): '...and provide a two-hour inspection window.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.50.060(H): 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by the city for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

N/A — performed in-house by the City; not delegated

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.50.060(H) states the single inspection is 'performed by the city.' No delegation to a county, fire district, or third-party inspection firm was found for the final solar inspection.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

A single, consolidated final inspection covering the whole system

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.50.060(H)-(I): only one consolidated inspection is required and performed by the city; if the system fails, 'a subsequent inspection is authorized but need not conform to the requirements of this chapter' (i.e., the expedited one-inspection/2-business-day/2-hour-window guarantee applies only to the first attempt).

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

No

Why the confidence is not higherConsistent with MC 15.50.060(H)'s 'only one inspection shall be required' rule — no separate rough-in or mid-roof inspection stage is described.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedMC 15.50.060 describes the inspection as a pass/fail event but does not itemise what is checked (e.g., labels/listings specifically); no published inspection checklist exists (see Q57) to confirm this in writing.

https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

No

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.50.060(D)-(E) requires the City to adopt a standard plan/checklist, but no such document (which would presumably include an inspection checklist) is published anywhere on cityofchowchilla.org — checked the Building page, the SolarAPP+ page, and site search for 'solar checklist'/'photovoltaic checklist' (top results were the SolarAPP+ page itself, an unrelated EV-charging checklist, and a generic Development Application — no PV-specific checklist).

municipal code (absence) / department page checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

The approved SolarAPP+ inspection checklist and job card (for SolarAPP+-processed jobs)

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own SolarAPP+ page: 'After receiving SolarAPP+ approval, contractors must schedule inspections through the City of Chowchilla Community Development Department... The approved SolarAPP+ inspection checklist and job card must be available on-site during inspection.' No separate document-on-site requirement is stated for non-SolarAPP+ permits.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofchowchilla.org/426/SolarAPP-Residential-Solar-Permitting

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

$112.00 per inspection hour

Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule FY2026-27, Building Permit Fees: 'Re-inspection fees (All Permits) $112 per inspection hour ($56 x 0.5 hours processing + $84.00 x 1 hour).' Not solar-specific but applies to all permits, including PV.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofchowchilla.org/DocumentCenter/View/3678

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

A written correction notice detailing all deficiencies is sent to the applicant for resubmission

Why the confidence is not higherMC 15.50.060(G): 'If an application is deemed incomplete, a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies in the application and any additional information or documentation required to be eligible for expedited permit issuance shall be sent to the applicant for resubmission.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Final (inspection approval/sign-off)

Why the confidence is not higherNot explicitly named in Chowchilla's own code or fee schedule (no 'green tag'/'CO'/'Letter' terminology found); inferred as a standard 'Final' inspection approval consistent with the single-consolidated-inspection model in MC 15.50.060(H), typical of California residential-alteration permits which do not receive a separate Certificate of Occupancy.

municipal code (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/chowchilla_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_TIT15BUCO_CH15.50SMREROSOENSYREPR

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Installer (inferred)

Why the confidence is not higherNot stated by the City. Under PG&E's Rule 21 (§D.13.b), the PTO application (which must include evidence of the AHJ's final inspection clearance) is filed by the interconnection 'Applicant,' which in standard California practice is the installer/contractor rather than the City itself. No Chowchilla-specific statement was found confirming who submits the PTO paperwork.

utility tariff (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Chowchilla against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Chowchilla is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
Holds
building and electrical (in-house Building Division/Building Inspector); fire code adoption and enforcement held by the City's own Fire Department (Bureau of Fire Prevention, MC 15.12.030), which is organizationally a primarily-volunteer department staffed via a Memorandum of Agreement with the Chowchilla Volunteer Fire Department Association but whose Fire Chief is a city-appointed official (appointed by the city administrator per MC 15.12.030(B))
Overridden by
California AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) freezes any new more-restrictive local residential-code amendment 1 Oct 2025-1 Jun 2031; Gov. Code §§65850.5/.52/.55 govern the expedited/ministerial solar review process the City's own MC Ch. 15.50 implements; PG&E's Rule 21 governs interconnection/PTO sequencing independent of city process.
Why not higher
Chowchilla is an incorporated city with its own codified Building (Ch. 15.06), Electrical (Ch. 15.08) and Fire Prevention (Ch. 15.12) code chapters and its own AB2188-model residential-solar chapter (Ch. 15.50), all enforced by in-house City staff (named Senior Building Inspector; city-appointed Fire Chief). No delegation to Madera County or any contracted building-department firm was confirmed — though the Building Division's own webpage states plan review 'may' in some cases go to 'the City's currently approved contracted firm' (unnamed), which is reported as a partial/unconfirmed caveat, not a full delegation.

https://www.cityofchowchilla.org/157/Building

Permit required
Yes95%
Permit cost
$300.00 flat, plus a $150.00 deposit90%
Plan review
3 business days90%
Portal
SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org)92%
Electrical code
2023 NEC, via the 2025 California Electrical Code (statewide, effective 1 Jan 2026)78%
Booking an inspection
Phone88%
Labels & placards for this authority

Wording None%

Size, colour & material None%

Where they go 55%

Not specified by the City; PG&E Rule 21 requires the disconnect be visible/accessible 24/7 but does not give a Chowchilla-specific placement distance

What the utility wants on top 65%

Yes — PG&E's own Rule 21 requires a visible AC/interconnection disconnect

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Madera County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of Chowchilla · city
Solar Requirements
Authority Contact
Address
130 S 2nd Street, Chowchilla, CA 93610
Main Phone
(559) 665-8615
Building Department
Department
Community and Economic Development Department
Direct Phone
(559) 665-8615 ext. 787
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
phone
Request an inspection
Notes
Solar permits use SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org) — submit design, get automated approval with inspection checklist and job card, then call (559) 665-8615 ext. 787 to schedule the final inspection with the city. Have the approved SolarAPP+ inspection checklist and job card on-site during inspection; provide your SolarAPP+ ID when scheduling. Senior Building Inspector: Jerry Volkmar at ext. 407. Solar permitting info: https://cityofchowchilla.org/426/SolarAPP-Residential-Solar-Permitting (collected Jul 2026)