City of Clearlake
Lake County
City of Clearlake is a city authority in the State of California, serving 16,685 residents. 742 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — General (non-solar-specific) stated plan-review turnaround: 2-4 weeks initial review, ~1 week per re-check/revision cycle, Q18 Where you file — OpenGov Permitting & Licensing (clearlakeca.portal.opengov.com) Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $450 flat for a residential electrical (PV) system up to 15 kW AC, plus $15/kW over 15 kW; $450 flat for a residential thermal-solar system up to 10 kW, plus $15/kW over 10 kW.92% source
- Plan review turnaround
- General (non-solar-specific) stated plan-review turnaround: 2-4 weeks initial review, ~1 week per re-check/revision cycle, 1-2 weeks for payment/permit issuance -- roughly 4-8 weeks total.60% source
- Key document
- department handout cited by 6 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 92% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 85% · fee schedule
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 70% · fee schedule
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 60% · zoning code
- Is there a historic-district review? No 62% · zoning code
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No requirement found 55% · zoning code
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No Council/Commission-level Use Permit is required for a small residential rooftop system; it is subject to the City's staff-level Design Review process (2 Planning Commissioners + the Community Development Director) under Zoning Code §18-33, not the full Planning Commission or City Council. 65% · zoning code
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal, and scoped only to a 'single-family or duplex dwelling' rooftop system (the classic AB 2188-era figure). 90% · zoning code
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
Nothing recorded for City of Clearlake on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? No solar-specific submittal checklist is published (site search for 'photovoltaic' returns zero results against a 99-result positive control for 'electrical', proving the search works). The general 'How to Obtain a Building Permit' guide requires: a zone determination from the City's GIS parcel viewer, a stamped/complete plan set (PDF for portal upload, plus printed copies for any outside agency), and applicable outside-agency sign-offs (Lake County Environmental Health for well/septic, Lake County AQMD, Lake County Water Resources, Fire, Special Districts, Konocti USD, local water district) where the project triggers them. 55% · department handout
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic PDF upload via the OpenGov portal; printed copies retained by the applicant for any outside agency (county Environmental Health, AQMD, etc.) that requires a physical stamped set. 65% · department handout
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? A site/zone plan is implied as a first step: the guide directs applicants to the City's ArcGIS zoning viewer to confirm the parcel's zoning district before submittal, but no solar-specific site-plan content list (setbacks, array location, access pathways) is published. 50% · department handout
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No numeric threshold is published. The general permit guide states plans 'MAY need to be stamped by a California Licensed Architect (and Structural Engineer) if applicable,' left to case-by-case Building Official determination rather than a stated kW, weight, or span threshold. 50% · department handout
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? OpenGov Permitting & Licensing (clearlakeca.portal.opengov.com) 96% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 90% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $450 flat for a residential electrical (PV) system up to 15 kW AC, plus $15/kW over 15 kW; $450 flat for a residential thermal-solar system up to 10 kW, plus $15/kW over 10 kW. (Commercial: $1,000 up to 50 kW electrical / 30 kW thermal, +$7/kW 51-250 kW, +$5/kW above 251 kW.) A separate Lake County Fire Protection District fee also applies: $90 for a residential PV system (battery backup included if applicable) up to 150 kW, +$30 per additional 100 kW; commercial battery backup $270. 92% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered 88% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? General (non-solar-specific) stated plan-review turnaround: 2-4 weeks initial review, ~1 week per re-check/revision cycle, 1-2 weeks for payment/permit issuance -- roughly 4-8 weeks total. Separately, the Building Department's own page describes small permits including solar as 'quick and nominal' in cost, implying a faster path, but no numeric SLA specific to solar is published. 60% · department handout
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 12 months from issuance (non-refundable application; extension may be requested); if the permit expires without an approved extension and final inspection has not passed, the applicant must reapply at current rates. 85% · department handout
- Which utility handles interconnection here? PG&E 95% · city directory
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel, with Permission to Operate (PTO) gated behind the AHJ's final inspection 78% · utility tariff
28 questions answered against City of Clearlake’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building Department page names in-house staff, portal and process for residential permits including solar; fee schedule prices solar permits as City fees.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/394/Building-Department
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherCity issues both Building and Electrical permits in-house (single combined 'Residential Electrical Solar Base Fee' line in the current fee schedule). Fire-related plan check/inspection for PV/ESS is a separate track held by the independent Lake County Fire Protection District, which is not part of this Building/Electrical scope -- see jurisdiction.overridden_by.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2982/Fee-Schedule-FY-26-27
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCurrent fee schedule (eff. 7/1/2026) prices 'Residential Electrical Solar Base Fee' and 'Residential Thermal Solar Base Fee' as named permit line items; Building Department page states small permits including solar are 'quick and nominal' in cost, implying a permit is always pulled.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2982/Fee-Schedule-FY-26-27
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule lists a single 'Residential Electrical Solar Base Fee' rather than separate building and electrical line items for solar, suggesting one combined permit; inferred from the fee schedule's own line-item structure rather than an explicit statement.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2982/Fee-Schedule-FY-26-27
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedGeneral permit guide (How to Obtain a Building Permit 2025) and Building Department page; neither states who may pull the electrical permit for a solar install specifically. A dedicated solar checklist does not exist (control-proven: 'photovoltaic' returns zero site-search results).
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department page, general permit guide, and Contractor/Engineer list document; none state a pre-registration requirement for contractors before permit application.
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedGeneral permit guide (steps 1-8); no statement on owner-builder self-install/self-permit eligibility for solar specifically.
https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2729/How-to-Obtain-a-Building-Permit-2025
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
No solar-specific submittal checklist is published (site search for 'photovoltaic' returns zero results against a 99-result positive control for 'electrical', proving the search works). The general 'How to Obtain a Building Permit' guide requires: a zone determination from the City's GIS parcel viewer, a stamped/complete plan set (PDF for portal upload, plus printed copies for any outside agency), and applicable outside-agency sign-offs (Lake County Environmental Health for well/septic, Lake County AQMD, Lake County Water Resources, Fire, Special Districts, Konocti USD, local water district) where the project triggers them.
Why the confidence is not higherSourced from the general (not solar-specific) permit guide; solar retrofits likely trigger few or none of the listed outside-agency items, but the guide does not say so explicitly.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2729/How-to-Obtain-a-Building-Permit-2025
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic PDF upload via the OpenGov portal; printed copies retained by the applicant for any outside agency (county Environmental Health, AQMD, etc.) that requires a physical stamped set.
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral permit guide, not solar-specific.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2729/How-to-Obtain-a-Building-Permit-2025
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
A site/zone plan is implied as a first step: the guide directs applicants to the City's ArcGIS zoning viewer to confirm the parcel's zoning district before submittal, but no solar-specific site-plan content list (setbacks, array location, access pathways) is published.
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral building-permit guide; no dedicated solar checklist exists to confirm solar-specific site-plan content.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2729/How-to-Obtain-a-Building-Permit-2025
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo solar-specific submittal checklist exists on the city site (control-proven absence of any 'photovoltaic' document); general permit guide does not itemize diagram requirements.
https://www.clearlake.ca.us/Search/Results?searchPhrase=photovoltaic
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q11 -- no solar-specific checklist exists to confirm string/conductor calculation requirements.
https://www.clearlake.ca.us/Search/Results?searchPhrase=photovoltaic
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
No numeric threshold is published. The general permit guide states plans 'MAY need to be stamped by a California Licensed Architect (and Structural Engineer) if applicable,' left to case-by-case Building Official determination rather than a stated kW, weight, or span threshold.
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral guide language, not a defined threshold; no solar-specific structural criteria document exists on the city site.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2729/How-to-Obtain-a-Building-Permit-2025
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedGeneral permit guide and fee schedule; no electrical PE-stamp threshold stated anywhere for solar or generally.
https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2729/How-to-Obtain-a-Building-Permit-2025
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$450 flat for a residential electrical (PV) system up to 15 kW AC, plus $15/kW over 15 kW; $450 flat for a residential thermal-solar system up to 10 kW, plus $15/kW over 10 kW. (Commercial: $1,000 up to 50 kW electrical / 30 kW thermal, +$7/kW 51-250 kW, +$5/kW above 251 kW.) A separate Lake County Fire Protection District fee also applies: $90 for a residential PV system (battery backup included if applicable) up to 150 kW, +$30 per additional 100 kW; commercial battery backup $270.
Why the confidence is not higherCity figure from the current Fee Schedule, effective 1 Jul 2026 (PDF ModDate 11 Jun 2026); fire-district figure from LCFPD's own Master Fee Schedule, effective 1 Jul 2025 (Resolution 25-0503). Both are dated, current, first-party documents. City schedule footnotes the solar fee as 'based on CA AB 1124: subject to change per State Guidelines.'
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2982/Fee-Schedule-FY-26-27
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered
Why the confidence is not higherFlat base fee up to a kW threshold, then a per-kW increment above it, on both the City's and the fire district's schedules.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2982/Fee-Schedule-FY-26-27
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCurrent Fee Schedule: a general 'Building Plan Check .65% of the permit fee' line exists alongside the flat, separately-priced Residential Electrical/Thermal Solar Base Fee lines, and it is not stated whether the flat solar fee already includes plan check or the .65% line applies on top of it.
https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2982/Fee-Schedule-FY-26-27
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
General (non-solar-specific) stated plan-review turnaround: 2-4 weeks initial review, ~1 week per re-check/revision cycle, 1-2 weeks for payment/permit issuance -- roughly 4-8 weeks total. Separately, the Building Department's own page describes small permits including solar as 'quick and nominal' in cost, implying a faster path, but no numeric SLA specific to solar is published.
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral permit-process document; the 'quick and nominal' language is solar-adjacent but not a stated turnaround figure.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2729/How-to-Obtain-a-Building-Permit-2025
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
12 months from issuance (non-refundable application; extension may be requested); if the permit expires without an approved extension and final inspection has not passed, the applicant must reapply at current rates.
Why the confidence is not higherStated plainly in the city's general permit guide; not solar-specific but stated as the general building-permit rule.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2729/How-to-Obtain-a-Building-Permit-2025
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
OpenGov Permitting & Licensing (clearlakeca.portal.opengov.com)
Why the confidence is not higherNamed directly on the Building Department page and confirmed live via rendered browser.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/394/Building-Department
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Department page states applications 'will no longer be accepted by mail, email or over the counter' -- portal submission is exclusive.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/394/Building-Department
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
PG&E
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed from two city-side documents: the city's own Directory PDF lists 'PG&E (Electric)' under City of Clearlake utilities, and the city's Residential Plan Review checklist (item E-2) directs applicants to 'contact PG&E Customer Service Department' for electrical service location. Not derived from PowerToChoose.
city directory checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2660/City-County-State-Department-Directory
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel, with Permission to Operate (PTO) gated behind the AHJ's final inspection
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21 §D.13(b) (downloaded and verified this run, Advice 7692-E, effective 29 Aug 2025) requires 'evidence of Applicant's final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority having jurisdiction' before PTO is processed (target 30 business days). This is utility-tariff-level, not city-specific, but directly answers the sequencing question.
utility tariff checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo HOA/architectural-approval-first requirement appears in the City's Zoning Regulations (full-text search of the 347-page code for HOA/homeowners association references returns only a landscaping/turf clause, unrelated to solar); the city's own Design Review process (see Q27) is a City process, not an HOA one. Absence proven against the zoning code text I hold, not against private CC&Rs the city does not publish.
zoning code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/1665/Clearlake-Zoning-Code-Update-11-30-20---revised-CLEAN
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe Zoning Regulations contain no dedicated historic-district or historic-preservation chapter; 'historic' appears only incidentally (ADU parking exception, satellite-dish exemption, tree-removal criteria), none of which establish a district-wide review requirement reaching residential solar. Positive control ('setback', 47 hits) and fabricated control (0 hits) both behaved as expected in the same document.
zoning code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/1665/Clearlake-Zoning-Code-Update-11-30-20---revised-CLEAN
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No requirement found
Why the confidence is not higherFull-text search of the 347-page Zoning Regulations for 'windstorm', 'wind exposure', 'wind speed' and 'ASCE' returns zero hits. This covers zoning but not the electrical/building-code local-amendment text, which sits on the Cloudflare-blocked municipal code host and could not be checked this run -- so this is a partial, not total, absence proof.
zoning code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/1665/Clearlake-Zoning-Code-Update-11-30-20---revised-CLEAN
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No Council/Commission-level Use Permit is required for a small residential rooftop system; it is subject to the City's staff-level Design Review process (2 Planning Commissioners + the Community Development Director) under Zoning Code §18-33, not the full Planning Commission or City Council.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly from Zoning Code §18-19.200(B) ('subject to design review in accordance with Chapter 18-33') and §18-33.050 (Design Review Committee composition). Larger, non-conforming, or ground-mount systems could route to a Use Permit or Variance under other chapters, but nothing in §18-19.200 itself requires one.
zoning code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/1665/Clearlake-Zoning-Code-Update-11-30-20---revised-CLEAN
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal, and scoped only to a 'single-family or duplex dwelling' rooftop system (the classic AB 2188-era figure).
Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim from the Zoning Regulations' own definitions section: 'Small residential rooftop solar energy system: A solar energy system that is not larger than ten (10) kilowatts alternating current nameplate rate or thirty (30) kilowatts thermal that is installed on a roof of a single-family or duplex dwelling.' No larger live SolarAPP+ or zoning-use-table figure was found to contradict it, but the underlying municipal-code host (which could carry a more current figure) could not be checked due to a Cloudflare block.
zoning code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/1665/Clearlake-Zoning-Code-Update-11-30-20---revised-CLEAN
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (via the 2025 CEC) 68% · department notice
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 CBC 68% · department notice
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 78% · municipal code (Wayback capture)
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building Standards Code (2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC package), per the city's own adoption notice, once in force. 65% · department notice
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Clearlake on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown applies as a function of whichever NEC edition is in force (NEC §690.12, carried through the 2025 CEC once effective) -- there is no dedicated city bulletin stating this, and the requirement flows from state code adoption rather than a local solar-specific rule. 58% · department notice
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 68% · site search (control-checked)
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No 65% · site search (control-checked)
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes -- PG&E requires a visible AC/interconnection disconnect near the point of interconnection, with markings clearly indicating open and closed positions, reachable 24/7 by PG&E personnel. 78% · utility tariff
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? A visible, manually-operated isolating switch near the point of interconnection, with open/closed markings, reachable 24/7 by PG&E personnel. 72% · utility tariff
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment must be listed/labeled and installed per its listing instructions -- a general (not solar-specific) requirement in the city's own Residential Plan Review checklist (item E-1: 'Listed or labeled equipment shall be installed and used in accordance with any instructions included in the listing or labeling'). 50% · department checklist
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Battery backup is permitted and, up to 150 kW aggregate, is reviewed together with the PV system under the Lake County Fire Protection District's single 'New or modified residential system (includes battery backup if applicable)' fee line -- no separate residential battery/ESS fee line or condition set is published by either the City or the fire district for systems under that threshold. 60% · fire district fee schedule
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No -- for residential systems up to 150 kW aggregate, battery backup is bundled into the same PV fee/review as the solar system rather than requiring a separate ESS permit; a standalone 'Commercial battery backup' line exists only on the commercial side of the fire district's schedule. 62% · fire district fee schedule
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Likely yes, by omission rather than an explicit rule -- the Zoning Code's solar provision (§18-19.200) is defined and titled around a rooftop system only ('installed on a roof of a single-family or duplex dwelling'); nothing in the code addresses a ground- or freestanding-mounted PV array. A ground-mount installation would most likely fall to the general 'Other accessory structures' provision (§18-19.360), which requires Design Review and compliance with height/yard/coverage/parking standards like any other detached accessory structure. 55% · zoning code
20 questions answered against City of Clearlake’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC (via the 2025 CEC)
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own 'Notice - Adoption of the 2025 California Building Standards Code & Amendments' page states the update is 'Effective January 1, 2026 as a result of the Triennial Code Adoption Cycle,' which today (Aug 2026) has already passed. The codified municipal code (last confirmed current through Ord. 269-2024, passed 4/4/2024) still reflects the prior 2022 cycle (2022 CBSC adopted by Ord. 267-2023, eff. 2/4/2023). The specific 2025-cycle adoption ordinance number/date could not be confirmed because clearlake.municipal.codes is behind a Cloudflare managed challenge that a headless-Chrome bypass (stealth flags, up to 100s wait) could not clear this run.
department notice checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/523/2025-California-Building-Standards-Code-Adoption
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 CBC
Why the confidence is not higherSame source and same caveat as Q29 -- the notice page confirms the 2025 cycle's 1 Jan 2026 effective date but the formal local ordinance text was unreachable this run.
department notice checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/523/2025-California-Building-Standards-Code-Adoption
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's '2025 California Building Standards Code Adoption' notice page addresses the CBC/CRC/CEC package generally but does not separately confirm the fire code (CFC) edition or whether Lake County Fire Protection District has adopted the matching cycle; the fire district's own site (lakecountyfire.com) publishes fee schedules and budgets but no code-adoption page, and the underlying municipal code (which might codify the CFC adoption) is behind a Cloudflare managed challenge that could not be cleared this run.
https://www.clearlake.ca.us/523/2025-California-Building-Standards-Code-Adoption
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherClearlake Municipal Code Chapter IX, Article 9-1 (Building Codes and Regulations) carries several city-specific sections beyond a bare model-code adoption -- e.g. §9-1.16 Electric Access Gates, §9-1.17 Repair of Buildings Damaged by Natural Hazards, §9-1.19 Fees. Confirmed from the chapter's own table of contents (via Wayback capture, since the live site is Cloudflare-blocked); the operative amendment text itself could not be read this run.
municipal code (Wayback capture) checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20230401192712/https://clearlake.municipal.codes/CMC/ChIX
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Building Standards Code (2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC package), per the city's own adoption notice, once in force.
Why the confidence is not higherSame notice page as Q29/30; the underlying amendment/ordinance text was unreachable.
department notice checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/523/2025-California-Building-Standards-Code-Adoption
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMunicipal Code Chapter IX (Building and Housing), Article 9-1, specifically the electrical-adoption subsections, which sit on clearlake.municipal.codes behind a Cloudflare managed challenge (curl, browser-fingerprinted curl, and headless Chrome with stealth flags and waits up to 100s all returned the 'Just a moment...' interstitial). Also checked the current Fee Schedule and Zoning Code PDF -- neither mentions a busbar or service-upgrade rule.
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Cloudflare-blocked municipal code chapter (building code local amendments) as Q34; no mounting-system or attachment-spacing rule found in the Zoning Code PDF or any city handout.
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Zoning Code (no WUI chapter exists in it at all -- searched 'wildland', 'wildfire', 'WUI', 'defensible space', 'fire hazard severity', zero hits) and the Lake County Fire Protection District's own site (fee schedule and budget pages only, no PV/ESS technical bulletin). The fire-code local-amendment text itself sits on the Cloudflare-blocked municipal code host and could not be read this run.
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Rapid shutdown applies as a function of whichever NEC edition is in force (NEC §690.12, carried through the 2025 CEC once effective) -- there is no dedicated city bulletin stating this, and the requirement flows from state code adoption rather than a local solar-specific rule.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the code-cycle adoption notice; no solar-specific city or fire-district document states a rapid-shutdown requirement directly (a site-wide search for 'photovoltaic' returns zero results, and no dedicated PV bulletin exists).
department notice checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/523/2025-California-Building-Standards-Code-Adoption
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSite-wide search for 'photovoltaic' returns zero results (control-checked against 99 hits for 'electrical'); no placard specification of any kind is published by the city or the fire district.
https://www.clearlake.ca.us/Search/Results?searchPhrase=photovoltaic
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherControl-proven absence: a site-wide search of clearlake.ca.us for 'photovoltaic' returns zero results against a 99-result positive control for 'electrical' and a genuine zero for the fabricated term 'zzqqx' -- the city publishes no solar/PV bulletin of any kind, so it cannot be specifying its own placard wording.
site search (control-checked) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/Search/Results?searchPhrase=photovoltaic
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame control-proven absence as Q39 -- no city document of any kind addresses solar placards, so no letter-height/colour/material spec is published.
site search (control-checked) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/Search/Results?searchPhrase=photovoltaic
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame control-proven absence of any solar/PV document as Q38 -- no site-plan/facility-map placard requirement beyond NEC 705.10 baseline is stated anywhere by the city.
https://www.clearlake.ca.us/Search/Results?searchPhrase=photovoltaic
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes -- PG&E requires a visible AC/interconnection disconnect near the point of interconnection, with markings clearly indicating open and closed positions, reachable 24/7 by PG&E personnel.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21 §H('Visible Disconnect Required'), downloaded and verified this run (Advice 7692-E, eff. 29 Aug 2025). Utility-tariff-level, applies wherever PG&E is the interconnecting utility, not unique to Clearlake.
utility tariff checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame control-proven absence as Q38 -- no label-placement spec beyond the PG&E Rule 21 disconnect-marking requirement (see Q42/48) is published.
https://www.clearlake.ca.us/Search/Results?searchPhrase=photovoltaic
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Equipment must be listed/labeled and installed per its listing instructions -- a general (not solar-specific) requirement in the city's own Residential Plan Review checklist (item E-1: 'Listed or labeled equipment shall be installed and used in accordance with any instructions included in the listing or labeling').
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral building-department checklist item, not written for solar specifically, but it is the city's own stated standard and would apply to PV/inverter/battery equipment as electrical equipment.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2072
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Battery backup is permitted and, up to 150 kW aggregate, is reviewed together with the PV system under the Lake County Fire Protection District's single 'New or modified residential system (includes battery backup if applicable)' fee line -- no separate residential battery/ESS fee line or condition set is published by either the City or the fire district for systems under that threshold.
Why the confidence is not higherSourced from the fire district's own current Master Fee Schedule (eff. 1 Jul 2025); no fire-code text describing installation conditions (clearances, enclosure, etc.) was reachable this run because the fire district publishes no dedicated PV/ESS bulletin and the city's municipal code (which could carry the CFC amendment text) is Cloudflare-blocked.
fire district fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lakecountyfire.com/s/Master-Fee-Schedule-v7_2025.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No -- for residential systems up to 150 kW aggregate, battery backup is bundled into the same PV fee/review as the solar system rather than requiring a separate ESS permit; a standalone 'Commercial battery backup' line exists only on the commercial side of the fire district's schedule.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred directly from the wording of the fire district's Master Fee Schedule line items (residential PV line explicitly includes battery backup 'if applicable'; a separate battery line exists only under Commercial).
fire district fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lakecountyfire.com/s/Master-Fee-Schedule-v7_2025.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Likely yes, by omission rather than an explicit rule -- the Zoning Code's solar provision (§18-19.200) is defined and titled around a rooftop system only ('installed on a roof of a single-family or duplex dwelling'); nothing in the code addresses a ground- or freestanding-mounted PV array. A ground-mount installation would most likely fall to the general 'Other accessory structures' provision (§18-19.360), which requires Design Review and compliance with height/yard/coverage/parking standards like any other detached accessory structure.
Why the confidence is not higherInference: the zoning code has no dedicated ground-mount-solar or freestanding-PV section (searched for 'ground mount', 'ground-mount', 'freestanding' -- no PV-related hits), so this is reasoned from the code's general accessory-structure catch-all rather than a stated rule.
zoning code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/1665/Clearlake-Zoning-Code-Update-11-30-20---revised-CLEAN
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
A visible, manually-operated isolating switch near the point of interconnection, with open/closed markings, reachable 24/7 by PG&E personnel.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21 §H ('Visible Disconnect Required'), verified this run. Does not specify exact distance from the meter, only 'near the Point of Interconnection.' Utility-level, not Clearlake-specific.
utility tariff checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal 90% · department handout
- How much notice is required? 1-2 weeks advance notice requested (the Building Department page separately notes requests 'can take up to 2 weeks depending on staff availability and weather'). 72% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? No AM/PM windows are advertised; inspections run 'typically Tuesdays & Thursdays' only, with no time-slot choice mentioned. 68% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 82% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? N/A for the building/electrical final -- the City self-performs it (see Q52). The fire district (Lake County Fire Protection District) performs its own separate plan check/inspection track for PV/ESS under its own fee schedule when its review is triggered, but that is a parallel process rather than a delegation of the City's own final. 65% · fire district fee schedule
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Clearlake on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No 68% · department page (control-checked)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final 55% · department handout
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer 70% · utility tariff
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $100 (general 'Inspection Fee (initial, re-inspection, as-built)' line) 62% · fee schedule
14 questions answered against City of Clearlake’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal
Why the confidence is not higher'Inspections requested through the online portal' per the city's general permit guide; the Building Department page separately states inspections run 'typically Tuesdays & Thursdays.'
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2729/How-to-Obtain-a-Building-Permit-2025
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
1-2 weeks advance notice requested (the Building Department page separately notes requests 'can take up to 2 weeks depending on staff availability and weather').
Why the confidence is not higherStated plainly on the department page and in the general permit guide; not solar-specific.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/394/Building-Department
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
No AM/PM windows are advertised; inspections run 'typically Tuesdays & Thursdays' only, with no time-slot choice mentioned.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Department page states the two inspection days but gives no window/slot system.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/394/Building-Department
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Department is in-house (Chief Building Inspector/Plans Examiner Mary Jane Montana, on the city domain) and the general permit guide describes the City performing all listed inspection stages itself.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/394/Building-Department
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A for the building/electrical final -- the City self-performs it (see Q52). The fire district (Lake County Fire Protection District) performs its own separate plan check/inspection track for PV/ESS under its own fee schedule when its review is triggered, but that is a parallel process rather than a delegation of the City's own final.
Why the confidence is not higherSame evidence as Q52 plus the fire district's own fee schedule showing it bills and presumably reviews PV/ESS work itself.
fire district fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lakecountyfire.com/s/Master-Fee-Schedule-v7_2025.pdf
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedGeneral permit guide lists a 9-stage inspection sequence for full new construction (foundation through final) and separately says simple permits such as 'electrical disconnect/reconnect, re-roof, mechanical' skip straight to the online portal, but solar is not named among either list, so the applicable sequence for a PV retrofit specifically could not be confirmed.
https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2729/How-to-Obtain-a-Building-Permit-2025
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame general permit guide as Q54; no solar-specific statement on whether a rough-in/mid-roof inspection is required.
https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2729/How-to-Obtain-a-Building-Permit-2025
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedGeneral Residential Plan Review checklist states equipment must be listed/labeled (design standard) but no department document states inspector practice regarding verifying labels/listings at time of inspection.
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No
Why the confidence is not higherControl-proven: the Building Department's own published document list (checked directly against the DocumentCenter links on its page) contains no solar-named checklist, and a site-wide search for 'photovoltaic' returns zero results against a 99-result positive control for 'electrical'.
department page (control-checked) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/394/Building-Department
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo solar-specific inspection document exists (control-proven); general permit guide does not itemize what must be on-site at inspection beyond implying the permit and approved plans.
https://www.clearlake.ca.us/Search/Results?searchPhrase=photovoltaic
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$100 (general 'Inspection Fee (initial, re-inspection, as-built)' line)
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral building-fee line in the current Fee Schedule, not solar-specific; applied here by inference since no separate solar re-inspection fee is listed.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2982/Fee-Schedule-FY-26-27
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedGeneral permit guide and Building Department page; neither describes a corrections process or how corrections are cleared.
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final
Why the confidence is not higherNo Certificate of Occupancy is described for an alteration/repair-class permit like a rooftop PV install in any city document reviewed; 'Final Inspection' approval is the described end state in the general permit guide. Inferred, not stated for solar specifically.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.clearlake.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/2729/How-to-Obtain-a-Building-Permit-2025
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21 §D.13(b) requires the Applicant to supply 'evidence of Applicant's final electric inspection clearance' to PG&E as part of the interconnection request package -- i.e., the installer/applicant, not the AHJ, forwards proof to the utility.
utility tariff checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Clearlake against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Clearlake is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical
- Overridden by
- Lake County Fire Protection District (an independent special district, per the city's own Fire Mitigation Fee ordinance defining 'FIRE AGENCY' as 'any special district providing fire protection services within the incorporated area of the City of Clearlake') holds a separate, self-published Solar/Photovoltaic Systems fee line and performs its own fire-related plan check for PV/ESS. Building and electrical permitting/inspection stay with the City's own in-house Building Department.
- Why not higher
- City Building Department page names an in-house Director (Alan Flora, aflora@clearlake.ca.us) and Chief Building Inspector/Plans Examiner (Mary Jane Montana, mmontana@clearlake.ca.us), both on the city domain, and the current Fee Schedule (eff. 7/1/2026) prices building/electrical/solar permits as City fees. Clearlake Municipal Code §3-5.4(e) (hosted by the fire district itself) defines the Fire Agency as a separate special district, and the Lake County Fire Protection District Board of Directors (Benson, Dean, Loustalot, Moore, Snyder, Watson, Scovel per its Resolution 25-0503 roll call) does not overlap with the City Council roster (Slooten, Cremer, Hooten, Downey, Wilson) -- a genuinely independent district, not a council-fusion shell. One stale note: CMC §3-5.4(b), which is otherwise current through Ord. 269-2024 (passed 4/4/2024), still defines 'DIRECTOR' for fee-collection purposes as 'the Director of the Department of Building and Safety of Lake County' -- a title that does not match the city's own current in-house Building Department page. This looks like an old cooperative-fee-collection clause never scrubbed after the city built its own department (CMC §9-1.26 is titled 'Repeal of Lake County Code'), not evidence the county performs building services today; flagged rather than resolved.
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $450 flat for a residential electrical (PV) system up to 15 kW AC, plus $15/kW over 15 kW; $450 flat for a residential thermal-solar system up to 10 kW, plus $15/kW over 10 kW.92%
- Plan review
- General (non-solar-specific) stated plan-review turnaround: 2-4 weeks initial review, ~1 week per re-check/revision cycle, 1-2 weeks for payment/permit issuance -- roughly 4-8 weeks total.60%
- Portal
- OpenGov Permitting & Licensing (clearlakeca.portal.opengov.com)96%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC (via the 2025 CEC)68%
- Own placard wording
- No68%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal90%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 68%
No
Size, colour & material 65%
No
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top 78%
Yes -- PG&E requires a visible AC/interconnection disconnect near the point of interconnection, with markings clearly indicating open and closed positions, reachable 24/7 by PG&E personnel.
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.