City of Commerce
Los Angeles County
City of Commerce is a city authority in the State of California, serving 12,378 residents. 202 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org/login) for residential solar permits. General building permits also route through a Transtech-branded ePlanSoft electronic plan-check… Q20
- Permit required
- Yes85% source
- Key document
- department page (inference re: SolarAPP+ platform) cited by 10 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 92% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 75% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 85% · department page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 70% · department page
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 80% · department form (Permit Worksheet)
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 85% · department form (Owner-Builder Declaration)
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? For the SolarAPP+ (residential) path: the SolarAPP+ automated Approval Document, the SolarAPP+-generated inspection checklist, and a single-line drawing, emailed together to permittechnician@commerceca.gov. For a manual (non-SolarAPP+) building permit generally: a completed Permit Worksheet plus one signed Permit Declaration (Licensed Contractor's Declaration OR Owner-Builder Declaration). 85% · department page
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic only (email) for the SolarAPP+ path -- no stated copy count; documents are emailed as attachments to permittechnician@commerceca.gov. Manual permits are submitted on the printed Permit Worksheet (1 of 2, both sides) plus one printed/signed declaration form. 70% · department page
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 92% · department page
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Likely yes, but not stated by the City itself -- string/conductor sizing and ampacity calculations are a standard, non-waivable part of the national SolarAPP+ automated review criteria (NREL), which the City has adopted as its residential solar review method. 55% · department page (inference re: SolarAPP+ platform)
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org/login) for residential solar permits. General building permits also route through a Transtech-branded ePlanSoft electronic plan-check portal (gopost-transtech.eplansoftreview.com/#/login?portal=Commerce) or by email to permittechnician@commerceca.gov. 88% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? No 78% · department page
- How is the fee calculated? Valuation 65% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 75% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 92% · department page
28 questions answered against City of Commerce’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building & Safety Division page states it 'is responsible for the review of construction plans and for the performance of various building inspection activities including issuance of building permits' and describes a dedicated SolarAPP+ process for residential solar permits issued by the City.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherThe City issues one Solar/PV permit covering building and electrical (via SolarAPP+, submitted to permittechnician@commerceca.gov). But the City's own page states LACoFD holds the fire-code aspects (ESS, BIPV, all disconnect placarding, and a mandatory PV/ESS-use final inspection) -- so 'Both' describes the City's own scope, with a real fire-side delegation layered on top. Plan-check may also be delegated to a firm (Transtech-branded portal) -- see jurisdiction.why.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe entire published process (SolarAPP+ registration, permit application, plan review, fee payment, inspection) presumes a permit is required; no exemption for residential rooftop PV is stated anywhere in the City's Building & Safety materials.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's SolarAPP+ workflow describes a single 'Solar/PV' permit application/checklist/single-line submittal to the City rather than separate building and electrical permit numbers; inferred from the single-process description, not an explicit City statement using the word 'combined'.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Permit Worksheet gives a checkbox choice between 'LICENSED CONTRACTOR' and 'OWNER BUILDER' for who pulls the permit, with no restriction to a licensed electrician specifically; a separate Contractor's Declaration and Owner-Builder Declaration form exist for each path.
department form (Permit Worksheet) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/4818/638959671782100000
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety page, Permit Worksheet, Owner-Builder/Contractor Declarations, EV Charger Checklist -- none state that a contractor must hold a City of Commerce business license before a building/electrical permit can be issued (unlike some CA cities, e.g. Tracy, which state this explicitly)
https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City publishes a full 'Owner-Builder Declaration, Workers Compensation Declaration and Authorization of Entry' form (Form 2) as one of two accepted permit-holder declarations, with no carve-out excluding solar installations.
department form (Owner-Builder Declaration) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/4932/638959672262430000
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
For the SolarAPP+ (residential) path: the SolarAPP+ automated Approval Document, the SolarAPP+-generated inspection checklist, and a single-line drawing, emailed together to permittechnician@commerceca.gov. For a manual (non-SolarAPP+) building permit generally: a completed Permit Worksheet plus one signed Permit Declaration (Licensed Contractor's Declaration OR Owner-Builder Declaration).
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated, step by step, in the City's own Building & Safety 'SolarAPP+ Process' section, cross-checked against the separately published Permit Worksheet and its attached Form 1/Form 2 declarations.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic only (email) for the SolarAPP+ path -- no stated copy count; documents are emailed as attachments to permittechnician@commerceca.gov. Manual permits are submitted on the printed Permit Worksheet (1 of 2, both sides) plus one printed/signed declaration form.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the City's own instruction to 'Email your permit from solarapp+ along with the checklist, and a single line drawing to permittechnician@commerceca.gov'; no explicit statement of required copies or file format limits (unlike some other CA cities' PDF-size-limit handouts) was found on this page.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety page and its five linked Building & Safety Resources PDFs (Permit Worksheet, Owner-Builder Declaration, Contractor's Declaration, Schedule of Fees, EV Charger Checklist) -- none is a PV-specific site-plan checklist; site-plan content for SolarAPP+ submittals is governed by the national SolarAPP+ platform's own standardized criteria, not a Commerce-published document
https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own SolarAPP+ Process instructions require applicants to email 'a single line drawing' to permittechnician@commerceca.gov as part of the permit submittal.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Likely yes, but not stated by the City itself -- string/conductor sizing and ampacity calculations are a standard, non-waivable part of the national SolarAPP+ automated review criteria (NREL), which the City has adopted as its residential solar review method.
Why the confidence is not higherInference from the fact that Commerce uses the national SolarAPP+ platform (whose published eligibility/review criteria require these calculations) rather than from a Commerce-specific document stating the requirement.
department page (inference re: SolarAPP+ platform) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety page and its five linked PDFs -- none states a structural PE-stamp threshold for residential PV; Title 15 (Building Code) could not be retrieved from Municode (see jurisdiction.why)
https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame documents as q13 -- no electrical PE-stamp threshold stated anywhere found
https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMaster Schedule of Fees (control-checked, no PV-specific line exists -- see q16); because the fee is valuation-based with no flat/tiered solar rate published, no single dollar figure can be honestly stated without assuming a project valuation the City itself does not publish
https://www.commerceca.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/2305/637629157595700000
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Valuation
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's Master Schedule of Fees (Building & Safety, updated July 2021, CPI-U indexed annually) has no PV/solar-electric-specific fee line (control-checked: 'electrical' 17 hits, fabricated term 'zzqqx' 0 hits -- search validated). The only solar-adjacent line is a flat fee for 'solar potable water-heating system' ($101.35, i.e. thermal, not PV). A residential PV building permit therefore appears to be priced off the general Table 1A valuation schedule plus the Electrical Permit & Plan Check Fee Table, not a flat or per-kW solar rate.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/2305/637629157595700000
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee Schedule lists 'Building Plan Check Fees' (item 11, 'Per Building Code Section 107.2') as a line separate from the 'Permit Issuance Fee' ($20.89) within Table 1A -- i.e. plan check is billed apart from permit issuance under the general schedule that would apply to a PV job (no PV-specific combined line exists).
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/2305/637629157595700000
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety page and its resource PDFs -- no stated plan-review turnaround time (in business days or otherwise) was found for either the SolarAPP+ or manual path
https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety page and resource PDFs -- no stated permit-validity/expiration period found; Title 15 (Building Code local amendment to CBC Sec.105.5) could not be retrieved from Municode (see jurisdiction.why)
https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org/login) for residential solar permits. General building permits also route through a Transtech-branded ePlanSoft electronic plan-check portal (gopost-transtech.eplansoftreview.com/#/login?portal=Commerce) or by email to permittechnician@commerceca.gov.
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ URL and process are stated directly and specifically for solar on the City's own Building & Safety page; the Transtech-portal URL is embedded as the 'Electronic Plan Check' link on the same page.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
No
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ automates design review, fee payment and approval-document issuance online, but the City's own instructions then require the applicant to separately 'Submit SolarAPP+ Permit application to the City. Email your permit from solarapp+ along with the checklist, and a single line drawing to permittechnician@commerceca.gov' -- an out-of-portal email step, so the whole application is not completed within one continuous online system.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Residents > Utilities page lists 'Electricity: Southern California Edison Company' with SCE's own support/outage/billing phone numbers -- confirmed from the City's side, not from a third-party ZIP-code lookup tool.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/residents/utilities
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety page, SCE's own Utilities page link, and the City's Utilities page -- none states whether SCE interconnection happens before, after, or parallel to City permit issuance
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Planning Applications & Fees page (which lists application types: ADU-JADU, Conditional Use, Home Occupation, Sign, Special Use, Temporary Use, Variance, etc.) and the Building & Safety page -- no HOA or architectural-review requirement for residential PV specifically is named
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Planning Applications & Fees page and Building & Safety page -- no historic-district overlay or review requirement tied to solar was found; the page does list a 'Home Preservation Grant Program' but this reads as a rehabilitation/beautification grant, not a regulatory historic-district review, and I could not confirm its scope further
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety page and resource PDFs -- no wind/windstorm certification requirement mentioned; Title 15 (Building Code, which would carry any local CRC Table R301.2(1) wind-speed amendment) could not be retrieved from Municode
https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Planning Applications & Fees page -- a generic 'Special Use Permit Application' exists for other land uses, but nothing found ties residential rooftop solar to a Specific Use Permit or Council-approval pathway; Title 19 (Zoning) could not be retrieved from Municode to check further
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety and Planning pages; Title 19 (Zoning), which would carry any residential-generation size cap (e.g. an AB 2188-era 10 kW AC figure), could not be retrieved -- library.municode.com's Angular API returned 401 on every /api/ route tried, and Wayback's captures of the TIT19ZO node are JS app-shell only with no rendered content
https://library.municode.com/ca/commerce/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT19ZO
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 80% · department page (adoption cycle inference)
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code 92% · department page
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2023 LACFC (LA County's local amendments to the 2022 California Fire Code), per LACoFD's own 'Guide for ESS, PV, & Disconnects' (Rev. 3, effective 2023-09-01), which Commerce's own Building & Safety page links to for PV/ESS fire finals. 65% · county fire department guide
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 75% · county fire department guide
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building/Electrical/Green/Mechanical/Plumbing/Residential Codes (City, effective 1/1/2026) for the building/electrical scope, plus the 2023 LACFC (LA County Fire Code local amendments to the 2022 CFC) for ESS, BIPV, and disconnect placarding, plus the national SolarAPP+ automated-review eligibility criteria (NREL) for the expedited residential path the City has adopted. 80% · department page + county fire department guide
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Commerce on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown is required. LACoFD's Guide for ESS, PV, & Disconnects (dated 2023-09-01, citing the then-current 2022 CEC) requires a 'PV/BIPV Rapid Shutdown (RSD) function' and an activation-device placard as part of its Electrical Power Source Disconnect Placarding System (citing 2022 CEC Sec.225.37, Sec.230.70, Sec.230.85, Sec.705.10, Sec.705.20). The City's own base electrical code is now the 2025 CEC (built on the 2023 NEC), effective 1/1/2026. 78% · county fire department guide
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? The LACoFD Electrical Power Source Disconnect Placarding System: an Exterior Placard (min. 2in x 3.5in) on/adjacent to each panel/enclosure containing a power-source disconnect, and a Panel-Interior Placard (min. 7/16in x 3/4in) inside the panel, both reading 'F.D. -- ELECTRICAL' with '#X of Y' designations. 88% · county fire department guide
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Yes 85% · county fire department guide
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Red letters engraved into a yellow background; weather-resistant plastic; Exterior Placards minimum 2in tall x 3.5in wide, solid all-capitals Arial font, minimum font size 24 (bold for 'F.D.' and '#X of Y'); Panel-Interior Placards minimum 7/16in tall x 3/4in wide, same font style at a smaller size. 90% · county fire department guide
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? No dedicated 'facility map' document is published; the LACoFD Electrical Power Source Disconnect Placarding System (citing 2022 CEC Sec.705.10/Sec.705.20) functions as the facility-map/placard requirement by requiring every power-source disconnect (utility, PV, ESS, generator, etc.) to be placarded with a sequential '#X of Y' designation, effectively mapping all disconnects at the service equipment. 68% · county fire department guide
- Where must the labels be placed? Exterior Placards: on or immediately adjacent to the exterior of the panel/enclosure containing the disconnect (additional exterior placards may be required by the fire code official where operating the 'Main' within a placarded panel is necessary). Panel-Interior Placards: inside the panel, next to the specific breaker/switch they identify. 82% · county fire department guide
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, permitted, with LACoFD-set limits: individual ESS units capped at 20 kWh; site aggregate capped at 80 kWh per location category (inside attached garage, inside detached garage, outdoors on exterior wall, outdoors on the ground -- each its own 80 kWh sub-cap). ESS listed/labeled solely for utility or commercial use may not be used residentially. Any ESS over 3 kWh (2023 LACFC Sec.1207.11) requires LACoFD plan submittal (unless state-exempted) and, in all cases, a mandatory LACoFD field inspection -- on top of whatever the City's own building/electrical permit covers. 88% · county fire department checklist
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Delegated 78% · department form (Permit Worksheet) + county fire department guide
20 questions answered against City of Commerce’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's Building & Safety page states 'Beginning January 1, 2026, all plans submitted for plan checks will be checked in accordance with the 2025 California Building, Electrical, Green, Mechanical, Plumbing and Residential Codes.' California's 2025 Title 24 code cycle amends the 2023 NEC to produce the 2025 CEC; the City's own page does not spell out the base NEC year, so this is a one-step inference from the stated CEC cycle rather than a direct City statement of '2023 NEC'.
department page (adoption cycle inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the City's Building & Safety page: 'all plans submitted for plan checks will be checked in accordance with the 2025 California Building... Code[s]', effective 1 Jan 2026. I could not additionally confirm the specific local adopting ordinance number/section because Municode's Title 15 (Building Code) page could not be retrieved (see jurisdiction.why and not_found notes).
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2023 LACFC (LA County's local amendments to the 2022 California Fire Code), per LACoFD's own 'Guide for ESS, PV, & Disconnects' (Rev. 3, effective 2023-09-01), which Commerce's own Building & Safety page links to for PV/ESS fire finals.
Why the confidence is not higherThe LACoFD guide states the 'local Los Angeles County (LAC) amendments to the 2022 California Fire Code (CFC) -- which together create the 2023 LACFC.' This is the most recent LACoFD-published edition I could verify; I could not independently confirm whether LA County has since adopted a newer CFC cycle (e.g. aligned with the City's own 2025 CBC/CEC cycle effective 1/1/2026), and Commerce's own Title 16 (Fire Protection) municipal code chapter could not be retrieved to check a City-side citation.
county fire department guide checked 2026-08-31 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherLA County's own Fire Code (LACFC) is itself built from local amendments layered onto the base CFC ('the local LAC amendments to the 2022 CFC... together create the 2023 LACFC'), and the LACoFD checklist cites LACFC-specific sections (e.g. Sec.1207.11, Sec.603.4, Sec.509.1.1) not found in the base model code. I could not directly inspect Commerce's own Title 15 Building Code amendments (Municode inaccessible -- see jurisdiction.why) to confirm City-level amendments beyond the County/Fire layer.
county fire department guide checked 2026-08-31 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Building/Electrical/Green/Mechanical/Plumbing/Residential Codes (City, effective 1/1/2026) for the building/electrical scope, plus the 2023 LACFC (LA County Fire Code local amendments to the 2022 CFC) for ESS, BIPV, and disconnect placarding, plus the national SolarAPP+ automated-review eligibility criteria (NREL) for the expedited residential path the City has adopted.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the City's own Building & Safety page (code-cycle statement + SolarAPP+ adoption) with LACoFD's own Guide for ESS, PV, & Disconnects (LACFC citations), both of which Commerce's own page links to or states directly.
department page + county fire department guide checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety page and resource PDFs -- no local rule on service-upgrade/busbar sizing found; would be in Title 15 local amendments, not retrievable (see jurisdiction.why)
https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety page and resource PDFs -- no Commerce-specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing standard found (unlike, e.g., Tracy's dedicated 'Special Conditions for PV Installations' handout); Commerce's SolarAPP+/expedited path may rely entirely on the national SolarAPP+ standard criteria instead of a City document
https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety page and resource PDFs, plus LACoFD's Guide for ESS, PV, & Disconnects (which addresses ESS/vent clearances and bollard specs but not standard roof-mounted-PV ridge setback/access-pathway tables) -- no City- or LACoFD-stated ridge-setback/pathway table for conventional roof PV was found
https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, rapid shutdown is required. LACoFD's Guide for ESS, PV, & Disconnects (dated 2023-09-01, citing the then-current 2022 CEC) requires a 'PV/BIPV Rapid Shutdown (RSD) function' and an activation-device placard as part of its Electrical Power Source Disconnect Placarding System (citing 2022 CEC Sec.225.37, Sec.230.70, Sec.230.85, Sec.705.10, Sec.705.20). The City's own base electrical code is now the 2025 CEC (built on the 2023 NEC), effective 1/1/2026.
Why the confidence is not higherRapid-shutdown requirement and citations extracted directly from LACoFD's own PDF guide (not a summary); the guide predates the City's current 2025 CEC cycle by roughly 2 years, so the underlying NEC/CEC section numbers may have shifted slightly under the newer edition -- flagged rather than assumed identical.
county fire department guide checked 2026-08-31 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
The LACoFD Electrical Power Source Disconnect Placarding System: an Exterior Placard (min. 2in x 3.5in) on/adjacent to each panel/enclosure containing a power-source disconnect, and a Panel-Interior Placard (min. 7/16in x 3/4in) inside the panel, both reading 'F.D. -- ELECTRICAL' with '#X of Y' designations.
Why the confidence is not higherExtracted directly (pdftotext -layout) from LACoFD's own 'Guide for ESS, PV, & Disconnects' Appendix B, which Commerce's Building & Safety page directly links to for PV/ESS installations ('See Fire Department requirements... https://fire.lacounty.gov/fire-prevention-expeditedpvess/'). This is LACoFD's countywide placarding standard, applicable to Commerce as a served city, not a Commerce-specific document.
county fire department guide checked 2026-08-31 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherLACoFD's guide (Appendix B) specifies exact verbiage ('F.D. -- ELECTRICAL', '#X of Y' designations) for its Disconnect Placarding System, which Commerce's Building & Safety page adopts by direct reference for PV/ESS finals.
county fire department guide checked 2026-08-31 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Red letters engraved into a yellow background; weather-resistant plastic; Exterior Placards minimum 2in tall x 3.5in wide, solid all-capitals Arial font, minimum font size 24 (bold for 'F.D.' and '#X of Y'); Panel-Interior Placards minimum 7/16in tall x 3/4in wide, same font style at a smaller size.
Why the confidence is not higherExtracted verbatim, by direct PDF text extraction, from Appendix B ('Disconnect Placarding Requirements') of LACoFD's own Guide for ESS, PV, & Disconnects, which is the document Commerce's own Building & Safety page routes PV/ESS applicants to.
county fire department guide checked 2026-08-31 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No dedicated 'facility map' document is published; the LACoFD Electrical Power Source Disconnect Placarding System (citing 2022 CEC Sec.705.10/Sec.705.20) functions as the facility-map/placard requirement by requiring every power-source disconnect (utility, PV, ESS, generator, etc.) to be placarded with a sequential '#X of Y' designation, effectively mapping all disconnects at the service equipment.
Why the confidence is not higherThe '#X of Y' numbering scheme and its Sec.705.10/Sec.705.20 citations are stated directly in LACoFD's guide, but no separate diagram/'facility map' template was found there or on Commerce's own pages -- this is the closest documented equivalent, not a confirmed match to a formal facility-map submittal.
county fire department guide checked 2026-08-31 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Utilities page (names SCE, gives support numbers) and a general search of SCE's own interconnection pages -- no Commerce-specific citation of an SCE placard requirement beyond the LACoFD/NEC requirements already recorded under q38-q40 was found; SCE's own Rule 21/DG interconnection handbook was not reviewed in full
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Exterior Placards: on or immediately adjacent to the exterior of the panel/enclosure containing the disconnect (additional exterior placards may be required by the fire code official where operating the 'Main' within a placarded panel is necessary). Panel-Interior Placards: inside the panel, next to the specific breaker/switch they identify.
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly, item by item, in LACoFD's Guide for ESS, PV, & Disconnects, Appendix B, item 7 ('Placard location(s)').
county fire department guide checked 2026-08-31 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety page and resource PDFs; LACoFD checklist requires manufacturer listing implicitly ('ESS listed and labeled solely for utility or commercial use shall not be used for residential') but no City- or LACoFD-published 'approved equipment list' was found
https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes, permitted, with LACoFD-set limits: individual ESS units capped at 20 kWh; site aggregate capped at 80 kWh per location category (inside attached garage, inside detached garage, outdoors on exterior wall, outdoors on the ground -- each its own 80 kWh sub-cap). ESS listed/labeled solely for utility or commercial use may not be used residentially. Any ESS over 3 kWh (2023 LACFC Sec.1207.11) requires LACoFD plan submittal (unless state-exempted) and, in all cases, a mandatory LACoFD field inspection -- on top of whatever the City's own building/electrical permit covers.
Why the confidence is not higherFigures and conditions extracted directly from LACoFD's own Expedited-Permitting Checklist and Guide for ESS, PV, & Disconnects, both of which Commerce's Building & Safety page links to by name for PV/ESS. This is LACoFD's countywide standard (confirmed applicable to Commerce via the City's own citation), not a Commerce-specific document.
county fire department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/Expedited-Permitting-Checklist-LACoFD-ESS-PV-Disconnects-2023-09-01-SECURED.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Delegated
Why the confidence is not higherThe City does not appear to issue a separate standalone 'ESS/battery permit' -- its own Permit Worksheet lists 'ESS (Batteries)' as one checkbox line item alongside other electrical work on the same general permit. However, LACoFD's guide states that ESS installations (over 3 kWh) require, 'in all cases,' a LACoFD field inspection separate from and in addition to whatever inspection the City performs -- i.e. the fire-side ESS inspection is a distinct, delegated step even though the City-side permit itself is not split out.
department form (Permit Worksheet) + county fire department guide checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/4818/638959671782100000
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety page and resource PDFs -- all found documents are roof-mount/R-3 focused; no ground-mount-specific guidance or a statement that ground-mount PV is treated as an accessory structure was found; Title 19 (Zoning) could not be retrieved from Municode to check further
https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Utilities page and Building & Safety materials -- no Commerce- or SCE-specific statement of AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter was found; this is typically governed by SCE's own interconnection/DG manual, not reviewed in full here
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal 82% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Delegated 88% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? Los Angeles County Fire Department (LACoFD), Fire Prevention Division 95% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? At minimum: a City Building/Electrical final inspection (Building Inspector, Mon-Thu, city-side) and a separate LA County Fire Department final inspection, which must be scheduled and passed 'prior to use of the PV or ESS installation.' The City's own materials do not spell out a fixed numbered sequence beyond that the Fire final gates use of the system. 60% · department page
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes 90% · county fire department checklist
- What must be on site at inspection? For the LACoFD fire final: digital proof of the construction permit obtained via the Expedited-Permitting Process (e.g. the SolarAPP+ approval), including any inspection checklist provided with the permit; the required disconnect placarding already in place; and LACoFD Fire Prevention fee(s) paid. 85% · county fire department checklist
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final 70% · county fire department checklist (inference)
- Is there a re-inspection fee? No solar-specific re-inspection fee line was found; a general hourly 'Additional reviews per hr. or fraction thereof' rate of $81.46, and a separate 'per-hour, per-plan-check' rate of $132.01 for services beyond the first two plan checks, appear in the Master Fee Schedule and could apply administratively, but neither is labeled a re-inspection fee. 62% · fee schedule
14 questions answered against City of Commerce’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal
Why the confidence is not higherFor solar specifically, the City's own SolarAPP+ Process instructions state 'Schedule the inspection online' as the final step. General (non-solar) Building & Safety inspections are instead booked by phone: 'To request an inspection, call (323) 887-4455', per the same page's Office Hours section.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety page (Office Hours section gives inspection call-in hours but no stated minimum lead-time/notice policy in business days)
https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety page -- no mention of AM/PM or same-day inspection windows
https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Delegated
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Building & Safety page states outright, under 'Fire Department Inspections': 'Per LA County Fire Department Memorandum, it is required to obtain Fire Department final prior to use of the PV and ESS installation... The applicant for this construction permit shall contact the Los Angeles County Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division to schedule and pass an inspection prior to use of the PV or ESS installations.' The City's own Building Inspector still performs the ordinary building/electrical final (see Office Hours on the same page), so the overall final sign-off for a PV/ESS job is split, with the PV/ESS-use-specific fire final delegated to LACoFD.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Los Angeles County Fire Department (LACoFD), Fire Prevention Division
Why the confidence is not higherNamed verbatim on the City's own Building & Safety page as the agency applicants must contact to schedule and pass the required PV/ESS fire final; the page also gives a direct phone number, (323) 890-4125, as a fallback if the LACoFD link is not working.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
At minimum: a City Building/Electrical final inspection (Building Inspector, Mon-Thu, city-side) and a separate LA County Fire Department final inspection, which must be scheduled and passed 'prior to use of the PV or ESS installation.' The City's own materials do not spell out a fixed numbered sequence beyond that the Fire final gates use of the system.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth inspection steps are individually confirmed on the City's own Building & Safety page, but the page does not present them as a single ordered checklist (e.g. it does not say whether the City final or the LACoFD final must come first) -- so the 'in what order' half of this question is only partly answered.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety page and LACoFD's own checklist/guide -- neither describes a rough-in or mid-roof inspection stage for PV; both describe only a final (City building/electrical final plus LACoFD fire final prior to use)
https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety page -- no explicit City statement that its own inspector verifies labels/equipment listing at final (LACoFD's own checklist does verify its disconnect placarding, recorded under q58, but that is the fire final, not the City's building/electrical final)
https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherLACoFD publishes and Commerce links to a specific, named 'Inspection Checklist for Group R-3/-4 ESS, PV, and Electrical-Disconnect Placarding' (the Expedited-Permitting Checklist), effective 2023-09-01, extracted and read directly.
county fire department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/Expedited-Permitting-Checklist-LACoFD-ESS-PV-Disconnects-2023-09-01-SECURED.pdf
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
For the LACoFD fire final: digital proof of the construction permit obtained via the Expedited-Permitting Process (e.g. the SolarAPP+ approval), including any inspection checklist provided with the permit; the required disconnect placarding already in place; and LACoFD Fire Prevention fee(s) paid.
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly, as a pass/fail pre-inspection checklist ('Section V -- Requirements for Site Inspection'), in LACoFD's own Expedited-Permitting Checklist, which Commerce's Building & Safety page links applicants to for the mandatory PV/ESS fire final.
county fire department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/Expedited-Permitting-Checklist-LACoFD-ESS-PV-Disconnects-2023-09-01-SECURED.pdf
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
No solar-specific re-inspection fee line was found; a general hourly 'Additional reviews per hr. or fraction thereof' rate of $81.46, and a separate 'per-hour, per-plan-check' rate of $132.01 for services beyond the first two plan checks, appear in the Master Fee Schedule and could apply administratively, but neither is labeled a re-inspection fee.
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's Master Fee Schedule (control-checked: 'electrical' 17 hits, 'zzqqx' 0 hits, confirming the search worked) has no line item titled 're-inspection' or similar; this is a proven absence of a dedicated fee, not a failure to look.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.commerceca.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/2305/637629157595700000
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety page and resource PDFs -- no description found of how correction letters/plan-check comments are issued or cleared
https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final
Why the confidence is not higherNo City document describes a Certificate of Occupancy being issued for a rooftop PV retrofit on an existing home; LACoFD's own checklist frames a passed fire inspection as functioning like 'an Operational Permit' rather than a CO, consistent with a standard building-permit 'final inspection' sign-off model rather than CO issuance.
county fire department checklist (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/Expedited-Permitting-Checklist-LACoFD-ESS-PV-Disconnects-2023-09-01-SECURED.pdf
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building & Safety page, Utilities page, and LACoFD materials -- none states who (AHJ, installer, or the utility itself) initiates the Permission-to-Operate notification to SCE
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Commerce against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Commerce is the authority having jurisdiction 85% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (Economic Development and Planning Dept., Building & Safety Division) for residential rooftop PV; fire-code aspects of PV/ESS -- including ESS >3 kWh, the BIPV subcategory, and ALL disconnect/rapid-shutdown placarding -- are held by LA County Fire Department (LACoFD), Fire Prevention Division
- Delegated to
- Los Angeles County Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division (fire-code review/inspection of ESS, BIPV, and all electrical-disconnect placarding; a Fire Department final is required prior to use of any PV or ESS installation). Plan check for building/electrical also APPEARS delegated to a firm: the City's own 'Electronic Plan Check' link on the Building & Safety page routes to a Transtech-branded ePlanSoft instance (gopost-transtech.eplansoftreview.com/#/login?portal=Commerce), and the Building & Safety staff list on that same page names only a 'Permit Technician' -- no Building Official or Building Inspector is named anywhere on the page. This is inference from the portal domain and an absent title, not a confirmed staffing fact (same shape as Bell in the CA survey).
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code Sec.65850.52 (SolarAPP+ / automated expedited permitting mandate, which the City has implemented) and Sec.65850.5 (AB 2188 fee/process rules); AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) bars the City from adopting any new more-restrictive residential code amendment 1 Oct 2025 - 1 Jun 2031
- Why not higher
- The City's own Building & Safety Division page states plainly that it reviews plans and issues building permits, including a dedicated SolarAPP+ process for residential solar, and separately states that 'per LA County Fire Department Memorandum, it is required to obtain Fire Department final prior to use of the PV and ESS installation' -- directly naming LACoFD as a second, fire-scoped AHJ for the same job. LACoFD's own 'Guide for ESS, PV, & Disconnects' (which Commerce links to) states verbatim that LACoFD 'has historically delegated fire-official authority... to the jurisdictional building and safety department' for conventional roof PV at R-3/R-4, but retains ESS, BIPV, and all disconnect placarding as its own AHJ authority under the LA County Fire Code. Confidence is not higher because (a) the Transtech-portal/no-named-Building-Official evidence for plan-check delegation is inferential, and (b) I could not reach the City's codified Title 15 (Building) or Title 16 (Fire Protection) via Municode to confirm the adopting ordinance language directly (see not_found items) -- both library.municode.com's Angular API (401 on every /api/ route tried) and Wayback's captures of those node pages (JS app-shell only, no rendered content) failed; the legacy static-HTML mirror (library.municode.com/HTML/14852/...) now 303-redirects rather than serving content, even in 2014/2016 Wayback captures.
https://www.commerceca.gov/city-hall/economic-development-and-planning/building-safety
Check the code edition before you build
This authority's published code edition does not match what the state has adopted. That usually means the authority's ordinance has not been updated for the current cycle — but a local amendment can also be lawful. Confirm with the building department before you submit.
- Permit required
- Yes85%
- Portal
- SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org/login) for residential solar permits. General building permits also route through a Transtech-branded ePlanSoft electronic plan-check portal…88%
- Electrical code
- 202380%
- Own placard wording
- Yes85%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal82%
Labels & placards for this authority
City of Commerce writes its own placard wording. A standard NEC label set will not satisfy it — the exact text, and in most cases the size, colour and font, are specified below.
Wording 85%
Yes
Size, colour & material 90%
Red letters engraved into a yellow background; weather-resistant plastic; Exterior Placards minimum 2in tall x 3.5in wide, solid all-capitals Arial font, minimum font size 24 (bold for 'F.D.' and '#X of Y'); Panel-Interior Placards minimum 7/16in tall x 3/4in wide, same font style at a smaller size.
Where they go 82%
Exterior Placards: on or immediately adjacent to the exterior of the panel/enclosure containing the disconnect (additional exterior placards may be required by the fire code official where operating the 'Main' within a placarded panel is necessary). Panel-Interior Placards: inside the panel, next to the specific breaker/switch they identify.
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.