City of Del Mar
San Diego County
City of Del Mar is a city authority in the State of California, serving 3,954 residents. 1,722 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Separate Q4 Where you file — eTRAKiT (Tyler Technologies), branded 'eTRAKiT Online Portal' Q20
- Permit required
- Yes92% source
- Key document
- adopting ordinance (municipal code) cited by 8 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 88% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 92% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Separate 68% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 82% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Is there a historic-district review? No 62% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 65% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Conditionally yes -- DMMC 23.21.060(E): the Chief Building Official may require a Conditional Use Permit only upon a finding, based on substantial evidence, that the system 'could have a specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety'; that CUP decision (if required) is then appealable to the City Planning Commission, and the CUP itself may be denied only with written findings that no feasible mitigation exists. 85% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No blanket cap on residential PV generation size; the 10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal figure in DMMC 23.21.020(C)(1) is only the eligibility threshold for the streamlined, administrative Ch. 23.21 process (also requiring single/duplex-family and rooftop mounting) -- larger systems are not prohibited, they simply fall outside this chapter and would be reviewed under the City's standard (non-expedited) building-permit and design-review process. 82% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 78% · published application form
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 68% · published application form
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 90% · published application form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? DMMC 23.21.050 specifies: application to the Building Division (in person, mail, or electronic submittal) with permit-processing/inspection fees, plus applicant self-verification (prior to submittal) that (a) the roof support structure can carry the added wind/seismic/dead/live loads and (b) the existing electrical system/panel can carry the new PV load. The chapter directs the Planning and Building Departments to 'adopt an eligibility checklist' of full submittal requirements, but no such checklist, or any other solar-specific submittal-package document, could be found published anywhere on the city's site after checking the Building Services page, the ~90-document Development Applications & Guides page, and a site-search for 'solar', 'photovoltaic' and 'SolarAPP' (positive control 'electrical' returned 6 real document hits; fabricated control 'zzqqx' returned zero, proving the search worked). 62% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic submittal (email, internet, or facsimile) is expressly made available for all small residential rooftop solar applicants; the in-person/mail channel is also open. No copy-count or page-format spec (e.g., number of paper sets) was found. 55% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Likely yes 58% · utility DG documents page
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No PE stamp required for small residential rooftop solar systems (≤10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal, single/duplex-family); DMMC 23.21.050(D)(1) instead requires the applicant to self-verify structural adequacy 'through the use of standard engineering evaluation techniques' before submittal. No threshold above which a stamp is required is stated in this chapter. 78% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No PE stamp required for small residential rooftop solar systems; DMMC 23.21.050(D)(2) requires the applicant to self-verify, at their own cost, using 'standard electrical inspection techniques' that the existing line/load/ground/bonding wiring and panel/subpanel sizing can carry the new PV load. 76% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? eTRAKiT (Tyler Technologies), branded 'eTRAKiT Online Portal' 90% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Partially -- the Building Services page states 'Building Services are provided only via electronic submittal of Building Permit Applications and Plan Checks,' and the eTRAKiT portal page separately lists mechanical, electrical, plumbing and re-roof permits (plus 'Residential Additional Alteration') as self-service online categories -- but neither page names solar/PV explicitly, and both require a manual AEC/registered-user setup and emailing the assigned Planner rather than a single automated flow (no SolarAPP+ or equivalent automated platform was found anywhere on the city's site). 55% · department page
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 2 years from issuance in a Residential Zone; 4 years in a Commercial Zone or Specific Plan Zone (associated Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical permits expire concurrently with the Building Permit) 92% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Which utility handles interconnection here? San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) is the distribution/interconnection utility; Del Mar's electricity GENERATION is provided by default through the Clean Energy Alliance (CEA), a joint-powers community choice aggregation program the city joined in 2019 -- CEA does not process interconnection. 82% · department page
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel 65% · utility DG process page
28 questions answered against City of Del Mar’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherDMMC Ch. 23.05 (Construction Permits) and Ch. 23.21 (Small Residential Rooftop Solar Systems) both vest permitting in the City's own Building Division; the Building Services department page confirms the city issues these permits directly.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherDMMC 23.05.020 lists Building Permits and Electrical Permits as the City's own permit types (Ch. 23.05.030/23.05.040), issued and inspected in-house by the Building Division; no delegation to the County or a contractor was found.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.05COPE
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherDMMC 23.05.030(A)(1) requires a Building Permit for construction unless exempted; the local amendments to CBC/CRC §105.2 (work exempt from permit, DMMC 23.12.013/23.12.062) list only small accessory structures, fences, retaining walls and minor sidewalks/driveways -- solar is not among the exemptions.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.12CACOCO
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Separate
Why the confidence is not higherDMMC 23.05.020 enumerates Building Permits, Electrical Permits, Plumbing Permits and Mechanical Permits as distinct permit types, each with its own issuance/expiration rules in 23.05.030 vs. 23.05.040; this is a general-permit-structure finding, not a solar-specific statement, so a PV job's building (racking/structural) and electrical (wiring) scopes may in practice be filed as one packet reviewed under both permit types.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.05COPE
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Building Permit Application form requires a 'Licensed Contractor Declaration' (citing B&P Code Ch. 9) OR an 'Owner-Builder Declaration' (citing B&P Code §7044/§7031.5) -- both routes are printed on the same city form, with no solar-specific restriction found.
published application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.delmar.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/6937/Building-Permit-Application-Fillable-62220
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Permit Application form has a dedicated field for 'Del Mar Business License No.' under the Contractor Declaration, implying a contractor must hold a Del Mar business license to be listed on a permit; this is a general city business-license requirement, not a solar-specific contractor registry, and DMMC 23.20.090 separately provides a reduced business-license fee for solar contractors/designers, confirming the license requirement applies to them.
published application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.delmar.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/6937/Building-Permit-Application-Fillable-62220
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Building Permit Application form includes an explicit 'Owner-Builder Declaration' checkbox and B&P Code §7044 exemption language for owners who self-perform work not intended for sale; nothing in DMMC Ch. 23.21 restricts this for solar.
published application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.delmar.ca.us/DocumentCenter/View/6937/Building-Permit-Application-Fillable-62220
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
DMMC 23.21.050 specifies: application to the Building Division (in person, mail, or electronic submittal) with permit-processing/inspection fees, plus applicant self-verification (prior to submittal) that (a) the roof support structure can carry the added wind/seismic/dead/live loads and (b) the existing electrical system/panel can carry the new PV load. The chapter directs the Planning and Building Departments to 'adopt an eligibility checklist' of full submittal requirements, but no such checklist, or any other solar-specific submittal-package document, could be found published anywhere on the city's site after checking the Building Services page, the ~90-document Development Applications & Guides page, and a site-search for 'solar', 'photovoltaic' and 'SolarAPP' (positive control 'electrical' returned 6 real document hits; fabricated control 'zzqqx' returned zero, proving the search worked).
Why the confidence is not higherCode text is explicit about the self-verification steps and submittal channel, but the itemized checklist the code itself says the city 'shall adopt' does not appear to exist publicly, so the full document list cannot be confirmed.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic submittal (email, internet, or facsimile) is expressly made available for all small residential rooftop solar applicants; the in-person/mail channel is also open. No copy-count or page-format spec (e.g., number of paper sets) was found.
Why the confidence is not higherDMMC 23.21.050(A)/(B) states the electronic-submittal options plainly but does not address paper copy counts or file formats.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDMMC Ch. 23.21 (full text read) and the city's Building Permit Application form -- neither states a site-plan requirement or its contents for solar specifically; no published solar checklist exists (see Q8) to check for one.
https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Likely yes
Why the confidence is not higherNot stated in Del Mar's own code text or on its site (no published solar checklist exists, see Q8); inferred from SDG&E's own interconnection Documents & Forms page, which lists an 'Electrical One-Line Diagram Drawing' as a standard required submittal for the NEM/interconnection application covering Del Mar's territory, and from universal CEC plan-check practice.
utility DG documents page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sdge.com/residential/savings-center/renewables/contractor-support-center/documents-forms
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDMMC Ch. 23.21 full text and the Building Permit Application form -- neither addresses string/conductor calculations; no published solar submittal checklist exists to check (see Q8).
https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
No PE stamp required for small residential rooftop solar systems (≤10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal, single/duplex-family); DMMC 23.21.050(D)(1) instead requires the applicant to self-verify structural adequacy 'through the use of standard engineering evaluation techniques' before submittal. No threshold above which a stamp is required is stated in this chapter.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from the city's own small-residential-solar ordinance; larger/non-qualifying systems would fall outside Ch. 23.21 and presumably follow standard CBC/CRC structural plan-check practice, which is not separately documented for Del Mar.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
No PE stamp required for small residential rooftop solar systems; DMMC 23.21.050(D)(2) requires the applicant to self-verify, at their own cost, using 'standard electrical inspection techniques' that the existing line/load/ground/bonding wiring and panel/subpanel sizing can carry the new PV load.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from the city's own ordinance; no separate electrical-PE-stamp threshold document was found.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAll three published City fee documents were downloaded and read in full: the FY2027 Engineering and Planning Fee Schedule (DocumentCenter/View/9441, adopted 16 Jun 2026, effective 1 Jul 2026 -- entirely discretionary Planning/Engineering review items, no Building-permit fee table), the Administrative/Building-Clean Water/Community Services/Public Works Fees document (DocumentCenter/View/7129, same adoption date -- contains only a flat 'Building-Clean Water Construction Inspection Fee' of $1,976/$3,925, not a general building-permit fee), and the Building-Fire Mitigation and Fire Dept Review Fees document (DocumentCenter/View/7135 -- Fire-side plan-check/inspection fees only, no PV/solar/battery line, control-checked). No standard valuation-based Building/Electrical permit fee table (the kind that would price a solar permit) was found published anywhere on the site.
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame three fee documents as Q15 -- none contains a general Building/Electrical permit fee-calculation basis (valuation, flat, per-kW, per-panel, or tiered); the only percentage/valuation-based tables found are for Engineering improvement-plan review and Fire mitigation fees, which are not solar-specific.
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame three fee documents as Q15 -- none separates a 'plan-check fee' from a 'permit fee' for a standard Building/Electrical permit; only the Planning-side discretionary applications show a plan-review line item pattern.
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Services department page (full text read) -- states office hours and inspection-request procedures but no stated business-day plan-review turnaround/SLA.
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
2 years from issuance in a Residential Zone; 4 years in a Commercial Zone or Specific Plan Zone (associated Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical permits expire concurrently with the Building Permit)
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated in DMMC 23.05.030(C); this is the general Building Permit expiration rule, not solar-specific, but applies to a solar Building Permit the same as any other.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.05COPE
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
eTRAKiT (Tyler Technologies), branded 'eTRAKiT Online Portal'
Why the confidence is not higherNamed and linked directly from the Building Services department page as the city's permitting portal.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.delmar.ca.us/865/eTRAKIT---Online-Portal
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Partially -- the Building Services page states 'Building Services are provided only via electronic submittal of Building Permit Applications and Plan Checks,' and the eTRAKiT portal page separately lists mechanical, electrical, plumbing and re-roof permits (plus 'Residential Additional Alteration') as self-service online categories -- but neither page names solar/PV explicitly, and both require a manual AEC/registered-user setup and emailing the assigned Planner rather than a single automated flow (no SolarAPP+ or equivalent automated platform was found anywhere on the city's site).
Why the confidence is not higherNo solar-specific statement exists; this synthesizes the two general process pages, which is a moderate rather than direct answer.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.delmar.ca.us/133/Building-Services
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) is the distribution/interconnection utility; Del Mar's electricity GENERATION is provided by default through the Clean Energy Alliance (CEA), a joint-powers community choice aggregation program the city joined in 2019 -- CEA does not process interconnection.
Why the confidence is not higherDel Mar's own 'Energy Use & Generation' page names the Clean Energy Alliance as the city's CCA; the city's own Undergrounding Program documents refer throughout to SDG&E as the owner/operator of the electric distribution lines and poles in Del Mar, consistent with SDG&E being the interconnecting IOU. No formal SDG&E territory map was independently checked in this run.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.delmar.ca.us/672/Energy-Use-Generation
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel
Why the confidence is not higherSDG&E's own contractor process page instructs installers to submit the interconnection application '2 weeks prior to city and/or county inspection' (5 business days for the Fast Track option), meaning the utility application and city permitting/inspection proceed concurrently rather than strictly gating one another; not confirmed against a Del Mar-specific statement.
utility DG process page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sdge.com/residential/savings-center/renewables/contractor-support-center/process
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherDMMC 23.21.060(A) makes small residential rooftop solar review 'administrative, nondiscretionary,' limited to the Chief Building Official's health/safety check -- no HOA or Design Review Board approval is a prerequisite step. State law (Civil Code §714/§801.5, cross-referenced in DMMC 23.21.020(G)/(H)) separately bars HOA conditioning beyond narrow 'reasonable restrictions.'
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherDel Mar's Historic Preservation Overlay Zone chapter (DMMC Ch. 30.58, including its 'Design Review' section 30.58.060) contains no mention of solar or photovoltaic anywhere in its full text (control-checked); DMMC 23.21.060(A) also makes small-residential solar review administrative rather than routed through Design Review. A property individually designated as a historic landmark structure was not separately checked and could still trigger case-by-case review.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT30ZO_CH30.58HIPROVZO
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo wind/windstorm certification analog to a Texas TDI-style program was found anywhere in Del Mar's adopted building or solar code chapters; California does not operate such a program statewide, and Del Mar's own local CBC amendments (DMMC 23.12.011-014) do not add one.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.12CACOCO
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Conditionally yes -- DMMC 23.21.060(E): the Chief Building Official may require a Conditional Use Permit only upon a finding, based on substantial evidence, that the system 'could have a specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety'; that CUP decision (if required) is then appealable to the City Planning Commission, and the CUP itself may be denied only with written findings that no feasible mitigation exists.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from the city's own small-residential-solar ordinance.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No blanket cap on residential PV generation size; the 10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal figure in DMMC 23.21.020(C)(1) is only the eligibility threshold for the streamlined, administrative Ch. 23.21 process (also requiring single/duplex-family and rooftop mounting) -- larger systems are not prohibited, they simply fall outside this chapter and would be reviewed under the City's standard (non-expedited) building-permit and design-review process.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted eligibility definition; the code does not state an outright generation ceiling for residential solar city-wide, matching the 'gate, not cap' pattern seen in comparable AB 2188-era city ordinances.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 92% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code, Part 2, Title 24 CCR (based on the 2024 International Building Code); the 2025 California Residential Code, Part 2.5, also governs one- and two-family dwellings 95% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (via the 2024 International Fire Code) plus the 2025 California Wildland-Urban Interface Code, Part 7 95% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 95% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building Standards Code as locally amended (CBC Part 2, CRC Part 2.5, CEC Part 3, CMC Part 4, CPC Part 5, CGBC Part 11, WUI Code Part 7, per DMMC Ch. 23.12), plus DMMC Ch. 23.21 for small residential rooftop solar systems specifically 88% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? No local ridge-setback or fire-access-pathway amendment for rooftop PV was found anywhere in DMMC Title 10 (Fire Prevention), full text read and control-checked -- so the unamended 2025 California Fire Code / California Residential Code rooftop-solar access, pathway and setback provisions (as published in the state model code) would apply by default in Del Mar; DMMC 23.21.060(H)/(I) additionally allows the one required solar inspection to be consolidated with the Fire Marshal. 68% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes -- rapid shutdown per NEC 690.12, incorporated unamended into the 2025 California Electrical Code (based on the 2023 NEC) 75% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 72% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No 72% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? No dedicated approved-equipment list; DMMC 23.21.040(C) requires only that electricity-producing equipment meet 'all applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories and, where applicable, rules of the Public Utilities Commission' -- a general listing/standards requirement, not a city-maintained approved-products list. 72% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? No ESS/battery-specific ordinance provision was found; DMMC Ch. 23.21 (small residential rooftop solar) and Title 10 Fire Prevention (full text read) are both silent on battery storage, so residential batteries would default to the unamended 2025 CFC/CRC energy-storage-system provisions with no added local condition. 60% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No 55% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No 75% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? No local-specific mounting/attachment-spacing requirement found; DMMC 23.21.050(D)(1) requires only that the applicant self-verify (via 'standard engineering evaluation techniques') that the support structure can transfer all wind/seismic/dead/live loads to the foundation -- a performance standard, not a prescriptive spacing/attachment spec. 68% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
20 questions answered against City of Del Mar’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherDMMC 23.12.020 adopts the 2025 California Electrical Code, Part 3, Title 24 CCR, expressly stated to be 'based on the National Electrical Code, 2023 Edition.'
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.12CACOCO
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code, Part 2, Title 24 CCR (based on the 2024 International Building Code); the 2025 California Residential Code, Part 2.5, also governs one- and two-family dwellings
Why the confidence is not higherDMMC 23.12.010 and 23.12.060, adopted by Ord. No. 1022, effective 10-22-2025.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.12CACOCO
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (via the 2024 International Fire Code) plus the 2025 California Wildland-Urban Interface Code, Part 7
Why the confidence is not higherDMMC 10.04.010, adopted by Ord. No. 1023, effective 10-22-2025; also cross-adopted in DMMC 23.12.100.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT10FIPR_CH10.042025FICO
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherExtensive local amendments exist and are individually codified: CBC §§105.1, 105.2, 1505.1 (DMMC 23.12.012-014); CRC §§R105.2, R902.1, R902.1.2, R309.1, R309.2 and Appendix CI (DMMC 23.12.062-067); California Green Building Code Tier-1 mandatory measures for non-residential (DMMC 23.12.071); and numerous California Fire Code local amendments across Chapters 3, 5, 9, 56, 57 and 61 (DMMC 10.04.040-10.04.150). None of these amendments specifically address solar/PV, rapid shutdown, or battery storage (full text read, control-checked).
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.12CACOCO
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Building Standards Code as locally amended (CBC Part 2, CRC Part 2.5, CEC Part 3, CMC Part 4, CPC Part 5, CGBC Part 11, WUI Code Part 7, per DMMC Ch. 23.12), plus DMMC Ch. 23.21 for small residential rooftop solar systems specifically
Why the confidence is not higherSynthesizes the general code-adoption chapter with the solar-specific chapter; Del Mar's own pages do not restate this as a single sentence.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.12CACOCO
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
No
Why the confidence is not higherDMMC Division 2 (Electrical Code), consisting solely of §23.12.020, is a clean adoption of the 2025 CEC with no numbered local-amendment subsections -- unlike Division 1 (Building) and Division 6 (Residential), which each carry several. Full text of the division was read; no service-upgrade or busbar-sizing rule exists.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.12CACOCO
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
No local-specific mounting/attachment-spacing requirement found; DMMC 23.21.050(D)(1) requires only that the applicant self-verify (via 'standard engineering evaluation techniques') that the support structure can transfer all wind/seismic/dead/live loads to the foundation -- a performance standard, not a prescriptive spacing/attachment spec.
Why the confidence is not higherFull text of DMMC Ch. 23.21 and Ch. 23.12 Division 1 was read; no attachment-spacing table or product-specific mounting rule was found in either.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
No local ridge-setback or fire-access-pathway amendment for rooftop PV was found anywhere in DMMC Title 10 (Fire Prevention), full text read and control-checked -- so the unamended 2025 California Fire Code / California Residential Code rooftop-solar access, pathway and setback provisions (as published in the state model code) would apply by default in Del Mar; DMMC 23.21.060(H)/(I) additionally allows the one required solar inspection to be consolidated with the Fire Marshal.
Why the confidence is not higherThe absence of a local PV-specific fire-code amendment is directly proven by reading the entirety of DMMC Ch. 10.04; what applies 'by default' from the unamended state code is inferred rather than separately quoted from a Del Mar document.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT10FIPR_CH10.042025FICO
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes -- rapid shutdown per NEC 690.12, incorporated unamended into the 2025 California Electrical Code (based on the 2023 NEC)
Why the confidence is not higherFollows from the Q29 code-edition finding; DMMC 23.12.020 is a clean, unamended CEC adoption with no local carve-out for rapid shutdown, but Del Mar's own pages do not separately restate the 690.12 requirement in solar-specific language.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.12CACOCO
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull text of DMMC Title 10 (Fire Prevention, Ch. 10.04) and Title 23 solar chapters (23.20, 23.21) -- no placard/label requirement of any kind for service equipment is specified in any of them; no separate fire-department PV bulletin or utility placard spec was found on the city's site.
https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT10FIPR_CH10.042025FICO
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe full text of DMMC Title 10 (Fire Prevention, Ch. 10.04) and Title 23 solar chapters (23.20, 23.21) were read in their entirety and contain no placard-wording language; no separate signage bulletin was found on the city's site despite a targeted site-search (control-checked: 'electrical' returns 6 real document hits, fabricated term 'zzqqx' returns zero).
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT10FIPR_CH10.042025FICO
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame absence as Q39 -- no letter-height, colour or material specification exists in any Del Mar fire or building code chapter read for this run.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT10FIPR_CH10.042025FICO
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame chapters as Q38 -- no site-plan/facility-map placard requirement (e.g., a 705.10-style rapid-shutdown map placard) is specified anywhere in Del Mar's adopted code or on its site.
https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT10FIPR_CH10.042025FICO
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSDG&E's own Documents & Forms page for residential solar interconnection -- lists one-line-diagram templates, NEM applications and the Interconnection Agreement, but no placard/label specification of its own.
https://www.sdge.com/residential/savings-center/renewables/contractor-support-center/documents-forms
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame sources as Q38/Q42 -- no label-placement rule (on the meter, disconnect, panel, etc.) was found in any Del Mar code chapter or the SDG&E documents page checked.
https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT10FIPR_CH10.042025FICO
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
No dedicated approved-equipment list; DMMC 23.21.040(C) requires only that electricity-producing equipment meet 'all applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories and, where applicable, rules of the Public Utilities Commission' -- a general listing/standards requirement, not a city-maintained approved-products list.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from the city's own ordinance.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
No ESS/battery-specific ordinance provision was found; DMMC Ch. 23.21 (small residential rooftop solar) and Title 10 Fire Prevention (full text read) are both silent on battery storage, so residential batteries would default to the unamended 2025 CFC/CRC energy-storage-system provisions with no added local condition.
Why the confidence is not higherThis is a proven absence of a local rule rather than a positive statement of what conditions apply; genuinely checked against both the solar chapter and the full fire-code chapter.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT10FIPR_CH10.042025FICO
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo separate ESS permit or inspection chapter was found anywhere in Del Mar's code; battery storage would be expected to run through the same Building/Electrical permit process as any other electrical equipment addition, but this is inferred from the absence of a dedicated ESS chapter rather than a stated rule.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.05COPE
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDMMC Ch. 23.21 (scoped by its own title to 'Small Residential ROOFTOP Solar Systems' only, so ground-mount is outside it) and a keyword scan of Title 30 Zoning's Accessory-Uses sections across every residential zone chapter (30.10-30.31) -- none of them classifies a ground-mounted solar array as an accessory structure or states a separate setback rule for one.
https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT30ZO
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSDG&E's Documents & Forms page for residential solar interconnection -- no AC-disconnect-to-meter placement rule was stated in the reachable page text (only application forms and one-line-diagram templates, not read at full diagram-template detail); Del Mar's own code is silent on this.
https://www.sdge.com/residential/savings-center/renewables/contractor-support-center/documents-forms
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone or Email 92% · department page
- How much notice is required? Effectively 1 business day -- 'Please call the Inspection line by 4:00 p.m. to schedule an inspection for the next day.' 85% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? No same-day inspections stated; scheduling is next-business-day by phone/email, with the Building Inspector otherwise working 'Monday through Friday (By Appointment).' No AM/PM inspection-window system was found published. 60% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 92% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- If delegated, to whom? Not applicable 90% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? One final inspection only, performed by the Building Division; may be consolidated with a Fire Marshal inspection at the same visit (DMMC 23.21.060(H)-(I)) 88% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 85% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No 70% · department page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final 50% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer 82% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
- How are corrections issued and cleared? If an application is deemed incomplete, DMMC 23.21.060(C) requires 'a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies... for resubmission.' If the installed system fails its inspection, 23.21.060(J) authorizes 'a subsequent inspection,' which 'need not conform to the requirements of this Section' (i.e., is not bound by the one-inspection rule). 78% · adopting ordinance (municipal code)
14 questions answered against City of Del Mar’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone or Email
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Services department page: 'Inspection requests (including gas or electrical emergencies), can be made by phone or email at: Phone: (858) 375-9528, Email: Inspector@delmar.ca.us.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.delmar.ca.us/133/Building-Services
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Effectively 1 business day -- 'Please call the Inspection line by 4:00 p.m. to schedule an inspection for the next day.'
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from the Building Services page; larger-project appointments may need more lead time but no specific day-count is given for those.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.delmar.ca.us/133/Building-Services
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
No same-day inspections stated; scheduling is next-business-day by phone/email, with the Building Inspector otherwise working 'Monday through Friday (By Appointment).' No AM/PM inspection-window system was found published.
Why the confidence is not higherThe page states the next-day booking cutoff and the appointment-based inspector schedule but does not describe a morning/afternoon window system the way some larger cities' portals do.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.delmar.ca.us/133/Building-Services
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherDMMC 23.21.060(H): 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by the Building Division... for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review.'
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Not applicable
Why the confidence is not higherQ52 found the Building Division performs its own final solar inspection in-house; there is no delegate to name. The code allows this single inspection to be consolidated with the Fire Marshal, but Fire does not replace or perform it independently.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
One final inspection only, performed by the Building Division; may be consolidated with a Fire Marshal inspection at the same visit (DMMC 23.21.060(H)-(I))
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from the city's own small-residential-solar ordinance.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherFollows directly from the explicit 'only one inspection' rule in DMMC 23.21.060(H); no separate rough-in/mid-roof stage is described for the eligible expedited-review path.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDMMC Ch. 23.21 and the Building Services inspection-request page -- neither states explicitly that the inspector verifies labels/listings at the final inspection, though this is standard NEC 110.21-driven practice; not recorded as an answer because no Del Mar-specific document says so.
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No
Why the confidence is not higherDMMC 23.21.050(C) directs the Planning and Building Departments to 'adopt an eligibility checklist,' but no such checklist -- or any other published inspection checklist -- could be found on the city's site after checking the Building Services page, the full Development Applications & Guides document list (~90 PDFs), and a targeted site-search for 'solar'/'photovoltaic'/'SolarAPP' (controls: 'electrical' returns 6 real hits, 'zzqqx' returns zero).
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.delmar.ca.us/138/Development-Applications-Guides
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDMMC Ch. 23.21 and the Building Services page -- neither states what documents/approvals must be physically on site at the time of the solar final inspection.
https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAll three City fee documents (see Q15) -- none contains a Building Division re-inspection fee line. The Fire Department's own fee schedule does list a general 'Re-Inspection Fee' of $127, but that is the Fire side and cannot be confirmed to apply to the Building Division's own solar final inspection, so it is not recorded as the answer.
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
If an application is deemed incomplete, DMMC 23.21.060(C) requires 'a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies... for resubmission.' If the installed system fails its inspection, 23.21.060(J) authorizes 'a subsequent inspection,' which 'need not conform to the requirements of this Section' (i.e., is not bound by the one-inspection rule).
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from the city's own ordinance; it does not separately describe how corrections are physically communicated/tracked (e.g., portal vs. paper).
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final
Why the confidence is not higherDel Mar's code repeatedly uses the phrase 'final inspection approval' (e.g., DMMC 23.05.030(C)(4), 23.21.060) to describe permit close-out, but no document names a specific issued artifact (Certificate of Occupancy, green tag, letter); 'Final' is the closest match to the code's own terminology rather than a directly stated answer.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.05COPE
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer
Why the confidence is not higherDMMC 23.21.060(D): the Building Division's administrative approval 'does not authorize an applicant to connect the small residential rooftop energy system to the local utility provider's electricity grid. The applicant is responsible for obtaining such approval or permission from the local utility provider' -- placing PTO notification on the applicant/installer, not the AHJ.
adopting ordinance (municipal code) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Del Mar against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Del Mar is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (in-house Building Division, within the Planning & Community Development department)
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code §65850.5 (AB 2188) sets the floor for administrative/expedited residential solar permitting, implemented locally as DMMC Ch. 23.21; Civil Code §714/§801.5 bar HOA/architectural conditioning of solar beyond 'reasonable restrictions'; SDG&E (the IOU) separately gatekeeps grid interconnection/PTO regardless of the city's permit sign-off, and Del Mar's own ordinance (23.21.060(D)) says so explicitly.
- Why not higher
- Del Mar's own Municipal Code (Title 23, Ch. 23.05 Construction Permits; Ch. 23.12 California Codes for Construction; Ch. 23.21 Small Residential Rooftop Solar Systems) vests building and electrical permitting -- including a dedicated administrative/nondiscretionary solar-permitting chapter modeled on AB 2188 -- in the City's own Building Division, not San Diego County. All Building Division contact points found (Building@delmar.ca.us, Inspector@delmar.ca.us) are on the city's own domain and no contract staffing firm (Willdan/CSG/4LEAF/Transtech/Interwest/EsGil/Bureau Veritas) was found anywhere in the fee schedules, permit application, or department pages, though the full staff directory only rendered generic department emails to a plain fetch (JS-rendered directory), so a named contract Building Official cannot be fully ruled out. Fire code enforcement sits with Del Mar's own Fire Department/Fire Prevention Bureau (DMMC Title 10, Ch. 10.04), which may perform a consolidated inspection with Building on solar jobs (DMMC 23.21.060(H)) but does not separately gatekeep the permit.
https://library.municode.com/ca/del_mar/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT23BUCO_CH23.21SMREROSOSY
- Permit required
- Yes92%
- Portal
- eTRAKiT (Tyler Technologies), branded 'eTRAKiT Online Portal'90%
- Electrical code
- 202392%
- Own placard wording
- No72%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone or Email92%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 72%
No
Size, colour & material 72%
No
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.