City of Desert Hot Springs

Riverside County

Verified Aug. 4, 2026

City of Desert Hot Springs is a city authority in the State of California, serving 32,512 residents. 4,496 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined for the solar-specific pathway — SolarAPP+/city page describes a single 'Solar Permit' application; Q4 Where you file — OpenGov Community Development portal (deserthotspringsca.portal.opengov.com) — the City's prior ViewPointCloud portal now 301-redirects to this same OpenGov instance Q20

Permit required
Yes97% source
What it costs
No dedicated flat PV fee published. Building Permit fee is valuation-based per the 2020 fee schedule (e.g.55% source
Key document
inference from adopted program cited by 5 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · authority's own page
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both — Building and Electrical are permitted in-house by the City; Fire-code review/inspection is delegated to Riverside County Fire Department (RVC Fire) in cooperation with CAL FIRE 90% · authority's own page + ordinance
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 97% · municipal code
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined for the solar-specific pathway — SolarAPP+/city page describes a single 'Solar Permit' application; however the general fee schedule still lists Building Permits and Electrical Permits as separate line items 60% · authority's own page
    • Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No — HOA/architectural approval is not required, and the City is barred from conditioning the permit on it 95% · municipal code
    • Is there a historic-district review? No 80% · municipal code
    • Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No local windstorm-certification requirement found — standard ASCE 7 wind-speed provisions of the adopted CBC apply without a separate certification process 60% · municipal code
    • Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Conditionally — the City may require a discretionary permit only where it makes written findings, based on substantial evidence, of a specific adverse impact on public health/safety; that decision is appealable to the Planning Commission 85% · municipal code
    • Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No hard local kW cap is codified — DHSMC §15.36.060 defines 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' by reference to Cal. Gov. Code §65850.5 (the pre-SB 379 AB 2188-era statutory definition). Separately, the City's live SolarAPP+ page caps automated/expedited review eligibility at systems 'less than 38.4kW' AC; larger systems are not barred, they simply fall outside the SolarAPP+ fast-track. 80% · municipal code + authority's own page
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

    • Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either — SolarAPP+ pathway requires a licensed contractor only; the standard (non-SolarAPP+) building-permit pathway appears to allow an owner-builder, evidenced by the City's published 'Owner/Builder Information' handout 60% · authority's own page
    • Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Likely Yes — DHSMC Title 5 (Business Licenses) includes §5.04.190 'License tax for persons operating businesses outside City', indicating a business-license obligation attaches to any contractor performing work within city limits, not only city-based businesses 55% · municipal code
    • Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes for standard permits (Owner/Builder Information handout published); No for the SolarAPP+ expedited pathway, which is licensed-contractor-only 55% · authority's own page
  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes, implicitly — required as part of SolarAPP+'s standardized design-submission process, which the City has adopted as its solar review pathway 55% · inference from adopted program
    • Are string and conductor calculations required? Likely Yes, via the SolarAPP+ platform's automated design review (string/conductor sizing is part of its code-compliance check) 50% · inference from adopted program
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? OpenGov Community Development portal (deserthotspringsca.portal.opengov.com) — the City's prior ViewPointCloud portal now 301-redirects to this same OpenGov instance 90% · portal landing page
    • Can the whole application be completed online? Yes, for SolarAPP+-eligible residential rooftop PV — submit design, pay fees, download approval, and apply for the permit are all described as happening through SolarAPP+ and the City portal 80% · authority's own page
    • What does a residential solar permit cost? No dedicated flat PV fee published. Building Permit fee is valuation-based per the 2020 fee schedule (e.g. up to $1,500 valuation = $168; $1,501–$20,000 = $168 + $18/$1,000 over $1,500, per the 'PROPOSED' column, which is confirmed adopted by the City's own Aug-2023 estimate sheet showing the matching $1,600 flat new-SFR figure). Electrical base permit issuance is $23 + $124 base, plus itemized equipment lines (e.g. Inverter/Rectifier $76). SolarAPP+ page states fees are 'per project' without publishing a number. 55% · fee schedule
    • How is the fee calculated? Valuation (Building Permit) combined with itemized flat fees per equipment type (Electrical Permit trade fees) 60% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 75% · fee schedule
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

    • How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days (default 2022/2025 CBC Section 105.5 permit-expiration provision; no DHS-specific local amendment to this period was found) 55% · municipal code (by incorporation)
    • Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 95% · authority's own document

28 questions answered against City of Desert Hot Springs’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Community Development page lists Building Division/Solar APP+ as issuing solar permits, and DHSMC §15.36.020 requires a City building permit for all small residential rooftop solar energy systems.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofdhs.org/departments/community-development/

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both — Building and Electrical are permitted in-house by the City; Fire-code review/inspection is delegated to Riverside County Fire Department (RVC Fire) in cooperation with CAL FIRE

Why the confidence is not higherCity Fire Dept page states services are provided 'through a cooperative agreement with CAL FIRE and Riverside County Fire Department'; DHSMC §15.22.030/§104.1.1/§202 (city's own Fire Code chapter) formally delegates fire-code enforcement authority to the Riverside County Fire Chief. Building/Electrical staff (Community Development staff directory) are all on the @cityofdhs.org domain — no outsourced plan-check firm found.

authority's own page + ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofdhs.org/departments/fire/

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherDHSMC §15.36.020: 'All small residential rooftop solar energy systems ... shall require a building permit pursuant to this chapter.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43989292

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined for the solar-specific pathway — SolarAPP+/city page describes a single 'Solar Permit' application; however the general fee schedule still lists Building Permits and Electrical Permits as separate line items

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Solar APP+ page: 'Apply here for Solar Permit through City permitting portal' (singular). But the 2020 fee study carries wholly separate 'BUILDING PERMIT & PLAN CHECK FEES' and 'ELECTRICAL PERMITS' sections, so the underlying trade permits may still be tracked separately even under one application.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofdhs.org/solar-app/

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either — SolarAPP+ pathway requires a licensed contractor only; the standard (non-SolarAPP+) building-permit pathway appears to allow an owner-builder, evidenced by the City's published 'Owner/Builder Information' handout

Why the confidence is not higherSolar APP+ page: 'Licensed Contractors only' for that pathway. Separately, City's Building Documents page publishes an 'Owner/Builder Information' PDF (image-only scan, could not OCR beyond confirming its existence/title), implying an owner-builder route exists for the standard building-permit process.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofdhs.org/solar-app/

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

Likely Yes — DHSMC Title 5 (Business Licenses) includes §5.04.190 'License tax for persons operating businesses outside City', indicating a business-license obligation attaches to any contractor performing work within city limits, not only city-based businesses

Why the confidence is not higherRead Chapter 5.04 (General Business Licenses) table of contents and purpose section; did not find a solar- or building-permit-specific contractor-registration clause tying license status to permit issuance, so this is an inference from the general business-license chapter, not a solar-specific statement.

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43985301

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes for standard permits (Owner/Builder Information handout published); No for the SolarAPP+ expedited pathway, which is licensed-contractor-only

Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building Documents page lists an 'Owner/Builder Information' handout (image-only PDF, title confirmed, body not machine-readable). Solar APP+ page explicitly restricts that specific pathway to licensed contractors.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofdhs.org/building-documents/

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Documents page (15 PDFs, none titled as a solar submittal checklist) and Building Permit Requirements page (6 non-solar guideline PDFs: EV charger x2, plan-check requirements x2, pool, tenant improvement); Solar APP+ page describes the SolarAPP+ platform's own review but the City has not published a standalone residential-PV submittal checklist

https://www.cityofdhs.org/building-permit-requirements/

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame pages as Q8 — no published copy-count/format requirement for a residential solar submittal was found

https://www.cityofdhs.org/building-documents/

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame pages as Q8 — no solar-specific site-plan requirement sheet found; general 'Building Permit Application' PDF is a generic multi-trade form, not solar-specific

https://www.cityofdhs.org/building-and-safety/

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Yes, implicitly — required as part of SolarAPP+'s standardized design-submission process, which the City has adopted as its solar review pathway

Why the confidence is not higherDHS does not publish its own line-item checklist; this is inferred from the City having adopted the NREL SolarAPP+ platform (which requires one-line electrical diagrams as a baseline input) rather than from a city-authored document.

inference from adopted program checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofdhs.org/solar-app/

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Likely Yes, via the SolarAPP+ platform's automated design review (string/conductor sizing is part of its code-compliance check)

Why the confidence is not higherSame caveat as Q11 — inferred from the SolarAPP+ platform DHS uses rather than a DHS-authored checklist.

inference from adopted program checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofdhs.org/solar-app/

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched DHSMC Ch. 15.04 (Building Code adoption/amendments) and Ch. 15.08 (Residential Code) — no PV-specific structural PE-stamp threshold found; likely governed case-by-case under standard CBC/CRC engineering triggers rather than a published solar-specific threshold

https://ecode360.com/43989202

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame chapters as Q13 — no electrical PE-stamp threshold specific to residential PV found

https://ecode360.com/43989215

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

No dedicated flat PV fee published. Building Permit fee is valuation-based per the 2020 fee schedule (e.g. up to $1,500 valuation = $168; $1,501–$20,000 = $168 + $18/$1,000 over $1,500, per the 'PROPOSED' column, which is confirmed adopted by the City's own Aug-2023 estimate sheet showing the matching $1,600 flat new-SFR figure). Electrical base permit issuance is $23 + $124 base, plus itemized equipment lines (e.g. Inverter/Rectifier $76). SolarAPP+ page states fees are 'per project' without publishing a number.

Why the confidence is not higher2020 User Fee Study is the only fee document currently linked from the City's site; its 'PROPOSED' column values are corroborated as adopted by the Aug-2023 'Approximate Cost for New SFR' handout showing the same $1,600 flat Building Permit figure. No PV-specific line item exists in either document — this is inference by valuation table, not a solar-specific quote.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/deserthotspringsca/uploads/2021/08/USER-FEE-STUDY-EXHIBIT-2-6-16-2020.pdf

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Valuation (Building Permit) combined with itemized flat fees per equipment type (Electrical Permit trade fees)

Why the confidence is not higher2020 Building & Safety Fee Schedule: Building Permit fees are tiered by dollar valuation; Electrical Permit fees are flat per equipment/device type (no PV-specific line, so an installer's PV permit would likely be priced off valuation and/or the closest equipment line, e.g. Inverter/Rectifier).

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/deserthotspringsca/uploads/2021/08/USER-FEE-STUDY-EXHIBIT-2-6-16-2020.pdf

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule lists 'BUILDING PLAN CHECKING' as a wholly separate fee table from 'BUILDING CONSTRUCTION INSPECTION/PERMITS', both valuation-tiered.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/deserthotspringsca/uploads/2021/08/USER-FEE-STUDY-EXHIBIT-2-6-16-2020.pdf

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked Solar APP+ page, Building Division page, and Building Permit Requirements page — none states a plan-review turnaround SLA in business days

https://www.cityofdhs.org/building-division/

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

180 days (default 2022/2025 CBC Section 105.5 permit-expiration provision; no DHS-specific local amendment to this period was found)

Why the confidence is not higherDHSMC Ch. 15.04 (Building Code) adopts the CBC by reference with only two narrow local amendments (grading 'Building Official' definition, penalty clause) — no amendment to the standard 180-day permit-validity provision was found, so this is the unamended statewide default rather than a city-specific statement.

municipal code (by incorporation) checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43989202

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

OpenGov Community Development portal (deserthotspringsca.portal.opengov.com) — the City's prior ViewPointCloud portal now 301-redirects to this same OpenGov instance

Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed by direct redirect: https://deserthotspringsca.viewpointcloud.com/ returns HTTP 301 to https://deserthotspringsca.portal.opengov.com/. City's own pages link both the 'Online Permits' portal and the SolarAPP+ application flow to this portal.

portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://deserthotspringsca.portal.opengov.com/

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Yes, for SolarAPP+-eligible residential rooftop PV — submit design, pay fees, download approval, and apply for the permit are all described as happening through SolarAPP+ and the City portal

Why the confidence is not higherSolar APP+ page walks through: register/sign in to SolarAPP+ -> submit design -> pay fees -> download approval document -> apply for Solar Permit through City permitting portal -> schedule inspection. No in-person step is described for eligible projects.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofdhs.org/solar-app/

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Southern California Edison (SCE)

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own 'Approximate Cost for New Single Family Dwelling Unit' handout (Community Development/Building & Planning letterhead) lists 'SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA EDISON COMPANY' with both a customer-service and an approval/clearance phone number as the utility contact. Separately, Desert Community Energy's own site names only Palm Springs as an enrolled CCA member and does not mention Desert Hot Springs, consistent with DHS remaining on standard SCE service rather than a CCA.

authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/deserthotspringsca/uploads/2021/09/NSFR-ESTIMATED-FEES-080723.pdf

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSCE's own DG/interconnection pages returned 404 on every URL tried (https://www.sce.com/business/generating-your-own-power/interconnections and https://www.sce.com/generatingyourownpower); no DHS document states the sequencing of utility approval relative to permit issuance

https://www.sce.com/generatingyourownpower

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

No — HOA/architectural approval is not required, and the City is barred from conditioning the permit on it

Why the confidence is not higherDHSMC §15.36.050.E: 'The City will not condition the approval of an application on the approval of an association as defined in Civil Code Section 4080.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43989292

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherDHSMC Title 17 (Zoning) Ch. 17.32 (Overlay Districts) establishes only a Specific Plan Overlay (SP) and the Two Bunch Palms Specific Plan Overlay — no historic-district overlay exists anywhere in the zoning code's list of established overlay districts.

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43992577

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

No local windstorm-certification requirement found — standard ASCE 7 wind-speed provisions of the adopted CBC apply without a separate certification process

Why the confidence is not higherDHSMC Ch. 15.04 (Building Code) contains only two narrow local amendments (grading/'Building Official' definition, penalty); no windstorm-certification section exists. City's own Building Division page cites wind speeds of 120-140 mph by risk category as CBC/ASCE 7 design criteria, not a separate certification mandate — consistent with the same absence found for neighboring Palm Springs.

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43989202

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

Conditionally — the City may require a discretionary permit only where it makes written findings, based on substantial evidence, of a specific adverse impact on public health/safety; that decision is appealable to the Planning Commission

Why the confidence is not higherDHSMC §15.36.050.A and .C.

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43989292

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

No hard local kW cap is codified — DHSMC §15.36.060 defines 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' by reference to Cal. Gov. Code §65850.5 (the pre-SB 379 AB 2188-era statutory definition). Separately, the City's live SolarAPP+ page caps automated/expedited review eligibility at systems 'less than 38.4kW' AC; larger systems are not barred, they simply fall outside the SolarAPP+ fast-track.

Why the confidence is not higherTwo live City sources give two different numbers for two different purposes (codified reference vs. SolarAPP+ eligibility ceiling) — both quoted, neither reconciled.

municipal code + authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43989292

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, statewide effective 1 Jan 2026, per the City's own Building Division page). NOTE: the codified DHSMC Ch. 15.10 still literally reads 'Adoption of 2022 California Electrical Code' (last touched by Ord. 766, 11-1-22, i.e. the 2020-NEC-based cycle) — a code-cycle codification lag, not yet updated on eCode360 as of the code's own 'through Ord. 815 (5/20/2025)' currency banner. 80% · authority's own page + municipal code
    • Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code, effective 1 Jan 2026 (City's own Building Division page); codified DHSMC §15.04.010 still literally reads '2022 California Building Code' (Ord. 766, 11-1-22) — same codification lag as Q29, confirmed by reading the Ordinance List to Ord. 815 with no 2025-cycle adoption ordinance yet listed. 85% · authority's own page + municipal code
    • Which fire code edition is in force? Two layers, on different cycles: (1) City's own codified Fire Code chapter (DHSMC Ch. 15.22) adopts the 2022 California Fire Code with local amendments (Ord. 767, 11-1-22); (2) the fire agency that actually administers it under the City's delegation, Riverside County Fire/CAL FIRE, operates under County Ordinance No. 787 as amended through 787.11 (adopted ~Dec 2025), which adopts the 2025 California Fire Code and 2025 WUI Code. The City's own codification has not caught up to the code edition its delegated fire agency is actually enforcing. 80% · municipal code + county ordinance
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 90% · municipal code
    • What is the installation judged against? The adopted 2022 CEC/2022 CBC as codified (updating to 2023 NEC/2025 CBC statewide from 1 Jan 2026), plus DHSMC Ch. 15.36's Solar Rights Act/AB 2188 compliance requirements (health & safety standards, CEC/IEEE/UL listing, PUC safety/reliability rules where applicable) 80% · municipal code
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    • What ridge setback and access pathways are required? No local ridge-setback/access-pathway amendment specific to rooftop PV was found in the City's own Fire Code amendments (DHSMC §15.22.050); the County's WUI amendment (Ord. 787.11, adding CalWUIC §604.7.3) only addresses vegetation-clearance around freestanding/ground-mounted PV arrays (10 ft for clusters ≤1,500 sq ft, 30 ft for larger, 20 ft between clusters), not roof access pathways. Roof-mounted ridge setback/pathway is therefore governed by the unamended 2022/2025 CFC/CRC standard provisions. 60% · municipal code
  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    • Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, per NEC 690.12 as incorporated through the 2023 NEC/2025 CEC (statewide effective 1 Jan 2026); the City's adopted SolarAPP+ platform also enforces 690.12 compliance as part of its automated review 75% · adopted code + authority's own page
  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 80% · municipal code
    • Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes — no DHS-specific battery ordinance/chapter was found (no OFM-16-equivalent handout on RVC Fire's own site), but Riverside County Ordinance 671.23 §12 (fees payable to the Fire Department under County Ord. 787) lists a distinct deposit-based fee line for 'Energy Storage Systems' ($354), confirming batteries are a recognized, separately reviewed category under the fire code the City's delegated fire agency (RVC Fire) enforces. 70% · county fee ordinance
    • Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Likely yes — Riverside County Ordinance 671.23 §12 lists 'Energy Storage Systems' ($354, deposit-based) as its own line item, separate from 'Solar Photovoltaic System' ($354) and from the standard building/electrical permit, implying a distinct fire plan-review/inspection step for stationary battery storage 70% · county fee ordinance
    • Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Ambiguous/not squarely addressed — DHSMC §17.40.260.F (legacy 'Solar energy design standards,' pre-2010 recodification) requires ground-mounted solar collectors to be 'screened from public view,' which implies they are regulated as visible site features, but no zoning section explicitly classifies a ground-mount PV array as an accessory 'structure' for setback/height purposes. 55% · municipal code
    • Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No local busbar-sizing or service-upgrade amendment found — DHSMC Ch. 15.10 (Electrical Code) contains only two sections (adoption of the CEC + violation/penalty) and Ch. 15.38 (Amendments) contains only a single generic clause deeming all state amendments automatically incorporated. This contrasts with neighboring Palm Springs (PSMC §8.04.055's 225A/200A busbar rule), which Desert Hot Springs does not appear to have replicated. 75% · municipal code

20 questions answered against City of Desert Hot Springs’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, statewide effective 1 Jan 2026, per the City's own Building Division page). NOTE: the codified DHSMC Ch. 15.10 still literally reads 'Adoption of 2022 California Electrical Code' (last touched by Ord. 766, 11-1-22, i.e. the 2020-NEC-based cycle) — a code-cycle codification lag, not yet updated on eCode360 as of the code's own 'through Ord. 815 (5/20/2025)' currency banner.

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page states '2025 California Building Standards Code (effective January 1, 2026)' vs. '2022 ... (currently in effect for permits submitted before December 31, 2025)'. Read the Ordinance List and Disposition Table to its end (through Ord. 815) and found no ordinance adopting the 2025 cycle yet codified.

authority's own page + municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofdhs.org/building-division/

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2025 California Building Code, effective 1 Jan 2026 (City's own Building Division page); codified DHSMC §15.04.010 still literally reads '2022 California Building Code' (Ord. 766, 11-1-22) — same codification lag as Q29, confirmed by reading the Ordinance List to Ord. 815 with no 2025-cycle adoption ordinance yet listed.

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page explicitly gives both an old and new effective/cutover date; codified chapter dated by its own amendment history.

authority's own page + municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofdhs.org/building-division/

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

Two layers, on different cycles: (1) City's own codified Fire Code chapter (DHSMC Ch. 15.22) adopts the 2022 California Fire Code with local amendments (Ord. 767, 11-1-22); (2) the fire agency that actually administers it under the City's delegation, Riverside County Fire/CAL FIRE, operates under County Ordinance No. 787 as amended through 787.11 (adopted ~Dec 2025), which adopts the 2025 California Fire Code and 2025 WUI Code. The City's own codification has not caught up to the code edition its delegated fire agency is actually enforcing.

Why the confidence is not higherDHSMC §15.22.010/.030 text names the 2022 CFC throughout; Ordinance 787.11 PDF (pdfinfo ModDate 30 Dec 2025) is titled 'AN ORDINANCE ... ADOPTING THE 2025 CALIFORNIA FIRE CODE AND THE 2025 CALIFORNIA WILDLAND-URBAN INTERFACE CODE AS AMENDED'.

municipal code + county ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43989232

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherDHSMC §15.04.020 (Building — grading/'Building Official' definition), §15.22.050 (Fire — extensive local amendments e.g. fire-apparatus road width, hydrant standards, sprinkler thresholds), and Title 17 §17.40.260/§17.08 (Zoning — legacy 'Solar energy design standards' requiring screening of ground- and wall-mounted solar equipment) are all local amendments.

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43989202

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

The adopted 2022 CEC/2022 CBC as codified (updating to 2023 NEC/2025 CBC statewide from 1 Jan 2026), plus DHSMC Ch. 15.36's Solar Rights Act/AB 2188 compliance requirements (health & safety standards, CEC/IEEE/UL listing, PUC safety/reliability rules where applicable)

Why the confidence is not higherDHSMC §15.36.030.B/.C.

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43989292

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

No local busbar-sizing or service-upgrade amendment found — DHSMC Ch. 15.10 (Electrical Code) contains only two sections (adoption of the CEC + violation/penalty) and Ch. 15.38 (Amendments) contains only a single generic clause deeming all state amendments automatically incorporated. This contrasts with neighboring Palm Springs (PSMC §8.04.055's 225A/200A busbar rule), which Desert Hot Springs does not appear to have replicated.

Why the confidence is not higherRead both chapters in full via headless-Chrome eCode360 dump; no desert-heat derating or busbar-minimum clause exists in either.

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43989215

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked DHSMC Ch. 15.04, 15.08, and 15.36 (solar chapter) — no city-specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing requirement beyond the adopted CBC/CRC and manufacturer listing was found

https://ecode360.com/43989292

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

No local ridge-setback/access-pathway amendment specific to rooftop PV was found in the City's own Fire Code amendments (DHSMC §15.22.050); the County's WUI amendment (Ord. 787.11, adding CalWUIC §604.7.3) only addresses vegetation-clearance around freestanding/ground-mounted PV arrays (10 ft for clusters ≤1,500 sq ft, 30 ft for larger, 20 ft between clusters), not roof access pathways. Roof-mounted ridge setback/pathway is therefore governed by the unamended 2022/2025 CFC/CRC standard provisions.

Why the confidence is not higherFull-text search of DHSMC §15.22.050 for '1205/placard/rapid shutdown/ridge/setback' returned only the WUI ground-clearance section (604.7.3) and no roof-pathway-specific local rule; positive control ('means of egress') and fabricated control ('zzqqx') both behaved as expected.

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43989232

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Yes, per NEC 690.12 as incorporated through the 2023 NEC/2025 CEC (statewide effective 1 Jan 2026); the City's adopted SolarAPP+ platform also enforces 690.12 compliance as part of its automated review

Why the confidence is not higherNo DHS-specific rapid-shutdown text found beyond code adoption; inferred from the adopted CEC edition (per Q29) plus the SolarAPP+ platform's standard national rapid-shutdown check.

adopted code + authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofdhs.org/building-division/

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched DHSMC §15.22 (Fire Code amendments), §15.32 (Building Occupancy Placards — confirmed unrelated: post-disaster red/yellow/green tagging only), and §15.36 (solar chapter) — none specifies a placard list at the service equipment beyond the unamended 2022/2025 CFC/CEC baseline

https://ecode360.com/43989248

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No

Why the confidence is not higherNeither DHSMC §15.36 (Solar Energy System Permits) nor §15.22.050 (Fire Code local amendments) contains any placard-wording text; confirmed by full-text read of both chapters.

municipal code (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43989292

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame chapters as Q38/39 — no letter-height, colour, or material specification found

https://ecode360.com/43989292

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo DHS-specific facility-map/site-plan placard requirement found in §15.22, §15.32, or §15.36; only the general NEC 705.10 baseline would apply by incorporation

https://ecode360.com/43989292

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSCE's own DG/interconnection pages 404'd on every URL attempted; per standing guidance, not substituting another utility's placard spec

https://www.sce.com/business/generating-your-own-power/interconnections

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame SCE 404s as Q42; no DHS document specifies label placement beyond incorporation of the adopted NEC/CFC

https://www.sce.com/generatingyourownpower

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherDHSMC §15.36.030.C: PV systems 'shall meet all applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code, [IEEE], and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43989292

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Yes — no DHS-specific battery ordinance/chapter was found (no OFM-16-equivalent handout on RVC Fire's own site), but Riverside County Ordinance 671.23 §12 (fees payable to the Fire Department under County Ord. 787) lists a distinct deposit-based fee line for 'Energy Storage Systems' ($354), confirming batteries are a recognized, separately reviewed category under the fire code the City's delegated fire agency (RVC Fire) enforces.

Why the confidence is not higherChecked RVC Fire's 'Handouts and Forms' page directly — no ESS-specific guideline document (comparable to OFM-16) is currently linked there; the fee-line evidence is the strongest available signal of how batteries are actually treated.

county fee ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://rivcocob.org/sites/g/files/aldnop311/files/2025-01/671.23.pdf

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

Likely yes — Riverside County Ordinance 671.23 §12 lists 'Energy Storage Systems' ($354, deposit-based) as its own line item, separate from 'Solar Photovoltaic System' ($354) and from the standard building/electrical permit, implying a distinct fire plan-review/inspection step for stationary battery storage

Why the confidence is not higherSame ordinance as Q45; no DHS-authored statement found saying so directly, so this is inference from the fee structure rather than an explicit procedural statement.

county fee ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://rivcocob.org/sites/g/files/aldnop311/files/2025-01/671.23.pdf

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Ambiguous/not squarely addressed — DHSMC §17.40.260.F (legacy 'Solar energy design standards,' pre-2010 recodification) requires ground-mounted solar collectors to be 'screened from public view,' which implies they are regulated as visible site features, but no zoning section explicitly classifies a ground-mount PV array as an accessory 'structure' for setback/height purposes.

Why the confidence is not higherRead the full Property Development Standards chapter (§17.40); found the screening clause but no explicit structure classification for ground-mount PV specifically (as opposed to antennae, which do have an explicit height/setback rule at §17.40.060).

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43992644

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSCE's own DG/interconnection pages 404'd on every URL attempted (https://www.sce.com/business/generating-your-own-power/interconnections, https://www.sce.com/generatingyourownpower); no DHS document specifies AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter

https://www.sce.com/business/generating-your-own-power/interconnections

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How is an inspection booked? Portal, Phone, or Email 90% · authority's own page
    • How much notice is required? Requests must be received no later than 2:00 PM for a next-business-day inspection (Thursday submissions and weekend requests are inspected the following Tuesday) 85% · authority's own page
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

    • Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes for building/electrical scope (in-house City Building Inspectors); Delegated for fire-code scope (Riverside County Fire/CAL FIRE) 85% · authority's own page
    • If delegated, to whom? Riverside County Fire Department (RVC Fire), in cooperation with CAL FIRE, for fire-code-related inspection items 80% · fire agency's own page
  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    • Which inspections are required, and in what order? For SolarAPP+-eligible systems: only one (consolidated) inspection is required, per DHSMC §15.36.050.G; the general (non-expedited) building/electrical permit path would follow the standard multi-trade inspection sequence (rough/final) though no separate published sequence for solar specifically was found 85% · municipal code
    • Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Not required for SolarAPP+-eligible systems — the single consolidated inspection under §15.36.050.G implies no separate rough-in/mid-roof stage for that expedited pathway 60% · municipal code (inference)
  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

    • What must be on site at inspection? When requesting an inspection: site Address, Desert Hot Springs Permit Number, Type of Inspection, Contact Person Name and Number, and Gate Code if applicable — this is the information the City asks be provided when booking, which likely mirrors what an inspector expects on site, though the page frames it as scheduling information rather than an explicit on-site document list 55% · authority's own page
    • Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Likely yes, as a matter of standard code-compliance inspection practice (verifying UL/CEC-listed equipment is part of the safety standards DHSMC §15.36.030.C requires), though no DHS document states this as an explicit inspection-checklist item 50% · inference
  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

    • What is issued on pass? Likely 'Final' (permit finalized/closed) for a solar retrofit permit — no Certificate of Occupancy is typically issued for an existing-home PV addition; the City does separately publish a 'Certificate of Occupancy Process' handout for new construction/occupancy-change projects 50% · authority's own document (inference)
    • Is there a re-inspection fee? $148.67 (1 hour) for fire-related re-inspection, per the City's 2020 Fire Fee Detail cost-worksheet embedded in its User Fee Study (dated April 2020 — may be superseded by RVC Fire's 2018 hourly-rate notice, which lists different current hourly rates by job class); no separate flat re-inspection fee for building/electrical trades was found — those fall under 'Other Inspections not specified: Hourly Rate' in the same fee schedule 55% · fee schedule
    • How are corrections issued and cleared? For SolarAPP+-eligible applications: a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies is sent to the applicant for resubmission 70% · municipal code

14 questions answered against City of Desert Hot Springs’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Portal, Phone, or Email

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page: online portal submission, phone (760) 329-6411 ext. 244, or email inspection@cityofdhs.org. Solar APP+ page repeats the same phone/email for solar inspections specifically.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofdhs.org/building-division/

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

Requests must be received no later than 2:00 PM for a next-business-day inspection (Thursday submissions and weekend requests are inspected the following Tuesday)

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page states this cutoff explicitly.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofdhs.org/building-division/

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Division and Solar APP+ pages describe next-business-day scheduling only; neither publishes AM/PM windows or a same-day option

https://www.cityofdhs.org/building-division/

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes for building/electrical scope (in-house City Building Inspectors); Delegated for fire-code scope (Riverside County Fire/CAL FIRE)

Why the confidence is not higherSolar APP+ page: 'Schedule Inspection with City Building Inspectors.' Community Development staff directory names two in-house Building Inspectors (Justin Page, Scott Havener), both @cityofdhs.org, with no outsourced firm's domain appearing anywhere on staff. Fire inspection is separately delegated per Q2/Q31/Q53.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofdhs.org/solar-app/

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

Riverside County Fire Department (RVC Fire), in cooperation with CAL FIRE, for fire-code-related inspection items

Why the confidence is not higherCity Fire Department page states the cooperative agreement; RVC Fire's own site confirms Desert Hot Springs by name as served out of its Desert (Palm Desert) office, and DHSMC §104.1.1/§202 formally names the County Fire Chief as the enforcing official.

fire agency's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rvcfire.org/our-departments/fire-marshal

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

For SolarAPP+-eligible systems: only one (consolidated) inspection is required, per DHSMC §15.36.050.G; the general (non-expedited) building/electrical permit path would follow the standard multi-trade inspection sequence (rough/final) though no separate published sequence for solar specifically was found

Why the confidence is not higherDHSMC §15.36.050.G: 'Only one inspection will be required and performed by the City for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43989292

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

Not required for SolarAPP+-eligible systems — the single consolidated inspection under §15.36.050.G implies no separate rough-in/mid-roof stage for that expedited pathway

Why the confidence is not higherInference from the same 'only one inspection' clause; no explicit statement addressing rough-in specifically.

municipal code (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43989292

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Likely yes, as a matter of standard code-compliance inspection practice (verifying UL/CEC-listed equipment is part of the safety standards DHSMC §15.36.030.C requires), though no DHS document states this as an explicit inspection-checklist item

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the equipment-listing requirement in §15.36.030.C rather than a stated inspection procedure.

inference checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43989292

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked Building Documents (15 PDFs) and Building Permit Requirements (6 non-solar PDFs) pages, plus the Solar APP+ page — no published residential-solar inspection checklist found

https://www.cityofdhs.org/building-documents/

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

When requesting an inspection: site Address, Desert Hot Springs Permit Number, Type of Inspection, Contact Person Name and Number, and Gate Code if applicable — this is the information the City asks be provided when booking, which likely mirrors what an inspector expects on site, though the page frames it as scheduling information rather than an explicit on-site document list

Why the confidence is not higherSolar APP+ page instructions for leaving an inspection-request message/email.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofdhs.org/solar-app/

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

$148.67 (1 hour) for fire-related re-inspection, per the City's 2020 Fire Fee Detail cost-worksheet embedded in its User Fee Study (dated April 2020 — may be superseded by RVC Fire's 2018 hourly-rate notice, which lists different current hourly rates by job class); no separate flat re-inspection fee for building/electrical trades was found — those fall under 'Other Inspections not specified: Hourly Rate' in the same fee schedule

Why the confidence is not higherThis figure comes from a dated (2020) cost-detail worksheet, and RVC Fire's own live Productive Hourly Rate Notice (2018, still the current published version) lists different underlying hourly rates by position, so the two documents are not fully reconciled — reporting the number found rather than resolving the discrepancy.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/deserthotspringsca/uploads/2021/08/USER-FEE-STUDY-EXHIBIT-2-6-16-2020.pdf

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

For SolarAPP+-eligible applications: a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies is sent to the applicant for resubmission

Why the confidence is not higherDHSMC §15.36.050.F.

municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/43989292

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Likely 'Final' (permit finalized/closed) for a solar retrofit permit — no Certificate of Occupancy is typically issued for an existing-home PV addition; the City does separately publish a 'Certificate of Occupancy Process' handout for new construction/occupancy-change projects

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from standard California building-permit practice and the existence of a separate CO-process handout that is oriented at new construction, not retrofits; no DHS document states explicitly what is issued specifically for a completed solar permit.

authority's own document (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/deserthotspringsca/uploads/2022/08/Certificate-of-Occupany-Steps.pdf

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSCE's own DG/interconnection and PTO pages 404'd on every URL attempted; no DHS document states who notifies SCE for Permission to Operate. Per standing guidance, not substituting another utility's PTO process.

https://www.sce.com/business/generating-your-own-power/interconnections

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Desert Hot Springs against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Desert Hot Springs is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
Holds
Building and Electrical (in-house City of Desert Hot Springs Community Development/Building Division); Fire-code plan review and inspection delegated to Riverside County Fire Department (RVC Fire) in cooperation with CAL FIRE
Delegated to
Riverside County Fire Department (RVC Fire) / CAL FIRE — fire-code administration only, per DHSMC §15.22.030/§104.1.1/§202 and RVC Fire's own Desert (Palm Desert) office page naming Desert Hot Springs as served
Overridden by
None for building/electrical. For fire, the City's own Fire Code chapter (DHSMC §15.22) is itself two code cycles behind (2022 CFC) the code edition Riverside County Ordinance 787.11 (Dec 2025, 2025 CFC/WUI Code) actually puts in RVC Fire's hands day to day — a codification lag rather than a jurisdictional override. AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) also freezes any more-restrictive residential local amendment statewide through 1 Jun 2031.
Why not higher
City's own Fire Department page states services are 'provided through a cooperative agreement with CAL FIRE and Riverside County Fire Department' and lists a Fire Safety Specialist on the @fire.ca.gov domain. DHSMC §15.22 (the City's own, separately-adopted Fire Code chapter) names the Riverside County Fire Chief as the enforcing 'Fire Chief' by definition (§202) and delegates enforcement authority to RVC Fire under the Fire Chief's direction (§104.1.1). RVC Fire's own site independently confirms Desert Hot Springs by name as served out of its Palm Desert ('Desert Office') location. Building and Electrical, by contrast, are performed entirely in-house — every Community Development/Building staff email is on the @cityofdhs.org domain, with no outsourced plan-check firm domain found anywhere.

https://www.cityofdhs.org/departments/fire/

Permit required
Yes97%
Permit cost
No dedicated flat PV fee published. Building Permit fee is valuation-based per the 2020 fee schedule (e.g.55%
Portal
OpenGov Community Development portal (deserthotspringsca.portal.opengov.com) — the City's prior ViewPointCloud portal now 301-redirects to this same OpenGov instance90%
Electrical code
2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, statewide effective 1 Jan 2026, per the City's own Building Division page). NOTE: the codified DHSMC Ch.80%
Own placard wording
No70%
Booking an inspection
Portal, Phone, or Email90%
Labels & placards for this authority

Wording 70%

No

Size, colour & material None%

Where they go None%

What the utility wants on top None%

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Riverside County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of Desert Hot Springs · city
Solar Requirements
Authority Contact
Address
11999 Palm Drive, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
Main Phone
(760) 329-6411
Building Department
Department
Building & Safety Division
Direct Phone
(760) 329-6411 ext. 244
Portal Software
OpenGov
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
online_portal
Book in advance
1
Notes
City uses OpenGov portal (deserthotspringsca.portal.opengov.com) for permits and inspection requests. Also participates in SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for expedited solar permit processing — contractors submit designs through SolarAPP+, pay fees, then apply through the city OpenGov portal before scheduling inspections. Inspections can also be requested by phone (ext. 244) or email (inspection@cityofdhs.org); all requests must be received by 2:00 PM for next-day scheduling. Thursday requests after 2:00 PM and weekend requests are inspected the following Tuesday. Permit technicians: Vanessa Osuna (vosuna@cityofdhs.org), Katrina Kauhane (kkauhane@cityofdhs.org). General permit inquiries: permittechnician@cityofdhs.org. Solar-specific info: https://www.cityofdhs.org/solar-app/ (collected Jul 2026)