City of Diamond Bar
Los Angeles County
City of Diamond Bar is a city authority in the State of California, serving 55,072 residents. 2,644 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes, a permit is required for residential rooftop PV. Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined — the Instant Solar Permit issued through CityView covers the installation as a single permit; no separate electrical permit step is described. Q4 Plan review — Instant — SolarAPP+ issues automated approval immediately for code-compliant, eligible systems. Q18 Where you file — SolarAPP+ (NREL's automated portal) for eligible systems, feeding into 'City View', the City's own online permitting portal, for permit issuance. Q20
- Permit required
- Yes, a permit is required for residential rooftop PV.95% source
- What it costs
- $25 SolarAPP+ platform fee (paid to SolarAPP+, not the city) plus the City's own building permit fee of $396.32 flat plus $15/kW for every kW above 10 kW (single-family residential).85% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Instant — SolarAPP+ issues automated approval immediately for code-compliant, eligible systems.90% source
- Key document
- department page cited by 9 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes — City of Diamond Bar Building & Safety Division (Community Development Dept.) is the building/electrical AHJ for residential rooftop PV; LA County Fire Department (LACoFD, Consolidated Fire Protection District) is the separate fire-code AHJ and retains jurisdiction over ESS/BESS, certain BIPV, and disconnect placarding. 90% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both (Building and Electrical, combined, held by the City) for conventional rooftop PV; LACoFD retains fire-code authority (not delegated to the city) for ESS/BESS, certain BIPV, and disconnect placarding on ALL PV systems. 85% · AHJ guidance document
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes, a permit is required for residential rooftop PV. 95% · department page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined — the Instant Solar Permit issued through CityView covers the installation as a single permit; no separate electrical permit step is described. 75% · department page
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? The City itself does not require HOA/architectural approval as a permit condition. Where a property sits within a private HOA (Diamond Bar has substantial HOA-covered areas, e.g. 'The Country Estates'), California's Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714/§4600) preempts an HOA from disapproving solar outright, though the HOA may impose reasonable placement conditions that don't raise cost or cut efficiency by more than a statutory threshold. 60% · state statute
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 38.4 kW AC — the statewide SolarAPP+/GC §65850.52 ceiling applies to Diamond Bar's Instant Solar Permit pathway; systems above that (or otherwise SolarAPP+-ineligible) fall outside the ISP program. 70% · program policy
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? A contractor registered with SolarAPP+ (i.e., a licensed contractor) pulls the ISP; the SolarAPP+ program explicitly lists 'Systems installed by Homeowners' as NOT eligible for the ISP pathway. 70% · program policy (adopted by reference via city ISP)
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes — a City of Diamond Bar business license is required before the permit is issued. 90% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Not for the Instant Solar Permit/SolarAPP+ pathway — SolarAPP+ excludes homeowner-installed systems. Whether Diamond Bar offers a separate conventional (non-instant) self-permit route for owner-builders is not described on any published city page. 45% · program policy
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? SolarAPP+ approval documents, plus 'solar plans including single-line diagram', plus a City of Diamond Bar business license, uploaded into the CityView portal. 85% · department page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? A site plan is not separately described for the standard ISP pathway beyond 'solar plans.' For any project involving an ESS, LACoFD requires a detailed site plan showing all ESS units, utility meters, AC & DC disconnects, inverters, relays, load centers, and rapid-shutdown devices, at a scale of not smaller than 3/32"=1'-0". 80% · AHJ guidance document
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes. 95% · department page
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Not stated by the city; likely covered implicitly by SolarAPP+'s own automated code-compliance engine (which checks conductor/ampacity sizing as part of national program criteria) but not confirmed in any Diamond Bar-specific text. 50% · program policy
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? SolarAPP+ (NREL's automated portal) for eligible systems, feeding into 'City View', the City's own online permitting portal, for permit issuance. 95% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes — SolarAPP+ submission and CityView permit application are both online; only inspection scheduling requires a phone call. 85% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $25 SolarAPP+ platform fee (paid to SolarAPP+, not the city) plus the City's own building permit fee of $396.32 flat plus $15/kW for every kW above 10 kW (single-family residential). 85% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered (flat base fee plus a per-kW increment above a threshold). 80% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No solar-specific plan-check fee is broken out; the city's general rule is 'Building Plan Check Fees = 85% of the building permit fee, minimum $50', but SolarAPP+'s $25 fee substitutes for manual plan review on ISP-eligible systems. 55% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Instant — SolarAPP+ issues automated approval immediately for code-compliant, eligible systems. 90% · department page
28 questions answered against City of Diamond Bar’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes — City of Diamond Bar Building & Safety Division (Community Development Dept.) is the building/electrical AHJ for residential rooftop PV; LA County Fire Department (LACoFD, Consolidated Fire Protection District) is the separate fire-code AHJ and retains jurisdiction over ESS/BESS, certain BIPV, and disconnect placarding.
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed on the city's own Instant Solar Permit page (city issues the ISP/building permit) and on LACoFD's fire-prevention-expeditedpvess page and Sept-2023 ESS/PV/Disconnects guide, which states LACoFD has 'historically delegated fire-official authority... to the jurisdictional building and safety department' for conventional R-3/R-4 rooftop PV but retains ESS/BIPV.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/1149/Instant-Solar-Permit-ISP
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both (Building and Electrical, combined, held by the City) for conventional rooftop PV; LACoFD retains fire-code authority (not delegated to the city) for ESS/BESS, certain BIPV, and disconnect placarding on ALL PV systems.
Why the confidence is not higherCity ISP page shows one combined permit issued via CityView; LACoFD guide Section II states its ESS/BIPV retention 'does not extend' the historical delegation to Building and Safety.
AHJ guidance document checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/fire-prevention-expeditedpvess/
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes, a permit is required for residential rooftop PV.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's ISP page and Building Construction Fee Schedule both treat PV as a permitted activity with its own fee line.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/1149/Instant-Solar-Permit-ISP
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined — the Instant Solar Permit issued through CityView covers the installation as a single permit; no separate electrical permit step is described.
Why the confidence is not higherISP page describes a single 'Instant Solar Permit' application step with no separate electrical-permit submittal mentioned; the fee schedule does carry a distinct electrical-permit line item ('Photovoltaic Systems, Each, $118.00') which could apply if issued outside the ISP flow, creating some ambiguity.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/1149/Instant-Solar-Permit-ISP
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
A contractor registered with SolarAPP+ (i.e., a licensed contractor) pulls the ISP; the SolarAPP+ program explicitly lists 'Systems installed by Homeowners' as NOT eligible for the ISP pathway.
Why the confidence is not higherISP page: 'only for use by contractors registered with SolarAPP+'; SolarAPP+'s own ineligibility article lists homeowner-installed systems as excluded from that pathway (a national SolarAPP+ rule, not Diamond Bar-specific text).
program policy (adopted by reference via city ISP) checked 2026-08-30 https://help.gosolarapp.org/article/43-what-types-of-systems-are-not-eligible-for-solarapp-review
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes — a City of Diamond Bar business license is required before the permit is issued.
Why the confidence is not higherStated plainly on the ISP page: 'Note: A City of Diamond Bar business license will be required.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/1149/Instant-Solar-Permit-ISP
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Not for the Instant Solar Permit/SolarAPP+ pathway — SolarAPP+ excludes homeowner-installed systems. Whether Diamond Bar offers a separate conventional (non-instant) self-permit route for owner-builders is not described on any published city page.
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+'s own eligibility criteria exclude homeowner-installed systems; Diamond Bar's Building-Permits and ISP pages describe no alternate manual submittal path for owner-installed solar, so I cannot confirm a route exists or is barred outright.
program policy checked 2026-08-30 https://help.gosolarapp.org/article/43-what-types-of-systems-are-not-eligible-for-solarapp-review
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
SolarAPP+ approval documents, plus 'solar plans including single-line diagram', plus a City of Diamond Bar business license, uploaded into the CityView portal.
Why the confidence is not higherListed verbatim as the ISP's step-3 requirements on the city's own page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/1149/Instant-Solar-Permit-ISP
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInstant Solar Permit page and Building Permits page — both describe an online upload workflow (CityView/SolarAPP+) but neither states a required number of copies or accepted file format.
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
A site plan is not separately described for the standard ISP pathway beyond 'solar plans.' For any project involving an ESS, LACoFD requires a detailed site plan showing all ESS units, utility meters, AC & DC disconnects, inverters, relays, load centers, and rapid-shutdown devices, at a scale of not smaller than 3/32"=1'-0".
Why the confidence is not higherLACoFD Guide Section IV.C, 'SITE PLANS,' extracted directly from the PDF with pdftotext -layout (encrypted PDF, print-permitted; text extracted cleanly).
AHJ guidance document checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes.
Why the confidence is not higherISP page lists 'Solar plans including single-line diagram' as a required upload.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/1149/Instant-Solar-Permit-ISP
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Not stated by the city; likely covered implicitly by SolarAPP+'s own automated code-compliance engine (which checks conductor/ampacity sizing as part of national program criteria) but not confirmed in any Diamond Bar-specific text.
Why the confidence is not higherNo Diamond Bar page states this explicitly; inference from the general SolarAPP+ program's published purpose (automated NEC compliance checking).
program policy checked 2026-08-30 https://help.gosolarapp.org/article/37-what-is-solarapp
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInstant Solar Permit, Building-and-Safety, and Building-Permits pages checked directly (raw HTML/text extracted) — none publish a structural PE-stamp threshold for PV; Development Code (Title 22) unreachable via Municode (403 on every node tried) or via the qcode.us->ecode360.com redirect (403).
https://library.municode.com/ca/diamond_bar/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame pages as q13 — no electrical PE-stamp threshold published.
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$25 SolarAPP+ platform fee (paid to SolarAPP+, not the city) plus the City's own building permit fee of $396.32 flat plus $15/kW for every kW above 10 kW (single-family residential).
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ fee stated on ISP page ('The fee is currently set at $25'); city fee confirmed by extracting the FY2026-27 Fee Schedule PDF directly (pdftotext), which shows a revision/mod-date of June 2026 despite the city webpage label still reading 'Building Fee Schedule 2025-2026' — read the document, not the page label, per the file's internal date.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14010
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered (flat base fee plus a per-kW increment above a threshold).
Why the confidence is not higherCity fee schedule: 'Solar/Photovoltaic Systems – SMIP and BSAF Fees Based on Valuation, Single-Family Residential: $396.32, plus $15 per kW above 10 kW.'
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14010
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No solar-specific plan-check fee is broken out; the city's general rule is 'Building Plan Check Fees = 85% of the building permit fee, minimum $50', but SolarAPP+'s $25 fee substitutes for manual plan review on ISP-eligible systems.
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral plan-check formula found in fee schedule; not solar-specific, and its application alongside the ISP program is not spelled out by the city.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14010
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Instant — SolarAPP+ issues automated approval immediately for code-compliant, eligible systems.
Why the confidence is not higherCity page: 'SolarAPP+ helps streamline the permitting process by instantly issuing an ISP for code-compliant systems.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/1149/Instant-Solar-Permit-ISP
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permits and ISP pages checked — permit validity/expiration duration not stated on either.
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
SolarAPP+ (NREL's automated portal) for eligible systems, feeding into 'City View', the City's own online permitting portal, for permit issuance.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth platforms named explicitly and by exact name on the ISP page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/1149/Instant-Solar-Permit-ISP
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes — SolarAPP+ submission and CityView permit application are both online; only inspection scheduling requires a phone call.
Why the confidence is not higherISP page's 4-step process is entirely online except Step 4 (phone-scheduled inspection).
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/1149/Instant-Solar-Permit-ISP
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the city's EV-Charging, Going-Green, Utility-related, and ISP pages, and the fee schedule PDF, for any document naming the interconnecting utility or a CCA — none found. Also attempted Clean Power Alliance's own site for a member-city list (cleanpoweralliance.org/member-agencies/ 404'd; homepage names only an interactive map that is under maintenance). Per instructions, not inferring from PowerToChoose. SCE is the plausible incumbent IOU for this part of LA County by general knowledge only, not confirmed by any authority-side document, so recorded as not_found rather than answered.
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's interconnection handbook link (on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook) redirects to the SCE homepage (confirmed dead, HTTP 200 landing on sce.com root); no Diamond Bar page describes utility sequencing.
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
The City itself does not require HOA/architectural approval as a permit condition. Where a property sits within a private HOA (Diamond Bar has substantial HOA-covered areas, e.g. 'The Country Estates'), California's Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714/§4600) preempts an HOA from disapproving solar outright, though the HOA may impose reasonable placement conditions that don't raise cost or cut efficiency by more than a statutory threshold.
Why the confidence is not higherNo city ordinance text was reachable (Municode 403's for Diamond Bar) to confirm the city's own permit checklist is silent on HOA sign-off; this is a state-law-based narrow finding, not a city-document confirmation, per the brief's caution about HOA coverage in this city.
state statute checked 2026-08-30 https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=714.&lawCode=CIV
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDesign-Guidelines and Objective-Design-Standards pages checked — no historic-district provisions found or referenced for solar.
https://www.diamondbarca.gov/1255/Objective-Design-Standards
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding-and-Safety and Building-Permits pages checked — no wind/windstorm certification requirement published (consistent with Diamond Bar not being in a designated high-wind/coastal zone under the CBC).
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAttempted to reach the Development Code (Title 22) directly to confirm whether SolarAPP+-ineligible/adverse-impact PV systems trigger a Minor Use Permit or Council approval; library.municode.com 403's on every node tried (both a plain fetch and with a Googlebot user-agent), and the qcode.us mirror redirects to a 403'ing ecode360.com/resolve.ecode360.com route.
https://library.municode.com/ca/diamond_bar/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
38.4 kW AC — the statewide SolarAPP+/GC §65850.52 ceiling applies to Diamond Bar's Instant Solar Permit pathway; systems above that (or otherwise SolarAPP+-ineligible) fall outside the ISP program.
Why the confidence is not higher38.4 kW AC is SolarAPP+'s national ineligibility threshold, which the city's ISP program adopts by using SolarAPP+ unmodified; no separate, larger or smaller Diamond-Bar-specific cap was found.
program policy checked 2026-08-30 https://help.gosolarapp.org/article/43-what-types-of-systems-are-not-eligible-for-solarapp-review
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC, adopted statewide as part of the 2025 California Electrical Code, effective 1 Jan 2026. 65% · state adopting agency
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (based on the 2024 IBC), effective 1 Jan 2026, statewide. Note: the city's own Building & Safety page still links a '2022 Building Energy Efficiency Standards Guide,' which is a prior cycle and appears not yet updated on the website. 55% · department page (dated content flagged)
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2023 Los Angeles County Fire Code (LACFC), LACC Title 32 (based on the 2022 CFC), codified by Ordinances #23-0008 & 2023-0058, effective 2024-01-11. 75% · adopting ordinance (fee appendix)
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes — LA County has extensive local amendments to the CFC specific to PV/ESS: LACFC §1207.11.x (ESS location, spacing, energy ratings, disconnects, detection, impact protection) and the LACoFD Electrical Power Source Disconnect Placarding System (LACFC §509 et seq.) all go beyond the model code. 90% · AHJ guidance document
- What is the installation judged against? The California Electrical Code (2023 NEC basis) for electrical work generally; for any project including an ESS, also the 2023 LACFC §1207.11 series and the LACoFD Disconnect Placarding System (Appendix B). 75% · AHJ guidance document
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Diamond Bar on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown is required (referred to by LACoFD as 'Rapid Shutdown (RSD)' / 'Hazard Control System (HCS/PVHCS)'), and its initiation device must be included among the placarded disconnects. The applicable NEC edition is the 2023 NEC (statewide 2025 CEC cycle), which is the 690.12-based module-level scheme — but neither the LACoFD guide nor its Appendix B ever cites '690.12' by section number. 65% · AHJ guidance document
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Two LACoFD placards: an Exterior Placard ('F.D. – ELECTRICAL BLDG DISCONNECT #X of Y') on/adjacent to each panel/enclosure/disconnect that must be operated, and a Panel-Interior Placard identifying specific switches/breakers within a shared panel. 95% · AHJ guidance document
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Yes — exact verbiage is mandated ('F.D. – ELECTRICAL BLDG DISCONNECT # X of Y'), with the specific #X of Y numbering scheme determined by a C-10 electrician and approved by the fire code official. 95% · AHJ guidance document
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Yes, in detail: Exterior placards minimum 2"x3.5", weather-resistant plastic, engraved, red letters on yellow background, solid all-caps Arial, minimum font size 24 (28 bold for 'F.D.' and '#X of Y'); Panel-Interior placards minimum 7/16"x3/4", same colour scheme, bold all-caps Arial minimum 24; attachment by permanent epoxy. 95% · AHJ guidance document
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? No dedicated NEC-705.10-style 'facility placard' is separately specified; LACoFD instead requires an 'Electrical Power Source Disconnect Schedule' on the submitted plans (a table listing every power source, its #X of Y disconnect number, and the disconnection device) which is then used to derive the placards actually posted at the equipment. 70% · AHJ guidance document
- Where must the labels be placed? Exterior placards go on the exterior of, or immediately adjacent to, each panel/enclosure/standalone disconnect that must be operated (additional placards where an enclosure houses multiple panels); Panel-Interior placards go inside a panel to identify specific switches/breakers. Exact placement is determined by a C-10 electrician, subject to fire code official approval. 95% · AHJ guidance document
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? No SCE-specific location rule was found (SCE's interconnection handbook link is dead — redirects to the SCE homepage). As a fire-code proxy (not a utility rule): LACFC §509.3 requires that required electrical-hazard disconnection/attenuation means be located within 6 feet of the main service panel, on the same wall plane, with no intervening walls/gates/fences/vegetation. 65% · fire code proxy (utility spec unreachable)
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes for the components LACoFD reviews — its Expedited PV/ESS page states LACoFD review covers 'product listings' for both PV and ESS components. 80% · AHJ guidance page
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, under detailed conditions: individual ESS units max 20 kWh, aggregate max 80 kWh per R-3/R-4 occupancy (garage, exterior wall, or ground, each capped at 80 kWh); location restrictions (no dwelling units, sleeping rooms, closets, bathrooms, basements); 3-ft unit-to-unit spacing; 5-ft from lot lines/buildings/combustibles if outdoors, 10-ft from vegetation, 3-ft from openings; fire detection required in garages; impact protection if within vehicle-damage zones; ventilation for gassing chemistries; toxic-gas-releasing chemistries barred entirely from R-3/R-4. 95% · AHJ guidance document
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes — LACoFD conducts its own mandatory plan review (residential/R-3,R-4 ESS plan review fee $195) and a separate, mandatory field inspection, in all cases, independent of and prior to the city's building inspection. 90% · fee schedule / adopting ordinance
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Likely yes, though not confirmed from Diamond Bar's own Development Code (unreachable): ground-mounted systems are explicitly excluded from the city's SolarAPP+ Instant Solar Permit and routed to conventional plan review, consistent with ground-mount arrays typically being permitted as a structure under the standard CBC. 50% · program policy
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? For the ISP/SolarAPP+ pathway: systems with a service rating over 400A, or service disconnects/busbars rated above 225A, are excluded and must use traditional permitting — meaning any project needing that scale of service upgrade cannot use the instant pathway. 70% · program policy
20 questions answered against City of Diamond Bar’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC, adopted statewide as part of the 2025 California Electrical Code, effective 1 Jan 2026.
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed at the statewide level via the CA Building Standards Commission/DGS ('2025 Triennial Edition of Title 24... operative on January 1, 2026'); Diamond Bar's own adopting ordinance could not be reached (Municode 403's for this jurisdiction on every node tried, with and without a Googlebot user-agent) to confirm local amendments to the electrical code cycle-date.
state adopting agency checked 2026-08-30 https://www.dgs.ca.gov/BSC/Codes
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (based on the 2024 IBC), effective 1 Jan 2026, statewide. Note: the city's own Building & Safety page still links a '2022 Building Energy Efficiency Standards Guide,' which is a prior cycle and appears not yet updated on the website.
Why the confidence is not higherStatewide effective date confirmed via DGS/CBSC; the city-specific adopting ordinance is not reachable to confirm local amendments, and the discrepancy between the DGS-stated current cycle and the city's still-linked 2022-cycle energy guide is a genuine finding, not resolved.
department page (dated content flagged) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/159/Building-and-Safety
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2023 Los Angeles County Fire Code (LACFC), LACC Title 32 (based on the 2022 CFC), codified by Ordinances #23-0008 & 2023-0058, effective 2024-01-11.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the header of every page of the LACoFD Appendix QQ fee-schedule PDF and the ESS/PV guide (both extracted with pdftotext, not summarised). This document was re-uploaded/re-stamped Sept 2025 but its internal ordinance-effective date is still 2024-01-11 — I did not find evidence of a newer LACFC cycle adopting the 2025 statewide CFC, so this may be superseded and unconfirmed beyond these documents.
adopting ordinance (fee appendix) checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/2023-LACFC-Appendix-QQ-Certified-Ord-Eff.-2024-01-11-Secured.pdf
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes — LA County has extensive local amendments to the CFC specific to PV/ESS: LACFC §1207.11.x (ESS location, spacing, energy ratings, disconnects, detection, impact protection) and the LACoFD Electrical Power Source Disconnect Placarding System (LACFC §509 et seq.) all go beyond the model code.
Why the confidence is not higherExtracted directly from the LACoFD guide's code excerpts and 'AHJ Note' commentary, which repeatedly flags these as County-specific enforcement positions beyond the base CFC.
AHJ guidance document checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The California Electrical Code (2023 NEC basis) for electrical work generally; for any project including an ESS, also the 2023 LACFC §1207.11 series and the LACoFD Disconnect Placarding System (Appendix B).
Why the confidence is not higherCombination of the statewide CEC baseline and the LACoFD-specific code sections extracted from its guide.
AHJ guidance document checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
For the ISP/SolarAPP+ pathway: systems with a service rating over 400A, or service disconnects/busbars rated above 225A, are excluded and must use traditional permitting — meaning any project needing that scale of service upgrade cannot use the instant pathway.
Why the confidence is not higherThis is a national SolarAPP+ eligibility rule that Diamond Bar's ISP adopts unmodified; no separate Diamond-Bar-specific busbar rule was found.
program policy checked 2026-08-30 https://help.gosolarapp.org/article/43-what-types-of-systems-are-not-eligible-for-solarapp-review
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedISP, Building-Permits, Building-and-Safety pages checked — no mounting-system/attachment-spacing standard published by the city (would likely sit in the unreachable Development Code or be handled purely by SolarAPP+'s internal automated checklist, neither of which is visible to me).
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedLACoFD's Sept-2023 ESS/PV/Disconnects guide was read in full via pdftotext — it covers ESS location/spacing and placarding but not general PV-array ridge setbacks or roof access pathways (that content is in the LA County amendments to CFC Chapter 12/1204, referenced only by a pointer to library.municode.com/ca/los_angeles_county, which itself requires the same blocked Municode platform).
https://library.municode.com/ca/los_angeles_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT32FICO
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Rapid shutdown is required (referred to by LACoFD as 'Rapid Shutdown (RSD)' / 'Hazard Control System (HCS/PVHCS)'), and its initiation device must be included among the placarded disconnects. The applicable NEC edition is the 2023 NEC (statewide 2025 CEC cycle), which is the 690.12-based module-level scheme — but neither the LACoFD guide nor its Appendix B ever cites '690.12' by section number.
Why the confidence is not higherLACoFD's own guide text was read in full and never names NEC 690.12 specifically, which the brief flags as consequential; I am inferring the module-level (not pre-2019 array-boundary) scheme from the statewide 2023 NEC adoption date, not from LACoFD's own text.
AHJ guidance document checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Two LACoFD placards: an Exterior Placard ('F.D. – ELECTRICAL BLDG DISCONNECT #X of Y') on/adjacent to each panel/enclosure/disconnect that must be operated, and a Panel-Interior Placard identifying specific switches/breakers within a shared panel.
Why the confidence is not higherFull verbatim wording and figure descriptions extracted directly from Appendix B of the LACoFD guide via pdftotext.
AHJ guidance document checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes — exact verbiage is mandated ('F.D. – ELECTRICAL BLDG DISCONNECT # X of Y'), with the specific #X of Y numbering scheme determined by a C-10 electrician and approved by the fire code official.
Why the confidence is not higherSame Appendix B text, extracted verbatim.
AHJ guidance document checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes, in detail: Exterior placards minimum 2"x3.5", weather-resistant plastic, engraved, red letters on yellow background, solid all-caps Arial, minimum font size 24 (28 bold for 'F.D.' and '#X of Y'); Panel-Interior placards minimum 7/16"x3/4", same colour scheme, bold all-caps Arial minimum 24; attachment by permanent epoxy.
Why the confidence is not higherExtracted verbatim from Appendix B, Section II.B ('Specifications and Placement of the Placards').
AHJ guidance document checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No dedicated NEC-705.10-style 'facility placard' is separately specified; LACoFD instead requires an 'Electrical Power Source Disconnect Schedule' on the submitted plans (a table listing every power source, its #X of Y disconnect number, and the disconnection device) which is then used to derive the placards actually posted at the equipment.
Why the confidence is not higherExtracted from Section IV.D.3 of the LACoFD guide, including its example schedule table; this functions like — but is not labelled as — a 705.10 facility placard.
AHJ guidance document checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's interconnection handbook and DG-manual links are dead (on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook redirects to sce.com homepage; direct SCE interconnections page 404s); no Diamond Bar page substitutes utility-specific placard content.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Exterior placards go on the exterior of, or immediately adjacent to, each panel/enclosure/standalone disconnect that must be operated (additional placards where an enclosure houses multiple panels); Panel-Interior placards go inside a panel to identify specific switches/breakers. Exact placement is determined by a C-10 electrician, subject to fire code official approval.
Why the confidence is not higherExtracted verbatim from Appendix B, Section II.B.7.
AHJ guidance document checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes for the components LACoFD reviews — its Expedited PV/ESS page states LACoFD review covers 'product listings' for both PV and ESS components.
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly on the LACoFD Expedited PV/ESS resources page under 'PV System Components LACoFD Reviews' and 'Energy Storage System (ESS) Components.'
AHJ guidance page checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/fire-prevention-expeditedpvess/
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes, under detailed conditions: individual ESS units max 20 kWh, aggregate max 80 kWh per R-3/R-4 occupancy (garage, exterior wall, or ground, each capped at 80 kWh); location restrictions (no dwelling units, sleeping rooms, closets, bathrooms, basements); 3-ft unit-to-unit spacing; 5-ft from lot lines/buildings/combustibles if outdoors, 10-ft from vegetation, 3-ft from openings; fire detection required in garages; impact protection if within vehicle-damage zones; ventilation for gassing chemistries; toxic-gas-releasing chemistries barred entirely from R-3/R-4.
Why the confidence is not higherExtracted verbatim from LACFC §1207.11.x as reproduced and annotated in Section III of the LACoFD guide.
AHJ guidance document checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes — LACoFD conducts its own mandatory plan review (residential/R-3,R-4 ESS plan review fee $195) and a separate, mandatory field inspection, in all cases, independent of and prior to the city's building inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherLACoFD guide Section II.B: ESS/BIPV 'require LACoFD field inspection and approval' in all cases; fee confirmed in Appendix QQ Table QQ104.3(2), line 13, 'Energy storage system, Group R-3 and R-4 — $195.00'; also stated on the city's ISP page ('LACFD will also need to conduct inspections prior to City Building inspections for projects with Energy Storage Systems').
fee schedule / adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/2023-LACFC-Appendix-QQ-Certified-Ord-Eff.-2024-01-11-Secured.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Likely yes, though not confirmed from Diamond Bar's own Development Code (unreachable): ground-mounted systems are explicitly excluded from the city's SolarAPP+ Instant Solar Permit and routed to conventional plan review, consistent with ground-mount arrays typically being permitted as a structure under the standard CBC.
Why the confidence is not higherGround-mount exclusion from SolarAPP+ is a national program rule, confirmed to apply to Diamond Bar's ISP by its unmodified adoption of SolarAPP+; the Development Code section that would state a 'structure' classification could not be retrieved because library.municode.com/ca/diamond_bar returns HTTP 403 on every node tried, with and without a Googlebot user-agent, and qcode.us/ecode360.com routes for this city also 403.
program policy checked 2026-08-30 https://help.gosolarapp.org/article/43-what-types-of-systems-are-not-eligible-for-solarapp-review
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
No SCE-specific location rule was found (SCE's interconnection handbook link is dead — redirects to the SCE homepage). As a fire-code proxy (not a utility rule): LACFC §509.3 requires that required electrical-hazard disconnection/attenuation means be located within 6 feet of the main service panel, on the same wall plane, with no intervening walls/gates/fences/vegetation.
Why the confidence is not higherSCE's on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook 302s to sce.com's homepage (checked directly, HTTP 200 landing on https://www.sce.com/, confirming the dead link the brief describes); LACFC §509.3 text extracted verbatim from the LACoFD guide as the best available proxy, flagged explicitly as fire-code rather than utility-sourced.
fire code proxy (utility spec unreachable) checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone — call the Building and Safety Inspection Hotline. 95% · department page
- How much notice is required? At least 1 business day (requests must be made at least the day prior to the requested inspection date). 95% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Three-hour windows are offered (9am-12pm, 11am-1pm, 12pm-5pm), posted each morning by 8:30am; not same-day (next business day only), and not exact-time appointments. 90% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes for conventional rooftop PV — the City's own Building Division performs the final inspection. For any ESS component, LACoFD performs its own separate, mandatory field inspection that is NOT delegated to the city and occurs before the city's building inspection. 90% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? For the ESS/BESS and disconnect-placarding component only: Los Angeles County Fire Department (Consolidated Fire Protection District), Fire Prevention Division — retained as fire-code AHJ, not delegated from the city. 85% · AHJ guidance document
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? SolarAPP+ approval issued -> City permit issued via CityView -> (if ESS present) LACoFD field inspection -> City Building final inspection. 85% · department page
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Likely yes for placard/listing compliance, though not stated as an explicit inspection-checklist item — LACoFD's placard placement and product-listing requirements are only meaningful if verified at inspection, and Appendix B ties placard placement to 'approval by the fire code official.' 65% · AHJ guidance page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? A signed building-inspection card / final inspection sign-off; no separate Certificate of Occupancy is described for a PV retrofit to an existing dwelling. 60% · department page
- Is there a re-inspection fee? City: Electrical Minimum Inspection/Reinspection Fee $132.94 (general electrical-trade fee, the category rooftop PV falls under). Separately, for the ESS component: LACoFD charges $98 for 'additional inspections after initial inspection and one reinspection.' 80% · fee schedule
14 questions answered against City of Diamond Bar’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone — call the Building and Safety Inspection Hotline.
Why the confidence is not higher'Call the Building and Safety inspection hotline at 909-839-7027 and leave a message...' stated directly on the Building Inspections page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/999/Building-Inspections
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
At least 1 business day (requests must be made at least the day prior to the requested inspection date).
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly: 'You must request appointment at least the day prior to the date requested.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/999/Building-Inspections
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Three-hour windows are offered (9am-12pm, 11am-1pm, 12pm-5pm), posted each morning by 8:30am; not same-day (next business day only), and not exact-time appointments.
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly on the Building Inspections page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/999/Building-Inspections
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes for conventional rooftop PV — the City's own Building Division performs the final inspection. For any ESS component, LACoFD performs its own separate, mandatory field inspection that is NOT delegated to the city and occurs before the city's building inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherCity ISP page: 'The Los Angeles County Fire Department will also need to conduct inspections prior to City Building inspections for projects with Energy Storage Systems'; LACoFD guide confirms this inspection authority is retained, not delegated.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/1149/Instant-Solar-Permit-ISP
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
For the ESS/BESS and disconnect-placarding component only: Los Angeles County Fire Department (Consolidated Fire Protection District), Fire Prevention Division — retained as fire-code AHJ, not delegated from the city.
Why the confidence is not higherLACoFD guide Section II states this authority is retained by LACoFD, not delegated by the city, for ESS/BIPV.
AHJ guidance document checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
SolarAPP+ approval issued -> City permit issued via CityView -> (if ESS present) LACoFD field inspection -> City Building final inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherSequence reconstructed from the ISP page's own 4-step process plus its explicit statement that LACoFD inspects 'prior to City Building inspections' for ESS projects.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/1149/Instant-Solar-Permit-ISP
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Inspections page checked in full — describes booking mechanics only, no mention of a rough-in/mid-roof inspection stage for PV.
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Likely yes for placard/listing compliance, though not stated as an explicit inspection-checklist item — LACoFD's placard placement and product-listing requirements are only meaningful if verified at inspection, and Appendix B ties placard placement to 'approval by the fire code official.'
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the approval-contingent placard/listing language in the LACoFD guide and expedited-PV page; no standalone inspection checklist was found stating this as a line item.
AHJ guidance page checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/fire-prevention-expeditedpvess/
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked ISP, Building Inspections, and Building Permits pages, and the city's DocumentCenter fee-schedule PDF, for a published PV inspection checklist — none found.
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Inspections page checked — does not list required on-site documents (approved plans, permit card, etc.) for any trade, solar included.
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
City: Electrical Minimum Inspection/Reinspection Fee $132.94 (general electrical-trade fee, the category rooftop PV falls under). Separately, for the ESS component: LACoFD charges $98 for 'additional inspections after initial inspection and one reinspection.'
Why the confidence is not higherCity figure extracted directly from the FY2026-27 fee schedule PDF's Electrical Permit Fees section; LACoFD figure extracted directly from Appendix QQ, Table QQ104.4(6), line 2.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14010
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Inspections and Building Permits pages checked — no description of how corrections are issued or cleared.
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
A signed building-inspection card / final inspection sign-off; no separate Certificate of Occupancy is described for a PV retrofit to an existing dwelling.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the Building Inspections page's reference to inspection cards and the fee schedule's separate 'Duplicate Building Inspection Card' line; the city does not explicitly state what document constitutes 'final' for solar specifically.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.diamondbarca.gov/999/Building-Inspections
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's interconnection/PTO process documents are dead links (on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook redirects to homepage); no Diamond Bar page states who files for Permission to Operate.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Diamond Bar against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Diamond Bar is the authority having jurisdiction 88% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (combined, via the Instant Solar Permit / CityView) for conventional rooftop PV
- Overridden by
- LA County Fire Department (Consolidated Fire Protection District) retains fire-code AHJ authority over ESS/BESS, certain BIPV, and the electrical-disconnect placarding system for ALL PV, per its Sept-2023 ESS/PV/Disconnects guide and LACFC §105.3.6; GC §65850.52 (SB 379) mandates the City's use of SolarAPP+ for eligible systems.
- Why not higher
- Corrects a plausible misread: an initial automated fetch of LACoFD's fire.lacounty.gov/contracting/ page summarised that 'Diamond Bar is NOT on the contract cities list', but reading the raw HTML directly showed Diamond Bar IS listed as a property-tax-funded LACoFD service city (grouped with Industry/La Puente/Pomona/Walnut under its local Fire Prevention office), which the city's own Fire-Services page confirms ('Diamond Bar is served by the Los Angeles County Fire Department under the Consolidated Fire Protection District'). Separately verified by name (not by a numbered block-walk) that Diamond Bar is NOT on LA County DPW's building-and-safety contract-cities list (dpw.lacounty.gov/bsd/content/BuldingCodes.aspx), meaning Diamond Bar runs its own in-house Building & Safety Division (Community Development Dept.) rather than contracting building/electrical out to the County or a named outside firm — no outside plan-review firm is named anywhere on the city's published pages.
- Permit required
- Yes, a permit is required for residential rooftop PV.95%
- Permit cost
- $25 SolarAPP+ platform fee (paid to SolarAPP+, not the city) plus the City's own building permit fee of $396.32 flat plus $15/kW for every kW above 10 kW (single-family residential).85%
- Plan review
- Instant — SolarAPP+ issues automated approval immediately for code-compliant, eligible systems.90%
- Portal
- SolarAPP+ (NREL's automated portal) for eligible systems, feeding into 'City View', the City's own online permitting portal, for permit issuance.95%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC, adopted statewide as part of the 2025 California Electrical Code, effective 1 Jan 2026.65%
- Own placard wording
- Yes — exact verbiage is mandated ('F.D. – ELECTRICAL BLDG DISCONNECT # X of Y'), with the specific #X of Y numbering scheme determined by a C-10 electrician and approved by the fire code…95%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone — call the Building and Safety Inspection Hotline.95%
Labels & placards for this authority
City of Diamond Bar writes its own placard wording. A standard NEC label set will not satisfy it — the exact text, and in most cases the size, colour and font, are specified below.
Wording 95%
Yes — exact verbiage is mandated ('F.D. – ELECTRICAL BLDG DISCONNECT # X of Y'), with the specific #X of Y numbering scheme determined by a C-10 electrician and approved by the fire code official.
Size, colour & material 95%
Yes, in detail: Exterior placards minimum 2"x3.5", weather-resistant plastic, engraved, red letters on yellow background, solid all-caps Arial, minimum font size 24 (28 bold for 'F.D.' and '#X of Y'); Panel-Interior placards minimum 7/16"x3/4", same colour scheme, bold all-caps Arial minimum 24; attachment by permanent epoxy.
Where they go 95%
Exterior placards go on the exterior of, or immediately adjacent to, each panel/enclosure/standalone disconnect that must be operated (additional placards where an enclosure houses multiple panels); Panel-Interior placards go inside a panel to identify specific switches/breakers. Exact placement is determined by a C-10 electrician, subject to fire code official approval.
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.