City of El Centro
Imperial County
City of El Centro is a city authority in the State of California, serving 44,322 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — For SolarAPP+-eligible systems, review is automated/same-session (submit design, pay fee, get an approval document, Q18 Where you file — SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for eligible residential rooftop PV, with the approval document then emailed to the city (buildingapplications@cityofelcentro.org) to… Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- Plan review turnaround
- For SolarAPP+-eligible systems, review is automated/same-session (submit design, pay fee, get an approval document, then email it to the city for a MyGov permit number);60% source
- Key document
- permit application form cited by 10 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · permit application form
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · permit checklist
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 82% · permit checklist
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No — not required by the city; where an HOA does have architectural review, California's Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714) requires that solar applications be processed like an architectural modification and be deemed approved if not denied in writing within 45 days. 70% · state statute
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 55% · adopting ordinance (absence checked)
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No, for systems processed under the expedited/SolarAPP+ path (AB 2188 ministerial review); a standard discretionary permit — but still not a CUP or Council hearing for a normal residential rooftop system — applies to systems that fall outside those eligibility limits. 65% · permit checklist
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No hard cap on residential generation size, but expedited processing is capped: the fast-track paper checklist tops out at 10 kW CEC-AC, and SolarAPP+ eligibility tops out at 38.4 kW; larger systems must go through standard (non-expedited) plan review. 78% · department page + permit checklist
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 88% · permit application form
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 85% · department handout
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 82% · form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Permit application signed by owner; letter of authorization if applicant is not the license holder; site/roof-layout diagram showing panel/module locations, disconnect locations and roof access points; one-line/system diagram (posted at the main panel); fire-access-pathway diagram per CRC 331/CFC 605.11; manufacturer's attachment-device specs; a structural analysis report if the roof is hand-cut framing (not required for pre-engineered trusses); existing-load documentation or a licensed electrical engineer's load calculation if loads are not otherwise detailed. 90% · permit checklist
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — a roof-layout diagram showing panel/module placement, disconnect locations, roof access points, and clear fire-access pathways per CRC 331 / CFC 605.11–605.11.2. 88% · permit checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 82% · permit checklist
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes, for eligibility under the expedited checklist — module string counts per MPPT, fuse ratings, combiner limits, and existing load documentation (or a PE's load calc) must all be shown. 75% · permit checklist
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? A structural analysis report (PE-level) is mandatory only where the existing roof is a hand-cut/rafter system; no structural analysis is required where the roof is a pre-engineered truss system. 88% · permit checklist
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No dedicated electrical PE stamp threshold is published; the checklist only requires a licensed electrical engineer's load calculation when existing electrical loads are not otherwise detailed on the plans. 65% · permit checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for eligible residential rooftop PV, with the approval document then emailed to the city (buildingapplications@cityofelcentro.org) to be issued a MyGov permit number for inspections; non-eligible/standard permits are submitted in person or by mail/fax to the Building & Safety Division (no general online portal found). 88% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 72% · department page
- How is the fee calculated? Valuation 82% · adopting ordinance (No. 25-09, extracted with pdftotext)
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 68% · adopting ordinance
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? For SolarAPP+-eligible systems, review is automated/same-session (submit design, pay fee, get an approval document, then email it to the city for a MyGov permit number); no published turnaround is stated for the standard (non-SolarApp+) fast-track review path. 60% · department page
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days 62% · permit application form + inference from adopted UAC 1997
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Imperial Irrigation District (IID) — a publicly-owned irrigation district utility, not an investor-owned utility and not CPUC-regulated. 88% · utility territory description
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel, with Permission-to-Operate issued after the city's final inspection 55% · utility DG page (accessed via search cache; direct fetch blocked 403)
28 questions answered against City of El Centro’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity of El Centro operates its own Building & Safety Division which repealed and readopted Chapter 7 of its own municipal code (Ord. 25-09, 2 Dec 2025) and runs its own permit/inspection process for building and electrical work within city limits, including a dedicated Small Residential Rooftop Solar checklist and a SolarAPP+ page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/163/Building-Safety-Division
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherCity permit application form (Permit Application 2023) has BUILDING and ELECTRICAL as checkbox categories on the same 'Building Permit Application,' issued by the city's own Building & Safety Division; no delegation to the county found (Imperial County Planning & Development Services is a separate AHJ for unincorporated county only).
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/155/Permit-Application-2023-PDF
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity publishes a dedicated 'Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy System' fast-track permit application/checklist, and a SolarAPP+ page for automated residential solar permitting.
permit checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe Small Residential Rooftop Solar application is a single 'Building Permit Application' with a checklist covering both electrical and structural items; there is no separate stand-alone electrical-only permit application for PV shown on the city's site.
permit checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherPermit application has both an 'OWNER/BUILDER YES/NO' field and a 'Prime Contractor ... State License #' field, and the checklist requires the property owner's signature for either path.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBoth the 'what you need to bring' handout and the permit application require a 'City of El Centro Business License' for contractors pulling a permit, in addition to state contractor license and workers' comp proof.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/152
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity publishes a standalone Owner Builder Form and the permit application has an Owner/Builder path with an Owner-Builder Information form (notarized if via a representative).
form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/154/Owner-Builder-Form-PDF
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Permit application signed by owner; letter of authorization if applicant is not the license holder; site/roof-layout diagram showing panel/module locations, disconnect locations and roof access points; one-line/system diagram (posted at the main panel); fire-access-pathway diagram per CRC 331/CFC 605.11; manufacturer's attachment-device specs; a structural analysis report if the roof is hand-cut framing (not required for pre-engineered trusses); existing-load documentation or a licensed electrical engineer's load calculation if loads are not otherwise detailed.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly enumerated in the city's own 'Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy System Checklist' (extracted with pdftotext, not summarized).
permit checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSmall Residential Rooftop Solar checklist (DocumentCenter/View/159), general Building Permit Application (View/155), Permits page (164) and Applications & Fees page (1398) — none state number of copies or required file format for submittal.
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — a roof-layout diagram showing panel/module placement, disconnect locations, roof access points, and clear fire-access pathways per CRC 331 / CFC 605.11–605.11.2.
Why the confidence is not higherListed under 'Fire Safety Requirements' in the small residential solar checklist.
permit checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherChecklist requires 'a diagram of the roof layout of all panels, modules, and approximate locations of electrical disconnecting means' and states 'system diagram will be placed at the main panel.'
permit checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Yes, for eligibility under the expedited checklist — module string counts per MPPT, fuse ratings, combiner limits, and existing load documentation (or a PE's load calc) must all be shown.
Why the confidence is not higherElectrical Requirements section of the small residential solar checklist enumerates these limits as conditions of eligibility for expedited review.
permit checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
A structural analysis report (PE-level) is mandatory only where the existing roof is a hand-cut/rafter system; no structural analysis is required where the roof is a pre-engineered truss system.
Why the confidence is not higherExplicit 'Structural Requirements' section: 'Existing roof assembly consists of a pre-engineered truss system... No structural analysis report required' vs. 'hand-cut-roof system and a structural analysis report is attached (Report is mandatory).'
permit checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
No dedicated electrical PE stamp threshold is published; the checklist only requires a licensed electrical engineer's load calculation when existing electrical loads are not otherwise detailed on the plans.
Why the confidence is not higherChecklist Electrical Requirements: 'Existing electrical loads are detailed on plan OR provide load calculations from a licensed electrical engineer' — a conditional trigger, not a general PE-stamp rule.
permit checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedApplications & Fees Schedules page (1398), Planning & Zoning User Fee Schedule (DocumentCenter/258, dated 1 Jul 2026), Development Impact Fees handout (DocumentCenter/164) — none publish a dollar figure or fee table for a building/electrical permit; fees are valuation-based per UAC 1997 Table 3-A/3-B with no published rate table on the site.
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Valuation
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 25-09 (readopting Chapter 7) amends CBC section 109.2 to state building/electrical/mechanical/plumbing permit fees are 'as set forth in Table No. 3-A through 3-H of the Uniform Administrative Code, 1997 edition,' with valuation determined from the current ICC Building Valuation Data; no flat per-kW or per-panel fee is published anywhere on the city's site.
adopting ordinance (No. 25-09, extracted with pdftotext) checked 2026-08-30 https://mcclibraryfunctions.azurewebsites.us/api/ordinanceDownload/10962/1398762/pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe same amended CBC §109.2 text separately refers to 'building permit and building plan review fees' as distinct items, and the permit application form has its own 'Plan Check Number' field, but no separate dollar figure or percentage for plan review is published.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://mcclibraryfunctions.azurewebsites.us/api/ordinanceDownload/10962/1398762/pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
For SolarAPP+-eligible systems, review is automated/same-session (submit design, pay fee, get an approval document, then email it to the city for a MyGov permit number); no published turnaround is stated for the standard (non-SolarApp+) fast-track review path.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the mechanics described on the city's own SolarAPP+ page; no explicit 'X business days' turnaround figure is published for either track.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/1425/SolarAPP
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 25-09 does not amend the standard CBC/UAC permit-expiration section, so the unamended 180-day rule (work must commence / not lapse more than 180 days) applies by default; corroborated by the permit application's own 180-day plan-review expiration clause, which is a related but not identical provision.
permit application form + inference from adopted UAC 1997 checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/155/Permit-Application-2023-PDF
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for eligible residential rooftop PV, with the approval document then emailed to the city (buildingapplications@cityofelcentro.org) to be issued a MyGov permit number for inspections; non-eligible/standard permits are submitted in person or by mail/fax to the Building & Safety Division (no general online portal found).
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly described on the city's own SolarAPP+ page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/1425/SolarAPP
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFor SolarAPP+-eligible systems the design submittal, review, and fee payment happen fully online through solarapp.nrel.gov; the applicant must still separately email the resulting approval document to the city to get a MyGov permit number, so it is not a single unbroken online flow. Non-eligible permits are not online at all.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/1425/SolarAPP
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Imperial Irrigation District (IID) — a publicly-owned irrigation district utility, not an investor-owned utility and not CPUC-regulated.
Why the confidence is not higherIID's power service territory 'covers 6,471 square miles, including all of Imperial County' and IID maintains a customer service center in El Centro; confirmed via IID's own power-service-area description (found via search after IID's site returned 403 to direct fetch — see why on q23) plus Imperial County's own rooftop-solar page listing IID as the interconnecting utility for the county seat area. This is a utility-side/county-side confirmation, not a ZIP-code lookup.
utility territory description checked 2026-08-30 https://www.iid.com/power/about-iid-power/power-service-maps
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel, with Permission-to-Operate issued after the city's final inspection
Why the confidence is not higherIID's own site states the customer is 'responsible for obtaining the proper building permit from local jurisdiction ... and submitting the required interconnection application to IID' as two separate tracks, and that IID's final Permission to Operate is issued only after the system 'has been installed ... and has been inspected.' Direct fetch of iid.com returned HTTP 403 (Akamai bot protection) for every path tried, including via curl and a Wayback Machine capture (which only rendered the JS shell, not body content); this answer relies on consistent search-engine snippets of IID's own published text and should be treated as secondary-source-quality, not a directly re-read page.
utility DG page (accessed via search cache; direct fetch blocked 403) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.iid.com/power/rooftop-solar/interconnection
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No — not required by the city; where an HOA does have architectural review, California's Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714) requires that solar applications be processed like an architectural modification and be deemed approved if not denied in writing within 45 days.
Why the confidence is not higherState law, not a city document — El Centro's own permit materials say nothing about HOA review. Statute confirmed directly at leginfo.
state statute checked 2026-08-30 https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=714.&lawCode=CIV
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Zoning Codes page (1180), Ordinance 25-09 (Chapter 7 readoption), Downtown Design Standards reference — no historic-district or solar-specific historic review requirement found.
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherWindstorm/wind-load certification programs (e.g. Texas TDI) are not part of the California framework, and no such certification appears anywhere in El Centro's adopted building/residential/fire code ordinance (Ord. 25-09).
adopting ordinance (absence checked) checked 2026-08-30 https://mcclibraryfunctions.azurewebsites.us/api/ordinanceDownload/10962/1398762/pdf
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No, for systems processed under the expedited/SolarAPP+ path (AB 2188 ministerial review); a standard discretionary permit — but still not a CUP or Council hearing for a normal residential rooftop system — applies to systems that fall outside those eligibility limits.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the existence of the expedited/ministerial checklist and SolarAPP+ eligibility rules; no city document requires Council or CUP approval for residential rooftop PV specifically.
permit checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No hard cap on residential generation size, but expedited processing is capped: the fast-track paper checklist tops out at 10 kW CEC-AC, and SolarAPP+ eligibility tops out at 38.4 kW; larger systems must go through standard (non-expedited) plan review.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth thresholds are stated explicitly in the city's own documents.
department page + permit checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/1425/SolarAPP
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 95% · adopting ordinance
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2), based on the 2024 IBC 95% · department page + adopting ordinance
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code 75% · adopting ordinance (cross-reference)
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 88% · adopting ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Electrical Code (based on 2023 NEC), 2025 California Building/Residential Code, and 2025 California Fire Code, each as locally amended by Ordinance 25-09. 85% · adopting ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Clear access pathways per California Residential Code §331 and California Fire Code §605.11–605.11.2 must be shown on the roof-layout diagram. 88% · permit checklist
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, per NEC/CEC Article 690.12 (rapid shutdown) as carried in the adopted 2025 CEC, based on the 2023 NEC. 75% · adopting ordinance (inference)
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Required markings and labels per CEC (NEC) Article 690, shown on the plans and verified in the field. 80% · permit checklist
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 68% · permit checklist (absence checked)
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Yes — a roof-layout diagram must show all panel/module locations, disconnect locations and roof access points, and a system diagram must be posted at the main service panel. 85% · permit checklist
- Where must the labels be placed? At the main electrical service panel (system diagram) and at the electrical disconnecting means shown on the roof-layout diagram. 72% · permit checklist
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? No dedicated citywide 'approved equipment list' was found; equipment must simply meet CEC/NEC listing requirements (e.g. inverters, fusing per the checklist). 58% · department page (absence checked)
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Batteries are not categorically prohibited, but a system 'utility interactive and without battery storage' is a stated eligibility condition for the expedited Small Residential Rooftop Solar checklist; systems with battery storage must go through the standard (non-expedited) permit review, which would apply the adopted 2025 CFC's energy-storage-system provisions. 78% · permit checklist
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Yes — the expedited checklist caps the system at a single-phase 120/240 VAC service with a busbar rating of 225 A or less, interconnected to the load side of the utility distribution equipment; systems needing a panel/service upgrade are flagged on the permit application and fall outside expedited eligibility. 85% · permit checklist
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? No universal spacing table; the manufacturer's specification for all attachment devices must be shown on the plans, and a structural analysis report is mandatory whenever the roof is a hand-cut/rafter system rather than pre-engineered trusses. 80% · permit checklist
20 questions answered against City of El Centro’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 25-09 §7-51: 'California Electrical Code, 2025 edition ... based on the National Electrical Code, 2023 edition,' effective ~1 Jan 2026 (ordinance adopted 2 Dec 2025, effective 30 days later). Text extracted directly with pdftotext, not summarized.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://mcclibraryfunctions.azurewebsites.us/api/ordinanceDownload/10962/1398762/pdf
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2), based on the 2024 IBC
Why the confidence is not higherStated on the city's own current Building & Zoning Codes page and confirmed word-for-word in Ordinance 25-09 §7-36.
department page + adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/1180/Building-Zoning-Codes
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 25-09 §7-3 designates the Board of Appeals as the appeals body for, among others, 'California Fire Code, 2025 edition' and 'Wildland-Urban Interface Code 2025 edition,' confirming adoption; however this ordinance only readopts Chapter 7 (Buildings), and the separate Chapter 10 (Fire Prevention) fire-code-adoption ordinance itself could not be retrieved — Municode's Chapter 10 page (library.municode.com) is an Angular SPA that returns only a JS shell to both WebFetch and curl, and the only cached mirror found (elcentro-ca.elaws.us) is stale, still showing a 2013 CFC adoption section codified years ago.
adopting ordinance (cross-reference) checked 2026-08-30 https://mcclibraryfunctions.azurewebsites.us/api/ordinanceDownload/10962/1398762/pdf
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 25-09 contains numerous local amendments to the adopted model codes (e.g. building-official authority, unsafe-structure provisions, marquee clearances, sidewalk arcades, cooling requirement in the Residential Code, fee schedule via UAC tables).
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://mcclibraryfunctions.azurewebsites.us/api/ordinanceDownload/10962/1398762/pdf
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Electrical Code (based on 2023 NEC), 2025 California Building/Residential Code, and 2025 California Fire Code, each as locally amended by Ordinance 25-09.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly from the adopting ordinance.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://mcclibraryfunctions.azurewebsites.us/api/ordinanceDownload/10962/1398762/pdf
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Yes — the expedited checklist caps the system at a single-phase 120/240 VAC service with a busbar rating of 225 A or less, interconnected to the load side of the utility distribution equipment; systems needing a panel/service upgrade are flagged on the permit application and fall outside expedited eligibility.
Why the confidence is not higherChecklist Electrical Requirements section, and the permit application's own 'CHECK THIS BOX IF PANEL UPGRADE IS NEEDED' field.
permit checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
No universal spacing table; the manufacturer's specification for all attachment devices must be shown on the plans, and a structural analysis report is mandatory whenever the roof is a hand-cut/rafter system rather than pre-engineered trusses.
Why the confidence is not higherStructural Requirements section of the checklist.
permit checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Clear access pathways per California Residential Code §331 and California Fire Code §605.11–605.11.2 must be shown on the roof-layout diagram.
Why the confidence is not higherStated in the checklist's Fire Safety Requirements; corroborated independently by neighboring Imperial County's rooftop-solar page, which cites the identical base-code section (605.11–605.11.2) for panel clearance distance under the same statewide fire code.
permit checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, per NEC/CEC Article 690.12 (rapid shutdown) as carried in the adopted 2025 CEC, based on the 2023 NEC.
Why the confidence is not higherNot stated verbatim by the city, but follows directly from the adopted code edition (Ord. 25-09 §7-51); rapid shutdown at the array boundary is a standard, unamended requirement of NEC 690.12 in the 2017–2023 editions.
adopting ordinance (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://mcclibraryfunctions.azurewebsites.us/api/ordinanceDownload/10962/1398762/pdf
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Required markings and labels per CEC (NEC) Article 690, shown on the plans and verified in the field.
Why the confidence is not higherChecklist Fire Safety Requirements: 'All required markings and labels as required by CEC, Article 690, are shown on the plans.' No additional city-specific placard beyond the code-mandated Article 690 markings was found.
permit checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own checklist points to the CEC Article 690 marking requirements rather than specifying its own wording; no separate placard-wording bulletin was found on the city's site.
permit checklist (absence checked) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSmall Residential Rooftop Solar checklist and general Permits/Building & Safety pages — the checklist references CEC Article 690 markings generally but no city bulletin specifies letter height, colour, or material for any placard.
https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes — a roof-layout diagram must show all panel/module locations, disconnect locations and roof access points, and a system diagram must be posted at the main service panel.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated in the checklist's Fire Safety Requirements.
permit checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedIID's own Distributed Generation Interconnection page and linked interconnection-application PDF — both returned HTTP 403 (Akamai bot protection) to WebFetch and to curl with a standard browser user-agent; a Wayback Machine capture of the interconnection page rendered only the client-side JS shell with no body content; no rendered-browser tool was available in this environment to get past the block, so IID's own placard/labeling spec (if any) could not be confirmed beyond the generic CEC Art. 690 markings already recorded at q38.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
At the main electrical service panel (system diagram) and at the electrical disconnecting means shown on the roof-layout diagram.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the checklist's statement that the 'system diagram will be placed at the main panel' plus the CEC Art. 690 marking requirement; no separate labeling-location bulletin was found.
permit checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
No dedicated citywide 'approved equipment list' was found; equipment must simply meet CEC/NEC listing requirements (e.g. inverters, fusing per the checklist).
Why the confidence is not higherNo approved-product list is published anywhere on the city's Building & Safety or Permits pages; equipment compliance is expressed only through NEC-listing-style conditions in the checklist.
department page (absence checked) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/163/Building-Safety-Division
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Batteries are not categorically prohibited, but a system 'utility interactive and without battery storage' is a stated eligibility condition for the expedited Small Residential Rooftop Solar checklist; systems with battery storage must go through the standard (non-expedited) permit review, which would apply the adopted 2025 CFC's energy-storage-system provisions.
Why the confidence is not higherChecklist General Requirements: 'The PV system is utility interactive and without battery storage' is listed as a YES/NO/N-A eligibility item for the fast-track path.
permit checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSmall Residential Rooftop Solar checklist and Ordinance 25-09 Chapter 7 — batteries are excluded from the expedited path (q45) but no document states whether a stand-alone ESS permit/inspection is separately required for the standard-review path; Chapter 10 (Fire Prevention Code, which would govern ESS) could not be retrieved (Municode Chapter 10 is a client-rendered Angular SPA returning no body content to WebFetch or curl; the elaws.us mirror is stale, showing a 2013 CFC adoption).
https://library.municode.com/ca/el_centro/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH10FIPRPR
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedOrdinance 25-09 Chapter 7 (Building Code) and Zoning Chapter 29 comparative table — no provision found stating whether a ground-mounted PV array is treated as an accessory structure for setback/zoning purposes; Chapter 29 (Zoning) full text could not be retrieved for the same Municode-SPA reason as q46.
https://library.municode.com/ca/el_centro/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CH10FIPRPR
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedIID's Distributed Generation Interconnection page and application PDF (both 403-blocked, see q42) and the city's Small Residential Solar checklist (which shows disconnect location on the roof-layout diagram but does not state a rule for placement relative to the meter).
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone 95% · department page
- How much notice is required? 1 business day (requests must be called in by 4 pm for next-business-day inspection) 92% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? No 85% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 78% · permit application form + department page
- If delegated, to whom? N/A — final field inspection is performed in-house by the Building & Safety Division, not delegated; plan check (not the physical inspection) is contracted to Esgil Corporation. 78% · permit application form
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? Final inspection for a compliant expedited system with no service change; an additional rough electrical/panel inspection is implied where a panel/service upgrade is checked on the application. 58% · permit application form (inference)
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes, in the form of the plan-review eligibility checklist 65% · permit checklist
- What must be on site at inspection? Permit card and the approved/stamped building plans on site; inspector access to the work area (clear of animals) and a ladder provided for roof inspections. 90% · department page
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes, inferred 58% · permit checklist (inference)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer 55% · utility DG page (accessed via search cache; direct fetch blocked 403)
14 questions answered against City of El Centro’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building Inspections page: inspections are scheduled only by calling the Building & Safety Division at 760-337-4508 (voicemail accepted); confirmed again on the SolarAPP+ page for MyGov-numbered solar permits.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/1181/Building-Inspections
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
1 business day (requests must be called in by 4 pm for next-business-day inspection)
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly: 'Inspections must be requested by 4 pm to schedule an inspection the following business day.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/1181/Building-Inspections
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
No
Why the confidence is not higherPage states same-day appointments are not available and the city cannot accommodate specific AM/PM time slots.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/1181/Building-Inspections
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherAll inspection scheduling routes back to the city's own Building & Safety Division; plan check is handled by a third-party contract plan checker (Esgil, per the 'APPROVALS REQUIRED' box on the general permit application), but field inspections are not described as delegated anywhere found.
permit application form + department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/155/Permit-Application-2023-PDF
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — final field inspection is performed in-house by the Building & Safety Division, not delegated; plan check (not the physical inspection) is contracted to Esgil Corporation.
Why the confidence is not higherFollows from q52; Esgil appears as a listed 'approval required' box on the general building permit application, which is standard practice for contract plan review, not field inspection.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/155/Permit-Application-2023-PDF
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Final inspection for a compliant expedited system with no service change; an additional rough electrical/panel inspection is implied where a panel/service upgrade is checked on the application.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the 'CHECK THIS BOX IF PANEL UPGRADE IS NEEDED' field on the solar permit application; no city document publishes an explicit inspection-stage sequence for solar.
permit application form (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Inspections page (1181) and the solar permit application/checklist — neither defines a mid-roof or rough-in inspection stage separate from the panel-upgrade rough-electrical implied at q54.
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Yes, inferred
Why the confidence is not higherThe approved plan set the inspector checks against must show CEC Art. 690 markings and labels per the checklist, so as-built label/listing verification is implicit in a standard final inspection against approved plans; no city document states this as an explicit inspection-checklist item.
permit checklist (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes, in the form of the plan-review eligibility checklist
Why the confidence is not higherThe 'Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy System Checklist' functions as a published compliance checklist, though it is framed as a plan-review/eligibility tool rather than an inspector's field checklist.
permit checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/DocumentCenter/View/159/Small-Residential-Solar-2-PDF
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Permit card and the approved/stamped building plans on site; inspector access to the work area (clear of animals) and a ladder provided for roof inspections.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly listed under 'on-site requirements' on the Building Inspections page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofelcentro.org/1181/Building-Inspections
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPlanning & Zoning User Fee Schedule (DocumentCenter/258) and Development Impact Fees handout (DocumentCenter/164) — neither lists a re-inspection fee; no separate building-fee schedule document could be located on the city's site.
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Inspections page (1181) and Permits page (164) — neither describes how correction items are issued or cleared.
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Inspections page (1181), SolarAPP+ page (1425), and general Permit Application — none states what document (CO, final card, green tag, letter) is issued on a passed final for a residential solar retrofit; the site refers only to a 'MyGov permit number' being tracked.
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer
Why the confidence is not higherPer IID's own published process (accessed via search snippet, direct fetch blocked — see q23 note), the customer/contractor submits final documentation to IID through PowerClerk and IID issues Permission to Operate directly to the customer after its own review and inspection; the city is not shown as an intermediary in this step.
utility DG page (accessed via search cache; direct fetch blocked 403) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.iid.com/power/rooftop-solar/interconnection
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of El Centro against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of El Centro is the authority having jurisdiction 88% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical
- Overridden by
- Imperial Irrigation District (IID) — a municipally-owned irrigation-district utility, not CPUC-regulated — independently controls interconnection and Permission-to-Operate; California's Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714) and the state AB 2188 ministerial/SolarAPP+ mandate constrain the city's discretion on HOA review and on review timelines/process for qualifying systems.
- Why not higher
- El Centro is an incorporated city with its own Building & Safety Division (Chief Building Official Frank Soto) that fully repealed and readopted its own Chapter 7 building code articles by Ordinance 25-09 (2 Dec 2025) and runs its own permit/inspection/SolarAPP+ process; this is independent of Imperial County Planning & Development Services, which is a separate AHJ that only covers the unincorporated county (confirmed by comparing the two agencies' separate rooftop-solar pages and separate office addresses/forms).
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Plan review
- For SolarAPP+-eligible systems, review is automated/same-session (submit design, pay fee, get an approval document, then email it to the city for a MyGov permit number);60%
- Portal
- SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for eligible residential rooftop PV, with the approval document then emailed to the city (buildingapplications@cityofelcentro.org) to be issued a MyGov permit…88%
- Electrical code
- 202395%
- Own placard wording
- No68%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone95%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 68%
No
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go 72%
At the main electrical service panel (system diagram) and at the electrical disconnecting means shown on the roof-layout diagram.
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.