City of El Segundo
Los Angeles County
City of El Segundo is a city authority in the State of California, serving 17,272 residents. 589 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — For a small residential rooftop solar system eligible for expedited/ministerial review: same day for over-the-counter applications, Q18 Where you file — E-Z Permit Hub — a ViewPoint Cloud / OpenGov Permitting & Licensing portal at elsegundoca.viewpointcloud.com Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $668 flat (residential); $1,174 flat (commercial)90% source
- Plan review turnaround
- For a small residential rooftop solar system eligible for expedited/ministerial review: same day for over-the-counter applications,75% source
- Key document
- portal landing page cited by 6 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · municipal code
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 80% · fee schedule
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · municipal code
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 85% · fee schedule
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 90% · municipal code
- Is there a historic-district review? No, for the great majority of residential parcels — only 'designated cultural resources' individually listed on the City's local register are subject to Certificate-of-Appropriateness review (ESMC ch. 15-14); no solar-specific carve-out or bar exists in that chapter 75% · municipal code
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 85% · municipal code
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Only in a narrow case: the Director may require an Administrative Use Permit if the Director finds, based on substantial evidence, a specific adverse impact on public health/safety (ESMC §13-19-7(A)); City Council approval is not otherwise required, and the zoning code classifies roof-mounted/small ground-mounted solar as an outright Accessory ('A') use in the R-1/R-2/R-3 residential zones, not a CUP use 80% · municipal code
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal — this is an ELIGIBILITY GATE for the ministerial/expedited same-day-or-3-day review path, not an absolute cap on system size 85% · municipal code
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 80% · department page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 75% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 85% · department page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? General submittal package (Document Submittal List): architectural plans (plot plan, floor plan, roof plan, exterior elevations), structural plans/calculations signed by a responsible professional, energy calculations (Title 24), plumbing/mechanical/electrical plans as applicable, plus proof of ownership/ID and (for contractors) business license, C-46/state license and workers' comp proof. No solar-specific checklist beyond this was found — the only 'solar' PDF on the handouts page is a generic statewide, nonresidential-scoped Energy Code Ace fact sheet, not a city checklist. 70% · published checklist
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic submittal via the E-Z Permit Hub portal; PDF and JPG file formats only ('Only PDF and JPG file formats will be accepted for attachments') 75% · department page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — a plot plan is required as part of the standard Document Submittal List (Architectural Plans > Plot plan); must show the property with the proposed work (no solar-specific site-plan content list found) 65% · published checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes (inferred) 55% · published checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? E-Z Permit Hub — a ViewPoint Cloud / OpenGov Permitting & Licensing portal at elsegundoca.viewpointcloud.com 90% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 80% · portal landing page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $668 flat (residential); $1,174 flat (commercial) 90% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Flat 90% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No — not separately itemized 60% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? For a small residential rooftop solar system eligible for expedited/ministerial review: same day for over-the-counter applications, or within 3 business days for electronic submittals (ESMC §13-19-7(A)). For a general building permit not on the expedited path, the Building Division states 'Accelerated Plan Check' within 7 working days or 'Regular Plan Check' in 1–4 weeks. 75% · municipal code
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days after issuance; the 180-day clock restarts after every inspection performed 85% · department page
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 90% · city page
28 questions answered against City of El Segundo’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherESMC ch. 13-19 (Solar, Hydronics and Geothermal Code) is the city's own codified expedited-permitting ordinance for small residential rooftop solar; the Fire Code's own §104.1.1 vests enforcement in the El Segundo Fire Chief/Fire Department (its own department, not LACoFD). No county or contract-city delegation found anywhere in the code or on the city's own pages.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9956
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building & Safety Division issues building AND electrical permits as a single 'Combo Permit' (Master Fee Schedule Combo Permits table); Community Development Director/Building Official named throughout the code as the enforcing official with no contractor firm name found on any process page, fee-schedule staffing appendix, portal domain (viewpointcloud.com is software, not a firm) or email local-part (permits@elsegundo.org is generic). Did not check the adopted budget's Contractual Services object-code line, so cannot fully rule out a contracted plan-checker.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/11407/638919737074070000
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherESMC §13-19-4(A): 'This chapter applies to the permitting of all small residential rooftop solar energy systems in the city.' Apply-for-a-Permit page also lists 'Solar' explicitly among work requiring a Building Permit.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9953
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule prices residential solar as a single 'Combo Permit' item ($668 flat) alongside EV charging, pool and generator — distinct from the separate valuation-based Building/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical schedules — indicating one combined building+electrical permit for solar rather than two separate permits.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/11407/638919737074070000
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherApply-for-a-Permit page: a permit may be pulled by (1) the residential property owner, (2) a State of California licensed contractor, or (3) an authorized agent of either. No electrical-specific restriction found since the solar permit is a combined Combo Permit.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/government/departments/community-development/building-and-safety-division/apply-for-a-permit
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherApply-for-a-Permit page requires contractors to hold 'a current City of El Segundo business license' as part of the required documentation before a permit application is accepted.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/government/departments/community-development/building-and-safety-division/apply-for-a-permit
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherApply-for-a-Permit page lists 'Residential property owner' as the first category of person who can pull a permit, with no carve-out excluding solar; ESMC §13-19 sets no contractor-only requirement.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/government/departments/community-development/building-and-safety-division/apply-for-a-permit
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
General submittal package (Document Submittal List): architectural plans (plot plan, floor plan, roof plan, exterior elevations), structural plans/calculations signed by a responsible professional, energy calculations (Title 24), plumbing/mechanical/electrical plans as applicable, plus proof of ownership/ID and (for contractors) business license, C-46/state license and workers' comp proof. No solar-specific checklist beyond this was found — the only 'solar' PDF on the handouts page is a generic statewide, nonresidential-scoped Energy Code Ace fact sheet, not a city checklist.
Why the confidence is not higherDocument Submittal List is generic (not solar-specific) and dated 2019 by its published-document ID; the linked 'Solar PV ESS BatterySystems.2022 Fact Sheet' handout was opened and confirmed to be a generic, NON-residential statewide Title 24 Part 6 fact sheet (explicitly says single-family requirements are in a different document not linked here) — flagged rather than used as the residential source.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/967/637133080164300000
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic submittal via the E-Z Permit Hub portal; PDF and JPG file formats only ('Only PDF and JPG file formats will be accepted for attachments')
Why the confidence is not higherStated plainly on the Apply-for-a-Permit page; number of copies for a paper/counter submittal not specified anywhere found.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/government/departments/community-development/building-and-safety-division/apply-for-a-permit
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — a plot plan is required as part of the standard Document Submittal List (Architectural Plans > Plot plan); must show the property with the proposed work (no solar-specific site-plan content list found)
Why the confidence is not higherPlot plan requirement comes from the generic Document Submittal List, not a solar-specific checklist; no solar-specific site-plan content (array layout, setbacks, access pathways) list was found on any city document.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/967/637133080164300000
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes (inferred)
Why the confidence is not higherDocument Submittal List requires 'Electrical Plans (including relevant information from architectural plans)' for any permit; a one-line diagram is standard content of an electrical plan set for a PV interconnection, but no document explicitly names 'one-line diagram' for solar.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/967/637133080164300000
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDocument Submittal List and ESMC ch. 13-19 (solar ordinance) — neither names string or conductor calculations specifically; only 'Electrical Plans' and 'Structural Calculations' are named generically
https://www.elsegundo.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/967/637133080164300000
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedESMC Title 13 ch. 1 (Building Code amendments) and Document Submittal List — structural calcs are required 'signed by responsible professional' with no stated valuation/roof-load/kW threshold at which a PE (vs. non-engineer) stamp is required; no dedicated PV structural-criteria handout (unlike some CA cities) was found on the Building & Safety handouts page
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-8231
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedESMC Title 13 ch. 3 (Electrical Code) — adoption section only, no PE-stamp threshold language found; no dedicated electrical criteria handout found
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9057
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$668 flat (residential); $1,174 flat (commercial)
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule, Appendix A Schedule A-2, 'Combo Permits' table: 'Solar Charging System — Residential 668.00 / Commercial 1,174.00'. PDF CreationDate 27 Jun 2025 (Resolution No. 5545), so this is the FY2025-26 schedule and is the most current one found.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/11407/638919737074070000
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat
Why the confidence is not higherSame Combo Permits table prices the residential Solar Charging System permit as a single flat dollar figure, distinct from the city's separate valuation-based (percentage-of-construction-value) schedules used for ordinary Building/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical permits.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/11407/638919737074070000
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No — not separately itemized
Why the confidence is not higherThe Combo Permits table (which the $668 solar fee sits in) has no accompanying 'Plan Check: X% of Permit Fee' line, unlike every other trade schedule in the same document (Building/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical each explicitly state 'Plan Check: 100% of Permit Fee' immediately after their tables); inferred that the Combo flat fee is inclusive of plan check, but this is not stated explicitly anywhere.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/11407/638919737074070000
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
For a small residential rooftop solar system eligible for expedited/ministerial review: same day for over-the-counter applications, or within 3 business days for electronic submittals (ESMC §13-19-7(A)). For a general building permit not on the expedited path, the Building Division states 'Accelerated Plan Check' within 7 working days or 'Regular Plan Check' in 1–4 weeks.
Why the confidence is not higherTwo different city sources give different turnaround commitments for what may be the same job: the codified solar ordinance's 3-day/same-day figure is specific to solar and controls for expedited-eligible systems; the department's general Apply-for-a-Permit page gives the slower generic 7-day/1-4-week figures for permits generally. Reporting both.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9966
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days after issuance; the 180-day clock restarts after every inspection performed
Why the confidence is not higherStated plainly on the Building Inspections FAQ page. (A related but distinct rule, ESMC §13-1-2 amending CBC §105.3.2, sets a 180-day/12-month PLAN CHECK abandonment period, which is a different clock from permit validity.)
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/government/departments/community-development/building-and-safety-division/building-inspections
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
E-Z Permit Hub — a ViewPoint Cloud / OpenGov Permitting & Licensing portal at elsegundoca.viewpointcloud.com
Why the confidence is not higherApply-for-a-Permit page links the portal directly by this URL and calls it the 'El Segundo E-Z Permit Hub'; the Building Inspections page also directs applicants to the same dashboard to schedule inspections.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/government/departments/community-development/building-and-safety-division/apply-for-a-permit
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherApply-for-a-Permit page: the portal is described as providing 'a single place for all Building permit applications, plan submittals, fee payments, reviews, permit issuance, inspection requests, and communication' — a fully online workflow. Separately, the city states it is in a PILOT for SolarAPP+ (contractors must contact team@solar-app.org to join); until fully rolled out, the standard E-Z Permit Hub route is what is actually available today.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/government/departments/community-development/building-and-safety-division/apply-for-a-permit
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Public Works 'Useful Links' page lists SCE under 'Utility Contacts' (alongside SoCalGas, AT&T, Chevron, LA County Sanitation District, West Basin MWD); the city's own embedded Service Directory JSON on elsegundo.gov separately states 'Electric Service -> Contact SoCal Edison.' No Clean Power Alliance or any other CCA name appears anywhere on either the utility-contacts page or the full citywide service directory (control check: dozens of other services/agencies are correctly listed, so the list is not simply broken).
city page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/government/departments/public-works/engineering/infrastructure-information/public-works-useful-links
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's own DG/Rule 21/interconnection pages were not reached (SCE's public DG pages are known to soft-404 to a plain fetch); no El Segundo-specific statement of sequencing (before/after/parallel with the city permit) was found on any city page
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherESMC §13-19-7(E): 'The director cannot condition approval of an application on... requiring formation of an association' — the city's own solar ordinance bars conditioning approval on HOA/association action, consistent with the state Solar Rights Act.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9966
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No, for the great majority of residential parcels — only 'designated cultural resources' individually listed on the City's local register are subject to Certificate-of-Appropriateness review (ESMC ch. 15-14); no solar-specific carve-out or bar exists in that chapter
Why the confidence is not higherRead ESMC §§15-14-1 through 15-14-11 in full: the chapter applies only to individually 'designated' historic buildings/sites, not citywide, and never mentions solar panels (control check: the extraction correctly returned real chapter text — 'resource' and 'exemption' occur many times — and a fabricated term 'zzqqx' returns 0 hits). If a given house happens to be a designated cultural resource, an alteration such as roof-mounted PV would need a Certificate of Appropriateness under §15-14-7 with no PV exemption stated.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-12925
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherRead the full Title 13 ch. 1 Building Code local amendments (including the ASCE 7 / §1613 seismic-and-wind amendments) end-to-end; no wind-speed or windstorm-certification requirement specific to solar, or generally, was found (control check: 'ASCE'/'wind'/'seismic' occur dozens of times confirming extraction worked; 'photovoltaic' and the fabricated term 'zzqqx' both return 0 hits). El Segundo's exposure is coastal-marine (not a high-wind desert corridor), consistent with no special local wind rule being adopted.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-8231
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Only in a narrow case: the Director may require an Administrative Use Permit if the Director finds, based on substantial evidence, a specific adverse impact on public health/safety (ESMC §13-19-7(A)); City Council approval is not otherwise required, and the zoning code classifies roof-mounted/small ground-mounted solar as an outright Accessory ('A') use in the R-1/R-2/R-3 residential zones, not a CUP use
Why the confidence is not higherBoth sources are the city's own current code: the solar ordinance's AUP escape-valve, and the Residential Zones use table (ESMC Title 15 ch. 4) listing 'Roof-mounted and small-scale ground-mounted solar energy systems' as 'A' (Accessory), not CUP, in all three residential zones.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9966
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal — this is an ELIGIBILITY GATE for the ministerial/expedited same-day-or-3-day review path, not an absolute cap on system size
Why the confidence is not higherESMC §13-19-3 defines 'Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy System' using the classic AB 2188-era 10 kW AC/30 kW thermal figure, single-or-duplex-family dwelling, and 'does not exceed the maximum legal building height.' §13-19-4 scopes the whole expedited chapter to systems meeting that definition; nothing in the code bars a larger system outright, it simply would not qualify for the ministerial same-day/3-day review and would go through standard plan check instead (same 'gate not cap' shape as several other CA cities).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9956
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 85% · municipal code
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2), effective 1 Jan 2026 90% · municipal code
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9) 90% · municipal code
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 90% · municipal code
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3) for wiring/interconnection; UL/IEEE listing and, where applicable, CPUC interconnection rules for equipment and performance (ESMC §13-19-5); the 2025 CFC (as locally amended) for fire/life-safety aspects including ESS location 85% · municipal code
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? No local amendment found — the unamended 2025 CFC's own standard rooftop-access-pathway and ridge-setback provisions (CFC §1205, not separately reproduced by the city) govern 55% · municipal code
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes — required under NEC/CEC §690.12, as incorporated by the unamended 2025 California Electrical Code (based on the 2023 NEC); no local amendment to rapid-shutdown requirements was found 70% · municipal code
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? No El Segundo-specific placard beyond what the (unamended) 2025 CEC/CFC themselves require — no locally-worded PV disconnect, rapid-shutdown, or DC-marking placard was found 70% · municipal code
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 80% · municipal code
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No 80% · municipal code
- Where must the labels be placed? No local rule found beyond the standard, unamended NEC/CEC service-equipment/disconnect marking requirements (CEC Art. 690/705, as adopted by ESMC §13-3-1) 50% · municipal code
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 85% · municipal code
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, with location conditions: ESS may be installed only (1) in a detached garage or detached accessory structure, or (2) outdoors on the exterior side of an exterior wall not less than 3 feet from doors/windows entering the dwelling unit. ESS may NOT be installed in any structure attached to a dwelling unit. 90% · municipal code
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No dedicated separate ESS permit/fee type was found 55% · fee schedule
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No local rule found — Chapter 3 (Electrical Code) contains only the bare adoption section (§13-3-1); no busbar-sizing, service-upgrade, or attic-ambient-derating amendment exists in the codified electrical chapter 80% · municipal code
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? No PV-specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing rule found in the Building Code chapter 75% · municipal code
20 questions answered against City of El Segundo’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherCalifornia adopted the 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3) effective 1 Jan 2026, and the 2025 CEC is based on the 2023 NEC (there is no '2025 NEC'). El Segundo adopted the 2025 CEC by Ord. 1680 (3 Dec 2025), codified at ESMC §13-3-1, ahead of/concurrent with the statewide effective date.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9057
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2), effective 1 Jan 2026
Why the confidence is not higherESMC §13-1-1, adopted by Ord. 1680, 3 Dec 2025: 'the California Building Code, 2025 Edition... is adopted by reference.' The city's own dated 'BUILDING AND SAFETY — 2025 CALIFORNIA BUILDING CODE UPDATE' handout (created 4 Dec 2025) confirms the same and states the 2025 codes apply to any permit application not deemed complete before 1 Jan 2026. Note: the city's own 'Building Codes and Regulations' WEBPAGE is stale and still describes the 2022 CBC as current — the codified ordinance and the dated handout, both from Dec 2025, are the current and controlling sources.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-8231
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9)
Why the confidence is not higherESMC §13-9-1, most recently amended by Ord. 1681, 3 Dec 2025: 'the California Fire Code..., 2025 Edition... is adopted by reference.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9115
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherESMC §13-1-2 (building), §13-9-2 (fire) each carry substantial locally-added/amended sections; §13-11-2 (green building) carries one administrative amendment. The only chapter with essentially no amendment text found is ch. 3 (electrical) — see Q34.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9115
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3) for wiring/interconnection; UL/IEEE listing and, where applicable, CPUC interconnection rules for equipment and performance (ESMC §13-19-5); the 2025 CFC (as locally amended) for fire/life-safety aspects including ESS location
Why the confidence is not higherESMC §13-19-5: 'Solar energy systems for producing electricity must meet all applicable safety and performance standards established by the California electrical code, the Institute Of Electrical And Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories and, where applicable, rules of the public utilities commission.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9956
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
No local rule found — Chapter 3 (Electrical Code) contains only the bare adoption section (§13-3-1); no busbar-sizing, service-upgrade, or attic-ambient-derating amendment exists in the codified electrical chapter
Why the confidence is not higherRead the entire Electrical Code chapter (20,553 characters extracted) end to end: only §13-3-1 (adoption) exists, and it cross-references a 'Section 13-3-2' for amendments that does not actually exist anywhere in the current codification — a stale/vestigial cross-reference, not evidence a rule exists. Control check: 'amendment' occurs once (the stale cross-reference itself), 'busbar'/'ampere' occur 0 times, and the fabricated term 'zzqqx' occurs 0 times.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9057
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
No PV-specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing rule found in the Building Code chapter
Why the confidence is not higherRead the full Title 13 ch. 1 Building Code local amendments (115,000+ characters, including the ASCE 7/§1613 seismic-and-wind sections and the §1705 special-inspection sections) end to end; the word 'photovoltaic' occurs 0 times and general roof-attachment prescriptive rules are the unamended CBC/CRC/ASCE 7-22 tables. Control check: 'ASCE' occurs dozens of times (positive control) and 'zzqqx' occurs 0 times.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-8231
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
No local amendment found — the unamended 2025 CFC's own standard rooftop-access-pathway and ridge-setback provisions (CFC §1205, not separately reproduced by the city) govern
Why the confidence is not higherRead the entire codified Fire Code local-amendments chapter (§13-9-2, ~39,000 characters covering CFC Ch.1 through Appendix B); no PV-specific pathway/setback language (no '1205', no 'rooftop') appears anywhere. Did not independently verify the base (unamended) 2025 CFC §1205 text itself, so the specific dimensions in force are not confirmed here.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9115
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes — required under NEC/CEC §690.12, as incorporated by the unamended 2025 California Electrical Code (based on the 2023 NEC); no local amendment to rapid-shutdown requirements was found
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the fact that §690.12 rapid shutdown is a mandatory NEC provision carried into the 2025 CEC as adopted verbatim by ESMC §13-3-1, and the full Electrical Code chapter contains no amendment altering or removing it. Did not independently pull the base CEC §690.12 text to confirm no state-level exception applies to El Segundo specifically.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9057
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No El Segundo-specific placard beyond what the (unamended) 2025 CEC/CFC themselves require — no locally-worded PV disconnect, rapid-shutdown, or DC-marking placard was found
Why the confidence is not higherRead both the full codified Fire Code local amendments and the ESMC ch. 13-19 solar ordinance; the only 'placard' hit in the entire Fire Code chapter is §311.5 'Placards' being DELETED (an unrelated vacant-building provision), and no PV/rapid-shutdown/DC-disconnect placard text exists anywhere in the local code (unlike, e.g., Sanger's single local DC-disconnect placard amendment). Control check: fabricated term 'zzqqx' returns 0 hits; 'fire' returns 164 hits confirming extraction worked.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9115
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame full-chapter review as Q38 — no wording is specified locally for any solar/PV/ESS placard; the city relies entirely on the unamended state code's placard requirements.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9115
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame review — no letter-height, colour, or material specification for solar signage exists anywhere in the local code or on any Building/Fire handout found.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9115
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedESMC ch. 13-19 (solar ordinance), Fire Code local amendments, and the Document Submittal List — none require a dedicated site plan/facility-map PLACARD (as distinct from a plot plan submitted with the application); no city handout addressing a posted facility map for solar was found
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9956
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's own DG/interconnection and net-metering pages were not reachable (known to soft-404 to a plain fetch); no city document restates a utility-specific placard requirement
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No local rule found beyond the standard, unamended NEC/CEC service-equipment/disconnect marking requirements (CEC Art. 690/705, as adopted by ESMC §13-3-1)
Why the confidence is not higherNo El Segundo ordinance or handout specifies label placement beyond the state code; SCE's own utility-specific placement rules were not reachable to confirm any additional requirement.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9057
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherESMC §13-19-5(C): systems 'must meet all applicable safety and performance standards established by the California electrical code, the Institute Of Electrical And Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories' — i.e., UL-listed/IEEE-conforming equipment is required.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9956
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes, with location conditions: ESS may be installed only (1) in a detached garage or detached accessory structure, or (2) outdoors on the exterior side of an exterior wall not less than 3 feet from doors/windows entering the dwelling unit. ESS may NOT be installed in any structure attached to a dwelling unit.
Why the confidence is not higher2025 CFC §1207.11.3 as amended by ESMC §13-9-2 (Ord. 1681, 3 Dec 2025), read in full from the codified Fire Code chapter.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9115
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No dedicated separate ESS permit/fee type was found
Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee Schedule's Combo Permits table has no standalone 'Battery' or 'Energy Storage System' line (only 'Solar Charging System' and other combo categories); the Electrical Permits schedule also has no battery-specific line. Inferred that a residential battery add-on is priced/permitted under the same combined Building/Electrical process rather than as its own permit type, but this is not stated explicitly anywhere.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/11407/638919737074070000
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedESMC Title 15 ch. 4 (Residential Zones) use table lists 'Roof-mounted and small-scale ground-mounted solar energy systems' as its own Accessory-use line, separate from the table's own 'Detached accessory buildings and structures' line — but no provision was found stating whether ground-mount PV is itself subject to the zoning code's structure setback/height rules
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-11041
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's own DG manual / interconnection requirements pages were not reachable (known to soft-404 to a plain fetch); no El Segundo ordinance addresses AC-disconnect-to-meter proximity
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal 85% · department page
- How much notice is required? Effectively 1 business day — 'Please call for an inspection 24 hours in advance' / requests made by 11:59 p.m. are performed the next business day 85% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? No — same-day inspections are explicitly not offered ('Please select the next day, since we do not offer same day inspections'); no AM/PM window choice is described anywhere on the page 75% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 90% · municipal code
- If delegated, to whom? N/A — not delegated. Inspection is performed in-house by the City's own Building & Safety Division under the Community Development Director 85% · municipal code
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For a small residential rooftop solar system eligible for expedited review: a single, final inspection only (ESMC §13-19-7(G)-(H)), consolidated where possible. For systems outside that eligibility (e.g., larger systems or those needing full plan check), the standard Building/Electrical inspection sequence applies as for any combo permit. 75% · municipal code
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No — for expedited-eligible systems, only one (final) inspection is required; no rough-in or mid-roof inspection is called for 75% · municipal code
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No dedicated published solar inspection checklist was found 65% · department page
- What must be on site at inspection? Approved/stamped set of plans, the signed permit card, and inspection cards are required on the jobsite for every inspection 80% · department page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (a final inspection sign-off, not a Certificate of Occupancy, since solar is added to an existing dwelling) 60% · department page
- Is there a re-inspection fee? Hourly Rate (not a flat fee) 60% · fee schedule
14 questions answered against City of El Segundo’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Inspections page: 'To schedule, cancel or change an inspection, log in to the dashboard and select your project record using our EZ Permit Hub.' Phone (310-524-2379) and in-person/counter requests are also explicitly offered as alternatives.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/government/departments/community-development/building-and-safety-division/building-inspections
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Effectively 1 business day — 'Please call for an inspection 24 hours in advance' / requests made by 11:59 p.m. are performed the next business day
Why the confidence is not higherStated plainly, twice, on the Building Inspections FAQ page.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/government/departments/community-development/building-and-safety-division/building-inspections
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
No — same-day inspections are explicitly not offered ('Please select the next day, since we do not offer same day inspections'); no AM/PM window choice is described anywhere on the page
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Inspections page states inspections are scheduled for 'the next day' with no mention of a selectable AM/PM window; regular field inspections run weekdays until 4:00 p.m.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/government/departments/community-development/building-and-safety-division/building-inspections
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherESMC §13-19-7(G): 'Only one inspection is required and must be performed by the director for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review' — the city's own Community Development Director/Building Division performs the inspection; no delegation to a fire district or county found anywhere.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9966
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — not delegated. Inspection is performed in-house by the City's own Building & Safety Division under the Community Development Director
Why the confidence is not higherSame source as Q52; El Segundo runs its own Building Division and its own Fire Department (confirmed from the Fire Code's own §104.1.1 definitional hook), so there is no county or contract-city delegation to name.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9966
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For a small residential rooftop solar system eligible for expedited review: a single, final inspection only (ESMC §13-19-7(G)-(H)), consolidated where possible. For systems outside that eligibility (e.g., larger systems or those needing full plan check), the standard Building/Electrical inspection sequence applies as for any combo permit.
Why the confidence is not higherESMC §13-19-7: 'Only one inspection is required...' for the expedited-eligible category; no separate rough-in/final sequence is described for that category. Non-eligible systems were not separately documented.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9966
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No — for expedited-eligible systems, only one (final) inspection is required; no rough-in or mid-roof inspection is called for
Why the confidence is not higherESMC §13-19-7(G): 'Only one inspection is required.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9966
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo department page, handout, or ordinance was found that explicitly states inspectors verify labels/equipment listings at the field inspection (as distinct from the plan-check requirement in §13-19-5(C) that equipment BE UL-listed)
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No dedicated published solar inspection checklist was found
Why the confidence is not higherChecked the Building & Safety 'Forms & Handouts' page in full; the only solar-labelled document there ('Solar PV ESS BatterySystems.2022 Fact Sheet') is a generic, nonresidential statewide Energy Code Ace fact sheet, not an El Segundo inspection checklist. No other solar-specific checklist was found on any Building or Fire Department page.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/government/departments/community-development/building-and-safety-division/plan-check/building-safety-handouts-and-forms
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Approved/stamped set of plans, the signed permit card, and inspection cards are required on the jobsite for every inspection
Why the confidence is not higherApply-for-a-Permit page: 'Printed approved/stamped set of plans, signed permit card and inspection cards are required on the jobsite during inspections.' This is a general Building Division requirement, not solar-specific, but nothing found narrows or exempts solar from it.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/government/departments/community-development/building-and-safety-division/apply-for-a-permit
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Hourly Rate (not a flat fee)
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's fee schedule states 'Reinspections ... Hourly Rate' after each of the Building, Electrical, Plumbing and Mechanical permit tables; the standalone Combo Permits table (which the $668 solar line sits in) does not repeat this note, so it is inferred rather than stated for solar specifically.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/11407/638919737074070000
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo Building Division or Fire Prevention page or handout found that describes how correction notices are issued or cleared for a residential solar job specifically (only the general code language in ESMC §13-19-7(F): 'a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies ... must be sent to the applicant for resubmission')
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9966
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (a final inspection sign-off, not a Certificate of Occupancy, since solar is added to an existing dwelling)
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Inspections FAQ page distinguishes 'Final Inspection' (requested by phone, for work like a permitted alteration) from a 'Certificate of Occupancy' (needed to occupy a property) — solar being an alteration to an already-occupied dwelling would receive a Final rather than a new CO. Not stated in so many words for solar specifically.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.elsegundo.gov/government/departments/community-development/building-and-safety-division/building-inspections
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's own DG/PTO and interconnection pages were not reachable (known to soft-404 to a plain fetch); no El Segundo ordinance or handout states who (installer vs. AHJ vs. utility) notifies SCE for Permission to Operate
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of El Segundo against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of El Segundo is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
- Holds
- Building, electrical (combined 'Combo Permit'), and fire — El Segundo runs its own full-service Building & Safety Division AND its own Fire Department (not a LACoFD contract city). There is no county delegation of any kind for residential solar.
- Overridden by
- State law: Gov. Code §65850.5 (expedited/ministerial review, implemented verbatim as ESMC ch. 13-19), §65850.52 (SB 379 automated permitting — city states it is only in a SolarAPP+ PILOT, not yet fully live), and §65850.55 (fee cap, referenced in ESMC §13-19-6(E)); Civil Code §714 (Solar Rights Act) underlies the HOA bar in §13-19-7(E).
- Why not higher
- El Segundo's own codified Fire Code (2025 CFC as locally amended, ESMC §13-9-2) adds §104.1.1: 'the El Segundo fire department is authorized to enforce ordinances of the City of El Segundo' under 'the fire chief' — the classic codified-definition proof (per methodology) that this is the city's OWN department, the opposite of the LACoFD-contract-city pattern that covers most of this LA County survey. Likewise Building/Electrical/Energy/Green/WUI codes are each adopted directly by the city (Ord. 1680/1681, 3 Dec 2025) with the city's own Building Official/Director named as enforcing official throughout, and the city's own solar ordinance (ESMC ch. 13-19) implements the state Solar Rights Act directly rather than deferring to any county process. The LA County Building & Safety 1 Jul 2026 contract-city withdrawal (documented in Lomita's council packet) does NOT apply here — El Segundo is not and never was a county-serviced contract city for building/electrical/fire; it has run its own departments throughout.
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/elsegundoca/latest/elsegundo_ca/0-0-0-9115
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $668 flat (residential); $1,174 flat (commercial)90%
- Plan review
- For a small residential rooftop solar system eligible for expedited/ministerial review: same day for over-the-counter applications,75%
- Portal
- E-Z Permit Hub — a ViewPoint Cloud / OpenGov Permitting & Licensing portal at elsegundoca.viewpointcloud.com90%
- Electrical code
- 202385%
- Own placard wording
- No80%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal85%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 80%
No
Size, colour & material 80%
No
Where they go 50%
No local rule found beyond the standard, unamended NEC/CEC service-equipment/disconnect marking requirements (CEC Art. 690/705, as adopted by ESMC §13-3-1)
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.