City of Fairfield
Solano County
City of Fairfield is a city authority in the State of California, serving 119,881 residents. 10,525 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Same business day for over-the-counter applications; 1 to 3 business days for electronic applications (for expedited/SolarAPP+-eligible small residential rooftop… Q18 Where you file — Fairfield BUILD (the city's online permitting portal, launched April 2025 to replace TRAKiT), Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- Roof-mount up to 15kW/kWth: $165.61 total (plan check $62.92 + inspection $102.69); Ground-mount up to 15kW/kWth: $299.76 total (plan check $94.38 + inspection $205.38);55% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Same business day for over-the-counter applications; 1 to 3 business days for electronic applications (for expedited/SolarAPP+-eligible small residential rooftop solar)92% source
- Key document
- municipal code (expedited solar permit ordinance) cited by 7 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · authority permit page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 92% · municipal code
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · authority page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 90% · municipal code
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No hard cap on system size, but the expedited/SolarAPP+ streamlined process only applies to 'small residential rooftop solar energy systems' defined as no larger than 10 kW AC nameplate (or 30 kW thermal). Larger systems are still permittable, just outside the expedited path. 85% · municipal code
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 60% · authority page + municipal code
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 88% · municipal code
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 55% · authority page (general homeowner rules)
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? A plot/site plan showing the position of the proposed project relative to existing buildings, property lines and utility easements is required for building permits generally; the solar ordinance (§5.1.4.9(E)) further requires the City to post a standard plan/checklist of expedited application requirements on its website. 55% · authority page + municipal code
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Fairfield BUILD (the city's online permitting portal, launched April 2025 to replace TRAKiT), combined with SolarAPP+ for eligible residential rooftop PV design review 95% · authority page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 88% · authority page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? Roof-mount up to 15kW/kWth: $165.61 total (plan check $62.92 + inspection $102.69); Ground-mount up to 15kW/kWth: $299.76 total (plan check $94.38 + inspection $205.38); each additional kW above 15kW: $10.50. Total fee statutorily capped at $500 (roof or ground, first 15kW) and $15/kW increment, per AB 1414. 55% · fee resolution (dated FY21-22, likely superseded)
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered / Flat rate by kW tier (flat rate for systems up to 15kW/kWth, then per-kW increment above that), subject to the AB 1414 statutory cap 65% · fee resolution
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 70% · fee resolution
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Same business day for over-the-counter applications; 1 to 3 business days for electronic applications (for expedited/SolarAPP+-eligible small residential rooftop solar) 92% · municipal code (expedited solar permit ordinance)
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 1 year from date of issuance, with up to two 1-year extensions available on written request (plus a possible one-time 90-day administrative extension if only the final inspection remains) 90% · municipal code
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) 92% · utility service-area page + authority page
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit (and after inspection) — city permit issuance does not itself authorize grid connection 85% · municipal code
28 questions answered against City of Fairfield’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Safety Division (Community Development) is the city's own building/electrical permitting authority for residential PV; confirmed by its SolarAPP+ and Fairfield BUILD pages.
authority permit page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.fairfield.ca.gov/government/city-departments/community-development/building-safety/solar-app
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherA single combined permit covers building/electrical/mechanical/plumbing for residential projects per FMC §5.1.4.3 (Section 105.3.1.1(C)), amended by Ord. 2025-10.
municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/50424512
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own Homeowner Help & References permit-requirement table lists 'Solar Equipment' as requiring a permit for both new installs and replacements.
authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.fairfield.ca.gov/government/city-departments/community-development/building-safety/homeowner-help-references
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherSame FMC §5.1.4.3 (105.3.1.1(C)) rule: one permit issued for all trades in a residential application, so the electrical scope of a PV system is folded into the single building permit rather than issued separately.
municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/50424512
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral permit rule (FMC §5.1.4.3) requires the permit be issued only to a state-licensed contractor or a person exempt from licensing (i.e., an owner-builder). For the automated SolarAPP+ path specifically, the installing contractor must be added to the NREL SolarAPP+ eligibility list, which effectively requires a licensed electrical/solar contractor on that path; the non-automated path (ground-mount, commercial, additions) does not state a licensing restriction beyond the general contractor's-license rule.
authority page + municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://www.fairfield.ca.gov/government/city-departments/community-development/building-safety/solar-app
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFMC §5.1.4.3 (105.3.1.1(B)) requires any contractor/subcontractor applying for a permit to hold a current City of Fairfield business license; the SolarAPP+ page additionally requires the contractor be on the NREL SolarAPP+ eligibility list before applying in BUILD.
municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/50424512
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherNo city document specifically bars owner-builder self-permitting for solar, and the general permit-signature rule (owner, authorized agent, or licensed contractor) allows it; however the automated SolarAPP+ path is built around a contractor being NREL-listed, so a homeowner self-installing would likely have to go the non-expedited path directly through Building Safety. Not explicitly addressed for solar specifically.
authority page (general homeowner rules) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.fairfield.ca.gov/government/city-departments/community-development/building-safety/homeowner-help-references
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDocuments & Forms page (https://www.fairfield.ca.gov/government/city-departments/community-development/building-safety/documents-forms) was not opened due to time; SolarAPP+ page references a NREL/SolarAPP+ generated document package and an 'eligibility checklist' but I did not locate the actual checklist file.
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Documents & Forms / SolarAPP+ pages; no explicit copy-count or file-format requirement found.
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
A plot/site plan showing the position of the proposed project relative to existing buildings, property lines and utility easements is required for building permits generally; the solar ordinance (§5.1.4.9(E)) further requires the City to post a standard plan/checklist of expedited application requirements on its website.
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral site-plan rule comes from the homeowner permit guidance (written for additions/accessory structures, not solar-specific); the solar ordinance references a checklist/standard plan but I could not locate that checklist document itself.
authority page + municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://www.fairfield.ca.gov/government/city-departments/community-development/building-safety/homeowner-help-references
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMunicipal code §5.1.4.9 and §5.1.4.4 (Submittal documents) and the Plan Check Process page; neither states a one-line/three-line diagram requirement explicitly, though it is near-universally required for PV interconnection and is likely part of the SolarAPP+ generated document set.
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame submittal-document sections of the municipal code; no explicit string/conductor calculation requirement found (may be embedded in SolarAPP+'s own automated review criteria, which I did not access).
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we looked§5.1.4.9(E)(4)(a) requires the applicant to verify structural adequacy via 'standard engineering evaluation techniques,' implying no PE stamp for standard-eligible systems, but no explicit threshold (e.g., roof load, system weight) triggering a required PE stamp was found.
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame section (E)(4)(b) for electrical verification; no explicit PE-stamp threshold found for electrical work specifically.
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Roof-mount up to 15kW/kWth: $165.61 total (plan check $62.92 + inspection $102.69); Ground-mount up to 15kW/kWth: $299.76 total (plan check $94.38 + inspection $205.38); each additional kW above 15kW: $10.50. Total fee statutorily capped at $500 (roof or ground, first 15kW) and $15/kW increment, per AB 1414.
Why the confidence is not higherThese figures come from City Council Resolution 2021-83's FY21-22 Building Safety Division fee schedule (found via the WebLink document search tool, page 6 of 22). The city's Permit Fees page confirms newer FY2025-26 and FY2026-27 fee schedules exist and supersede this one (fees are ordered to adjust annually), but those current PDFs are served from a URL that blocks both direct fetch and the browser's native PDF viewer (returns 403 / cannot render), so I could not verify current dollar amounts. The fee STRUCTURE (flat rate by kW tier, AB1414 cap) is very likely still current; the exact dollar figures may have been inflation-adjusted since 2021. Also note the schedule's own 'till 2025' cap language may itself be stale relative to today's date (Aug 2026) if the state cap was not extended.
fee resolution (dated FY21-22, likely superseded) checked 2026-08-30 https://eservices.fairfield.ca.gov/WebLink/DocView.aspx?id=85225&dbid=0&repo=SharedDocs
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered / Flat rate by kW tier (flat rate for systems up to 15kW/kWth, then per-kW increment above that), subject to the AB 1414 statutory cap
Why the confidence is not higherSame fee resolution as Q15; structure (not necessarily current dollar amounts) should still be in effect since the city's fee page indicates the same Building Safety Division fee schedule format continues into FY2026-27.
fee resolution checked 2026-08-30 https://eservices.fairfield.ca.gov/WebLink/DocView.aspx?id=85225&dbid=0&repo=SharedDocs
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe fee schedule breaks out Plan Check and Inspection as separate line items within the flat-rate solar permit (e.g., roof-mount: $62.92 plan check + $102.69 inspection), so a plan-check component is charged distinctly even though it is bundled into one permit fee total.
fee resolution checked 2026-08-30 https://eservices.fairfield.ca.gov/WebLink/DocView.aspx?id=85225&dbid=0&repo=SharedDocs
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Same business day for over-the-counter applications; 1 to 3 business days for electronic applications (for expedited/SolarAPP+-eligible small residential rooftop solar)
Why the confidence is not higherDirect text of FMC §5.1.4.9(F)(2) (the local expedited-solar-permit ordinance, Ord. 2025-10): 'Once deemed complete, the building division shall issue a building permit ... on the same day for over-the-counter applications or within one to three business days for electronic applications.'
municipal code (expedited solar permit ordinance) checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/50424512
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
1 year from date of issuance, with up to two 1-year extensions available on written request (plus a possible one-time 90-day administrative extension if only the final inspection remains)
Why the confidence is not higherFMC §5.1.4.3, replacing CBC Section 105.5 (Expiration): permit 'shall expire and become null and void one year from the date of issuance,' with provisions for two additional one-year extensions and a 90-day administrative extension.
municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/50424512
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Fairfield BUILD (the city's online permitting portal, launched April 2025 to replace TRAKiT), combined with SolarAPP+ for eligible residential rooftop PV design review
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed directly on the city's own SolarAPP+ page and its 'Fairfield BUILD' announcement/portal page.
authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.fairfield.ca.gov/government/city-departments/community-development/building-safety/solar-app
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherEligible residential systems are designed/approved in SolarAPP+, then the permit itself is applied for, paid, and inspections scheduled entirely through the Fairfield BUILD portal — no in-person step is described for the eligible path (kiosks exist only as an alternative for those without home computer access).
authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.fairfield.ca.gov/government/city-departments/community-development/building-safety/solar-app
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E's own service-area page lists Fairfield under Solano County. Fairfield is also served by Marin Clean Energy (MCE) as a Community Choice Aggregator for generation only; the city's own MCE page states explicitly 'Does MCE Replace PG&E? No. PG&E continues to...' — i.e., PG&E remains the interconnecting/wires utility.
utility service-area page + authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/en/outages-safety/outage-preparedness-and-support/pge-service-area.html
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit (and after inspection) — city permit issuance does not itself authorize grid connection
Why the confidence is not higherFMC §5.1.4.9(F)(2): 'The issuance of said permit does not authorize an applicant to connect the small residential rooftop energy system to the local utility provider's electricity grid until inspected and authorization to do so has been granted by the chief building official or designee. The applicant is further responsible for obtaining such approval or permission to connect from the local utility provider.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/50424512
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedHomeowner Help & References page and the full FMC Chapter 5 administration/codes-adopted articles; no HOA or architectural-review requirement imposed by the city itself was found (any such requirement would come from a private HOA's own CC&Rs, which the city does not enforce as AHJ).
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFMC §5.2.13 'Historical Building Code adopted' exists as a chapter title but I did not open it to check for a solar-specific historic-district trigger.
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSearched FMC Chapter 5 (building code amendments) for wind/windstorm certification language; none found. California does not typically use a Florida/Texas-style windstorm certification regime, so this is likely a genuine 'No,' but I could not find an explicit city statement to that effect.
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page notes ground-mount/commercial/multi-family/addition projects are excluded from the automated path and go to Building Safety directly, but no mention of Specific Use Permit or City Council approval being required for any residential solar scenario was found.
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No hard cap on system size, but the expedited/SolarAPP+ streamlined process only applies to 'small residential rooftop solar energy systems' defined as no larger than 10 kW AC nameplate (or 30 kW thermal). Larger systems are still permittable, just outside the expedited path.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect definition in FMC §5.1.4.9(B): '"Small residential rooftop solar energy system" means ... no larger than 10 kilowatts alternating current nameplate rating or 30 [kW thermal] ...'
municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/50424512
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 90% · municipal code (code-adoption ordinance)
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2) 90% · municipal code
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code 82% · municipal code (secondary/indexed confirmation, primary chapter not directly opened)
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 90% · municipal code
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building Code, 2025 CEC (based on 2023 NEC), and manufacturer listing/UL certification and applicable NEC/CEC electrical safety and performance standards, per FMC §5.1.4.9(D). 80% · municipal code
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Fairfield on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown is required under the adopted 2023 NEC (via 2025 CEC), which mandates NEC 690.12 rapid shutdown for PV systems on buildings. 65% · inference from adopted code edition
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
Nothing recorded for City of Fairfield on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes (implied) 60% · municipal code (inference)
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes (treated distinctly/more restrictively than roof-mount) 65% · authority page + fee resolution
20 questions answered against City of Fairfield’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherFMC §5.2.6: 'Adopt the California Electrical Code (CEC), 2025 edition, based on the 2023 National Electrical Code as published by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) ... in the California Code of Regulations, title 24, part 3.'
municipal code (code-adoption ordinance) checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/50424515
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2)
Why the confidence is not higherFMC §5.1.2/§5.1.3 and §5.2.2: the city adopts 'the 2025 edition of the California Building Standards Code' and 'Chapter 1, division I and division II of the California Building Code (CBC), volume 1, 2025 edition' via Ord. 2025-10.
municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/50424512
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code
Why the confidence is not higherGoogle-indexed snippet of Fairfield's eCode360 Fire Prevention Code chapter states 'to the extent not inconsistent with the 2025 California Fire Code, Chapters 3, 5, 8, and...' and the Codes-Adopted chapter references 'Part 9, California Fire Code (as amended in chapter 8 of the city of Fairfield municipal code).' I was not able to open the Fire Prevention Code chapter itself to confirm directly (time-boxed), so this is sourced from the search index rather than the primary chapter page.
municipal code (secondary/indexed confirmation, primary chapter not directly opened) checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFairfield has extensive local amendments to the adopted state codes throughout FMC Chapter 5 (Administration and Codes Adopted articles), e.g., amended demolition/moved-building/permit-expiration rules, electrical code amendments (unsafe panels, temporary power), etc., all via Ord. 2025-10.
municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/50424512
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Building Code, 2025 CEC (based on 2023 NEC), and manufacturer listing/UL certification and applicable NEC/CEC electrical safety and performance standards, per FMC §5.1.4.9(D).
Why the confidence is not higherFMC §5.1.4.9(D): systems for producing electricity 'shall meet all applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/50424512
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFMC §5.2.7 (Electrical Code amended) subsections 5.2.7.1–5.2.7.3 (requirements for electrical installations, temporary power, unsafe panels) were read in full; none address service-upgrade sizing or busbar rules specific to solar/backfeed.
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Electrical/Building Code amendment sections; no specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing table found (likely governed by manufacturer engineering + CBC structural chapter generally, not a Fairfield-specific amendment).
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFire Prevention Code chapter (Fairfield Municipal Code, Fire Code chapter referencing the 2025 CFC) was identified via search index but not opened directly due to time; ridge setback/access pathway specifics were not retrieved.
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Rapid shutdown is required under the adopted 2023 NEC (via 2025 CEC), which mandates NEC 690.12 rapid shutdown for PV systems on buildings.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the city's adoption of the 2025 CEC based on the 2023 NEC (§5.2.6); I did not find a Fairfield-specific amendment to or restatement of NEC 690.12, so this is standard-code inference rather than a locally quoted rapid-shutdown clause.
inference from adopted code edition checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/50424515
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFire Code and Electrical Code amendment sections of FMC Chapter 5; no placard/signage requirement text located within the time available.
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as above; no city-specific placard wording found.
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as above; no letter-height/color/material specification found.
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as above; NEC 705.10 site-plan/facility-map placard requirement not confirmed against any local amendment.
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPG&E's own DG/Rule 21 interconnection and Greenbook documentation was not opened (out of scope of city-side research given time); no Fairfield city page cross-references utility placard specs.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame signage sections as above; no label-placement specification found.
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes (implied)
Why the confidence is not higherFMC §5.1.4.9(D)(3) requires solar electric systems to meet standards from 'accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories,' and the SolarAPP+ path itself only accepts NREL-vetted, code-compliant equipment configurations, implying a listed-equipment requirement, though no explicit 'approved equipment list' document was found.
municipal code (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/50424512
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFire Code chapter (2025 CFC, Chapter 8 of FMC) governs ESS/battery provisions per California's standard adoption, but the chapter was not opened directly; no Fairfield-specific battery amendment found.
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Fire Code chapter; ESS-specific permit/inspection requirement not confirmed.
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes (treated distinctly/more restrictively than roof-mount)
Why the confidence is not higherGround-mount systems are excluded from the automated SolarAPP+ instant-permit path and must be submitted directly to Building Safety Division rather than through the streamlined portal, and the FY21-22 fee schedule prices ground-mount systems higher than roof-mount with more required site visits (2.0 vs 1.0), consistent with structure-level review, though the ordinance never uses the word 'structure' explicitly for ground mounts.
authority page + fee resolution checked 2026-08-30 https://www.fairfield.ca.gov/government/city-departments/community-development/building-safety/solar-app
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPG&E Greenbook / DG interconnection manual not opened; no Fairfield-side document addressing AC disconnect placement relative to the meter was found.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal 90% · authority page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Yes — AM (8:00 AM–12:00 PM) or PM (12:00 PM–4:00 PM) preference can be requested, though not guaranteed 88% · authority page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 90% · authority page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For expedited-eligible small residential rooftop solar: only ONE inspection is required (a consolidated inspection by the building official and fire marshal where applicable). Non-eligible projects (ground-mount, commercial, additions, systems failing expedited criteria) follow the standard multi-stage building inspection process (rough/frame, final, etc.). 85% · municipal code
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 85% · municipal code
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- What must be on site at inspection? Approved plans and the inspection card must be made available at the time of inspection; failure to provide them may trigger a re-inspection fee. 75% · authority page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer 80% · municipal code
- How are corrections issued and cleared? For the expedited solar path: if an application is incomplete, the chief building official or designee must issue a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies, within 5 business days of the incomplete determination. 82% · municipal code
14 questions answered against City of Fairfield’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Inspections page: 'Please schedule your inspection by logging into your BUILD account.'
authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.fairfield.ca.gov/government/city-departments/community-development/building-safety/inspections
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspections page does not state a minimum notice period for scheduling (only booking method and AM/PM windows).
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Yes — AM (8:00 AM–12:00 PM) or PM (12:00 PM–4:00 PM) preference can be requested, though not guaranteed
Why the confidence is not higherDirect text from the Inspections page.
authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.fairfield.ca.gov/government/city-departments/community-development/building-safety/inspections
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Safety Division performs its own final solar inspection; other departments (Fire, Planning, Public Works) only get involved if their scope is triggered, and their sign-off must be obtained before the final building inspection is requested.
authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.fairfield.ca.gov/government/city-departments/community-development/building-safety/inspections
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Nothing published by this authority.
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For expedited-eligible small residential rooftop solar: only ONE inspection is required (a consolidated inspection by the building official and fire marshal where applicable). Non-eligible projects (ground-mount, commercial, additions, systems failing expedited criteria) follow the standard multi-stage building inspection process (rough/frame, final, etc.).
Why the confidence is not higherFMC §5.1.4.9(F)(3): 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by the building division for small residential rooftop solar systems eligible for expedited review. The inspection shall be done in a timely manner and may include a consolidated inspection by the building official and fire marshal (where applicable) ... If a small residential rooftop solar energy system fails inspection, a subsequent inspection is authorized.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/50424512
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame §5.1.4.9(F)(3) text establishing only one (final) inspection for eligible small residential rooftop PV — no separate rough-in/mid-roof inspection is required for that expedited category.
municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/50424512
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we looked§5.1.4.9(D) requires systems to meet UL/testing-lab standards, implying inspectors check listings, but no direct statement that the field inspector verifies labels/listings at inspection was found.
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspections and Plan Check Process pages describe procedures generally; no published solar-specific inspection checklist document was found or linked.
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Approved plans and the inspection card must be made available at the time of inspection; failure to provide them may trigger a re-inspection fee.
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral Building Safety Division inspection procedure stated on the Inspections page; not solar-specific but applies to all permitted work including solar.
authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.fairfield.ca.gov/government/city-departments/community-development/building-safety/inspections
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFY21-22 fee resolution (Resolution 2021-83) mentions flat-rate permits are 'subject to only State Fees and Technology Fees' and excluded from re-inspection fee waivers, implying a re-inspection fee schedule exists elsewhere in the same document, but I did not locate the specific dollar amount within the pages I reviewed.
https://eservices.fairfield.ca.gov/WebLink/DocView.aspx?id=85225&dbid=0&repo=SharedDocs
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
For the expedited solar path: if an application is incomplete, the chief building official or designee must issue a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies, within 5 business days of the incomplete determination.
Why the confidence is not higherFMC §5.1.4.9(F)(4): 'If the building official determines an application is incomplete, the chief building official or designee shall issue a written correction notice ... Said written correction notice shall be issued within five business days of the date of determination of an incomplete application.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/50424512
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspections and SolarAPP+ pages describe a pass/fail final inspection but do not name the specific document/tag issued (e.g., 'Final,' 'Green tag,' 'CO'); Certificate of Occupancy provisions exist in FMC §5.1.4.6 but are written for new structures/occupancy changes, not clearly tied to a solar retrofit permit close-out.
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer
Why the confidence is not higherFMC §5.1.4.9(F)(2): 'The applicant is further responsible for obtaining such approval or permission to connect from the local utility provider' — i.e., the installer/applicant, not the AHJ, deals with the utility for PTO/connection authorization.
municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/50424512
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Fairfield against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Fairfield is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
- Holds
- Both (Building and Electrical, issued as a single combined permit)
- Why not higher
- Fairfield's Building Safety Division (Community Development Dept.) issues building, electrical, mechanical and plumbing permits together as one permit for residential work per Fairfield Municipal Code §5.1.4.3 (Ord. 2025-10), which amends CBC §105.3.1.1(C): 'Where an application for a building permit includes electrical, mechanical, and or plumbing work, a single permit shall be issued for all work specified in the application ... except for commercial and industrial projects.' Fire (Fire Prevention Bureau) and Planning also review as applicable but Building Safety is the issuing AHJ. Representative address used: 1000 Webster St, Fairfield, CA 94533 (Building Safety Division / City Hall).
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- Roof-mount up to 15kW/kWth: $165.61 total (plan check $62.92 + inspection $102.69); Ground-mount up to 15kW/kWth: $299.76 total (plan check $94.38 + inspection $205.38);55%
- Plan review
- Same business day for over-the-counter applications; 1 to 3 business days for electronic applications (for expedited/SolarAPP+-eligible small residential rooftop solar)92%
- Portal
- Fairfield BUILD (the city's online permitting portal, launched April 2025 to replace TRAKiT), combined with SolarAPP+ for eligible residential rooftop PV design review95%
- Electrical code
- 202390%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal90%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.