City of Ferndale
Humboldt County
City of Ferndale is a city authority in the State of California, serving 1,398 residents. 70 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — 1 to 6 weeks (generic; no expedited/ministerial timeline exists for small residential solar) Q18 Where you file — None — Ferndale has no online permitting portal of any kind. All applications ('Building Permit Application', 'Use Permit', 'Design Review Use Permit', Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- Only the electrical-side fee is determinable: $35.00 electrical permit issuance fee + a dedicated 'PHOTOVOLTAIC SYSTEM' line at $24.00 = $59.00.50% source
- Plan review turnaround
- 1 to 6 weeks (generic; no expedited/ministerial timeline exists for small residential solar)75% source
- Key document
- municipal ordinance (absence inferred) cited by 5 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 90% · municipal ordinance
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 85% · municipal ordinance
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · published permit guide
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 88% · department handout
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 55% · municipal code (absence proven corpus-wide)
- Is there a historic-district review? Yes 95% · municipal code
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 55% · municipal ordinance (absence inferred)
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? A discretionary body decision is effectively always required for any solar install that is externally visible, but it runs through the 'Design Review Use Permit' process (Planning Commission's Design Review Committee, escalable to full Planning Commission and then City Council on appeal), NOT through the separate 'Use Permit'/Conditional Use Permit process under Zoning Ordinance Article X — solar is not listed as a use requiring a Use Permit in any zone. If the Design Review Committee denies an application, the applicant may appeal to the Planning Commission, then to City Council. 68% · department handout + municipal code
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No system-size cap found 72% · municipal code (absence proven corpus-wide)
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 82% · permit application form
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 62% · municipal ordinance
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 88% · municipal ordinance
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Per the 'BUILDING PERMIT APPLICATION PROCESS' handout's own 'SUBMITTAL REQUIREMENTS' list: (1) signed Building Permit Application, (2) signed Corrections/Letter of Permission, (3) signed Construction Plan Checklist, (4) Plot Plan Checklist, (5) Legal Description of parcel, (6) plans/specs/engineering calcs/certifications required by the Building Official, (7) School Facilities Fee Compliance Form, plus (8) as applicable: Title 24 energy-compliance documentation, soils/geology report, and grading/drainage plan. There is no PV-specific submittal checklist anywhere on the city's site — this is the generic building-permit package. 70% · department handout
- How many copies, and in what format? 3 sets of construction plans (bldg/foundation/floor/framing/electrical layout etc.) + 1 extra floor plan (for the County Assessor) submitted at the Building Permit Application stage; separately, 4 copies of the Plot Plan (drawn in ink, on paper no smaller than 8.5"x11") per the Plot Plan Checklist. 82% · published checklist
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — the Plot Plan Checklist requires: APN/owner info, north arrow and scale, property lines and dimensions, location/size of all existing and proposed buildings, distances between buildings and from property lines (setbacks), abutting street names/widths, easements, drainage courses, trees to be removed, on-site water source, driveway/parking, slope direction, and projections (porches, overhangs). 85% · published checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? None — Ferndale has no online permitting portal of any kind. All applications ('Building Permit Application', 'Use Permit', 'Design Review Use Permit', etc.) are filed on paper at the office of the City Clerk, City Hall, 834 Main Street / P.O. Box 1095, Ferndale, CA 95536. 82% · department page (absence proven corpus-wide)
- Can the whole application be completed online? No 88% · department page (absence proven corpus-wide)
- What does a residential solar permit cost? Only the electrical-side fee is determinable: $35.00 electrical permit issuance fee + a dedicated 'PHOTOVOLTAIC SYSTEM' line at $24.00 = $59.00. The valuation-based BUILDING permit fee (typically the larger component) could not be determined: the FY2025-26 Fee Schedule's own Table of Contents promises items '8. Valuation Table' (p.10) and '9. Fees Based on Valuation' (p.11), but the actual 16-page PDF has no such table — it jumps straight from Demolition (Building Fee Schedule item 7) to the Development Fee Schedule, confirmed by extracting every page 1-16 with pdftotext. 50% · published fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Valuation (Building fee) + Flat (Electrical PV line item) 60% · municipal ordinance + fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 85% · department handout
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 1 to 6 weeks (generic; no expedited/ministerial timeline exists for small residential solar) 75% · department handout
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Work must commence within 60 days of permit issuance; plans must be retrieved within 180 days of approval; if work stops for 180+ days a one-time extension may be requested; if work stops within one year of issuance, renewal is at half the original Building Permit fee cost. 70% · permit application form
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) 85% · department page
28 questions answered against City of Ferndale’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Ferndale operates its own Building Division (via contracted Building Official Arnie Kemp) issuing building/electrical/plumbing/mechanical permits under its own Construction Code Ordinance 2011-01; nothing points to Humboldt County holding jurisdiction inside city limits.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/law-11-01.pdf
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 2011-01 §6.03 vests the city's Building Official with authority over building, electrical, plumbing, mechanical, signs AND solar systems; the city's own Building Permit Application form (dated 12/08 on its face, still the live linked document) has one combined form covering Building/Plumbing/Electrical/Mechanical fee columns. No functions are delegated to the county; individual staff functions are privately contracted (see jurisdiction.delegated_to) but legal authority stays with the City.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/law-11-01.pdf
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higher"DO I NEED A PERMIT IN THE CITY OF FERNDALE?" handout states a building/electrical permit is required for any regulated building/structure or electrical system; Ordinance 2011-01 §6.03 explicitly lists 'solar systems' within the scope of what its adopted construction codes regulate; the current Fee Schedule carries a dedicated 'PHOTOVOLTAIC SYSTEM' electrical fee line, confirming permits are actually issued for PV.
published permit guide checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/permits/need-permit.pdf
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higher"BUILDING PERMIT APPLICATION PROCESS" handout states verbatim: 'One application will cover building, electrical, plumbing and mechanical work. Fees for each permit category will be collected in accordance with the Uniform Administrative Code.' The single Building Permit Application form has separate fee columns per trade but is one filing.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp-content/uploads/BUILDING-Permit-Process.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permit Application form has a 'CONTRACTOR' block with a California Contractor License No. field AND an explicit self-declaration path ('OR, I AM UNLICENSED AND CLAIM EXEMPTION BY VIRTUE OF SECTIONS 7040 THROUGH 7053 OF THE BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE'); Ordinance 2011-01 Article 8 separately states 'Nothing in this ordinance shall be construed as prohibiting any person from doing his own work.'
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/permits/building-permit-application.pdf
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBusiness Ordinance 06-01 §5.01.1: 'No business may be conducted within the city without a business license'; the Fee Schedule carries a distinct 'Non-Resident Businesses' license category, implying out-of-town contractors are expected to license. This is a general city business-license law, not a solar-specific contractor registry, and I did not confirm it is checked as a gate at building-permit intake.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/Business-Ordinance.pdf
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 2011-01, Article 8 ('Person May Do Own Work'), §8.01: 'Nothing in this ordinance shall be construed as prohibiting any person from doing his own work... unless otherwise prohibited by law.' The permit application form itself offers an 'OWNER' applicant-type box distinct from CONTRACTOR.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/law-11-01.pdf
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Per the 'BUILDING PERMIT APPLICATION PROCESS' handout's own 'SUBMITTAL REQUIREMENTS' list: (1) signed Building Permit Application, (2) signed Corrections/Letter of Permission, (3) signed Construction Plan Checklist, (4) Plot Plan Checklist, (5) Legal Description of parcel, (6) plans/specs/engineering calcs/certifications required by the Building Official, (7) School Facilities Fee Compliance Form, plus (8) as applicable: Title 24 energy-compliance documentation, soils/geology report, and grading/drainage plan. There is no PV-specific submittal checklist anywhere on the city's site — this is the generic building-permit package.
Why the confidence is not higherFirst-party, but this is the city's one generic building-permit checklist, not a solar-tailored one (confirmed by a corpus-wide search: no document titled or containing a dedicated solar/PV submittal checklist exists on the city's site).
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp-content/uploads/BUILDING-Permit-Process.pdf
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
3 sets of construction plans (bldg/foundation/floor/framing/electrical layout etc.) + 1 extra floor plan (for the County Assessor) submitted at the Building Permit Application stage; separately, 4 copies of the Plot Plan (drawn in ink, on paper no smaller than 8.5"x11") per the Plot Plan Checklist.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the city's own 'Construction Plan Checklist' and 'Plot Plan Checklist' pages (both part of the Building Permit Application - Signature Sheets packet). Neither document is dated, and both reference 'UBC Section 107' — a pre-2007 code citation — so these are old templates still linked as the live, current handout.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/permits/building-signatures.pdf
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — the Plot Plan Checklist requires: APN/owner info, north arrow and scale, property lines and dimensions, location/size of all existing and proposed buildings, distances between buildings and from property lines (setbacks), abutting street names/widths, easements, drainage courses, trees to be removed, on-site water source, driveway/parking, slope direction, and projections (porches, overhangs).
Why the confidence is not higherExtracted directly (pdftotext -layout, not summarized) from the city's own Plot Plan Checklist page.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/permits/building-signatures.pdf
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCorpus-wide grep (all downloaded Ferndale PDFs concatenated) for 'one line', 'single line', 'three line', and the Construction Plan Checklist / Building Permit Process handout's own submittal-item lists — none mentions a one-line or three-line electrical diagram requirement. Positive control 'electrical' returned 63 hits and fabricated control 'zzqqx' returned 0 in the same corpus, so the search itself is sound.
https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/permits/building-signatures.pdf
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame corpus-wide grep as Q11 for 'string calc', 'conductor size', 'voltage drop', 'short circuit' — zero hits anywhere in Ferndale's published documents.
https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/permits/building-signatures.pdf
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedConstruction Plan Checklist and Building Permit Process handout — both require a 'wet signature and stamp' when a structural engineer is used, but neither states a valuation, weight, span or size threshold that triggers mandatory structural PE involvement; it is left to the Building Official's discretion ('If your project requires...').
https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp-content/uploads/BUILDING-Permit-Process.pdf
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame documents as Q13, plus Ordinance 2011-01's electrical-code adoption clause (§6.01.1(d)) — no electrical PE-stamp threshold is stated anywhere.
https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp-content/uploads/BUILDING-Permit-Process.pdf
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Only the electrical-side fee is determinable: $35.00 electrical permit issuance fee + a dedicated 'PHOTOVOLTAIC SYSTEM' line at $24.00 = $59.00. The valuation-based BUILDING permit fee (typically the larger component) could not be determined: the FY2025-26 Fee Schedule's own Table of Contents promises items '8. Valuation Table' (p.10) and '9. Fees Based on Valuation' (p.11), but the actual 16-page PDF has no such table — it jumps straight from Demolition (Building Fee Schedule item 7) to the Development Fee Schedule, confirmed by extracting every page 1-16 with pdftotext.
Why the confidence is not higherThe $59 figure is dated and first-party (Fee Schedule adopted by Resolution 2025-11, 06/18/2025), but it is genuinely incomplete because the document that would price the building-permit component is missing from the PDF itself — a document defect, not a retrieval failure on my part (I extracted all 16 pages directly).
published fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp-content/uploads/FY-2025-26-Fees-Fines-Schedule.pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Valuation (Building fee) + Flat (Electrical PV line item)
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 2011-01 §7.03 sets the Building Permit fee using the ICBO/IBC Valuation Data Table (valuation-based), while the Fee Schedule's Electrical Permit section prices the 'PHOTOVOLTAIC SYSTEM' line as a flat $24.00 add-on. It is a mixed basis, not a single one.
municipal ordinance + fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/law-11-01.pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higher'A plan check fee as determined by the most current adopted edition of the Uniform Administrative Code will be charged in addition to a permit fee. A percentage of the plan check fee will be paid as a deposit...' (BUILDING-Permit-Process.pdf); the Plan Check/Building Permit Fees signature sheet confirms the deposit is 'approximately 50% of the estimated fee.'
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp-content/uploads/BUILDING-Permit-Process.pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
1 to 6 weeks (generic; no expedited/ministerial timeline exists for small residential solar)
Why the confidence is not higher'The building plan review process by the Plan Checker may require from 1 to 6 weeks, depending upon the completeness and usability of information submitted... and the complexity of the intended building.' This is the city's one stated review timeline for all building permits — there is no separate, faster AB 2188-style figure because no such ordinance exists here (see jurisdiction.overridden_by).
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp-content/uploads/BUILDING-Permit-Process.pdf
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Work must commence within 60 days of permit issuance; plans must be retrieved within 180 days of approval; if work stops for 180+ days a one-time extension may be requested; if work stops within one year of issuance, renewal is at half the original Building Permit fee cost.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the reverse of the city's own Building Permit Application form. This tracks the CBC/IBC §105.5 default 180-day-inactivity rule that the city's adopted 2019 CBC (via Ordinance 2011-01) does not amend, but the application form itself is undated on its face aside from a '12/08' print stamp, so I am treating it as the current operative rule rather than a stale one because nothing supersedes it and it is the only figure the city publishes.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/permits/building-permit-application.pdf
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
None — Ferndale has no online permitting portal of any kind. All applications ('Building Permit Application', 'Use Permit', 'Design Review Use Permit', etc.) are filed on paper at the office of the City Clerk, City Hall, 834 Main Street / P.O. Box 1095, Ferndale, CA 95536.
Why the confidence is not higherCorpus-wide search of every PDF and page fetched from ci.ferndale.ca.us for 'portal', 'Accela', 'eTRAKiT', 'SmartGov', 'online' and 'SolarAPP' returned zero relevant hits (control-checked against terms like 'electrical' and 'disconnect' that DO return many hits, proving the search works); every process document instructs applicants to file 'at the office of the City Clerk.'
department page (absence proven corpus-wide) checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/documents/permits/
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
No
Why the confidence is not higherDirect consequence of Q20: there is no portal to complete an application online; every submittal path found is in-person or mail.
department page (absence proven corpus-wide) checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/documents/permits/
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own 'Info for Residents' utility list states plainly: 'Electricity and Gas: Pacific Gas & Electric Company, (800)743-5000, www.pge.com.' Sourced from the authority's own page, not from a third-party utility lookup tool, per the brief's instruction.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/documents/info-for-residents/
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building Permit Process handout, Info for Residents page, and Building Permit Application form — none states where PG&E's interconnection process falls relative to the city's permit sequence. I did not fetch PG&E's own Rule 21 / Distributed Generation interconnection handbook this run, so this is a genuine gap rather than a proven citywide absence.
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo Ferndale ordinance, permit form, or handout mentions an HOA/CC&R approval requirement anywhere (corpus-wide search for 'homeowners', 'HOA', 'covenant', 'CC&R' returned only unrelated ADU deed-covenant and vacation-rental hits). This is a genuine absence, but a low-moderate confidence one because it rests on silence rather than an explicit disclaimer clause.
municipal code (absence proven corpus-wide) checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/Zoning%20Ordinance.pdf
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherZoning Ordinance §6.05.2: 'Before any sign, structure or building may be erected, structurally altered, or in any way remodeled or improved so as to change the outward appearance... a Design Review Permit shall be obtained.' §3.74 defines 'solar panels' explicitly as a type of 'Structure.' The city's own Design Review/Historic District brochure confirms the whole city is State Historic Landmark No. 883 (1975), and Main Street is separately a National Register Historic District (1994). No solar exemption exists anywhere in the Zoning Ordinance or in Sign Ordinance 2013-02, the only document §6.05.2 allows to exempt anything.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/Zoning%20Ordinance.pdf
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo Ferndale document mentions a windstorm certification program; California does not run a TDI-style windstorm-certificate system. Confidence is not higher because I did not find an explicit statement disclaiming one.
municipal ordinance (absence inferred) checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/law-11-01.pdf
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
A discretionary body decision is effectively always required for any solar install that is externally visible, but it runs through the 'Design Review Use Permit' process (Planning Commission's Design Review Committee, escalable to full Planning Commission and then City Council on appeal), NOT through the separate 'Use Permit'/Conditional Use Permit process under Zoning Ordinance Article X — solar is not listed as a use requiring a Use Permit in any zone. If the Design Review Committee denies an application, the applicant may appeal to the Planning Commission, then to City Council.
Why the confidence is not higherDesign Review Use Permit process document and Zoning Ordinance §6.05 read in full; 'solar' never appears in Article V (Principal Zone use tables), only in the §3.74 Structure definition, so I am confident no separate Use Permit/CUP is triggered by solar as a land use, distinct from the near-universal Design Review requirement.
department handout + municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/permits/design-review-use-permit.pdf
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No system-size cap found
Why the confidence is not higherZoning Ordinance has no chapter analogous to a small-residential-rooftop-solar size threshold (no AB 2188-style 10kW AC/30kW-thermal figure or any other kW ceiling anywhere in the code); the only 'kW'/'kVA' hits in the entire corpus are generic electrical-fee unit categories, unrelated to a use/zoning cap.
municipal code (absence proven corpus-wide) checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/Zoning%20Ordinance.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2017 88% · municipal ordinance (code-adoption chapter)
- Which building code edition is in force? 2019 California Building Code / 2019 California Residential Code (based on the 2018 IBC/IRC) 88% · municipal ordinance (code-adoption chapter)
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2019 California Fire Code (based on the 2018 IFC) 85% · municipal ordinance (code-adoption chapter)
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 75% · municipal ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The 2019 CBC/CRC/CEC/CMC/CPC/CFC/CGBSC as adopted by Ordinance 2011-01 (as amended through Dec 2020), unamended for solar specifically — installations are judged against the state model codes as adopted, not a Ferndale-specific solar standard. 78% · municipal ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Ferndale on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, by operation of the adopted code, not by any Ferndale-authored text — the 2019 CEC (based on 2017 NEC) already contains the full NEC §690.12 rapid-shutdown mandate, and Ferndale adopts that code edition wholesale (Ordinance 2011-01) without a local carve-out or restatement. 60% · municipal ordinance (inference from adopted code edition)
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? None specified locally — Ferndale publishes no placard/labeling requirement of its own for solar service equipment; whatever the state-adopted 2019 CEC/CFC require by reference applies without local addition. 68% · municipal code (absence proven corpus-wide)
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 75% · municipal code (absence proven corpus-wide)
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No 75% · municipal code (absence proven corpus-wide)
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? No dedicated facility-map placard requirement found in any Ferndale document; the Plot Plan Checklist requires equipment/building locations on a site plan for the permit file, but nothing addressing a posted facility map at the service equipment (NEC 705.10-style). 62% · published checklist (absence inferred)
- Where must the labels be placed? Not specified by the city — no Ferndale document states a label-placement location for solar/electrical equipment; this would default entirely to the state-adopted 2019 CEC/CFC as unamended. 60% · municipal ordinance (absence proven corpus-wide)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? No Ferndale-specific battery/ESS conditions found; batteries are regulated only by whatever the state-adopted 2019 CFC/CEC/CRC require as unamended — Ferndale has zero local text on batteries or energy storage anywhere in its ordinances, permit handouts, or fee schedule. 65% · municipal ordinance (absence proven corpus-wide)
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No — no separate ESS permit or fee line exists; the Fee Schedule's Electrical Permit section has only a single 'PHOTOVOLTAIC SYSTEM' line ($24) and no battery/ESS line at all. 65% · published fee schedule (absence proven)
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes 82% · municipal code
20 questions answered against City of Ferndale’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2017
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 2011-01 §6.01.1(d), as last amended by Ordinance 2020-02 (through Dec 17, 2020 amendment history): '2019 California Electrical Code (Part 3 of Title 24). Based on the 2017 National Electrical Code (NEC).' No newer code-adoption ordinance was found — this is the most current adoption on record.
municipal ordinance (code-adoption chapter) checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/law-11-01.pdf
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2019 California Building Code / 2019 California Residential Code (based on the 2018 IBC/IRC)
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 2011-01 §6.01.1(b)-(c), as amended through Dec 17, 2020. This is genuinely stale relative to the current 2025 statewide code cycle (2024 IBC/IRC base) — no ordinance updating Ferndale past the 2019 cycle was found anywhere in its published law library.
municipal ordinance (code-adoption chapter) checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/law-11-01.pdf
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2019 California Fire Code (based on the 2018 IFC)
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 2011-01 §6.01.1(h). No separate fire-code-specific amendment ordinance or fire-marshal-issued update was found; the Ferndale Volunteer Fire Department's own site publishes nothing about a fire code edition.
municipal ordinance (code-adoption chapter) checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/law-11-01.pdf
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherLocal amendments exist but are not solar-specific: e.g. §7.04 requires a separate front-yard fence permit under Zoning Ordinance cross-reference; §6.04 preserves the city's authority to adopt more-restrictive standards under Gov. Code §17958.7; the Design Control Combining (-D) Zone (Zoning Ord. §6.05) is itself a local overlay affecting construction review. No amendment specific to PV/electrical/fire for solar was found.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/law-11-01.pdf
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2019 CBC/CRC/CEC/CMC/CPC/CFC/CGBSC as adopted by Ordinance 2011-01 (as amended through Dec 2020), unamended for solar specifically — installations are judged against the state model codes as adopted, not a Ferndale-specific solar standard.
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 2011-01 §6.01/6.03 is the operative adoption clause; no PV-specific local standard exists (control-proven absence of 'solar' anywhere else in the code corpus beyond the Structure definition and this ordinance's enumeration clause).
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/law-11-01.pdf
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedOrdinance 2011-01's electrical-code adoption clause (§6.01.1(d)) and the full Electrical Permit fee section of the FY2025-26 Fee Schedule — no local amendment addressing service-upgrade sizing or busbar rules was found; only generic 'Services and Panel Boards' fee lines by ampere rating exist, with no accompanying technical rule.
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedZoning Ordinance (full text, including §3.74 Structure definition and Article 7 General Provisions) and Ordinance 2011-01 — neither specifies a mounting system, attachment spacing, or bolt/lag pattern for solar; this is left to the state-adopted 2019 CRC/CBC as unamended.
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedOrdinance 2011-01's fire-code adoption clause (§6.01.1(h), 2019 CFC) and the Ferndale Volunteer Fire Department's own site (ferndalefire.org) — no ridge-setback or fire-access-pathway amendment for PV was found in either; FVFD's site publishes only general fire-safety/burn-permit information, nothing about PV plan review.
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, by operation of the adopted code, not by any Ferndale-authored text — the 2019 CEC (based on 2017 NEC) already contains the full NEC §690.12 rapid-shutdown mandate, and Ferndale adopts that code edition wholesale (Ordinance 2011-01) without a local carve-out or restatement.
Why the confidence is not higherNo Ferndale document — the Construction Code Ordinance, the Building Permit Process handout, or any fee schedule — uses the words 'rapid shutdown' or cites '690.12' anywhere (control-proven, zero hits corpus-wide). The requirement therefore exists only by legal operation of the adopted 2017 NEC edition, not by any local statement of it.
municipal ordinance (inference from adopted code edition) checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/law-11-01.pdf
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
None specified locally — Ferndale publishes no placard/labeling requirement of its own for solar service equipment; whatever the state-adopted 2019 CEC/CFC require by reference applies without local addition.
Why the confidence is not higherCorpus-wide search (Zoning Ordinance, Sign Ordinance, Construction Code Ordinance, all permit handouts, Fee Schedule, FVFD's site) for 'placard', 'disconnect' (in an electrical-labeling sense), 'label', 'marking' found nothing beyond the Sign Ordinance's unrelated advertising-sign definitions. Positive control ('electrical', 63 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) both behaved as expected.
municipal code (absence proven corpus-wide) checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/2013-02%20Sign%20Ordinance.pdf
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame corpus-wide search as Q38: the only document with 'sign' in its remit (Ordinance 2013-02) regulates advertising/business signage, not NEC service-equipment placards, and never mentions solar or PV at all.
municipal code (absence proven corpus-wide) checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/2013-02%20Sign%20Ordinance.pdf
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame corpus-wide search as Q38/Q39 — no letter-height, color, or material specification for solar/electrical labeling exists in any Ferndale document.
municipal code (absence proven corpus-wide) checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/2013-02%20Sign%20Ordinance.pdf
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No dedicated facility-map placard requirement found in any Ferndale document; the Plot Plan Checklist requires equipment/building locations on a site plan for the permit file, but nothing addressing a posted facility map at the service equipment (NEC 705.10-style).
Why the confidence is not higherReviewed the Plot Plan Checklist, Construction Code Ordinance, and Sign Ordinance; none mentions a facility/site map placard requirement.
published checklist (absence inferred) checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/permits/building-signatures.pdf
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's own Info for Residents page names PG&E as the electric utility, but I did not fetch PG&E's own Distributed Generation / Rule 21 interconnection manual this run to check for utility-specified placards beyond the AHJ's — that document sits at the utility level, out of what the City of Ferndale itself publishes.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified by the city — no Ferndale document states a label-placement location for solar/electrical equipment; this would default entirely to the state-adopted 2019 CEC/CFC as unamended.
Why the confidence is not higherSame corpus-wide absence as Q38-Q41.
municipal ordinance (absence proven corpus-wide) checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/law-11-01.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedOrdinance 2011-01 and the full Fee Schedule — neither states an explicit 'approved equipment list' requirement for solar equipment (e.g., a CEC-approved-equipment-list citation); compliance with UL/NEC listing is implied by adoption of the 2019 CEC but not stated as a distinct local requirement.
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
No Ferndale-specific battery/ESS conditions found; batteries are regulated only by whatever the state-adopted 2019 CFC/CEC/CRC require as unamended — Ferndale has zero local text on batteries or energy storage anywhere in its ordinances, permit handouts, or fee schedule.
Why the confidence is not higherCorpus-wide search for 'battery' and 'energy storage' across every fetched Ferndale document returned zero on-topic hits, control-checked against the same corpus's 63 hits for 'electrical'.
municipal ordinance (absence proven corpus-wide) checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/law-11-01.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No — no separate ESS permit or fee line exists; the Fee Schedule's Electrical Permit section has only a single 'PHOTOVOLTAIC SYSTEM' line ($24) and no battery/ESS line at all.
Why the confidence is not higherFY2025-26 Fee Schedule, Electrical Permit section, read in full — no battery/ESS entry anywhere alongside the Mechanical/Plumbing/Electrical/Grading/Elevator/Demolition categories.
published fee schedule (absence proven) checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp-content/uploads/FY-2025-26-Fees-Fines-Schedule.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherZoning Ordinance §3.74 ('Structure') explicitly lists 'solar panels' among items 'constructed, the use of which requires permanent location on the ground, or attachment to something having a permanent location on the ground' — i.e., a ground-mounted solar array is, by the code's own definition, a Structure, subject to the same setback/height/permit regulations as any other structure.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp/laws/Zoning%20Ordinance.pdf
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Info for Residents page and Building Permit Process handout — neither states an AC-disconnect-to-meter placement rule; this is a PG&E service-equipment/Rule 21 requirement I did not fetch this run.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone or in-person via the City Clerk's office (no online booking exists — see Q20) 75% · department handout
- How much notice is required? 24 hours 85% · department handout
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 72% · department directory + municipal ordinance
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? No solar-specific inspection sequence exists. The city's generic new-construction sequence is: pre-construction site review -> foundation/utility rough-in prior to pour -> setbacks/excavation/fill -> concrete pours -> under-floor rough-in -> framing -> rough-in plumbing and electrical -> exterior -> insulation -> pre-seal for finish -> final. For a PV retrofit, only the rough-in-electrical and final stages would typically apply, but no Ferndale document says so explicitly. 50% · department handout (inference)
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Likely yes for the rough-in electrical stage on a new PV circuit, since Ferndale has no codified single-inspection exception for small residential solar (unlike cities that have adopted an AB 2188 ordinance) — but no document states this for solar specifically. 50% · department handout (inference)
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes, in the general sense — the 'BUILDING PERMIT APPLICATION PROCESS' handout publishes a full 'INSPECTION PROCESS' section listing every construction inspection stage — but there is no solar-specific inspection checklist. 65% · department handout
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $75.00 (base Re-Inspection Fee; escalates to actual hourly cost to the jurisdiction if greater) 90% · published fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? For plan-review deficiencies: the Plan Checker prepares a written 'plans correction sheet'; deficiencies must be corrected and plans resubmitted before permit issuance. For failed field inspections: 'A re-inspection fee will be collected when additional inspections are required due to incomplete work, work which is covered prior to inspection..., work requiring correction and re-inspection, and other similar situations' — no further formal correction-notice procedure is described. 65% · department handout
14 questions answered against City of Ferndale’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone or in-person via the City Clerk's office (no online booking exists — see Q20)
Why the confidence is not higher'The applicant is responsible for requesting all building inspections. Such request must be made to the City Clerk at [least] 24 hours in advance of the intended inspection.' No portal exists to book online.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp-content/uploads/BUILDING-Permit-Process.pdf
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
24 hours
Why the confidence is not higher'Such request must be made to the City Clerk at [least] 24 hours in advance of the intended inspection.'
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp-content/uploads/BUILDING-Permit-Process.pdf
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Application Process handout's 'INSPECTION PROCESS' section — states only the 24-hour advance-notice requirement, with no mention of same-day booking or AM/PM inspection windows either way.
https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp-content/uploads/BUILDING-Permit-Process.pdf
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city performs its own inspections through its contracted Building Official (Arnie Kemp) rather than delegating to Humboldt County or any other AHJ; Ordinance 2011-01 §5.01/§5.03 vests inspection authority in 'the Building Official.' Flagged at moderate-high rather than top confidence because the inspector is a private contractor, not a city employee.
department directory + municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/departments/directory/
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedN/A — not applicable. Inspections are performed by the city's own (contracted) Building Official, not delegated to another AHJ such as Humboldt County; see jurisdiction.holds/delegated_to for the distinction between a private staffing contract and true delegation to another government.
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
No solar-specific inspection sequence exists. The city's generic new-construction sequence is: pre-construction site review -> foundation/utility rough-in prior to pour -> setbacks/excavation/fill -> concrete pours -> under-floor rough-in -> framing -> rough-in plumbing and electrical -> exterior -> insulation -> pre-seal for finish -> final. For a PV retrofit, only the rough-in-electrical and final stages would typically apply, but no Ferndale document says so explicitly.
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the generic 'INSPECTION PROCESS' list from the Building Permit Application Process handout, not a solar-tailored sequence — I am inferring which stages would practically apply to a roof-mount PV retrofit rather than reading it stated outright.
department handout (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp-content/uploads/BUILDING-Permit-Process.pdf
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Likely yes for the rough-in electrical stage on a new PV circuit, since Ferndale has no codified single-inspection exception for small residential solar (unlike cities that have adopted an AB 2188 ordinance) — but no document states this for solar specifically.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the absence of any Ferndale small-residential-solar streamlining chapter (see jurisdiction.overridden_by) combined with the generic inspection sequence in Q54 including 'Rough-in plumbing and electrical' for new construction.
department handout (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp-content/uploads/BUILDING-Permit-Process.pdf
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Application Process handout's INSPECTION PROCESS section — describes stages of inspection but never explicitly states that the inspector checks equipment labels or listings as a discrete step.
https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp-content/uploads/BUILDING-Permit-Process.pdf
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes, in the general sense — the 'BUILDING PERMIT APPLICATION PROCESS' handout publishes a full 'INSPECTION PROCESS' section listing every construction inspection stage — but there is no solar-specific inspection checklist.
Why the confidence is not higherThe general document is real and current; a dedicated PV checklist does not exist anywhere on the city's site (confirmed by reviewing every linked permit PDF).
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp-content/uploads/BUILDING-Permit-Process.pdf
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Application Process handout — describes the inspection request process (24-hour notice) but never lists what documents (approved plans, permit card, etc.) must physically be on site at the time of inspection.
https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp-content/uploads/BUILDING-Permit-Process.pdf
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$75.00 (base Re-Inspection Fee; escalates to actual hourly cost to the jurisdiction if greater)
Why the confidence is not higherFY2025-26 Fee Schedule, 'Other Inspection Fees on Mechanical, Plumbing, Electrical, and Grading' section: 'Re Inspection Fee* $75.00 ... *Or the total hourly cost to the jurisdiction, whichever is greater.'
published fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp-content/uploads/FY-2025-26-Fees-Fines-Schedule.pdf
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
For plan-review deficiencies: the Plan Checker prepares a written 'plans correction sheet'; deficiencies must be corrected and plans resubmitted before permit issuance. For failed field inspections: 'A re-inspection fee will be collected when additional inspections are required due to incomplete work, work which is covered prior to inspection..., work requiring correction and re-inspection, and other similar situations' — no further formal correction-notice procedure is described.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth statements are quoted directly from the city's own Building Permit Application Process handout; no field-specific correction-notice form or procedure beyond the re-inspection fee was found.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp-content/uploads/BUILDING-Permit-Process.pdf
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Application Process handout and Fee Schedule — the handout describes a pass/fail 'Final' inspection step for new construction but never names the specific document/tag issued on passing (Certificate of Occupancy, Final, Green Tag, or Letter) for a residential retrofit like solar.
https://ci.ferndale.ca.us/wp-content/uploads/BUILDING-Permit-Process.pdf
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAll fetched city documents (Building Permit Process, Info for Residents, permit application forms) — none states who is responsible for submitting interconnection completion paperwork to PG&E for Permission to Operate; this is typically a PG&E-side/installer process I did not verify with PG&E this run.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Ferndale against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Ferndale is the authority having jurisdiction 88% confidence
- Holds
- Building, Electrical, Plumbing and Mechanical (issued as one combined 'Building Permit') plus, separately, discretionary Design Review over exterior appearance held by the Planning Commission's Design Review Committee — and Zoning Ordinance §3.74 explicitly defines 'solar panels' as a type of 'Structure', so that overlapping discretionary jurisdiction genuinely applies to PV.
- Delegated to
- Plan-check/inspection functions are individually CONTRACTED, not delegated to Humboldt County: the city's own Directory page lists 'Contracted Staff' — Building Official Arnie Kemp, City Planner Michelle Nielsen (Plan West), City Engineer Brian Ontiveros (Ontiveros & Associates), City Attorney Ryan Plotz. Legal jurisdiction stays with the City. Fire suppression is separately provided by the Ferndale Volunteer Fire Department (a volunteer department, not a special district) — it appears only as a generic 'FIRE DEPT.' special-approval checkbox on the Building Permit Application form, and no dedicated PV/ESS fire fee or fire-code amendment for solar was found anywhere, including on FVFD's own site.
- Overridden by
- An unresolved conflict, not a hypothetical one: CA Gov. Code §65850.5/.52/.55 (AB 2188/SB 379) requires ministerial, expedited review for small residential rooftop solar statewide, but Ferndale has not codified any such process anywhere in its published code corpus (zero hits for '65850.5', 'AB 2188', 'SolarAPP', 'expedited', or 'ministerial' solar language, control-proven against a corpus where 'electrical' returns 63 hits and a fabricated term returns zero). Independently, Zoning Ordinance §6.05.2 requires a discretionary Design Review Permit from the Design Review Committee before any 'sign, structure, or building' is erected or altered so as to change outward appearance within the City's Design Control Combining (-D) overlay, and §3.74 names 'solar panels' as a 'Structure' — with no solar exemption anywhere in the Zoning Ordinance or in Sign Ordinance 2013-02 (the only document §6.05.2 says can exempt it; control-proven zero 'solar'/'photovoltaic' hits there). Ferndale's entire built city was designated California State Historic Landmark No. 883 in 1975, so this is a live, city-wide constraint.
- Why not higher
- First-party sourcing: Ordinance 2011-01 (Building Inspector/Construction Code Ordinance) creates the city's own Building Official function and explicitly brings 'solar systems' within its adopted-code scope (§5.01, §6.03); the city's own Directory page names the contracted title-holders; Zoning Ordinance 02-02 §6.05/§3.74 and Sign Ordinance 2013-02 were read in full and grepped for 'solar'/'photovoltaic'/'AB 2188'/'65850' with a fabricated-term control. Not higher because the exact boundary of the -D Design Control Combining Zone (whether it covers 100% of residential parcels or only the historic core) sits on an image zoning map I could not open and read as text.
Check the code edition before you build
This authority's published code edition does not match what the state has adopted. That usually means the authority's ordinance has not been updated for the current cycle — but a local amendment can also be lawful. Confirm with the building department before you submit.
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- Only the electrical-side fee is determinable: $35.00 electrical permit issuance fee + a dedicated 'PHOTOVOLTAIC SYSTEM' line at $24.00 = $59.00.50%
- Plan review
- 1 to 6 weeks (generic; no expedited/ministerial timeline exists for small residential solar)75%
- Portal
- None — Ferndale has no online permitting portal of any kind. All applications ('Building Permit Application', 'Use Permit', 'Design Review Use Permit',82%
- Electrical code
- 201788%
- Own placard wording
- No75%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone or in-person via the City Clerk's office (no online booking exists — see Q20)75%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 75%
No
Size, colour & material 75%
No
Where they go 60%
Not specified by the city — no Ferndale document states a label-placement location for solar/electrical equipment; this would default entirely to the state-adopted 2019 CEC/CFC as unamended.
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.