City of Grand Terrace
San Bernardino County
City of Grand Terrace is a city authority in the State of California, serving 13,150 residents. 897 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, the 2025 Edition code cycle it enforces, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — 3 business days (over-the-counter) / 5 business days (electronically filed) Q18 Where you file — Symbium Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $75 flat (as currently charged per the FY2023 Cost of Services Study's Building Trade Times table), covering a residential system up to the table's 15 kW breakpoint62% source
- Plan review turnaround
- 3 business days (over-the-counter) / 5 business days (electronically filed)92% source
- Key document
- municipal code cited by 3 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · municipal code
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both — Building and Electrical self-performed in-house by the City's own Building & Safety Division. Fire code enforcement is delegated by cross-reference to San Bernardino County Fire Protection District's amended Fire Code (SBCoFD Ordinance No. 23-01). 85% · adopted budget + municipal code
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · municipal code
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 72% · department page
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No (for the AHJ's own process) — but see note 65% · municipal code
- Is there a historic-district review? No 68% · municipal code (chapter-list absence)
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 65% · municipal code (control-checked absence)
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Yes, conditionally — an Administrative Conditional Use Permit is required only if the Building Official finds, based on substantial evidence, that the system 'could have a specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety'; that decision is appealable to the Planning Commission. 90% · municipal code
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal (statutory AB 2188 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' definition, codified locally) for expedited-review eligibility. Separately, the city's own fee table uses a different, uncoordinated 15 kW breakpoint for per-kW pricing purposes. 90% · municipal code
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 65% · department page (FAQ)
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 70% · department page (FAQ)
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- How many copies, and in what format? Two copies of plans (legacy over-the-counter path) 60% · department page
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Symbium 90% · department page + adopted budget
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 85% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $75 flat (as currently charged per the FY2023 Cost of Services Study's Building Trade Times table), covering a residential system up to the table's 15 kW breakpoint 62% · fee schedule (Master Fee Resolution 2023-30, Appendix C)
- How is the fee calculated? Flat 62% · fee schedule (Master Fee Resolution 2023-30, Appendix C)
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No — the $75 residential solar figure in the current fee table appears to be a single combined fee rather than separate plan-check and permit lines (unlike the general valuation-based Building Permit/Building Plan Check tables in the same document, which ARE split). 55% · fee schedule (Master Fee Resolution 2023-30)
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 3 business days (over-the-counter) / 5 business days (electronically filed) 92% · municipal code
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 6 months from issuance or the last approved inspection (general permit-validity rule; no solar-specific validity period found) 72% · department page (FAQ)
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 95% · city webpage
28 questions answered against City of Grand Terrace’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building & Safety Division issues building/electrical permits under Title 15 (2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC, Ord. No. 371, 14 Oct 2025) and Chapter 15.24 (Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy System Permits, Ord. No. 283, 8-11-2015, an AB 2188 chapter).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.24SMREROSOENSYPE_15.24.010PU
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both — Building and Electrical self-performed in-house by the City's own Building & Safety Division. Fire code enforcement is delegated by cross-reference to San Bernardino County Fire Protection District's amended Fire Code (SBCoFD Ordinance No. 23-01).
Why the confidence is not higherFY2025-26 Adopted Budget shows a 1.0 FTE 'Building Official' + 1.0 FTE 'Development Services Coordinator' in-house (no outside firm named anywhere across the department page, FAQ, fee schedule, or budget); contact email is on the city's own grandterrace-ca.gov domain. Fire is delegated via §15.18.010, which adopts the 2025 CFC 'with local amendments, as provided in San Bernardino County Fire Protection District Ordinance No. 23-01' by reference — the same cross-reference structure confirmed for the neighboring SBCoFD-served city of Twentynine Palms. No 'Building Official' title appears on any public-facing page (only 'Development Services Coordinator'/'Building Permit Technician'), so the in-house finding rests on the budget document, not an org chart.
adopted budget + municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/UserFiles/Servers/Server_12337255/File/Departments/Finance/FY2025-26%20Budget%20Book.pdf
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherChapter 15.24 (Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy System Permits) establishes a dedicated permitting/expedited-review process for residential rooftop PV, and the city's own Solar Permits page confirms an application, plan submittal, review and permit-issuance sequence.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.24SMREROSOENSYPE_15.24.030AP
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's live Solar Permits page describes a single unified process ending in one 'permit and job card' being emailed after payment, and the legacy over-the-counter path likewise issues one permit from one application/plan set — no separate electrical permit step is described anywhere for solar specifically.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/departments/planning_development_services/building_safety/solar_permits
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherNo solar-specific restriction on who pulls the permit was found. The city's general Building FAQ states 'Can I as a homeowner apply for a construction permit? Yes. Homeowners are required to complete an “Owner-Builder” form' — a general (not solar-specific) rule that implies either a licensed contractor or an owner-builder homeowner may apply.
department page (FAQ) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/departments/planning_development_services/building_safety/building_safety_faqs
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Safety FAQ page and Solar Permits page — neither states a city-specific contractor registration/pre-qualification requirement beyond standard CSLB licensing.
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral (not solar-specific) FAQ answer: 'Can I as a homeowner apply for a construction permit? Yes. Homeowners are required to complete an “Owner-Builder” form.' No solar-specific carve-out or restriction on this was found.
department page (FAQ) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/departments/planning_development_services/building_safety/building_safety_faqs
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Permits page and §15.24.050(D)-(E), which require the Building Department to adopt its own standard plan/checklist 'substantially conform[ing]' to the CA Solar Permitting Guidebook — but the only document actually linked from the city's Solar Permits page is the unlocalized, generic statewide California Solar Permitting Guidebook itself ('provided for your reference'), not a Grand Terrace-specific checklist.
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Two copies of plans (legacy over-the-counter path)
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permits page, over-the-counter instructions: 'Applicants...must bring a completed application and two copies of plans to the Building and Safety Division.' The newer online/Symbium submittal path's required copy count/format was not stated on any retrieved page (Symbium's jurisdiction-specific checklist is inside its app and not readable by plain fetch).
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/departments/planning_development_services/building_safety/solar_permits
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Permits page, Building & Safety FAQ, and Electronic Building Permit Submittals page — none describe required site-plan content specifically for solar.
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChapter 15.24 (solar chapter) text and Building & Safety pages — no explicit one-line/three-line diagram requirement is stated by the city itself; §15.24.050(E) only requires 'substantial conformance' with the state guidebook's checklist without naming its contents.
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChapter 15.24 and Building & Safety pages — no explicit string/conductor calculation requirement stated by the city.
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChapter 15.24, Chapter 15.08 (Building Code adoption), and Building & Safety FAQ — no city-specific structural PE-stamp threshold for solar was found; only the state model code's general engineering requirements would apply by default.
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChapter 15.12 (Electrical Code adoption, a single 'Adoption' section with no local amendments) and Chapter 15.24 — no city-specific electrical PE-stamp threshold found.
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$75 flat (as currently charged per the FY2023 Cost of Services Study's Building Trade Times table), covering a residential system up to the table's 15 kW breakpoint
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Grand Terrace Building & Safety Fee Schedule, Attachment 2 to Resolution No. 2023-30 (adopted 11 Jul 2023), Appendix C 'Building Trade Times' table: 'Solar Photovoltaic Systems — Residential' lists Total (calculated) Cost $450 vs. Current Fee $75, with 'each Kilowatt over 15 kW' Total Cost $15 (no Current Fee entry, i.e. not currently itemized per kW). This is the fee document the city's own live '/departments/finance/fees' link still resolves to. However, a newer, separately-hosted 'Building Construction Inspection & Permit Fee Schedule' handout (Updated 7/22/2026, also linked from the current Building & Safety page) is a full electrical/mechanical/plumbing/pool fee list that has NO Solar Photovoltaic line at all — consistent with the live Solar Permits page's description of an individualized post-review invoice ('Once your application is reviewed, an invoice will be emailed to you') rather than a fixed line item. Reporting both; genuinely unresolved which currently governs.
fee schedule (Master Fee Resolution 2023-30, Appendix C) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/departments/finance/fees
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat
Why the confidence is not higherSame Appendix C table as Q15 shows a flat $75 'Current Fee' for residential PV with only a proposed (not currently-charged) $15/kW add-on above 15 kW. The city's separate AB 2188 chapter (§15.24.050(F)) requires fees to comply with Gov. Code §§65850.55 and 66015 (actual-cost caps) but does not itself set a calculation method.
fee schedule (Master Fee Resolution 2023-30, Appendix C) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/departments/finance/fees
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No — the $75 residential solar figure in the current fee table appears to be a single combined fee rather than separate plan-check and permit lines (unlike the general valuation-based Building Permit/Building Plan Check tables in the same document, which ARE split).
Why the confidence is not higherAppendix C 'Building Trade Times' lists one 'Current Fee' column per solar line item, in contrast to the general Building Permit & Plan Check Fees section of the same document, which explicitly splits 'Building Permit' and 'Building Plan Check' into separate valuation tables.
fee schedule (Master Fee Resolution 2023-30) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/departments/finance/fees
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
3 business days (over-the-counter) / 5 business days (electronically filed)
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §15.24.060(A): 'the Building Department shall issue a building permit or other non-discretionary permit within three business days for over-the-counter applications or within five business days for electronically filed applications.' The live Solar Permits page corroborates: 'Review Time: 3–5 business days.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.24SMREROSOENSYPE_15.24.060EXPEREINRE
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
6 months from issuance or the last approved inspection (general permit-validity rule; no solar-specific validity period found)
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety FAQ: 'Building permits are typically valid (6) months from the date of issuance or the last approved inspection.' This is a general answer, not solar-specific, and Chapter 15.24 does not state its own validity period.
department page (FAQ) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/departments/planning_development_services/building_safety/building_safety_faqs
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Symbium
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Building & Safety page embeds a live Symbium widget ('<iframe class="symbium-embed" src="https://symbium.com/embed-search/?jurisdiction=grand_terrace...">'), and the FY2025-26 Adopted Budget's 2024-25 Building & Safety highlights state: 'Successful implementation of an automated permit processing program for solar permits' — matching Symbium's automated GC §65850.52 (SB 379) model. The Solar Permits page separately describes an 'online...Submittal Portal' for the same process.
department page + adopted budget checked 2026-08-31 https://symbium.com/embed-search/?jurisdiction=grand_terrace
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherLive Solar Permits / Building & Safety pages: 'You can now submit your solar applications online...Submittal Platform: All solar reviews are conducted through Submittal Portal by Building Department staff...Payments can be made online...your permit and job card will be emailed to you' — application, review, payment and issuance are all described as occurring online end-to-end.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/departments/planning_development_services/building_safety/solar_permits
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own 'Utilities' page lists Southern California Edison first, with its own conservation/rebate program description, ahead of gas, water, and waste providers — a first-party city statement of the electric utility serving Grand Terrace.
city webpage checked 2026-08-31 https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/residents/utilities
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Solar Permits, Building & Safety, and Utilities pages — none describe where SCE interconnection sits relative to the city's permit/inspection sequence. SCE's own DG/interconnection pages were not reachable (known SCE pattern of soft-404s on interconnection guidance).
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No (for the AHJ's own process) — but see note
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §15.24.060(E): 'The City shall not condition the approval of an application on the approval of an association as defined in Civil Code Section 4080.' However, Chapter 18.63 (Site and Architectural Review) applies to all residential districts under §18.10.080, and no solar-specific exemption from that chapter was found in the zoning title (control-checked: only 3 unrelated 'solar' hits in the full zoning corpus — solar orientation of common open space, EV-charging solar carports, and solar-powered sign lighting). Reporting the AB 2188 chapter's administrative/non-discretionary process as controlling, with the broader SAR chapter's silence on solar flagged as an open, unresolved tension.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.24SMREROSOENSYPE_15.24.060EXPEREINRE
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherFull walk of the Zoning title's chapter list (18.03–18.93) found no historic-preservation or historic-district overlay chapter at all; 'historic' hits in the zoning corpus are limited to generic ADU/SB9-type carve-outs referencing 'an architecturally and historically significant historic district' by definition only, not an established local district. Treated as a control-proven absence rather than a direct city statement that none applies.
municipal code (chapter-list absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT18ZO_CH18.10REDI_18.10.080SIARRE
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo wind/windstorm certification requirement was found anywhere in Title 15 (Buildings and Construction) — a full-text check of the Title 15 corpus for 'wind' returned only unrelated hits (irrigation sensors, unsafe-building damage clause, landscape definitions), none referencing solar racking or a windstorm-certification standard. Structural wind loading is presumably handled entirely through the unamended 2025 CBC/ASCE 7 provisions.
municipal code (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.08BUCO_15.08.010AD
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Yes, conditionally — an Administrative Conditional Use Permit is required only if the Building Official finds, based on substantial evidence, that the system 'could have a specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety'; that decision is appealable to the Planning Commission.
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §15.24.060(A) and (C).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.24SMREROSOENSYPE_15.24.060EXPEREINRE
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal (statutory AB 2188 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' definition, codified locally) for expedited-review eligibility. Separately, the city's own fee table uses a different, uncoordinated 15 kW breakpoint for per-kW pricing purposes.
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §15.24.020(L): 'Small residential rooftop solar energy system' means a system 'not larger than ten kilowatts alternating current nameplate rating or 30 kilowatts thermal ... installed on a single or duplex family dwelling.' By contrast, the FY2023 fee schedule's Building Trade Times table prices 'each Kilowatt over 15 kW' as an add-on — a different, seemingly uncoordinated threshold from the same city's own ordinance cap.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.24SMREROSOENSYPE_15.24.020DE
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (adopted as part of the 2025 California Electrical Code) 95% · municipal code (adopting ordinance)
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (based on the 2024 International Building Code) 95% · municipal code (adopting ordinance)
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code, with local amendments as provided in San Bernardino County Fire Protection District Ordinance No. 23-01 90% · municipal code (adopting ordinance)
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 90% · municipal code
- What is the installation judged against? The adopted 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC (the latter with SBCoFD amendments) plus solar-specific standards under §15.24.040: California Electrical Code, IEEE, UL/accredited testing laboratories, and CPUC safety/reliability rules where applicable. 88% · municipal code
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Grand Terrace on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown is required by default under the adopted 2023 NEC (via the 2025 CEC); the city's own documents do not separately cite NEC §690.12 or state a rapid-shutdown requirement in their own words. 65% · inference from adopted NEC edition
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 70% · municipal code (control-checked absence)
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No 70% · municipal code (control-checked absence)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, batteries/ESS are permitted; conditions are set by the fire code the city adopts by cross-reference (SBCoFD Ordinance No. 23-01), which — in a neighboring SBCoFD-served city — carries an operational-permit requirement for battery/ESS with an explicit R-3 (single-family residential) exemption. Grand Terrace's own copy of that SBCoFD ordinance text was not independently retrieved, so this is reported as a comparable-authority inference, not a directly-read Grand Terrace clause. 60% · municipal code (cross-reference) + comparable-authority inference
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No separate fee line found for a stand-alone ESS permit/inspection. 72% · fee schedule (control-checked absence, two documents)
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes, by inference 58% · municipal code (inference from general definition)
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No local rule found — the Electrical Code chapter (§15.12) is a single straight-adoption section with no service-upgrade or busbar-sizing amendment. 80% · municipal code (control-checked absence)
20 questions answered against City of Grand Terrace’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC (adopted as part of the 2025 California Electrical Code)
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §15.12.010: 'the 2025 California Electrical Code based on the 2023 National Electrical Code...is hereby adopted by reference' (Ord. No. 371, § 2, 10-14-2025).
municipal code (adopting ordinance) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.12ELCO_15.12.010AD
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (based on the 2024 International Building Code)
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §15.08.010 (Ord. No. 371, § 2, 10-14-2025).
municipal code (adopting ordinance) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.08BUCO_15.08.010AD
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code, with local amendments as provided in San Bernardino County Fire Protection District Ordinance No. 23-01
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §15.18.010: 'The 2025 California Fire Code, with local amendments, as provided in San Bernardino County Fire Protection District Ordinance No. 23-01, is hereby adopted in its entirety by this reference' (Ord. No. 371, § 2, 10-14-2025). Note the referenced SBCoFD amendment ordinance number ('23-01') itself appears not to have been renumbered alongside the 2025 base-code cycle update — a possible vintage lag comparable to a pattern seen in a neighboring SBCoFD-adopting city.
municipal code (adopting ordinance) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.18CAFICO_15.18.010ADCAFICO
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherMultiple local amendments exist beyond straight adoption: mandatory residential fire sprinklers regardless of building area (§15.08.030/§15.10.020, exceeding the state minimum), fences in high-fire-hazard-severity zones (§15.08.020), several California Residential Code amendments (§§15.10.030–.100), the Wildland-Urban Interface Code (Ch. 15.11), and the Fire Code's SBCoFD local-amendment cross-reference (§15.18.010) itself.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.08BUCO_15.08.010AD
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The adopted 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC (the latter with SBCoFD amendments) plus solar-specific standards under §15.24.040: California Electrical Code, IEEE, UL/accredited testing laboratories, and CPUC safety/reliability rules where applicable.
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §15.24.040(A)-(C).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.24SMREROSOENSYPE_15.24.040SOENSYRE
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
No local rule found — the Electrical Code chapter (§15.12) is a single straight-adoption section with no service-upgrade or busbar-sizing amendment.
Why the confidence is not higherChapter 15.12 (Electrical Code) contains exactly one codified section, 15.12.010 'Adoption', with no additional amendment sections (unlike the Building Code chapter, which carries 25+ numbered amendment sections). A full-text check of the whole Title 15 corpus for 'busbar' returned zero hits, alongside a working positive control ('electrical' = 25 hits) and zero hits on a fabricated control ('zzqqx').
municipal code (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.12ELCO_15.12.010AD
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTitle 15 (Buildings and Construction) full corpus and the city's Standard Details page (which lists Balcony/Deck, Block Wall, Patio Cover, Retaining Wall, tent anchorage, and pool-barrier standards, but no PV mounting/attachment-spacing standard) — no mounting-system or attachment-spacing requirement specific to solar was found.
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChapter 15.18 (California Fire Code adoption, a single section) — GT's own municipal code carries no PV-specific ridge-setback/pathway amendment text itself; that detail, if any, would live inside San Bernardino County Fire Protection District's own Ordinance No. 23-01, which was not independently retrieved.
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Rapid shutdown is required by default under the adopted 2023 NEC (via the 2025 CEC); the city's own documents do not separately cite NEC §690.12 or state a rapid-shutdown requirement in their own words.
Why the confidence is not higherChapter 15.12 adopts the 2023 NEC (via the 2025 CEC) wholesale with no local amendments (see Q34); a full-text check of the Title 15 corpus for '690.12' and 'rapid shutdown' returned zero hits each, so the requirement is inferred entirely from the adopted national code edition rather than from any Grand Terrace-specific statement.
inference from adopted NEC edition checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.12ELCO_15.12.010AD
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChapter 15.24 (solar chapter, all six sections), the city's Solar Permits page, and Building & Safety FAQ — a full-text check of the whole Title 15 corpus for 'placard' returned exactly one hit, and it is unrelated (Sec. 15.44.040, event-signage nuisance abatement). No PV/ESS placard requirement of the AHJ's own was found.
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherControl-checked: the only 'placard' hit anywhere in the Title 15 corpus is an unrelated nuisance-abatement provision (§15.44.040, about circus/election placards), and the solar chapter (Ch. 15.24) and Solar Permits page are both silent on placard wording. No city-specified wording was found.
municipal code (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.24SMREROSOENSYPE_15.24.040SOENSYRE
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame control-checked absence as Q39 — no letter-height, colour, or material specification was found anywhere in the Title 15 corpus or on any Building & Safety web page.
municipal code (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.24SMREROSOENSYPE_15.24.040SOENSYRE
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChapter 15.24 and the Solar Permits/Building & Safety pages — no site-plan or facility-map placard requirement (NEC §705.10-style) beyond the general 'site plan' expectation implicit in any building-permit submittal was found.
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's own DG/interconnection guidance pages were not reachable (a known, repeated SCE pattern); no substitute utility's document was used per the rule against borrowing one utility's spec for another's.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChapter 15.24 and Building & Safety pages — no label-placement instruction (e.g., at the main service panel vs. point of interconnection) was found in any Grand Terrace document.
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChapter 15.24 (§15.24.040 requires UL/IEEE/accredited-lab compliance generally but does not require a specific 'approved equipment list') and Building & Safety pages — no approved-products list was found.
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes, batteries/ESS are permitted; conditions are set by the fire code the city adopts by cross-reference (SBCoFD Ordinance No. 23-01), which — in a neighboring SBCoFD-served city — carries an operational-permit requirement for battery/ESS with an explicit R-3 (single-family residential) exemption. Grand Terrace's own copy of that SBCoFD ordinance text was not independently retrieved, so this is reported as a comparable-authority inference, not a directly-read Grand Terrace clause.
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §15.18.010 cross-references 'San Bernardino County Fire Protection District Ordinance No. 23-01' by name for all Fire Code local amendments, the same cross-reference mechanism confirmed for the neighboring SBCoFD-served City of Twentynine Palms, whose copy of the SBCoFD amendments contains CFC §105.5.4A (battery/ESS operational permit) with an express 'Exception: This Section does not apply to systems in R-3 occupancies.' Neither of Grand Terrace's own building-fee schedules (2023 or 2026) carries a distinct battery/ESS fee line, which is consistent with — but does not independently prove — the same exemption applying here.
municipal code (cross-reference) + comparable-authority inference checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.18CAFICO_15.18.010ADCAFICO
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No separate fee line found for a stand-alone ESS permit/inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth of Grand Terrace's own building fee documents were checked and neither carries a battery/ESS line: the FY2023 Cost of Services Study's full 228-page Master Fee Schedule (Appendix C 'Building Trade Times', covering Solar PV, EV Charging, and Motor/Transformer/Generator categories) and the 'Updated 7/22/2026' Building & Safety Fee Schedule handout (3 pages, full electrical/mechanical/plumbing/pool coverage). Neither mentions 'battery' or 'energy storage.'
fee schedule (control-checked absence, two documents) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/UserFiles/Servers/Server_12337255/File/Departments/Planning%20&%20Development/Building%20&%20Safety/2026/Handouts/Building%20Construction%20Inspection%20&%20Permit%20Fee%20Schedule%20.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes, by inference
Why the confidence is not higherZoning Code's general 'Structure' definition (§18.06.905) captures 'anything constructed or built over the height of six feet...which has a required location on the ground' — broad enough to capture a ground-mounted PV array over 6 ft in height. No PV-specific ground-mount carve-out or exemption was found anywhere in the zoning title (control-checked).
municipal code (inference from general definition) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT18ZO_CH18.06DE_18.06.905ST
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's own DG/interconnection manual was not reachable, and Grand Terrace's own Title 15 and Solar Permits page are silent on AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter — no local electrical amendment (unlike, e.g., a CEC Art. 690.13 amendment) was found (Chapter 15.12 is a single straight-adoption section, see Q34).
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Email 82% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 95% · municipal code
- If delegated, to whom? Not delegated for the building/electrical inspection itself (performed by the City's own Building Department per §15.24.060(G)); the Fire Code's SBCoFD cross-reference (§15.18.010) and the chapter's own 'consolidated inspections' language (§15.24.060(H)) leave open that a fire-district representative may jointly participate, but the ordinance does not name SBCoFD explicitly in that clause the way a neighboring city's ordinance does. 55% · municipal code (inference on the fire-participation half)
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? A single, consolidated inspection (no separate rough-in/mid-roof/final sequence) for systems eligible for expedited review. 90% · municipal code
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 78% · municipal code
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No published inspection checklist was found for Grand Terrace specifically. 62% · department page (control-checked absence)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (a completed 'permit and job card' / final sign-off; no distinct 'Green Tag' or 'CO' terminology found for residential solar specifically) 55% · inference from department page
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer (inferred; not stated by the city) 50% · inference (general NEM practice)
- Is there a re-inspection fee? No separate re-inspection dollar figure; billed at the general hourly rate, $181.00/hour, per the current fee schedule ('Re-Inspections / Other Services Not Specified — Hourly Rate', cross-referenced against the same document's 'Other Electrical Inspections (per hour) $181.00' and 'After-Hours Inspection (4-hour minimum) $723.00' = 4 × $180.75). 65% · fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? For an incomplete APPLICATION (pre-permit stage): a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies is sent to the applicant for resubmission. How corrections found at the INSPECTION stage are issued/cleared was not documented anywhere retrieved. 60% · municipal code (partial answer)
14 questions answered against City of Grand Terrace’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety department page: 'Building & Safety – Inspection Requests. Please send all inspection requests to: [email]... Include the following information in your request: Building Permit Number, Requested Inspection Date, Type of Inspection, Gate Code.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/departments/planning_development_services/building_safety
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Safety department page's inspection-request instructions — a requested-date field is described, but no minimum advance-notice period (e.g., '24 hours', '2 business days') is stated.
https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/departments/planning_development_services/building_safety
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Safety department page — no AM/PM inspection-window offering is mentioned (only 'Permit Hours 1:00 PM - 4:30 PM' and 'Counter Hours 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM' for the office itself, not inspection scheduling windows).
https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/departments/planning_development_services/building_safety
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §15.24.060(G): 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by the Building Department for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.24SMREROSOENSYPE_15.24.060EXPEREINRE
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Not delegated for the building/electrical inspection itself (performed by the City's own Building Department per §15.24.060(G)); the Fire Code's SBCoFD cross-reference (§15.18.010) and the chapter's own 'consolidated inspections' language (§15.24.060(H)) leave open that a fire-district representative may jointly participate, but the ordinance does not name SBCoFD explicitly in that clause the way a neighboring city's ordinance does.
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §§15.24.060(G) and (H); §15.18.010.
municipal code (inference on the fire-participation half) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.24SMREROSOENSYPE_15.24.060EXPEREINRE
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
A single, consolidated inspection (no separate rough-in/mid-roof/final sequence) for systems eligible for expedited review.
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §15.24.060(G)-(H): 'Only one inspection shall be required...The inspection shall be done in a timely manner and should include consolidated inspections.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.24SMREROSOENSYPE_15.24.060EXPEREINRE
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §15.24.060(G) specifies only one inspection is required for expedited-eligible systems; no separate rough-in or mid-roof inspection stage is described anywhere in Chapter 15.24 or on the city's Building & Safety pages.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.24SMREROSOENSYPE_15.24.060EXPEREINRE
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChapter 15.24 and Building & Safety pages — no explicit statement that the inspector verifies labels/equipment listings was found (§15.24.040(C) requires the SYSTEM to meet UL/IEEE listing standards, but does not describe the inspection-checklist mechanics).
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No published inspection checklist was found for Grand Terrace specifically.
Why the confidence is not higherChecked the Building & Safety main page, FAQ page, Standard Details page, Electronic Building Permit Submittals page, and the Solar Permits page — none link a Grand Terrace-authored inspection checklist. The only checklist-type document linked from the Solar Permits page is the generic, unlocalized statewide California Solar Permitting Guidebook, offered 'for your reference' rather than as the city's own inspection checklist.
department page (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/departments/planning_development_services/building_safety/solar_permits
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Safety department page's inspection-request instructions (which describe what to include IN the REQUEST — permit number, date, inspection type, gate code — not what must be physically ON SITE at the time of inspection).
https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/departments/planning_development_services/building_safety
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
No separate re-inspection dollar figure; billed at the general hourly rate, $181.00/hour, per the current fee schedule ('Re-Inspections / Other Services Not Specified — Hourly Rate', cross-referenced against the same document's 'Other Electrical Inspections (per hour) $181.00' and 'After-Hours Inspection (4-hour minimum) $723.00' = 4 × $180.75).
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Construction Inspection & Permit Fee Schedule, Updated 7/22/2026: 'Re-Inspections / Other Services Not Specified — Hourly Rate' (dollar figure not printed on that line, but cross-referenced against other 'per hour' lines in the same document, all priced at $181.00).
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/UserFiles/Servers/Server_12337255/File/Departments/Planning%20&%20Development/Building%20&%20Safety/2026/Handouts/Building%20Construction%20Inspection%20&%20Permit%20Fee%20Schedule%20.pdf
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
For an incomplete APPLICATION (pre-permit stage): a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies is sent to the applicant for resubmission. How corrections found at the INSPECTION stage are issued/cleared was not documented anywhere retrieved.
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §15.24.060(F): 'If an application...is deemed incomplete, a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies in the application...shall be sent to the applicant for resubmission.' Inspection-stage (post-permit) correction handling is not separately described in Chapter 15.24 or on the Building & Safety pages, beyond §15.24.060(I) allowing a re-inspection after a failed inspection without expedited-timing guarantees.
municipal code (partial answer) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/grand_terrace/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.24SMREROSOENSYPE_15.24.060EXPEREINRE
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (a completed 'permit and job card' / final sign-off; no distinct 'Green Tag' or 'CO' terminology found for residential solar specifically)
Why the confidence is not higherThe Solar Permits page describes issuance of 'your permit and job card' after payment (pre-inspection), and Chapter 15.24 describes only a pass/fail 'inspection' outcome (§15.24.060(G)-(I)) without naming a specific sign-off document (no 'Certificate of Occupancy', 'Green Tag', or 'Final' terminology appears in the solar chapter itself); 'Final' is the closest standard California building-department term and is used here as an inference, not a term the city itself uses for solar.
inference from department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/departments/planning_development_services/building_safety/solar_permits
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer (inferred; not stated by the city)
Why the confidence is not higherNeither Chapter 15.24 nor any Building & Safety web page describes a city role in utility PTO notification; under the standard California NEM/Rule 21 process, the installer typically submits the utility interconnection/PTO paperwork once the AHJ final inspection is cleared. This is a general-practice inference, not a Grand Terrace-specific statement, and SCE's own interconnection guidance was not independently reachable.
inference (general NEM practice) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.grandterrace-ca.gov/residents/utilities
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Grand Terrace against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Grand Terrace is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (self-performed in-house); Fire code enforcement delegated by codified cross-reference to San Bernardino County Fire Protection District (SBCoFD Ordinance No. 23-01)
- Delegated to
- San Bernardino County Fire Protection District (fire code only)
- Overridden by
- California AB 2188 (Gov. Code §65850.5/.52/.55, Civil Code §714) governs the expedited small-residential-solar process and limits the City's discretion (e.g., cannot condition approval on HOA/association approval); SCE (utility) controls interconnection/PTO timing independent of the City.
- Why not higher
- The brief's premise (Grand Terrace, San Bernardino County, utility SCE) checks out on the City's own documents: Municipal Code Title 15 (2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC, Ord. 371, 14-Oct-2025) and Chapter 15.24 (AB 2188 solar chapter, Ord. 283, 2015) show the City's own Building & Safety Division issuing both building and electrical permits in-house (FY2025-26 Adopted Budget: 1.0 FTE Building Official + 1.0 FTE Development Services Coordinator, no outside firm named). Fire is NOT self-performed by the City's own code apparatus — §15.18.010 adopts the Fire Code 'with local amendments, as provided in San Bernardino County Fire Protection District Ordinance No. 23-01' by reference, the same cross-reference shape confirmed for the neighboring City of Twentynine Palms (which carries the codified CFC §105.5.4A R-3 battery/ESS exemption from that same county agency's amendments). Utility (SCE) confirmed first-party from the City's own 'Utilities' page.
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $75 flat (as currently charged per the FY2023 Cost of Services Study's Building Trade Times table), covering a residential system up to the table's 15 kW breakpoint62%
- Plan review
- 3 business days (over-the-counter) / 5 business days (electronically filed)92%
- Portal
- Symbium90%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC (adopted as part of the 2025 California Electrical Code)95%
- Own placard wording
- No70%
- Booking an inspection
- Email82%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 70%
No
Size, colour & material 70%
No
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.