City of Guadalupe

Santa Barbara County

Verified Aug. 4, 2026

City of Guadalupe is a city authority in the State of California, serving 8,057 residents. 508 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Same day for over-the-counter applications if possible, otherwise within 24 hours; within 3 business days for electronic applications Q18 Where you file — None found -- no online permit portal Q20

Permit required
Yes95% source
What it costs
$135 flat Building 'site visit' fee + $23 per panel (discounted PV rate), plus a separate $120 flat Fire Department 'Solar photovoltaic power systems' construction-permit fee under CFC §105.7.1885% source
Plan review turnaround
Same day for over-the-counter applications if possible, otherwise within 24 hours; within 3 business days for electronic applications95% source
Key document
code of ordinances cited by 6 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · code of ordinances
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 85% · department page
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · code of ordinances
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 78% · fee schedule
    • Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 92% · code of ordinances
    • Is there a historic-district review? No 80% · code of ordinances (absence)
    • Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 50% · code of ordinances (absence, low-confidence)
    • Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Yes -- a use permit under GMC §18.12.010 may be required 90% · code of ordinances
    • Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 10 kW AC nameplate rating or 30 kW thermal, on a single- or duplex-family dwelling only, panel/module array not exceeding the maximum legal building height 95% · code of ordinances
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • How many copies, and in what format? 3 sets of plans by mail or in person; electronic submittal (email/Internet/fax) also accepted specifically for small residential rooftop solar per GMC §15.14.050(B)-(C), including electronic signatures in lieu of a wet signature. 75% · department page + code
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? None found -- no online permit portal 75% · department page (absence)
    • Can the whole application be completed online? No 70% · department page (absence)
    • What does a residential solar permit cost? $135 flat Building 'site visit' fee + $23 per panel (discounted PV rate), plus a separate $120 flat Fire Department 'Solar photovoltaic power systems' construction-permit fee under CFC §105.7.18 85% · fee schedule
    • How is the fee calculated? Per panel, plus a flat Building site-visit fee and a flat Fire construction-permit fee 78% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate plan-check fee? No 65% · fee schedule
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

    • What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Same day for over-the-counter applications if possible, otherwise within 24 hours; within 3 business days for electronic applications 95% · code of ordinances
    • How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Not locally amended; the 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC etc. are adopted 'in their entirety' with no chapter found altering permit-expiration provisions 55% · adopting ordinance
    • Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) 62% · secondary source (utility territory)

28 questions answered against City of Guadalupe’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherGMC Ch. 15.14 (Ord. 2017-464), 'Expedited, Streamlined Permitting Process for Small Residential Rooftop Solar Systems,' names the City of Guadalupe Building Division/Building Official as the enforcement authority for residential rooftop PV.

code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42561649#42561649

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both

Why the confidence is not higherGMC §15.14.050/.060 (Building Department/Building Official) and the Miscellaneous Building Permit fee line for 'Photovoltaic System (discounted rate)' show the City permits both Building and Electrical scope of a PV system as one package. Legal jurisdiction stays with the City, but the Building Department's own contact page names its Building Inspector/Official as 'JAS Pacific Inspectors' -- a contract inspection firm -- so field inspection is delegated even though permitting authority is not.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/building-department/

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherGMC §15.14.030(A): 'This chapter applies to the permitting of all small residential rooftop solar energy systems in the City of Guadalupe.'

code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42561649#42561649

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined

Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee Schedule (Res. 2024-78, approved 12/10/2024) lists 'Photovoltaic System (discounted rate)' as a single line under Miscellaneous BUILDING Permit Fees (Site Visit $135 + $23/panel) rather than itemizing a separate line under the ELECTRICAL PERMITS section -- the City bills PV as one combined package.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/12/Master-Fee-Schedule-FY-2024-25-Approved-12-10-2024.pdf

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either

Why the confidence is not higherNo local restriction on who pulls the electrical scope of a solar permit was found; the City's Building Permit Application form has both an 'Owner's Name' and a 'Contractor's Name / Lic#' field with neither marked mandatory, consistent with California's statewide owner-builder allowance (B&P Code §7044) applying by default absent a local rule.

permit application checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/04/building-permit-application.pdf

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Department page, Building Permit Application PDF, and Finance Department's Business License/Business Tax Certificate page -- the City requires a general Business Tax Certificate for anyone 'doing business' in Guadalupe, but no document ties BTC issuance to Building Department permit intake, and the permit application has no city-registration field, only a state CSLB license-number field.

https://cityofguadalupe.org/building-department/

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherNo Guadalupe ordinance or handout restricts owner-installation; California's statewide owner-builder exemption (Business & Professions Code §7044) applies by default where a city adds no local restriction, and none was found in GMC Title 15.

inference from state law + code silence checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42561342#42561342

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedGMC §15.14.050(D)-(E) requires the Building Department to 'adopt a standard plan and checklist of all requirements' conforming to the state Solar Permitting Guidebook; searched the Building Department page's full list of downloadable PDFs (building permit application, ADU code requirements, encroachment/short-term-rental/discretionary/ministerial/special-events applications, EV-charging checklist, fee schedule, AB-2533 handout) and found no published PV-specific checklist.

https://cityofguadalupe.org/building-department/

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

3 sets of plans by mail or in person; electronic submittal (email/Internet/fax) also accepted specifically for small residential rooftop solar per GMC §15.14.050(B)-(C), including electronic signatures in lieu of a wet signature.

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Department page: 'Please mail completed applications with three (3) sets/of plans... Application and plans can also be submitted in person'; combined with GMC §15.14.020/.050 defining and requiring acceptance of electronic submittal for solar specifically.

department page + code checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/building-department/

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo published solar-specific checklist exists (see q8); GMC Ch. 15.14 does not itself specify site-plan content, and no generic building 'site plan' requirements page was found on the Building Department site.

https://cityofguadalupe.org/building-department/

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as q10 -- no published checklist exists to confirm a one-line-diagram requirement; GMC Ch. 15.14 text is silent on submittal drawing content.

https://cityofguadalupe.org/building-department/

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as q10 -- no published checklist; GMC Ch. 15.14 text is silent on string/conductor calculations.

https://cityofguadalupe.org/building-department/

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched GMC §15.14 (solar chapter) and §15.04 (Building/Residential Code adoption) for a structural PE-stamp threshold specific to PV; none stated. The 2025 CBC/CRC are adopted 'in their entirety' with only appendix-level exclusions, so any PE threshold would come from the unamended state code text, which was not independently retrieved this run.

https://ecode360.com/42561342#42561342

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as q13 for an electrical PE-stamp threshold; none found in the local ordinance text.

https://ecode360.com/42561342#42561342

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

$135 flat Building 'site visit' fee + $23 per panel (discounted PV rate), plus a separate $120 flat Fire Department 'Solar photovoltaic power systems' construction-permit fee under CFC §105.7.18

Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule (Resolution No. 2024-78, approved 12/10/2024, PDF metadata Title='Resolution No. 2024-78'): Building Dept 'Miscellaneous Building Permit Fees' lists 'Photovoltaic System (discounted rate): Site Visit plus $135, Per Panel Fee $23'; the Fire Department's 'Required Construction Permits (105.7.1-105.7.18)' table separately lists 'Solar photovoltaic power systems $120.' No newer Master Fee Schedule is linked from the Finance page as of this check, though it is ~20 months old.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/12/Master-Fee-Schedule-FY-2024-25-Approved-12-10-2024.pdf

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Per panel, plus a flat Building site-visit fee and a flat Fire construction-permit fee

Why the confidence is not higherSame fee-schedule lines as q15: the Building charge scales with panel count ($23/panel) on top of a flat $135 site-visit fee; the separate Fire fee is a flat $120, not scaled.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/12/Master-Fee-Schedule-FY-2024-25-Approved-12-10-2024.pdf

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

No

Why the confidence is not higherThe 'Photovoltaic System (discounted rate)' line sits apart from the schedule's standard 'Permit Issuance Fee $86 / Plan Check (per hour) $117 / Inspection $106' trio used for other Miscellaneous Building permits -- the PV package's flat site-visit + per-panel structure appears to replace rather than add an hourly plan-check charge, consistent with the state-mandated administrative/nondiscretionary review in GMC §15.14.060(B).

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/12/Master-Fee-Schedule-FY-2024-25-Approved-12-10-2024.pdf

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

Same day for over-the-counter applications if possible, otherwise within 24 hours; within 3 business days for electronic applications

Why the confidence is not higherGMC §15.14.060(A): 'The Building Division shall issue a nondiscretionary building permit the same day for over-the-counter applications, if possible, or otherwise, within 24 hours, or within 3 business days for electronic applications, of receipt of a complete application.'

code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42561649#42561649

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

Not locally amended; the 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC etc. are adopted 'in their entirety' with no chapter found altering permit-expiration provisions

Why the confidence is not higherGMC §15.04.020-.060 (Ord. 2025-524) adopts the 2025 California Building/Residential/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical Codes 'in their entirety' except for specified appendix exclusions; no separate local amendment to the standard state permit-expiration section was found, but the base-code section itself was not independently pulled this run.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Ordinance-No.-2025-524-Repealing-Ordinance-No.-2022-504-and-adopting-a-new-chapter-4-of-Title-15-2025-California-Building-Stan.pdf

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

None found -- no online permit portal

Why the confidence is not higherFull review of the Building, Planning, Public Works and Finance department pages found only a 'Utilities Payment Portal' for water/sewer bill payment (municipalonlinepayments.com); permit applications are submitted by mail or in person, with electronic submittal by email specifically enabled for solar under GMC §15.14.050(B). No Accela/ePermit/SolarAPP+-type portal link exists on the site.

department page (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/building-department/

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

No

Why the confidence is not higherNo online application/payment portal was found on any City department page (see q20); GMC §15.14.050(B) allows electronic submittal of documents by email/Internet but does not describe a self-service online application system.

department page (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/building-department/

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)

Why the confidence is not higherGuadalupe has no municipal electric utility -- the City's own Public Works page lists only water, wastewater, streets, solid waste and transit as City-run utilities, with electric service absent. PG&E's Wikipedia entry describes its territory as extending to 'northern Santa Barbara County,' which is where Guadalupe sits (Santa Maria Valley). No city-side or PG&E-side document naming Guadalupe specifically was retrieved this run, so this is a geographic inference, not a first-party confirmation.

secondary source (utility territory) checked 2026-08-31 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pacific_Gas_and_Electric_Company

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedAttempted to reach PG&E's interconnection/Rule 21/NEM process pages and its solar/net-energy-metering pages directly; every guessed PG&E URL returned a generic 404 template rather than the target content, and PG&E's own site search returned no results for Guadalupe. No sequence documentation retrieved this run.

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherGMC §15.14.060(F): 'The City of Guadalupe shall not condition approval of an application on the approval of an association, as defined in Section 4080 of the Civil Code.' The City's Design Review chapter (GMC Ch. 18.73) is also scoped to commercial/industrial/mixed-use/multifamily and downtown-frontage projects, not single-family rooftop solar.

code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42561649#42561649

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherFull chapter-by-chapter walk of Title 18 Zoning's table of contents (18.04 through 18.84) found no Historic District/Historic Overlay chapter at all; the only 'Historic Overlay District' reference found is a conditional clause inside the ADU chapter ('...any Historic Overlay District that may be in existence at the time...'), implying none is currently established.

code of ordinances (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/GU4932

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherNo wind/windstorm-certification requirement (of the kind used in Texas TDI-designated coastal zones) was found in GMC Title 15; California building standards address wind loading through standard ASCE-7-based structural design in the adopted CBC/CRC rather than a separate local certification process. Not independently verified against full CBC text.

code of ordinances (absence, low-confidence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42561342#42561342

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

Yes -- a use permit under GMC §18.12.010 may be required

Why the confidence is not higherGMC §15.14.060(A): 'The Building Official may require an applicant to apply for a use permit pursuant to Guadalupe Municipal Code Section 18.12.010 if the Building Official finds, based on substantial evidence, that the solar energy system could have a specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety. Such decisions may be appealed to the City of Guadalupe Planning Commission.'

code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42561649#42561649

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

10 kW AC nameplate rating or 30 kW thermal, on a single- or duplex-family dwelling only, panel/module array not exceeding the maximum legal building height

Why the confidence is not higherGMC §15.14.020 definition of 'Small residential rooftop solar energy system': '...no larger than 10 kilowatts alternating current nameplate rating or 30 kilowatts thermal... installed on a single or duplex family dwelling... does not exceed the maximum legal building height.'

code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42561649#42561649

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (adopted as the 2025 California Electrical Code) 85% · adopting ordinance
    • Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (Vol. 1 & 2) and 2025 California Residential Building Code, effective 1 Jan 2026 92% · adopting ordinance
    • Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code, effective 1 Jan 2026, with Guadalupe-specific local amendments 92% · adopting ordinance
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 85% · adopting ordinance
    • What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building Code, Residential Code and Electrical Code as locally adopted (Ord. 2025-524), plus UL/IEEE listing standards and CPUC safety/reliability rules for PV-specific equipment 90% · code of ordinances
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    Nothing recorded for City of Guadalupe on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    • Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12 via the 2025 California Electrical Code (based on the 2023 NEC), effective 1 Jan 2026 -- no local amendment to this provision was found 70% · adopting ordinance + code silence
  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes -- listed/certified equipment only, per accredited testing laboratories 75% · code of ordinances
    • Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Batteries/ESS are not addressed in GMC Ch. 15.14 (the small-residential-PV chapter) or in the local fire-code amendments, but the City's Fire Department charges its own 'Battery systems' Required Construction Permit at full cost recovery under CFC §105.7 70% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes -- the Fire Department requires its own separate 'Battery systems' construction permit (full cost recovery), distinct from the Building Department's PV permit 75% · fee schedule

20 questions answered against City of Guadalupe’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2023 NEC (adopted as the 2025 California Electrical Code)

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance No. 2025-524 §2(C), 'California Electrical Code adoption': 'Adopt the 2025 California Electrical Code including all Annexes in their entirety except Annex H,' effective 12:01 a.m. 1 Jan 2026. California's 2025 code cycle is based on the 2023 NEC.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Ordinance-No.-2025-524-Repealing-Ordinance-No.-2022-504-and-adopting-a-new-chapter-4-of-Title-15-2025-California-Building-Stan.pdf

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2025 California Building Code (Vol. 1 & 2) and 2025 California Residential Building Code, effective 1 Jan 2026

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance No. 2025-524 §1-2 repeals the 2022-cycle chapter and adopts the 2025 CBC/CRC/Administrative/Plumbing/Mechanical/Energy/CALGreen/Existing Building/Historical/Referenced Standards/Wildland-Urban Interface Codes, effective 12:01 a.m. 1 Jan 2026. (Note: eCode360's codified GMC §15.04 still displays the superseded 2022 codes as of this check -- the codifier has not yet caught up to Ord. 2025-524.)

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Ordinance-No.-2025-524-Repealing-Ordinance-No.-2022-504-and-adopting-a-new-chapter-4-of-Title-15-2025-California-Building-Stan.pdf

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

2025 California Fire Code, effective 1 Jan 2026, with Guadalupe-specific local amendments

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance No. 2026-527 (adopted 23 Jun 2026): 'the State of California has recently adopted the 2025 California Fire Code, which became effective January 1, 2026... it is the intent of the City of Guadalupe to enact the 2025 California Fire Code with the amendments written below.' (eCode360's codified GMC §15.08 still displays the superseded 2022 CFC as of this check.)

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/Ordinance-No.-2026-527-California-Fire-Code-Update-6-23-2026.pdf

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance No. 2026-527 makes express local climatic-condition findings (Santa Barbara/San Luis Obispo Counties high fire risk, high wind) required by Health & Safety Code §17958.7 and amends CFC sections (e.g., adding local above-ground-tank identification-placard language); the 2025 CEC is adopted 'in their entirety except Annex H,' which is itself a local amendment/exclusion.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/Ordinance-No.-2026-527-California-Fire-Code-Update-6-23-2026.pdf

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

The 2025 California Building Code, Residential Code and Electrical Code as locally adopted (Ord. 2025-524), plus UL/IEEE listing standards and CPUC safety/reliability rules for PV-specific equipment

Why the confidence is not higherGMC §15.14.040(B): 'Solar energy systems for producing electricity shall meet all applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories and, where applicable, rules of the Public Utilities Commission.'

code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42561649#42561649

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched GMC Ch. 15.14 (solar) and the 2025 CEC adoption section (§15.04.040) for a local rule on service-upgrade or busbar sizing; none found -- only the state code (adopted in its entirety except Annex H) would govern, and its text was not independently pulled this run.

https://ecode360.com/42561342#42561342

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched GMC Ch. 15.14 and Title 18 (Zoning) for a specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing rule; none found beyond the general requirement that installations 'meet applicable health and safety standards' (§15.14.040(A)).

https://ecode360.com/42561649#42561649

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedExtracted and full-text searched both the current (Ord. 2026-527, 2025 CFC) and prior (Ord. 2022-505, 2022 CFC) local fire-code amendment PDFs for 'setback', 'ridge', 'pathway' and 'solar' -- control-checked (151 and 236 'fire' hits respectively vs 0 for a fabricated 'zzqqx' control) -- and found zero PV-specific technical amendments in either. The unamended baseline 2025 CFC would set pathway/setback standards by reference, but that base-code text (not hosted by the City; incorporated wholesale) was not independently retrieved this run.

https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/Ordinance-No.-2026-527-California-Fire-Code-Update-6-23-2026.pdf

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Yes, rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12 via the 2025 California Electrical Code (based on the 2023 NEC), effective 1 Jan 2026 -- no local amendment to this provision was found

Why the confidence is not higherOrd. 2025-524 §2(C) adopts the 2025 CEC 'in their entirety except Annex H'; a full-text search across the solar chapter, the CBC/fire adoption ordinances and both fire-code-amendment PDFs for '690.12' and 'rapid shutdown' returned zero hits in every source, consistent with unmodified adoption of the state baseline (which contains 690.12) rather than a local rule of its own.

adopting ordinance + code silence checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Ordinance-No.-2025-524-Repealing-Ordinance-No.-2022-504-and-adopting-a-new-chapter-4-of-Title-15-2025-California-Building-Stan.pdf

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedFull-text searched GMC Ch. 15.14, both fire-code-amendment PDFs (2022 and 2025/current), and the Title 15 building chapters for a placard specification tied to PV service equipment; the only placard language found in either fire-code-amendment PDF concerns 'Identification Placard for Above-Ground Tanks' (flammable/LP-gas/hydrogen tanks), unrelated to PV disconnects.

https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/Ordinance-No.-2026-527-California-Fire-Code-Update-6-23-2026.pdf

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No

Why the confidence is not higherControl-checked full-text search (see q38) of the current local fire-code-amendment ordinance and GMC Ch. 15.14 found no PV-specific placard wording of the City's own; the only placard wording present in the local amendments is the above-ground-tank identification placard, unrelated to solar.

code of ordinances (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/Ordinance-No.-2026-527-California-Fire-Code-Update-6-23-2026.pdf

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No

Why the confidence is not higherSame control-checked search as q38/q39 -- no letter-height, colour or material specification for PV signage appears anywhere in the local fire-code amendments or GMC Ch. 15.14.

code of ordinances (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/Ordinance-No.-2026-527-California-Fire-Code-Update-6-23-2026.pdf

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched GMC Ch. 15.14 and both fire-code-amendment PDFs for a site-plan/facility-map placard (705.10-style) requirement; none found locally. Baseline NEC 705.10/CFC 605.11 marking would apply by reference through the unamended state code, not independently retrieved this run.

https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/Ordinance-No.-2026-527-California-Fire-Code-Update-6-23-2026.pdf

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedAttempted to reach PG&E's Rule 21/interconnection handbook ('Greenbook') and solar pages directly; every guessed PG&E URL returned a generic 404 template. No utility-specific placard requirement retrieved this run.

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as q38/41 -- no City-specific label-placement instruction found in the local code or fire amendments; utility-side placement rules (see q42) also not retrieved this run.

https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/Ordinance-No.-2026-527-California-Fire-Code-Update-6-23-2026.pdf

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Yes -- listed/certified equipment only, per accredited testing laboratories

Why the confidence is not higherGMC §15.14.040(B)-(C): electrical PV equipment must meet standards from 'accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories,' and solar water-heating systems must be 'certified by an accredited listing agency as defined by the California Plumbing and Mechanical Code.' This is a listing/certification requirement rather than a City-maintained equipment list.

code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42561649#42561649

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Batteries/ESS are not addressed in GMC Ch. 15.14 (the small-residential-PV chapter) or in the local fire-code amendments, but the City's Fire Department charges its own 'Battery systems' Required Construction Permit at full cost recovery under CFC §105.7

Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule (Res. 2024-78, approved 12/10/2024), Fire Department 'Required Construction Permits (105.7.1-105.7.18)' table: 'Battery systems ... Full cost recovery.' No corresponding technical rule (clearances, enclosure, siting) was found in the local fire-code-amendment PDFs (control-checked absence, see q36).

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/12/Master-Fee-Schedule-FY-2024-25-Approved-12-10-2024.pdf

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

Yes -- the Fire Department requires its own separate 'Battery systems' construction permit (full cost recovery), distinct from the Building Department's PV permit

Why the confidence is not higherSame Fire Department fee-schedule line as q45: 'Battery systems' appears as its own entry in the Required Construction Permits table, separate from 'Solar photovoltaic power systems' ($120) and from the Building Department's PV package.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/12/Master-Fee-Schedule-FY-2024-25-Approved-12-10-2024.pdf

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched Title 15 (Building) and Title 18 (Zoning) for a 'ground-mounted' or 'ground mount' definition applicable to solar; the only 'ground-mounted' hit in either title concerns directional/monument sign structures (height/area limits), not solar arrays or accessory structures generally.

https://ecode360.com/GU4932

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedAttempted to reach PG&E's interconnection/Rule 21 requirements for AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter; every guessed PG&E URL returned a generic 404 template, and no City document addresses AC-disconnect placement.

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How is an inspection booked? Phone 78% · department page + code
    • How much notice is required? 2 business days 92% · code of ordinances
    • Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Yes -- a 2-hour inspection window is provided for eligible small residential PV; general (non-solar) building inspections otherwise run only Tuesdays and Thursdays 85% · code of ordinances
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    • Which inspections are required, and in what order? One inspection only (final), performed by the Building Division, for systems eligible for the expedited small-residential-PV review; multiple inspections only if the applicant voluntarily waives the single-inspection rule in writing 92% · code of ordinances
    • Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 85% · code of ordinances
  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

    • Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Likely yes, though not stated as a discrete checklist item 50% · inference from code
  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

    • Is there a re-inspection fee? $99 (up to 1 hour, Building Department's general re-inspection fee; no PV-specific re-inspection line exists) 78% · fee schedule
    • How are corrections issued and cleared? A written correction notice detailing all deficiencies and any additional required information/documentation is sent to the applicant for resubmission 90% · code of ordinances

14 questions answered against City of Guadalupe’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Phone

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Department page: '*Building Permit Inspections Schedule* Building permit inspections are conducted every Tuesday and Thursday. (805) 356.3903' is the only booking channel published; GMC §15.14.060(I) requires scheduling 'within 2 business days of a request' for eligible small residential PV specifically, which supersedes the Tuesday/Thursday-only cadence for solar.

department page + code checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/building-department/

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

2 business days

Why the confidence is not higherGMC §15.14.060(I): 'An inspection will be scheduled within 2 business days of a request and provide a 2-hour inspection window.'

code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42561649#42561649

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

Yes -- a 2-hour inspection window is provided for eligible small residential PV; general (non-solar) building inspections otherwise run only Tuesdays and Thursdays

Why the confidence is not higherGMC §15.14.060(I) (2-hour window for solar); Building Department page ('Building permit inspections are conducted every Tuesday and Thursday') for the general baseline.

code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42561649#42561649

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherGMC §15.14.060(H): 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by the Building Division for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review.'

code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42561649#42561649

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

N/A -- self-performed by the City's own Building Division, not delegated to an outside agency

Why the confidence is not higherGMC §15.14.060(H) assigns the single required inspection to the Building Division itself. Note: the Building Department's own contact page names its Building Inspector/Official as 'JAS Pacific Inspectors,' a contracted inspection firm staffing that in-house Division role, rather than an outside agency holding independent jurisdiction.

code of ordinances + department page checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/building-department/

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

One inspection only (final), performed by the Building Division, for systems eligible for the expedited small-residential-PV review; multiple inspections only if the applicant voluntarily waives the single-inspection rule in writing

Why the confidence is not higherGMC §15.14.060(H): '...the applicant may voluntarily waive the requirement for a single inspection and agree to multiple inspections on an agreed upon schedule. Any such waiver and agreed upon schedule shall be in writing.'

code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42561649#42561649

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

No

Why the confidence is not higherGMC §15.14.060(H) limits eligible small residential PV to a single required inspection performed by the Building Division, which forecloses a mandatory separate rough-in/mid-roof inspection unless the applicant voluntarily agrees to a multi-inspection schedule in writing.

code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42561649#42561649

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Likely yes, though not stated as a discrete checklist item

Why the confidence is not higherGMC §15.14.040(B)-(C) requires PV equipment to meet UL/IEEE listing/certification standards, which would practically require the Building Division's single field inspection to confirm listing labels are present, but no document explicitly enumerates 'verify labels/listings' as an inspection step.

inference from code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42561649#42561649

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedGMC §15.14.050(D) directs the Building Department to 'adopt a standard plan and checklist of all requirements' for expedited PV eligibility; the Building Department's page lists every other permit-related PDF it publishes (application forms, ADU requirements, EV-charging checklist, fee schedule) and none is a PV/solar checklist.

https://cityofguadalupe.org/building-department/

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo published PV checklist exists (see q57) to specify what must be on site at inspection, and GMC Ch. 15.14 text does not itself list on-site document requirements.

https://cityofguadalupe.org/building-department/

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

$99 (up to 1 hour, Building Department's general re-inspection fee; no PV-specific re-inspection line exists)

Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule (Res. 2024-78, approved 12/10/2024), Miscellaneous Building Permit Fees: 'Re-inspection (up to 1 hour) $99.' (The Electrical/Mechanical/Plumbing section carries a separate $106 re-inspection line, but the PV permit is billed under the Building/Miscellaneous section -- see q4.)

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofguadalupe.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/12/Master-Fee-Schedule-FY-2024-25-Approved-12-10-2024.pdf

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

A written correction notice detailing all deficiencies and any additional required information/documentation is sent to the applicant for resubmission

Why the confidence is not higherGMC §15.14.060(G): 'If an application is deemed incomplete, a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies in the application and any additional information or documentation required to be eligible for expedited permit issuance shall be sent to the applicant for resubmission.'

code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42561649#42561649

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedGMC Ch. 15.14 does not name what document/tag is issued on a passed inspection (no 'CO'/'Final'/'Green tag'/'Letter' terminology used); the Master Fee Schedule's 'Certificate of Occupancy' fee line is tied to new construction/occupancy changes generally, with no stated link to the single PV field inspection.

https://ecode360.com/42561649#42561649

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo City document or retrieved PG&E page states who submits Permission-to-Operate paperwork to the utility; PG&E's interconnection/NEM pages could not be reached this run (see q23, q42, q48).

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Guadalupe against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Guadalupe is the authority having jurisdiction 88% confidence
Holds
Building and Electrical for residential rooftop PV (Building Division, one combined permit package); the in-house Fire Department separately holds its own CFC §105.7 construction-permit authority over 'Solar photovoltaic power systems' ($120 flat) and 'Battery systems' (full cost recovery), but performs no separate field inspection for small residential PV -- GMC §15.14.060(H) limits the single required inspection to the Building Division.
Delegated to
Building inspection/plan-check staffing is contracted to JAS Pacific Inspectors (named as 'Building Inspector/Official' on the City's own Building Department contact page, on a generic city email address); legal permitting authority itself remains with the City.
Overridden by
CA Gov. Code §65850.5 (AB 2188) mandates the expedited/streamlined solar permitting process codified locally as GMC Ch. 15.14; Civil Code §714 (Solar Rights Act) limits HOA/CC&R restriction (GMC §15.14.060(F)); AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) bars the City from adopting any residential building-code amendment more restrictive than the state code from 1 Oct 2025 through 1 Jun 2031.
Why not higher
GMC Ch. 15.14 (Ord. 2017-464) codifies the City's Building Division as AHJ for small residential rooftop PV, consistent with the state-mandated expedited process. The City's own Building Department page independently confirms a contracted inspection firm (JAS Pacific Inspectors) staffs the Building Inspector/Official role, and the Master Fee Schedule confirms the in-house Fire Department separately bills its own PV/battery construction permits under CFC §105.7 even though it performs no separate field inspection under the expedited path.

https://ecode360.com/42561649#42561649

Permit required
Yes95%
Permit cost
$135 flat Building 'site visit' fee + $23 per panel (discounted PV rate), plus a separate $120 flat Fire Department 'Solar photovoltaic power systems' construction-permit fee under CFC…85%
Plan review
Same day for over-the-counter applications if possible, otherwise within 24 hours; within 3 business days for electronic applications95%
Portal
None found -- no online permit portal75%
Electrical code
2023 NEC (adopted as the 2025 California Electrical Code)85%
Own placard wording
No80%
Booking an inspection
Phone78%
Labels & placards for this authority

Wording 80%

No

Size, colour & material 80%

No

Where they go None%

What the utility wants on top None%

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Santa Barbara County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of Guadalupe · city
Solar Requirements
Required placards
Building Department – The City of Guadalupe, California Skip to content QUICK LINKS Business Licenses Applying for a business license – To apply for a business license please complete an application. Your business tax certificate fee will be paid when you submit your application to the Finance Department. Open a Utility Account To open a new utility account in Guadalupe, please come to City Hall t
Authority Contact
Address
918 Obispo Street, Guadalupe, CA 93434
Main Phone
(805) 343-1340
Building Department
Department
Building Department
Direct Phone
(805) 356-3903
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
phone
Request an inspection
Notes
Inspections are conducted every Tuesday and Thursday only. Schedule by calling (805) 356-3903 or emailing buildinginspector@ci.guadalupe.ca.us or asaucedo@ci.guadalupe.ca.us. Alice Saucedo is the Permit Technician (ext. 3903); Bill Scott also listed under Building & Planning (ext. 3904). Building inspections are contracted to JAS Pacific. No online scheduling portal found. Office hours M–F 8:00 AM–4:00 PM. Applications and plans can be submitted in person or mailed to P.O. Box 908, Guadalupe, CA 93434. (collected Jul 2026)