City of Gustine
Merced County
City of Gustine is a city authority in the State of California, serving 6,110 residents. 740 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Not a published fixed figure; city states processing 'may take a few business days' and that the Building Department 'is not currently staffed full time' Q18 Where you file — Symbium (city-branded instance embedded at cityofgustine.com, symbium.com/embed) Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $306 flat (systems < 10 kW AC)80% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Not a published fixed figure; city states processing 'may take a few business days' and that the Building Department 'is not currently staffed full time'68% source
- Key document
- department page cited by 6 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · municipal ordinance
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · municipal ordinance
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 85% · fee schedule
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Rooftop and setback/height-compliant ground-mounted solar collectors are EXEMPT from planning permit requirements; the code adds, verbatim: 'Collectors that are not visible from off the site are subject to Architectural Review.' 68% · zoning ordinance
- Is there a historic-district review? No 85% · zoning ordinance (TOC)
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 60% · municipal ordinance
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No, for a compliant small residential rooftop system (exempt from discretionary planning review under §4-20-040); a non-conforming ground-mount (setback/height) would need to go through the standard zoning entitlement process instead, not a solar-specific one. 70% · zoning ordinance
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal, and only for single- or duplex-family dwellings (the AB 2188-era figure, unchanged) 95% · municipal ordinance
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 60% · department page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 90% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 55% · department form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic 65% · department page
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Symbium (city-branded instance embedded at cityofgustine.com, symbium.com/embed) 95% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? No 88% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $306 flat (systems < 10 kW AC) 80% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Flat (below the 10 kW/AB 2188 threshold); valuation-based above it 80% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No 88% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Not a published fixed figure; city states processing 'may take a few business days' and that the Building Department 'is not currently staffed full time' 68% · department page
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days (default 2025 CBC §105.5 permit-expiration rule; no local override found) 55% · municipal ordinance
- Which utility handles interconnection here? PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric) — inferred 55% · fee schedule (indirect)
28 questions answered against City of Gustine’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherGustine Municipal Code Title 4, Ch. 4, Art. 6 (Sec. 4-4-184 through 4-4-187) is the city's own codified 'Small Residential Rooftop Solar Permitting Procedures' implementing Gov. Code §65850.5; the Building Division (within Community Development) processes and issues the permits.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART6SMREROSOPEPR
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherThe same Title 4 Ch.4 Art.2 adopts the California Building, Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing, Fire, Green and Residential Codes (2025 editions) as one package enforced by the city's own Building Official/Building Division; no evidence of delegation to Merced County was found — the Building Division page states it 'processes building permits for any and all construction within City limits ... includ[ing] plan check and inspection services.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20210415050707/https://www.cityofgustine.com/pview.aspx?id=16182&catid=649
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSec. 4-4-186 requires the department to review and 'issue all required permits' for small residential rooftop solar; the fee schedule carries a dedicated 'Residential Solar < 10 kW' permit fee line, confirming a permit is required.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART6SMREROSOPEPR
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Master Fee Schedule prices 'Residential Solar < 10 kW' as a single $306 line under the section explicitly headed 'Fees ... Include All Applicable Permit Issuance, Inspection, and Plan Review Fees' — i.e. one combined building/electrical permit, not a separate electrical permit.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20210415155549/https://www.cityofgustine.com/files/documents/FeeSchedule-MasterScheduleofUserandRegulatoryFees1588043634011921PM.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherNot stated city-specifically; California's statewide owner-builder exemption (Bus. & Prof. Code §7044) applies by default and the city's own historical permit set includes an Owner-Builder Notice/Acknowledgment form, alongside the Online Solar Permitting page's requirement that *contractors* using Symbium hold an active license — neither source restricts who may pull the permit beyond that.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20250406104211/https://www.cityofgustine.com/pview.aspx?id=56287&catid=0
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherOnline Solar Permitting page: 'Contractors must have an active contractor's license for solar installation and current City of Gustine Business License' before using the city's Symbium permitting platform.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20250406104211/https://www.cityofgustine.com/pview.aspx?id=56287&catid=0
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherNot addressed on the current Solar/Building pages, which only discuss the contractor path; the city's own historical document set (Owner-Builder Acknowledgment and Information Verification Form; Owner-Builder Notice — State Law Requirement) shows the city processes owner-builder permits generally, consistent with the statewide owner-builder exemption. These specific forms were only confirmed in a 2008-era capture, so this is an inference rather than a current, solar-specific city statement.
department form checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/2019/http://www.cityofgustine.com/Owner-BuilderNoticeStateLawRequirementSTOP.pdf
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSec. 4-4-186(1)-(2) of the Municipal Code requires the department to 'develop a checklist of all requirements' and publish it on the city website, but no such standalone checklist document was found on the Building Division, Online Solar Permitting, or Document Center pages reachable via Wayback — the itemized list appears to live only inside the Symbium platform's dynamic intake, not as a separate published document.
https://web.archive.org/web/20250406104211/https://www.cityofgustine.com/pview.aspx?id=56287&catid=0
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic
Why the confidence is not higherSubmittal is made through the Symbium online platform ('upload plans' / 'unloading final plans at the time of application on Symbium'); the city states it 'does not currently have online payments for fees' and that applicants must print the permit and plans for the inspection site — so intake is electronic-only but the physical copy requirement shifts to after issuance.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20250406104211/https://www.cityofgustine.com/pview.aspx?id=56287&catid=0
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame checklist gap as Q8 — Sec. 4-4-186(1) requires one but none was found published outside the Symbium intake flow.
https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART6SMREROSOPEPR
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Sec. 4-4-184-187 (the whole solar article) and the Online Solar Permitting page; neither itemizes required drawings — technical submittal content appears to be handled entirely inside the Symbium platform's dynamic questionnaire, not published separately.
https://web.archive.org/web/20250406104211/https://www.cityofgustine.com/pview.aspx?id=56287&catid=0
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q11 — no published document itemizes calculation requirements.
https://web.archive.org/web/20250406104211/https://www.cityofgustine.com/pview.aspx?id=56287&catid=0
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Title 4 Ch.4 Art. 2 (Technical Codes) and Art. 6 (Solar) in full; neither sets a structural PE-stamp threshold. A generic structural-review trigger would come from the adopted 2025 CBC/CRC itself, but no Gustine-specific threshold document was found.
https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART2TECO
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q13 — no electrical PE-stamp threshold found in the adopted code or on the Building Division/Solar pages.
https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART2TECO
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$306 flat (systems < 10 kW AC)
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule, Building Fees §A, line 3: 'Residential Solar < 10 kW ... $306 ... per permit.' No line exists for systems ≥10 kW AC, which would fall to the general valuation-based Section B/C schedule instead. The only copy of this fee schedule found is an internally dated Jan. 19, 2021 PDF (no newer version located; live site is bot-walled — see note on other city-page answers), so a rate change since 2021 cannot be ruled out.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20210415155549/https://www.cityofgustine.com/files/documents/FeeSchedule-MasterScheduleofUserandRegulatoryFees1588043634011921PM.pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat (below the 10 kW/AB 2188 threshold); valuation-based above it
Why the confidence is not higherSame fee-schedule line as Q15 is a single flat dollar figure, not per-kW or per-panel; larger systems have no dedicated line and would default to the Section B valuation table.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20210415155549/https://www.cityofgustine.com/files/documents/FeeSchedule-MasterScheduleofUserandRegulatoryFees1588043634011921PM.pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe $306 'Residential Solar < 10 kW' line sits under the fee-schedule section explicitly headed 'Fees Shown In This Section Include All Applicable Permit Issuance, Inspection, and Plan Review Fees' — plan check is bundled, not billed separately.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20210415155549/https://www.cityofgustine.com/files/documents/FeeSchedule-MasterScheduleofUserandRegulatoryFees1588043634011921PM.pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Not a published fixed figure; city states processing 'may take a few business days' and that the Building Department 'is not currently staffed full time'
Why the confidence is not higherOnline Solar Permitting page's own caveat language; no numeric business-day SLA is published anywhere on the Building Division or solar pages found.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20250406104211/https://www.cityofgustine.com/pview.aspx?id=56287&catid=0
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days (default 2025 CBC §105.5 permit-expiration rule; no local override found)
Why the confidence is not higherGustine adopts the 2025 California Building Code (based on the 2024 IBC) via Sec. 4-4-31 with no amendment to the permit-expiration section; the standard adopted-code default (work not commenced/continued within 180 days) applies. This is inference from the adoption clause, not a Gustine-specific stated figure.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART2TECO
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Symbium (city-branded instance embedded at cityofgustine.com, symbium.com/embed)
Why the confidence is not higher'The City of Gustine has partnered with the Symbium company to establish an automated permitting platform' for solar; the page embeds symbium.com/embed directly. This link still appears in the city's own Aug 31, 2026 homepage navigation capture.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20250406104211/https://www.cityofgustine.com/pview.aspx?id=56287&catid=0
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
No
Why the confidence is not higherApplication and plan upload are online via Symbium, but the city 'does not currently have online payments for fees' (payment is arranged by email after the fact) and the applicant must print the issued permit and plans for the inspection site — the process is not end-to-end online.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20250406104211/https://www.cityofgustine.com/pview.aspx?id=56287&catid=0
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric) — inferred
Why the confidence is not higherGustine is not itself listed anywhere in its own department structure (Public Works covers only 'Water – Wastewater – Storm Drain,' with no Electric division) and its own 22-page Master Fee Schedule has a 'Water Fees' section but no electric-utility rate section at all, indicating no municipal electric utility; Merced County is otherwise PG&E territory (Merced Irrigation District, the area's other utility-like agency, provides irrigation water, not retail electricity). No Gustine- or PG&E-specific document naming PG&E as serving Gustine was reachable (pge.com returned 404s to the fetch tool) — flagged per the PowerToChoose caution as an inference, not a confirmed utility-side statement.
fee schedule (indirect) checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20210415155549/https://www.cityofgustine.com/files/documents/FeeSchedule-MasterScheduleofUserandRegulatoryFees1588043634011921PM.pdf
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Online Solar Permitting (Symbium) page and the Building Division page — neither describes where PG&E interconnection sits relative to city permit issuance or final inspection. Attempted PG&E's own interconnection/Rule 21 pages directly (pge.com/en/save-energy-and-money/energy-generation/interconnection.html and the outage map/service-area pages); all returned 404 to the fetch tool.
https://web.archive.org/web/20250406104211/https://www.cityofgustine.com/pview.aspx?id=56287&catid=0
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Rooftop and setback/height-compliant ground-mounted solar collectors are EXEMPT from planning permit requirements; the code adds, verbatim: 'Collectors that are not visible from off the site are subject to Architectural Review.'
Why the confidence is not higherZoning & Subdivision Code Sec. 4-20-040(B)(6) ('Solar collectors'). The final clause reads unusually (review triggered by NOT being visible offsite, rather than the more common reverse) — quoted as written rather than corrected, since that is what the adopted text says.
zoning ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=14704&nodeId=CO_ART2ALLAUSZODIST_CH4-20DELAUSAPRE
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherFull table-of-contents walk of both the Municipal Code (13 titles) and the Zoning & Subdivision Code (9 articles) turned up no historic-preservation title/chapter and no historic combining district; Ch. 4-28 'Combining Districts' contains only a Mixed-Use (MU) district, and Ch. 4-29 'Specialized Districts' contains only mobile-home-park and parking combining districts.
zoning ordinance (TOC) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/gustine/codes/zoning_and_subdivision_code
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherCalifornia does not use a Texas-Department-of-Insurance-style windstorm certification scheme; Gustine's own Technical Codes article (adoption + fees + violations + liability) and its Small Residential Rooftop Solar article were both read in full and contain no wind/windstorm certification requirement of any kind — wind loading is handled through the adopted CBC/CRC structural provisions generally, not a stand-alone certificate.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART2TECO
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No, for a compliant small residential rooftop system (exempt from discretionary planning review under §4-20-040); a non-conforming ground-mount (setback/height) would need to go through the standard zoning entitlement process instead, not a solar-specific one.
Why the confidence is not higherSec. 4-20-040(B)(6) exempts compliant rooftop and ground-mounted solar collectors from planning permit requirements outright; nothing in Title 4 Ch.4 Art.6 or the zoning code creates a solar-specific Use Permit or Council-approval pathway.
zoning ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=14704&nodeId=CO_ART2ALLAUSZODIST_CH4-20DELAUSAPRE
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal, and only for single- or duplex-family dwellings (the AB 2188-era figure, unchanged)
Why the confidence is not higherSec. 4-4-185 'Small residential rooftop solar energy system' definition, verbatim: 'no larger than ten kilowatts alternating current nameplate rating or 30 kilowatts thermal ... installed on a single or duplex family dwelling.' Adopted 2015 (Ord. No. 468) and not amended since.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART6SMREROSOPEPR
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 92% · municipal ordinance
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code / 2025 California Residential Code (based on the 2024 IBC/IRC) 92% · municipal ordinance
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (based on the 2024 International Fire Code) 90% · municipal ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 90% · municipal ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025-edition California Building Standards Code suite (CBC, CRC, CEC, CMC, CPC, CFC, CGBC, California Energy/Existing Building/Historical/Referenced Standards/WUI Codes) as locally amended, per Sec. 4-4-31; for the solar-specific definition, also Civil Code §714(c)(iii) per Sec. 4-4-185. 92% · municipal ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? No local ridge-setback/pathway amendment found; the default 2025 CFC (CRC R324/CFC 1205 series as adopted, unamended) pathway and setback rules apply. 65% · municipal ordinance
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, via the adopted 2023 NEC §690.12 (rapid shutdown) — the city's own code does not separately restate it, but it is part of the 2025 CEC package adopted wholesale. 65% · municipal ordinance
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? None specified by the city beyond the adopted state code 75% · municipal ordinance
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 80% · municipal ordinance
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No 80% · municipal ordinance
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Not specified separately by the city; the default NEC §705.10 labeling requirement applies as part of the adopted 2023 NEC/2025 CEC. 55% · municipal ordinance
- Where must the labels be placed? Not specified separately by the city; placement follows the default requirements of the adopted 2023 NEC/2025 CEC/2025 CFC as adopted (no local placement rule found). 55% · municipal ordinance
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Permitted, but only under the adopted state 2025 CFC/CRC/CEC as-is — no local battery/ESS ordinance, size limit, or fee exists. 70% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No dedicated ESS permit or fee line found 65% · fee schedule
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes, functionally 78% · zoning ordinance
20 questions answered against City of Gustine’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherSec. 4-4-31(3): 'California Electrical Code, 2025 Edition ... based on the 2023 National Electrical Code ... as adopted by the California Building Standards Commission,' adopted by Ord. No. 530, § 1(Att. A), 12-16-2025.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART2TECO
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code / 2025 California Residential Code (based on the 2024 IBC/IRC)
Why the confidence is not higherSec. 4-4-31(2) and (14), same adopting Ord. No. 530 (12-16-2025).
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART2TECO
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (based on the 2024 International Fire Code)
Why the confidence is not higherSec. 4-4-31(8), same adopting Ord. No. 530 (12-16-2025). Note: Title 7 Ch.5 'Fire Prevention and Protection' is only the volunteer-fire-department organizational chapter (membership, chief's duties, badges) — the fire code itself is adopted here, in the Building chapter, not in Title 7.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART2TECO
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSec. 4-4-31(2) adds a local Sec. 113.4 designating the City Council as the CBC Board of Appeals; Art. 5 (Safety Assessment Placards) and Art. 6 (Small Residential Rooftop Solar Permitting Procedures) are both wholly local additions to the adopted model codes.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART2TECO
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025-edition California Building Standards Code suite (CBC, CRC, CEC, CMC, CPC, CFC, CGBC, California Energy/Existing Building/Historical/Referenced Standards/WUI Codes) as locally amended, per Sec. 4-4-31; for the solar-specific definition, also Civil Code §714(c)(iii) per Sec. 4-4-185.
Why the confidence is not higherSec. 4-4-31 full adoption list; Sec. 4-4-185 solar-specific cross-reference.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART6SMREROSOPEPR
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Sec. 4-4-31/4-4-32/4-4-33/4-4-34 (the entirety of the Technical Codes article) — no service-upgrade or busbar-sizing amendment exists; only the base 2025 CEC (705.12) would apply by default.
https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART2TECO
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Sec. 4-4-184-187 (Solar article) and Art. 2 (Technical Codes) in full — no mounting-system or attachment-spacing specification exists in the adopted code; this content, if any, would live only inside the Symbium intake.
https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART6SMREROSOPEPR
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
No local ridge-setback/pathway amendment found; the default 2025 CFC (CRC R324/CFC 1205 series as adopted, unamended) pathway and setback rules apply.
Why the confidence is not higherSec. 4-4-31(8) adopts the 2025 CFC without listing any fire-code amendments, and Title 7 Ch.5 (the only other 'fire' chapter in the code) covers only volunteer-department organization, not technical fire-code content. No PV-specific pathway/setback provision exists anywhere in the code.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART2TECO
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, via the adopted 2023 NEC §690.12 (rapid shutdown) — the city's own code does not separately restate it, but it is part of the 2025 CEC package adopted wholesale.
Why the confidence is not higherSec. 4-4-31(3) adopts the 2025 CEC 'based on the 2023 National Electrical Code' without carving out or amending Article 690; the Small Residential Rooftop Solar article (Sec. 4-4-184–187) does not itself mention rapid shutdown, consistent with most small cities that rely on the adopted code rather than restating NEC text locally.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART2TECO
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
None specified by the city beyond the adopted state code
Why the confidence is not higherThe only 'placard' article in the code (Art. 5, 'Safety Assessment Placards,' Sec. 4-4-180–183) is a post-disaster building-safety-assessment tagging system (INSPECTED / RESTRICTED USE / UNSAFE) unrelated to PV disconnects, and the Solar Permitting article (Sec. 4-4-184–187) contains no signage provision at all — read in full, not just keyword-matched.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART5SAASPL
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame basis as Q38 — no city-authored placard wording exists anywhere in the code for PV/ESS equipment.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART5SAASPL
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame basis as Q38/Q39 — the Safety Assessment Placards article specifies letter/material rules only for its unrelated post-disaster tags, not for electrical/PV signage.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART5SAASPL
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified separately by the city; the default NEC §705.10 labeling requirement applies as part of the adopted 2023 NEC/2025 CEC.
Why the confidence is not higherNo facility map / site plan placard requirement appears anywhere in Title 4 Ch.4 (Building) or the zoning code.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART2TECO
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Online Solar Permitting and Building Division pages for any reference to a PG&E-specific placard/labeling requirement beyond the AHJ's — none found. Direct attempts to reach PG&E's own DG interconnection/Rule 21 handbook pages 404'd to the fetch tool, so PG&E's own document could not be checked directly.
https://web.archive.org/web/20250406104211/https://www.cityofgustine.com/pview.aspx?id=56287&catid=0
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified separately by the city; placement follows the default requirements of the adopted 2023 NEC/2025 CEC/2025 CFC as adopted (no local placement rule found).
Why the confidence is not higherNo labeling-location clause exists in Title 4 Ch.4 or the solar article.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART2TECO
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Title 4 Ch.4 Art. 2 and Art. 6 — no city-maintained approved-equipment list exists; only the general UL-listing requirement implicit in the adopted CEC/CFC would apply.
https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART2TECO
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Permitted, but only under the adopted state 2025 CFC/CRC/CEC as-is — no local battery/ESS ordinance, size limit, or fee exists.
Why the confidence is not higherThe Fire Fees section of the Master Fee Schedule (21 line items, control-checked for 'permit' n=72 hits, fabricated term 'zzqqx' n=0 hits) has zero battery/ESS/storage lines, and the Small Residential Rooftop Solar article (Sec. 4-4-184–187) does not mention batteries at all.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20210415155549/https://www.cityofgustine.com/files/documents/FeeSchedule-MasterScheduleofUserandRegulatoryFees1588043634011921PM.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No dedicated ESS permit or fee line found
Why the confidence is not higherSame fee-schedule control check as Q45 — Building Fees §A lists only 'Residential Solar < 10 kW,' no separate battery/ESS entry; a stand-alone battery addition would presumably default to the general valuation-based electrical permit fee (Section B/C) instead.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20210415155549/https://www.cityofgustine.com/files/documents/FeeSchedule-MasterScheduleofUserandRegulatoryFees1588043634011921PM.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes, functionally
Why the confidence is not higherZoning Sec. 4-20-040(B)(6) requires ground-mounted solar collectors to 'comply with the setback requirements and height limitations of the applicable zoning district' — i.e., treated like any other structure for those purposes — except that Sec. 4-30-090(B)(3)(c) separately exempts 'free-standing solar devices ... placed directly upon grade' and not exceeding 18 inches in height from the setback requirement specifically.
zoning ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=14704&nodeId=CO_ART2ALLAUSZODIST_CH4-20DELAUSAPRE
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo Gustine-specific AC-disconnect placement rule found in the adopted code; PG&E's own Rule 21/interconnection handbook would set this, but pge.com pages returned 404 to the fetch tool and no PG&E document could be reached to confirm.
https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART2TECO
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone / Email 60% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 88% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? N/A — not delegated 85% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? One inspection (final), unless the installation is found out of compliance with the California Building Standards Codes or a separate fire-safety inspection is required. 92% · municipal ordinance
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 85% · municipal ordinance
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- What must be on site at inspection? The issued permit and the approved plans, printed 88% · department page
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes (inferred) 55% · municipal ordinance
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $74 per inspection (applies from the 3rd inspection onward — i.e., after the second re-inspection) 75% · fee schedule
14 questions answered against City of Gustine’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone / Email
Why the confidence is not higherNo dedicated online inspection-scheduling tool is described; the Online Solar Permitting page tells applicants to 'Correspond via email for the quickest turnaround time' with the Building Department, whose only published contact is phone (209-854-6471) / email.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20250406104211/https://www.cityofgustine.com/pview.aspx?id=56287&catid=0
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Online Solar Permitting and Building Division pages — no stated notice period for booking an inspection was found; the site only says correspondence 'may take a few business days.'
https://web.archive.org/web/20250406104211/https://www.cityofgustine.com/pview.aspx?id=56287&catid=0
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the same two pages — no mention of same-day or AM/PM inspection windows; given the department is stated to be 'not currently staffed full time,' this seems unlikely but is not documented either way.
https://web.archive.org/web/20250406104211/https://www.cityofgustine.com/pview.aspx?id=56287&catid=0
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherOnline Solar Permitting page: 'If the City Inspector completing in the field find[s] the project differs...' — the city performs its own field inspection; the Building Division page states it provides 'plan check and inspection services' itself.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20250406104211/https://www.cityofgustine.com/pview.aspx?id=56287&catid=0
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — not delegated
Why the confidence is not higherConsistent with Q52: inspection is performed by the city's own Building Division/inspector, with no reference anywhere to a contracted inspection firm or Merced County performing this function.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20210415050707/https://www.cityofgustine.com/pview.aspx?id=16182&catid=649
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
One inspection (final), unless the installation is found out of compliance with the California Building Standards Codes or a separate fire-safety inspection is required.
Why the confidence is not higherSec. 4-4-187 (Inspection process), verbatim: 'Small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited, streamlined permitting process shall only require one inspection, unless the installation is found to be out of compliance ... or a separate fire safety inspection is required.'
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART6SMREROSOPEPR
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherDirect consequence of the one-inspection rule in Sec. 4-4-187 quoted at Q54 — no rough-in or mid-roof inspection is contemplated for a qualifying small residential system.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART6SMREROSOPEPR
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Yes (inferred)
Why the confidence is not higherNot stated explicitly, but the single field inspection is checked against 'the California Building Standards Codes' generally (Sec. 4-4-187), which as adopted include the NEC labeling (§690.12/705.10) and CFC placarding provisions — verification of labels/listings would fall within that general compliance check even though no document says so in as many words.
municipal ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART6SMREROSOPEPR
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Building Division, Online Solar Permitting, and Code Enforcement pages, plus the Document Center listing captured in the site's crawl history — no published PV inspection checklist (distinct from the Symbium intake) was found.
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
The issued permit and the approved plans, printed
Why the confidence is not higherOnline Solar Permitting page: 'Applicants have the responsibility of printing the permit and plans and having these available onsite prior to first inspection.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20250406104211/https://www.cityofgustine.com/pview.aspx?id=56287&catid=0
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$74 per inspection (applies from the 3rd inspection onward — i.e., after the second re-inspection)
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule, Building 'Other Fees': 'Re-inspection Fee (3rd Time or More) (each) $74 per inspection [b]', footnote [b]: 'Reinspection fee applies after second re-inspection.' Same internally-dated Jan. 2021 document as Q15 — flagged for possible staleness since no newer copy was reachable.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20210415155549/https://www.cityofgustine.com/files/documents/FeeSchedule-MasterScheduleofUserandRegulatoryFees1588043634011921PM.pdf
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo corrections/re-submittal process is described on the Building Division or Online Solar Permitting pages beyond the general re-inspection fee schedule.
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo city document states what is issued on a passed final (e.g. a specific 'final' card, green tag, or letter) — checked the Building Division and Online Solar Permitting pages.
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo Gustine-specific statement of who notifies PG&E for Permission to Operate; checked the Online Solar Permitting and Building Division pages. Direct attempts to reach PG&E's own NEM/interconnection process pages 404'd to the fetch tool.
https://web.archive.org/web/20250406104211/https://www.cityofgustine.com/pview.aspx?id=56287&catid=0
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Gustine against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Gustine is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (both), self-performed
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code §65850.5 (AB 2188) is what mandates the expedited/streamlined process that GMC Title 4 Ch.4 Art.6 implements verbatim; the CA Solar Rights Act/Civil Code §714 is cross-referenced directly in the local 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' definition (Sec. 4-4-185); PG&E's CPUC-approved Rule 21 governs interconnection sequencing but is not documented on any city page found. Suppression staffing for the Fire Department is contracted to CAL FIRE (CDF) per the city's own Fire Department page, but the Fire Code itself (2025 CFC) is adopted and lives inside the Building chapter (Sec. 4-4-31(8)) with no separate Fire Code Official appointment found anywhere in the code — i.e. fire-code enforcement authority was not found to be split out from Building.
- Why not higher
- Gustine's own Municipal Code Title 4, Ch. 4 (Buildings and Building Regulations) adopts the full 2025 California code suite (CBC/CRC/CEC/CMC/CPC/CFC/CGBC) and contains its own codified 'Small Residential Rooftop Solar Permitting Procedures' (Art. 6, Sec. 4-4-184–187); the Building Division (within Community Development) 'processes building permits for any and all construction within City limits ... includ[ing] plan check and inspection services,' and the city runs its own city-branded Symbium instant-permitting platform for solar. No reference to Merced County performing any part of building/electrical permitting or inspection was found anywhere on the city's site or in its code.
https://api.municode.com/CodesContent?productId=13559&nodeId=TIT4LADE_CH4BUBURE_ART6SMREROSOPEPR
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $306 flat (systems < 10 kW AC)80%
- Plan review
- Not a published fixed figure; city states processing 'may take a few business days' and that the Building Department 'is not currently staffed full time'68%
- Portal
- Symbium (city-branded instance embedded at cityofgustine.com, symbium.com/embed)95%
- Electrical code
- 202392%
- Own placard wording
- No80%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone / Email60%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 80%
No
Size, colour & material 80%
No
Where they go 55%
Not specified separately by the city; placement follows the default requirements of the adopted 2023 NEC/2025 CEC/2025 CFC as adopted (no local placement rule found).
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.