City of Half Moon Bay
San Mateo County
City of Half Moon Bay is a city authority in the State of California, serving 11,795 residents. 746 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — General Building Plan Check (outsourced consultant): 'at least 10 business days.' Solar/PV via Symbium: compliance is checked instantly/automatically, Q18 Where you file — Symbium (for Residential Solar PV/ESS specifically -- symbium.com/instantpermitting/solar/apply, integrated with the City); Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- City Building fee: $450 flat (residential, up to 15 kW), plus $15/kW above 15 kW. Separately, Coastside Fire Protection District (fire-side) charges a flat $355 for 'Solar PV' or 'Energy Storage…90% source
- Plan review turnaround
- General Building Plan Check (outsourced consultant): 'at least 10 business days.' Solar/PV via Symbium: compliance is checked instantly/automatically,78% source
- Key document
- department checklist cited by 5 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 92% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 82% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · department page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 72% · fee schedule
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? The entire City of Half Moon Bay lies within the California Coastal Zone, and most discretionary development requires a Coastal Development Permit (CDP) reviewed by Planning under HMBMC Chapter 18.20 -- but the City's own Solar/PV/ESS-specific instructions (Symbium application page, PV Solar & ESS submittal checklist) do not mention a CDP or Planning sign-off requirement for rooftop residential PV, implying it is treated as exempt/ministerial for a typical rooftop retrofit. 60% · department page
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 88% · department page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 85% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 85% · department page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Per the City's 'PV Solar & ESS' checklist (min. sheet size 11x17): (1) Cover sheet/title page with abbreviations, electrical notes, jurisdictional notes, general notes, vicinity map, index; (2) Site Plan; (3) Site Plan, PV Array; (4) Installation details; (5) Electrical Line Diagram / breaker schedule (if applicable); (6) Elevations; (7) Labels; (8) Equipment Technical Specifications; (9) Structural details and calculations as needed. Title 24 energy documents and structural calculations may also be required depending on scope. 92% · department checklist
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic only, no hard copies. General submittals for the checklist are emailed to the Building Permit Technician (bcorrales@hmbcity.com) at minimum 24x36 sheet size, but the PV Solar & ESS section of the same checklist specifies a smaller minimum sheet size of 11x17. Solar/PV/ESS applications themselves are actually submitted through the Symbium online instant-permitting platform, not by e-mail, per the separate Solar page. 68% · department checklist
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes -- a Site Plan and a separate 'Site Plan, PV Array' are both required checklist items. 90% · department checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 85% · department checklist
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Structural details and calculations are required only 'as needed' -- the checklist gives no numeric threshold (e.g. panel weight, mounting type) that triggers a stamped structural submittal for PV. 50% · department checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Symbium (for Residential Solar PV/ESS specifically -- symbium.com/instantpermitting/solar/apply, integrated with the City); Cloudpermit (us.cloudpermit.com/hmbcity) for all other building permits and inspection scheduling. 92% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes, with caveat 82% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? City Building fee: $450 flat (residential, up to 15 kW), plus $15/kW above 15 kW. Separately, Coastside Fire Protection District (fire-side) charges a flat $355 for 'Solar PV' or 'Energy Storage System (ESS)' alone, or $659 flat for 'Solar PV with Energy Storage System (ESS)'. 90% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered 85% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Ambiguous -- the Master Fee Schedule's Solar/Photovoltaic line (Item II.6) is a standalone flat figure separate from the generic 'Building Plan Check Fee' (Item II.2, 65% of Building Permit Fee) shown above it, and Note [3] states the *total* of all mandated solar permit fees may not exceed the Gov. Code Section 66015 cap -- suggesting the $450 figure is meant to be inclusive of plan check rather than billed on top of it, but the City's own document does not say so explicitly. 55% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? General Building Plan Check (outsourced consultant): 'at least 10 business days.' Solar/PV via Symbium: compliance is checked instantly/automatically, then forwarded to the Building Permit Technician for over-the-counter issuance pending full system integration. 78% · department page
- Which utility handles interconnection here? PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric) 88% · department handout
28 questions answered against City of Half Moon Bay’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own 'Residential Photovoltaic Related Permits' and 'Applying for a Building Permit' pages describe the City processing and issuing residential Solar/PV/ESS permits itself through Symbium, forwarded to its own Building Permit Technician for issuance.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/972/Residential-Photovoltaic-Related-Permits
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherCity issues one Solar/PV/ESS permit covering building and electrical scope of work itself, but Building plan-check is confirmed outsourced to an unnamed consultant (Plan Checks page), and PV/ESS fire-code review and inspection is delegated to the separate Coastside Fire Protection District (its own fee schedule prices 'SOLAR SYSTEMS' plan review + inspection). 'Both' best fits what the City itself permits; the delegation is recorded separately in the jurisdiction block.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/183/Plan-Checks
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBoth the 'Residential Photovoltaic Related Permits' page and the Master Fee Schedule (Item II.6, 'Solar/Photovoltaic - per GC 66015') confirm a permit and fee apply to residential PV.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/972/Residential-Photovoltaic-Related-Permits
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee Schedule lists a single consolidated 'Solar/Photovoltaic' fee line (flat $450 up to 15kW, then per-kW) rather than separate building and electrical permit fee lines, and the City's Solar page describes one Symbium application covering the whole system -- inferred as combined rather than stated in so many words.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/7997/Master-Fee-Schedule-2026-27
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherSolar page states verbatim: 'Who can apply? Property owners, B, C-10 and C-46 contractors with an active California Contractor License' -- not restricted to a licensed electrician alone.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/181/Applying-for-a-Building-Permit
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCloudpermit instructions require contractors to 'Register as a Contractor' before creating a permit application, and the Solar page separately requires 'Business License is up to date' (via halfmoonbay.hdlgov.com) before applying; Symbium 'automatically verifies your contractor's and business licenses.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/181/Applying-for-a-Building-Permit
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Solar page explicitly lists 'Property owners' as eligible applicants alongside licensed contractors, and the City separately publishes a general Owner-builder Declaration form used for self-permitted work.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/181/Applying-for-a-Building-Permit
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Per the City's 'PV Solar & ESS' checklist (min. sheet size 11x17): (1) Cover sheet/title page with abbreviations, electrical notes, jurisdictional notes, general notes, vicinity map, index; (2) Site Plan; (3) Site Plan, PV Array; (4) Installation details; (5) Electrical Line Diagram / breaker schedule (if applicable); (6) Elevations; (7) Labels; (8) Equipment Technical Specifications; (9) Structural details and calculations as needed. Title 24 energy documents and structural calculations may also be required depending on scope.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly enumerated in the City's own 'Residential / Commercial Submittal Checklist' (Community Development Department), extracted via pdftotext from the PDF text layer, PV Solar/ESS section.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/208/Submittal-Checklist-PDF
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic only, no hard copies. General submittals for the checklist are emailed to the Building Permit Technician (bcorrales@hmbcity.com) at minimum 24x36 sheet size, but the PV Solar & ESS section of the same checklist specifies a smaller minimum sheet size of 11x17. Solar/PV/ESS applications themselves are actually submitted through the Symbium online instant-permitting platform, not by e-mail, per the separate Solar page.
Why the confidence is not higherThe Submittal Checklist states 'All submittals are electronic (no hard copies) and emailed to bcorrales@hmbcity.com' with a general 24x36 minimum, then separately lists an 11x17 minimum specifically for the PV Solar & ESS section -- but the City's own Solar-specific page describes routing through Symbium instead, so which route applies to which size/type of PV project is not fully reconciled across the two City documents.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/208/Submittal-Checklist-PDF
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes -- a Site Plan and a separate 'Site Plan, PV Array' are both required checklist items.
Why the confidence is not higherSubmittal Checklist PV Solar & ESS section lists 'Site Plan' and 'Site Plan, PV Array' as items 2 and 3.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/208/Submittal-Checklist-PDF
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherChecklist item 5, 'Electrical Line Diagram / breaker schedule (if applicable)', is a required PV Solar & ESS submittal item.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/208/Submittal-Checklist-PDF
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's PV Solar & ESS Submittal Checklist -- lists an 'Electrical Line Diagram / breaker schedule' item but does not separately require or describe string/conductor ampacity calculations
https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/208/Submittal-Checklist-PDF
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Structural details and calculations are required only 'as needed' -- the checklist gives no numeric threshold (e.g. panel weight, mounting type) that triggers a stamped structural submittal for PV.
Why the confidence is not higherChecklist item 9 reads only 'Structural details and calculations as needed,' with no stated threshold; the City's outsourced Building Plan Check consultant likely determines this case-by-case, but that is inference.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/208/Submittal-Checklist-PDF
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Solar & ESS Submittal Checklist and Forms-Publications-Codes page -- neither states an electrical PE-stamp threshold; the municipal code (which would carry any local amendment on this) could not be reached (eCode360/HA4470 returns a Cloudflare bot challenge to automated fetch)
https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/208/Submittal-Checklist-PDF
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
City Building fee: $450 flat (residential, up to 15 kW), plus $15/kW above 15 kW. Separately, Coastside Fire Protection District (fire-side) charges a flat $355 for 'Solar PV' or 'Energy Storage System (ESS)' alone, or $659 flat for 'Solar PV with Energy Storage System (ESS)'.
Why the confidence is not higherCity figure from the FY2026-27 Master Fee Schedule, Item II.6 ('Solar/Photovoltaic - per GC 66015'), positive control ('electrical', 4 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) both passed. CFPD figures from CFPD's own current Fee Schedule, 'SOLAR SYSTEMS' section, positive control ('inspection', 29 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) both passed.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/7997/Master-Fee-Schedule-2026-27
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered
Why the confidence is not higherCity fee is flat up to a 15 kW breakpoint then per-kW above it; CFPD's fee is flat per category (PV / PV+ESS / ESS) -- closest fit to 'Tiered' among the given options.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/7997/Master-Fee-Schedule-2026-27
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Ambiguous -- the Master Fee Schedule's Solar/Photovoltaic line (Item II.6) is a standalone flat figure separate from the generic 'Building Plan Check Fee' (Item II.2, 65% of Building Permit Fee) shown above it, and Note [3] states the *total* of all mandated solar permit fees may not exceed the Gov. Code Section 66015 cap -- suggesting the $450 figure is meant to be inclusive of plan check rather than billed on top of it, but the City's own document does not say so explicitly.
Why the confidence is not higherThe fee schedule's structure (a separate numbered Solar line, distinct from the generic Plan Check line, with a fee-cap note) supports an inclusive reading, but no City document states directly whether a separate solar plan-check charge is or is not additionally billed.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/7997/Master-Fee-Schedule-2026-27
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
General Building Plan Check (outsourced consultant): 'at least 10 business days.' Solar/PV via Symbium: compliance is checked instantly/automatically, then forwarded to the Building Permit Technician for over-the-counter issuance pending full system integration.
Why the confidence is not higherPlan Checks page states the 10-business-day figure for general Building Plan Check; the Solar/PV-specific page describes Symbium's review as instant, with over-the-counter issuance following -- no single stated business-day figure exists for the solar-specific path itself.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/183/Plan-Checks
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAttempted the City's codified Building Code chapter (adopted 2025 CBC, Sec. 105.5 permit-validity provisions would carry any local amendment) via codepublishing.com -- which now redirects to General Code's eCode360 platform (ecode360.com/HA4470) -- which returns HTTP 403 with 'cf-mitigated: challenge' (a live Cloudflare bot-management challenge) to automated fetch, tried both bare and with the standard iccsafe.org Referer header; no Wayback Machine capture of the eCode360 URL exists yet
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Symbium (for Residential Solar PV/ESS specifically -- symbium.com/instantpermitting/solar/apply, integrated with the City); Cloudpermit (us.cloudpermit.com/hmbcity) for all other building permits and inspection scheduling.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth platforms are named explicitly and repeatedly across the Applying-for-a-Building-Permit, Building, and Residential Photovoltaic Related Permits pages, with Solar/PV/ESS specifically routed to Symbium rather than Cloudpermit.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/181/Applying-for-a-Building-Permit
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes, with caveat
Why the confidence is not higherSolar page: 'You don't have to leave Symbium to submit and pay ... for your permit application,' but also states 'online payment currently not available' -- so submittal/plan-compliance is fully online but payment currently is not.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/972/Residential-Photovoltaic-Related-Permits
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric)
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Generator Permitting Checklist bulletin instructs applicants to 'Never connect a generator to another power source, including PG&E power supply lines' -- naming PG&E as the serving utility; the City has no municipal utility and sits within PG&E's Peninsula/coastside service territory.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/4805/Residential-and-Non-Residential-Checklist-for-Permitting-Electric-Vehicles-EV
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedApplying-for-a-Building-Permit page, Residential Photovoltaic Related Permits page, Generator/EVSE checklist -- none state whether PG&E interconnection must precede, follow, or run parallel to City permit issuance
https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/972/Residential-Photovoltaic-Related-Permits
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Solar & ESS Submittal Checklist and Solar/Symbium application instructions -- neither lists HOA or architectural approval among required submittal items (the City does have an Architectural Advisory Committee for other project types, but it is not referenced on either solar-specific page)
https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/208/Submittal-Checklist-PDF
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCoastal Development Permit page and the PV Solar & ESS Submittal Checklist -- neither mentions a historic-district review requirement for residential rooftop PV
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedForms-Publications-Codes page ('Design Requirements' section cites generic CBC wind-design sections 1609.3/1609.4/1609.5) and the PV Solar & ESS checklist -- neither describes a distinct 'windstorm certification' document or process specific to PV
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
The entire City of Half Moon Bay lies within the California Coastal Zone, and most discretionary development requires a Coastal Development Permit (CDP) reviewed by Planning under HMBMC Chapter 18.20 -- but the City's own Solar/PV/ESS-specific instructions (Symbium application page, PV Solar & ESS submittal checklist) do not mention a CDP or Planning sign-off requirement for rooftop residential PV, implying it is treated as exempt/ministerial for a typical rooftop retrofit.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the absence of any CDP/Planning reference on the City's dedicated solar pages, set against the City's general Coastal Development Permit page which does not itself list an exemption for rooftop solar; not a direct City statement either way.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/161/Coastal-Development-Permit
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMaster Fee Schedule (15 kW figure is a fee-tier breakpoint, not a stated cap), PV Solar & ESS Submittal Checklist, Applying-for-a-Building-Permit page -- none state a residential system-size cap; the zoning title (HMBMC Title 18) that might carry one could not be reached due to the eCode360 Cloudflare block
https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/7997/Master-Fee-Schedule-2026-27
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 72% · department page
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (effective 1 January 2026) 92% · department page
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code, as adopted with local amendments by Coastside Fire Protection District Ordinance 2025-05 (introduced 22 Oct 2025, adopted 25 Feb 2026; effective 30 days after adoption AND after ratification by both the City of Half Moon Bay and the County of San Mateo). 85% · special district ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes -- CFPD's 2025 CFC adoption carries numerous local amendments (e.g. Section 903.2.8.1.1 adds NFPA 13D+ sprinkler requirements for all Group R-3 occupancies regardless of size; Section 903.6.1 mandates retrofit sprinklers on substantial alterations; Section 105.5.60 adds a Special Event operational permit; Board of Appeals composition amendments). None found are solar-specific. 80% · special district ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building/Residential/Electrical Codes (City) and the 2025 California Fire Code as locally amended by Coastside Fire Protection District Ordinance 2025-05, plus the City's own Residential/Commercial Submittal Checklist and Symbium's automated State/local code-compliance check. 78% · department page
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Half Moon Bay on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12 as incorporated into the 2023 NEC-based CEC (2025 code cycle), and Symbium's automated compliance check screens for State code compliance for every PV application -- but no City document was found stating 690.12 by section number or describing the compliant boundary/labeling in the City's own words. 55% · department page
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 60% · department checklist
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? No formal citywide 'approved equipment list' was found; the checklist requires 'Equipment Technical Specifications' as a generic submittal item (implying standard code-listing verification) rather than referencing a City-maintained approved-products list. 50% · department checklist
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Batteries/ESS are permitted. They are submitted under the same 'PV Solar & ESS' checklist section as rooftop PV (Symbium's process also names 'battery, and energy storage systems' explicitly as eligible for the same instant-permit path). Separately, Coastside Fire Protection District charges its own flat fire fee for ESS: $355 for ESS alone, or $659 where PV is combined with ESS -- confirming the fire district applies additional/different review for ESS. 85% · department page + special district fee schedule
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No -- on the Building side, ESS is submitted within the same 'PV Solar & ESS' permit/checklist as PV rather than a distinct stand-alone City ESS permit. However, Coastside Fire Protection District bills ESS as its own separate fire-fee line item ($355) distinct from PV-only ($355) or PV+ESS combined ($659), implying a distinct fire-side review component when ESS is present. 62% · special district fee schedule
20 questions answered against City of Half Moon Bay’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's Forms, Publications & Codes page states 'Effective January 1, 2026: The City will comply with the 2025 California Building Standards Code'; California's 2025 triennial code cycle carries the CEC based on the 2023 NEC. No City document was found citing the CEC/NEC edition by name directly (municipal code chapter was unreachable -- see not_found list), so this is an inference from the stated code-cycle year.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/184/Forms-Publications-Codes
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (effective 1 January 2026)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Forms, Publications & Codes page and Applying-for-a-Building-Permit page both state directly: 'Effective January 1, 2026: The City will comply with the 2025 California Building Standards Code' / 'submittals need to conform with the current versions of the 2025 California Building Code.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/184/Forms-Publications-Codes
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code, as adopted with local amendments by Coastside Fire Protection District Ordinance 2025-05 (introduced 22 Oct 2025, adopted 25 Feb 2026; effective 30 days after adoption AND after ratification by both the City of Half Moon Bay and the County of San Mateo).
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated in CFPD's own ordinance and staff report, extracted via pdftotext from the PDF text layer; the ordinance's own Effective Date clause makes the 2025 CFC's local effect contingent on City/County ratification, which could not be separately confirmed as complete.
special district ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://www.coastsidefire.org/files/9e2a3eef4/022526+tab+3+Ord+2025-05+Adopting+CA+Fire+Code+2025+Edition.pdf
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes -- CFPD's 2025 CFC adoption carries numerous local amendments (e.g. Section 903.2.8.1.1 adds NFPA 13D+ sprinkler requirements for all Group R-3 occupancies regardless of size; Section 903.6.1 mandates retrofit sprinklers on substantial alterations; Section 105.5.60 adds a Special Event operational permit; Board of Appeals composition amendments). None found are solar-specific.
Why the confidence is not higherRead in full from CFPD's own adopting ordinance PDF (pdftotext -layout); positive control ('fire', 193 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) both passed. The City's own Building/Electrical/Residential code amendments could not be independently verified because the municipal code (moved from codepublishing.com to eCode360, ID HA4470) returns a Cloudflare bot challenge to automated fetch even with the standard iccsafe.org Referer header.
special district ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://www.coastsidefire.org/files/9e2a3eef4/022526+tab+3+Ord+2025-05+Adopting+CA+Fire+Code+2025+Edition.pdf
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Building/Residential/Electrical Codes (City) and the 2025 California Fire Code as locally amended by Coastside Fire Protection District Ordinance 2025-05, plus the City's own Residential/Commercial Submittal Checklist and Symbium's automated State/local code-compliance check.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the City's Forms/Codes page (2025 CBC), CFPD's ordinance (2025 CFC), and the Solar page's description of Symbium checking 'compliance with State and local regulations.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/972/Residential-Photovoltaic-Related-Permits
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Solar & ESS Submittal Checklist and Forms-Publications-Codes 'Design Requirements' section (which addresses underground electrical service generally, not busbar/service-upgrade rules for solar) -- no local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing for PV found; the Electrical Code chapter itself could not be reached (eCode360 Cloudflare block)
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Solar & ESS Submittal Checklist -- requires 'Installation details' generically but specifies no mounting system, attachment type, or spacing requirement of the City's own
https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/208/Submittal-Checklist-PDF
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCoastside Fire Protection District's current 2025 CFC adoption ordinance (read in full, pdftotext -layout, positive control 'fire' 193 hits / fabricated control 'zzqqx' 0 hits) -- contains no amendment to CFC Chapter 12 (Energy Systems) or Section 1205 (Solar), and no ridge-setback/pathway table; the City's own checklist gives no numeric setback figures either
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12 as incorporated into the 2023 NEC-based CEC (2025 code cycle), and Symbium's automated compliance check screens for State code compliance for every PV application -- but no City document was found stating 690.12 by section number or describing the compliant boundary/labeling in the City's own words.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the code-cycle year and from Symbium's description as a state/local compliance checker; the City's own checklist and handouts (unlike Tracy's) do not themselves cite NEC 690.12 or rapid-shutdown mechanics.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/972/Residential-Photovoltaic-Related-Permits
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Solar & ESS Submittal Checklist ('Labels' is listed as a generic single-word item) and CFPD's Documents and Standards page (no PV/ESS-specific standard among its 8 numbered 'CFR-xx' standards) -- no consolidated placard/label list found
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe Submittal Checklist requires a 'Labels' item generically but the City publishes no document specifying its own custom placard wording; default is NEC 690.56 wording, by absence rather than city statement.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/208/Submittal-Checklist-PDF
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Solar & ESS Submittal Checklist and CFPD's CFC adoption ordinance (Section 912.5 Signs is 'adopted in its entirety' with no PV-specific amendment text following it) -- neither specifies letter height, colour, or material for any PV/ESS placard
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Solar & ESS Submittal Checklist and the Solar/Symbium application page -- neither describes a site plan/facility-map placard (705.10) requirement of the City's own beyond the generic 'Site Plan' submittal items
https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/208/Submittal-Checklist-PDF
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedGenerator/EVSE checklist (names PG&E only re: meter tampering) and all other City solar pages -- no City-published citation of a PG&E-specific PV/ESS placard requirement beyond NEC/CFC defaults; would require PG&E's own Rule 21/interconnection handbook to confirm
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Solar & ESS Submittal Checklist -- 'Labels' is listed as a required item with no stated placement rule beyond that
https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/208/Submittal-Checklist-PDF
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
No formal citywide 'approved equipment list' was found; the checklist requires 'Equipment Technical Specifications' as a generic submittal item (implying standard code-listing verification) rather than referencing a City-maintained approved-products list.
Why the confidence is not higherChecklist item 8 requires equipment spec sheets but no City page or document references a separate approved-equipment list.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/208/Submittal-Checklist-PDF
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Batteries/ESS are permitted. They are submitted under the same 'PV Solar & ESS' checklist section as rooftop PV (Symbium's process also names 'battery, and energy storage systems' explicitly as eligible for the same instant-permit path). Separately, Coastside Fire Protection District charges its own flat fire fee for ESS: $355 for ESS alone, or $659 where PV is combined with ESS -- confirming the fire district applies additional/different review for ESS.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the City's Applying-for-a-Building-Permit page ('residential solar permit, battery, and energy storage systems'), the Submittal Checklist's combined 'PV Solar & ESS' section, and CFPD's Fee Schedule 'SOLAR SYSTEMS' line items.
department page + special district fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/181/Applying-for-a-Building-Permit
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No -- on the Building side, ESS is submitted within the same 'PV Solar & ESS' permit/checklist as PV rather than a distinct stand-alone City ESS permit. However, Coastside Fire Protection District bills ESS as its own separate fire-fee line item ($355) distinct from PV-only ($355) or PV+ESS combined ($659), implying a distinct fire-side review component when ESS is present.
Why the confidence is not higherNo separate 'ESS Permit' appears among the City's forms; CFPD's fee-line structure is the only evidence of a distinguishable ESS-specific process, and it is a fire-side fee, not a City building permit type.
special district fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.coastsidefire.org/files/3a8a54ac8/Coastside+Fire+Protection+District+Fee+Schedule+2024.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Solar & ESS Submittal Checklist (oriented toward rooftop PV -- 'Elevations', roof-facing items) and the Applying-for-a-Building-Permit Solar section -- neither addresses ground-mounted systems at all
https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/208/Submittal-Checklist-PDF
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Solar & ESS Submittal Checklist, Generator/EVSE checklist -- neither states AC-disconnect placement relative to the utility meter; this is typically governed by PG&E's own interconnection/DG manual rather than the City
https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/208/Submittal-Checklist-PDF
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal 90% · department page
- How much notice is required? For the legacy phone-hotline route: call before 3:00 pm for next-day inspection (roughly 1 business day's notice). No separate minimum-notice figure is published for online Cloudpermit scheduling. 65% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Yes -- Monday-Thursday mornings 8am-noon and afternoons noon-3pm; Fridays mornings only, 8am-noon (no Friday-afternoon inspections). 90% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Delegated 70% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? Coastside Fire Protection District (fire-code portion); an unnamed third-party consultant for Building plan check. 80% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Half Moon Bay on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes 85% · department checklist
- What must be on site at inspection? Not stated specifically for solar; general final-inspection pre-requisites listed by the City are: Business License current, Construction and Demolition Recycling Form submitted, and (residential only) the Smoke Detector and Carbon Monoxide Handout acknowledgement -- plus 'obtain final approval from all other applicable departments' before scheduling a final. 58% · department page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Is there a re-inspection fee? City (Building) reinspection fee: $298/hour, 2-hour minimum (i.e. $596 minimum), per the FY2026-27 Master Fee Schedule 'Building Hourly Rates (minimum 2 hours)' table. Separately, Coastside Fire Protection District charges a flat $304 'Missed Inspection' fee on the fire side. 78% · fee schedule
14 questions answered against City of Half Moon Bay’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Inspection page: 'All inspections are scheduled online through Cloudpermit,' with a legacy phone hotline retained only 'For Permits Issued Prior to February 7, 2025, and for inspections not listed in your online permit.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/182/Building-Inspection
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
For the legacy phone-hotline route: call before 3:00 pm for next-day inspection (roughly 1 business day's notice). No separate minimum-notice figure is published for online Cloudpermit scheduling.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Inspection page states the 3:00 pm/next-day rule for the hotline route explicitly; the Cloudpermit online-scheduling notice period is not stated on the page (only referenced via linked how-to videos, not reviewed here).
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/182/Building-Inspection
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Yes -- Monday-Thursday mornings 8am-noon and afternoons noon-3pm; Fridays mornings only, 8am-noon (no Friday-afternoon inspections).
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly on the Building Inspection page under 'Inspection Times and Days.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/182/Building-Inspection
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Delegated
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Plan Checks page confirms Building plan check is outsourced to an unnamed consultant, and Coastside Fire Protection District -- a legally separate special district -- performs its own fire-code plan review AND inspection of PV/ESS, confirmed by CFPD's Fee Schedule pricing 'SOLAR SYSTEMS' review and inspection as its own line items distinct from the City's Building fees. No City page names an in-house 'Building Inspector'; only a 'Building Permit Technician' and 'Code Enforcement' officer are named in the staff directory, so final building-side PV inspection could not be confirmed as strictly in-house either.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/183/Plan-Checks
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Coastside Fire Protection District (fire-code portion); an unnamed third-party consultant for Building plan check.
Why the confidence is not higherCFPD named explicitly as the District serving Half Moon Bay on the City's own Fire Protection page and staff directory (contact at paul.cole@fire.ca.gov); the Building plan-check consultant is confirmed to exist by the City's Plan Checks page but is never named on any City page found.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/446/Fire-Protection
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Inspection page and Cloudpermit how-to video titles ('How to Request Inspections') -- the page does not itself enumerate a required solar inspection sequence (e.g. rough vs final)
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Solar & ESS Submittal Checklist and Building Inspection page -- neither mentions a rough-in or mid-roof inspection stage for PV specifically
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Inspection page's 'Pre-Inspection Requirements' section -- lists general documentary pre-requisites (business license, recycling form, smoke-detector handout) but does not state that the inspector verifies labels/equipment listings at final
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own 'Residential / Commercial Submittal Checklist' PDF includes a dedicated 'PV SOLAR & ESS' section listing every required submittal item.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/208/Submittal-Checklist-PDF
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Not stated specifically for solar; general final-inspection pre-requisites listed by the City are: Business License current, Construction and Demolition Recycling Form submitted, and (residential only) the Smoke Detector and Carbon Monoxide Handout acknowledgement -- plus 'obtain final approval from all other applicable departments' before scheduling a final.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Inspection page's 'Pre-Inspection Requirements' section lists these items generally for all final inspections, not specifically for solar/PV.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/182/Building-Inspection
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
City (Building) reinspection fee: $298/hour, 2-hour minimum (i.e. $596 minimum), per the FY2026-27 Master Fee Schedule 'Building Hourly Rates (minimum 2 hours)' table. Separately, Coastside Fire Protection District charges a flat $304 'Missed Inspection' fee on the fire side.
Why the confidence is not higherCity figure is the general Building reinspection-fee line (no solar-specific reinspection fee line exists separately); CFPD figure is its own general 'Missed Inspection' fee, not solar-specific either.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/DocumentCenter/View/7997/Master-Fee-Schedule-2026-27
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Inspection and Plan Checks pages -- neither describes how correction items are issued or cleared (e.g. correction letter, plan resubmittal process) for a solar permit specifically
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Inspection, Applying-for-a-Building-Permit, and Residential Photovoltaic Related Permits pages -- none state explicitly what document (Final approval / Green tag / Certificate of Occupancy / Letter) is issued specifically on a passed solar/PV final inspection
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedResidential Photovoltaic Related Permits page, Applying-for-a-Building-Permit page -- neither states who (AHJ, installer, or PG&E itself) initiates Permission-to-Operate notification to PG&E after final sign-off
https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/972/Residential-Photovoltaic-Related-Permits
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Half Moon Bay against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Half Moon Bay is the authority having jurisdiction 88% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical for rooftop residential PV/ESS, via the Community Development Department's Building Division (permit issuance, plan-check coordination, final building/electrical inspection)
- Delegated to
- Two separate delegations found: (1) the City's own Plan Checks page states outright 'For Building Plan Check, we outsource the services of a consultant' -- the firm is not named on any city page found; (2) fire-code plan review AND inspection of PV/ESS is performed by the separate Coastside Fire Protection District (CFPD), a special district serving Half Moon Bay plus the unincorporated communities of Montara, Moss Beach, Princeton, El Granada and Miramar -- confirmed by CFPD's own Fee Schedule pricing 'SOLAR SYSTEMS' plan review+inspection separately from the City's Building fees, and by the City's own staff directory listing the CFPD contact at a @fire.ca.gov address (CAL FIRE contract staffing).
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code Section 65850.5/Section 65850.52 (automated/expedited residential solar permitting, implemented here via the state's Symbium Instant Permitting platform) and AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22), which bars any new more-restrictive local residential amendment 10/1/2025-6/1/2031.
- Why not higher
- The City's own Residential Photovoltaic Related Permits page and Applying-for-a-Building-Permit page confirm the City processes and issues residential Solar/PV/ESS permits itself (via Symbium, forwarded to the Building Permit Technician for over-the-counter issuance) -- so the City is the AHJ. But two qualifiers found in the City's own sources: (1) Building plan check is confirmed outsourced to an unnamed third-party consultant; (2) Coastside Fire Protection District (CFPD) is a legally distinct special district, not a City department -- and its own current fire-code adoption ordinance (Ord. 2025-05, adopting the 2025 CFC, introduced 22 Oct 2025 / adopted 25 Feb 2026) states in its own Effective Date clause that the ordinance 'shall be in full force and effect after it is ratified by the City of Half Moon Bay and The County of San Mateo' -- i.e. CFPD's own code authority is contingent on City ratification, a variant of the Sugar-Land-style split. Also worth noting: the entire City of Half Moon Bay sits within the California Coastal Zone (Coastal Development Permit page), though the City's own solar-specific submittal instructions do not route rooftop PV through CDP/Planning review.
https://www.halfmoonbay.gov/972/Residential-Photovoltaic-Related-Permits
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- City Building fee: $450 flat (residential, up to 15 kW), plus $15/kW above 15 kW. Separately, Coastside Fire Protection District (fire-side) charges a flat $355 for 'Solar PV' or 'Energy…90%
- Plan review
- General Building Plan Check (outsourced consultant): 'at least 10 business days.' Solar/PV via Symbium: compliance is checked instantly/automatically,78%
- Portal
- Symbium (for Residential Solar PV/ESS specifically -- symbium.com/instantpermitting/solar/apply, integrated with the City);92%
- Electrical code
- 202372%
- Own placard wording
- No60%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal90%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 60%
No
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.