City of Hanford
Kings County
City of Hanford is a city authority in the State of California, serving 57,990 residents. 8,765 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — Citizen Self-Service Portal (Tyler EnerGov), selfservice.cityofhanfordca.com/EnerGov_prod/SelfService Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $425 flat for 1-15 kW via standard review ($200 permit issuance + $225 plan check, itemized as 'includes P.I.93% source
- Key document
- fee schedule cited by 6 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · fee schedule
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · department page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 78% · fee schedule
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 68% · state statute
- Is there a historic-district review? No evidence residential PV triggers Hanford's Historic Review process; the city's Master Fee Schedule lists a generic 'Historic Review' (no charge) and 'Historic Designation/Detachment of Site' fee under the Planning Division, but this applies to designated historic sites/structures, and no document ties it to the solar permitting path 55% · fee schedule
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 80% · department page
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No - residential PV meeting the ministerial standard-plan/SolarApp+ path does not require a Specific Use Permit or Council approval; California Gov. Code §65850.5 requires ministerial, not discretionary, review of small residential solar systems statewide 78% · department page + state statute
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 10 kW AC (CEC rating) is the ceiling for the city's expedited Eligibility Checklist path; larger residential systems are not barred outright but fall out of the expedited/Standard-Plan process into full plan review (fee schedule's residential/small-commercial PV tier runs up to 49 kW before the commercial 50kW+ tier applies) 85% · published checklist
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 55% · standard plan form
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? No 62% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 52% · inference from state law + city page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Building Permit Application; Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Solar Photovoltaic Permitting; Inspection Guide for PV Systems; a Solar PV Standard Plan (central/string inverter or microinverter version); Structural Criteria for Residential Rooftop Solar Energy Installations (with engineer-stamped calcs if the array fails the Structural Criteria checklist) 90% · department page + checklists
- How many copies, and in what format? Digital upload only (PDF) via the Citizen Self-Service (EnerGov) portal; no physical-copy count is published 65% · department page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes - a roof-layout diagram showing all panels/modules, clear fire-access pathways, and the approximate locations of electrical disconnecting means and roof access points 82% · published checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 75% · standard plan form
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes 90% · standard plan form
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No PE stamp required if the flush-mounted array meets every item on the city's Structural Criteria checklist (zero snow load, not Wind Exposure D, standard wind region, etc.); if any item fails, project-specific drawings and calculations stamped and signed by a California-licensed civil or structural engineer are required 88% · published checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Citizen Self-Service Portal (Tyler EnerGov), selfservice.cityofhanfordca.com/EnerGov_prod/SelfService 95% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 88% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $425 flat for 1-15 kW via standard review ($200 permit issuance + $225 plan check, itemized as 'includes P.I. Fee'), or $157.50 flat if submitted through SolarApp+; +$15.00 per kW above 15 kW either way 93% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered/Flat: flat $425 (standard) or $157.50 (SolarApp+) covers 1-15 kW, then $15.00 per additional kW above 15 kW; commercial systems ≥50kW use a separate per-kW schedule 90% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes - $225.00, itemized separately within the $425 standard-path total (not itemized under the $157.50 SolarApp+ flat fee, which appears to fold plan review into the automated check) 85% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Not stated in any Hanford-specific document found; the statewide default under the 2025 CBC (Sec. 105.5) is 180 days from issuance (and 180 days between required inspections) unless locally amended, and no local amendment to that section was found 55% · inference from state code + city page silence
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 72% · city financial record (Warrant Register) + Utility Division page
28 questions answered against City of Hanford’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Solar Permits page describes issuing expedited residential PV and SWH permits directly.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/175/Solar-Permits
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule lists 'Electrical Unit Fees' and 'Photovoltaic Systems' both under the single 'COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT - BUILDING DIVISION' header; no separate electrical division exists.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2852/Master-Fee-Schedule-Fiscal-Year-20262027-PDF
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permits page: applicants must apply for an 'Expedited Solar Photovoltaic (PV)' permit.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/175/Solar-Permits
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee Schedule prices 'Photovoltaic Systems - Residential' as one combined line item ($425 total, includes permit issuance) rather than separate building and electrical permit fees; one Building Permit Application form covers the whole PV submittal per the Solar Permits page.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2852/Master-Fee-Schedule-Fiscal-Year-20262027-PDF
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Solar PV Standard Plan form has a 'Contractor/Engineer Name...License # and Class' field implying a licensed contractor is expected, but no city document excludes an owner-builder; CA B&P Code §7044 statewide allows homeowner self-permit and no local restriction was found on Application-Procedure, Building, or Solar Permits pages.
standard plan form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/120/Solar-PV-Standard-Plan---Simplified-Central-String-Inverter-Systems-PDF
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
No
Why the confidence is not higherSearched Application-Procedure, Building, and Facts-Information pages plus a site search for 'contractor registration' (122 hits, none describing a city pre-registration requirement beyond the general business-license tax, which is a revenue requirement not a permit-pulling prerequisite). Positive control 'electrical' (63 hits) and fabricated control 'zzqqx' (0 hits) confirm the site search functions.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/171/Application-Procedure
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherNo city document forbids owner-builder self-permit for solar; California statewide law (B&P Code §7044) permits it. Not stated explicitly on any Hanford page found, so this is inference from state default plus absence of a contrary city rule.
inference from state law + city page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/175/Solar-Permits
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Building Permit Application; Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Solar Photovoltaic Permitting; Inspection Guide for PV Systems; a Solar PV Standard Plan (central/string inverter or microinverter version); Structural Criteria for Residential Rooftop Solar Energy Installations (with engineer-stamped calcs if the array fails the Structural Criteria checklist)
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly listed on the city's own Solar Permits page, and confirmed by opening each linked PDF (DocumentCenter/View/120-124).
department page + checklists checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/175/Solar-Permits
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Digital upload only (PDF) via the Citizen Self-Service (EnerGov) portal; no physical-copy count is published
Why the confidence is not higherApplication-Procedure page instructs applicants to 'submit documents via Citizen Self Service Portal'; Building page states inspection/permit business has been portal-only since May 1, 2024. No page states a required number of paper copies.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/171/Application-Procedure
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes - a roof-layout diagram showing all panels/modules, clear fire-access pathways, and the approximate locations of electrical disconnecting means and roof access points
Why the confidence is not higherRequired by item D of the Fire Safety Requirements section of the city's own Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Solar Photovoltaic Permitting; document is dated 2015 (part of the statewide 'PV Toolkit' template, still the current live version on the city site) so exact numbering may not track the 2025 code cycle, but the roof-diagram requirement itself is a submittal item, not a code citation.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/124/Eligibility-Checklist-for-Expedited-Solar-Photovoltaic-Permitting-PDF
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Solar PV Standard Plan form requires a full electrical layout (module wiring per source circuit, inverter count, DC/DC converter data, voltage/series calculations) that functions as the one-line diagram for the expedited path; not labelled 'one-line diagram' verbatim in the document.
standard plan form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/120/Solar-PV-Standard-Plan---Simplified-Central-String-Inverter-Systems-PDF
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV Standard Plan requires string Voc calculations (Tables 1 and 2, CEC 690.7/690.11 based) and conductor/module count entries to be completed by the applicant.
standard plan form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/120/Solar-PV-Standard-Plan---Simplified-Central-String-Inverter-Systems-PDF
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
No PE stamp required if the flush-mounted array meets every item on the city's Structural Criteria checklist (zero snow load, not Wind Exposure D, standard wind region, etc.); if any item fails, project-specific drawings and calculations stamped and signed by a California-licensed civil or structural engineer are required
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted directly from the Structural Criteria for Residential Rooftop Solar Energy Installations document, section on non-qualifying items: 'One or more items are checked NO. Attach project-specific drawings and calculations stamped and signed by a California-licensed civil or structural engineer.'
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/122/Structural-Criteria-for-Residential-Rooftop-Solar-Energy-Installations-PDF
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedEligibility Checklist for Expedited Solar Photovoltaic Permitting; Solar PV Standard Plan (central-string and microinverter versions); Structural Criteria document - none states a distinct electrical (as opposed to structural) PE-stamp threshold
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$425 flat for 1-15 kW via standard review ($200 permit issuance + $225 plan check, itemized as 'includes P.I. Fee'), or $157.50 flat if submitted through SolarApp+; +$15.00 per kW above 15 kW either way
Why the confidence is not higherCity's current Master Fee Schedule, Fiscal Year 2026/2027 (PDF revision-stamped created 9 Jun 2026), Building Division section, 'Photovoltaic Systems - Residential & Small Commercial (up to 49kW)' table.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2852/Master-Fee-Schedule-Fiscal-Year-20262027-PDF
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered/Flat: flat $425 (standard) or $157.50 (SolarApp+) covers 1-15 kW, then $15.00 per additional kW above 15 kW; commercial systems ≥50kW use a separate per-kW schedule
Why the confidence is not higherSame fee-schedule table as q15.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2852/Master-Fee-Schedule-Fiscal-Year-20262027-PDF
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes - $225.00, itemized separately within the $425 standard-path total (not itemized under the $157.50 SolarApp+ flat fee, which appears to fold plan review into the automated check)
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule row breaks the $425 total into a $200 permit-issuance component and $225 plan-check component.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2852/Master-Fee-Schedule-Fiscal-Year-20262027-PDF
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding, Building Permits, Solar Permits, Application-Procedure, and Facts-Information pages - none state a plan-review turnaround time in business days
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Not stated in any Hanford-specific document found; the statewide default under the 2025 CBC (Sec. 105.5) is 180 days from issuance (and 180 days between required inspections) unless locally amended, and no local amendment to that section was found
Why the confidence is not higherDesign-Requirements-Codes page confirms 2025 CBC is adopted and does not list any amendment to the permit-expiration section; Application-Procedure, Facts-Information and Building pages do not state a validity period.
inference from state code + city page silence checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/178/Design-Requirements-Codes
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Citizen Self-Service Portal (Tyler EnerGov), selfservice.cityofhanfordca.com/EnerGov_prod/SelfService
Why the confidence is not higherNamed and linked from every Building Division page (Building, Building Permits, Inspections, SolarAPP+); mandatory since May 1, 2024 per the Building page.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://selfservice.cityofhanfordca.com/EnerGov_prod/SelfService#/home
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page describes the full cycle - application, payment, and automatic permit issuance - occurring in the Self-Service Portal without an in-person step; other permit types also submit and pay online through the same portal.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/1517/SolarAPP
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherNo Hanford document names SCE as the residential interconnecting utility directly, but two of the city's own primary sources support it: (1) the Utility Division page states the city bills only for water, sewer, and refuse - no municipal electric utility exists; (2) the city's own Warrant Register expenditure reports (e.g. Aug 2025, Dec 2025, Mar 2025) repeatedly show the City of Hanford itself paying 'SOUTHERN CALIF EDISON CO' for electricity service to its own facilities/street lights. PowerToChoose was not used.
city financial record (Warrant Register) + Utility Division page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2556
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity Solar Permits/SolarAPP+ pages describe no utility pre-approval step before permit issuance; SCE's own interconnection handbook (on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook) 302-redirects to the SCE homepage and the direct SCE interconnections page (sce.com/business/generating-your-own-power/interconnections) 404s, so the utility-side sequencing document could not be checked
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherCalifornia Civil Code §714/§4600 (Solar Rights Act) preempts any HOA/architectural-approval precondition to installing solar; no Hanford ordinance was found layering an additional local architectural-review requirement onto residential PV.
state statute checked 2026-08-30 https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=CIV§ionNum=714.
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No evidence residential PV triggers Hanford's Historic Review process; the city's Master Fee Schedule lists a generic 'Historic Review' (no charge) and 'Historic Designation/Detachment of Site' fee under the Planning Division, but this applies to designated historic sites/structures, and no document ties it to the solar permitting path
Why the confidence is not higherSite search for 'historic district solar' returned no relevant hits (positive control 'electrical' = 63 hits, fabricated 'zzqqx' = 0 hits, run this session); Historic Review fee line found in Master Fee Schedule Planning Division section but with no solar cross-reference.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2852/Master-Fee-Schedule-Fiscal-Year-20262027-PDF
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherCalifornia adopted codes do not use a separate 'wind certification' concept (that is a Texas/TDI practice); Hanford's Design Requirements page states the applicable design wind parameter directly (85 mph, Exposure C) for engineers/designers to use, with no separate certification document required.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/178/Design-Requirements-Codes
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No - residential PV meeting the ministerial standard-plan/SolarApp+ path does not require a Specific Use Permit or Council approval; California Gov. Code §65850.5 requires ministerial, not discretionary, review of small residential solar systems statewide
Why the confidence is not higherNo CUP/Council-approval requirement appears on the Solar Permits, SolarAPP+, or Zoning & Land Use pages; state law (Gov. Code §65850.5) mandates ministerial review for qualifying systems.
department page + state statute checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/175/Solar-Permits
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
10 kW AC (CEC rating) is the ceiling for the city's expedited Eligibility Checklist path; larger residential systems are not barred outright but fall out of the expedited/Standard-Plan process into full plan review (fee schedule's residential/small-commercial PV tier runs up to 49 kW before the commercial 50kW+ tier applies)
Why the confidence is not higherEligibility Checklist item A: 'System size is 10 kW AC CEC rating or less'; Master Fee Schedule PV table header: 'Residential & Small Commercial (up to 49kW)'.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/124/Eligibility-Checklist-for-Expedited-Solar-Photovoltaic-Permitting-PDF
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC, as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code (statewide code cycle, effective 1 Jan 2026) 85% · department page
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (CBC) 88% · department page
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (CFC) 80% · department page
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? No local amendment ordinance was located; the Design Requirements page lists only the base 2025-cycle state codes with no itemized local amendments, and AB 130 (Stats. 2025 Ch. 22) bars any new more-restrictive residential amendment from 1 Oct 2025 through 1 Jun 2031 in any case 62% · department page
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC/CEnC as adopted, plus the city's own Solar PV Standard Plan and Structural Criteria toolkit documents for systems using the expedited path 82% · department page + checklists
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Per the city's Inspection Guide for PV Systems (dated 2015, citing 2013 CFC 605.11.3/CRC R331.4): 3-foot wide clear access pathway from eave to ridge on hip and single-ridge roofs (two such pathways on single-ridge roofs); modules kept back at least 18 inches from a hip or valley if panels are on both sides of it; modules kept no higher than 3 feet below the ridge top 62% · published inspection guide (dated 2015)
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown is required under the currently-adopted 2025 CEC (module-level rapid shutdown per NEC 690.12, since the 2025 CEC is based on the 2023 NEC). The city's own published Inspection Guide for PV Systems still describes the older, pre-2017 array-boundary/directory scheme (citing 2011 CEC 690.4(H) and CEC 690.56(B)) - that document is dated 2015 and is now superseded on this specific point by the current code cycle stated on the Design Requirements page 70% · published inspection guide (dated 2015, flagged as outdated on this point)
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? WARNING: PHOTOVOLTAIC POWER SOURCE signage on conduits/enclosures; PHOTOVOLTAIC SYSTEM DISCONNECT labels on AC/DC disconnects; DC disconnect rating label (operating current/voltage, max system voltage, short-circuit current); AC output rating label at point of interconnection; a directory at the main service and PV inverter; shock-hazard warning labels on inverter/battery enclosures and ungrounded-circuit enclosures 78% · published inspection guide (dated 2015)
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Yes 85% · published inspection guide (dated 2015)
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? 3/8-inch (9.5 mm) minimum white letters on a red background, reflective weather-resistant material, for the 'WARNING: PHOTOVOLTAIC POWER SOURCE' conduit/raceway marking 85% · published inspection guide (dated 2015)
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Yes - a directory at the electrical service (and at the inverter, if in a different location) showing the location of the service disconnect and the PV system disconnect is required, per CEC 690.56(B)/705.10 80% · published inspection guide (dated 2015)
- Where must the labels be placed? At the main service disconnect (clearly visible from where operated); on all interior/exterior DC conduit, raceways, enclosures, junction and combiner boxes and disconnects, marked every 10 feet and within 1 foot of turns/penetrations; on the AC and DC disconnects; on the inverter; at the point of utility interconnection 80% · published inspection guide (dated 2015)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 85% · published inspection guide (dated 2015)
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Batteries are excluded from the city's expedited/Standard-Plan Eligibility Checklist path ('Solar system is utility interactive and without battery storage' is a pass/fail condition); systems with batteries can instead be submitted through SolarAPP+, which explicitly supports 'Solar and Storage Projects' with its own separate installer training module, or through standard/full plan review 82% · published checklist + department page
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No separate ESS permit/fee line was found; the Master Fee Schedule has no 'battery' or 'energy storage' fee item, and SolarAPP+ treats solar+storage as a single combined project submission 65% · fee schedule
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? For the expedited path, the PV system must interconnect to a single-phase AC service panel of nominal 120/240 Vac with a bus bar rating of 225 A or less; systems needing a larger or upgraded service fall out of the expedited Eligibility Checklist and require standard/full plan review 85% · published checklist
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Yes - the Structural Criteria document specifies flush-mount qualifying assumptions and supporting anchor-spacing/attachment tables (e.g. up to 6-foot cross-slope anchor spacing under stated conditions) for one- and two-family dwellings; non-qualifying layouts require an engineer-stamped design 75% · published checklist
20 questions answered against City of Hanford’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC, as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code (statewide code cycle, effective 1 Jan 2026)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Design Requirements & Codes page: 'Codes listed are the 2025 Edition unless otherwise noted' including 'California Electrical Code (CEC)', with no exception noted for CEC. Page does not state a specific ordinance number or effective date.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/178/Design-Requirements-Codes
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (CBC)
Why the confidence is not higherSame Design Requirements & Codes page, listed with no exception noted.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/178/Design-Requirements-Codes
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (CFC)
Why the confidence is not higherSame page lists CFC among the codes stated as '2025 Edition unless otherwise noted' with no exception flagged for CFC - checked specifically for a building/fire cycle split as instructed, and found none stated on this page. No separate fire-department adoption ordinance was located to confirm independently, so this rests on the Building Division's single summary page rather than the Fire Department's own page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/178/Design-Requirements-Codes
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
No local amendment ordinance was located; the Design Requirements page lists only the base 2025-cycle state codes with no itemized local amendments, and AB 130 (Stats. 2025 Ch. 22) bars any new more-restrictive residential amendment from 1 Oct 2025 through 1 Jun 2031 in any case
Why the confidence is not higherSearched for a Hanford building/electrical code adoption ordinance on Municode (empty Angular shell, no content returned) and via city document search; none of the city's own department pages itemize amendments. Cannot rule out an un-indexed amendment ordinance exists, so this is an absence proven only against the sources checked.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/178/Design-Requirements-Codes
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC/CEnC as adopted, plus the city's own Solar PV Standard Plan and Structural Criteria toolkit documents for systems using the expedited path
Why the confidence is not higherCombination of the Design Requirements & Codes page and the Solar Permits page's list of required standard-plan documents.
department page + checklists checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/175/Solar-Permits
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
For the expedited path, the PV system must interconnect to a single-phase AC service panel of nominal 120/240 Vac with a bus bar rating of 225 A or less; systems needing a larger or upgraded service fall out of the expedited Eligibility Checklist and require standard/full plan review
Why the confidence is not higherEligibility Checklist, Electrical Requirements item C.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/124/Eligibility-Checklist-for-Expedited-Solar-Photovoltaic-Permitting-PDF
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Yes - the Structural Criteria document specifies flush-mount qualifying assumptions and supporting anchor-spacing/attachment tables (e.g. up to 6-foot cross-slope anchor spacing under stated conditions) for one- and two-family dwellings; non-qualifying layouts require an engineer-stamped design
Why the confidence is not higherStructural Criteria document explicitly discusses anchor spacing tables and a 'probability of code noncompliance' analysis for six-foot cross-slope anchor spacing; full table detail not separately re-transcribed here.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/122/Structural-Criteria-for-Residential-Rooftop-Solar-Energy-Installations-PDF
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Per the city's Inspection Guide for PV Systems (dated 2015, citing 2013 CFC 605.11.3/CRC R331.4): 3-foot wide clear access pathway from eave to ridge on hip and single-ridge roofs (two such pathways on single-ridge roofs); modules kept back at least 18 inches from a hip or valley if panels are on both sides of it; modules kept no higher than 3 feet below the ridge top
Why the confidence is not higherThis document is dated 2015 and cites the 2013-cycle CFC/CRC section numbers, while the city's currently adopted fire/building code is the 2025 cycle; the current CFC/CRC section numbers for this same requirement were not independently verified, and the dimensions themselves (3 ft / 18 in / 36 in from ridge) are flagged in this document as unchanged historically, but that continuity was not confirmed against the actual 2025 CFC text.
published inspection guide (dated 2015) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/125/Inspection-Guide-for-PV-Systems-PDF
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Rapid shutdown is required under the currently-adopted 2025 CEC (module-level rapid shutdown per NEC 690.12, since the 2025 CEC is based on the 2023 NEC). The city's own published Inspection Guide for PV Systems still describes the older, pre-2017 array-boundary/directory scheme (citing 2011 CEC 690.4(H) and CEC 690.56(B)) - that document is dated 2015 and is now superseded on this specific point by the current code cycle stated on the Design Requirements page
Why the confidence is not higherDesign Requirements & Codes page confirms 2025 CEC (built on 2023 NEC, which requires 690.12 module-level RSD) is the code currently in force; the Inspection Guide PDF (creation date 5 May 2015) was read directly and contains the older array-boundary/directory language, which is the exact trap flagged for this survey.
published inspection guide (dated 2015, flagged as outdated on this point) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/125/Inspection-Guide-for-PV-Systems-PDF
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
WARNING: PHOTOVOLTAIC POWER SOURCE signage on conduits/enclosures; PHOTOVOLTAIC SYSTEM DISCONNECT labels on AC/DC disconnects; DC disconnect rating label (operating current/voltage, max system voltage, short-circuit current); AC output rating label at point of interconnection; a directory at the main service and PV inverter; shock-hazard warning labels on inverter/battery enclosures and ungrounded-circuit enclosures
Why the confidence is not higherFull Table 1 ('Signage Requirements for PV systems') of the city's Inspection Guide for PV Systems; document dated 2015, so some cited code section numbers (e.g. pre-2017 CEC numbering) may not exactly match the 2025 CEC's current section numbers even though the substantive labeling content is largely unchanged.
published inspection guide (dated 2015) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/125/Inspection-Guide-for-PV-Systems-PDF
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherTable 1 of the Inspection Guide gives verbatim required wording for each label (e.g. 'WARNING: PHOTOVOLTAIC POWER SOURCE').
published inspection guide (dated 2015) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/125/Inspection-Guide-for-PV-Systems-PDF
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
3/8-inch (9.5 mm) minimum white letters on a red background, reflective weather-resistant material, for the 'WARNING: PHOTOVOLTAIC POWER SOURCE' conduit/raceway marking
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Guide item 66, quoted directly.
published inspection guide (dated 2015) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/125/Inspection-Guide-for-PV-Systems-PDF
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes - a directory at the electrical service (and at the inverter, if in a different location) showing the location of the service disconnect and the PV system disconnect is required, per CEC 690.56(B)/705.10
Why the confidence is not higherRow in Table 1 of the Inspection Guide citing CEC 690.56(B)/690.14(D)(4)/705.10 and 2011 CEC 690.4(H) for the directory requirement.
published inspection guide (dated 2015) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/125/Inspection-Guide-for-PV-Systems-PDF
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE interconnection handbook and interconnections page - both dead as noted for q23 - and Hanford's own Solar Permits/SolarAPP+ pages, which do not restate any utility-specific placard requirement
https://www.sce.com/business/generating-your-own-power/interconnections
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
At the main service disconnect (clearly visible from where operated); on all interior/exterior DC conduit, raceways, enclosures, junction and combiner boxes and disconnects, marked every 10 feet and within 1 foot of turns/penetrations; on the AC and DC disconnects; on the inverter; at the point of utility interconnection
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Guide items 63-68 (Signs and Labels section).
published inspection guide (dated 2015) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/125/Inspection-Guide-for-PV-Systems-PDF
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Guide requires modules listed to UL 1703, AC modules to UL 1703/1741, inverters listed to UL 1741, and all equipment 'installed, listed and labeled according to the approved plan.'
published inspection guide (dated 2015) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/125/Inspection-Guide-for-PV-Systems-PDF
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Batteries are excluded from the city's expedited/Standard-Plan Eligibility Checklist path ('Solar system is utility interactive and without battery storage' is a pass/fail condition); systems with batteries can instead be submitted through SolarAPP+, which explicitly supports 'Solar and Storage Projects' with its own separate installer training module, or through standard/full plan review
Why the confidence is not higherEligibility Checklist General Requirements item D, cross-checked against the SolarAPP+ page's description of the 'How to Use SolarAPP+ For Solar and Storage Projects' training.
published checklist + department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/124/Eligibility-Checklist-for-Expedited-Solar-Photovoltaic-Permitting-PDF
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No separate ESS permit/fee line was found; the Master Fee Schedule has no 'battery' or 'energy storage' fee item, and SolarAPP+ treats solar+storage as a single combined project submission
Why the confidence is not higherFull-text search of the extracted Master Fee Schedule PDF for 'battery'/'storage'/'ESS' returned no dedicated PV-battery fee line; SolarAPP+ page describes storage as an add-on training/workflow within the same project submission rather than a separate permit type.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2852/Master-Fee-Schedule-Fiscal-Year-20262027-PDF
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedZoning & Land Use page and a site search for 'ground mount solar' (zero relevant hits; positive control 'electrical' = 63 hits, fabricated 'zzqqx' = 0 hits, run this session) - no Hanford document classifies ground-mounted solar as a structure
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE interconnection handbook/interconnections page (dead, see q23/q42) and the city's own PV Toolkit Inspection Guide, which only says disconnects must be 'located as allowed by the AHJ' with no meter-relative rule stated
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal 92% · department page
- How much notice is required? Requests accepted through 6:30 a.m. the day of the desired inspection; anything received after 6:30 a.m. is scheduled for the next business day - effectively same-day-if-early or 1 business day notice 88% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? No distinct AM/PM window is offered; inspections are simply performed within the stated 7 a.m.-3:30 p.m. daily window 72% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 88% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? N/A - not delegated 85% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? A single final inspection is the documented stage for Standard-Plan PV systems, covering mounting/structural, electrical, grounding/bonding, fire-access, and labeling items per the city's Inspection Guide for PV Systems; no separate rough-in stage is described for the expedited path 65% · published inspection guide (dated 2015)
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 68% · published inspection guide (dated 2015)
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes 92% · published inspection guide
- What must be on site at inspection? The approved Standard Plan/Structural Criteria packet and permit card; for any job with valuation over $1,000 (which essentially all residential PV meets), a completed Form 53 Statement of Compliance (smoke/CO alarms) must be uploaded to the portal or verified by the inspector before a final inspection can proceed 65% · published form
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes 90% · published inspection guide (dated 2015)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $105.00 per re-inspection 90% · fee schedule
14 questions answered against City of Hanford’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding page: 'all building inspections must be scheduled through the Self-Service Portal' as of 1 May 2024; the prior phone line was discontinued.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/187/Inspections
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Requests accepted through 6:30 a.m. the day of the desired inspection; anything received after 6:30 a.m. is scheduled for the next business day - effectively same-day-if-early or 1 business day notice
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted from the Inspections page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/187/Inspections
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
No distinct AM/PM window is offered; inspections are simply performed within the stated 7 a.m.-3:30 p.m. daily window
Why the confidence is not higherInspections page states inspection hours only as a single daily band, with no morning/afternoon window selection described.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/187/Inspections
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division performs its own field inspections per the Building page description ('field inspections for construction projects within city limits'); Fire Department's own Inspections page explicitly routes new construction to the Building Division rather than inspecting it itself.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/168/Building
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A - not delegated
Why the confidence is not higherSee q52; no delegation to a county or third party was found for residential PV.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/168/Building
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
A single final inspection is the documented stage for Standard-Plan PV systems, covering mounting/structural, electrical, grounding/bonding, fire-access, and labeling items per the city's Inspection Guide for PV Systems; no separate rough-in stage is described for the expedited path
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Guide for PV Systems is written as one consolidated field inspection (Section 1: 19-item single-page field checklist) performed with all disconnects open, not as a multi-stage sequence.
published inspection guide (dated 2015) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/125/Inspection-Guide-for-PV-Systems-PDF
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe Inspection Guide for PV Systems is framed as a single post-installation field inspection with no mid-roof/rough-in stage described.
published inspection guide (dated 2015) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/125/Inspection-Guide-for-PV-Systems-PDF
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Guide field checklist items 10 and 17 explicitly require verifying equipment is 'installed, listed and labeled according to the approved plan' and that 'PV system markings, labels and signs' match the approved plan.
published inspection guide (dated 2015) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/125/Inspection-Guide-for-PV-Systems-PDF
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Inspection Guide for PV Systems in One- and Two-Family Dwellings is a published PDF linked directly from the city's Solar Permits page.
published inspection guide checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/125/Inspection-Guide-for-PV-Systems-PDF
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
The approved Standard Plan/Structural Criteria packet and permit card; for any job with valuation over $1,000 (which essentially all residential PV meets), a completed Form 53 Statement of Compliance (smoke/CO alarms) must be uploaded to the portal or verified by the inspector before a final inspection can proceed
Why the confidence is not higherCombination of the Inspection Guide's approved-plan cross-checks and the city's Form 53 requirement (found via site search, confirmed against the linked PDF) which the Building page separately flags as mandatory since 1 Jul 2024.
published form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/154
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$105.00 per re-inspection
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule, Building Division section: 'Reinspection Fee $105.00 per Re-Inspection', echoed again in the general Miscellaneous & Code Compliance table as 'Re-Inspection 2nd/3rd - $105.00 per Occurrence'.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hanfordca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2852/Master-Fee-Schedule-Fiscal-Year-20262027-PDF
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspections, Application-Procedure, Policies and Facts-Information pages, plus a site search for 'correction notice' (175 results, none describing the correction-issuance process; positive/fabricated controls already validated this session)
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspections, Building, and Facts-Information pages, plus a site search for 'green tag final inspection' - no document states what document/tag/card is issued on a passed final
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity Solar Permits/SolarAPP+ pages (no mention of PTO notification) and SCE's interconnection handbook/interconnections page, both dead (see q23) - no live source names who submits the PTO request
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Hanford against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Hanford is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (Community Development Department, Building Division) for residential rooftop PV; Fire Department does not independently review or inspect residential PV
- Overridden by
- CA SB 379 (Gov. Code §65850.52) mandates the SolarAPP+ automated permitting platform be offered; CA Civil Code §714/§4600 (Solar Rights Act) preempts any HOA precondition; AB 130 (2025) freezes more-restrictive local residential code amendments 1 Oct 2025-1 Jun 2031
- Why not higher
- City's own Building (/168/Building), Solar Permits (/175/Solar-Permits) and SolarAPP+ (/1517/SolarAPP) pages show the Building Division issues both building and electrical permits for residential PV via the Citizen Self-Service (EnerGov) portal. The Fire Department's own Inspections page (/1543/Inspections) lists 'New construction (Building Division)' among its enforcement areas and directs those inquiries to Building rather than performing its own new-construction/PV review - confirmed by reading that page directly, not inferred.
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $425 flat for 1-15 kW via standard review ($200 permit issuance + $225 plan check, itemized as 'includes P.I.93%
- Portal
- Citizen Self-Service Portal (Tyler EnerGov), selfservice.cityofhanfordca.com/EnerGov_prod/SelfService95%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC, as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code (statewide code cycle, effective 1 Jan 2026)85%
- Own placard wording
- Yes85%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal92%
Labels & placards for this authority
City of Hanford writes its own placard wording. A standard NEC label set will not satisfy it — the exact text, and in most cases the size, colour and font, are specified below.
Wording 85%
Yes
Size, colour & material 85%
3/8-inch (9.5 mm) minimum white letters on a red background, reflective weather-resistant material, for the 'WARNING: PHOTOVOLTAIC POWER SOURCE' conduit/raceway marking
Where they go 80%
At the main service disconnect (clearly visible from where operated); on all interior/exterior DC conduit, raceways, enclosures, junction and combiner boxes and disconnects, marked every 10 feet and within 1 foot of turns/penetrations; on the AC and DC disconnects; on the inverter; at the point of utility interconnection
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.