City of Hesperia

San Bernardino County

Verified Aug. 4, 2026

City of Hesperia is a city authority in the State of California, serving 99,818 residents. 8,089 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — 2 business days (from SolarAPP+ approval to city-issued permit) Q18 Where you file — SolarAPP+ (Solar Automated Permit Processing) Q20

Permit required
Yes95% source
What it costs
$486 flat (residential, plan review and inspection); $429 if using an approved stock plan; 10% citywide Technology Fee applies on top of development permit fees90% source
Plan review turnaround
2 business days (from SolarAPP+ approval to city-issued permit)85% source
Key document
authority's own page cited by 14 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · authority's own page
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · fee schedule
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · authority's own page
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 85% · fee schedule
    • Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 50% · authority's own page
    • Is there a historic-district review? Yes 80% · authority's own page
    • Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 55% · authority's own page
    • Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 38 kW (SolarAPP+ automated-path eligibility cap); no stated hard cap on residential system size outside that automated path 75% · authority's own page
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • What documents make up a complete submittal? Application is submitted through the SolarAPP+ online portal (project/system design data, site info); city fees paid through SolarAPP+ and/or city cashier; approval documents downloaded from SolarAPP+ and presented at inspection along with the job card. No separate itemized paper checklist for residential PV was found on the city's Forms & Handouts page. 60% · authority's own page
    • Is a site plan required, and what must it show? A site/roof plan is required as part of the SolarAPP+ project submittal (module layout, access pathways) per the national SolarAPP+ program that Hesperia has adopted; Hesperia's own pages do not publish a separate site-plan content checklist for PV. 55% · authority's own page
    • Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 55% · authority's own page
    • Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes 50% · authority's own page
    • Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Not required for SolarAPP+-eligible systems (rooftop, under 38kW, non-historic); the SolarAPP+ program's premise is automated code-compliance checking without a licensed design professional's stamp. No separate stamp threshold is published by the city for projects routed outside SolarAPP+. 55% · authority's own page
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? SolarAPP+ (Solar Automated Permit Processing) 95% · portal landing page
    • Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 90% · portal landing page
    • What does a residential solar permit cost? $486 flat (residential, plan review and inspection); $429 if using an approved stock plan; 10% citywide Technology Fee applies on top of development permit fees 90% · fee schedule
    • How is the fee calculated? Flat 90% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate plan-check fee? No 85% · fee schedule
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

28 questions answered against City of Hesperia’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity of Hesperia's own Building & Safety/Community Development Division (Development Services) issues residential building and electrical permits for PV directly through SolarAPP+; confirmed on the Permit Center and SolarAPP+ pages.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1518/Permit-Center

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both

Why the confidence is not higherThe city's fee schedule lists a single combined 'Windmills and Photovoltaic Systems (Residential) (Plan Review and Inspection)' line item and issues one permit number (AEXX-XXXXX, 'Alternate Energy') covering both building and electrical aspects; no delegation to the county is evident for building/electrical (fire is separately provided by San Bernardino County Fire Protection District, see jurisdiction note).

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/19302/Revised-Adopted-City-Fee-Schedule-2025-2026

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page describes the permit process for residential rooftop PV and the fee schedule prices a residential PV permit; a permit is required.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined

Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule shows one line item ('Windmills and Photovoltaic Systems (Residential), Plan Review and Inspection') rather than separate building and electrical permit fees, and SolarAPP+ issues a single permit number prefixed AE.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/19302/Revised-Adopted-City-Fee-Schedule-2025-2026

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ requires the applicant to hold a valid California State Contractors License and a City business license to use that automated path; the Permit Center page separately states 'Only the property owner or the owner's licensed contractor or authorized agent can obtain a building permit,' which allows an owner-builder outside SolarAPP+. Not stated as a single unambiguous rule for solar specifically.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page: 'All contractors must obtain a City of Hesperia Business License and have a valid California State Contractors License to be eligible to submit an application through SolarAPP+.'

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherPermit Center page states only the property owner, the owner's licensed contractor, or an authorized agent may obtain a building permit -- this is standard California owner-builder language allowing self-permitting -- but SolarAPP+ itself explicitly requires a licensed contractor, so a homeowner self-install/self-permit would have to go through the standard (non-SolarAPP+) path, which is not separately documented for solar.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1518/Permit-Center

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

Application is submitted through the SolarAPP+ online portal (project/system design data, site info); city fees paid through SolarAPP+ and/or city cashier; approval documents downloaded from SolarAPP+ and presented at inspection along with the job card. No separate itemized paper checklist for residential PV was found on the city's Forms & Handouts page.

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page describes the submittal steps (register/login, submit project, pay fees, download approval documents); the city's Forms & Handouts page (checked) does not list a distinct residential PV/solar submittal checklist.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedForms & Handouts page and SolarAPP+ page checked; neither states a number of copies or a required file format (SolarAPP+ is a 100% online submission, but the city does not publish a copies/format requirement for the non-SolarAPP+ path).

https://www.hesperiaca.gov/787/Forms-Handouts

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

A site/roof plan is required as part of the SolarAPP+ project submittal (module layout, access pathways) per the national SolarAPP+ program that Hesperia has adopted; Hesperia's own pages do not publish a separate site-plan content checklist for PV.

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the SolarAPP+ program description on the city's own page; no Hesperia-specific site-plan checklist for PV was located after checking Forms & Handouts.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ (the platform Hesperia has adopted) requires one-line electrical diagram data as part of its automated compliance check; not separately documented by the city.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+'s automated compliance check requires string/conductor sizing inputs; Hesperia's own page does not itemize this separately.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Not required for SolarAPP+-eligible systems (rooftop, under 38kW, non-historic); the SolarAPP+ program's premise is automated code-compliance checking without a licensed design professional's stamp. No separate stamp threshold is published by the city for projects routed outside SolarAPP+.

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from SolarAPP+ eligibility criteria on the city's own page; no separate city document on PE-stamp thresholds was found.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Codes, SolarAPP+, and Forms & Handouts pages checked; no electrical PE-stamp threshold is published for residential PV.

https://www.hesperiaca.gov/101/Building-Codes

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

$486 flat (residential, plan review and inspection); $429 if using an approved stock plan; 10% citywide Technology Fee applies on top of development permit fees

Why the confidence is not higherCity-Wide Fee Schedule FY2025-26 (effective 12/1/2025) lists 'Windmills and Photovoltaic Systems (Residential) (Plan Review and Inspection): a. Residential $486, b. Residential (with stock plan) $429', plus a 10% Technology Fee applicable to all development applications/permits per the same document.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/19302/Revised-Adopted-City-Fee-Schedule-2025-2026

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Flat

Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule prices the residential PV permit as a flat dollar amount ($486 / $429), not by valuation, per-kW, or per-panel.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/19302/Revised-Adopted-City-Fee-Schedule-2025-2026

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

No

Why the confidence is not higherThe fee schedule's PV line item is explicitly labeled '(Plan Review and Inspection)' as one combined fee, with no separate plan-check line item for residential PV.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/19302/Revised-Adopted-City-Fee-Schedule-2025-2026

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

2 business days (from SolarAPP+ approval to city-issued permit)

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page, Step 3: 'Within 2 business days of the SolarAPP+ approval the applicant will receive a City of Hesperia issued permit.' This is specific to the SolarAPP+ automated path; no turnaround is published for permits routed outside SolarAPP+.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Codes and Permit Process pages checked; permit expiration/validity duration is governed by the adopted CBC (typically Section 105.5) but Hesperia's site does not restate the figure, and the Municode-hosted municipal code (a JS application) could not be queried directly to check for a local amendment.

https://library.municode.com/ca/hesperia/codes/code_of_ordinances

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

SolarAPP+ (Solar Automated Permit Processing)

Why the confidence is not higherCity's dedicated SolarAPP+ page describes it as the portal for residential rooftop PV permitting.

portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page: register/login, submit project, pay fees, and download approval documents all occur within the online portal; permit issuance follows automatically within 2 business days.

portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Southern California Edison (SCE)

Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed from city-side sources rather than a ZIP lookup: the city's own Street Lights page directs residents to SCE for street light service/repair, and the city's Public Safety Power Shutoffs page discusses SCE-initiated shutoffs affecting Hesperia. No separate municipal electric utility was found; the 'Hesperia Water District' fee schedule found on the city site covers water/sewer only, not electric service.

authority's own page (utility named) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/344/Street-Lights

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSCE's Rule 21 interconnection page and Interconnection Handbook were checked and returned 404 (known SharePoint/SSO and page-restructuring issue); Hesperia's own site does not describe utility sequencing relative to permit issuance.

https://www.sce.com/generatingyourownpower/net-energy-metering/rule21-interconnection

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ eligibility criteria (the only detailed residential PV requirements the city publishes) list structural/historic/size conditions but do not mention HOA or architectural review as a permitting precondition.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page excludes projects where 'Structure supporting the PV system may not be historic or located in a Historic Preservation District' from the automated path, indicating such projects require additional (non-automated) review.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherHesperia's Building Codes page publishes wind design criteria as ASCE/CBC risk-category wind speeds (e.g., 90-115 mph by Risk Category) for structural design purposes; there is no California analog to a Texas-style windstorm certification program, and none is mentioned.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/101/Building-Codes

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedDevelopment Code and Zoning overview pages checked; no reference to a Specific Use Permit or Council approval requirement specifically for residential rooftop PV was found.

https://www.hesperiaca.gov/405/Development-Code

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

38 kW (SolarAPP+ automated-path eligibility cap); no stated hard cap on residential system size outside that automated path

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page: 'Must be under 38kW' is listed as an eligibility criterion for the automated permitting path; larger systems are implied to require the standard (non-automated) permit process rather than being barred outright.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code) 70% · authority's own page
    • Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2) 70% · authority's own page
    • Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), enforced by San Bernardino County Fire Protection District 65% · authority's own page
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes -- local design criteria 75% · authority's own page
    • What is the installation judged against? The installation is judged against the 2025 CBC/CRC, 2025 CEC (NEC 2023), 2025 CFC, and the Hesperia local design criteria (wind, seismic, climate zone) described on the Building Codes page, using UL-listed/labeled equipment. 65% · authority's own page
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    Nothing recorded for City of Hesperia on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    • Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12 as adopted via the 2025 California Electrical Code (based on the 2023 NEC) 65% · adopting regulation
  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    • Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? No Hesperia-specific placard list is published; site-wide search for 'placard' returned only one irrelevant document (a General Plan Health & Safety Element), so the city defers to the placards required by the adopted 2025 CFC/2025 CEC (NEC 690/705 series) without its own supplementary handout. 55% · site search (absence proven with controls)
    • Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 55% · site search (absence proven with controls)
    • Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Not specified by the city; defaults to whatever letter height/colour/material the adopted 2025 CEC/CFC specify 50% · site search (absence proven with controls)
    • Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Not specified by the city beyond the baseline NEC 705.10 (or successor numbering in the 2023 NEC) requirement for a permanent plaque/directory at service equipment; no Hesperia facility-map/site-plan placard handout was found 50% · site search (absence proven with controls)
    • Where must the labels be placed? Not specified by the city beyond standard code-required placement at/near the service disconnect and PV disconnect per the adopted NEC; no Hesperia-specific placement diagram was found 50% · site search (absence proven with controls)
  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Must equipment be on a specific approved list? No 50% · authority's own page (absence)
    • Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, batteries/ESS are permitted, but a system with an existing battery/ESS is excluded from the SolarAPP+ automated path and must go through standard plan review (which brings in 2025 CFC energy-storage-system provisions, enforced with San Bernardino County Fire Protection District's fire-code authority) 60% · authority's own page
    • Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No separate ESS permit/fee identified 55% · fee schedule
    • Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes, likely treated as an accessory structure 55% · authority's own page

20 questions answered against City of Hesperia’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2023 NEC (as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code)

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Codes page lists '2025 California Electrical Code' among the Title 24 parts currently listed as adopted; the 2025 CEC amendment cycle is based on the 2023 NEC. The same page contains an inconsistent, apparently stale sentence stating the code 'became effective on January 1, 2023,' which does not match the 2025-cycle code list -- flagged rather than resolved.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/101/Building-Codes

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2)

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Codes page lists the 2025 California Building Code among the currently adopted Title 24 parts; same page-date caveat as q29 applies.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/101/Building-Codes

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), enforced by San Bernardino County Fire Protection District

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Codes page lists the 2025 California Fire Code among adopted Title 24 parts; fire code enforcement itself sits with San Bernardino County Fire Protection District, which provides fire and emergency services to Hesperia by contract (see city's Fire page), not the city's own Building & Safety Division.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/101/Building-Codes

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Yes -- local design criteria

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Codes page publishes Hesperia-specific 'Local Design Criteria' amendments/clarifications to the base CBC/CRC: wind speed by risk category (90-115 mph), Wind Exposure Category C for most of the city, Seismic Design Category D (D0 for CRC), Climate Zone 14 (energy code), ground snow load 5 psf, etc. These are general building-code local criteria, not PV-specific amendments.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/101/Building-Codes

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

The installation is judged against the 2025 CBC/CRC, 2025 CEC (NEC 2023), 2025 CFC, and the Hesperia local design criteria (wind, seismic, climate zone) described on the Building Codes page, using UL-listed/labeled equipment.

Why the confidence is not higherSynthesized from the Building Codes page's adopted-code list and local design criteria section; no PV-specific standard-of-review document was found.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/101/Building-Codes

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedMunicode-hosted Hesperia Municipal Code (JS application, not directly queryable) and Building Codes page checked for a local amendment on service upgrades/busbar sizing for PV interconnection; none found on the city's own pages.

https://library.municode.com/ca/hesperia/codes/code_of_ordinances

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Codes, SolarAPP+, and Forms & Handouts pages checked; no city-specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing requirement for residential PV was found.

https://www.hesperiaca.gov/101/Building-Codes

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Codes page confirms the 2025 CFC is adopted, but CFC Section 605.11 (PV ridge setback and access pathway dimensions) is ICC-copyrighted text not independently republished by the city, and no local amendment/handout restating the dimensions was found on Forms & Handouts or SolarAPP+.

https://www.hesperiaca.gov/101/Building-Codes

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Yes, rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12 as adopted via the 2025 California Electrical Code (based on the 2023 NEC)

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the city's adoption of the 2025 CEC (2023 NEC base) on the Building Codes page; NEC 690.12 rapid-shutdown requirements are unchanged in substance between the 2020 and 2023 NEC. No Hesperia-specific rapid-shutdown bulletin was found.

adopting regulation checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/101/Building-Codes

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No Hesperia-specific placard list is published; site-wide search for 'placard' returned only one irrelevant document (a General Plan Health & Safety Element), so the city defers to the placards required by the adopted 2025 CFC/2025 CEC (NEC 690/705 series) without its own supplementary handout.

Why the confidence is not higherPositive control ('solar' returned 117 relevant hits including real permit records) and fabricated control ('zzqqx' returned 'No results found') were run against the same site search before concluding 'placard' has no Hesperia-specific hit, proving the absence rather than assuming it.

site search (absence proven with controls) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=placard

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No

Why the confidence is not higherSame site-search absence proof as q38: no city-published placard wording document exists; the city relies on the adopted code's standard label wording.

site search (absence proven with controls) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=placard

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Not specified by the city; defaults to whatever letter height/colour/material the adopted 2025 CEC/CFC specify

Why the confidence is not higherSame absence proof as q38/q39 -- no Hesperia document addresses letter height, colour, or material for PV placards.

site search (absence proven with controls) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=placard

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Not specified by the city beyond the baseline NEC 705.10 (or successor numbering in the 2023 NEC) requirement for a permanent plaque/directory at service equipment; no Hesperia facility-map/site-plan placard handout was found

Why the confidence is not higherSite search for 'placard' (with controls run) surfaced no Hesperia-specific facility-map placard spec; Building Codes page confirms only the base code adoption.

site search (absence proven with controls) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=placard

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSCE's Rule 21/Interconnection Handbook pages were checked and returned 404 (known SharePoint/SSO blocker); no Hesperia-hosted copy of an SCE DG interconnection/placard manual was found via site search.

https://www.sce.com/generatingyourownpower/net-energy-metering/rule21-interconnection

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Not specified by the city beyond standard code-required placement at/near the service disconnect and PV disconnect per the adopted NEC; no Hesperia-specific placement diagram was found

Why the confidence is not higherSame absence proof as q38-q41.

site search (absence proven with controls) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=placard

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

No

Why the confidence is not higherNo Hesperia-published 'approved equipment list' for PV was found on Forms & Handouts or SolarAPP+; the city relies on standard UL-listing/labeling requirements under the adopted CEC, not a proprietary approved-products list.

authority's own page (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/787/Forms-Handouts

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Yes, batteries/ESS are permitted, but a system with an existing battery/ESS is excluded from the SolarAPP+ automated path and must go through standard plan review (which brings in 2025 CFC energy-storage-system provisions, enforced with San Bernardino County Fire Protection District's fire-code authority)

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ eligibility list: 'No existing PV panels or existing battery storage' is an exclusion from the automated path, implying batteries are handled outside SolarAPP+ rather than being prohibited; fire code enforcement in Hesperia sits with SBCFD per the city's Fire page.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

No separate ESS permit/fee identified

Why the confidence is not higherThe FY2025-26 fee schedule has no separate energy-storage-system line item; PV and any associated battery appear to fall under the single 'Windmills and Photovoltaic Systems (Residential)' fee line. No standalone ESS permit process is described on the city's pages.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/19302/Revised-Adopted-City-Fee-Schedule-2025-2026

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Yes, likely treated as an accessory structure

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ excludes ground-mount/ballasted systems from its automated path (implying they get full standard plan review), and the city's 'Approved Accessory Structure Regulations' handout (citing Development Code Sec. 16.08.005/16.08.007) defines accessory structures broadly as any subordinate structure incidental to the main use -- a ground-mounted PV array would fall under that definition, though the handout does not name PV specifically.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/636

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSCE's Rule 21/Interconnection Handbook pages were checked and returned 404 (known SharePoint/SSO blocker); no Hesperia-hosted document on AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter was found.

https://www.sce.com/generatingyourownpower/net-energy-metering/rule21-interconnection

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How is an inspection booked? Phone (automated Interactive Voice Response system) 90% · authority's own page
    • How much notice is required? At least 1 business day (call by the day before, or before 7:00 a.m. the day the inspection is needed) 75% · authority's own document (PDF)
    • Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? No customer-selected AM/PM window; inspections generally run 8:00 AM-5:00 PM and are auto-assigned to morning or afternoon based on the inspector's route/schedule position 70% · authority's own page
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

    • Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 85% · authority's own page
    • If delegated, to whom? San Bernardino County Fire Protection District (for fire-code-related aspects only, e.g. energy storage systems, roof access); building/electrical final remains with the City 65% · authority's own page
  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    • Which inspections are required, and in what order? Standard: a single final (combined electrical/rooftop) inspection after installation. For systems over 15kW: an additional roof-mount inspection is required prior to installing the PV panels, before the final inspection. 85% · authority's own page
    • Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Yes, for systems over 15kW (roof-mount inspection required prior to panel installation); not required at or under 15kW 85% · authority's own page
  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

    • What must be on site at inspection? SolarAPP+ approved plans, the City-issued Hesperia permit, and the job card must all be present at the scheduled inspection(s) 90% · authority's own page
    • Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Likely yes, as a normal part of code-compliance field inspection, though not separately stated for PV 45% · authority's own page (inference)
  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

    • What is issued on pass? Final (permit record shows 'FINALED' status on pass); a Certificate of Occupancy is issued only 'if applicable' (new construction), which a PV retrofit on an existing home would not require 75% · authority's own document (permit activity report)
    • Is there a re-inspection fee? $103 (general Building Permits re-inspection fee) 70% · fee schedule
    • How are corrections issued and cleared? The inspector identifies items needing correction at the time of inspection (or the Plans Examiner compiles a written list of corrections during plan review); the applicant/contractor corrects the work/plans and requests re-inspection or resubmittal through the same IVR phone system / plan-review process, subject to the re-inspection fee after the first inspection 55% · authority's own page

14 questions answered against City of Hesperia’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Phone (automated Interactive Voice Response system)

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page: 'Request an inspection via the City's automated phone system by calling (760) 947-1300'; the general 'Typical Inspection Procedures' bulletin confirms the same IVR system for building inspections generally.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

At least 1 business day (call by the day before, or before 7:00 a.m. the day the inspection is needed)

Why the confidence is not higher'Typical Inspection Procedures' bulletin: 'please call (760) 947-1300 on the day before (or before 7:00 a.m. the day the inspection is needed).' The Permit Process page separately states inspections require '24 hours in advance' notice. This bulletin is written for general single-family construction, not solar specifically, but the same IVR system and IB phone number are used for solar per SolarAPP+.

authority's own document (PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/DocumentView.aspx?DID=1683

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

No customer-selected AM/PM window; inspections generally run 8:00 AM-5:00 PM and are auto-assigned to morning or afternoon based on the inspector's route/schedule position

Why the confidence is not higherInspections page: 'Inspections are generally conducted between 8:00 AM and 5:00 PM. Typically, the inspections listed in the first half of the schedule are assigned in the morning, while those in the second half are assigned in the afternoon.' No same-day service or customer-chosen window is offered.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/107/Inspections

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Division (Development Services) performs building/electrical final inspections for PV directly, per the Permit Process and SolarAPP+ pages; fire-related aspects (where applicable, e.g. ESS) sit with San Bernardino County Fire Protection District rather than the city (see jurisdiction).

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/104/Permit-Process

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

San Bernardino County Fire Protection District (for fire-code-related aspects only, e.g. energy storage systems, roof access); building/electrical final remains with the City

Why the confidence is not higherCity's Fire page: 'Fire and Emergency Services are provided to the City of Hesperia by the San Bernardino County Fire Protection District,' a separate special district, not the city's own department and not general San Bernardino County government.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/138/Fire

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

Standard: a single final (combined electrical/rooftop) inspection after installation. For systems over 15kW: an additional roof-mount inspection is required prior to installing the PV panels, before the final inspection.

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page: 'Photovoltaic projects over 15kW will require an additional roof mount inspection prior to installing the photovoltaic panels,' implying a single final inspection for systems at or under 15kW.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

Yes, for systems over 15kW (roof-mount inspection required prior to panel installation); not required at or under 15kW

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page, same passage as q54.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Likely yes, as a normal part of code-compliance field inspection, though not separately stated for PV

Why the confidence is not higherNo Hesperia document explicitly states the inspector checks labels/listings for PV; this is inferred from standard CBC/CEC field-inspection practice and the general description of the inspection team's role on the Inspections page.

authority's own page (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/107/Inspections

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedForms & Handouts and Inspections pages checked; no published solar-specific inspection checklist was found (the 'Typical Inspection Procedures' PDF covers general single-family construction sequencing, not a PV-specific checklist).

https://www.hesperiaca.gov/787/Forms-Handouts

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

SolarAPP+ approved plans, the City-issued Hesperia permit, and the job card must all be present at the scheduled inspection(s)

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page, Step 4: 'Your SolarAPP+ plans, Hesperia issued permit, and job card are required to be present during your scheduled inspection(s).'

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

$103 (general Building Permits re-inspection fee)

Why the confidence is not higherFY2025-26 City-Wide Fee Schedule, Building Permits (Section 60): 'Re-inspection Fee $103,' effective 12/1/2025. This is the general building re-inspection fee; no PV-specific re-inspection fee is separately listed.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/19302/Revised-Adopted-City-Fee-Schedule-2025-2026

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

The inspector identifies items needing correction at the time of inspection (or the Plans Examiner compiles a written list of corrections during plan review); the applicant/contractor corrects the work/plans and requests re-inspection or resubmittal through the same IVR phone system / plan-review process, subject to the re-inspection fee after the first inspection

Why the confidence is not higherSynthesized from the Permit Process page's description of plan-review corrections and the general call-in re-inspection process; not solar-specific.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/104/Permit-Process

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Final (permit record shows 'FINALED' status on pass); a Certificate of Occupancy is issued only 'if applicable' (new construction), which a PV retrofit on an existing home would not require

Why the confidence is not higherPermit Process page: inspector signs off, utilities are released, and a Certificate of Occupancy is issued 'if applicable.' The city's own monthly Permit Activity reports (e.g., August 2024 Permit Activity) show completed PV permits with status 'FINALED' rather than a CO.

authority's own document (permit activity report) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.hesperiaca.gov/documentcenter/view/19545

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page and Permit Process page checked; neither states which party (installer vs. AHJ vs. utility) formally notifies SCE to trigger Permission to Operate after the city's final inspection.

https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1520/SolarAPP

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Hesperia against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Hesperia is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
Holds
Building and Electrical (city's own Building & Safety Division / Development Services); Fire code enforcement is separately held by San Bernardino County Fire Protection District, a special district that contracts to serve Hesperia -- not general San Bernardino County government and not a city department
Why not higher
Hesperia is an incorporated general-law city (since 1988) whose own Building & Safety Division/Development Services issues residential building and electrical permits for PV, including via the city-adopted SolarAPP+ program (Permit Center and SolarAPP+ pages). Fire and emergency services -- and by extension fire-code enforcement -- are provided under contract by the San Bernardino County Fire Protection District (confirmed on the city's own Fire page), which is a distinct special district from both the city and San Bernardino County's general government; this matters for battery/ESS (q45/46) and fire-code access/setback provisions (q52/53) which sit with SBCFD rather than city Building & Safety. Electric utility interconnection is with Southern California Edison (confirmed via city-side Street Lights and Public Safety Power Shutoffs pages, not a ZIP-code lookup); no evidence of a separate municipally-owned electric utility was found -- the 'Hesperia Water District' found on the city site is water/sewer only.

https://www.hesperiaca.gov/1518/Permit-Center

Permit required
Yes95%
Permit cost
$486 flat (residential, plan review and inspection); $429 if using an approved stock plan; 10% citywide Technology Fee applies on top of development permit fees90%
Plan review
2 business days (from SolarAPP+ approval to city-issued permit)85%
Portal
SolarAPP+ (Solar Automated Permit Processing)95%
Electrical code
2023 NEC (as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code)70%
Own placard wording
No55%
Booking an inspection
Phone (automated Interactive Voice Response system)90%
Labels & placards for this authority

Wording 55%

No

Size, colour & material 50%

Not specified by the city; defaults to whatever letter height/colour/material the adopted 2025 CEC/CFC specify

Where they go 50%

Not specified by the city beyond standard code-required placement at/near the service disconnect and PV disconnect per the adopted NEC; no Hesperia-specific placement diagram was found

What the utility wants on top None%

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
San Bernardino County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of Hesperia · city
Solar Requirements
Separate roof inspection
Building & Safety / Community Development | City of Hesperia - Official Website Skip to Main Content Home Your Government City Departments Departments A - E Development Services Building & Safety/Community Development Building & Safety / Community Development Do I Need a Permit? Home improvement pro
Authority Contact
Address
9700 Seventh Ave, Hesperia, CA 92345
Main Phone
(760) 947-1000
Building Department
Department
Building & Safety/Community Development
Direct Phone
(760) 947-1311
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
phone
Request an inspection
Notes
Call (760) 947-1300 (city automated phone system) to schedule inspections — have your permit number ready. For SolarAPP+ projects, permit numbers are in AEXX-XXXXX format. Inspections conducted 8:00 AM–5:00 PM. Bring SolarAPP+ plans, issued permit, and job card to the inspection site. PV projects over 15kW require a preliminary roof mount inspection before panels are installed. SolarAPP+ eligibility: residential rooftop-only, under 38kW, no existing PV or battery storage. Contractor must hold a City of Hesperia Business License and valid CA State Contractors License. Building & Safety front desk: (760) 947-1311. Dept hours: Mon–Thu 7:30 AM–5:30 PM, Fri 7:30 AM–4:30 PM (2nd & 4th Wednesday 9:00 AM–5:30 PM). (collected Jul 2026)