City of Jurupa Valley

Riverside County

Verified Aug. 4, 2026

City of Jurupa Valley is a city authority in the State of California, covering 2 regions, serving 105,053 residents. 3,684 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Same day (via SolarAPP+: 'plans to be approved within the day') Q18 Where you file — Accela Citizen Access (ACA) -- aca-prod.accela.com/JURUPA, linked from the city site as jurupavalley.org/aca Q20

Permit required
Yes95% source
Plan review turnaround
Same day (via SolarAPP+: 'plans to be approved within the day')90% source
Key document
inference from adopted program cited by 9 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 90% · department page
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 85% · department page
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · department page
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 75% · permit application form
    • Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 60% · department page
    • Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 55% · inference from absence
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • What documents make up a complete submittal? Via SolarAPP+ (the standard track): the SolarAPP+ Approval Document and approval number, submitted with the online Accela permit application. For SolarAPP+ revisions specifically: full plan set (unstamped, clouded revisions), structural calculations, a revision letter, and the SolarAPP+ approval. 80% · department page
    • Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 60% · inference from adopted program
    • Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes 55% · inference from adopted program
    • Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Not required for a standard SolarAPP+-eligible residential retrofit; a stamp would be expected for non-standard/ineligible systems (e.g. ground mount) referred to standard plan check, but no specific valuation/size threshold was found in a city document. 50% · department page
    • Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Not required for a standard SolarAPP+-eligible residential retrofit; threshold for non-standard systems not found in a city document. 50% · department page
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? Accela Citizen Access (ACA) -- aca-prod.accela.com/JURUPA, linked from the city site as jurupavalley.org/aca 95% · portal landing page
    • Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 90% · department page
    • How is the fee calculated? Valuation 65% · permit application form
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

    • What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Same day (via SolarAPP+: 'plans to be approved within the day') 90% · department page
    • How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days (stated for plan-check validity: 'Plan check applications are valid for 180 days from the date of submittal'); the issued-permit expiration period itself is not separately stated in a city document found this run. 65% · permit application form
    • Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 95% · city page
    • Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit (Permission to Operate requires evidence of the AHJ's final electrical inspection clearance) 85% · utility tariff

28 questions answered against City of Jurupa Valley’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Department page states the department performs plan check and inspection and enforces CBC/electrical/mechanical/plumbing codes; corroborated by monthly Solar PV Permits Issued reports showing city-issued permit numbers.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/165/Building-Safety

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Dept page states it enforces the California Building Code, City Municipal Code, Electrical Code, Mechanical and Plumbing codes; the Building Permit Application lists both 'Electrical' and 'Photovoltaic System' as in-house work-scope checkboxes on the same city form.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/165/Building-Safety

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Solar App+ page describes the permit process for 'residential, roof-mounted, retrofit photovoltaic systems' and the Building Permit Application form lists 'Photovoltaic System' as a scope-of-work item requiring a permit.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/581/Solar-App

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined

Why the confidence is not higherThe single Building Permit Application form lists 'Photovoltaic System' and 'Electrical' as scope-of-work checkboxes on one form, and Solar PV Permits Issued reports show one permit number (e.g. B25-002088) covering the PV system, any service change-out, and battery -- i.e. issued as one combined building/electrical permit, not two.

permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/DocumentCenter/View/5739/Building-Permit-Application-PDF

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either

Why the confidence is not higherSeptember 2025 Solar PV Permits Issued report shows entries pulled by licensed electrical contractors (e.g. V3 Electric Inc, license 1000573) and separate entries with 'OWNER-BUILDER' in the contractor field for the same permit type, confirming both routes are used in practice.

department report checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/DocumentCenter/View/4436/Solar-Permits-Issued-09-SEPT-2025

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

No

Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Permit Application only asks for the contractor's state (CSLB) license number; no separate city contractor-registration field, portal step, or requirement was found on the Building & Safety or Solar App+ pages. This is an inference from absence rather than a stated 'no' -- capped accordingly.

permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/DocumentCenter/View/5739/Building-Permit-Application-PDF

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSeptember 2025 Solar PV Permits Issued report contains multiple permits where the contractor field reads 'OWNER-BUILDER' for photovoltaic system work, confirming the city allows and processes homeowner self-install/self-permit for solar.

department report checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/DocumentCenter/View/4436/Solar-Permits-Issued-09-SEPT-2025

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

Via SolarAPP+ (the standard track): the SolarAPP+ Approval Document and approval number, submitted with the online Accela permit application. For SolarAPP+ revisions specifically: full plan set (unstamped, clouded revisions), structural calculations, a revision letter, and the SolarAPP+ approval.

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Solar App+ page walks through the exact submittal steps and, separately, lists the documents required for a revision after initial SolarAPP+ approval.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/581/Solar-App

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Permit Application PDF (DocumentCenter/View/5739), Solar App+ page, Standards-Forms-and-Documents page -- no statement of required copy count or submittal format (paper vs. electronic count) beyond the Accela online upload workflow

https://www.jurupavalley.org/170/Standards-Forms-and-Documents

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolar App+ page and Standards-Forms-and-Documents page checklists (site plan requirement not spelled out for PV specifically; general submittal checklists exist for tract/commercial/room-addition but none titled for PV site plans); site search for 'site plan photovoltaic' returned no PV-specific checklist document

https://www.jurupavalley.org/170/Standards-Forms-and-Documents

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ (the platform the city has integrated into its permitting) requires a one-line diagram as part of its national automated code-compliance check for eligible residential rooftop PV; the city's own Solar App+ page does not restate this diagram requirement in its own words, so this is inferred from the adopted national program rather than a city document.

inference from adopted program checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/581/Solar-App

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherString/conductor sizing is part of SolarAPP+'s national automated compliance check for the residential rooftop PV track the city uses; not independently restated on the city's own page, so confidence is capped.

inference from adopted program checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/581/Solar-App

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Not required for a standard SolarAPP+-eligible residential retrofit; a stamp would be expected for non-standard/ineligible systems (e.g. ground mount) referred to standard plan check, but no specific valuation/size threshold was found in a city document.

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+'s revision path on the city's own page explicitly asks for an unstamped plan set with 'clouded revisions,' implying the standard SolarAPP+ track does not require a PE stamp; no city document states a threshold for when one is required outside that track.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/581/Solar-App

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Not required for a standard SolarAPP+-eligible residential retrofit; threshold for non-standard systems not found in a city document.

Why the confidence is not higherSame basis as Q13 -- the revision-path language on the Solar App+ page implies no PE stamp for the standard automated track; no separate electrical PE-stamp threshold document was found.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/581/Solar-App

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched jurupavalley.org site search for 'fee schedule', 'Master Fee Schedule', 'Building Valuation Fee Schedule', 'Comprehensive Fee Schedule Resolution', 'Resolution Fee Schedule Building Safety'; checked Finance (156/Finance) and Budget-Financial-Documents pages, and DocumentCenter hit 'City Fee Schedule (PDF)' (DocumentCenter/View/281), which on OCR extraction (image-only PDF) turned out to be a stale 2012 Riverside COUNTY Planning Department fee schedule, not a current Jurupa Valley building/solar fee document -- discarded as not applicable, not used as a source

https://www.jurupavalley.org/DocumentCenter/View/281/City-Fee-Schedule-PDF

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Valuation

Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Permit Application requires a 'Valuation: $' entry for every permit including Photovoltaic System work, and the monthly Solar PV Permits Issued reports carry a per-permit 'Valuation' column (e.g. $25,775.49, $38,000.00), consistent with a valuation-based fee calculation. No published fee-schedule document was found to confirm the exact fee formula, so this is an inference from the application form and issued-permit data rather than a fee schedule.

permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/DocumentCenter/View/5739/Building-Permit-Application-PDF

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame fee-schedule search as Q15; no published fee schedule located that would confirm whether plan check is billed separately from the permit fee

https://www.jurupavalley.org/156/Finance

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

Same day (via SolarAPP+: 'plans to be approved within the day')

Why the confidence is not higherCity's Solar App+ page states plainly: 'SolarAPP+ allows plans to be approved within the day' for the automated review track used for eligible residential rooftop PV.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/581/Solar-App

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

180 days (stated for plan-check validity: 'Plan check applications are valid for 180 days from the date of submittal'); the issued-permit expiration period itself is not separately stated in a city document found this run.

Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Permit Application form states the 180-day plan-check validity in its own text; it does not separately state how long an ISSUED permit remains valid once granted, so this answer is capped and the two periods should not be conflated.

permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/DocumentCenter/View/5739/Building-Permit-Application-PDF

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

Accela Citizen Access (ACA) -- aca-prod.accela.com/JURUPA, linked from the city site as jurupavalley.org/aca

Why the confidence is not higherBoth the Permits page and the Solar App+ page link directly to the Accela Citizen Access portal for application, payment, and inspection scheduling.

portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/406/Permits

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSolar App+ page walks through: submit design to SolarAPP+, apply for permit online via the Permits Page/Accela, 'make payment online, print the provided permit documents,' and schedule inspection online -- describing an entirely online workflow for the eligible residential track.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/581/Solar-App

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Southern California Edison (SCE)

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own 'Utility & Community Service Providers' page states electric service in Jurupa Valley is provided by 'Southern California Edison.' This is a city-side source, not a ZIP-code lookup tool.

city page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/203/utility-community-service-providers

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

After permit (Permission to Operate requires evidence of the AHJ's final electrical inspection clearance)

Why the confidence is not higherSCE Rule 21, Section D.13.b (Special Provisions Applicable to Certain Net Energy Metered Applicants) states PTO 'shall normally be processed not later than thirty (30) Business Days following Distribution Provider's receipt of ... evidence of Applicant's final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority having jurisdiction over the Generating Facility' -- i.e. the AHJ's final inspection precedes PTO in the normal sequence. Fetched directly from SCE's live site (not the unreachable Interconnection Handbook).

utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sce.com/sites/default/files/inline-files/Rule21_1_1.pdf

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherNeither the Building Permit Application nor the Solar App+ submittal steps ask for an HOA/architectural approval letter as part of the city's own permitting requirements. Note: this addresses what the AHJ requires as part of permitting, not whether a private HOA might separately require its own approval (which CA Civil Code SS714/714.1 constrains but does not eliminate).

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/581/Solar-App

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSite search for 'historic district', municipal code zoning pages linked from jurupavalley.org (Municode library.municode.com/ca/jurupa_valley is an Angular JS shell that returns only a static app skeleton to a plain fetch, tried plain UA and Googlebot UA, both returned the same 6KB shell); no historic-overlay-district page found in sitemap.xml

https://library.municode.com/ca/jurupa_valley/codes/municipal_code

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherNo 'windstorm certification' concept (a Texas/TDI-style mechanism) was found in any Jurupa Valley or California building-code document; California structural wind-load compliance is handled generically through CBC/ASCE 7 engineering rather than a separate windstorm-certification program. Capped because this is an absence-based inference rather than an explicit city statement.

inference from absence checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/165/Building-Safety

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSite search for 'Specific Use Permit', 'Conditional Use Permit solar', zoning code (Municode inaccessible as above); no PV-specific CUP/SUP trigger document found on jurupavalley.org

https://www.jurupavalley.org/273/Planning-Permits

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSite search for 'system size cap', 'kW cap', NEM references; no Jurupa Valley zoning-ordinance size cap found (Municode inaccessible); California's NEM tariff structure is statewide/utility-level (SCE), not a city-imposed cap, and no city ordinance imposing a stricter cap was located

https://library.municode.com/ca/jurupa_valley/codes/municipal_code

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC, as adopted into the 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3), effective statewide 1 Jan 2026 55% · state adopting agency page
    • Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2), effective 1 Jan 2026 statewide 55% · state adopting agency page
    • Which fire code edition is in force? Presumed 2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), effective 1 Jan 2026 statewide, as administered by CAL FIRE/Riverside County Fire Department (the contracted fire authority), not the city's own Building & Safety Department 50% · department page + inference
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? No new residential local amendments can currently be adopted: Gov. Code SS65850.52/AB130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) bars CA cities from adopting more-restrictive residential building-code amendments from 1 Oct 2025 to 1 Jun 2031, subject to narrow exceptions. Whether Jurupa Valley has pre-existing local amendments predating that freeze was not independently confirmed (adoption ordinance not located). 55% · state law + inference
    • What is the installation judged against? The California Building Code, California Electrical Code, California Mechanical Code, California Plumbing Code, and the City's Municipal Code, per the Building & Safety Department's own statement of its enforcement scope 85% · department page
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    Nothing recorded for City of Jurupa Valley on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    • Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown is required (NEC 690.12), under whichever NEC edition is currently in force (likely 2023 NEC via the 2025 CEC effective 1 Jan 2026 -- see Q29) 65% · inference from code adoption
  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    • Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 55% · inference from absence
    • Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes -- SCE Rule 21 requires the visible/manual disconnect switch to include markings or signage clearly indicating open/closed positions, and if the device is not adjacent to the Point of Common Coupling, permanent signage describing its location must be installed (or, if inaccessible outside a locked premises, signage with contact information plus a utility-approved locking device) 85% · utility tariff
    • Where must the labels be placed? The manual/visible disconnect must be near the Point of Common Coupling; if not adjacent to the PCC, permanent signage describing the device's location must be posted at a Distribution-Provider-approved location, and if the switch itself is not accessible outside a locked premises, signage with contact information plus an approved locking device is required instead 75% · utility tariff
  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes -- interconnection equipment (paralleling devices, PCC equipment) must be Certified or 'Listed' as defined by NEC Article 100 70% · utility tariff
    • Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes -- batteries/ESS are permitted alongside residential PV, commonly issued under the same permit 90% · department report
    • Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No -- battery/ESS is issued and inspected as part of the same PV permit, not a separate permit 75% · department report
    • Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Effectively yes for permitting purposes -- ground-mounted systems are explicitly excluded from the automated SolarAPP+ track and must go through standard plan check, which is consistent with treatment as a structure requiring full review 65% · department page

20 questions answered against City of Jurupa Valley’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2023 NEC, as adopted into the 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3), effective statewide 1 Jan 2026

Why the confidence is not higherCalifornia DGS/Building Standards Commission's own Codes page confirms the 2025 California Building Standards Code, including Part 3 (California Electrical Code), took effect 1 January 2026. The NEC-edition mapping (2025 CEC = based on the 2023 NFPA 70/NEC) follows the state's normal triennial pattern but was not independently confirmed in the DGS page text extracted, and no Jurupa Valley-specific adoption ordinance was located (Municode is an inaccessible JS shell for this jurisdiction; DocumentCenter searches for 'building code adoption ordinance' did not surface one) -- so this is a statewide-default answer, not a confirmed local ordinance.

state adopting agency page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.dgs.ca.gov/BSC/Codes

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2), effective 1 Jan 2026 statewide

Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed effective date from California DGS/BSC Codes page. City's own local adoption ordinance ratifying this cycle (with or without amendments) was searched for on the city's DocumentCenter and site search but not located; Municode (the city's code host) is an inaccessible Angular JS shell in this run.

state adopting agency page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.dgs.ca.gov/BSC/Codes

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

Presumed 2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), effective 1 Jan 2026 statewide, as administered by CAL FIRE/Riverside County Fire Department (the contracted fire authority), not the city's own Building & Safety Department

Why the confidence is not higherFire code enforcement for Jurupa Valley sits with CAL FIRE/Riverside County Fire per the city's own Fire Services page, so any local fire-code amendments would be the County's, not the City's. Riverside County Fire's own site (rvcfire.org) was checked for a posted fire-code edition or PV-specific bulletin and none was found under Fire Prevention, Fire Marshal, or Permits sections.

department page + inference checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/212/Fire-Services

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

No new residential local amendments can currently be adopted: Gov. Code SS65850.52/AB130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) bars CA cities from adopting more-restrictive residential building-code amendments from 1 Oct 2025 to 1 Jun 2031, subject to narrow exceptions. Whether Jurupa Valley has pre-existing local amendments predating that freeze was not independently confirmed (adoption ordinance not located).

Why the confidence is not higherAB130's residential-amendment freeze is state law and applies to every CA city including Jurupa Valley; it is not itself a Jurupa Valley-specific document, and the city's own building-code adoption ordinance could not be retrieved this run (Municode JS shell) to check for pre-existing amendments.

state law + inference checked 2026-08-30 https://www.dgs.ca.gov/BSC/Codes

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

The California Building Code, California Electrical Code, California Mechanical Code, California Plumbing Code, and the City's Municipal Code, per the Building & Safety Department's own statement of its enforcement scope

Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote from the Building & Safety Department page: department is 'responsible for enforcing the: California Building Code (CBC), City's Municipal Code, Electrical Code, Mechanical Codes, Plumbing Code.'

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/165/Building-Safety

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSite search for 'service upgrade', 'busbar', 'panel upgrade' amendments; Building & Safety and Standards-Forms-and-Documents pages; no local amendment document on service upgrades/busbar sizing found

https://www.jurupavalley.org/170/Standards-Forms-and-Documents

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedStandards-Forms-and-Documents page (checked all listed standard-detail PDFs: Combo Wall, Masonry Pilaster, Patio, Retaining Wall, Free-Standing Block Wall, Balcony/Deck -- none address PV mounting/attachment spacing); site search for 'racking', 'attachment spacing', 'mounting system' returned nothing PV-specific

https://www.jurupavalley.org/170/Standards-Forms-and-Documents

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedJurupa Valley Fire Services page and Riverside County Fire Department (rvcfire.org) Fire Prevention, Fire Marshal, and Permits pages -- no PV ridge-setback/access-pathway bulletin found on either; per brief, CFC SS605.11 ridge-setback dimensions are ICC-copyrighted text not independently retrievable from a free source

https://www.rvcfire.org/our-departments/fire-prevention

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Yes, rapid shutdown is required (NEC 690.12), under whichever NEC edition is currently in force (likely 2023 NEC via the 2025 CEC effective 1 Jan 2026 -- see Q29)

Why the confidence is not higherRapid shutdown under NEC 690.12 has been a consistent requirement across the 2017, 2020 and 2023 NEC editions with only functional refinements between them, so the 'yes, required' answer is robust even though the exact edition (Q29) is a lower-confidence inference; no Jurupa Valley-specific rapid-shutdown bulletin was found.

inference from code adoption checked 2026-08-30 https://www.dgs.ca.gov/BSC/Codes

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety, Standards-Forms-and-Documents, and Solar App+ pages; site search for 'placard', 'rapid shutdown label', 'main service disconnect label' -- no AHJ-specific placard-list document found beyond the generic Final Inspection Checklist's labeling line items already used for Q56/57

https://www.jurupavalley.org/170/Standards-Forms-and-Documents

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No

Why the confidence is not higherNo placard-wording document specific to the City of Jurupa Valley was found via site search ('solar,' 'photovoltaic,' 'placard,' 'label') across the Building & Safety, Standards/Forms, and Solar App+ pages; this is an absence-based inference rather than a stated 'no.'

inference from absence checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/170/Standards-Forms-and-Documents

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q38 -- no letter-height, color, or material specification found in any Jurupa Valley document

https://www.jurupavalley.org/170/Standards-Forms-and-Documents

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolar App+ page and Standards-Forms-and-Documents page -- no facility/site-plan placard (705.10-style) requirement document found specific to this city

https://www.jurupavalley.org/581/Solar-App

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Yes -- SCE Rule 21 requires the visible/manual disconnect switch to include markings or signage clearly indicating open/closed positions, and if the device is not adjacent to the Point of Common Coupling, permanent signage describing its location must be installed (or, if inaccessible outside a locked premises, signage with contact information plus a utility-approved locking device)

Why the confidence is not higherDirect text from SCE Rule 21, Section H.1.d 'Visible Disconnect Required,' fetched from the live SCE URL (not the unreachable Interconnection Handbook).

utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sce.com/sites/default/files/inline-files/Rule21_1_1.pdf

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

The manual/visible disconnect must be near the Point of Common Coupling; if not adjacent to the PCC, permanent signage describing the device's location must be posted at a Distribution-Provider-approved location, and if the switch itself is not accessible outside a locked premises, signage with contact information plus an approved locking device is required instead

Why the confidence is not higherSCE Rule 21, Section H.1.d, sets out these siting/signage rules directly; this answers where the utility requires labeling relative to the disconnect, though it does not address AHJ-required NEC/CFC label placement (e.g. main service panel labeling), which was not separately confirmed for this city.

utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sce.com/sites/default/files/inline-files/Rule21_1_1.pdf

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Yes -- interconnection equipment (paralleling devices, PCC equipment) must be Certified or 'Listed' as defined by NEC Article 100

Why the confidence is not higherSCE Rule 21, Section H.1 states devices at the Point of Common Coupling 'must be Certified or Listed (as defined in Article 100 ... of the National Electrical Code) as suitable for their intended application.' This is the utility's requirement; no separate city-published 'approved equipment list' was found.

utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sce.com/sites/default/files/inline-files/Rule21_1_1.pdf

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Yes -- batteries/ESS are permitted alongside residential PV, commonly issued under the same permit

Why the confidence is not higherSeptember 2025 Solar PV Permits Issued report contains numerous permits explicitly including battery backup and ESS (e.g. '(2) BATTERY BACKUP,' '1 TESLA PW3 INVERTER/BATTERY, 1 TESLA BACKUP GATEWAY,' 'ESS 5.0KWH') issued by the city as part of the standard solar permit.

department report checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/DocumentCenter/View/4436/Solar-Permits-Issued-09-SEPT-2025

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

No -- battery/ESS is issued and inspected as part of the same PV permit, not a separate permit

Why the confidence is not higherEvery battery/ESS entry observed in the September 2025 Solar PV Permits Issued report shares a single permit number with the PV system itself (e.g. permit B25-002092 covers '7.92KW, 18 MODULES, 1 INVERTER, 1 BATTERY, 1 EXPANSION PACK' as one line item), indicating no separate ESS permit is issued.

department report checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/DocumentCenter/View/4436/Solar-Permits-Issued-09-SEPT-2025

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Effectively yes for permitting purposes -- ground-mounted systems are explicitly excluded from the automated SolarAPP+ track and must go through standard plan check, which is consistent with treatment as a structure requiring full review

Why the confidence is not higherCity's Solar App+ eligibility list states 'Main dwelling rooftop, permitted, residential structures only. No ballasted or ground mounted systems.' The page does not use the word 'structure' explicitly for ground mounts, so this is an inference from the eligibility exclusion.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/581/Solar-App

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSCE Rule 21 tariff (fetched and full-text searched for 'meter' near 'disconnect' -- Section H.1.d covers disconnect design/signage/accessibility but does not state its position relative to the meter); SCE's Interconnection Handbook and Electric Service Requirements (ESR) manual, which would normally answer this, are unreachable this run per the brief (SharePoint SSO redirect on the handbook; legacy www1.sce.com PDF host DNS/redirect loop confirmed directly during this run when on.sce.com/rule21 redirected to a www1.sce.com URL that did not resolve)

https://www.sce.com/sites/default/files/inline-files/Rule21_1_1.pdf

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How is an inspection booked? Portal / Phone 90% · department page
    • How much notice is required? Effectively next-business-day: requests made before 4:00pm on a city business day are scheduled for the following business day 85% · department page
    • Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Yes -- AM (8:00am-12:00pm) and PM (12:00pm-3:30pm) windows are offered, available by 8:30am the morning of the inspection 90% · department page
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

    • Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 85% · department page
    • If delegated, to whom? N/A -- not delegated; the City's own Building Inspectors perform the final solar inspection 80% · department page
  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    • Which inspections are required, and in what order? For standard rooftop retrofit PV, typically a single final inspection; where the permit scope includes a main panel upgrade or service change-out, a separate electrical/service inspection may also be required 60% · department page + inference
    • Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Not specified as a standalone requirement for standard rooftop retrofit PV; likely triggered only when a main panel upgrade/service change is part of the scope 50% · inference
  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

    • Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes, a published checklist exists, though it is a general new-single-family-dwelling Final Inspection Checklist (dated 2/03/2019, updated 2/26/2019) that includes solar PV as line items ('Verify final inspection if Solar PV system is installed', 'Solar PV ready Requirements?'), not a standalone PV-retrofit inspection checklist 70% · inspection checklist
    • What must be on site at inspection? The Jurupa Valley Building Department-stamped 'APPROVED' plans and the Inspection Record Card (job card) must be on site; any prior Correction Notices must also be on site 90% · inspection checklist
    • Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes, in general practice 60% · inspection checklist
  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

    • What is issued on pass? Final (a passed final building/electrical inspection on the existing permit), rather than a new Certificate of Occupancy, since this is a retrofit to an existing residence 65% · department page + inference
    • Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer / Applicant 70% · utility tariff
    • How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections are noted via a Correction Notice that must remain on site for the inspector to verify at the next inspection; re-inspection cannot be scheduled until any re-inspection fee is paid 55% · department page

14 questions answered against City of Jurupa Valley’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Portal / Phone

Why the confidence is not higherOnline Inspection Requests page states inspections can be requested via the Online Inspection Request form, the Accela Citizen Access online portal, or by voice message on the Automated Inspection line (951-332-0790).

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/172/Online-Inspection-Requests

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

Effectively next-business-day: requests made before 4:00pm on a city business day are scheduled for the following business day

Why the confidence is not higherDirect statement on the Online Inspection Requests page: 'Inspection requests must be made prior to 4:00 pm on a city business day in order for the inspection to be scheduled for the following business day.'

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/172/Online-Inspection-Requests

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

Yes -- AM (8:00am-12:00pm) and PM (12:00pm-3:30pm) windows are offered, available by 8:30am the morning of the inspection

Why the confidence is not higherDirect statement on the Online Inspection Requests page describing the AM/PM timeframe system and when timeframes become available.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/172/Online-Inspection-Requests

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own Building & Safety Department performs inspections (Online Inspection Requests page describes 'The City's building inspectors' and their routes/schedule); Solar PV Permits Issued reports show a 'Current Status' column with values including 'Finaled', consistent with the city performing its own final inspection rather than delegating it.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/172/Online-Inspection-Requests

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

N/A -- not delegated; the City's own Building Inspectors perform the final solar inspection

Why the confidence is not higherSame evidence as Q52 -- no delegation to the county or a third party for the electrical/building final inspection was found (fire-life-safety aspects are separately handled by contracted CAL FIRE/Riverside County Fire, but that is not the final PV building/electrical inspection).

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/172/Online-Inspection-Requests

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

For standard rooftop retrofit PV, typically a single final inspection; where the permit scope includes a main panel upgrade or service change-out, a separate electrical/service inspection may also be required

Why the confidence is not higherThe Solar App+ page's Step 4 describes scheduling 'Your Inspection' (singular) after SolarAPP+ approval and permit issuance; several Solar PV Permits Issued entries include 'SERVICE CHANGEOUT' or 'MPU' as part of the permit scope, which would ordinarily trigger an additional service/rough inspection under standard CBC/CEC practice, but no city document explicitly lists inspection stages for solar.

department page + inference checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/581/Solar-App

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

Not specified as a standalone requirement for standard rooftop retrofit PV; likely triggered only when a main panel upgrade/service change is part of the scope

Why the confidence is not higherNo city document lists a distinct rough-in or mid-roof inspection stage for PV; inferred from the single-inspection description on the Solar App+ page (Step 4) and the presence of service-changeout scope items in some issued permits.

inference checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/581/Solar-App

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Yes, in general practice

Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Final Inspection Checklist (single-family dwelling) requires the inspector to verify labeling on adjacent electrical items ('Electrical service panel properly marked AFCI/GFCI breakers installed'; disconnects for multiple condensers must be 'identified... with corresponding numbers or letters') and explicitly instructs the inspector to 'Verify final inspection if Solar PV system is installed,' though it does not spell out a PV-specific label/listing checklist.

inspection checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/DocumentCenter/View/160/Final-Inspection-Checklist-PDF

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

Yes, a published checklist exists, though it is a general new-single-family-dwelling Final Inspection Checklist (dated 2/03/2019, updated 2/26/2019) that includes solar PV as line items ('Verify final inspection if Solar PV system is installed', 'Solar PV ready Requirements?'), not a standalone PV-retrofit inspection checklist

Why the confidence is not higherExtracted directly via pdftotext from the city's own Final Inspection Checklist PDF on the Standards, Forms and Documents page; dated from its own revision stamp, not the URL.

inspection checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/DocumentCenter/View/160/Final-Inspection-Checklist-PDF

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

The Jurupa Valley Building Department-stamped 'APPROVED' plans and the Inspection Record Card (job card) must be on site; any prior Correction Notices must also be on site

Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote from the Final Inspection Checklist: 'Jurupa Valley Building Department Stamped "APPROVED" Plans and Inspection Record Card must be available on site and must be used to perform the final inspection. Any previous Correction Notices must be on site.' Corroborated by the Online Inspection Requests page's list of inspection responsibilities.

inspection checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/DocumentCenter/View/160/Final-Inspection-Checklist-PDF

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedOnline Inspection Requests page confirms a re-inspection fee exists ('A re-inspection fee may be assessed...') but states no dollar amount; same fee-schedule search as Q15 did not surface a current published amount

https://www.jurupavalley.org/172/Online-Inspection-Requests

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

Corrections are noted via a Correction Notice that must remain on site for the inspector to verify at the next inspection; re-inspection cannot be scheduled until any re-inspection fee is paid

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from Online Inspection Requests page ('Pay any re-inspection fees prior to scheduling your next inspection') and Final Inspection Checklist ('Any previous Correction Notices must be on site and the inspector will verify that all items have been corrected'); no dedicated 'how corrections are issued and cleared' procedural document was found.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/172/Online-Inspection-Requests

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Final (a passed final building/electrical inspection on the existing permit), rather than a new Certificate of Occupancy, since this is a retrofit to an existing residence

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the Online Inspection Requests and Final Inspection Checklist pages, which describe 'Final Inspection' as the concluding step; the city's separate Certificate of Occupancy Policy applies to new/altered occupancy classifications generally and was not confirmed to be issued specifically for a PV retrofit on an existing single-family home.

department page + inference checked 2026-08-30 https://www.jurupavalley.org/172/Online-Inspection-Requests

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Installer / Applicant

Why the confidence is not higherSCE Rule 21, Section D.13.b conditions Permission to Operate on Distribution Provider's receipt of 'evidence of Applicant's final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority having jurisdiction' -- i.e. the applicant/installer is the one who must submit the AHJ's final clearance to SCE to trigger PTO, rather than the AHJ or SCE initiating it independently.

utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sce.com/sites/default/files/inline-files/Rule21_1_1.pdf

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Jurupa Valley against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Jurupa Valley is the authority having jurisdiction 88% confidence
Holds
Building and electrical (plan check + inspection) for residential rooftop PV, performed directly by the City's Building & Safety Department under the Community Development Department
Delegated to
Fire protection, fire-code enforcement and the Office of the Fire Marshal function are contracted to CAL FIRE / Riverside County Fire Department under a cooperative agreement (confirmed on the city's own Fire Services page). This is a service contract for fire, not a delegation of the building/electrical permitting authority -- the City remains AHJ of record for the PV permit itself and issues/finals permits under its own numbering (e.g. B25-002088) via its own Accela instance, including through SolarAPP+.
Overridden by
None found specific to solar permitting jurisdiction. Statewide, Gov. Code SS65850.52/AB130 (Stats. 2025 Ch. 22) constrain what local amendments a city may adopt for residential units 1 Oct 2025-1 Jun 2031, but this does not change who the AHJ is.
Why not higher
City's own Building & Safety Department page states the department 'provides plan checking and building inspection services' and enforces the CBC, Electrical, Mechanical and Plumbing codes citywide. The city's monthly 'Solar PV Permits Issued' reports (e.g. September 2025, 145 permits) show live city permit numbers issued, revised and finaled by the City itself, many explicitly marked 'APPROVED VIA SOLAR APP+'. Separately, the city's Fire Services page states fire protection is provided by CAL FIRE/Riverside County Fire under a cooperative agreement with the County -- confirming the brief's premise that fire is contracted out, while building/electrical is not. Confidence is not 95+ because no single document states 'the City is the AHJ' in those words; this is inferred from the department's own description of its functions plus the permit-issuance evidence.

https://www.jurupavalley.org/165/Building-Safety

Permit required
Yes95%
Plan review
Same day (via SolarAPP+: 'plans to be approved within the day')90%
Portal
Accela Citizen Access (ACA) -- aca-prod.accela.com/JURUPA, linked from the city site as jurupavalley.org/aca95%
Electrical code
2023 NEC, as adopted into the 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3), effective statewide 1 Jan 202655%
Own placard wording
No55%
Booking an inspection
Portal / Phone90%
Labels & placards for this authority

Wording 55%

No

Size, colour & material None%

Where they go 75%

The manual/visible disconnect must be near the Point of Common Coupling; if not adjacent to the PCC, permanent signage describing the device's location must be posted at a Distribution-Provider-approved location, and if the switch itself is not accessible outside a locked premises, signage with contact information plus an approved locking device is required instead

What the utility wants on top 85%

Yes -- SCE Rule 21 requires the visible/manual disconnect switch to include markings or signage clearly indicating open/closed positions, and if the device is not adjacent to the Point of Common Coupling, permanent signage describing its location must be installed (or, if inaccessible outside a locked premises, signage with contact information plus a utility-approved locking device)

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Riverside County
Regions served
2
Regions covered
City of Jurupa Valley · city
Mira Loma · county
Solar Requirements
Separate roof inspection
Building & Safety | Jurupa Valley, CA Skip to Main Content Extreme Heat Warning Extreme Heat Warning in effect from July 22, 10 AM until July 27, 8 PM "Read On" Search Home Government Community Development Building & Safety Building & Safety Goals The Building and Safety Department's goal is to prot
Authority Contact
Address
8930 Limonite Avenue, Jurupa Valley, CA 92509
Main Phone
(951) 332-6464
Building Department
Department
Building and Safety Department
Direct Phone
(951) 332-0790
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
online_portal
Book in advance
next business day
Notes
Uses Accela Citizen Access portal (https://jurupavalley.org/aca) for permit applications and inspection scheduling. Inspection requests must be submitted before 4:00 pm on a business day to be scheduled for the next business day. Inspections can also be requested via automated phone line at (951) 332-0790. City participates in SolarApp+ (https://gosolarapp.org/) for expedited residential rooftop solar PV permit approval — design submitted at solarapp.nrel.gov, then apply for permit selecting 'SolarApp+ (Preapproved)', then schedule inspection via Accela portal using permit number format B##-XXXXXX. Counter hours: Mon-Fri 8am-3pm. City Hall: 8930 Limonite Avenue, Jurupa Valley, CA 92509.