City of La Palma

Orange County

Verified Aug. 4, 2026

City of La Palma is a city authority in the State of California, serving 15,581 residents. 841 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Separate Q4 Plan review — 3 business days (for applications meeting the approved checklist/standard plan under the expedited path) Q18 Where you file — OpenGov (Viewpoint Cloud) — cityoflapalmaca.portal.opengov.com; a dedicated 'SolarAPP+ Solar Permit' record type is offered for expedited residential solar (types:… Q20

Permit required
Yes95% source
What it costs
$294.23 (Electrical Permit — 'PV Solar Panels') + $172.17 ('PV Solar Plan Check') = ~$466.40 minimum, plus a project-valuation-based Building Permit fee for the structural/racking component per the…80% source
Plan review turnaround
3 business days (for applications meeting the approved checklist/standard plan under the expedited path)90% source
Key document
fee schedule (OCR'd) cited by 4 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · authority's own page
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · authority's own page
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · authority's own page
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Separate 70% · fee schedule
    • Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 70% · municipal code
    • Is there a historic-district review? No 80% · municipal code (TOC walk)
    • Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 70% · adopting ordinance (OCR'd)
    • Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Only if the Building Official makes a written finding, based on substantial evidence, that the system could have a 'specific, adverse impact' on public health/safety — the applicant must then apply for a Use Permit (appealable to the Planning Commission, not Council). 85% · municipal code
    • Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal — this is the codified eligibility gate defining a 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' for the streamlined Article IIA ministerial process (systems above this are not barred, but fall outside the expedited path and its 3-business-day issuance guarantee). 90% · municipal code
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

    • Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 55% · counter handout
    • Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? No 50% · department page
    • Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 65% · counter handout
  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • What documents make up a complete submittal? No single dedicated 'solar checklist' exists (control-checked via city site search); a complete submittal draws on general Building & Safety residential handouts — Site Plan, Residential Electrical Requirements, Electrical Load Calculations — plus, for the expedited path, a SolarAPP+ Approval Document obtained via solarapp.nrel.gov before applying in the City's OpenGov portal (record type 'SolarAPP+ Solar Permit', covering Solar, Solar plus storage, Solar plus panel upgrade, and Solar plus panel derates). LPMC Sec. 10-38(d) requires the Building Department to adopt 'a standard plan and checklist' for expedited solar, but no such document was found published on the City's site. 65% · authority's own document search
    • How many copies, and in what format? 3 sets of plans for direct plan-check submittal (per Building & Safety page); SolarAPP+ record-type applications are submitted digitally through the City's OpenGov portal. 65% · authority's own page
    • Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — a Plot/Site Plan is required showing property lines/dimensions, existing and proposed structures and setbacks, location of utility lines and meters/panel, easements, and a project-data table; per the generic 'Site Plan' handout (not solar-specific). 60% · counter handout (OCR'd)
    • Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 55% · permit portal (record-type description)
    • Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes 55% · permit portal (record-type description)
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? OpenGov (Viewpoint Cloud) — cityoflapalmaca.portal.opengov.com; a dedicated 'SolarAPP+ Solar Permit' record type is offered for expedited residential solar (types: Solar, Solar plus storage, Solar plus panel upgrade, Solar plus panel derates) 95% · permit portal
    • Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 85% · permit portal
    • What does a residential solar permit cost? $294.23 (Electrical Permit — 'PV Solar Panels') + $172.17 ('PV Solar Plan Check') = ~$466.40 minimum, plus a project-valuation-based Building Permit fee for the structural/racking component per the City's general 'Building Permit and Plan Check Fee Table' and, if applicable, 'Solar Rack: <1,500 cf' $62.60 (each additional 1,500 cf $62.60). 80% · fee schedule (OCR'd)
    • How is the fee calculated? Flat 75% · fee schedule (OCR'd)
    • Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 90% · fee schedule (OCR'd)
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

    • What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 3 business days (for applications meeting the approved checklist/standard plan under the expedited path) 90% · municipal code
    • How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days (permit becomes invalid if work is suspended/abandoned for 180 days; extensions available in additional 180-day increments on written request with justifiable cause) 85% · adopting ordinance (OCR'd)
    • Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 95% · authority's own page

28 questions answered against City of La Palma’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building & Safety and Solar Energy Information pages state the City issues building and electrical permits for solar PV; LPMC Art. IIA (Sec. 10-34 et seq.) codifies a City small-residential-solar permitting process.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/457/Solar-Energy-Information

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both

Why the confidence is not higherCity issues both a building permit and an electrical permit itself (not delegated to the County); plan check/inspection/Building-Official functions are performed by contracted staff (Bureau Veritas) but the City remains the legal permitting authority.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/127/Building-Safety

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSolar Energy Information page states plainly the City issues a building and electrical permit for PV; LPMC Sec. 10-36 (Art. IIA) makes the article applicable to 'all small residential rooftop solar energy systems' requiring permitting.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/457/Solar-Energy-Information

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Separate

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding-Safety page's exact wording is 'issues a building AND electrical permit' (two permit types), and the FY2024-25 fee schedule bills a general valuation-based Building Permit plus separate, itemized Electrical Permit lines ('PV Solar Panels $294.23', 'PV Solar Plan Check $172.17'). However the City's OpenGov portal offers a single record type, 'SolarAPP+ Solar Permit', which may function as one combined online application — that tension is unresolved.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/13399/Fee-Schedule-FY-2024-25

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either

Why the confidence is not higherNo local ordinance text found restricting who pulls the electrical permit beyond state contractor-licensing law; an 'Owner-Builders Form' handout is published on the Building & Safety page, implying owner-builder permitting is generally accepted, though not confirmed specifically for the electrical permit.

counter handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/6097

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

No

Why the confidence is not higherNo local contractor-registration-with-the-City requirement was found on the Building & Safety, Permits & Inspections, or Solar Energy Information pages beyond the standard state CSLB license (the Quick Link is to the state Contractors State Licensing Board, not a City registry). Search was of the three department pages and their linked handouts; a City-specific registry was not ruled out with full confidence.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/128/Permits-Inspections

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherAn 'Owner-Builders Form' is a published Building & Safety handout for residential projects generally; no PV-specific bar on owner-builder self-permitting was found in LPMC Art. IIA or the fee schedule.

counter handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/6097

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

No single dedicated 'solar checklist' exists (control-checked via city site search); a complete submittal draws on general Building & Safety residential handouts — Site Plan, Residential Electrical Requirements, Electrical Load Calculations — plus, for the expedited path, a SolarAPP+ Approval Document obtained via solarapp.nrel.gov before applying in the City's OpenGov portal (record type 'SolarAPP+ Solar Permit', covering Solar, Solar plus storage, Solar plus panel upgrade, and Solar plus panel derates). LPMC Sec. 10-38(d) requires the Building Department to adopt 'a standard plan and checklist' for expedited solar, but no such document was found published on the City's site.

Why the confidence is not higherLPMC §10-38(d) requires a standard plan/checklist to be adopted; a live CivicPlus site search for 'solar' returned 8 results (checked 31 Aug 2026), none of which is a dedicated solar checklist/standard plan — the codified promise appears unfulfilled, similar to the Colusa/Fillmore 'document that doesn't exist' pattern.

authority's own document search checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=solar

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

3 sets of plans for direct plan-check submittal (per Building & Safety page); SolarAPP+ record-type applications are submitted digitally through the City's OpenGov portal.

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding-Safety page: 'Three sets of plans and a plan check fee are required to initiate the plan check process.' Format for the SolarAPP+ expedited path is separately online per the OpenGov portal record type.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/127/Building-Safety

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Yes — a Plot/Site Plan is required showing property lines/dimensions, existing and proposed structures and setbacks, location of utility lines and meters/panel, easements, and a project-data table; per the generic 'Site Plan' handout (not solar-specific).

Why the confidence is not higherThe linked Site Plan handout (2012-dated, 'HELP FOR THE HOMEOWNER') is a generic residential-addition plot-plan guide, not a solar-specific document; content was OCR'd and read in full (pdftotext returned near-zero text; recovered via pdftoppm+tesseract).

counter handout (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3434

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherNot stated in a La Palma-specific document found in this run; inferred from the City's use of the SolarAPP+ program (which nationally requires a one-line diagram as part of its standard eligibility package) and standard CEC Art. 690 documentation practice.

permit portal (record-type description) checked 2026-08-31 https://cityoflapalmaca.portal.opengov.com/categories/1071

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherNot stated in a La Palma-specific document found; inferred from SolarAPP+ national program requirements and standard CEC Art. 690 conductor/ampacity documentation.

permit portal (record-type description) checked 2026-08-31 https://cityoflapalmaca.portal.opengov.com/categories/1071

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedFull OCR of Ordinance 2025-02 (Building/Residential Code local amendments) and the Building & Safety handout list; no PV-specific structural-criteria worksheet (of the Imperial Beach/Barstow type) or PE-stamp threshold was found for La Palma.

https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14034

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame OCR review as q13 (Ordinance 2025-02 Electrical Code amendments, LPMC Sec. 10-178); no electrical PE-stamp threshold specific to solar was found.

https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14034

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

$294.23 (Electrical Permit — 'PV Solar Panels') + $172.17 ('PV Solar Plan Check') = ~$466.40 minimum, plus a project-valuation-based Building Permit fee for the structural/racking component per the City's general 'Building Permit and Plan Check Fee Table' and, if applicable, 'Solar Rack: <1,500 cf' $62.60 (each additional 1,500 cf $62.60).

Why the confidence is not higherFY2024-25 Building & Safety Fee Schedule (image-only PDF, OCR'd with pdftoppm+tesseract; positive control 'electrical' 14 hits, fabricated 'zzqqx' 0 hits). Schedule is dated Aug 2024 but a May 2024 Council item ('Item 13_Fee Schedule Adjustments') states 'No changes are being proposed for the Building and Safety fees at this time,' and it remains the fee schedule linked from the live Building & Safety page as of a Feb 2026 site index — so it appears still current, though a newer FY2025-26/26-27 fee schedule document was not found.

fee schedule (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/13399/Fee-Schedule-FY-2024-25

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Flat

Why the confidence is not higherThe solar-specific Electrical Permit line items ('PV Solar Panels', 'PV Solar Plan Check', 'Solar Rack') are flat dollar figures. Note the general Building Permit component of a PV job (structural/racking) is charged via the City's project-valuation table ('Per Table'), so the true fee mixes Flat (electrical) and Valuation (building) bases — reported as Flat for the dominant, solar-specific line items.

fee schedule (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/13399/Fee-Schedule-FY-2024-25

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule lists 'PV Solar Plan Check $172.17' as a distinct line item from 'PV Solar Panels $294.23'.

fee schedule (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/13399/Fee-Schedule-FY-2024-25

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

3 business days (for applications meeting the approved checklist/standard plan under the expedited path)

Why the confidence is not higherLPMC Sec. 10-39(a): 'For an application ... that meets the requirements of the approved checklist and standard plan, the Building Official shall issue a building permit or other non-discretionary permit within three business days.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/la_palma/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_CH10BU_ARTIIASMRESOENSYPE_S10-39EXPEREINRE

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

180 days (permit becomes invalid if work is suspended/abandoned for 180 days; extensions available in additional 180-day increments on written request with justifiable cause)

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance No. 2025-02 amends CBC Sec. 105.5 and CRC Sec. R105.5 to this effect (OCR'd from the scanned ordinance PDF; positive control 'electrical' present, fabricated control 0 hits).

adopting ordinance (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14034

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

OpenGov (Viewpoint Cloud) — cityoflapalmaca.portal.opengov.com; a dedicated 'SolarAPP+ Solar Permit' record type is offered for expedited residential solar (types: Solar, Solar plus storage, Solar plus panel upgrade, Solar plus panel derates)

Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed by rendering the live OpenGov portal via headless Chrome/CDP (plain fetch returns only a JS shell) and reading the rendered record-type list directly.

permit portal checked 2026-08-31 https://cityoflapalmaca.portal.opengov.com/categories/1071

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherThe portal exposes an 'Apply Online' action for the Building and Safety category, and the SolarAPP+ record type is designed for a fully online expedited application once a SolarAPP+ Approval Document is obtained.

permit portal checked 2026-08-31 https://cityoflapalmaca.portal.opengov.com/categories/1071

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Southern California Edison (SCE)

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own 'Utilities' section carries a dedicated page titled 'Southern California Edison (SCE)' (city-side confirmation, not PowerToChoose).

authority's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/273/Southern-California-Edison-SCE

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedAttempted SCE's own DG/interconnection pages (sce.com/regulatory/tariff-books, /customer-service/generating-your-own-power/interconnections) — both returned soft-404/redirect pages, consistent with the known SCE pattern of DG pages not resolving to live content; did not substitute another utility's Rule 21 document.

https://www.sce.com/regulatory/tariff-books

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherLPMC Chapter 44 has no residential design-review or architectural-review chapter (the only 'Architectural design standards' section, Sec. 44-143, is scoped to the B-1 commercial district); no HOA-approval prerequisite found in the zoning code or the small-residential-solar article.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/la_palma/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_CH44ZO_ARTIIZODIALLAUS_DIV4NOZODI_S44-143ARDESTDEZODI

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherFull walk of the Code of Ordinances table of contents (via Municode API, productId 14877) found no chapter, article or section containing 'historic', 'landmark', or 'cultural resources'; La Palma has no historic-preservation ordinance.

municipal code (TOC walk) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/la_palma/codes/code_of_ordinances

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherFull OCR of Ordinance 2025-02's Building/Residential/Electrical amendment sections found no wind-speed, windstorm-certification, or 'Exposure C/D' local amendment (positive control 'electrical' 14 hits present, fabricated 'zzqqx' 0 hits). La Palma is a flat inland Orange County city, not in a mapped high-wind corridor.

adopting ordinance (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14034

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

Only if the Building Official makes a written finding, based on substantial evidence, that the system could have a 'specific, adverse impact' on public health/safety — the applicant must then apply for a Use Permit (appealable to the Planning Commission, not Council).

Why the confidence is not higherLPMC Sec. 10-39(a) and (c).

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/la_palma/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_CH10BU_ARTIIASMRESOENSYPE_S10-39EXPEREINRE

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal — this is the codified eligibility gate defining a 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' for the streamlined Article IIA ministerial process (systems above this are not barred, but fall outside the expedited path and its 3-business-day issuance guarantee).

Why the confidence is not higherLPMC Sec. 10-35 (Definitions), AB 2188-era figure; this is a gate for the expedited process, not an absolute city-wide size cap.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/la_palma/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_CH10BU_ARTIIASMRESOENSYPE_S10-35DE

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 95% · adopting ordinance (OCR'd)
    • Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Standards Codes — CBC based on the 2024 IBC, CRC based on the 2024 IRC (Ordinance 2025-02) 95% · authority's own page + adopting ordinance
    • Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (LPMC Ch. 16, Art. II, Ord. 2025-03) 75% · adopting ordinance (OCR'd)
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 95% · adopting ordinance (OCR'd)
    • What is the installation judged against? The 2025 CEC (2023 NEC) as locally amended, the 2025 CBC/CRC as locally amended, and LPMC Art. IIA Sec. 10-37, which requires solar energy systems to meet all applicable CEC safety/performance standards, IEEE standards, UL/accredited-lab listing, and applicable CPUC rules. 90% · municipal code
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    • What ridge setback and access pathways are required? No local amendment to fire-code pathway/setback requirements for PV; the unamended 2025 CFC/CRC model-code pathway and ridge-setback provisions apply by straight adoption. 80% · adopting ordinance (OCR'd)
  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    • Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, per NEC 690.12 as adopted via the 2025 CEC (2023 NEC base edition); no local amendment to 690.12 itself was found (the only local Art. 690 amendment is to 690.13, disconnect location). 80% · adopting ordinance (OCR'd)
  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    • Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? A single, visible-open, lockable AC disconnect at the service equipment (see q48); no additional city-specified placard beyond the functional disconnect-marking requirement was found. 65% · adopting ordinance (OCR'd)
    • Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 80% · adopting ordinance (OCR'd)
    • Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No 80% · adopting ordinance (OCR'd)
    • Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Only the standard (unamended) NEC 705.10 marking/directory requirement applies; no additional City-specific site-plan/facility-map placard requirement was found. 60% · adopting ordinance (OCR'd)
    • Where must the labels be placed? The AC disconnect must be readily accessible, either outside the building or just inside the point of entrance of the system conductors, and within 3 feet of the meter on the exterior of the building. 80% · adopting ordinance (OCR'd)
  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Within 3 feet of the electric meter, on the exterior of the building — a single, visible-open, lockable AC disconnect, located either outside the building/structure or just inside the point of entrance of the system conductors. 95% · adopting ordinance (OCR'd)
    • Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 80% · municipal code
    • Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes — the City's OpenGov/SolarAPP+ record type explicitly includes 'Solar plus storage' as a permitted application type; the OCFA fee schedule separately prices 'Battery Systems' (PR375) and the City's own Electrical fee schedule prices 'Generators, Transformers, Battery Storage Device' ($70.43). No dedicated local ESS ordinance/technical amendment (siting, clearance, ventilation) was found beyond the adopted (unamended) 2025 CRC/CFC. 85% · permit portal + fee schedules
    • Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes — battery storage is billed as its own fee line, distinct from the PV lines, both at the City (Electrical: 'Generators, Transformers, Battery Storage Device $70.43' vs 'PV Solar Panels $294.23') and at OCFA (PR375 Battery Systems $963/$233 vs PR362 PV $223/$175). 75% · fee schedule (OCR'd)
    • Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Likely yes, by default, as an accessory structure under LPMC Sec. 44-102 (Accessory uses and structures) — no PV-specific ground-mount carve-out or standard was found in the zoning code. 60% · municipal code (control-checked absence + inference)
    • Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No — no local busbar-minimum or attic-ambient-derating rule found 80% · adopting ordinance (OCR'd)
    • Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? No local mounting-system or attachment-spacing rule found beyond the adopted (unamended) 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC provisions 70% · adopting ordinance (OCR'd)

20 questions answered against City of La Palma’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2023

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 2025-02: 'The California Electrical Code, 2025 Edition, based on the 2023 National Electrical Code ... is hereby adopted.'

adopting ordinance (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14034

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2025 California Building Standards Codes — CBC based on the 2024 IBC, CRC based on the 2024 IRC (Ordinance 2025-02)

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety page: 'The City of La Palma has adopted the 2025 California Building Standards Codes'; confirmed in Ordinance 2025-02's own adoption sections for Building and Residential Codes.

authority's own page + adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/127/Building-Safety

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

2025 California Fire Code (LPMC Ch. 16, Art. II, Ord. 2025-03)

Why the confidence is not higherOrd. 2025-03's WHEREAS clause cites 'the 2025 California Fire Code, based on the International Fire Code, 2025 Edition' but the ordinance's own operative Sec. 16.22 text reads 'the California Fire Code, 2025 Edition, based on the 2021 International Fire Code' — an internal drafting inconsistency in the same enacted ordinance, recorded as written rather than silently corrected.

adopting ordinance (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14035

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 2025-02 (Building/Residential/Electrical — CEC Art. 690.13 disconnect-location amendment, aluminum-wiring amendment, CRC/CBC permit-expiration amendments) and Ordinance 2025-03 (Fire) both adopt local amendments under Health & Safety Code §17958.7 findings of local climatic/geologic conditions.

adopting ordinance (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14034

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

The 2025 CEC (2023 NEC) as locally amended, the 2025 CBC/CRC as locally amended, and LPMC Art. IIA Sec. 10-37, which requires solar energy systems to meet all applicable CEC safety/performance standards, IEEE standards, UL/accredited-lab listing, and applicable CPUC rules.

Why the confidence is not higherLPMC Sec. 10-37 plus the adopted/amended 2025 technical codes (Ordinance 2025-02).

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/la_palma/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_CH10BU_ARTIIASMRESOENSYPE_S10-37SOENSYRE

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

No — no local busbar-minimum or attic-ambient-derating rule found

Why the confidence is not higherFull OCR of the Electrical Code local-amendments section (LPMC Sec. 10-178, Ordinance 2025-02) shows only two substantive amendments: an aluminum-conductor inspection rule (Art. 310.3) and the Art. 690.13 PV-disconnect-location rule — no Palm-Springs-style 225A busbar minimum or 140°F attic-derating clause (positive control 'electrical' 14 hits, fabricated 'zzqqx' 0 hits).

adopting ordinance (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14034

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

No local mounting-system or attachment-spacing rule found beyond the adopted (unamended) 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC provisions

Why the confidence is not higherFull OCR of Ordinance 2025-02 (Building, Residential, Electrical amendments) contains no 'mounting', 'rack', 'attachment', or 'spacing' local amendment text (control-checked).

adopting ordinance (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14034

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

No local amendment to fire-code pathway/setback requirements for PV; the unamended 2025 CFC/CRC model-code pathway and ridge-setback provisions apply by straight adoption.

Why the confidence is not higherFull OCR of Ordinance 2025-03's local fire-code amendments (LPMC Sec. 16-24 et seq.) contains zero PV/photovoltaic/ridge/setback/pathway text (positive control 'fire' 182 hits, fabricated 'zzqqx' 0 hits).

adopting ordinance (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14035

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Yes, per NEC 690.12 as adopted via the 2025 CEC (2023 NEC base edition); no local amendment to 690.12 itself was found (the only local Art. 690 amendment is to 690.13, disconnect location).

Why the confidence is not higher2025 CEC adoption (Ordinance 2025-02) plus full-text OCR search of the same ordinance for '690.12'/'rapid shutdown' returning zero hits — confirms no local modification.

adopting ordinance (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14034

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

A single, visible-open, lockable AC disconnect at the service equipment (see q48); no additional city-specified placard beyond the functional disconnect-marking requirement was found.

Why the confidence is not higherLPMC Art. 690.13 amendment (Ordinance 2025-02) specifies the disconnect's visibility/lockability and location but does not add placard wording, size, or color text; full OCR of both technical-code ordinances found no separate placard specification.

adopting ordinance (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14034

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No

Why the confidence is not higherFull OCR of Ordinance 2025-02 and 2025-03 found no city-specified placard wording text anywhere in the local amendments (control-checked).

adopting ordinance (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14034

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No

Why the confidence is not higherSame full-OCR review as q39 — no letter-height, color, or material specification found in either local technical-code amendment ordinance.

adopting ordinance (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14035

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Only the standard (unamended) NEC 705.10 marking/directory requirement applies; no additional City-specific site-plan/facility-map placard requirement was found.

Why the confidence is not higherNo local amendment to NEC Art. 705 was found in the OCR'd Ordinance 2025-02 electrical amendments; the generic 'Site Plan' handout is a plot-plan guide, not a facility-map placard spec.

adopting ordinance (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14034

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame SCE DG-page attempts as q23; no SCE-specific placard requirement beyond the AHJ's was reachable in this run.

https://www.sce.com/regulatory/tariff-books

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

The AC disconnect must be readily accessible, either outside the building or just inside the point of entrance of the system conductors, and within 3 feet of the meter on the exterior of the building.

Why the confidence is not higherLPMC Art. 690.13 amendment (Ordinance 2025-02) — this is a location rule rather than a full labeling spec.

adopting ordinance (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14034

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherLPMC Sec. 10-37(c): solar-electric equipment must meet standards established by the CEC, IEEE, and be tested/listed by accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/la_palma/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_CH10BU_ARTIIASMRESOENSYPE_S10-37SOENSYRE

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Yes — the City's OpenGov/SolarAPP+ record type explicitly includes 'Solar plus storage' as a permitted application type; the OCFA fee schedule separately prices 'Battery Systems' (PR375) and the City's own Electrical fee schedule prices 'Generators, Transformers, Battery Storage Device' ($70.43). No dedicated local ESS ordinance/technical amendment (siting, clearance, ventilation) was found beyond the adopted (unamended) 2025 CRC/CFC.

Why the confidence is not higherOpenGov portal record-type list (rendered via CDP); FY2024-25 fee schedule; OCFA fee schedule eff. 1 Sep 2025.

permit portal + fee schedules checked 2026-08-31 https://cityoflapalmaca.portal.opengov.com/categories/1071

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

Yes — battery storage is billed as its own fee line, distinct from the PV lines, both at the City (Electrical: 'Generators, Transformers, Battery Storage Device $70.43' vs 'PV Solar Panels $294.23') and at OCFA (PR375 Battery Systems $963/$233 vs PR362 PV $223/$175).

Why the confidence is not higherFee-schedule cross-reference; no explicit ordinance text describing a separate ESS *inspection* procedure was found, so this is inferred from the separate fee lines.

fee schedule (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/13399/Fee-Schedule-FY-2024-25

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Likely yes, by default, as an accessory structure under LPMC Sec. 44-102 (Accessory uses and structures) — no PV-specific ground-mount carve-out or standard was found in the zoning code.

Why the confidence is not higherChapter 44 (Zoning) contains zero 'solar' hits across Articles II and III (control-checked: 'setback' 36 hits, 'height' 37 hits, 'accessory' 50 hits, fabricated 'zzqqx' 0 hits) — a ground-mount system is not addressed by name and would default to the general accessory-structure setback/height table (Sec. 44-102).

municipal code (control-checked absence + inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/la_palma/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_CH44ZO_ARTIIZODIALLAUS_DIV3RESUDEST_S44-102ACUSST

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Within 3 feet of the electric meter, on the exterior of the building — a single, visible-open, lockable AC disconnect, located either outside the building/structure or just inside the point of entrance of the system conductors.

Why the confidence is not higherLPMC Art. 690.13 amendment, Ordinance 2025-02 (Sec. 10-178) — an explicit, codified local rule, analogous to the Palm Springs-style local electrical amendment pattern.

adopting ordinance (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14034

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How is an inspection booked? Portal 90% · department page
    • How much notice is required? 24 hours (generally) 90% · department page
    • Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? No AM/PM windows — inspections are conducted only Monday–Thursday, 8:30 a.m. to noon (closed Fridays); same-day inspection may be accommodated if the request is called in before 8:30 a.m. 85% · department page
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

    • Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Delegated 85% · AP warrant register
    • If delegated, to whom? Bureau Veritas North America, Inc. (contracted Building & Safety Division — plan check, building inspection, Building Official) for the standard building/electrical inspection; Orange County Fire Authority for PV needing Alternative Compliance and for Battery Systems. 85% · AP warrant register
  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    • Which inspections are required, and in what order? For systems eligible under the expedited Article IIA process, only ONE inspection is required, performed by the Building Department, scheduled within two business days of request; larger/non-eligible systems and anything triggering OCFA 'Alternative Compliance' or a Battery System receive an additional, separate OCFA inspection. 85% · municipal code
    • Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 75% · municipal code
  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

14 questions answered against City of La Palma’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Portal

Why the confidence is not higherPermits & Inspections page: inspections are scheduled through the City's OpenGov Portal (24-hour notice generally required); same-day possible by phone before 8:30 a.m.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/128/Permits-Inspections

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

24 hours (generally)

Why the confidence is not higherPermits & Inspections page: 'Generally, 24-hour notice is required to schedule an inspection on the City's OpenGov Portal.'

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/128/Permits-Inspections

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

No AM/PM windows — inspections are conducted only Monday–Thursday, 8:30 a.m. to noon (closed Fridays); same-day inspection may be accommodated if the request is called in before 8:30 a.m.

Why the confidence is not higherPermits & Inspections page states the fixed inspection window and same-day exception directly.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/128/Permits-Inspections

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Delegated

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding inspection is performed by contracted Bureau Veritas staff under the Building Department's authority (city page + May 2024 warrant register line 'APR'24 BLDG INSP SVCS/BSD' to Bureau Veritas); OCFA separately inspects PV needing Alternative Compliance and all Battery Systems per its own fee schedule.

AP warrant register checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/13130

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

Bureau Veritas North America, Inc. (contracted Building & Safety Division — plan check, building inspection, Building Official) for the standard building/electrical inspection; Orange County Fire Authority for PV needing Alternative Compliance and for Battery Systems.

Why the confidence is not higherSame warrant-register and OCFA fee-schedule sources as q52.

AP warrant register checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/13130

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

For systems eligible under the expedited Article IIA process, only ONE inspection is required, performed by the Building Department, scheduled within two business days of request; larger/non-eligible systems and anything triggering OCFA 'Alternative Compliance' or a Battery System receive an additional, separate OCFA inspection.

Why the confidence is not higherLPMC Sec. 10-39(f): 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by the Building Department for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review ... scheduled within two business days.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/la_palma/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_CH10BU_ARTIIASMRESOENSYPE_S10-39EXPEREINRE

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

No

Why the confidence is not higherLPMC Sec. 10-39(f)'s 'only one inspection' rule for expedited-eligible systems implies no separate rough-in/mid-roof inspection stage for those systems.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/la_palma/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_CH10BU_ARTIIASMRESOENSYPE_S10-39EXPEREINRE

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Yes (inferred)

Why the confidence is not higherLPMC Sec. 10-37(c) requires equipment to be listed/tested by accredited laboratories (e.g. UL); no explicit published inspection checklist confirms label verification is part of the field inspection, so this is standard-practice inference rather than a documented city checklist item.

municipal code (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/la_palma/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_CH10BU_ARTIIASMRESOENSYPE_S10-37SOENSYRE

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

No

Why the confidence is not higherA live CivicPlus site search for 'solar' (31 Aug 2026) returned 8 results, none of which is a published solar-specific inspection checklist; the Building & Safety handout list (checked directly) likewise has no solar inspection checklist.

authority's own document search checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=solar

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety handout list and Permits & Inspections page; no published 'documents required on site at inspection' checklist was found for solar specifically or for building inspections generally.

https://www.lapalmaca.gov/128/Permits-Inspections

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

$62.60

Why the confidence is not higherFY2024-25 fee schedule: 'Reinspection Fee (LPCC Sec 10-99) $62.60' — a general (not solar-specific) reinspection fee that would apply to a failed solar inspection.

fee schedule (OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/13399/Fee-Schedule-FY-2024-25

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedPermits & Inspections and Building & Safety pages; no published correction-notice/re-inspection-clearance procedure text was found beyond the general reinspection fee line.

https://www.lapalmaca.gov/128/Permits-Inspections

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Final

Why the confidence is not higherFor a residential PV retrofit on an existing single-family dwelling, the adopted code process concludes with a final building/electrical inspection sign-off rather than a new Certificate of Occupancy (which the ordinance ties to new construction/occupancy changes); this is inferred from the general CBC/CRC final-inspection framework rather than a solar-specific statement.

adopting ordinance (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lapalmaca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14034

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame SCE DG-page attempts as q23/q42; SCE's own interconnection-sequence documentation (who submits PTO paperwork) was not reachable in this run.

https://www.sce.com/regulatory/tariff-books

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of La Palma against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of La Palma is the authority having jurisdiction 95% confidence
Holds
Building and Electrical
Delegated to
Bureau Veritas North America, Inc. — contracted for plan check, building inspection and the Building Official function under LPMC/city practice; the City's own May 2024 AP warrant register (Item 3, doc 13130) itemizes separate monthly invoices to Bureau Veritas for 'PLAN CK SVCS/BSD', 'BLDG INSP SVCS/BSD', 'BLDG OFF SVCS/BSD', 'PERMIT TECH SVCS/BSD' and, distinctly, 'SOLAR PLAN CK SVCS/BSD' — so solar plan check specifically is billed to the contractor, not performed in-house. Legal permit-issuance authority remains the City's.
Overridden by
Orange County Fire Authority (OCFA) holds fire-code enforcement citywide: LPMC Sec. 16-23 states verbatim 'The California Fire Code and the International Fire Code with amendments shall be enforced by the Orange County Fire Authority, which shall be operated under the Fire Chief of the Orange County Fire Authority.' OCFA's current Adopted Fee Schedule (eff. 1 Sep 2025) carries PR362 'Photovoltaic System - Residential Alternative Compliance' ($223 plan review / $175 inspection) and PR375 'Battery Systems' ($963/$233) — i.e. OCFA reviews/inspects only PV needing a deviation from standard, plus all battery systems; routine rooftop PV stays with Building. La Palma's own locally-amended 2025 Fire Code (Ord. 2025-03) has zero PV/ESS-specific provisions (control-checked, 182 'fire' hits vs 0 fabricated), confirming OCFA's role here is the statewide/countywide fee-schedule shape rather than a local amendment.
Why not higher
City's own Building & Safety page states outright: 'The City of La Palma currently issues a building and electrical permit for Solar PV Systems' and 'The City of La Palma contracts for Building and Safety Services with Bureau Veritas North America, Inc.' Corroborated by a dated first-party AP warrant register naming Bureau Veritas for building-official, plan-check and solar-specific plan-check services, and by LPMC Sec. 16-23 naming OCFA as fire-code enforcer.

https://www.lapalmaca.gov/127/Building-Safety

Permit required
Yes95%
Permit cost
$294.23 (Electrical Permit — 'PV Solar Panels') + $172.17 ('PV Solar Plan Check') = ~$466.40 minimum,80%
Plan review
3 business days (for applications meeting the approved checklist/standard plan under the expedited path)90%
Portal
OpenGov (Viewpoint Cloud) — cityoflapalmaca.portal.opengov.com; a dedicated 'SolarAPP+ Solar Permit' record type is offered for expedited residential solar (types: Solar,95%
Electrical code
202395%
Own placard wording
No80%
Booking an inspection
Portal90%
Labels & placards for this authority

Wording 80%

No

Size, colour & material 80%

No

Where they go 80%

The AC disconnect must be readily accessible, either outside the building or just inside the point of entrance of the system conductors, and within 3 feet of the meter on the exterior of the building.

What the utility wants on top None%

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Orange County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of La Palma · city
Solar Requirements
Required placards
Building & Safety | La Palma, CA - Official Website Skip to Main Content Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more. Website Sign In Search Home Government City Departments & Divisions Community Development Building & Safety Building & Safety The Building & Safety Division provides plan checking, permit issuance, building inspection , and other buildi
Separate roof inspection
Building & Safety | La Palma, CA - Official Website Skip to Main Content Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more. Website Sign In Search Home Government City Departments & Divisions Community Development Building & Safety Building & Safety The Buildi
Authority Contact
Address
7822 Walker St., La Palma, CA 90623
Main Phone
(714) 690-3300
Building Department
Department
Building & Safety Division
Direct Phone
(714) 690-3340
Portal Software
Accela
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
online_portal
Book in advance
1
Notes
La Palma uses OpenGov for all permit and inspection scheduling. Inspections available Mon-Thu 8:30am-noon (closed Fridays); 24-hour advance notice required via the OpenGov portal, but same-day may be accommodated if calling before 8:30am at 714-690-3340. City Hall at 7822 Walker St, La Palma CA 90623. Permit counter available Mon-Thu 7:30am-6:30pm. La Palma has adopted AB 2188 expedited solar permitting. Plan check contracted to Bureau Veritas North America. Adopted 2025 California Building Standards Codes.