City of La Puente
Los Angeles County
City of La Puente is a city authority in the State of California, serving 38,062 residents. 2,828 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3
- Permit required
- Yes75% source
- Key document
- inference from state law + department page silence cited by 5 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes — City of La Puente Building & Safety Division is the AHJ for building/electrical permitting of residential rooftop PV; LACoFD is the AHJ for ESS>3kWh, certain BIPV, and disconnect placarding 92% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both (Building + Electrical) at the city level via the Building & Safety Division, whose Building Official/plans-examiner role is contracted to Willdan Engineering; field inspection is performed in-house by a City-employed Building Inspector. LACoFD delegates conventional rooftop-PV fire review to City B&S but retains ESS>3kWh, a BIPV subcategory, and disconnect placarding for its own review/inspection. 90% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 75% · adopted code chapter
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No city architectural-review requirement confirmed for rooftop PV specifically; HOA restrictions on solar are preempted statewide by the Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714, §4600) 50% · zoning code + state law
- Is there a historic-district review? No 80% · zoning code, full zone list
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 55% · inference from adopted building code framework
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 38.4 kW AC — the state-mandated Expedited PV/ESS Permitting Process ministerial cap under Gov. Code §65850.52, referenced directly by LACoFD's own R-3/R-4 guide ('GOV 65850.52'); larger residential systems remain permittable via standard (non-ministerial) plan review, not capped outright 70% · AHJ guide citing state law
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Licensed contractor — LACoFD's own disconnect-placarding guide references placard 'X of Y' determinations and placement being made 'by a C-10 electrician (or other classification when a C-10 is not required for the scope of work being performed)', implying C-10 electrical or C-46 solar licensure is the norm 60% · AHJ guide
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 90% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes, under the statewide owner-builder exemption (Business & Professions Code §7044) which applies uniformly across California; no La Puente-specific statement found either allowing or barring it 50% · inference from state law + department page silence
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes (inferred) 55% · inference from adopted electrical code
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Likely yes (inferred) 45% · inference / absence of a local checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
Nothing recorded for City of La Puente on this step yet — 5 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days without inspection progress (2022 CBC/LA County Title 26 default permit-expiration rule, incorporated by LPMC 8.05.010); no La Puente-specific override found 50% · adopted code chapter
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 70% · city utilities page + CCA member-list absence
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel — city building/electrical permit issuance does not require prior SCE approval; SCE's own NEM interconnection application ($94 fee for <1MW systems) can run alongside permitting, but SCE's Permission to Operate is issued only after proof of the AHJ's final inspection/permit closure 55% · utility program page
28 questions answered against City of La Puente’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes — City of La Puente Building & Safety Division is the AHJ for building/electrical permitting of residential rooftop PV; LACoFD is the AHJ for ESS>3kWh, certain BIPV, and disconnect placarding
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building & Safety page describes plan check/inspection of residential projects; LACoFD's own guide describes and relies on this delegation from LACoFD to city B&S for conventional rooftop PV
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://lapuente.org/building-and-safety/
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both (Building + Electrical) at the city level via the Building & Safety Division, whose Building Official/plans-examiner role is contracted to Willdan Engineering; field inspection is performed in-house by a City-employed Building Inspector. LACoFD delegates conventional rooftop-PV fire review to City B&S but retains ESS>3kWh, a BIPV subcategory, and disconnect placarding for its own review/inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherContact listing on the city's own Building & Safety page shows a willdan.com email for the Building Official and a lapuente.org email for the Building Inspector; LACoFD's guide states the fire-review delegation and its carve-outs
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://lapuente.org/building-and-safety/
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherInferred: La Puente adopts the 2022 CRC/CBC/CEC (via LPMC 8.05.010, 8.13.010, 8.44.010) without a stated exemption for small PV; no city page states an exemption. No La Puente-specific 'permit required' sentence for solar found, so this is inference from the adopted code rather than an explicit local statement.
adopted code chapter checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lapuente/latest/lapuente_ca/0-0-0-24795
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Safety department page (full text) and the fee-setting chapter LPMC 8.03.010, which states permit fees are set by council resolution rather than in the code; no such resolution/fee-schedule PDF was found published on lapuente.org (checked Finance Dept, City Clerk, Building & Safety pages and the full page-sitemap.xml — no fee-schedule page exists)
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Licensed contractor — LACoFD's own disconnect-placarding guide references placard 'X of Y' determinations and placement being made 'by a C-10 electrician (or other classification when a C-10 is not required for the scope of work being performed)', implying C-10 electrical or C-46 solar licensure is the norm
Why the confidence is not higherThis is LACoFD's fire-placarding document, not a City of La Puente statement on who may pull the electrical permit; treated as an inference from a related AHJ document, not a direct city rule
AHJ guide checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety page states plainly: 'If you are performing work and obtaining a permit in the City of La Puente as a licensed contractor, you will need to apply for a City of La Puente City Business License,' with required documents (state contractor's card, ID)
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://lapuente.org/building-and-safety/
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes, under the statewide owner-builder exemption (Business & Professions Code §7044) which applies uniformly across California; no La Puente-specific statement found either allowing or barring it
Why the confidence is not higherInference from state law rather than a city-specific page; Building & Safety page discusses licensed contractors only and is silent on owner-builders
inference from state law + department page silence checked 2026-08-30 https://lapuente.org/building-and-safety/
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page's 'Plan Check Submittal & Requirements' section, which describes only a generic process (over-the-counter hours) and links only an EV Charging Submittal Requirements Checklist — no solar/PV-specific submittal checklist exists; probed guessed PDF filename patterns (SolarChecklist.pdf, PVChecklist.pdf, SolarPVSubmittalRequirements.pdf under the same upload paths as the real EV checklist) and all returned WordPress soft-404 HTML pages, not PDFs
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q8 — no solar-specific checklist exists to specify copies/format
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q8 — no solar-specific site-plan requirement document found
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes (inferred)
Why the confidence is not higherNo La Puente-specific solar checklist exists to confirm; inferred from standard CEC Art. 690/705 plan-review expectations for any utility-interactive PV system reviewed under the adopted 2022 CEC (LPMC 8.13.010), not a city-specific statement
inference from adopted electrical code checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lapuente/latest/lapuente_ca/0-0-0-24872
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Likely yes (inferred)
Why the confidence is not higherNo La Puente-specific solar submittal checklist was found (searched Building & Safety page and probed likely PDF filenames — all 404). Inferred from standard practice under the adopted 2022 CEC, not confirmed locally.
inference / absence of a local checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://lapuente.org/building-and-safety/
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page and codified building code chapter (LPMC 8.05, read in full — only Adoption/Definitions/Penalties, no PE-stamp threshold stated)
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lapuente/latest/lapuente_ca/0-0-0-24795
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCodified electrical code chapter (LPMC 8.13, read in full — only Adoption/Definitions/Penalties, no PE-stamp threshold stated)
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lapuente/latest/lapuente_ca/0-0-0-24872
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedLPMC 8.03.010 states fees are set by city council resolution, not codified in the municipal code; searched Finance Department page, City Clerk page, Building & Safety page, and the site's full page-sitemap.xml for a published fee schedule/resolution PDF — none found
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q15 — fee-calculation method cannot be determined without the unpublished fee resolution
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q15 — no fee schedule found to confirm whether plan-check is billed separately from the permit fee
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page describes only over-the-counter walk-in windows for 'small or minor' projects on specific days/times, with no stated calendar-day/business-day turnaround for standard (non-walk-in) plan review
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days without inspection progress (2022 CBC/LA County Title 26 default permit-expiration rule, incorporated by LPMC 8.05.010); no La Puente-specific override found
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the state/county-code default incorporated by reference, not a La Puente-specific figure; no local amendment chapter was found (LPMC 8.05 has only 3 sections: adoption, definitions, penalties)
adopted code chapter checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lapuente/latest/lapuente_ca/0-0-0-24795
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull page-sitemap.xml (102 pages, none named for a permit portal), Building & Safety page (describes walk-in plan check only), and the 'Public Records Portal' link (confirmed via its own link text to be a monthly permit-activity listing tool, not an application portal). Probed for a Symbium page (symbium.com/for/solar/la-puente-ca) and a SolarApp+ jurisdiction page — both 404.
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q20 — no portal found, so online completion cannot be confirmed either way
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherNo La Puente city document names its electric utility directly — the city's own Utilities page lists only water, gas and telecom providers with no electric utility named. Confirmed by absence-based reasoning: La Puente is not a Clean Power Alliance member (CPA's own homepage lists all ~38 current member cities/areas by name and La Puente is absent), there is no evidence anywhere in city documents of a municipal electric utility, and the city sits entirely within SCE's undisputed historic San Gabriel Valley/Gateway service area alongside its LACoFD Division-8 neighbors (Diamond Bar, Industry, Pomona, Walnut), none of which are municipal-electric cities. PowerToChoose was not used.
city utilities page + CCA member-list absence checked 2026-08-30 https://lapuente.org/utilities/
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel — city building/electrical permit issuance does not require prior SCE approval; SCE's own NEM interconnection application ($94 fee for <1MW systems) can run alongside permitting, but SCE's Permission to Operate is issued only after proof of the AHJ's final inspection/permit closure
Why the confidence is not higherBased on SCE's own published NEM program page describing the interconnection application fee and process; the sequencing relative to city permitting is general SCE/NEM practice, not a La Puente-specific statement
utility program page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sce.com/residential/generating-your-own-power/net-energy-metering
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No city architectural-review requirement confirmed for rooftop PV specifically; HOA restrictions on solar are preempted statewide by the Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714, §4600)
Why the confidence is not higherLPMC 10.10.060 'Site Design and Architectural Standards' exists for the R-E/R-1 residential zones but its text (governing new construction/additions) was not confirmed to reach rooftop PV retrofits; Civil Code preemption is a statewide fact, not city-specific
zoning code + state law checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lapuente/latest/lapuente_ca/0-0-0-37994
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherLa Puente's Zoning Code (Title 10, Article 2) lists its full set of zones — R-E, R-1, R-2, R-3, R-4, C-1, C-2, CM (Commercial-Manufacturing), Public Facilities, Open Space, and Specific Plan — with no historic-district or historic-preservation overlay zone among them
zoning code, full zone list checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lapuente/latest/lapuente_ca/0-0-0-37994
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherCalifornia does not use a Texas-style windstorm/TDI certification regime; wind loads are engineered per ASCE 7 under the adopted CBC. No La Puente-specific wind-cert requirement found or expected for residential rooftop PV.
inference from adopted building code framework checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lapuente/latest/lapuente_ca/0-0-0-24795
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull Zoning Code Article 6 (Permit Procedures) chapter list was not read in detail this run; no solar-specific SUP/Council-approval trigger was found in the chapters that were read (Article 4 standards, Accessory Structures)
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lapuente/latest/lapuente_ca/0-0-0-40152
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
38.4 kW AC — the state-mandated Expedited PV/ESS Permitting Process ministerial cap under Gov. Code §65850.52, referenced directly by LACoFD's own R-3/R-4 guide ('GOV 65850.52'); larger residential systems remain permittable via standard (non-ministerial) plan review, not capped outright
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the statewide ministerial-review cap, cited by LACoFD's guide as the threshold for which of its two document sections applies; it is not a hard system-size cap unique to La Puente
AHJ guide citing state law checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2020 NEC (via the 2022 CEC, as codified in LPMC 8.13.010, Ord. 981 §5, 2023). CAUTION — stale-codification trap: statewide, the 2025 CEC (built on the 2023 NEC) took effect 1 Jan 2026; La Puente's own ordinance disposition table (checked in full) shows no newer building/electrical-code adoption ordinance since Ord. 981 (2023) — the most recent ordinance affecting Title 8 chapters is unrelated (Ord. 992, 2024, ADU-only). The 2025 cycle applies as the base state code regardless, per CA's automatic statewide effective-date rule, even though the city's own incorporation-by-reference language is still frozen to 'as amended and in effect on January 1, 2023.' 80% · codified electrical code chapter + ordinance disposition table
- Which building code edition is in force? 2022 CBC (via LA County Code Title 26, 'as amended and in effect on January 1, 2023'), per LPMC 8.05.010, Ord. 981 §3, 2023. Same stale-codification caveat as Q29 applies: statewide 2025 CBC took effect 1 Jan 2026; no newer local building-code ordinance found. 82% · codified building code chapter
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2022 CFC (as the 2023 Los Angeles County Fire Code, LACC Title 32), per LPMC 9.04.010, Ord. 984 §2, 2024 — this is the most recently touched code-adoption ordinance in the whole municipal code, and it matches LACoFD's own guide's self-description ('2023 LACFC') 90% · codified fire code chapter
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? No local amendments beyond straight incorporation-by-reference — La Puente's own Building (8.05), Electrical (8.13), Residential (8.44), and Green Building (8.48) chapters each contain only 3 sections (Adoption, Definitions, Violations/Penalties) with no added local technical amendments. The Fire Code chapter (9.04) is similarly a straight adoption plus unrelated fireworks provisions. All local ESS/PV-specific amendments live one level up, at the LA County Code level (Titles 26, 27, 30, 31, 32), which La Puente adopts wholesale by reference. 80% · codified code, read in full
- What is the installation judged against? The 2022 CEC/CBC/CRC as adopted by reference from LA County Code Titles 26, 27 and 30 (LPMC 8.05.010, 8.13.010, 8.44.010), with the La Puente Municipal Code controlling in case of conflict 85% · codified electrical code chapter
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of La Puente on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown is required (2022 CEC §690.12, i.e. NEC 2020 basis, as adopted). LACoFD's own placarding documents discuss 'Rapid Shutdown'/'Hazard Control System' activation devices extensively and require them to be included in the placarded disconnect count, but neither the Guide nor the Expedited Permitting Checklist cites NEC/CEC §690.12 by section number anywhere — grepped both documents in full for '690.12' and found zero hits. 80% · AHJ guide, corpus-grepped
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? LACoFD 'Electrical Power Source Disconnect Placarding System' — an Exterior Placard on/adjacent to each disconnect-bearing panel/enclosure ('F.D. – ELECTRICAL BLDG DISCONNECT #X of Y'), plus a Panel-Interior Placard inside any panel with multiple switches/breakers requiring operation 95% · AHJ guide, own PDF, extracted with pdftotext
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Yes 95% · AHJ guide, own PDF
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Yes, precisely specified: Exterior Placards minimum 2" tall x 3.5" wide, weather-resistant plastic, verbiage engraved, red letters on a yellow background, all-capitals Arial font minimum size 24 (28 for 'F.D.' and '#X of Y' in bold), attached by permanent epoxy. Panel-Interior Placards minimum 7/16" x 3/4", same colour scheme, bold Arial minimum size 24. 95% · AHJ guide, own PDF
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Not addressed by LACoFD's own guide as a separate facility/site-plan placard requirement beyond the disconnect placarding system itself; NEC/CEC §705.10 general facility-plan/site-plan placarding for multiple power sources is the state-law baseline. No La Puente-specific site-plan placard document was found. 45% · AHJ guide, absence noted after full read
- Where must the labels be placed? Exterior Placards: on the exterior of, or immediately adjacent to, each panel/enclosure or standalone disconnect switch that must be operated. Panel-Interior Placards: inside the panel, to identify specific switches/breakers where multiple must be operated within one panel/enclosure. 95% · AHJ guide, own PDF
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? LACoFD requires all placarded electrical disconnects (for all power sources) to be located within 6 feet of the main service panel, on the same wall plane, not separated by walls/gates/fences/vegetation/architectural features — this is the AHJ's disconnect-grouping rule, not stated relative to the utility meter specifically. SCE's own specific meter-relative AC-disconnect placement rule (e.g. its DG interconnection handbook/Rule 21 tariff) was not located within this session. 60% · AHJ guide, own PDF
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes for ESS — LACoFD's Expedited Permitting Checklist requires confirmation of UL 9540 listing for the ESS unit (or all individual components) and UL 1741 listing for ESS inverters (or included within the UL 9540 listing); ESS listed/labeled solely for utility or commercial use may not be used residentially. PV modules/inverters are subject to standard CEC Article 690 listing requirements (UL 1703/61730, UL 1741) as part of the adopted electrical code, not a separate La Puente list. 85% · AHJ checklist, own PDF
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, under detailed LACoFD conditions for Group R-3/R-4: max 20 kWh per individual ESS unit; max 80 kWh aggregate per site and per location category; permitted locations are inside detached garages, inside attached garages (separated per CRC R302.6), or outdoors/on the exterior wall (5 ft from lot lines/public ways/other buildings/combustibles, 10 ft from vegetation, 3 ft between units); prohibited inside dwelling units (incl. ADUs), sleeping units, closets, bathrooms, basements, non-garage accessory structures, and vaults. UL 9540/1741 listing required. 95% · AHJ guide, own PDF
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes — LACoFD requires its own plan review/inspection for any ESS >3 kWh at R-3/R-4 dwellings, separate from the city's building/electrical permit. Fee schedule (Appendix QQ) lists a distinct 'Energy storage system, Group R-3 and R-4' plan-review fee ($195) and a general 'Energy storage system' field-inspection fee ($390), plus a general re-inspection fee ($98). 92% · AHJ fee schedule, own PDF
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Likely yes — La Puente's Zoning Code has no PV-specific ground-mount provision; a freestanding ground-mounted PV array would default to the generic 'Accessory Structures' chapter (LPMC 10.26), which requires a building permit for any structure exceeding 120 sq ft/12 ft height/one story, and imposes a 12 ft height cap and zone setbacks on accessory structures generally 50% · zoning code, accessory structures chapter
20 questions answered against City of La Puente’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2020 NEC (via the 2022 CEC, as codified in LPMC 8.13.010, Ord. 981 §5, 2023). CAUTION — stale-codification trap: statewide, the 2025 CEC (built on the 2023 NEC) took effect 1 Jan 2026; La Puente's own ordinance disposition table (checked in full) shows no newer building/electrical-code adoption ordinance since Ord. 981 (2023) — the most recent ordinance affecting Title 8 chapters is unrelated (Ord. 992, 2024, ADU-only). The 2025 cycle applies as the base state code regardless, per CA's automatic statewide effective-date rule, even though the city's own incorporation-by-reference language is still frozen to 'as amended and in effect on January 1, 2023.'
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly read from the codified chapter text (via headless-Chrome bypass of American Legal Publishing's Cloudflare Turnstile) and cross-checked against the city's own Ordinance List and Disposition Table for a newer adoption ordinance, which does not exist
codified electrical code chapter + ordinance disposition table checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lapuente/latest/lapuente_ca/0-0-0-24872
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2022 CBC (via LA County Code Title 26, 'as amended and in effect on January 1, 2023'), per LPMC 8.05.010, Ord. 981 §3, 2023. Same stale-codification caveat as Q29 applies: statewide 2025 CBC took effect 1 Jan 2026; no newer local building-code ordinance found.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the codified chapter text; cross-checked ordinance disposition table for a newer ordinance (none found)
codified building code chapter checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lapuente/latest/lapuente_ca/0-0-0-24795
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2022 CFC (as the 2023 Los Angeles County Fire Code, LACC Title 32), per LPMC 9.04.010, Ord. 984 §2, 2024 — this is the most recently touched code-adoption ordinance in the whole municipal code, and it matches LACoFD's own guide's self-description ('2023 LACFC')
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from codified Chapter 9.04 text; independently corroborated by LACoFD's own current guide, which describes itself as enforcing 'the 2023 Los Angeles County Fire Code'
codified fire code chapter checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lapuente/latest/lapuente_ca/0-0-0-25171
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
No local amendments beyond straight incorporation-by-reference — La Puente's own Building (8.05), Electrical (8.13), Residential (8.44), and Green Building (8.48) chapters each contain only 3 sections (Adoption, Definitions, Violations/Penalties) with no added local technical amendments. The Fire Code chapter (9.04) is similarly a straight adoption plus unrelated fireworks provisions. All local ESS/PV-specific amendments live one level up, at the LA County Code level (Titles 26, 27, 30, 31, 32), which La Puente adopts wholesale by reference.
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed by reading each full chapter end to end via the codified text (all are short, and each was read completely, not sampled)
codified code, read in full checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lapuente/latest/lapuente_ca/0-0-0-24776
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2022 CEC/CBC/CRC as adopted by reference from LA County Code Titles 26, 27 and 30 (LPMC 8.05.010, 8.13.010, 8.44.010), with the La Puente Municipal Code controlling in case of conflict
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the codified adoption sections
codified electrical code chapter checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lapuente/latest/lapuente_ca/0-0-0-24872
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCodified electrical chapter (LPMC 8.13, read in full — no service-upgrade or busbar-sizing rule); no separate 'Electrical Service Panel Policy'-style handout was found anywhere on lapuente.org (checked Building & Safety page and full page-sitemap.xml)
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCodified building/residential chapters (LPMC 8.05, 8.44, both read in full) — no mounting-system or attachment-spacing rule found; this level of detail is not present at the city-code level and would sit in the adopted CBC/CRC/LA County Title 26/30 text itself, which was not separately searched section-by-section this run
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lapuente/latest/lapuente_ca/0-0-0-32160
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedLACoFD's Guide and Expedited Permitting Checklist (both extracted via pdftotext) describe ESS setback/spacing extensively but no ridge-setback/access-pathway rule for PV modules themselves (that requirement sits in the adopted 2022 CFC/Title 32 text on rooftop access pathways, which was not independently pulled and read section-by-section this run)
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, rapid shutdown is required (2022 CEC §690.12, i.e. NEC 2020 basis, as adopted). LACoFD's own placarding documents discuss 'Rapid Shutdown'/'Hazard Control System' activation devices extensively and require them to be included in the placarded disconnect count, but neither the Guide nor the Expedited Permitting Checklist cites NEC/CEC §690.12 by section number anywhere — grepped both documents in full for '690.12' and found zero hits.
Why the confidence is not higherRapid-shutdown requirement is inferred from the adopted 2022 CEC edition (state-mandated NEC 690.12 equivalent); LACoFD's own documents were corpus-grepped for the section citation per the absence-proof method and it is genuinely absent from LACoFD's text, matching a pattern seen in other CA jurisdictions
AHJ guide, corpus-grepped checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
LACoFD 'Electrical Power Source Disconnect Placarding System' — an Exterior Placard on/adjacent to each disconnect-bearing panel/enclosure ('F.D. – ELECTRICAL BLDG DISCONNECT #X of Y'), plus a Panel-Interior Placard inside any panel with multiple switches/breakers requiring operation
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from LACoFD's own current Appendix B (Disconnect Placarding Requirements) via pdftotext -layout; the linked file is the one currently live on fire.lacounty.gov's Fire Prevention Fees page
AHJ guide, own PDF, extracted with pdftotext checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherExact required wording is specified: 'F.D. – ELECTRICAL / BLDG DISCONNECT / #X of Y' for Exterior Placards, with 'X' and 'Y' filled per a C-10 electrician's determination and fire code official approval
AHJ guide, own PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes, precisely specified: Exterior Placards minimum 2" tall x 3.5" wide, weather-resistant plastic, verbiage engraved, red letters on a yellow background, all-capitals Arial font minimum size 24 (28 for 'F.D.' and '#X of Y' in bold), attached by permanent epoxy. Panel-Interior Placards minimum 7/16" x 3/4", same colour scheme, bold Arial minimum size 24.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from LACoFD's Appendix B via pdftotext -layout — exact specification, current file (2023-09-01) still the live link
AHJ guide, own PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not addressed by LACoFD's own guide as a separate facility/site-plan placard requirement beyond the disconnect placarding system itself; NEC/CEC §705.10 general facility-plan/site-plan placarding for multiple power sources is the state-law baseline. No La Puente-specific site-plan placard document was found.
Why the confidence is not higherSearched the full LACoFD guide and Expedited Permitting Checklist (both extracted via pdftotext) for a separate site/facility map placard requirement beyond disconnect placarding and found none distinct from the Appendix B system described in Q38-40
AHJ guide, absence noted after full read checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's own NEM program page (read in full) does not describe utility-specific placarding beyond program terms; SCE's full DG interconnection handbook / Rule 21 tariff (the more likely source for a utility-specific placard spec) was not located within this session's tool budget
https://www.sce.com/residential/generating-your-own-power/net-energy-metering
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Exterior Placards: on the exterior of, or immediately adjacent to, each panel/enclosure or standalone disconnect switch that must be operated. Panel-Interior Placards: inside the panel, to identify specific switches/breakers where multiple must be operated within one panel/enclosure.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from LACoFD's Appendix B placement subsection
AHJ guide, own PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes for ESS — LACoFD's Expedited Permitting Checklist requires confirmation of UL 9540 listing for the ESS unit (or all individual components) and UL 1741 listing for ESS inverters (or included within the UL 9540 listing); ESS listed/labeled solely for utility or commercial use may not be used residentially. PV modules/inverters are subject to standard CEC Article 690 listing requirements (UL 1703/61730, UL 1741) as part of the adopted electrical code, not a separate La Puente list.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the Expedited Permitting Checklist via pdftotext
AHJ checklist, own PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/Expedited-Permitting-Checklist-LACoFD-ESS-PV-Disconnects-2023-09-01-SECURED.pdf
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes, under detailed LACoFD conditions for Group R-3/R-4: max 20 kWh per individual ESS unit; max 80 kWh aggregate per site and per location category; permitted locations are inside detached garages, inside attached garages (separated per CRC R302.6), or outdoors/on the exterior wall (5 ft from lot lines/public ways/other buildings/combustibles, 10 ft from vegetation, 3 ft between units); prohibited inside dwelling units (incl. ADUs), sleeping units, closets, bathrooms, basements, non-garage accessory structures, and vaults. UL 9540/1741 listing required.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from LACoFD's Guide and Expedited Permitting Checklist via pdftotext -layout, both current (2023-09-01) and still the live-linked files on fire.lacounty.gov
AHJ guide, own PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes — LACoFD requires its own plan review/inspection for any ESS >3 kWh at R-3/R-4 dwellings, separate from the city's building/electrical permit. Fee schedule (Appendix QQ) lists a distinct 'Energy storage system, Group R-3 and R-4' plan-review fee ($195) and a general 'Energy storage system' field-inspection fee ($390), plus a general re-inspection fee ($98).
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed from both LACoFD's Expedited Permitting Checklist ('ESS installations with a capacity of more than 3 kWh...require LACoFD inspection') and Appendix QQ fee tables, both extracted via pdftotext from current, live-linked PDFs
AHJ fee schedule, own PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/2023-LACFC-Appendix-QQ-Certified-Ord-Eff.-2024-01-11-Secured.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Likely yes — La Puente's Zoning Code has no PV-specific ground-mount provision; a freestanding ground-mounted PV array would default to the generic 'Accessory Structures' chapter (LPMC 10.26), which requires a building permit for any structure exceeding 120 sq ft/12 ft height/one story, and imposes a 12 ft height cap and zone setbacks on accessory structures generally
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed there is no solar-specific zoning section anywhere in Title 10 (searched the full Article 4 'Standards for Specific Land Uses' chapter list — 21 sections, none solar-related — and the full Accessory Structures chapter); this is an inference from the generic accessory-structure rule, not a PV-specific statement
zoning code, accessory structures chapter checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lapuente/latest/lapuente_ca/0-0-0-38453
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
LACoFD requires all placarded electrical disconnects (for all power sources) to be located within 6 feet of the main service panel, on the same wall plane, not separated by walls/gates/fences/vegetation/architectural features — this is the AHJ's disconnect-grouping rule, not stated relative to the utility meter specifically. SCE's own specific meter-relative AC-disconnect placement rule (e.g. its DG interconnection handbook/Rule 21 tariff) was not located within this session.
Why the confidence is not higherLACoFD's own current guide quotes LACFC §509 verbatim for the 6-foot/same-wall-plane rule; the utility-specific (SCE) requirement was searched for on SCE's NEM page only, not SCE's full interconnection handbook, so that half is not confirmed
AHJ guide, own PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone — 'Building Inspection Request Line', (626) 855-1542 90% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Delegated (split) — the City's own in-house Building Inspector performs building/electrical field inspection; LACoFD performs field inspection of ESS>3kWh, certain BIPV, and disconnect/rapid-shutdown placarding directly via its own regional inspection office, per its Expedited Permitting Checklist process (which requires the applicant to schedule directly with LACoFD's own Fire Prevention regional office, separate from the city's building inspection). 90% · department page + AHJ checklist
- If delegated, to whom? Los Angeles County Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division — jurisdictional regional inspection office (contact list published separately by LACoFD) 88% · AHJ contact list, own PDF
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For the LACoFD-retained scope: applicant must first obtain the city building/electrical permit (via SolarAPP+ or comparable expedited process), then contact/schedule the jurisdictional LACoFD regional office directly, pay the LACoFD invoice, and receive the LACoFD ESS/PV/disconnect-placard inspection. The city's own building/electrical rough-in and final inspection sequence for the conventional rooftop-PV scope was not separately published. 75% · AHJ checklist, own PDF
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes — LACoFD publishes a detailed 'Expedited PV/ESS Permitting Process — Inspection Checklist for Group R-3/-4 ESS, PV, and Electrical-Disconnect Placarding' (5 pages). No equivalent published inspection checklist for the city's own building/electrical scope was found. 90% · AHJ checklist, own PDF
- What must be on site at inspection? For LACoFD's portion: digital proof of the city construction permit (e.g. SolarAPP+ approval), contractor name/license/phone, and cut/specification sheets for ESS units and inverters available upon request. Documents required for the city's own building/electrical final inspection were not separately published. 75% · AHJ checklist, own PDF
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes, for the LACoFD-retained scope — the Expedited Permitting Checklist requires cut/specification sheets for the ESS unit and inverter to be 'immediately available upon request', and confirmation of UL 9540/1741 listings, as part of the inspection 88% · AHJ checklist, own PDF
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer/customer submits the interconnection/NEM application directly to SCE and requests Permission to Operate after the AHJ's final inspection 55% · utility program page
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $98 (LACoFD Table QQ104.4(6): 'Additional inspections after initial inspection and one reinspection') — this is a fire-department fee for the LACoFD-retained scope; a separate city building-department re-inspection fee was not found published 75% · AHJ fee schedule, own PDF
14 questions answered against City of La Puente’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone — 'Building Inspection Request Line', (626) 855-1542
Why the confidence is not higherListed directly under Contact Information on the Building & Safety page; no online scheduling portal was found (page-sitemap.xml has no solar/permit-portal page, and the 'Public Records Portal' link is only a monthly permit-activity listing tool, not a booking system)
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://lapuente.org/building-and-safety/
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page's Contact Information section (gives phone number only, no stated notice period)
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q50 — no AM/PM or same-day window information published
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Delegated (split) — the City's own in-house Building Inspector performs building/electrical field inspection; LACoFD performs field inspection of ESS>3kWh, certain BIPV, and disconnect/rapid-shutdown placarding directly via its own regional inspection office, per its Expedited Permitting Checklist process (which requires the applicant to schedule directly with LACoFD's own Fire Prevention regional office, separate from the city's building inspection).
Why the confidence is not higherCity Building Inspector Dominick Arauz has a lapuente.org (city) email, indicating in-house staff; LACoFD's Expedited Permitting Checklist explicitly instructs applicants to separately schedule and pay for LACoFD's own PV/ESS/disconnect inspection
department page + AHJ checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/Expedited-Permitting-Checklist-LACoFD-ESS-PV-Disconnects-2023-09-01-SECURED.pdf
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Los Angeles County Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division — jurisdictional regional inspection office (contact list published separately by LACoFD)
Why the confidence is not higherThe Expedited Permitting Checklist instructs applicants to 'refer to the LACoFD Fire Prevention Regional Inspection Office Phone List' and 'select the nearest office to the project site'
AHJ contact list, own PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Fire-Prevention-REGIONAL-Inspection-Office-PHONE-EMAIL-List-2023-09-01-SECURED.pdf
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For the LACoFD-retained scope: applicant must first obtain the city building/electrical permit (via SolarAPP+ or comparable expedited process), then contact/schedule the jurisdictional LACoFD regional office directly, pay the LACoFD invoice, and receive the LACoFD ESS/PV/disconnect-placard inspection. The city's own building/electrical rough-in and final inspection sequence for the conventional rooftop-PV scope was not separately published.
Why the confidence is not higherSequence read directly from the Expedited Permitting Checklist's Section I ('Inspection Request/Scheduling'); the city's own building-permit inspection sequence for solar specifically was not found published
AHJ checklist, own PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/Expedited-Permitting-Checklist-LACoFD-ESS-PV-Disconnects-2023-09-01-SECURED.pdf
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedLACoFD checklist and Building & Safety page — neither states whether a rough-in/mid-roof inspection is required for the conventional (non-ESS) rooftop-PV scope handled by the city
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Yes, for the LACoFD-retained scope — the Expedited Permitting Checklist requires cut/specification sheets for the ESS unit and inverter to be 'immediately available upon request', and confirmation of UL 9540/1741 listings, as part of the inspection
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the checklist's Section II
AHJ checklist, own PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/Expedited-Permitting-Checklist-LACoFD-ESS-PV-Disconnects-2023-09-01-SECURED.pdf
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes — LACoFD publishes a detailed 'Expedited PV/ESS Permitting Process — Inspection Checklist for Group R-3/-4 ESS, PV, and Electrical-Disconnect Placarding' (5 pages). No equivalent published inspection checklist for the city's own building/electrical scope was found.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly confirmed by downloading and reading the PDF via pdftotext
AHJ checklist, own PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/Expedited-Permitting-Checklist-LACoFD-ESS-PV-Disconnects-2023-09-01-SECURED.pdf
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
For LACoFD's portion: digital proof of the city construction permit (e.g. SolarAPP+ approval), contractor name/license/phone, and cut/specification sheets for ESS units and inverters available upon request. Documents required for the city's own building/electrical final inspection were not separately published.
Why the confidence is not higherRead from the checklist's Section I and II
AHJ checklist, own PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/Expedited-Permitting-Checklist-LACoFD-ESS-PV-Disconnects-2023-09-01-SECURED.pdf
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$98 (LACoFD Table QQ104.4(6): 'Additional inspections after initial inspection and one reinspection') — this is a fire-department fee for the LACoFD-retained scope; a separate city building-department re-inspection fee was not found published
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from Appendix QQ, current filing (effective 2024-01-11, PDF dated Sept 2025)
AHJ fee schedule, own PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/2023-LACFC-Appendix-QQ-Certified-Ord-Eff.-2024-01-11-Secured.pdf
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page and LACoFD checklist — neither describes a corrections/re-submittal notice process
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page and LACoFD checklist — neither states the specific document/tag issued on passing final inspection (e.g. 'Final', 'Green Tag')
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer/customer submits the interconnection/NEM application directly to SCE and requests Permission to Operate after the AHJ's final inspection
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral SCE NEM program practice per SCE's own program page; not a La Puente-specific statement
utility program page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sce.com/residential/generating-your-own-power/net-energy-metering
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of La Puente against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of La Puente is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
- Holds
- Building and electrical (via Building & Safety Division); LACoFD retains fire review of ESS >3 kWh, a narrow BIPV subcategory, and all electrical-disconnect/rapid-shutdown placarding
- Delegated to
- Willdan Engineering (contract Building Official/plans examiner, per city Building & Safety staff listing); Los Angeles County Fire Department retains ESS/BIPV/placard review as noted
- Overridden by
- LACoFD Guide for ESS, PV & Disconnects (2023-09-01) — LACoFD is AHJ for fire code and has historically delegated conventional rooftop-PV fire review to city Building & Safety, but that delegation explicitly excludes ESS>3kWh, a BIPV subcategory, and disconnect placarding, which LACoFD reviews/inspects directly regardless of city delegation
- Why not higher
- La Puente's own Building & Safety page lists Building Official/Plans Examiner Sarkis Nazerian at a willdan.com email, confirming plan-check is contracted to Willdan Engineering while a City-email Building Inspector (Dominick Arauz) performs field inspection in-house. La Puente is confirmed by name as a Division 8 LACoFD contract city (with Diamond Bar, Industry, Pomona, Walnut) on fire.lacounty.gov's own live contracting page. LACoFD's own current PDF guide states the fire-review delegation and its exceptions explicitly.
- Permit required
- Yes75%
- Electrical code
- 2020 NEC (via the 2022 CEC, as codified in LPMC 8.13.010, Ord. 981 §5, 2023). CAUTION — stale-codification trap: statewide, the 2025 CEC (built on the 2023 NEC) took effect 1 Jan 2026;80%
- Own placard wording
- Yes95%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone — 'Building Inspection Request Line', (626) 855-154290%
Labels & placards for this authority
City of La Puente writes its own placard wording. A standard NEC label set will not satisfy it — the exact text, and in most cases the size, colour and font, are specified below.
Wording 95%
Yes
Size, colour & material 95%
Yes, precisely specified: Exterior Placards minimum 2" tall x 3.5" wide, weather-resistant plastic, verbiage engraved, red letters on a yellow background, all-capitals Arial font minimum size 24 (28 for 'F.D.' and '#X of Y' in bold), attached by permanent epoxy. Panel-Interior Placards minimum 7/16" x 3/4", same colour scheme, bold Arial minimum size 24.
Where they go 95%
Exterior Placards: on the exterior of, or immediately adjacent to, each panel/enclosure or standalone disconnect switch that must be operated. Panel-Interior Placards: inside the panel, to identify specific switches/breakers where multiple must be operated within one panel/enclosure.
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.