City of Laguna Beach
Orange County
City of Laguna Beach is a city authority in the State of California, serving 23,032 residents. 962 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — 3 business days (for expedited/eligible small residential rooftop solar systems) Q18 Where you file — Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service ('Public Permit Portal'), hosted at lagunabeachca-energovweb.tylerhost.net Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $537.92 (Building Permit, item #10 'Solar - Residential') + $149.91 separate Plan Review fee (item #112 'Solar') = approx. $687.83 before the standard $80.90 permit-issuance fee92% source
- Plan review turnaround
- 3 business days (for expedited/eligible small residential rooftop solar systems)90% source
- Key document
- department page cited by 6 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 85% · staff directory
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · ordinance
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 80% · fee schedule
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No citywide HOA/architectural-approval precondition for solar was found; the zoning code's Design Review process itself has no solar exemption (see note), and a private Three Arch Bay HOA design review runs in parallel to, not as a precondition of, city review for that one enclave only. 62% · ordinance
- Is there a historic-district review? Yes, but only for properties on the City's Historic Register — a Certificate of Appropriateness / historic plan review applies (fee: 'Historic - Alteration to Historic Register Structure $4,685'); non-historic properties are not subject to Chapter 25.45. 78% · ordinance / fee schedule
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No wind/windstorm-specific certification requirement for solar was found 60% · ordinance (control-checked absence)
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Yes, conditionally — the Building Official may require an applicant to apply for a Use Permit if the official finds a specific, adverse health/safety impact. 90% · ordinance
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal — this is the ELIGIBILITY GATE for the ministerial/expedited Ch. 14.84 process, not an absolute citywide cap; larger systems fall outside Ch. 14.84 and would need to route through standard (likely discretionary) review since no separate large-system solar chapter exists. 88% · ordinance
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 80% · department page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 88% · department form
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 82% · department page / application form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? General submittal: cover sheet with address, owner name, preparer name, scope-of-work description and square footage, plus a Building Permit application; a dedicated solar standard-plan/checklist is required by ordinance (LBMC §14.84.050(d)) but was not found published among the city's own Building Applications & Handouts. 55% · department page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? A site plan is required as part of the general building/zoning submittal (property lines, setbacks, existing/proposed structures); the solar-specific site-plan content is deferred to the unpublished §14.84.050(d) checklist. 55% · department form
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Likely yes, by reference — not independently confirmed 45% · ordinance (inference)
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service ('Public Permit Portal'), hosted at lagunabeachca-energovweb.tylerhost.net 92% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 85% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $537.92 (Building Permit, item #10 'Solar - Residential') + $149.91 separate Plan Review fee (item #112 'Solar') = approx. $687.83 before the standard $80.90 permit-issuance fee 92% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Flat 88% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes — $149.91 flat ('Solar' plan-review line, item #112) 88% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 3 business days (for expedited/eligible small residential rooftop solar systems) 90% · ordinance
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days between passed inspections (permit expires if no inspection is scheduled/passed within that window) 88% · department page
- Which utility handles interconnection here? SPLIT WITHIN THE CITY: Southern California Edison (SCE) serves central and North Laguna Beach; San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) serves South Laguna. The brief's SCE assumption is only correct for central/north addresses. 92% · department page
28 questions answered against City of Laguna Beach’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building & Permits page and LBMC Title 14 (Building Code chapters, incl. Ch. 14.84 Small Residential Solar Energy System Permits) show the city issuing and inspecting residential building/electrical permits including a dedicated codified solar-permitting chapter.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/government/departments/community-development/building-permits
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherCommunity Development's own 44-person staff directory lists a Chief Building Inspector, multiple Building Inspectors, Permit Services Supervisor and Online Permit Services Supervisor all on the city's own roster with no contract-firm names (no @transtech/@willdan/@4leafinc/@csg/@interwest/@esgil emails or titles found); Fire is a wholly separate city department (Laguna Beach Fire Department) with its own Fire Chief/Marshal ranks in its own fee schedule. No delegation evidence found in any fee-schedule staffing appendix or process page checked.
staff directory checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/government/departments/community-development/community-development-staff-directory
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC § 14.84.030 (Applicability): 'This chapter applies to the permitting of all small residential rooftop solar energy systems in the city.' General permit requirement also stated on the 'Do You Need a Permit?' page per the California Building Code.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/government/departments/community-development/building-permits/do-you-need-a-permit
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe FY2026/27 Master Fee Schedule lists 'Solar - Residential' as its own single Building-Fees line ($537.92) separate from the generic 'Combination Mechanical, Electrical, or Plumbing Permit' line, and LBMC § 14.84.070(g) states 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by the building division' for eligible expedited solar systems — indicating one combined building+electrical permit/inspection, not two separate permits.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/home/showpublisheddocument/16217/639191261763300000
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Permits page: 'you must hire a contractor licensed in the City of Laguna Beach or provide proof of ownership to take on the liability yourself' — and an 'Owner/Builder Permit - Property Owner's Package for Permit Issuance' handout is published, confirming an owner-builder route exists alongside licensed-contractor permitting.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/government/departments/community-development/building-permits
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Submittal Requirements form requires 'City Business License Required (general contractor and all subcontractors on the project)... Must be documented on City form and submitted to receive Final Inspection'; the Master Fee Schedule's Business License Fees list a $267 General Contractor and $218 Subcontractor license fee.
department form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/home/showpublisheddocument/10228/638784320997170000
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Permits page allows the applicant to 'provide proof of ownership to take on the liability yourself' in lieu of hiring a licensed contractor, and the city publishes a dedicated 'Owner/Builder Permit - Property Owner's Package for Permit Issuance' application.
department page / application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/government/departments/community-development/building-permits/applications-forms
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
General submittal: cover sheet with address, owner name, preparer name, scope-of-work description and square footage, plus a Building Permit application; a dedicated solar standard-plan/checklist is required by ordinance (LBMC §14.84.050(d)) but was not found published among the city's own Building Applications & Handouts.
Why the confidence is not higher'Getting a Building Permit' section of the Building & Permits page describes the required cover-sheet contents; §14.84.050(d)-(e) requires the Building Department to adopt a solar-specific standard plan/checklist conforming to the CA Solar Permitting Guidebook, but no such document title appears on the published Building Applications, Forms & Handouts list checked.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/government/departments/community-development/building-permits
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Applications, Forms & Handouts page and 'Do You Need a Permit?' page — no statement of required copy count or submittal format (paper vs. electronic-only) beyond 'Submit your project plans and completed application through the Public Permit Portal'
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
A site plan is required as part of the general building/zoning submittal (property lines, setbacks, existing/proposed structures); the solar-specific site-plan content is deferred to the unpublished §14.84.050(d) checklist.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the general 'Building Submittal Requirements Prior to Permit Issuance' form and the Mechanical Equipment Guide's site-plan requirements (the closest analogous rooftop-equipment submittal); the Zoning Plan Check Table (a project-type-by-project-type submittal matrix) does not list 'solar' as a row at all, so Planning does not appear to independently require one.
department form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/home/showpublisheddocument/10228/638784320997170000
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Likely yes, by reference — not independently confirmed
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC §14.84.050(e) requires the small-residential-solar checklist to 'substantially conform to the recommendations for expedited permitting... contained in the most current version of the California Solar Permitting Guidebook,' which itself requires a one-line diagram; the city's own checklist implementing this was not found published to confirm directly.
ordinance (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedLBMC Ch. 14.84 and the published Building Applications & Handouts list — no city-specific string/conductor calculation requirement stated; the unpublished §14.84.050(d) checklist would be the expected source
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTitle 14 Building/Residential Code adoption chapters (14.50/14.52) and Ch. 14.84 — no structural PE-stamp threshold specific to rooftop solar found
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTitle 14 Electrical Code chapter (14.68, adoption only, no amendments) and Ch. 14.84 — no electrical PE-stamp threshold specific to solar found
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$537.92 (Building Permit, item #10 'Solar - Residential') + $149.91 separate Plan Review fee (item #112 'Solar') = approx. $687.83 before the standard $80.90 permit-issuance fee
Why the confidence is not higherFY2026/27 Master Fee Schedule (Resolution No. 26.037, adopted 12 May 2026, effective 1/12 July 2026) Community Development Department Fees table, read via OCR of the scanned resolution pages (pdftotext returned no text layer for these pages).
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/home/showpublisheddocument/16217/639191261763300000
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat
Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee Schedule lists 'Solar - Residential' as a single flat dollar figure ($537.92), not tied to valuation, per-kW or per-panel (the 'Solar - Commercial per kwh' line uses the identical $537.92 figure, suggesting the 'per kwh' label may be a schedule error rather than a true per-unit rate for the commercial line).
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/home/showpublisheddocument/16217/639191261763300000
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes — $149.91 flat ('Solar' plan-review line, item #112)
Why the confidence is not higherFY2026/27 Master Fee Schedule, Community Development 'Plan Review' fee table, distinct from the Building-Fees 'Solar - Residential' permit line.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/home/showpublisheddocument/16217/639191261763300000
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
3 business days (for expedited/eligible small residential rooftop solar systems)
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC §14.84.070(a): 'For an application... that meets the requirements of the approved checklist and standard plan, the building department shall issue a building permit or other non-discretionary permit within three business days.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days between passed inspections (permit expires if no inspection is scheduled/passed within that window)
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Permits page NOTICE: 'permits will expire if inspections are not scheduled and "passed" every 180 days. All permits require a FINAL "passed" inspection to complete the permit.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/government/departments/community-development/building-permits
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service ('Public Permit Portal'), hosted at lagunabeachca-energovweb.tylerhost.net
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Permits page links 'Public Permit Portal Link' directly to https://lagunabeachca-energovweb.tylerhost.net/apps/SelfService, and provides a 'CivicAccessRegistrationGuide.pdf'.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/government/departments/community-development/building-permits
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Permits page: 'Building Permits and Zoning Plan Checks can be submitted through our Public Permit Portal... Submit your project plans and completed application through the Public Permit Portal.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/government/departments/community-development/building-permits
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
SPLIT WITHIN THE CITY: Southern California Edison (SCE) serves central and North Laguna Beach; San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) serves South Laguna. The brief's SCE assumption is only correct for central/north addresses.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own 'Utilities & School District Information' page states plainly: 'Southern California Edison (SCE) provides electricity to central and North Laguna Beach' and 'San Diego Gas and Electric (SDG&E) provides electricity to South Laguna.' Confirm which utility applies from the specific parcel address before proceeding.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/live-here/utilities-school-district-information
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's and SDG&E's own DG/interconnection pages (both effectively unreachable — SCE's soft-404s, SDG&E's marketing/NEM pages return a Drupal 'Access denied' to both plain fetch and headless-Chrome per known platform behavior) and no Laguna Beach city document describing permit/utility sequencing was found
https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/live-here/utilities-school-district-information
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No citywide HOA/architectural-approval precondition for solar was found; the zoning code's Design Review process itself has no solar exemption (see note), and a private Three Arch Bay HOA design review runs in parallel to, not as a precondition of, city review for that one enclave only.
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC §25.44.060 requires Three Arch Bay Community Association comment prior to city review for that specific zone only; no citywide ordinance conditions a solar permit on HOA approval (consistent with Civil Code §714 preemption), but note the general Design Review exceptions list at §25.05.040(B)(2) also does not name solar as exempt — see the unresolved tension flagged under 'jurisdiction.why' and in the report.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42898361
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Yes, but only for properties on the City's Historic Register — a Certificate of Appropriateness / historic plan review applies (fee: 'Historic - Alteration to Historic Register Structure $4,685'); non-historic properties are not subject to Chapter 25.45.
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC Ch. 25.45 (Historic Preservation) applies only to designated Historic Register properties; the Master Fee Schedule prices 'Historic - Alteration to Historic Register Structure' at $4,685. No solar-specific exemption from historic review was found in Ch. 25.45 (control-checked: zero 'solar' hits in the chapter).
ordinance / fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42898361
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No wind/windstorm-specific certification requirement for solar was found
Why the confidence is not higherSearched the full Title 14 Building/Residential Code adoption and amendment chapters (14.50, 14.52) for a wind-certification or Wind Exposure/Vult rule of the kind found in some Inland Empire/desert cities; none exists — Laguna Beach relies on unamended CBC/CRC/ASCE 7-22 wind provisions, a shape similar to Palm Springs' confirmed absence.
ordinance (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Yes, conditionally — the Building Official may require an applicant to apply for a Use Permit if the official finds a specific, adverse health/safety impact.
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC §14.84.070(a): 'The building official may require an applicant to apply for a use permit if the official finds, based on substantial evidence, that the solar energy system could have a specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal — this is the ELIGIBILITY GATE for the ministerial/expedited Ch. 14.84 process, not an absolute citywide cap; larger systems fall outside Ch. 14.84 and would need to route through standard (likely discretionary) review since no separate large-system solar chapter exists.
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC §14.84.020 definition of 'Small residential rooftop solar energy system': 'not larger than ten kilowatts alternating current nameplate rating or thirty kilowatts thermal.' No other citywide numeric cap found in Title 25 Zoning (control-checked).
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (adopted as the 2025 California Electrical Code) 95% · adopting ordinance
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code and 2025 California Residential Code (based on the 2024 IBC/IRC family) 95% · adopting ordinance
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code, based on the 2024 International Fire Code 95% · adopting ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 92% · ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CMC/CPC/Green Building Code as locally amended (Title 14); for solar specifically, LBMC §14.84.040 additionally requires conformance with CEC, IEEE, and UL listing standards and, where applicable, CPUC safety/reliability rules. 88% · ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? No local ridge-setback/access-pathway amendment found beyond the unamended state 2025 CFC Ch. 12 / CRC R324 provisions 68% · ordinance (control-checked absence)
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, per the 2023 NEC §690.12 as adopted via the 2025 CEC — no local amendment to rapid-shutdown requirements was found 72% · ordinance (control-checked, state default)
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? None specified locally — no placard/signage requirement for solar was found anywhere in the codified Fire Code, Building Code, WUI Code, or the solar chapter itself. 78% · ordinance (control-checked absence)
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 78% · ordinance (control-checked absence)
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Not specified locally 75% · ordinance (control-checked absence)
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Not specified locally 70% · ordinance (control-checked absence)
- Where must the labels be placed? Not specified locally (defaults to NEC placement requirements) 70% · ordinance (control-checked absence)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 82% · ordinance
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Not addressed in the codified solar chapter (Ch. 14.84 is PV-only and never mentions batteries/ESS); the Fire Department's own fee schedule prices a generic (not residential-specific) 'Energy Storage Systems & other Fire Construction Permit' — implying ESS/battery installations go through LBFD's Fire Construction Permit process rather than Ch. 14.84's building-only path. 65% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Likely yes, via LBFD's Fire Construction Permit (Plan Check $849.03 / Inspection $433.75, item F-59/F-60) — distinct from the Building Division's Solar-Residential permit; not scoped separately for residential vs. commercial in the published schedule. 62% · fee schedule
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Not directly addressed for PV specifically; likely captured by inference under the Coastal Chapter's broad 'Structure' definition ('anything that is constructed or built'), but no PV-specific ground-mount zoning provision exists anywhere in Title 25 outside the Three Arch Bay roof-mounted-only rule. 55% · ordinance (inference / control-checked absence)
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No 82% · ordinance (control-checked absence)
20 questions answered against City of Laguna Beach’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC (adopted as the 2025 California Electrical Code)
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC §14.68.010: 'California Electrical Code, 2025 Edition... based on the National Electrical Code, 2023 Edition,' adopted by Ord. 1725, 12/18/2025, effective for applications submitted on/after 1 Jan 2026 per the Building & Permits page's '2025 Code Adoption Effective January 2026' notice.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code and 2025 California Residential Code (based on the 2024 IBC/IRC family)
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC §14.50.010 (CBC) and §14.52.010 (CRC), both '2025 Edition,' adopted by Ord. 1725, 12/18/2025.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code, based on the 2024 International Fire Code
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC §15.01.010: 'California Fire Code, 2025 Edition, based on the 2024 International Fire Code,' adopted by Ord. 1726, 12/18/2025.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42895914
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherExtensive local amendments exist across Chapters 14.50 (CBC), 14.52 (CRC), 14.70 (WUI Code), and 15.01 (CFC) — none of the amendments found are solar/PV-specific except a Residential Code glazing-materials amendment (§14.52.024, CRC R324.6.2) and the Three Arch Bay-only visibility rule (§25.44.060(D)).
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CMC/CPC/Green Building Code as locally amended (Title 14); for solar specifically, LBMC §14.84.040 additionally requires conformance with CEC, IEEE, and UL listing standards and, where applicable, CPUC safety/reliability rules.
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC §§14.50.010, 14.52.010, 14.68.010, 14.84.040.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
No
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC Chapter 14.68 (California Electrical Code) contains ONLY the base adoption section (§14.68.010) with no additional amendment sections at all (chapter runs directly into Ch. 14.70 WUI Code) — a control-checked absence of any local busbar/service-upgrade rule, unlike Palm Springs' or Manhattan Beach's 225A busbar amendments.
ordinance (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedLBMC Ch. 14.84, the Building Applications & Handouts list, and Title 14 Building/Residential Code amendments — no city-specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing rule found beyond unamended CBC/CRC provisions
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
No local ridge-setback/access-pathway amendment found beyond the unamended state 2025 CFC Ch. 12 / CRC R324 provisions
Why the confidence is not higherSearched the full codified Fire Code (Title 15, control-checked: positive 'fire'=117 hits, fabricated 'zzqqx'=0) and the Wildland-Urban Interface Code chapter (14.70, entirely envelope/vegetation-focused with zero PV content) — no local ridge-setback or pathway rule specific to PV was found; the only solar-adjacent Residential Code amendment (§14.52.024) addresses permitted GLAZING MATERIALS for solar panel assemblies, not setbacks or pathways.
ordinance (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42895914
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, per the 2023 NEC §690.12 as adopted via the 2025 CEC — no local amendment to rapid-shutdown requirements was found
Why the confidence is not higherState-default requirement via §14.68.010's adoption of the 2025 CEC (based on 2023 NEC); no local amendment citing §690.12 exists anywhere in Title 14 (grep across the full 139,000-character Title 14 text returned zero '690.12' hits, positive control 'permit'=87 hits, fabricated 'zzqqx'=0).
ordinance (control-checked, state default) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
None specified locally — no placard/signage requirement for solar was found anywhere in the codified Fire Code, Building Code, WUI Code, or the solar chapter itself.
Why the confidence is not higherControl-checked absence: zero hits for 'placard' inside LBMC Ch. 14.84 (the solar chapter) or Title 15 (Fire Code, positive control 'fire'=117, fabricated 'zzqqx'=0); the only 'placard' content anywhere in Title 14 is the unrelated Post-Disaster Safety Assessment chapter (14.82).
ordinance (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame control-checked absence as Q38 — the city has not codified its own placard wording for solar/PV service equipment.
ordinance (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified locally
Why the confidence is not higherSame control-checked absence — no letter-height, color, or material specification for solar placards found in Title 14, 15, or the Ch. 14.84 solar chapter.
ordinance (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified locally
Why the confidence is not higherNo site-plan/facility-map placard requirement beyond the general NEC §705.10 default was found in any Laguna Beach code chapter or published handout checked.
ordinance (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's and SDG&E's own DG manual / interconnection pages — both effectively unreachable (SCE soft-404s; SDG&E's public pages return 'Access denied'); no substitute utility's document used per playbook guidance
https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/live-here/utilities-school-district-information
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified locally (defaults to NEC placement requirements)
Why the confidence is not higherNo city amendment addressing label placement location was found; same control-checked absence as Q38-40.
ordinance (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC §14.84.040(b)-(c): water-heating solar systems must be 'certified by an accredited listing agency'; electricity-producing systems 'shall meet all applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code... and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Not addressed in the codified solar chapter (Ch. 14.84 is PV-only and never mentions batteries/ESS); the Fire Department's own fee schedule prices a generic (not residential-specific) 'Energy Storage Systems & other Fire Construction Permit' — implying ESS/battery installations go through LBFD's Fire Construction Permit process rather than Ch. 14.84's building-only path.
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC Ch. 14.84 (control-checked: zero 'battery'/'energy storage' hits); LBFD FY2026/27 fee schedule item F-59/F-60 'LPG, Cryogenics, Compressed Gas, Medical Gas, Energy Storage Systems & other Fire Construction Permit' (Plan Check $849.03 / Inspection $433.75), not broken out by occupancy type.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/home/showpublisheddocument/16217/639191261763300000
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Likely yes, via LBFD's Fire Construction Permit (Plan Check $849.03 / Inspection $433.75, item F-59/F-60) — distinct from the Building Division's Solar-Residential permit; not scoped separately for residential vs. commercial in the published schedule.
Why the confidence is not higherLBFD FY2026/27 fee schedule, 'DEVELOPMENT / CONSTRUCTION FEES — Alternative... Automatic Extinguishing Systems' section, items F-59/F-60.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/home/showpublisheddocument/16217/639191261763300000
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Not directly addressed for PV specifically; likely captured by inference under the Coastal Chapter's broad 'Structure' definition ('anything that is constructed or built'), but no PV-specific ground-mount zoning provision exists anywhere in Title 25 outside the Three Arch Bay roof-mounted-only rule.
Why the confidence is not higherTitle 25 Zoning full-text search for 'solar'/'photovoltaic' (1,005,967 characters, control-checked: positive 'setback'=143 hits, fabricated 'zzqqx'=0) returns exactly one hit (§25.44.060(D), roof-mounted only, Three Arch Bay Zone) — there is no citywide ground-mount PV standard.
ordinance (inference / control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42898361
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's and SDG&E's own DG interconnection manuals (both effectively unreachable) and Laguna Beach's own building/electrical code chapters — no AC-disconnect-to-meter proximity spec found anywhere city-side
https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/live-here/utilities-school-district-information
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Email (lbinspectors@lagunabeachcity.net); the Public Permit Portal is used for the application itself but inspection requests are explicitly routed by email. 82% · department page
- How much notice is required? At least 1 business day (requests received before 4:00 p.m. get the next business day; no same-day inspections) 88% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? No same-day inspections; an AM or PM window can optionally be requested but is not guaranteed 82% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For eligible expedited small-residential solar systems: a single consolidated inspection performed by the Building Division (no separate rough-in/electrical/final sequence). 85% · ordinance
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 82% · ordinance
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No — not published, despite being required by ordinance 75% · department page (control-checked absence)
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Likely yes (inferred) — not independently confirmed by an inspection checklist 50% · ordinance (inference)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (a passed final inspection) 82% · department page
- How are corrections issued and cleared? A written correction notice detailing all deficiencies and any additional required information/documentation is sent to the applicant for resubmission. 85% · ordinance
14 questions answered against City of Laguna Beach’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Email (lbinspectors@lagunabeachcity.net); the Public Permit Portal is used for the application itself but inspection requests are explicitly routed by email.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Permits page: 'To request inspections, please email lbinspectors@lagunabeachcity.net and provide: Project address, Permit Number(s)... Type of inspection(s)...'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/government/departments/community-development/building-permits
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
At least 1 business day (requests received before 4:00 p.m. get the next business day; no same-day inspections)
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Permits page: 'Inspection requests must be received before 4:00 p.m. to receive an inspection the following business day... There are no same day inspections.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/government/departments/community-development/building-permits
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
No same-day inspections; an AM or PM window can optionally be requested but is not guaranteed
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Permits page inspection-request instructions list 'Optional: AM or PM' as a field to provide, alongside the explicit statement 'There are no same day inspections.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/government/departments/community-development/building-permits
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC §14.84.070(g): 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by the building division for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — not delegated; performed in-house by the Building Division
Why the confidence is not higherSee Q52 source.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For eligible expedited small-residential solar systems: a single consolidated inspection performed by the Building Division (no separate rough-in/electrical/final sequence).
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC §14.84.070(g)-(h): 'Only one inspection shall be required... The inspection shall be done in a timely manner and should include consolidated inspections.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC §14.84.070(g) explicitly limits eligible expedited solar systems to a single inspection, precluding a separate rough-in/mid-roof inspection.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Likely yes (inferred) — not independently confirmed by an inspection checklist
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC §14.84.040(c) requires solar equipment to meet CEC/UL listing standards, which an inspector would be expected to verify at the single required inspection; no published inspection checklist exists to confirm this directly (see Q57).
ordinance (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No — not published, despite being required by ordinance
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC §14.84.050(d) requires the Building Department to 'adopt a standard plan and checklist of all requirements with which small residential rooftop solar energy systems shall comply' and make it 'available on the city's publicly accessible website,' but no such checklist title appears on the Building Applications, Forms & Handouts page checked (which does list dedicated EV-charging checklists as a contrast).
department page (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/government/departments/community-development/building-permits/applications-forms
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Permits page inspection-request instructions and Building Applications & Handouts list — no explicit 'what must be on site' list for solar inspections found
https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/government/departments/community-development/building-permits
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFY2026/27 Master Fee Schedule, Community Development Building Fees and Plan Review sections (OCR'd in full) — no distinct dollar 're-inspection' line item was found, despite LBMC §14.50 generally authorizing 'a reinspection fee... in accordance with a fee schedule adopted by resolution'; the closest related line is 'Off-hours inspection request' ($537.37 for 2 hrs + $358.25/additional hour), which is not the same fee
https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/home/showpublisheddocument/16217/639191261763300000
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
A written correction notice detailing all deficiencies and any additional required information/documentation is sent to the applicant for resubmission.
Why the confidence is not higherLBMC §14.84.070(f).
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/print/LA4953?guid=42894432
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (a passed final inspection)
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Permits page: 'All permits require a FINAL "passed" inspection to complete the permit.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/government/departments/community-development/building-permits
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's and SDG&E's own DG/PTO pages (both effectively unreachable per known platform behavior) and Laguna Beach's own Ch. 14.84 and Building & Permits page — neither states who notifies the utility for PTO
https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/live-here/utilities-school-district-information
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Laguna Beach against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Laguna Beach is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Both
- Overridden by
- Utility interconnection is split within the city itself — SCE governs central/North Laguna Beach, SDG&E governs South Laguna (city's own Utilities page) — so utility-side rules depend on parcel location, not a single citywide utility. Fire is self-performed by the independent Laguna Beach Fire Department (confirmed absent from OCFA's own 23-city member list), not OCFA. The city holds a CERTIFIED Local Coastal Program, so it — not the Coastal Commission directly — administers Coastal Development Permits citywide (LBMC Ch. 25.07), though appealable-zone development can still reach the Commission on appeal.
- Why not higher
- Building & Permits page and LBMC Title 14 show the city's own in-house Building Division issuing and inspecting all residential building/electrical permits, including a dedicated codified solar-permitting chapter (Ch. 14.84). Fire is a separate self-performing city department (Laguna Beach Fire Department), confirmed by name absent from OCFA's own member-cities list. No delegation to any contract building/electrical firm was found in the 44-person staff directory or any fee-schedule staffing appendix.
https://www.lagunabeachcity.net/government/departments/community-development/building-permits
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $537.92 (Building Permit, item #10 'Solar - Residential') + $149.91 separate Plan Review fee (item #112 'Solar') = approx. $687.83 before the standard $80.90 permit-issuance fee92%
- Plan review
- 3 business days (for expedited/eligible small residential rooftop solar systems)90%
- Portal
- Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service ('Public Permit Portal'), hosted at lagunabeachca-energovweb.tylerhost.net92%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC (adopted as the 2025 California Electrical Code)95%
- Own placard wording
- No78%
- Booking an inspection
- Email (lbinspectors@lagunabeachcity.net); the Public Permit Portal is used for the application itself but inspection requests are explicitly routed by email.82%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 78%
No
Size, colour & material 75%
Not specified locally
Where they go 70%
Not specified locally (defaults to NEC placement requirements)
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.