City of Laguna Niguel

Orange County

Verified Aug. 4, 2026

City of Laguna Niguel is a city authority in the State of California, serving 64,355 residents. 4,058 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — ~24 hours for online application processing (general statement, not solar-specific); same-day issuance under SolarAPP+. Q18 Where you file — Laguna Niguel Permit Center (Tyler Technologies EnerGov, at cityoflagunaniguel.org/CSS / cityoflagunaniguelca-energovweb.tylerhost.net), Q20

Permit required
Yes95% source
What it costs
Approx. $450 total: Photovoltaic permit $205.20 + Photovoltaic plan check $205.21 + issuance fee $39.59 (plus 2% Technology and 2% General Plan Cost Recovery surcharges),92% source
Plan review turnaround
~24 hours for online application processing (general statement, not solar-specific); same-day issuance under SolarAPP+.65% source
Key document
department page cited by 6 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 88% · department page
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · department page
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 75% · fee schedule
    • Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Not required as a city permit precondition -- the PV Submittal Criteria handout's own 'Administrative' clearance list names only the Planning Department and Building & Safety, not an HOA/architectural body. Private CC&Rs may still require HOA architectural approval as a separate covenant matter, but the Solar Rights Act (Civil Code Section 714/4600 et seq.) limits what an HOA may withhold, and the city does not condition its own permit on proof of HOA sign-off. 72% · checklist
    • Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No separate windstorm certification process identified -- wind design (Exposure C, 110 mph) is folded into the standard structural engineering calculations required for roof-mount attachment, not a distinct TDI-style certificate. 65% · checklist
    • Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No -- standard eligible residential rooftop PV is processed ministerially (SolarAPP+ same-day, or regular ministerial permit); no Council/Specific Use Permit step is described for eligible systems. 68% · department page
    • Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 38.4 kW-dc is the operative ceiling for the streamlined SolarAPP+ path; systems above that (or otherwise ineligible, e.g. ground mount, oversized wall batteries) must use the regular permit process, where no separate hard zoning cap was found. 68% · department page
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

    • Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 90% · department page
    • Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 90% · department page
  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • What documents make up a complete submittal? Per the PV Submittal Criteria handout: full dimensioned site plan (lot size, street, meter and PV location, property lines); single-line diagram (array config/wiring, combiner box, inverter, disconnects, grounding, point of connection); inverter manufacturer spec sheet; module manufacturer spec sheet; array electrical parameters (series/parallel count, voltage, current, short-circuit current); roof structural info incl. mounting hardware spec and engineering calcs for wind uplift. 80% · published checklist
    • How many copies, and in what format? Primarily digital: PV permits are submitted via SolarAPP+ or the Online Permit Center with no paper-copy count stated for solar specifically. The Design Criteria handout gives paper/digital set counts for other project types (e.g. 3 sets for custom homes; 2 paper + 1 digital when OCFA review is required) but does not give a PV-specific figure. 55% · checklist
    • Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes -- full dimensioned site plan showing lot size, street, alley, easements, parking, all structures, property lines and lot dimensions, plus size/location of the service meter and location of the PV system. 90% · published checklist
    • Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 92% · published checklist
    • Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes (functionally) -- plan must show number of modules in series, number of parallel source circuits, total modules, operating voltage/current, max system voltage, and short-circuit current. 65% · published checklist
    • Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering calculations demonstrating structural adequacy of roof supporting members, including wind uplift effects, are required for roof-mount systems; the handout does not state an explicit PE-stamp threshold or whether a manufacturer's engineering letter can substitute. 60% · checklist
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? Laguna Niguel Permit Center (Tyler Technologies EnerGov, at cityoflagunaniguel.org/CSS / cityoflagunaniguelca-energovweb.tylerhost.net), plus SolarAPP+ for eligible contractor-submitted rooftop PV. 95% · portal landing page
    • Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 92% · portal landing page
    • What does a residential solar permit cost? Approx. $450 total: Photovoltaic permit $205.20 + Photovoltaic plan check $205.21 + issuance fee $39.59 (plus 2% Technology and 2% General Plan Cost Recovery surcharges), per the Building Division Fees Schedule effective 1 Jul 2026. 92% · fee schedule
    • How is the fee calculated? Flat 85% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 92% · fee schedule
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

    • What is the stated plan-review turnaround? ~24 hours for online application processing (general statement, not solar-specific); same-day issuance under SolarAPP+. 65% · department page
    • Which utility handles interconnection here? Split -- both Southern California Edison (SCE) and San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) serve Laguna Niguel, depending on the specific address. This overturns a single-utility assumption of SDG&E-only. 88% · department handout

28 questions answered against City of Laguna Niguel’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building & Safety and Residential Solar Permits with SolarAPP+ pages both describe the city issuing residential rooftop solar permits directly.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/1705/Residential-Solar-Permits-with-SolarAPP

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Division (in-house, Community Development Dept) issues building and electrical permits; OCFA holds fire/life-safety plan review for PV/ESS only above its own PR362/PR375 fee thresholds -- not a general delegation of the whole permit.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/113/Building-Safety

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherBoth the SolarAPP+ page and the PV Submittal Criteria handout treat a building permit as a precondition for installation.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/1705/Residential-Solar-Permits-with-SolarAPP

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ issues a single permit covering the PV installation; the Building Permit Fees 2026 schedule lists 'Photovoltaic' as one line under Electrical Fees rather than as a stand-alone permit type, implying a single combined building/electrical permit rather than two separate permits.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22671/100---Building-Permit-Fees-2026

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ requires a licensed CA contractor with a SolarAPP+ ID; the same page states owner-builders may instead apply through the regular Submittal Checklist and Online Permit Center.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/1705/Residential-Solar-Permits-with-SolarAPP

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page and SolarAPP+ page -- neither states a city-specific contractor pre-registration requirement beyond holding a valid CSLB license and creating a SolarAPP+ account (which is a platform account, not city registration).

https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/1705/Residential-Solar-Permits-with-SolarAPP

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page: 'Owner builders must apply following the guidelines contained in the Submittal Checklist... owner builders can then submit the application through the Online Permit Center.'

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/1705/Residential-Solar-Permits-with-SolarAPP

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

Per the PV Submittal Criteria handout: full dimensioned site plan (lot size, street, meter and PV location, property lines); single-line diagram (array config/wiring, combiner box, inverter, disconnects, grounding, point of connection); inverter manufacturer spec sheet; module manufacturer spec sheet; array electrical parameters (series/parallel count, voltage, current, short-circuit current); roof structural info incl. mounting hardware spec and engineering calcs for wind uplift.

Why the confidence is not higherHandout is dated 10/17/14 in its footer though still the linked current document as of Jan 2026 revisions to sibling handouts -- content may not reflect 2023 NEC marking changes.

published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22694/133-136---PV-Submittal-Criteria

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

Primarily digital: PV permits are submitted via SolarAPP+ or the Online Permit Center with no paper-copy count stated for solar specifically. The Design Criteria handout gives paper/digital set counts for other project types (e.g. 3 sets for custom homes; 2 paper + 1 digital when OCFA review is required) but does not give a PV-specific figure.

Why the confidence is not higherInferred by analogy from adjoining categories in the Design Criteria handout; no PV-specific count found.

checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22674/104---Design-Criteria

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Yes -- full dimensioned site plan showing lot size, street, alley, easements, parking, all structures, property lines and lot dimensions, plus size/location of the service meter and location of the PV system.

Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from PV Submittal Criteria handout item 2-3.

published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22694/133-136---PV-Submittal-Criteria

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherPV Submittal Criteria item 4 requires a minimum single-line diagram showing array configuration/wiring, combiner box, inverter, disconnects, grounding and point of connection.

published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22694/133-136---PV-Submittal-Criteria

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Yes (functionally) -- plan must show number of modules in series, number of parallel source circuits, total modules, operating voltage/current, max system voltage, and short-circuit current.

Why the confidence is not higherThe handout requires the underlying electrical parameters that constitute string/conductor sizing rather than naming 'string calculations' as a distinct deliverable.

published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22694/133-136---PV-Submittal-Criteria

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Engineering calculations demonstrating structural adequacy of roof supporting members, including wind uplift effects, are required for roof-mount systems; the handout does not state an explicit PE-stamp threshold or whether a manufacturer's engineering letter can substitute.

Why the confidence is not higherHandout requires calcs/details but never uses the words 'stamp' or gives a threshold; inferred that CA practice generally requires a PE or SE stamp on structural calcs of this kind.

checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22694/133-136---PV-Submittal-Criteria

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedPV Submittal Criteria handout (the only city document describing PV engineering deliverables) does not mention an electrical PE stamp or any threshold for one.

https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22694/133-136---PV-Submittal-Criteria

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

Approx. $450 total: Photovoltaic permit $205.20 + Photovoltaic plan check $205.21 + issuance fee $39.59 (plus 2% Technology and 2% General Plan Cost Recovery surcharges), per the Building Division Fees Schedule effective 1 Jul 2026.

Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule PDF created/modified 16 Jun 2026, current and dated inside the document itself (not inferred from URL).

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22671/100---Building-Permit-Fees-2026

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Flat

Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule lists a single flat 'Photovoltaic' amount under Electrical Fees, not a per-kW or per-panel table.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22671/100---Building-Permit-Fees-2026

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule separately itemizes 'Photovoltaic PC' ($205.21) from 'Photovoltaic' permit fee ($205.20).

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22671/100---Building-Permit-Fees-2026

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

~24 hours for online application processing (general statement, not solar-specific); same-day issuance under SolarAPP+.

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety page states '24 hours for processing' for online permit applications generally; unclear whether this covers full technical plan review for the non-SolarAPP+ track.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/113/Building-Safety

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedDesign Criteria handout and Building & Safety page -- neither states permit validity/expiration. The specific local amendment (if any) to the standard CBC expiration provision would sit in the municipal code, which returned HTTP 403 on Municode both live and via every Wayback Machine capture attempted (Angular shell with no cached API response) this run.

https://library.municode.com/ca/laguna_niguel/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=MUCOLANICA

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

Laguna Niguel Permit Center (Tyler Technologies EnerGov, at cityoflagunaniguel.org/CSS / cityoflagunaniguelca-energovweb.tylerhost.net), plus SolarAPP+ for eligible contractor-submitted rooftop PV.

Why the confidence is not higherDirectly named and linked on the New Permit System page.

portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/1266/New-Permit-System

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherNew Permit System page: apply, pay fees, and schedule inspections are all described as done through the same online portal; SolarAPP+ issues permits same-day, fully online.

portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/1266/New-Permit-System

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Split -- both Southern California Edison (SCE) and San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) serve Laguna Niguel, depending on the specific address. This overturns a single-utility assumption of SDG&E-only.

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Electric Meter Panel Replacement handout (updated 1/5/26) states verbatim: 'Laguna Niguel is served by two electric utilities - Southern California Electric and San Diego Gas & Electric.' No utility-side territory map was reachable this run (WebSearch budget exhausted, sdge.com service-area-map URL 404'd), so the boundary within the city is not further resolved -- confirm per-address before citing a single utility's DG manual.

department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22690/128---Electric-Meter-Panel-Replacement

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety, SolarAPP+, and Electric Meter Panel Replacement pages -- none state a solar-specific utility interconnection sequence (before/after/parallel to permit). The Electric Meter Panel Replacement handout requires a copy of the SCE or SDG&E service order before permit issuance, but that document is about panel upgrades generally, not solar net-metering interconnection specifically, so it was not stretched into an answer here.

https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22690/128---Electric-Meter-Panel-Replacement

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

Not required as a city permit precondition -- the PV Submittal Criteria handout's own 'Administrative' clearance list names only the Planning Department and Building & Safety, not an HOA/architectural body. Private CC&Rs may still require HOA architectural approval as a separate covenant matter, but the Solar Rights Act (Civil Code Section 714/4600 et seq.) limits what an HOA may withhold, and the city does not condition its own permit on proof of HOA sign-off.

Why the confidence is not higherPositive evidence is the city's own enumerated clearance list, which is narrow and specific; general HOA Resources page makes no solar-specific statement either way.

checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22694/133-136---PV-Submittal-Criteria

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedPlanning & Zoning and Zoning landing pages -- neither lists a historic-district or historic-preservation resource (city incorporated 1989, so a historic overlay would be unusual but not impossible). Could not confirm against the zoning ordinance text itself because library.municode.com returned HTTP 403 to both a live WebFetch and every Wayback Machine snapshot attempted.

https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/88/Planning-Zoning

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

No separate windstorm certification process identified -- wind design (Exposure C, 110 mph) is folded into the standard structural engineering calculations required for roof-mount attachment, not a distinct TDI-style certificate.

Why the confidence is not higherDesign Criteria handout states the design wind parameters used citywide but describes no separate certification step; CA does not use a TDI-equivalent windstorm certificate.

checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22674/104---Design-Criteria

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

No -- standard eligible residential rooftop PV is processed ministerially (SolarAPP+ same-day, or regular ministerial permit); no Council/Specific Use Permit step is described for eligible systems.

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the ministerial, no-discretionary-review framing of both the SolarAPP+ and regular permit pages; state law (Gov. Code 65850.5/65850.52) also compels ministerial review for eligible systems.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/1705/Residential-Solar-Permits-with-SolarAPP

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

38.4 kW-dc is the operative ceiling for the streamlined SolarAPP+ path; systems above that (or otherwise ineligible, e.g. ground mount, oversized wall batteries) must use the regular permit process, where no separate hard zoning cap was found.

Why the confidence is not higher38.4 kW figure is explicit and repeated on the SolarAPP+ page; absence of a further cap for the regular track is based on review of the same page and the PV Submittal Criteria handout, not a full zoning-code search (Municode blocked).

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/1705/Residential-Solar-Permits-with-SolarAPP

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC, as adopted into the 2025 California Electrical Code (CEC), effective 1 Jan 2026 85% · department handout
    • Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (CBC), together with the 2025 CMC, CPC, CRC, CEC, and 2025 Title 24 Energy Regulations 92% · checklist
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes -- the Design Criteria handout states codes apply 'as amended by City Ordinance,' confirming local amendments exist, though the specific amendment text could not be retrieved this run. 78% · checklist
    • What is the installation judged against? 2025 CBC, CMC, CPC, CRC and CEC as locally amended, plus 2025 Title 24 Energy Regulations 90% · checklist
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    Nothing recorded for City of Laguna Niguel on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    • Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, required under NEC 690.12 as part of the 2023 NEC folded into the 2025 CEC now in force; no local amendment relaxing rapid shutdown was found. 75% · adopting regulation (inferred)
  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    • Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? DC combiner/junction box shock-hazard warning; DC disconnect shock-hazard warning plus 'PV system - DC disconnect' label with operating current/voltage, max system voltage and short-circuit current; inverter warning labels plus AC/DC output ratings; AC disconnect labeled 'PV system - AC disconnect'; meter labeled with AC output current/voltage and 'Dual sources: Second source is Photovoltaic'; a permanent directory/plaque is required if the service and PV disconnects are not co-located. 78% · ordinance/handout
    • Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Yes -- exact quoted wording is specified for each required placard (see q38). 85% · ordinance/handout
    • Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Yes -- a full dimensioned site plan is required showing lot size, street, alley, easements, parking, all structures, property lines/dimensions, and the size and location of the service meter and PV system. 80% · checklist
    • Where must the labels be placed? At the DC combiner/junction box; at the DC disconnect (at an accessible location); at the inverter; at the AC disconnect; at the meter; and at a permanent directory/plaque if the service disconnect and PV disconnect are not in the same location. 78% · ordinance/handout
  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, permitted with conditions. SolarAPP+ allows battery storage as an optional add-on except wall-mounted batteries over 400 lbs, which are ineligible for that path (must use the regular permit process). Separately, OCFA requires its own fire plan review/inspection (PR375, $963 plan review + $233 inspection per its fee schedule) once electrolyte exceeds 50 gal. or lithium-ion exceeds 1,000 lb. 80% · department page + fee schedule
    • Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No distinct city 'ESS permit' type was found -- the Building Division fee schedule has only a 'Photovoltaic' electrical fee line, not a separate battery/ESS line, implying batteries are added to the same building/electrical permit. OCFA applies a separate fire plan-review/inspection fee (PR375) only when battery capacity crosses its stated thresholds. 68% · fee schedule
    • Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Likely yes -- SolarAPP+ explicitly excludes ground-mount systems ('no ground mount or reverse tilt systems'), routing them to the standard/regular permit process where the city's separate geotechnical/foundation-requirement handouts for other structures would plausibly apply, but no city document was found stating this explicitly for ground-mount PV. 50% · department page (inferred)
    • Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electric Meter Panel Replacement handout sets detailed panel-upgrade rules: spare/future circuits must be capped and busbar space reserved for future breakers; grounding electrode conductor sized to panel data-plate rating; a copy of the SCE or SDG&E service order is required prior to permit issuance; new/reconstructed service over 50% requires underground service. 80% · department handout
    • Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Mounting hardware manufacturer specification and engineering calculations for attachment adequacy/wind uplift are required; no specific universal attachment-spacing figure is stated. 55% · checklist

20 questions answered against City of Laguna Niguel’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2023 NEC, as adopted into the 2025 California Electrical Code (CEC), effective 1 Jan 2026

Why the confidence is not higherCity's Design Criteria handout requires conformance to '2025 CBC, CMC, CPC, CRC and CEC'; the Electric Meter Panel Replacement handout separately calls this the '2025 CEC (2025 NEC)' -- the city's own material colloquially labels the code cycle '2025' though the underlying NFPA edition folded into the 2025 CEC is the 2023 NEC.

department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22690/128---Electric-Meter-Panel-Replacement

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2025 California Building Code (CBC), together with the 2025 CMC, CPC, CRC, CEC, and 2025 Title 24 Energy Regulations

Why the confidence is not higherQuoted directly from the Design Criteria handout, updated 01/05/26: 'All Work shall conform to the 2025 CBC, CMC, CPC, CRC and CEC as amended by City Ordinance and the 2025 Title 24 Energy Regulations.'

checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22674/104---Design-Criteria

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedOCFA's Community Risk Reduction and Planning & Development Services pages, and OCFA's own PD Fee Schedule 2026 -- none states the currently adopted CFC edition. The city's own Design Criteria handout lists 2025 CBC/CMC/CPC/CRC/CEC but does not include the fire code, since fire code is administered by OCFA county-wide rather than by the city directly.

https://ocfa.org/about-us/departments/community-risk-reduction/planning-development-services/

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Yes -- the Design Criteria handout states codes apply 'as amended by City Ordinance,' confirming local amendments exist, though the specific amendment text could not be retrieved this run.

Why the confidence is not higherThe phrase itself is direct city-source evidence of amendments; the amendment text sits in the municipal code (Title 7 or similar), which is on Municode and returned HTTP 403 to both a live fetch and the Wayback Machine capture (Angular shell with no cached API response) on every attempt this run.

checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22674/104---Design-Criteria

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

2025 CBC, CMC, CPC, CRC and CEC as locally amended, plus 2025 Title 24 Energy Regulations

Why the confidence is not higherSame Design Criteria handout quote as q30/q29.

checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22674/104---Design-Criteria

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

Electric Meter Panel Replacement handout sets detailed panel-upgrade rules: spare/future circuits must be capped and busbar space reserved for future breakers; grounding electrode conductor sized to panel data-plate rating; a copy of the SCE or SDG&E service order is required prior to permit issuance; new/reconstructed service over 50% requires underground service.

Why the confidence is not higherThis handout governs meter-panel replacement generally (a common companion scope to PV interconnection) rather than being solar-specific; no separate solar backfeed/120%-rule busbar amendment was found in city documents.

department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22690/128---Electric-Meter-Panel-Replacement

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

Mounting hardware manufacturer specification and engineering calculations for attachment adequacy/wind uplift are required; no specific universal attachment-spacing figure is stated.

Why the confidence is not higherPV Submittal Criteria item 10 requires the spec sheet and calcs but does not itself set a spacing number -- that would come from the specific mounting system's engineering letter, evaluated case by case.

checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22694/133-136---PV-Submittal-Criteria

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedOCFA's guideline list (A-01 through H-03, none PV/ESS-specific) and the PV Submittal Criteria handout -- neither states a ridge setback or fire-access-pathway dimension for residential rooftop PV. Also checked and reconfirmed that ocfa.org/_uploads/pdf/PhotovoltaicGuideline.pdf 404s, consistent with prior runs' finding that no PV/ESS-specific lettered guideline exists; ran positive control 'sprinkler' (33 hits) and fabricated control 'zzqqx' (0 hits) against the OCFA fee schedule text to confirm the extraction pipeline itself was working before treating this as a genuine absence.

https://ocfa.org/about-us/departments/community-risk-reduction/planning-development-services/

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Yes, required under NEC 690.12 as part of the 2023 NEC folded into the 2025 CEC now in force; no local amendment relaxing rapid shutdown was found.

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the confirmed code edition in force; not a city document that names rapid shutdown by section number.

adopting regulation (inferred) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22690/128---Electric-Meter-Panel-Replacement

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

DC combiner/junction box shock-hazard warning; DC disconnect shock-hazard warning plus 'PV system - DC disconnect' label with operating current/voltage, max system voltage and short-circuit current; inverter warning labels plus AC/DC output ratings; AC disconnect labeled 'PV system - AC disconnect'; meter labeled with AC output current/voltage and 'Dual sources: Second source is Photovoltaic'; a permanent directory/plaque is required if the service and PV disconnects are not co-located.

Why the confidence is not higherQuoted from the PV Submittal Criteria handout's 'Required Photovoltaic Signs' section. The handout's footer is dated 10/17/14 and its 'ungrounded DC conductor' language reflects pre-2017 NEC array grounding assumptions, which is in tension with the 2023 NEC now confirmed in force -- flagging a real internal contradiction rather than resolving it silently.

ordinance/handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22694/133-136---PV-Submittal-Criteria

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Yes -- exact quoted wording is specified for each required placard (see q38).

Why the confidence is not higherWording is given verbatim in quotation marks in the handout.

ordinance/handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22694/133-136---PV-Submittal-Criteria

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedPV Submittal Criteria handout gives exact placard wording (q39) but never specifies letter height, colour, or material for any of the required signs.

https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22694/133-136---PV-Submittal-Criteria

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Yes -- a full dimensioned site plan is required showing lot size, street, alley, easements, parking, all structures, property lines/dimensions, and the size and location of the service meter and PV system.

Why the confidence is not higherThis functions as the facility map required under NEC 705.10, though the handout does not use that section number.

checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22694/133-136---PV-Submittal-Criteria

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo SCE or SDG&E distributed-generation interconnection handbook was retrieved this run (WebSearch budget was exhausted before utility-side documents could be located by direct URL). Since Laguna Niguel is genuinely split between the two utilities (see q22), this answer would need to be sourced and recorded separately per utility rather than at the authority level.

https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22690/128---Electric-Meter-Panel-Replacement

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

At the DC combiner/junction box; at the DC disconnect (at an accessible location); at the inverter; at the AC disconnect; at the meter; and at a permanent directory/plaque if the service disconnect and PV disconnect are not in the same location.

Why the confidence is not higherSame handout as q38; same caveat about its 2014 vintage predating the code edition now in force.

ordinance/handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22694/133-136---PV-Submittal-Criteria

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedPV Submittal Criteria handout and Building Permit Fees schedule -- neither references a specific 'approved equipment list' by name (as distinct from the general listed-equipment requirement inherent in NEC/CEC adoption).

https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22694/133-136---PV-Submittal-Criteria

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Yes, permitted with conditions. SolarAPP+ allows battery storage as an optional add-on except wall-mounted batteries over 400 lbs, which are ineligible for that path (must use the regular permit process). Separately, OCFA requires its own fire plan review/inspection (PR375, $963 plan review + $233 inspection per its fee schedule) once electrolyte exceeds 50 gal. or lithium-ion exceeds 1,000 lb.

Why the confidence is not higherCombines two of the authority's own current sources (SolarAPP+ page; OCFA fee schedule effective per document creation date 4 Mar 2026).

department page + fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/1705/Residential-Solar-Permits-with-SolarAPP

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

No distinct city 'ESS permit' type was found -- the Building Division fee schedule has only a 'Photovoltaic' electrical fee line, not a separate battery/ESS line, implying batteries are added to the same building/electrical permit. OCFA applies a separate fire plan-review/inspection fee (PR375) only when battery capacity crosses its stated thresholds.

Why the confidence is not higherAbsence of a city-level ESS fee line is a real finding checked against the full fee schedule; OCFA's separate PR375 line is a genuine county-level exception to that.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22671/100---Building-Permit-Fees-2026

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Likely yes -- SolarAPP+ explicitly excludes ground-mount systems ('no ground mount or reverse tilt systems'), routing them to the standard/regular permit process where the city's separate geotechnical/foundation-requirement handouts for other structures would plausibly apply, but no city document was found stating this explicitly for ground-mount PV.

Why the confidence is not higherInference from an exclusion rule rather than a direct statement; kept above the 40 floor because it is grounded in the authority's own SolarAPP+ eligibility text.

department page (inferred) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/1705/Residential-Solar-Permits-with-SolarAPP

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedDesign Criteria and Electric Meter Panel Replacement handouts -- neither states AC disconnect placement relative to the meter; this sits with the utility's own DG interconnection manual, and since Laguna Niguel is split between SCE and SDG&E (q22), a single city-level answer would be misleading without knowing which utility serves the specific address.

https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22690/128---Electric-Meter-Panel-Replacement

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How is an inspection booked? Portal (Laguna Niguel Permit Center, online) or Phone ((949) 362-4381) 90% · department page
    • Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Same-day cancellation/rescheduling is permitted if called in before 7 a.m. that day ((949) 362-4334); the daily inspection schedule is posted online, updated at 8:30 a.m. No AM/PM window language was found. 78% · department page
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

    • Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 90% · department page
    • If delegated, to whom? N/A -- not delegated for the routine final. OCFA performs its own separate inspection only when its PR362 (PV) or PR375 (battery) thresholds are triggered. 80% · fee schedule
  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    • Which inspections are required, and in what order? SolarAPP+ track: a single final inspection after installation is complete, matched against the SolarAPP+ approval scope. General/owner-builder track: sequence beyond intake and final is not spelled out in any city document found. 65% · department page
    • Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No, for the SolarAPP+ track (explicitly one inspection only, no rough-in/mid-roof stage). Not stated either way for the general/owner-builder track. 70% · department page
  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

    • Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes -- the SolarAPP+ inspection checklist is explicitly printable/downloadable from the SolarAPP+ platform and becomes part of the permit set. 88% · department page
    • What must be on site at inspection? A set of plans and the SolarAPP+ approval document must be available on site for the inspector; the inspection card/permit and the SolarAPP+ inspection checklist are also part of the required set. 88% · department page
    • Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Likely yes, though not stated in so many words -- the city's own required-signage handout (q38-43) exists specifically so it can be field-verified, and SolarAPP+'s national NREL-based inspection checklist routinely includes label/listing verification. 60% · inferred
  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

    • What is issued on pass? Final (inspection card signed off/finalized) -- not a Certificate of Occupancy, since PV is an alteration to an existing residence rather than a new occupancy. 60% · inferred
    • Is there a re-inspection fee? $139.25 (general 'Structural Reinspection' fee) -- no PV-specific re-inspection fee line was found. 60% · fee schedule

14 questions answered against City of Laguna Niguel’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Portal (Laguna Niguel Permit Center, online) or Phone ((949) 362-4381)

Why the confidence is not higherBoth methods explicitly described on the Building & Safety page.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/113/Building-Safety

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page describes booking channels (portal/phone) and a 7 a.m. same-day cancellation cutoff, but states no minimum advance-notice period for booking a new inspection.

https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/113/Building-Safety

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

Same-day cancellation/rescheduling is permitted if called in before 7 a.m. that day ((949) 362-4334); the daily inspection schedule is posted online, updated at 8:30 a.m. No AM/PM window language was found.

Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated cutoff time on the New Permit System and Building & Safety pages.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/1266/New-Permit-System

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Division inspectors perform periodic site inspections; no delegation to OCFA or a third party is described for the routine building/electrical final -- OCFA involvement is limited to its own separately-fee-triggered PV/ESS plan review.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/113/Building-Safety

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

N/A -- not delegated for the routine final. OCFA performs its own separate inspection only when its PR362 (PV) or PR375 (battery) thresholds are triggered.

Why the confidence is not higherConsistent with q52 and the OCFA fee schedule's INSP-ONLY line items (PR362i, PR375i).

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://storageocfaprod001.blob.core.windows.net/blobocfaprod01/2025/06/PD-Fee-Schedule-2026.pdf

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

SolarAPP+ track: a single final inspection after installation is complete, matched against the SolarAPP+ approval scope. General/owner-builder track: sequence beyond intake and final is not spelled out in any city document found.

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page states this plainly ('SolarAPP+ permits only include one inspection'); the general-track sequence is unconfirmed.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/1705/Residential-Solar-Permits-with-SolarAPP

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

No, for the SolarAPP+ track (explicitly one inspection only, no rough-in/mid-roof stage). Not stated either way for the general/owner-builder track.

Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote from SolarAPP+ page for that track; silence elsewhere for the other track.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/1705/Residential-Solar-Permits-with-SolarAPP

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Likely yes, though not stated in so many words -- the city's own required-signage handout (q38-43) exists specifically so it can be field-verified, and SolarAPP+'s national NREL-based inspection checklist routinely includes label/listing verification.

Why the confidence is not higherInference from the existence of a detailed signage requirement and the nature of the SolarAPP+ checklist, not a direct city statement that the inspector checks labels.

inferred checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22694/133-136---PV-Submittal-Criteria

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

Yes -- the SolarAPP+ inspection checklist is explicitly printable/downloadable from the SolarAPP+ platform and becomes part of the permit set.

Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the SolarAPP+ page.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/1705/Residential-Solar-Permits-with-SolarAPP

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

A set of plans and the SolarAPP+ approval document must be available on site for the inspector; the inspection card/permit and the SolarAPP+ inspection checklist are also part of the required set.

Why the confidence is not higherQuoted from the SolarAPP+ page.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/1705/Residential-Solar-Permits-with-SolarAPP

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

$139.25 (general 'Structural Reinspection' fee) -- no PV-specific re-inspection fee line was found.

Why the confidence is not higherThis is the general reinspection fee in the Building Division fee schedule; not confirmed to be the fee actually applied to a failed solar final.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/DocumentCenter/View/22671/100---Building-Permit-Fees-2026

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety and New Permit System pages -- neither describes how correction notices are issued or cleared (e.g. re-upload via portal vs. in-person).

https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/113/Building-Safety

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Final (inspection card signed off/finalized) -- not a Certificate of Occupancy, since PV is an alteration to an existing residence rather than a new occupancy.

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the described process (email with 'inspection card and permit' on issuance, implying the same card is signed at final) rather than a direct statement of what document issues on pass.

inferred checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/1705/Residential-Solar-Permits-with-SolarAPP

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ and Building & Safety pages -- neither states who submits proof of final inspection to the utility for Permission to Operate; this is a utility-level process (SCE and SDG&E each run their own PTO workflow) and, given the confirmed utility split (q22), is not something a single city-side answer can responsibly cover.

https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/1705/Residential-Solar-Permits-with-SolarAPP

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Laguna Niguel against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Laguna Niguel is the authority having jurisdiction 88% confidence
Holds
building and electrical (in-house Community Development Dept / Building & Safety Division issues both); OCFA (Orange County Fire Authority) holds fire/life-safety plan review for PV and battery/ESS systems above its own fee-triggered thresholds (PR362 residential PV alternative-compliance review, PR375 battery systems)
Overridden by
CA Solar Rights Act (Civil Code Section 714 / Section 4600 et seq.) limits HOA/CC&R restrictions on solar; Gov. Code Section 65850.5 / Section 65850.52 mandate ministerial and SolarAPP+ permitting for eligible residential systems; AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) freezes more-restrictive local residential code amendments 1 Oct 2025-1 Jun 2031
Why not higher
City's own Building & Safety and SolarAPP+ pages describe in-house issuance of both building and electrical permits (named staff: Jonathan Orduna, Community Development Director; John Morgan, Deputy Community Development Director) -- no outside contracted plan-check/inspection firm is named anywhere on the city's site, unlike contract cities such as Camarillo or Dublin. OCFA's own member-cities page confirms Laguna Niguel by name as one of the 23 cities it serves. The city's PV Submittal Criteria handout lists only Planning Department and Building & Safety clearances as prerequisites for permit issuance -- no HOA clearance is listed as a city-required condition.

https://www.cityoflagunaniguel.org/113/Building-Safety

Permit required
Yes95%
Permit cost
Approx. $450 total: Photovoltaic permit $205.20 + Photovoltaic plan check $205.21 + issuance fee $39.59 (plus 2% Technology and 2% General Plan Cost Recovery surcharges),92%
Plan review
~24 hours for online application processing (general statement, not solar-specific); same-day issuance under SolarAPP+.65%
Portal
Laguna Niguel Permit Center (Tyler Technologies EnerGov, at cityoflagunaniguel.org/CSS / cityoflagunaniguelca-energovweb.tylerhost.net),95%
Electrical code
2023 NEC, as adopted into the 2025 California Electrical Code (CEC), effective 1 Jan 202685%
Own placard wording
Yes -- exact quoted wording is specified for each required placard (see q38).85%
Booking an inspection
Portal (Laguna Niguel Permit Center, online) or Phone ((949) 362-4381)90%
Labels & placards for this authority

City of Laguna Niguel writes its own placard wording. A standard NEC label set will not satisfy it — the exact text, and in most cases the size, colour and font, are specified below.

Wording 85%

Yes -- exact quoted wording is specified for each required placard (see q38).

Size, colour & material None%

Where they go 78%

At the DC combiner/junction box; at the DC disconnect (at an accessible location); at the inverter; at the AC disconnect; at the meter; and at a permanent directory/plaque if the service disconnect and PV disconnect are not in the same location.

What the utility wants on top None%

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Orange County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of Laguna Niguel · city
Solar Requirements
Separate roof inspection
91-129 establishing fees for the Building Division, increases have been made to the construction valuation and non-valuation permit fees based upon changes in the Los Angeles Construction Cost Index published by the Engineering News Record (ENR). In accordance with City Council Resolution No. 2023-1
Authority Contact
Address
30111 Crown Valley Pkwy, Laguna Niguel, CA 92677
Main Phone
(949) 362-4300
Building Department
Department
Building & Safety Division (Community Development Department)
Direct Phone
(949) 362-4360
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
online_portal
Book in advance
1
Notes
Uses EnerGov (Tyler Technologies) Customer Self Service portal at cityoflagunaniguel.org/CSS. Solar permits use SolarAPP+ integration: contractor obtains SolarAPP+ approval ID, creates Online Permit Center account, pays city fees, receives same-day permit issuance, then schedules inspection through EnerGov portal. SolarAPP+ eligible for systems under 38.4 kW, roof-mounted, residential zoning. Inspection scheduling phone: (949) 362-4381. Same-day cancellation/reschedule: (949) 362-4334 (before 7am). Account registration required for online portal. Inspection type listed as 'P/S FINAL - SOLAR SYSTEM' on request form. Public counter hours: Mon-Fri 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM. Building Official: Ted Halsey (949) 362-4326. Building fees increased 0.9% effective July 1, 2026; plans must be submitted digitally. (updated Jul 2026)