City of Lake Forest

Orange County

Verified Aug. 4, 2026

City of Lake Forest is a city authority in the State of California, serving 85,858 residents. 4,844 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, the 2025 edition code cycle it enforces, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Instant/same-session for SolarAPP+-eligible systems (~30 seconds after submission, per the City's own description); Q18 Where you file — eLakeForest (Tyler Technologies EnerGov self-service portal), paired with the NREL SolarAPP+ platform for automated review of eligible residential PV. Q20

Permit required
Yes95% source
What it costs
$262 (SolarAPP+/expedited automated review) or $450 (all other residential systems, generally ≤15kW / ≤10kWth)95% source
Plan review turnaround
Instant/same-session for SolarAPP+-eligible systems (~30 seconds after submission, per the City's own description);80% source
Key document
authority page cited by 9 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · authority page
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · authority page
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 88% · authority page
    • Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No — the City cannot condition its ministerial residential solar permit on HOA/architectural approval; private HOA CC&R compliance remains a separate civil matter between owner and HOA, not enforced as a permit precondition. 55% · state statute (inference)
    • Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No — no wind/windstorm certification requirement found 65% · adopting ordinance
    • Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No standalone Specific Use Permit or Council-approval process found for residential rooftop PV; Gov. Code §65850.5(e)/(g) mandates ministerial, non-discretionary, no-public-hearing review for eligible small residential solar systems. 62% · adopting ordinance + state statute
    • Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No local residential system-size cap found 65% · adopting ordinance
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • What documents make up a complete submittal? For the SolarAPP+ track: SolarAPP+ Approval Document/Number, three required contacts (applicant, contractor, property owner), general solar system details, and required attachments, all uploaded into the eLakeForest portal. If a Main Panel Upgrade is included, a separate Electrical Permit application plus the SCE 'spot sticker' is also required. 88% · authority page
    • How many copies, and in what format? Electronic upload only (PDF) via the eLakeForest portal for the SolarAPP+ track; no physical/paper copy count is specified anywhere on the City's site. 60% · authority page
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? eLakeForest (Tyler Technologies EnerGov self-service portal), paired with the NREL SolarAPP+ platform for automated review of eligible residential PV. 95% · portal landing page
    • Can the whole application be completed online? Yes, for eligible systems (SolarAPP+ + eLakeForest allows submission, approval, and payment/issuance entirely online, including MyGovPay checkout) 88% · authority page
    • What does a residential solar permit cost? $262 (SolarAPP+/expedited automated review) or $450 (all other residential systems, generally ≤15kW / ≤10kWth) 95% · fee schedule
    • How is the fee calculated? Tiered (two flat tiers keyed to the review pathway — expedited/SolarAPP+ vs. standard — rather than a per-kW or per-panel calculation) 82% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes (itemized within the total, not billed separately) 85% · fee schedule
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

    • What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Instant/same-session for SolarAPP+-eligible systems (~30 seconds after submission, per the City's own description); turnaround for the in-house plan-check track (non-eligible systems) is not stated anywhere on the City's site. 80% · authority page
    • How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days (state default, e.g. permit deemed abandoned if work not commenced/continued within that period) 62% · adopting ordinance
    • Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 92% · authority page
    • Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel / after permit for PTO — applicant can apply to SCE for interconnection alongside the City permit process, but Permission to Operate is issued by SCE only after the City has finaled the building/electrical permit (standard statewide NEM/Rule 21 sequencing). 50% · inference (statewide practice)

28 questions answered against City of Lake Forest’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building Division and SolarAPP+ pages describe the City issuing and reviewing residential PV permits directly.

authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/departments/community_development/building/solar.php

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both

Why the confidence is not higherCity Building Division issues both building and electrical permits in-house (SolarAPP+ track and standard in-house plan check). Fire-life-safety review is referred to OCFA only when a CFC threshold is triggered (battery/ESS, PV 'alternative compliance'), not for routine residential rooftop PV, per OCFA's own SFR screening form.

authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/departments/community_development/building/solar.php

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding fee schedule lists a dedicated 'Solar' fee line (residential and commercial); SolarAPP+ page describes obtaining a permit as mandatory.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Finance/Complete%20City%20Fee%20List/Adopted%20-%20Lake%20Forest%20Fee%20Schedule%20Update%20-%20Effective%20July%201%202025.pdf

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined

Why the confidence is not higherThe 'SolarAPP+ Residential Solar Permit' in eLakeForest is a single permit type covering the PV electrical scope; a separate stand-alone Electrical Permit is only required if a Main Panel Upgrade accompanies the install ('If you require a main panel upgrade... you will need to pull a separate Electrical Permit').

authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/departments/community_development/building/solar.php

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either

Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building/Electrical Permit Applications carry both an 'Owner-Builder Declaration' and a 'Licensed Contractors Declaration' section, allowing either path generally. Note: the SolarAPP+ automated track itself is contractor-only ('appropriately-licensed contractor that has previously registered with SolarAPP+'), so a homeowner using the automated track is not possible — only via in-house plan check.

permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Residential%20Post%20Entitlement%20Processing/Building%20Permits/Permit-Application-ELECTRICAL-rev-11-20.pdf

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

No

Why the confidence is not higherNo City-specific contractor registration requirement found beyond standard CSLB license-number verification on the permit application. Separately, a contractor must register with the NREL/SolarAPP+ platform itself to use that track — that is a program registration, not a City registration.

authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/departments/community_development/building/solar.php

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherOwner-Builder Declaration (citing B&P Code §7031.5) is a standard section of the City's Building and Electrical permit applications, allowing self-permit/self-install via the in-house plan-check track. Not available via the SolarAPP+ automated track, which is contractor-only.

permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Residential%20Post%20Entitlement%20Processing/Building%20Permits/Permit-Application-BUILDING-rev-11-20.pdf

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

For the SolarAPP+ track: SolarAPP+ Approval Document/Number, three required contacts (applicant, contractor, property owner), general solar system details, and required attachments, all uploaded into the eLakeForest portal. If a Main Panel Upgrade is included, a separate Electrical Permit application plus the SCE 'spot sticker' is also required.

Why the confidence is not higherDirectly described step-by-step on the City's dedicated SolarAPP+ page; the in-house (non-eligible) track's submittal package is not separately itemized on the site.

authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/departments/community_development/building/solar.php

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

Electronic upload only (PDF) via the eLakeForest portal for the SolarAPP+ track; no physical/paper copy count is specified anywhere on the City's site.

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page describes uploading approval documents into eLakeForest; no document specifies a copy count for the in-house plan-check track.

authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/departments/community_development/building/solar.php

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedCity's dedicated SolarAPP+ page (solar.php), the 'Residential Plan Check Requirements' handout (2024-RESIDENTIAL-and-ADU-Plan-Requirements.pdf, which covers new construction/ADU, not PV specifically), and the NREL SolarAPP+ eligibility checklist — none spell out required site-plan content for a rooftop PV submittal.

https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Services/Permit%20Center/Building%20Permits/2024-RESIDENTIAL-and-ADU-Plan-Requirements.pdf

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedsolar.php and the SolarAPP+ eligibility checklist — SolarAPP+ is a data-entry-based automated compliance tool rather than a document-upload one, and neither source states a separate one-line/three-line diagram file must be submitted.

https://www.lakeforestca.gov/departments/community_development/building/solar.php

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame sources as q11 — no explicit statement that string/conductor calculations must be submitted as a document (vs. entered as data into SolarAPP+).

https://www.lakeforestca.gov/departments/community_development/building/solar.php

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedOrdinance 382's Building/Residential Code amendment tables and the SolarAPP+ eligibility checklist (which gates eligibility on weight/height, not a stated PE-stamp threshold) — no explicit structural PE-stamp threshold found for Lake Forest.

https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Ord.%20382.pdf

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame review of Ordinance 382's Electrical Code amendment table — no electrical PE-stamp threshold specified.

https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Ord.%20382.pdf

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

$262 (SolarAPP+/expedited automated review) or $450 (all other residential systems, generally ≤15kW / ≤10kWth)

Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule effective July 1, 2025, line item 31 'Solar', broken into 'Residential Systems (Expedited Process)' $262 and 'Residential Systems (All Others)' $450, each split into plan-check and permit components; footnote [a] caps residential PV fees at $450 per Gov. Code §66015(a)(1).

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Finance/Complete%20City%20Fee%20List/Adopted%20-%20Lake%20Forest%20Fee%20Schedule%20Update%20-%20Effective%20July%201%202025.pdf

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Tiered (two flat tiers keyed to the review pathway — expedited/SolarAPP+ vs. standard — rather than a per-kW or per-panel calculation)

Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule shows two flat dollar figures for residential solar, not a per-kW/per-panel formula; footnote references a >15kW/10kWth threshold without publishing the resulting fee, leaving larger residential systems' exact calculation unclear.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Finance/Complete%20City%20Fee%20List/Adopted%20-%20Lake%20Forest%20Fee%20Schedule%20Update%20-%20Effective%20July%201%202025.pdf

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

Yes (itemized within the total, not billed separately)

Why the confidence is not higherThe Solar fee row is explicitly broken into 'Plan Check' and 'Permit' sub-columns that sum to the Total (e.g. $158 + $292 = $450), so a plan-check component exists but is not an additional charge on top of the quoted total.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Finance/Complete%20City%20Fee%20List/Adopted%20-%20Lake%20Forest%20Fee%20Schedule%20Update%20-%20Effective%20July%201%202025.pdf

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

Instant/same-session for SolarAPP+-eligible systems (~30 seconds after submission, per the City's own description); turnaround for the in-house plan-check track (non-eligible systems) is not stated anywhere on the City's site.

Why the confidence is not higherCity's SolarAPP+ page: 'wait for about 30 seconds as the system creates a new permit record' then instant issuance via MyGovPay checkout. No published turnaround figure exists for the non-SolarAPP+ path.

authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/departments/community_development/building/solar.php

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

180 days (state default, e.g. permit deemed abandoned if work not commenced/continued within that period)

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance No. 382 (adopting the 2025 CBC/CRC with local amendments) does not amend the Building Code permit-expiration section (105.5) anywhere in its amendment tables — only administrative sections (fees, refunds, appeals, penalties) are touched — so the unmodified state-model 180-day default is inferred to remain in force; not independently confirmed by reading CBC §105.5 itself.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Ord.%20382.pdf

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

eLakeForest (Tyler Technologies EnerGov self-service portal), paired with the NREL SolarAPP+ platform for automated review of eligible residential PV.

Why the confidence is not higherBoth named and linked directly from the City's Building Division and dedicated Solar pages.

portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://cityoflakeforestca-energovweb.tylerhost.net/apps/selfservice#/home

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Yes, for eligible systems (SolarAPP+ + eLakeForest allows submission, approval, and payment/issuance entirely online, including MyGovPay checkout)

Why the confidence is not higherCity's SolarAPP+ page walks through account creation, application, document upload, and 'Add to Cart'/'Check Out' payment entirely within eLakeForest with no in-person step described for eligible projects.

authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/departments/community_development/building/solar.php

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Southern California Edison (SCE)

Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed from the City's own SolarAPP+ page, which references the 'SCE spot sticker' required for a main panel upgrade submittal — a city-side confirmation rather than a PowerToChoose lookup.

authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/departments/community_development/building/solar.php

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

Parallel / after permit for PTO — applicant can apply to SCE for interconnection alongside the City permit process, but Permission to Operate is issued by SCE only after the City has finaled the building/electrical permit (standard statewide NEM/Rule 21 sequencing).

Why the confidence is not higherCould not confirm from SCE's own current documents — SCE's tariff/rules page (sce.com/regulatory/tariff-books/rules) redirects to a SharePoint login page rather than serving content, live SCE solar pages render only navigation to a fetch, and the most recent readable Wayback capture of Rule 21 dates to 2018. This value is inference from standard statewide CPUC Rule 21/NEM practice, not an SCE-specific citation for Lake Forest.

inference (statewide practice) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sce.com/regulatory/tariff-books/rules

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

No — the City cannot condition its ministerial residential solar permit on HOA/architectural approval; private HOA CC&R compliance remains a separate civil matter between owner and HOA, not enforced as a permit precondition.

Why the confidence is not higherNo Lake Forest document was found stating this either way; this is inference from state law (Gov. Code §65850.5's ministerial-review mandate and Civil Code §714 solar rights), not a City-specific citation. A separate City handout does note generic HOA approval 'still applies' for work generally, but that is not solar-specific.

state statute (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=65850.5&lawCode=GOV

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedCity Planning Division page, Sustainability page, and Building Division page — no historic-preservation program or historic-district overlay mentioned anywhere on the City's site; could not reach the zoning code itself to confirm a definitive absence (ecode360.com/LA4954 403s to a direct fetch even with the iccsafe.org Referer header, and the only Wayback capture of its site index rendered just the default 'A' letter, not a zoning table of contents).

https://www.lakeforestca.gov/departments/community_development/planning/index.php

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

No — no wind/windstorm certification requirement found

Why the confidence is not higherFull text of Ordinance No. 382 (52 pages, all local Building/Residential/Electrical/Fire code amendments) contains no wind or windstorm certification language; California does not use the Texas Department of Insurance-style windstorm certification framework. Positive control ('electrical', 20 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) confirm the text search was functioning.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Ord.%20382.pdf

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

No standalone Specific Use Permit or Council-approval process found for residential rooftop PV; Gov. Code §65850.5(e)/(g) mandates ministerial, non-discretionary, no-public-hearing review for eligible small residential solar systems.

Why the confidence is not higherNo SUP/Council-approval language for solar found anywhere in Ordinance 382 or the Building Division's pages; conclusion otherwise rests on the state ministerial-review mandate rather than a city document saying so explicitly.

adopting ordinance + state statute checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Ord.%20382.pdf

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

No local residential system-size cap found

Why the confidence is not higherSearched full text of Ordinance 382, the Building Fee Schedule, and the Permit Exemptions handout for a kW/panel-count cap; none exists. Positive control ('electrical', 20 hits in Ord. 382) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) confirm the search was functioning; SolarAPP+'s own eligibility limits (≤400A service, ≤225A disconnect/busbar) are program constraints for using that specific automated track, not a City-imposed generation-size cap.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Ord.%20382.pdf

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 97% · adopting ordinance
    • Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Standards Code (2025 CBC, effective statewide Jan 1, 2026), adopted with local amendments by Ordinance No. 382 (Nov 18, 2025) 97% · authority page + adopting ordinance
    • Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), based on the 2024 International Fire Code 95% · adopting ordinance
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 95% · adopting ordinance
    • What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Electrical Code (2023 NEC base) and 2025 California Residential/Building Code, each with Lake Forest's administrative-only local amendments (Ch. 8.02, 8.06, 8.14) per Ordinance 382 — no solar-specific technical local amendment exists. 88% · adopting ordinance
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    • What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Standard 2025 California Fire Code (based on 2024 IFC) rooftop PV access-pathway/setback provisions apply as adopted, unmodified by local ordinance. 75% · adopting ordinance
  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    • Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, per NEC 690.12 as adopted through the 2025 California Electrical Code (2023 NEC base); no local amendment modifies rapid shutdown. 88% · adopting ordinance
  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    • Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? No additional/local placard list published by the City beyond what the adopted 2023 NEC and 2025 CFC already require by default (e.g. NEC 690.56 rapid-shutdown label, 690.13/705.12 disconnect marking). 68% · guideline document (absence)
    • Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 75% · adopting ordinance (absence)
    • Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No 75% · adopting ordinance (absence)
    • Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? No local facility-map/site-plan placard requirement found beyond the default NEC 705.10 (multiple sources) placard, which applies as adopted without local modification. 60% · adopting ordinance (absence)
    • Where must the labels be placed? No City- or OCFA-specific placement rule found beyond the default NEC/CFC placement requirements (at the service disconnecting means / point of interconnection) as adopted without local modification. 55% · adopting ordinance (absence)
  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes — modules and inverters must be listed on the California Energy Commission (CEC) approved equipment list. 72% · program eligibility document (dated)
    • Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, subject to CFC thresholds — batteries/stationary storage exceeding CFC Article 64 (or 2007 IFC §608) chemical-quantity thresholds require OCFA plan review (fee code PR375, $963) and a separate OCFA inspection ($233); below those thresholds, no OCFA involvement is triggered. 65% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes, when CFC thresholds are triggered — OCFA charges a separate 'Battery systems INSP ONLY' fee ($233) distinct from its plan-review fee, implying a distinct inspection step; below threshold, battery/ESS inspection appears folded into the standard electrical inspection. 62% · fee schedule
    • Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes, effectively — ground-mounted PV is excluded from the SolarAPP+ automated track ('No ground mounted systems') and must go through in-house plan check, which applies standard CBC/CRC structural (footing/foundation) review to freestanding racking. 58% · program eligibility document (inference)
    • Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No local rule found 82% · adopting ordinance
    • Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? No City-specific mounting/attachment-spacing standard found; SolarAPP+'s own eligibility limits (weight ≤4 psf, height ≤10in above a pitched roof, one mounting-hardware type per project) apply only to projects using that specific NREL automated track, not as a general City requirement. 68% · adopting ordinance

20 questions answered against City of Lake Forest’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2023

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance No. 382 (adopted Nov 18, 2025): '2025 Edition [California Electrical Code]... based on the 2023 National Electrical Code as published by the National Fire Protection Association, including Article 89' — CEC Title 24 Part 3 is the 2023 NEC as amended for California.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Ord.%20382.pdf

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2025 California Building Standards Code (2025 CBC, effective statewide Jan 1, 2026), adopted with local amendments by Ordinance No. 382 (Nov 18, 2025)

Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building FAQ states this plainly and lists 2025 editions of CBC, CEC, CGBSC, CMC, CPC, CRC, and Energy Code; confirmed directly in Ordinance 382 text.

authority page + adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/departments/community_development/building/index.php

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), based on the 2024 International Fire Code

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 382, Chapter 8.24: 'the 2025 California Fire Code (California Code of Regulations, Title 24, Part 9), based on the International Fire Code, 2024 Edition... is hereby adopted.'

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Ord.%20382.pdf

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 382 amends Chapters 8.02 (Building), 8.06 (Residential), 8.08 (Plumbing), 8.14 (Electrical), 8.16 (Mechanical), 8.20 (WUI), 8.22, and 8.24 (Fire) of the Municipal Code, per its own title and amendment tables — all administrative/fee/penalty in nature, none touching solar-specific technical provisions.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Ord.%20382.pdf

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

The 2025 California Electrical Code (2023 NEC base) and 2025 California Residential/Building Code, each with Lake Forest's administrative-only local amendments (Ch. 8.02, 8.06, 8.14) per Ordinance 382 — no solar-specific technical local amendment exists.

Why the confidence is not higherDirect reading of Ordinance 382's adoption and amendment sections for CEC/CRC/CBC.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Ord.%20382.pdf

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

No local rule found

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 382's California Electrical Code local-amendment table lists only three amended/added sections — Fees (89.108.2/4), Enforcement (89.108.5), and Penalties (89.108.11) — all administrative; no service-upgrade or busbar-sizing provision is amended, so the unmodified 2023 NEC governs.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Ord.%20382.pdf

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

No City-specific mounting/attachment-spacing standard found; SolarAPP+'s own eligibility limits (weight ≤4 psf, height ≤10in above a pitched roof, one mounting-hardware type per project) apply only to projects using that specific NREL automated track, not as a general City requirement.

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 382's Building Code local-amendment table lists only administrative sections (work-exempt-from-permit, temporary occupancy, appeals, violation penalties) — nothing structural/mounting-specific.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Ord.%20382.pdf

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

Standard 2025 California Fire Code (based on 2024 IFC) rooftop PV access-pathway/setback provisions apply as adopted, unmodified by local ordinance.

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 382's Fire Code local-amendment table only touches Violation Penalties (113.4) and Infraction/Misdemeanor Classification (4.113.2) — no pathway/setback section is listed as amended or added.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Ord.%20382.pdf

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Yes, per NEC 690.12 as adopted through the 2025 California Electrical Code (2023 NEC base); no local amendment modifies rapid shutdown.

Why the confidence is not higherCEC adoption text confirms 2023 NEC base; the Electrical Code local-amendment table (Fees/Enforcement/Penalties only) contains no rapid-shutdown modification.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Ord.%20382.pdf

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No additional/local placard list published by the City beyond what the adopted 2023 NEC and 2025 CFC already require by default (e.g. NEC 690.56 rapid-shutdown label, 690.13/705.12 disconnect marking).

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 382 (52 pages, full local amendment set) has zero occurrences of 'solar'/'photovoltaic'; OCFA — the fire authority for Lake Forest — has no PV/ESS-specific lettered guideline (checked E-01 Architectural Review and A-02 Submittal Requirements, zero hits) and its SFR screening form does not reference PV at all. Positive control ('fire', 71/11 hits respectively) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) confirm the search worked in both OCFA documents.

guideline document (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://storageocfaprod001.blob.core.windows.net/blobocfaprod01/2025/12/E-01-Architectural-Review-2025.pdf

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No

Why the confidence is not higherSame absence evidence as q38 — no solar-specific wording found in Ordinance 382 or in OCFA's guidelines/screening form, verified with positive/fabricated controls.

adopting ordinance (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Ord.%20382.pdf

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No

Why the confidence is not higherSame absence evidence as q38/q39 — no letter-height, colour, or material specification found anywhere solar is mentioned in the City's or OCFA's own documents.

adopting ordinance (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Ord.%20382.pdf

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No local facility-map/site-plan placard requirement found beyond the default NEC 705.10 (multiple sources) placard, which applies as adopted without local modification.

Why the confidence is not higherNo Lake Forest or OCFA document adds to or modifies NEC 705.10; absence confirmed the same way as q38.

adopting ordinance (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Ord.%20382.pdf

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSCE's own tariff/Rule 21 and interconnection-handbook pages. sce.com/regulatory/tariff-books/rules 301-redirects to an Edison-internal SharePoint login; live SCE solar/DG pages (clean-energy-efficiency/solar-generation-storage, business/smart-energy-solar) render only navigation with no interconnection detail to both curl and WebFetch; Wayback's most recent readable capture of the SCE Rule 21 PDF is from 2018 (stale), and CDX searches for a current 'Interconnection Handbook' returned no captures.

https://www.sce.com/regulatory/tariff-books/rules

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No City- or OCFA-specific placement rule found beyond the default NEC/CFC placement requirements (at the service disconnecting means / point of interconnection) as adopted without local modification.

Why the confidence is not higherSame absence evidence as q38; SCE's own DG manual (which could add utility-side placement rules) was unreachable — see q42/q48.

adopting ordinance (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Community%20Development/Building/Ord.%20382.pdf

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Yes — modules and inverters must be listed on the California Energy Commission (CEC) approved equipment list.

Why the confidence is not higherStated explicitly in NREL's own 'SolarAPP PV Eligibility' checklist referenced from the City's solar page ('Modules and Inverters must be listed on CEC'); this is a stable, well-known statewide NEM requirement, though the specific document I could retrieve is dated 2021 (older than Lake Forest's current 2025-code cycle) — retrieved via Wayback since solarapp.nrel.gov no longer resolves.

program eligibility document (dated) checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20240616212242/https://solarapp.nrel.gov/docs/SolarAPP-PV-Eligibility.pdf

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Yes, subject to CFC thresholds — batteries/stationary storage exceeding CFC Article 64 (or 2007 IFC §608) chemical-quantity thresholds require OCFA plan review (fee code PR375, $963) and a separate OCFA inspection ($233); below those thresholds, no OCFA involvement is triggered.

Why the confidence is not higherSourced from OCFA's own current (Sept 2025-effective) PD Fee Schedule, which lists 'Battery Systems, stationary storage and cell sites (chemical quantities require application of CFC Art 64 or 2007 IFC Section 608)' as a distinct line item; positive control ('fire', 54 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) confirm the document search was functioning. No Lake Forest-specific residential battery ordinance was found.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://storageocfaprod001.blob.core.windows.net/blobocfaprod01/2025/06/PD-Fee-Schedule-2026.pdf

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

Yes, when CFC thresholds are triggered — OCFA charges a separate 'Battery systems INSP ONLY' fee ($233) distinct from its plan-review fee, implying a distinct inspection step; below threshold, battery/ESS inspection appears folded into the standard electrical inspection.

Why the confidence is not higherSame OCFA fee schedule as q45; no Lake Forest-specific document addresses ESS inspection procedure directly.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://storageocfaprod001.blob.core.windows.net/blobocfaprod01/2025/06/PD-Fee-Schedule-2026.pdf

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Yes, effectively — ground-mounted PV is excluded from the SolarAPP+ automated track ('No ground mounted systems') and must go through in-house plan check, which applies standard CBC/CRC structural (footing/foundation) review to freestanding racking.

Why the confidence is not higherInference from NREL's SolarAPP+ eligibility exclusion plus general CBC/CRC treatment of freestanding structures; no Lake Forest zoning-code text on ground-mount setbacks could be retrieved (ecode360 is Cloudflare-blocked and Wayback only cached the default 'A' letter of its index, not a zoning chapter).

program eligibility document (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20240616212242/https://solarapp.nrel.gov/docs/SolarAPP-PV-Eligibility.pdf

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame SCE sources as q42 — no reachable current SCE document states AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter.

https://www.sce.com/regulatory/tariff-books/rules

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How is an inspection booked? Portal (eLakeForest/Tyler EnerGov self-service) or Phone (automated IVR line, (888) 890-6298) 95% · department handout
    • How much notice is required? By 3:00 p.m. the prior business day for next-day inspection (i.e., 1 business day notice; requests after 3:00 p.m. roll to the next available business day) 90% · department handout
    • Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? No same-day inspections (next business day is the earliest booking window); inspections are conducted in two fixed daily blocks, 8:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m.–3:30 p.m., but the handout does not describe an option to choose AM vs. PM when booking. 78% · department handout
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

    • Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes, for the building/electrical scope 85% · department handout
    • If delegated, to whom? Not delegated for routine residential rooftop PV; delegated to Orange County Fire Authority (OCFA) only for the fire-code-triggered pieces (battery/ESS above CFC thresholds, PV requiring 'alternative compliance'). 78% · fee schedule
  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    • Which inspections are required, and in what order? For SolarAPP+-track residential PV, a single required inspection type is specified: 'SolarAPP+ (IVR Code 188)'. 85% · authority page
    • Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No — only a single final 'SolarAPP+' inspection is referenced for the automated track; no rough-in/mid-roof inspection is mentioned. 70% · authority page
  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

    • Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes — SolarAPP+ generates a project-specific 'Inspection Checklist' as part of its approval package. 82% · authority page
    • What must be on site at inspection? The job card ('Yellow Card'), the issued permit, and a complete set of approved plans must be on site; missing approved plans results in a 'Not Ready' inspection. 90% · department handout
  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

    • What is issued on pass? Final (permit finalized in the eLakeForest record) 62% · department handout (inference)
    • Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer (submits interconnection/completion paperwork to SCE after the City finals the permit, triggering SCE's Permission to Operate) 50% · inference (statewide practice)
    • Is there a re-inspection fee? $149.00 92% · fee schedule
    • How are corrections issued and cleared? Documented only for plan revisions, not field corrections: submit two sets of revised sheets with clouded changes plus a narrative, along with a completed revision application, at the Building Counter (limited weekday hours). SolarAPP+ revisions go back through the SolarAPP+ website first, then the revised approval/checklist is uploaded to eLakeForest. 60% · department handout

14 questions answered against City of Lake Forest’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Portal (eLakeForest/Tyler EnerGov self-service) or Phone (automated IVR line, (888) 890-6298)

Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated in the City's 'Building Inspection Requirements & Scheduling Guide' handout.

department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Permits%20and%20Inspections%20handout%202025.pdf

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

By 3:00 p.m. the prior business day for next-day inspection (i.e., 1 business day notice; requests after 3:00 p.m. roll to the next available business day)

Why the confidence is not higherStated plainly in the scheduling guide.

department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Permits%20and%20Inspections%20handout%202025.pdf

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

No same-day inspections (next business day is the earliest booking window); inspections are conducted in two fixed daily blocks, 8:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m.–3:30 p.m., but the handout does not describe an option to choose AM vs. PM when booking.

Why the confidence is not higherHandout gives the two inspection windows and the booking cutoff but does not describe a selectable AM/PM preference in the portal.

department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Permits%20and%20Inspections%20handout%202025.pdf

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes, for the building/electrical scope

Why the confidence is not higherCity Building Division performs its own inspections (contact inspectors named directly in the handout); OCFA does not perform a final inspection for routine single-family PV retrofits — its own SFR screening form has no PV trigger question — but is delegated the fire-code-triggered pieces (battery/ESS, alternative-compliance PV) per its fee schedule.

department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Permits%20and%20Inspections%20handout%202025.pdf

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

Not delegated for routine residential rooftop PV; delegated to Orange County Fire Authority (OCFA) only for the fire-code-triggered pieces (battery/ESS above CFC thresholds, PV requiring 'alternative compliance').

Why the confidence is not higherConsistent with OCFA's own fee schedule (PR362/PR375 series) and its SFR screening form's silence on ordinary PV.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://storageocfaprod001.blob.core.windows.net/blobocfaprod01/2025/06/PD-Fee-Schedule-2026.pdf

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

For SolarAPP+-track residential PV, a single required inspection type is specified: 'SolarAPP+ (IVR Code 188)'.

Why the confidence is not higherStated directly on the City's SolarAPP+ page ('The required inspection type for this permit is SolarAPP+ (IVR Code 188)'); the in-house track's inspection sequence is not separately published.

authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/departments/community_development/building/solar.php

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

No — only a single final 'SolarAPP+' inspection is referenced for the automated track; no rough-in/mid-roof inspection is mentioned.

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the single inspection type named on the SolarAPP+ page; not explicitly ruled out for the in-house plan-check track for larger/ineligible systems.

authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/departments/community_development/building/solar.php

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ help-center articles on inspection prep (help.solar-app.org/help.gosolarapp.org, article 91) — the accessible article only says the checklist helps a contractor 'walk through the installation' without listing specific verification items; the referenced companion article ('What's on the SolarAPP+ inspection checklist?') 404s, and no Lake Forest-specific inspection checklist document was found.

https://help.gosolarapp.org/article/91-how-do-i-prepare-for-an-inspection

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

Yes — SolarAPP+ generates a project-specific 'Inspection Checklist' as part of its approval package.

Why the confidence is not higherCity's SolarAPP+ page references uploading 'the revised SolarAPP+ "Inspection Checklist"' during the revisions workflow, confirming such a checklist exists and is produced per-project.

authority page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/departments/community_development/building/solar.php

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

The job card ('Yellow Card'), the issued permit, and a complete set of approved plans must be on site; missing approved plans results in a 'Not Ready' inspection.

Why the confidence is not higherStated directly and specifically in the City's inspection scheduling handout.

department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Permits%20and%20Inspections%20handout%202025.pdf

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

$149.00

Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule item 36(c): 'Re-Inspection, Missed Inspection (each) $149.00', applying at the 2nd re-inspection (i.e. the 3rd inspection attempt) per footnote [c].

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Documents/Departments/Finance/Complete%20City%20Fee%20List/Adopted%20-%20Lake%20Forest%20Fee%20Schedule%20Update%20-%20Effective%20July%201%202025.pdf

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

Documented only for plan revisions, not field corrections: submit two sets of revised sheets with clouded changes plus a narrative, along with a completed revision application, at the Building Counter (limited weekday hours). SolarAPP+ revisions go back through the SolarAPP+ website first, then the revised approval/checklist is uploaded to eLakeForest.

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's inspection handout addresses the plan-revision process, not how field corrections noted at an inspection are issued/cleared — that specific mechanism was not found published anywhere on the City's site.

department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Permits%20and%20Inspections%20handout%202025.pdf

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Final (permit finalized in the eLakeForest record)

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the handout's own framing ('go through the inspection process and complete the permit finalization') and standard California building-department practice; no document explicitly names a physical 'green tag' or 'CO' for a solar-only permit.

department handout (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.lakeforestca.gov/Permits%20and%20Inspections%20handout%202025.pdf

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Installer (submits interconnection/completion paperwork to SCE after the City finals the permit, triggering SCE's Permission to Operate)

Why the confidence is not higherCould not confirm from an SCE-specific document — SCE's tariff/Rule 21 pages were unreachable (see q23/q42/q48). This is inference from standard statewide CPUC Rule 21/NEM practice applied to every California IOU, not a Lake Forest- or SCE-specific citation.

inference (statewide practice) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sce.com/regulatory/tariff-books/rules

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Lake Forest against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Lake Forest is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
Holds
building and electrical
Overridden by
Orange County Fire Authority (OCFA) reviews/inspects only when CFC thresholds are triggered (e.g. stationary battery/ESS systems, PV requiring 'alternative compliance'); OCFA's own single-family screening form does not flag routine rooftop PV, so most residential PV never reaches OCFA. SCE governs interconnection/PTO in parallel. State law (Gov. Code §65850.5; AB 130, Stats. 2025 Ch. 22) caps what the City may add on top of state-mandated ministerial review for eligible small residential systems.
Why not higher
City's Building Division page and SolarAPP+ program page state the City issues and inspects building & electrical permits directly (Building & Safety Services staff, (949) 461-3470). Lake Forest is confirmed by name on OCFA's own member-cities listing. OCFA's SFR Plan Screening Form (updated 1/1/2026) has no PV/solar trigger question, and OCFA's PD fee schedule and its E-01/A-02 guidelines list PV and battery systems only as fee line items keyed to Building-Official referral or CFC threshold, with zero 'solar' or 'photovoltaic' hits elsewhere in those guideline documents (positive control 'fire' hit dozens of times in each doc; fabricated control 'zzqqx' hit zero times in each, confirming the search was working) — this reproduces the brief's lead precisely.

https://www.lakeforestca.gov/departments/community_development/building/index.php

Permit required
Yes95%
Permit cost
$262 (SolarAPP+/expedited automated review) or $450 (all other residential systems, generally ≤15kW / ≤10kWth)95%
Plan review
Instant/same-session for SolarAPP+-eligible systems (~30 seconds after submission, per the City's own description);80%
Portal
eLakeForest (Tyler Technologies EnerGov self-service portal), paired with the NREL SolarAPP+ platform for automated review of eligible residential PV.95%
Electrical code
202397%
Own placard wording
No75%
Booking an inspection
Portal (eLakeForest/Tyler EnerGov self-service) or Phone (automated IVR line, (888) 890-6298)95%
Labels & placards for this authority

Wording 75%

No

Size, colour & material 75%

No

Where they go 55%

No City- or OCFA-specific placement rule found beyond the default NEC/CFC placement requirements (at the service disconnecting means / point of interconnection) as adopted without local modification.

What the utility wants on top None%

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Orange County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of Lake Forest · city
Solar Requirements
Code cycle
2025 edition
Authority Contact
Address
100 Civic Center Dr., Lake Forest, CA 92630
Main Phone
(949) 461-3470
Building Department
Department
Building Division (Community Development)
Direct Phone
(949) 461-3470
Portal Software
EnerGov (Tyler)
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
online_portal
Notes
City uses EnerGov (Tyler Technologies) self-service portal branded as eLakeForest for permit applications and inspection scheduling. Inspections can also be scheduled by phone via automated IVR at (888) 890-6298 using codes provided with the permit. City participates in SolarApp+ (NREL) for automated solar plan review on residential roof-mounted PV systems — licensed contractors can get instant approvals. Building counter hours: Mon/Tue/Thu 8am-11am & 1pm-5pm, Wed 8am-11am only, Fri 8am-11am & 1pm-4pm. Building Official: Yasaman Houshyar at (949) 461-3464. Email portal notifications sent from bsa@cityoflakeforestca.com.