City of Lakeport
Lake County
City of Lakeport is a city authority in the State of California, serving 5,026 residents. 938 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — OpenGov Permitting & Licensing portal at lakeportca.portal.opengov.com Q20
- Permit required
- Yes92% source
- Key document
- municipal code (absence, cross-referenced to state law) cited by 7 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · municipal code
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 80% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 92% · published handout
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 62% · published handout
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 58% · municipal code (absence, cross-referenced to state law)
- Is there a historic-district review? No 72% · municipal code (control-proven absence)
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No separate windstorm certification; wind is a design parameter only — 85 MPH basic wind speed 'per the 2019 CBC Edition' per the city's Design Criteria handout 50% · department handout (stale — cites 2019 code cycle)
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No citywide cap on residential solar system size; the 10kW AC / 30kW thermal figure is only the eligibility ceiling for the EXPEDITED review pathway, not a prohibition on larger residential systems (which route to standard plan review instead) 80% · municipal code
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 50% · department page (inference)
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 55% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 55% · inference (no direct city document found)
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? No solar-specific checklist is published. The city's general Residential Plan Checklist (which does not mention solar/PV anywhere — 0 hits, control-checked against 1 hit for 'electrical') requires a minimum of 2 sets of drawings: cover sheet, site plan, floor plan, foundation plan, exterior elevations, framing plans, wall bracing/shear wall plans, cross sections, details, and calculations per ASCE 7-10. 55% · published checklist (general, not solar-specific)
- How many copies, and in what format? For over-the-counter-eligible projects (which explicitly includes 'Solar PV systems'): 2 sets of plans (24"x36") + 2 reduced sets (11"x17") + 2 sets of engineering when applicable, plus the permit application form. 70% · department page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — a site plan is required generally (property boundaries/outlines of existing and proposed structures, north arrow, scale and dimensions, APN, adjoining street/alley names, contact information); no solar-specific site-plan content (e.g., panel/equipment locations) is named in any Lakeport document. 55% · department page
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Not stated by name in any Lakeport document, but implied — the Plan Review page requires 'Electrical... plans' as part of construction drawings, and a one-line diagram is a universal element of such plans for a PV interconnection. 45% · department page (inference)
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Not required for small residential rooftop solar (≤10kW AC/30kW thermal) eligible for the expedited pathway — LMC 15.24.040(A)(1) requires only that the applicant 'verify to the applicant's reasonable satisfaction through the use of standard engineering evaluation techniques that the support structure... is stable and adequate,' a self-verification, not a submitted PE stamp. For standard-track (non-expedited/larger) projects, the general Plan Review page says calculations must be 'wet-stamped when necessary' without naming a specific valuation or size threshold. 75% · municipal code
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Not required for small residential rooftop solar eligible for the expedited pathway — LMC 15.24.040(A)(2) requires only that the applicant 'verify to the applicant's reasonable satisfaction using standard electrical inspection techniques that the existing electrical system... [is] adequately sized,' a self-verification rather than a submitted electrical PE stamp. No threshold for a mandatory electrical PE stamp on larger systems was found. 72% · municipal code
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? OpenGov Permitting & Licensing portal at lakeportca.portal.opengov.com 78% · department page
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes, on the fire side — the independent Lakeport Fire Protection District charges a separate $90 residential (or $180 commercial) solar plan-review fee, distinct from and in addition to whatever the city Building Division charges. Whether the city Building Division itself separates its plan-check fee from its permit fee could not be determined (see q15/q16). 60% · special district's own published fee page
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days from issuance (unamended CBC §105.5 default) 60% · municipal code (unamended default, inferred)
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) 68% · published handout naming the utility
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel 80% · published handout + municipal code
28 questions answered against City of Lakeport’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.04.010 (2025 CBSC adoption) and LMC Ch. 15.24 (small residential rooftop solar review process) both show the city's own Building Division issues and reviews solar permits within city limits.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own Building Division issues a single Building Permit covering both building and electrical work for residential solar (no separate city electrical-only permit track was found for solar) — but Fire review/inspection is NOT performed by the city; it sits with the separate Lakeport Fire Protection District (see jurisdiction.why). 'Both' describes what the city itself does; it is not the whole permitting picture for a solar job.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/index.php
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherLMC Ch. 15.24 governs permitting of 'small residential rooftop solar energy systems,' and the city's own B-49 'Solar Permit Information' handout describes a mandatory Building Division permit-and-inspection process for any residential solar PV installation.
published handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoflakeport.com/B-49%202018%20Solar%20Permit%20Information.pdf
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherB-49 describes a single 'permit application... reviewed by Building Division,' with no separate electrical permit for solar mentioned anywhere on the city's site; the over-the-counter review page lists 'Solar PV systems' as its own eligible category distinct from 'Electrical work (adding/relocating).' No city document states explicitly whether the fee/paperwork is literally one combined permit versus two issued together, so this is an inference from the single-application description.
published handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoflakeport.com/B-49%202018%20Solar%20Permit%20Information.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherNo Lakeport document restricts solar electrical work to a licensed C-10/electrician only; the Contractor Guide discusses licensed contractors generally (CSLB verification, bonding) without excluding owner-performed work. This is inference from the absence of a restriction plus general California practice (B&P Code §7044 owner-builder right), not a city document that states the rule outright.
department page (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/contractor_guide.php
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Business License page states 'The City of Lakeport requires every business operating within the City limits to obtain a business license' — a general city ordinance, not a solar-specific contractor registry, and I did not confirm it is checked as a gate at building-permit intake.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/business_licenses/index.php
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherNo Lakeport document specifically confirms an owner-builder path for solar; this is inference from California's general owner-builder exemption (B&P Code §7044) and the absence of any contrary restriction in LMC Ch. 15.24 or the Contractor Guide. No city-specific owner-builder handout was found on the site (searched Building Resource Library, handouts page, contractor guide).
inference (no direct city document found) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/contractor_guide.php
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
No solar-specific checklist is published. The city's general Residential Plan Checklist (which does not mention solar/PV anywhere — 0 hits, control-checked against 1 hit for 'electrical') requires a minimum of 2 sets of drawings: cover sheet, site plan, floor plan, foundation plan, exterior elevations, framing plans, wall bracing/shear wall plans, cross sections, details, and calculations per ASCE 7-10.
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.24.030(A) obligates the building department to 'develop... the adoption of a checklist of all requirements for which a small residential solar energy system may be eligible for expedited review' and to publish it on the city's website — but no such solar-specific checklist could be found anywhere on the current site (Building Resource Library, Handouts/Forms/Applications, Residential/Non-Residential Plan Checklist pages all checked). The generic residential checklist is the closest published document, but it is not solar-tailored.
published checklist (general, not solar-specific) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/residential_plan_checklist.php
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
For over-the-counter-eligible projects (which explicitly includes 'Solar PV systems'): 2 sets of plans (24"x36") + 2 reduced sets (11"x17") + 2 sets of engineering when applicable, plus the permit application form.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the Over-the-Counter Plan Review page's submittal requirements list, which names Solar PV systems as one of the eligible residential project types using this exact submittal package.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/over_the_counter_review.php
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — a site plan is required generally (property boundaries/outlines of existing and proposed structures, north arrow, scale and dimensions, APN, adjoining street/alley names, contact information); no solar-specific site-plan content (e.g., panel/equipment locations) is named in any Lakeport document.
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral Plan Review page's site-plan requirements; not tailored to solar because no solar-specific checklist exists (see q8).
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/plan_review.php
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Not stated by name in any Lakeport document, but implied — the Plan Review page requires 'Electrical... plans' as part of construction drawings, and a one-line diagram is a universal element of such plans for a PV interconnection.
Why the confidence is not higherSearched all fetched building-division pages and the full text of Title 15 for 'one-line'/'single-line' — zero hits (control: 'electrical' returns 10 hits in Title 15 alone). The city's own documents never name a one-line diagram requirement explicitly; this value is an inference from general 'electrical plans' language, not a direct citation.
department page (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/plan_review.php
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull text of Title 15 (all chapters) and the Plan Review / Residential Plan Checklist / Over-the-Counter Review pages — no mention of string sizing, conductor sizing, or voltage-drop calculations anywhere; the only calculation requirement named is generic structural calcs 'per ASCE 7-10' on the residential checklist.
https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/residential_plan_checklist.php
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Not required for small residential rooftop solar (≤10kW AC/30kW thermal) eligible for the expedited pathway — LMC 15.24.040(A)(1) requires only that the applicant 'verify to the applicant's reasonable satisfaction through the use of standard engineering evaluation techniques that the support structure... is stable and adequate,' a self-verification, not a submitted PE stamp. For standard-track (non-expedited/larger) projects, the general Plan Review page says calculations must be 'wet-stamped when necessary' without naming a specific valuation or size threshold.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect citation of LMC 15.24.040(A)(1) for the expedited/small-system path; the 'wet-stamped when necessary' phrase for the standard-track path is from the Plan Review page and does not itself define 'necessary.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Not required for small residential rooftop solar eligible for the expedited pathway — LMC 15.24.040(A)(2) requires only that the applicant 'verify to the applicant's reasonable satisfaction using standard electrical inspection techniques that the existing electrical system... [is] adequately sized,' a self-verification rather than a submitted electrical PE stamp. No threshold for a mandatory electrical PE stamp on larger systems was found.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect citation of LMC 15.24.040(A)(2).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Fees page (fees.php — describes only that fees vary by valuation, no figures), Other Fees/Penalty Fees page (penalty_fees.php — links only to an unrelated scanned 'other fees1.jpg' that itself 404s at every URL form tried), the Building Resource Library, the Handouts/Forms/Applications page (found only a Planning-fee schedule and a 2018 pro-rated business-license fee sheet, neither of which is the building/solar permit fee), and LMC 15.04.020 itself, which states building permit and plan-check fees are set 'in accordance with a building permit fee resolution adopted by the city council' — that resolution document could not be located on the city's website, in its Document Center, or via its Laserfiche public-records portal (JavaScript-only, not renderable with available tools).
https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/fees.php
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as q15 — without the underlying fee resolution, the calculation method (flat/valuation/per-kW/tiered) for the city's own building-side solar fee could not be determined; the Fee page's own text ('fees based on type of construction and the construction valuation') suggests Valuation-based, but this is not confirmed for solar specifically.
https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/fees.php
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes, on the fire side — the independent Lakeport Fire Protection District charges a separate $90 residential (or $180 commercial) solar plan-review fee, distinct from and in addition to whatever the city Building Division charges. Whether the city Building Division itself separates its plan-check fee from its permit fee could not be determined (see q15/q16).
Why the confidence is not higherDistrict's own 'Submit Plans' page states plainly: 'Residential solar plan approval fees are $90... Commercial solar plan approval fees are $180,' as a fee distinct from its inspection/mitigation fees. The city's own building-fee resolution (which LMC 15.04.020 says governs city building/plan-check fees) could not be located online (see q15).
special district's own published fee page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lakeportfire.com/how-do-i/submit-building-plans
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedLMC 15.24.030(A)-(D) and 15.24.040 — the ordinance requires an 'expedited, streamlined' process and a written correction notice for incomplete applications, but never states a specific number of business days for either initial review or issuance; no SolarAPP+, Symbium, or other automated same-day permitting tool was found referenced anywhere on the city's site (contrast with several other CA cities' explicit '1 business day' or 'same day' language).
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days from issuance (unamended CBC §105.5 default)
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.04.010 adopts the 2025 CBSC by reference with no amendment to the standard permit-expiration section found anywhere in Title 15 (searched for 'expir' across the full extracted text of Title 15 — the only hit found was unrelated, about a hazardous-building notification period). No solar-specific override exists.
municipal code (unamended default, inferred) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
OpenGov Permitting & Licensing portal at lakeportca.portal.opengov.com
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own Building Permit Fees page states: 'New permit submission portal: lakeportca.portal.opengov.com.' Confirmed the portal is live (HTTP 200, OpenGov Angular shell) but could not verify its full functionality for solar specifically without a rendered-browser session.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/fees.php
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe city's OpenGov Permitting & Licensing portal (lakeportca.portal.opengov.com) returns only its Angular JS shell to a plain fetch/curl (per known OpenGov behavior); could not confirm whether a residential solar application can be completed start-to-finish online without a rendered-browser session, which was not available this run.
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own B-49 Solar Permit Information handout explicitly names PG&E throughout ('contact PG&E to request permission to connect...', 'PG&E for incentives available for new solar systems under the California Solar Initiative'). Corroborated by elimination: the city's Utilities page shows Lakeport operates only water and sewer, no municipal electric utility, and Lake County has no other municipal electric provider. I did not independently pull PG&E's own service-territory map this run.
published handout naming the utility checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoflakeport.com/B-49%202018%20Solar%20Permit%20Information.pdf
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel
Why the confidence is not higherB-49: 'The solar system cannot be "turned on" until approval is granted by both the Building Division and PG&E... This interconnection approval must be granted before a solar PV installation is allowed to operate and is completely separate from the Building Division approval.' LMC 15.24.040(D) echoes this: city approval 'does not authorize an applicant to connect... to the local utility provider's electricity grid.' Both processes run independently rather than one strictly gating submission of the other.
published handout + municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoflakeport.com/B-49%202018%20Solar%20Permit%20Information.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo Lakeport document (LMC Ch. 15.24, the general Building Permit process pages, or the B-49 handout) requires HOA/architectural-committee sign-off as a city permit prerequisite for solar. Ch. 15.24.020's definition of 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' cross-references Civil Code §714(c)(3) — the state Solar Rights Act's restriction on unreasonable HOA aesthetic conditions — consistent with the city not layering its own HOA-approval gate on top.
municipal code (absence, cross-referenced to state law) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherLMC Ch. 15.24 (the city's small residential rooftop solar chapter) contains no historic-district or architectural-review clause — unlike some neighboring California cities' equivalent chapters that explicitly carve one out. Full text of Ch. 15.24 was read directly and control-checked (0 hits for 'historic' in Title 15 generally as well).
municipal code (control-proven absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No separate windstorm certification; wind is a design parameter only — 85 MPH basic wind speed 'per the 2019 CBC Edition' per the city's Design Criteria handout
Why the confidence is not higherI-05 Design Criteria handout gives 85 MPH and wind-exposure-category rules, but the handout's own header still reads '2019 California Building Code' though the city's currently adopted code (LMC 15.04.010, Ord. 957, 12/16/2025) is the 2025 CBSC — the handout is stale by at least two code cycles. California does not run a TDI-style windstorm certification program.
department handout (stale — cites 2019 code cycle) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoflakeport.com/I-05%20Design%20Criteria.pdf
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedLMC Ch. 15.24 (no use-permit or council-approval trigger for eligible small systems); full text of Title 17 (Land Use, Zoning and Signs) searched for 'solar' — only 2 hits, both in a generic accessory-use list, neither imposing a Special Use Permit or Council approval step.
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No citywide cap on residential solar system size; the 10kW AC / 30kW thermal figure is only the eligibility ceiling for the EXPEDITED review pathway, not a prohibition on larger residential systems (which route to standard plan review instead)
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.24.020 defines 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' at that size specifically 'for purposes of this chapter' (the expedited process); nothing in Title 15 or Title 17 caps residential solar system size outright.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 80% · municipal code (code-adoption chapter)
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (Part 2 of the 2025 CBSC) 92% · municipal code (code-adoption chapter)
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (Part 9 of the 2025 CBSC) 88% · municipal code (code-adoption chapter)
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 85% · municipal code
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building Standards Code (CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC/CALGreen/Energy Code parts) as adopted by LMC 15.04.010, unamended for solar specifically 85% · municipal code
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? No local ridge-setback or fire-pathway ordinance for solar; governed entirely by the state-adopted 2025 California Fire Code (Chapter 12 / §1205 series) by reference, with no city-specific dimensions found 62% · municipal code (control-proven absence)
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
Nothing recorded for City of Lakeport on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 75% · municipal code (control-proven absence)
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No 75% · municipal code (control-proven absence)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Not separately addressed by the city — batteries/ESS are governed entirely by the state-adopted 2025 CFC/CEC by reference; no local ordinance provision specific to batteries or energy storage was found 68% · municipal code (control-proven absence)
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No — no separate ESS permit or inspection is codified 60% · municipal code (control-proven absence)
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Likely yes (inferred) — Title 17's list of typical accessory structures/uses groups 'solar panels' alongside private garages, playhouses, gazebos and similar structures, suggesting a ground-mount array is treated as an accessory structure subject to setback/zoning rules, though no dedicated 'ground mount' provision was found 50% · municipal code (inference)
20 questions answered against City of Lakeport’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.04.010 adopts 'Part 3 – California Electrical Code (CEC)' of the 2025 California Building Standards Code. The 2025 CEC is based on the 2023 NEC statewide (California Building Standards Commission's 2025 code cycle) — Lakeport's own document names the CEC edition but does not itself spell out the underlying NEC year.
municipal code (code-adoption chapter) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (Part 2 of the 2025 CBSC)
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.04.010, most recently amended by Ord. 957 (12/16/2025); eCode360 states the code is 'current through legislation 02-17-2026.'
municipal code (code-adoption chapter) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (Part 9 of the 2025 CBSC)
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.04.010 lists 'Part 9 – California Fire Code (CFC)' among the parts adopted by the same Ord. 957 (12/16/2025). Note the CFC is adopted BY THE CITY in its own code, even though fire plan review/inspection is performed by the separate Lakeport Fire Protection District — see jurisdiction.why.
municipal code (code-adoption chapter) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherLMC Ch. 8.32 ('Fire Prevention Systems') locally amends water-supply/fire-flow, sprinkler and alarm requirements beyond the bare adopted code (e.g., §8.32.100 mandates PVC/CPVC residential sprinkler piping per NFPA 13D); LMC Ch. 15.06 adds the Cal OES safety-assessment placard system; LMC Ch. 15.24 is itself a local ordinance implementing the state-mandated expedited solar process. None of these are solar-specific technical amendments (no ridge-setback/rapid-shutdown language), but they are genuine local amendments to the adopted code suite.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47775237
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Building Standards Code (CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC/CALGreen/Energy Code parts) as adopted by LMC 15.04.010, unamended for solar specifically
Why the confidence is not higherDirect citation of LMC 15.04.010.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedLMC 15.04.010 (CBSC/CEC adoption chapter) — no amendment addressing service-panel upgrade sizing or busbar rules found; only a generic reference in the fee-schedule gap already noted at q15.
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedLMC Ch. 15.24 full text, the general Residential Plan Checklist, and B-49 — none specify a mounting-system type or attachment-spacing requirement; this is left to the manufacturer's engineering per the adopted CBC/CRC.
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
No local ridge-setback or fire-pathway ordinance for solar; governed entirely by the state-adopted 2025 California Fire Code (Chapter 12 / §1205 series) by reference, with no city-specific dimensions found
Why the confidence is not higherSearched the full extracted text of Title 15 (all chapters) for 'ridge,' 'setback,' and 'pathway' in a solar context — the only hits found were unrelated (floodplain/obstruction definitions), and Title 8's fire chapters (8.12, 8.32) contain no PV-specific pathway or setback rule either. Control-checked: 'electrical' returns 10 hits in the same corpus, so the search itself is working.
municipal code (control-proven absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull text of Title 15 and B-49 (the city's only solar-specific handout, an educational 2018 Title-24 overview) searched for 'rapid shutdown' and '690.12' — zero hits in either. Rapid shutdown applies to Lakeport installations only because the 2025 CEC (based on the 2023 NEC, which contains §690.12) is adopted wholesale by LMC 15.04.010 — the city has never restated the requirement in its own words.
https://www.cityoflakeport.com/B-49%202018%20Solar%20Permit%20Information.pdf
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull text of Title 15 (13 'placard' hits, all in the unrelated Ch. 15.06 Cal OES post-disaster tag system) and every fetched building-division page/handout — no service-equipment placard requirement of the AHJ's own is stated; this likely defers entirely to the state-adopted 2025 CFC/CEC by reference.
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo placard wording of any kind appears in LMC Ch. 15.24, Title 15 generally, or any fetched building-division page/handout (B-49, B-35R, I-05). Control-checked: searched Title 15 full text for 'placard' (13 hits, all in the unrelated Ch. 15.06 Cal OES post-disaster safety-assessment tags, not solar) and 'label' (0 hits).
municipal code (control-proven absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame search as q39 — no letter-height, colour, or material specification for solar signage found in any Lakeport-authored document.
municipal code (control-proven absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedResidential Plan Checklist and Plan Review pages (site-plan requirements listed do not include a dedicated facility-map/705.10 placard requirement); B-49 handout is purely educational and does not address it.
https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/plan_review.php
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDid not fetch PG&E's own Rule 21/DG interconnection handbook (Greenbook) this run — this is a utility-level document outside what the city or the Lakeport Fire Protection District themselves publish.
https://www.cityoflakeport.com/B-49%202018%20Solar%20Permit%20Information.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as q38/q41 — no city-specified label-placement rule found in any Lakeport document.
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull text of LMC Ch. 15.24 read directly — unlike some comparable cities' small-residential-solar chapters, Lakeport's contains no clause requiring equipment to be UL-listed or on an approved list (0 hits for 'listed'/'UL'/'Underwriters' in the chapter); this is a genuine local gap relative to the state-adopted CEC's own listing requirements (which apply by reference, not by local restatement).
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Not separately addressed by the city — batteries/ESS are governed entirely by the state-adopted 2025 CFC/CEC by reference; no local ordinance provision specific to batteries or energy storage was found
Why the confidence is not higherSearched the full extracted text of Title 15 (all chapters, ~127,000 characters) for 'battery' and 'energy storage' — zero hits for either, control-checked against 10 hits for 'electrical' in the same corpus.
municipal code (control-proven absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No — no separate ESS permit or inspection is codified
Why the confidence is not higherSame search as q45; no ESS-specific permit or inspection chapter exists in Title 15.
municipal code (control-proven absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Likely yes (inferred) — Title 17's list of typical accessory structures/uses groups 'solar panels' alongside private garages, playhouses, gazebos and similar structures, suggesting a ground-mount array is treated as an accessory structure subject to setback/zoning rules, though no dedicated 'ground mount' provision was found
Why the confidence is not higherThe only two 'solar' hits in the full text of Title 17 (Land Use, Zoning and Signs) are both in a generic accessory-use/structure list, not a dedicated solar or ground-mount section — this is an inference from that list's company, not a direct rule.
municipal code (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47778972
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedB-49 handout and the general building pages — none state an AC-disconnect-to-meter placement rule; this is a PG&E Rule 21/service-equipment requirement not published by the city, and I did not fetch PG&E's own manual this run.
https://www.cityoflakeport.com/B-49%202018%20Solar%20Permit%20Information.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone or email 80% · department page
- How much notice is required? At least 24 hours 88% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 82% · municipal code
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For eligible small residential rooftop solar: a single inspection performed by the Building Division, optionally consolidated with the fire side (LMC 15.24.040(C)). The city's general new-residential-construction sequence (not solar-specific) is: Foundation → Ground/Under-floor Plumbing → Pre-slab → Girder (raised floors) → Underfloor Insulation → Pre-wrap → Framing → Wall/Ceiling Insulation → Gypsum Wallboard → Stucco → Final. 75% · department page + municipal code
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 82% · municipal code
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No 65% · department page (absence)
- What must be on site at inspection? The approved plans and the inspection card must be made available at time of inspection; the property owner is responsible for providing site access (or written permission plus a key/unlocked gate if absent) and any needed ladder; inspectors will not enter yards with dogs present or a house with only minors present 85% · department page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer/applicant 82% · municipal code
- How are corrections issued and cleared? For an incomplete/deficient small-residential-solar application, LMC 15.24.040(B) requires the building official to 'issue a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies... and any additional information required.' No solar-specific post-INSPECTION correction procedure (as opposed to application-review correction) was found; general practice is that work may not proceed/pass until corrected and re-inspected. 58% · municipal code + department page
14 questions answered against City of Lakeport’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone or email
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Inspections page: 'Please remember to call in your request for inspection at least 24 hours or more in advance,' with phone and cddinfo@cityoflakeport.com email given as contact channels. No portal-based inspection scheduling was found (the OpenGov portal's inspection-scheduling module was not confirmed reachable/functional this run).
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/inspections.php
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
At least 24 hours
Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote from the Building Inspections page: 'Please remember to call in your request for inspection at least 24 hours or more in advance.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/inspections.php
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Inspections page — states the 24-hour advance-notice rule and office hours (M-Th 8am-5:30pm) but never mentions same-day booking or AM/PM inspection windows either way.
https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/inspections.php
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.24.040(C): the single required inspection for an eligible small residential rooftop solar system 'shall be done in a timely manner and may include a consolidated inspection by the building official and fire chief' — the building official (city Building Division) performs it, optionally alongside the fire side (which, per the jurisdiction finding, is functionally the independent Lakeport Fire Protection District's chief, not a city department).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedN/A — not delegated. LMC 15.24.040(C) has the city's own Building Division perform the required inspection (optionally consolidated with the fire side). The fire component of that optional consolidation is, per the jurisdiction finding, functionally the independent Lakeport Fire Protection District's fire chief rather than a city employee, but the BUILDING inspection itself — which is what LMC 15.24.040(C) requires — is not delegated away from the city.
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For eligible small residential rooftop solar: a single inspection performed by the Building Division, optionally consolidated with the fire side (LMC 15.24.040(C)). The city's general new-residential-construction sequence (not solar-specific) is: Foundation → Ground/Under-floor Plumbing → Pre-slab → Girder (raised floors) → Underfloor Insulation → Pre-wrap → Framing → Wall/Ceiling Insulation → Gypsum Wallboard → Stucco → Final.
Why the confidence is not higherThe 11-stage list is the city's generic residential sequence from the Building Inspections page, not solar-specific; the single-inspection rule for qualifying solar is explicit in the ordinance.
department page + municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/inspections.php
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.24.040(C): 'only one inspection shall be required' for an eligible small residential rooftop solar system — no separate rough-in or mid-roof stage.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedLMC Ch. 15.24 and the Building Inspections page — neither states that the inspector checks equipment labels/listings as a discrete step, though it is plausible given the CEC's listing requirements apply by reference; not stated outright, so not recorded as a direct answer.
https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/inspections.php
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo published solar-specific inspection checklist was found anywhere on the city's site (Building Resource Library, Handouts/Forms/Applications, Inspections page all checked) — only the general Inspections page describing the inspection-card system and generic new-construction sequence.
department page (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/inspections.php
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
The approved plans and the inspection card must be made available at time of inspection; the property owner is responsible for providing site access (or written permission plus a key/unlocked gate if absent) and any needed ladder; inspectors will not enter yards with dogs present or a house with only minors present
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the Building Inspections page's requirements text.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/inspections.php
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame fee-schedule gap as q15/q16 — the city's own re-inspection fee amount could not be located (no published Building fee-resolution document found online); only the separate Lakeport Fire Protection District's plan-review fees ($90/$180, q17) were locatable, and those pages do not mention a re-inspection fee.
https://www.cityoflakeport.com/community_development/building/penalty_fees.php
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
For an incomplete/deficient small-residential-solar application, LMC 15.24.040(B) requires the building official to 'issue a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies... and any additional information required.' No solar-specific post-INSPECTION correction procedure (as opposed to application-review correction) was found; general practice is that work may not proceed/pass until corrected and re-inspected.
Why the confidence is not higherThe ordinance's correction-notice language (15.24.040(B)) covers application completeness, not post-inspection field corrections specifically; the latter is inferred from general building-department practice described loosely on the Inspections page.
municipal code + department page checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedLMC 15.24.040(C)-(D) describes pass/fail of the single inspection and city approval generally, but never names the specific document issued on pass (Final inspection sign-off vs. Certificate of Occupancy vs. a Green Tag) for a solar retrofit on an existing dwelling specifically.
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer/applicant
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.24.040(D): city approval 'does not authorize an applicant to connect the small residential rooftop energy system to the local utility provider's electricity grid. The applicant is responsible for obtaining such approval or permission from the local utility provider.' B-49 corroborates: 'the permit applicant should contact PG&E.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/47777662
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Lakeport against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Lakeport is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical, in-house via the Community Development Department's Building Division
- Delegated to
- Fire plan review, plan-check and inspection (including a dedicated residential-solar fire fee) sit with the independently-elected Lakeport Fire Protection District, not the city
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code §65850.5 (Solar Rights Act / AB 2188, 2014) requires the expedited small-residential-rooftop-solar process the city codified at LMC Ch. 15.24
- Why not higher
- LMC 15.04.010 shows the city itself adopts and administers the 2025 California Building Standards Code (Building, Electrical, Residential Code parts) for its own permits, and Ch. 15.24 has the city's own Building Division running the state-mandated expedited solar process ('the building department shall develop an expedited permitting process'). But the City of Lakeport has no Fire Department of its own — Fire is absent from the city's own /departments.php list, and LMC Ch. 8.32 ('Fire Prevention Systems') defines terms in the adopted CBSC to mean 'the fire chief'/'the city fire department' without naming any city department that currently exists under that title. Cross-checked from the other side: the independently governed Lakeport Fire Protection District (445 N. Main St., its own elected Board of Directors, own budget/Measure M parcel tax, own site at lakeportfire.com) runs its own 'Submit Plans' process that explicitly names 'Solar and General Building Plans' with a $90 residential / $180 commercial plan-approval fee, separate from whatever the city Building Division charges. Not full 100 because I did not obtain a written interagency/JPA agreement formalizing the exact split (e.g., whether the District's review is mandatory-and-gating for every residential PV permit or only for larger/new-construction projects) — the District's own 'new construction/addition' mitigation-fee gate is explicit, but its stated per-project solar plan fee reads as applying to all solar submittals regardless of that gate.
- Permit required
- Yes92%
- Portal
- OpenGov Permitting & Licensing portal at lakeportca.portal.opengov.com78%
- Electrical code
- 202380%
- Own placard wording
- No75%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone or email80%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 75%
No
Size, colour & material 75%
No
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.