City of Lemoore
Kings County
City of Lemoore is a city authority in the State of California, serving 27,038 residents. 4,007 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Same day for over-the-counter applications; 1–3 business days for electronic applications Q18 Where you file — Tyler EnerGov self-service portal ('Community Development Portal'), effective 22 Apr 2025 Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $574.94 flat, for residential solar installations 13 kW or less90% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Same day for over-the-counter applications; 1–3 business days for electronic applications95% source
- Key document
- permit application form cited by 4 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · ordinance
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 88% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · ordinance
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 78% · permit application form
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No (cannot be required as a precondition) — Solar Rights Act, Civil Code §714 85% · ordinance
- Is there a historic-district review? Conditional — no dedicated Historic District zoning chapter exists, but LMC 8-11-3.C allows the city to require a use permit and/or architectural review for properties on the city's own list of historic resources. 78% · zoning code TOC + ordinance
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 72% · ordinance
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Administrative Use Permit, only if the chief building official finds a specific, adverse impact on public health/safety; appealable to the Planning Commission. A use permit may also be required for properties on the city's historic-resources list. 90% · ordinance
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal — this is the eligibility gate for the ministerial/expedited Chapter 11 pathway (AB 2188-era figure), not an absolute ban; it also must be a single- or duplex-family dwelling and not exceed the maximum legal building height. 90% · ordinance
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 50% · permit application form
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 55% · permit application form
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 50% · permit application form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Completed City Building Permit Application (with 'SOLAR' box checked), project valuation, and building/electrical plans; no dedicated solar-only checklist was found beyond the general 'Plan Check Submittal Requirements' handout. 55% · checklist
- How many copies, and in what format? PDF, submitted electronically 65% · checklist
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — a site plan showing north arrow, street/street name, structure footprint, dimensions to property lines, and drainage, per the department's general site-plan format. 55% · checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes (inferred) 55% · checklist
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No fixed kW/valuation threshold found; general residential language gives the chief building official discretion ('depending on scope or complexity of project, plans may be required to be reviewed and stamped by an architect or engineer'). 55% · checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Tyler EnerGov self-service portal ('Community Development Portal'), effective 22 Apr 2025 90% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes (per the city's own announcement) 70% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $574.94 flat, for residential solar installations 13 kW or less 90% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Flat (up to 13 kW); systems above that threshold likely fall to the schedule's general sq-ft/valuation-based Building Permit fee formula instead, though this is not stated explicitly. 78% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No (apparently included in the flat fee) 55% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Same day for over-the-counter applications; 1–3 business days for electronic applications 95% · ordinance
- Which utility handles interconnection here? PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric) — delivery, metering, billing, and O&M of wires/poles within Lemoore; no municipal electric utility exists 82% · adopted General Plan
28 questions answered against City of Lemoore’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Lemoore codifies its own Building, Electrical and Fire Code chapters (LMC Title 8, Ch. 1) and its own 'Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy Systems' ordinance (LMC Title 8, Ch. 11), applied to 'the permitting of all small residential rooftop solar energy systems in the city.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7201
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding and electrical for solar are both self-performed in-house: the Building Permit Application uses a single 'SOLAR' checkbox (no separate electrical-permit checkbox), and the city's own Services Guide routes both 'Solar Permits' and 'Electrical Permits' to the same in-house 'Building Inspections' division. Fire is also self-performed by the city's own Lemoore Volunteer Fire Department (LVFD) per LMC 8-1E-2 sec.103.1, which names 'the fire department of the city of Lemoore.' No contracted plan-check or inspection firm (e.g. an @willdan.com/@transtech.org address) was found anywhere on the city's site.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/12/Services-Guide.pdf
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 8-11-3.A: 'This chapter is applied to the permitting of all small residential rooftop solar energy systems in the city.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7201
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's standard Building Permit Application has a single 'SOLAR' checkbox alongside 'NEW/ADDITION/ALTERATION' etc. with one 'Bldg Contractor' field (no separate electrical-contractor field), and the Master User Fee Schedule prices 'Solar Installation – Residential (13kw or less)' as one flat line rather than separate building+electrical lines — consistent with a single combined permit.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/05/City-of-Lemoore-Building-Permit-Applicationrev3.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherNo Lemoore-specific statement found restricting who pulls the permit. The Building Permit Application provides both an 'Owner' and a 'Bldg Contractor / State Lic Number' field, consistent with the statewide default (licensed C-46/C-10 contractor or an owner-builder) rather than a local restriction.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/05/City-of-Lemoore-Building-Permit-Applicationrev3.pdf
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's standard Building Permit Application includes a 'City Business License Number' field for the contractor, distinct from the contractor's state license number, suggesting a Lemoore business license is expected of the permitting contractor. Not stated as an explicit precondition anywhere in the codified ordinance, so confidence is moderate.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/05/City-of-Lemoore-Building-Permit-Applicationrev3.pdf
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherNo local bar on owner-builder found; the Building Permit Application's separate Owner/Contractor fields and California's standard owner-builder framework support self-install/self-permit. This is inference from the form and state law, not an explicit Lemoore statement.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/05/City-of-Lemoore-Building-Permit-Applicationrev3.pdf
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Completed City Building Permit Application (with 'SOLAR' box checked), project valuation, and building/electrical plans; no dedicated solar-only checklist was found beyond the general 'Plan Check Submittal Requirements' handout.
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 8-11-5/8-11-6 require the city to adopt 'a standard plan and checklist' for expedited solar review substantially conforming to the California Solar Permitting Guidebook, but the only submittal document actually published on the city's site is the general (non-solar) 'Plan Check Submittal Requirements' handout (rev. 24 Sep 2024), which lists standard plan sheets (site plan, electrical plan, Title 24, etc.) and mentions 'solar ready panel' only in the new-construction context. The dedicated solar-specific checklist the ordinance calls for was not found as a separate document.
checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/09/Plan-Check-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
PDF, submitted electronically
Why the confidence is not higherThe Sept. 2024 Plan Check Submittal Requirements handout states 'All plans must be submitted electronically via email to permits@lemoore.com in PDF form.' The Community Development page (current) announces a newer online portal (Tyler EnerGov, effective 22 Apr 2025) for 'paperless' submittal, which likely supersedes the email route, but the older PDF has not been updated to reflect that — both are reported.
checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/09/Plan-Check-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — a site plan showing north arrow, street/street name, structure footprint, dimensions to property lines, and drainage, per the department's general site-plan format.
Why the confidence is not higherNo solar-specific site-plan spec was found; the department's own generic 'Site Plan' handout (used for patios, and by extension other minor work) requires north arrow, street location, footprint, dimensions to all adjacent property lines, and drainage — used here as the department's standard format, not solar-specific.
checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/SITE-PLAN.pdf
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes (inferred)
Why the confidence is not higherNot explicitly named as 'one-line/three-line diagram' anywhere found, but the general Plan Check Submittal Requirements handout lists an 'Electrical plan' among the required plan sheets for both new construction and remodels, and LMC 8-11-4.C requires the system to meet CEC/UL/IEEE standards, which in practice requires one-line documentation.
checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/09/Plan-Check-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedLMC Title 8 Ch. 11 (solar), general Plan Check Submittal Requirements handout, and Building Permit Application — none specify string/conductor calculations
https://lemoore.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/09/Plan-Check-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
No fixed kW/valuation threshold found; general residential language gives the chief building official discretion ('depending on scope or complexity of project, plans may be required to be reviewed and stamped by an architect or engineer').
Why the confidence is not higherThe Plan Check Submittal Requirements handout's Residential (Remodel/Addition) column carries this discretionary language; no solar-specific structural PE stamp threshold was found in LMC Ch. 11 or the fee schedule.
checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/09/Plan-Check-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedLMC Ch. 11, Electrical Code amendments (LMC 8-1C-2), and fee schedule — none set an electrical PE stamp threshold
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-5478
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$574.94 flat, for residential solar installations 13 kW or less
Why the confidence is not higherMaster User Fee Schedule (ModDate 20 Apr 2026 per pdfinfo) line item: 'Solar Installation – Residential (13kw or less) $574.94'.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/04/Master-User-Fee-Published-with-Refuse-Update.pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat (up to 13 kW); systems above that threshold likely fall to the schedule's general sq-ft/valuation-based Building Permit fee formula instead, though this is not stated explicitly.
Why the confidence is not higherThe fee schedule prices solar as one flat line distinct from the sq-ft-based 'General Building Permits' table used for other construction categories.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/04/Master-User-Fee-Published-with-Refuse-Update.pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No (apparently included in the flat fee)
Why the confidence is not higherThe flat 'Solar Installation – Residential' line sits in the schedule's flat-fee list, separate from the 'General Building Permits' section that carries an explicit '65% of Building Permit Fee' plan-check add-on; nothing in the schedule applies that 65% line to the flat solar fee, but the schedule does not say so explicitly either.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/04/Master-User-Fee-Published-with-Refuse-Update.pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Same day for over-the-counter applications; 1–3 business days for electronic applications
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 8-11-7.A: the department 'shall issue a building permit... on the same day for over the counter applications or within one to three (3) business days for electronic applications upon receipt of a complete application.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7218
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedLMC Ch. 11 and Building Code adoption/amendment sections (LMC 8-1A-1/8-1A-2) — no local permit-validity/expiration period found; would default to the unamended 2022 CBC if unamended, which was not independently confirmed this run
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-5437
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Tyler EnerGov self-service portal ('Community Development Portal'), effective 22 Apr 2025
Why the confidence is not higherCommunity Development page: 'Effective Tuesday, April 22, 2025, the City of Lemoore will transition to a new permitting and licensing software suite... going paperless for all building permits, plan submissions, and business licenses,' linking to cityoflemooreca-energovweb.tylerhost.net.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/departments/community-development
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes (per the city's own announcement)
Why the confidence is not higherThe Community Development page states the new system is used to 'submit any necessary documentation online' and that permitting is going fully paperless; the portal itself (Tyler EnerGov self-service) is a login-based application/document-submission system consistent with full online completion, though the exact scope (fees, inspection scheduling) was not independently verified inside the portal this run.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/departments/community-development
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric) — delivery, metering, billing, and O&M of wires/poles within Lemoore; no municipal electric utility exists
Why the confidence is not higherIMPORTANT CORRECTION: the brief suggested Lemoore runs its own municipal electric utility — this is not supported by any city-side evidence found. The city's own adopted 2030 General Plan, Ch. 6.4 'Electricity and Gas,' states outright: 'The delivery, metering, billing, operation and maintenance of wires and poles remains the responsibility of PG&E within Lemoore.' The city belongs to a Community Choice Aggregation joint authority formed in 2006 (San Joaquin Valley Power Authority, generation-only; current operating status not reverified this run) but that does not touch interconnection. Independently: the municipal code has no electric franchise chapter and no electric enterprise fund in Title 10 (Enterprise Revenue Bond Law), and the city's own 'Utility Billing' page states the division 'provides customer billing services for water, refuse, and wastewater' only — electricity is conspicuously absent from that list. Confidence is not higher because the General Plan citation is dated 2008 and no more-current city document was found repeating it.
adopted General Plan checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/lemoore_gp_ch6_pu_060208.pdf
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo Lemoore-specific or freshly-verified PG&E interconnection-sequence document was located/re-checked this run (PG&E's own DG/Rule 21 pages were not fetched in this run)
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No (cannot be required as a precondition) — Solar Rights Act, Civil Code §714
Why the confidence is not higherLemoore's own ordinance builds Civil Code §714 into its definitions: a 'small residential rooftop system' must conform 'to... paragraph (3) of subdivision (c) of section 714 of the Civil Code' (LMC 8-11-2), the section that bars HOA/CC&R restrictions that significantly increase cost or decrease efficiency. No separate architectural-review precondition was found in the zoning code for single-family solar.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7186
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Conditional — no dedicated Historic District zoning chapter exists, but LMC 8-11-3.C allows the city to require a use permit and/or architectural review for properties on the city's own list of historic resources.
Why the confidence is not higherThe full Title 9 (Zoning) table of contents was walked (Chapters 1–12; Chapters 8, 10 and 11 are 'RESERVED') and contains no Historic District/Historic Preservation chapter or overlay. The only historic hook found is LMC 8-11-3.C itself: 'A use permit and/or architectural review may be required for properties on the city's list of historic resources as deemed necessary by the community development director.'
zoning code TOC + ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7229
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 8-1A-2 (Building Code local amendments) was read in full — it covers grade/drainage, roof-sheathing, and a vapor-retarder exception, with no wind/windstorm certification clause. No separate wind-certification requirement was found anywhere else in the building or solar chapters.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-5437
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Administrative Use Permit, only if the chief building official finds a specific, adverse impact on public health/safety; appealable to the Planning Commission. A use permit may also be required for properties on the city's historic-resources list.
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 8-11-7.A/C: 'The chief building official may require an applicant to apply for an administrative use permit if the official finds, based on substantial evidence, that the solar energy system could have a specific, adverse impact...Such decisions may be appealed to the city planning commission.' Full City Council approval is not part of this pathway.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7218
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal — this is the eligibility gate for the ministerial/expedited Chapter 11 pathway (AB 2188-era figure), not an absolute ban; it also must be a single- or duplex-family dwelling and not exceed the maximum legal building height.
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 8-11-2 definition of 'SMALL RESIDENTIAL ROOFTOP SYSTEM': 'A solar energy system that is no larger than ten (10) kilowatts alternating current nameplate rating or thirty (30) kilowatts thermal... installed on a single- or duplex-family dwelling... [and] does not exceed the maximum legal building height.' Systems above this are simply outside the expedited chapter's scope; no separate absolute cap was found.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7186
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? Other — ordinance text literally cites the 2014 NEC 65% · adopting ordinance
- Which building code edition is in force? 2022 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2), referencing the 2015 IBC 95% · adopting ordinance
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2022 California Fire Code, referencing the 2015 IFC 95% · adopting ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 95% · ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The 2022 California Electrical Code, IEEE standards, and accredited testing laboratories (e.g. UL), plus applicable CPUC safety/reliability rules for grid-tied systems. 90% · ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? No local ridge-setback or fire-access-pathway rule specific to PV was found; defaults to the unamended 2022 CFC. 72% · ordinance
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown is required as part of the adopted 2022 CEC (no local amendment found narrowing or removing it). 70% · adopting ordinance
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
Nothing recorded for City of Lemoore on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 82% · ordinance
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? No Lemoore-specific ESS/battery rule was found; the ordinance and fire-code amendments are silent on batteries, so ESS installs default entirely to the unamended 2022 CFC (state) provisions. 55% · ordinance
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No separate ESS permit line was found; ESS appears to fall under the same combined building permit as PV. 55% · fee schedule
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No 85% · ordinance
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? No local mounting/attachment-spacing rule found specific to solar racking. 68% · ordinance
20 questions answered against City of Lemoore’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Other — ordinance text literally cites the 2014 NEC
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 8-1C-1: 'an ordinance of the city of Lemoore adopting the California electrical code, 2022 edition, referencing the 2014 national electrical code.' This is very likely a drafting/codification error carried forward in the text: nationally, the 2022 CEC cycle is normally based on the 2020 NEC, not 2014. Recorded as written per the rule against silently correcting drafting errors.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-5475
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2022 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2), referencing the 2015 IBC
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 8-1A-1: 'an ordinance of the city of Lemoore adopting by reference the California code of regulations title 24, 2022 edition, and the 2022 California building code part 2 (volumes 1 and 2)... referencing the 2015 international building code.'
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-5434
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2022 California Fire Code, referencing the 2015 IFC
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 8-1E-1: 'an ordinance of the city of Lemoore adopting the 2022 California fire code including appendices B, BB, C, CC, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, M, and referencing the 2015 international fire code.'
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-5504
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherLocal amendments exist to Building (grade/drainage §202, roof-sheathing §1511.3.2, vapor-retarder §1907.1 exception), Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical (fee-schedule amendments), and Fire (CNG/LPG/flammable-liquid district limits, Bureau of Fire Prevention establishment, fire marshal/jurisdiction definitions) — LMC 8-1A-2, 8-1E-2.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-5437
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2022 California Electrical Code, IEEE standards, and accredited testing laboratories (e.g. UL), plus applicable CPUC safety/reliability rules for grid-tied systems.
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 8-11-4.C: 'Solar energy systems for producing electricity shall meet all applicable safety and performance standards established by the California electrical code, the Institution Of Electrical And Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories and, where applicable, rules of the public utilities commission regarding safety and reliability.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7205
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
No
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 8-1C-2 (Electrical Code 'Amendments To Code') was read in full and contains only a fee-schedule cross-reference — no busbar-sizing or service-upgrade rule. Positive control ('fees') and fabricated control ('zzqqx') both behaved as expected on this section, confirming the extraction was not silently failing.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-5478
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
No local mounting/attachment-spacing rule found specific to solar racking.
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 8-1A-2's only roofing-related amendment (§1511.3.2) concerns re-roofing over existing spaced sheathing generally, not solar racking attachment or spacing; no other local mounting-system standard was found in Ch. 11 or the residential-code amendments (LMC 8-1F-2).
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-5437
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
No local ridge-setback or fire-access-pathway rule specific to PV was found; defaults to the unamended 2022 CFC.
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 8-1E-2 (Fire Code 'Amendments To Code') was read in full to its end (CNG, explosives/fireworks, flammable/combustible liquids, LP-gas) — no PV/rooftop-access-pathway or ridge-setback provision appears anywhere in it. Positive control ('hazardous', 2 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) both passed.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-5507
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, rapid shutdown is required as part of the adopted 2022 CEC (no local amendment found narrowing or removing it).
Why the confidence is not higherNo local electrical amendment addresses or removes rapid shutdown (LMC 8-1C-2 is fee-only); the 2022 CEC as adopted in full at LMC 8-1C-1 carries the standard NEC 690.12 rapid-shutdown requirement. The ordinance's own '2014 NEC' citation (see Q29) does not appear to be a substantive local rapid-shutdown carve-out — 690.12 rapid shutdown has been continuously required since the 2014 NEC cycle, so the confusion in the code-edition citation does not change the outcome.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-5475
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedLMC Ch. 11 (solar ordinance) read in full; Electrical Code amendments (8-1C-2) and Fire Code amendments (8-1E-2) read in full; general Plan Check Submittal Requirements handout; Building Division page and its linked PDFs — no placard/signage specification for service equipment was found anywhere
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7205
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame documents as Q38 — no local placard wording specified
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7205
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame documents as Q38 — no letter height/colour/material spec found
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7205
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame documents as Q38 — no local site-plan/facility-map placard spec beyond the state CEC 705.10 baseline (not independently sourced this run)
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7205
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPG&E's own DG/interconnection manuals (e.g. the gated Greenbook TD-2306M / TD-7001M) were not fetched this run; no Lemoore-specific utility placard spec found on the city's site
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame documents as Q38 — no label-placement location specified locally
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7205
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 8-11-4.B (accredited-listing-agency certification for solar water-heater systems) and 8-11-4.C (PV systems must meet CEC/IEEE standards and be tested by accredited labs such as UL) together establish a listing/testing requirement.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7205
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
No Lemoore-specific ESS/battery rule was found; the ordinance and fire-code amendments are silent on batteries, so ESS installs default entirely to the unamended 2022 CFC (state) provisions.
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 8-11-2's 'SOLAR ENERGY SYSTEM' definition makes no reference to battery storage, and the full text of the Fire Code amendments (LMC 8-1E-2) — read to its end — has no ESS/battery provision. This silence was control-checked ('hazardous' hits, 'zzqqx' does not).
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-5507
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No separate ESS permit line was found; ESS appears to fall under the same combined building permit as PV.
Why the confidence is not higherThe Master User Fee Schedule (current, ModDate Apr 2026) has no Battery/ESS/Energy Storage fee line anywhere in its 20 pages (checked against a positive 'Electric' control = 2 hits, fabricated 'zzqqx' = 0 hits), and the Services Guide routes only 'Solar Permits' and 'Electrical Permits' to Building Inspections with no separate storage-system category.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/04/Master-User-Fee-Published-with-Refuse-Update.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAttempted LMC Title 9, Ch.4, Art. D, sec.9-4D-18 'Residential Accessory Structures' (the most likely home for ground-mount treatment) via amlegal's rendered chapter view; the section's body would not render correctly (a known amlegal lazy-render bug that shows an adjacent section's text under the target header) even after repeated fetch attempts, so this could not be read this run
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-8693
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo Lemoore-specific document found; PG&E's own DG/interconnection manual was not fetched this run
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone (dedicated Inspection Request Line) 85% · department page
- How much notice is required? By 4:30 p.m. the prior business day (next-business-day scheduling) 90% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No 65% · department page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (building final-inspection approval) — inferred 50% · inference from comparable authority practice
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $167.69 (general reinspection fee; not solar-specific) 65% · fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? A written correction notice detailing all deficiencies is sent to the applicant for resubmission. 90% · ordinance
14 questions answered against City of Lemoore’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone (dedicated Inspection Request Line)
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Inspections page: 'Inspection Request Line: 559 924-6744 Ext. 732' is published as a distinct number from the general permit office line; no online inspection-scheduling function was found described on the page.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/communitydevelopment/building-inspections/
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
By 4:30 p.m. the prior business day (next-business-day scheduling)
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Inspections page: 'Building Inspection services are Monday through Friday 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. All inspection requests must be received by 4:30 p.m. to be scheduled for the following business day.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/communitydevelopment/building-inspections/
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Inspections page and Services Guide checked — no mention of same-day or AM/PM inspection windows
https://lemoore.com/communitydevelopment/building-inspections/
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 8-11-7.G: 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by the development services department for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7218
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — not delegated; self-performed by the Development Services/Building Division.
Why the confidence is not higherSame citation as Q52: the inspection is performed by 'the development services department' (the city's own Building Division), not delegated to an outside agency.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7218
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
A single consolidated final inspection (no separate rough-in/mid-roof stage) for systems eligible for expedited review.
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 8-11-7.G/H: 'Only one inspection shall be required... The inspection shall be done in a timely manner and should include consolidated inspections.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7218
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame LMC 8-11-7.G/H language explicitly limits eligible systems to one consolidated inspection, which forecloses a separate rough-in/mid-roof stage for the expedited-review category.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7218
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo published inspection checklist exists to confirm this practice explicitly (see Q57); LMC 8-11-4 implies listed/UL-tested equipment is required but does not describe inspector verification procedure
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7205
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 8-11-5.C/8-11-6.A direct the department to 'adopt a standard plan and checklist,' but no such published solar-specific inspection checklist was found on the Building Inspections page or among its linked PDFs (only a general, non-solar Plan Check Submittal Requirements handout and a generic Site Plan form exist).
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/communitydevelopment/building-inspections/
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo document specifies what must be physically on site at a solar inspection
https://lemoore.com/communitydevelopment/building-inspections/
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$167.69 (general reinspection fee; not solar-specific)
Why the confidence is not higherMaster User Fee Schedule, Miscellaneous Fees Per Hour: 'Reinspection fees $167.69.' No solar-specific reinspection line exists, so this general line is the applicable rate by default.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://lemoore.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/04/Master-User-Fee-Published-with-Refuse-Update.pdf
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
A written correction notice detailing all deficiencies is sent to the applicant for resubmission.
Why the confidence is not higherLMC 8-11-7.F: 'If an application is deemed incomplete, a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies in the application and any additional information or documentation required to be eligible for expedited permit issuance shall be sent to the applicant for resubmission.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7218
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (building final-inspection approval) — inferred
Why the confidence is not higherNot explicitly named in any Lemoore document found; 'Final' is recorded here only as the standard term used by comparable California building departments for a passed single-inspection PV permit, since Lemoore's own ordinance and fee schedule do not name the specific document/approval issued.
inference from comparable authority practice checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7218
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo Lemoore or PG&E document confirming who notifies PG&E for PTO was located/verified this run
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Lemoore against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Lemoore is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- building, electrical, and fire (all self-performed in-house; no delegation found)
- Overridden by
- California Gov. Code §65850.5 (ministerial/expedited-permitting framework, incorporated verbatim into LMC Title 8, Ch. 11); Civil Code §714 (Solar Rights Act, bars HOA/CC&R disapproval, cited directly in LMC 8-11-2); PG&E as the interconnecting utility controls PTO timing though it does not compete for land-use/building jurisdiction.
- Why not higher
- The city codifies its own Building, Electrical and Fire Code chapters (LMC Title 8, Ch. 1) and its own residential-solar ordinance (LMC Title 8, Ch. 11, Ord. 2016-10), all administered by the in-house 'development services department' / Building Division (711 W. Cinnamon Dr.). Fire is provided by the city's own Lemoore Volunteer Fire Department (LVFD), not Kings County Fire — confirmed both by the city's own LVFD department page and by the codified fire-code amendment LMC 8-1E-2 sec.103.1, which establishes 'the fire department of the city of Lemoore' by name as the enforcing bureau. IMPORTANT CORRECTION TO THE BRIEF: Lemoore does NOT run its own municipal electric utility. The brief's lead to verify this turned out to be false — the city's own adopted General Plan (Ch. 6.4) states PG&E performs delivery/metering/billing/O&M of the wires within Lemoore; there is no electric franchise chapter or electric enterprise fund in the municipal code, and the city's own Utility Billing page scopes itself to 'water, refuse, and wastewater' only, omitting electric entirely. Naval Air Station Lemoore's compatibility overlay (LMC Title 9, Ch. 9, Art. C — 'NASL Overlay Zone') is a real, codified overlay reaching properties west of SR-41/south of city limits, but it is a height (150 ft) and noise-attenuation overlay triggered by 'tall structures,' with no glare or PV-specific test found in its text — so it does not appear to reach ordinary residential rooftop PV.
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/lemooreca/latest/lemoore_ca/0-0-0-7201
Check the code edition before you build
This authority's published code edition does not match what the state has adopted. That usually means the authority's ordinance has not been updated for the current cycle — but a local amendment can also be lawful. Confirm with the building department before you submit.
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $574.94 flat, for residential solar installations 13 kW or less90%
- Plan review
- Same day for over-the-counter applications; 1–3 business days for electronic applications95%
- Portal
- Tyler EnerGov self-service portal ('Community Development Portal'), effective 22 Apr 202590%
- Electrical code
- Other — ordinance text literally cites the 2014 NEC65%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone (dedicated Inspection Request Line)85%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.