City of Lindsay

Tulare County

Verified Aug. 4, 2026

City of Lindsay is a city authority in the State of California, serving 12,659 residents. 1,165 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Same day for over-the-counter submittal; 1 to 3 business days for electronic submittal (for systems eligible for the expedited/streamlined review) Q18 Where you file — None found — no dedicated online permit portal (e.g., Accela, eTRAKiT, SolarAPP+, OpenGov). Q20

Permit required
Yes95% source
What it costs
$450.00 flat for residential systems 1-15 kW, plus $15.00 per kW for each kW above 15 kW75% source
Plan review turnaround
Same day for over-the-counter submittal; 1 to 3 business days for electronic submittal (for systems eligible for the expedited/streamlined review)90% source
Key document
permit application form cited by 6 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · adopting ordinance
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · adopting ordinance
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · permit application form
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 78% · permit application form
    • Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 88% · adopting ordinance
    • Is there a historic-district review? No 62% · ordinance index (control-checked)
    • Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Only if the Building Official/Inspector finds, based on substantial evidence, that the system could have a "specific, adverse impact" on public health and safety — in that case a use permit may be required, and its denial (or the underlying decision) may be appealed. There is no Council-approval step for a standard qualifying system. 85% · adopting ordinance
    • Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No hard cap on residential generation — 10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal is only the eligibility threshold for the streamlined/expedited "small residential rooftop solar energy system" process; larger residential systems are not barred, they simply fall outside Chapter 15.08 and would go through standard (non-expedited) plan review. 85% · adopting ordinance
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • What documents make up a complete submittal? Permit application form; 3 sets of plans; and — only if an EXISTING electrical service panel is being reused — photos of: (1) the panel with dead-front cover removed showing the main disconnect, (2) the panel with dead-front cover on, (3) the door specs showing maximum bus rating, and (4) the main service breaker. A photo of the roof framing (cut-and-stack vs. truss system) is always required; if mounting on rafters (not engineered trusses), engineering calculations are also required. 92% · department checklist
    • How many copies, and in what format? 3 physical sets of plans for over-the-counter submittal; LMC 15.08.050(B) separately requires the City to make electronic submittal available by email, internet, or facsimile for small residential rooftop solar permits, with electronic signatures accepted in lieu of a wet signature. 78% · department checklist
    • Is a site plan required, and what must it show? A site plan appears to be part of the required plan sets — the general permit application form includes a staff-completed "Site Plan Review YES / NO" field at intake — but no Lindsay document reviewed spells out what the site plan itself must show (e.g., panel layout, setbacks, access pathways) for a solar submittal specifically; the solar checklist (Attachment D) covers only photos and plan-set count, not site-plan content. 55% · permit application form
    • Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering calculations (structural) are required only if the array is mounted on rafters; not required if mounted on an engineered truss system. No PE-stamp threshold is expressed in kW, weight, or any other numeric value — it is a pass/fail on framing type, verified by a required roof-framing photo. 88% · department checklist
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? None found — no dedicated online permit portal (e.g., Accela, eTRAKiT, SolarAPP+, OpenGov). Applications are submitted on the City's paper "Application for Permit/Plan Check" form, in person, by mail, or electronically by email/fax per the solar ordinance. 78% · department page + site search (control-verified)
    • Can the whole application be completed online? No 85% · adopting ordinance
    • What does a residential solar permit cost? $450.00 flat for residential systems 1-15 kW, plus $15.00 per kW for each kW above 15 kW 75% · fee schedule
    • How is the fee calculated? Tiered / Per kW 78% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate plan-check fee? Likely yes, but unconfirmed for the PV line specifically 55% · fee schedule
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

    • What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Same day for over-the-counter submittal; 1 to 3 business days for electronic submittal (for systems eligible for the expedited/streamlined review) 90% · adopting ordinance
    • Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 78% · third-party utility-territory list

28 questions answered against City of Lindsay’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own current code-adoption ordinance (No. 700) and its standalone solar ordinance (No. 552, LMC Ch. 15.08) both vest permitting and inspection authority in the City of Lindsay City Services Department/Building Division for the city limits.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1766419204_Ord%20700%20Updated%20Building%20Code%202025.pdf

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both

Why the confidence is not higherOrd. 700 adopts the Building, Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing, Fire, Energy, Green Building, Residential, Referenced Standards, Historical, Existing Building, and (new) Wildland-Urban Interface codes all under the same "Building Official (City Services Department)"; the fee schedule bills both Building and Electrical permit lines through the same department; and LMC 15.08.060(H) confirms the City Services Building Division performs its own solar inspection rather than delegating to a fire district or contract firm.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1766419204_Ord%20700%20Updated%20Building%20Code%202025.pdf

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own "Application for Permit/Plan Check" form lists "Solar Project Use Attachment D" as one of the submittal-type checkboxes, and LMC Ch. 15.08 (Ord. 552) exists specifically to govern permitting of small residential rooftop solar energy systems.

permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/building_permit_updated_2023.pdf

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's single "Application for Permit/Plan Check" form covers all project types (Residential, Commercial, Pool, Solar, Window, Sign) with one form and one set of checkboxes for Owner-Builder/Contractor — there is no separate electrical-only permit application published. The fee schedule does list electrical fee items (including the Photovoltaic System lines) as their own line items within the Electrical Permit Fees section, which is why this is not rated higher — fees are itemized separately even though intake is on one form.

permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/building_permit_updated_2023.pdf

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either

Why the confidence is not higherThe permit application form has a "WORK TO BE PERFORMED BY" section with checkboxes for "Owner Builder" and "Contractor", with a State License # field only required if a contractor is used — implying either route is accepted. No separate document restricts the electrical permit specifically to a licensed electrician.

permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/building_permit_updated_2023.pdf

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

No

Why the confidence is not higherNo pre-registration/business-license step for solar contractors was found in the permit application, the solar ordinance, or the fee schedule; the only "Notice to Applicants for Business Licenses" document found is explicitly titled for Commercial Building Permits, not residential solar. This is not a certainty — the full municipal code text could not be searched directly (the code's live reader blocks anonymous access), so this rests on the absence across the documents actually reviewed.

permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/building_permit_updated_2023.pdf

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherThe permit application form's "Owner Builder" checkbox under "Work to be Performed By" allows an owner to self-permit; nothing in LMC Ch. 15.08 restricts small residential rooftop solar permits to licensed contractors only.

permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/building_permit_updated_2023.pdf

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

Permit application form; 3 sets of plans; and — only if an EXISTING electrical service panel is being reused — photos of: (1) the panel with dead-front cover removed showing the main disconnect, (2) the panel with dead-front cover on, (3) the door specs showing maximum bus rating, and (4) the main service breaker. A photo of the roof framing (cut-and-stack vs. truss system) is always required; if mounting on rafters (not engineered trusses), engineering calculations are also required.

Why the confidence is not higherDirectly enumerated, verbatim, in the City's own "Solar Plan Submittal Checklist – Attachment D" (Rev 10-28-2022), which is the document referenced by name on the general permit application form.

department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/attachment_d_solar_plan_-_revised_october_2022.pdf

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

3 physical sets of plans for over-the-counter submittal; LMC 15.08.050(B) separately requires the City to make electronic submittal available by email, internet, or facsimile for small residential rooftop solar permits, with electronic signatures accepted in lieu of a wet signature.

Why the confidence is not higherCombines the checklist's plan-copy count with the ordinance's electronic-submittal mandate; no single document states both together.

department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/attachment_d_solar_plan_-_revised_october_2022.pdf

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

A site plan appears to be part of the required plan sets — the general permit application form includes a staff-completed "Site Plan Review YES / NO" field at intake — but no Lindsay document reviewed spells out what the site plan itself must show (e.g., panel layout, setbacks, access pathways) for a solar submittal specifically; the solar checklist (Attachment D) covers only photos and plan-set count, not site-plan content.

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the intake form's Site Plan Review checkbox; the content requirement itself is a genuine gap in the documents found, not confirmed either way.

permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/building_permit_updated_2023.pdf

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedThe City's own Solar Plan Submittal Checklist (Attachment D, Rev 10-28-2022), which itemizes every required submittal item (application, 3 plan sets, four conditional panel photos, one roof-framing photo, engineering calcs if on rafters) and never mentions a one-line/three-line diagram as a distinct item — it may simply be assumed as part of "plans" rather than called out.

https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/attachment_d_solar_plan_-_revised_october_2022.pdf

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame Solar Plan Submittal Checklist (Attachment D) and the solar ordinance (LMC Ch. 15.08, Ord. 552) — neither mentions string or conductor calculations as a distinct submittal item.

https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/attachment_d_solar_plan_-_revised_october_2022.pdf

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Engineering calculations (structural) are required only if the array is mounted on rafters; not required if mounted on an engineered truss system. No PE-stamp threshold is expressed in kW, weight, or any other numeric value — it is a pass/fail on framing type, verified by a required roof-framing photo.

Why the confidence is not higherQuoted directly from the City's own Solar Plan Submittal Checklist (Attachment D, Rev 10-28-2022): "If installing on rafters please provide engineering calc's. Engineering not required for engineered trusses."

department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/attachment_d_solar_plan_-_revised_october_2022.pdf

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolar Plan Submittal Checklist and Ord. 552 (LMC Ch. 15.08) — only a structural (rafters-vs-truss) engineering threshold is stated (see Q13); no separate electrical PE-stamp threshold was found.

https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/attachment_d_solar_plan_-_revised_october_2022.pdf

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

$450.00 flat for residential systems 1-15 kW, plus $15.00 per kW for each kW above 15 kW

Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the City's current Master Fee Schedule (effective 7-1-26), Electrical Permit Fees section, "Photovoltaic System" line items, confirmed by visual inspection of the fee-schedule page image (the extracted text layer is a poor-quality OCR pass that garbles digits/currency symbols, e.g. '$'→'s', '0'→'o', so the table was re-read from a rendered page image rather than trusted as plain text). Confidence is capped at 75 because the same table carries a stale internal note — "Set by Assembly Bill AB1414 & Shall remain in effect until 1-1-25" — inside a schedule dated a year and a half past that stated expiration, meaning the dollar figures may be older than the schedule's own effective date suggests.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/finance/page/8648/updated_7-1-26_fee_schedule.pdf

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Tiered / Per kW

Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule sets a flat $450 band for 1-15 kW residential, then an explicit per-kW add-on above 15 kW (and separate commercial tiers at 1-50 kW, 51-250 kW, and above 250 kW) — a tiered, per-kW structure rather than a single flat number or straight valuation basis.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/finance/page/8648/updated_7-1-26_fee_schedule.pdf

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

Likely yes, but unconfirmed for the PV line specifically

Why the confidence is not higherThe fee schedule's general Building Permit Fee table ("Attachment A", referenced by the base "Permit fee" line items) shows a separate "Plan Check Fee" column distinct from the "Building Permit Fee" column for valuation-based permits — confirming the City does charge plan check separately as a general matter. However, the Photovoltaic System fee lines are flat/per-kW ELECTRICAL fee items, not valuation-based, and no document states whether a separate plan-check charge applies on top of the $450/tier PV fee specifically.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/finance/page/8648/updated_7-1-26_fee_schedule.pdf

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

Same day for over-the-counter submittal; 1 to 3 business days for electronic submittal (for systems eligible for the expedited/streamlined review)

Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.08.060(A): the City Services Building Division "shall issue a building permit or other nondiscretionary permit the same day for over-the-counter application or within one to three business days for electronic application" upon a complete, code-compliant submittal.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedOrd. 552 (LMC Ch. 15.08) and Ord. 700 (LMC Ch. 15.04) — neither states a Lindsay-specific permit validity/expiration period; only the adopted CBC's own default expiration provision would apply by blanket reference, not restated locally.

https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1766419204_Ord%20700%20Updated%20Building%20Code%202025.pdf

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

None found — no dedicated online permit portal (e.g., Accela, eTRAKiT, SolarAPP+, OpenGov). Applications are submitted on the City's paper "Application for Permit/Plan Check" form, in person, by mail, or electronically by email/fax per the solar ordinance.

Why the confidence is not higherSite-wide search for "permit portal" and "SolarAPP" on lindsay.ca.us returned zero results; controls run in the same session confirmed the search function itself works ("electrical" returned hits, the fabricated term "zzqqx" returned none). No portal is linked from the City Services, Finance, or Public Safety department pages.

department page + site search (control-verified) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.lindsay.ca.us/city-services

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

No

Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.08.050(B): "Applicants are required to appear in person at the time of permit issuance. Permits will not be issued electronically..." — so even with electronic submittal of documents, the application cannot be completed end-to-end online.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Southern California Edison (SCE)

Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed from a third-party SCE service-territory city list naming both "Lindsay" and "Tulare County" explicitly — not from PowerToChoose. Neither the City's own site nor SCE's own site was found stating this in so many words this run, which is why confidence is not higher.

third-party utility-territory list checked 2026-08-31 https://energycenter.org/sites/default/files/docs/nav/programs/smp/20.%20SCE%20Service%20Territory%20Cities.pdf

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedOrd. 552 (LMC Ch. 15.08) does not mention utility interconnection at all (control-proven absence, same method as Q37); SCE's own DG/Rule 21 interconnection manual, which would be the correct source for sequencing, was not successfully retrieved this run (SCE's public solar/interconnection pages returned 404s to available fetch tools).

https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.08.060(F): "The City shall not condition approval of an application on the approval of an association" (HOA/common-interest-development association, as defined by Civil Code §4080).

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherNo historic-district overlay chapter appears anywhere in the City's full ordinance/amendment index (2,563 lines of ordinance references scanned); the only "historic" hit across the entire index is the "Historical Building Code" (LMC 15.04.130), which is a building-code chapter, not a zoning/historic-district overlay.

ordinance index (control-checked) checked 2026-08-31 https://lindsay.municipalcodeonline.com/Docs/Read?type=ordinances

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolar Plan Submittal Checklist, Ord. 552, and the general Building Permit Application — none mention a wind/windstorm certification requirement.

https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/attachment_d_solar_plan_-_revised_october_2022.pdf

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

Only if the Building Official/Inspector finds, based on substantial evidence, that the system could have a "specific, adverse impact" on public health and safety — in that case a use permit may be required, and its denial (or the underlying decision) may be appealed. There is no Council-approval step for a standard qualifying system.

Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.08.060(A) and (C).

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

No hard cap on residential generation — 10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal is only the eligibility threshold for the streamlined/expedited "small residential rooftop solar energy system" process; larger residential systems are not barred, they simply fall outside Chapter 15.08 and would go through standard (non-expedited) plan review.

Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.08.010(B)(1) defines "small residential rooftop solar energy system" using the 10kW AC/30kW thermal figure as a scope threshold for the chapter, not as a citywide ceiling; nothing elsewhere caps system size outright.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 80% · adopting ordinance
    • Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (with Appendix Chapters A, B, C, D, F, G, H, I, K, L, plus the entire California Historical Building Code Part 8 with Appendix A, and the 2025 California Existing Building Code Part 10) 92% · adopting ordinance
    • Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code 90% · adopting ordinance
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? No local technical (section-by-section) amendments found — Ord. 700 straightforwardly adopts each 2025 state code by reference, selecting only standard appendix chapters for the Building Code and adding the (also unmodified) 2025 WUI Code as a new chapter. It does not rewrite or override any numbered code section the way some neighboring jurisdictions do (e.g., no local busbar/service-upgrade rule, no local setback rule). 68% · adopting ordinance
    • What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building, Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing, Fire, Energy, Green Building, Residential, Referenced Standards, Historical, Existing Building, and Wildland-Urban Interface Codes, as adopted by Ord. 700 under LMC Chapter 15.04, with equipment additionally judged against UL/IEEE listing and CPUC rules per LMC 15.08.040(C). 88% · adopting ordinance
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    Nothing recorded for City of Lindsay on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 80% · adopting ordinance
    • Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Batteries/energy storage systems are not addressed anywhere in Lindsay's solar ordinance, submittal checklist, permit application, or fee schedule — the ordinance's "Solar Energy System" definition covers only collection/storage/distribution of solar energy for heating, cooling, or electric generation, without ever using the words "battery" or "energy storage system." An ESS installation would therefore appear to fall outside the streamlined Chapter 15.08 process entirely and default to standard (non-expedited) building/electrical/fire review. 68% · control-proven absence
    • Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No separate ESS-specific permit or inspection is described anywhere in the documents reviewed — see Q45. 58% · control-proven absence

20 questions answered against City of Lindsay’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2023

Why the confidence is not higherOrd. 700 (adopted 9 Dec 2025, effective ~8 Jan 2026) adopts the "2025 Edition California Electrical Code" (LMC 15.04.040); California's 2025 Title 24 triennial cycle CEC is based on the 2023 NEC. No Lindsay document names the base NEC edition directly — this is standard CA code-cycle mapping, not a local statement, hence the confidence is not higher.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1766419204_Ord%20700%20Updated%20Building%20Code%202025.pdf

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2025 California Building Code (with Appendix Chapters A, B, C, D, F, G, H, I, K, L, plus the entire California Historical Building Code Part 8 with Appendix A, and the 2025 California Existing Building Code Part 10)

Why the confidence is not higherQuoted directly from Ord. 700, LMC 15.04.010, adopted 9 Dec 2025, effective 30 days later.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1766419204_Ord%20700%20Updated%20Building%20Code%202025.pdf

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

2025 California Fire Code

Why the confidence is not higherOrd. 700, LMC 15.04.050: "...that certain code known as the California Fire Code, published by the International Code Council, Inc. being particularly the 2025 Edition thereof..." Ord. 700 also adds a new companion chapter, LMC 15.04.150, adopting the 2025 California Wildland-Urban Interface Code.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1766419204_Ord%20700%20Updated%20Building%20Code%202025.pdf

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

No local technical (section-by-section) amendments found — Ord. 700 straightforwardly adopts each 2025 state code by reference, selecting only standard appendix chapters for the Building Code and adding the (also unmodified) 2025 WUI Code as a new chapter. It does not rewrite or override any numbered code section the way some neighboring jurisdictions do (e.g., no local busbar/service-upgrade rule, no local setback rule).

Why the confidence is not higherBased on a full read of Ord. 700's operative text, which is the current (Dec 2025) code-adoption ordinance covering Building/Electrical/Mechanical/Plumbing/Fire/Energy/Green Building/Residential/Referenced Standards/Historical/Existing/WUI — all thirteen chapters use materially identical straight-adoption language. Confidence is not higher because the full consolidated municipal code text (which might reveal amendments made in earlier, separate ordinances not captured by this run) could not be read directly — the code's own online reader blocks anonymous access.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1766419204_Ord%20700%20Updated%20Building%20Code%202025.pdf

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

The 2025 California Building, Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing, Fire, Energy, Green Building, Residential, Referenced Standards, Historical, Existing Building, and Wildland-Urban Interface Codes, as adopted by Ord. 700 under LMC Chapter 15.04, with equipment additionally judged against UL/IEEE listing and CPUC rules per LMC 15.08.040(C).

Why the confidence is not higherSynthesized from Ord. 700 (code adoption) and Ord. 552 (LMC 15.08.040, solar-specific equipment standard).

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1766419204_Ord%20700%20Updated%20Building%20Code%202025.pdf

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedOrd. 700 (the full 2025-cycle code-adoption ordinance, LMC Ch. 15.04) and the fee schedule — no local service-upgrade or busbar-sizing rule found beyond the standard adopted CEC.

https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1766419204_Ord%20700%20Updated%20Building%20Code%202025.pdf

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolar Plan Submittal Checklist — requires a roof-framing photo and (conditionally) engineering calcs, but does not specify a mounting-attachment spacing table or lag-screw/anchor spec of its own.

https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/attachment_d_solar_plan_-_revised_october_2022.pdf

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedOrd. 552, Ord. 700, and the Solar Plan Submittal Checklist — no ridge-setback or access-pathway dimensions are stated locally (control-proven absence, same method as Q37); presumably inherited from the adopted 2025 CFC/CRC without local restatement.

https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Required, inherited from the adopted 2023 NEC (via the 2025 CEC, CEC 690.12) — not restated in any Lindsay-specific document.

Why the confidence is not higher"Rapid shutdown" and "690.12" produce zero hits across every Lindsay-specific solar document extracted this run (the solar ordinance, the submittal checklist, the permit application, the fee schedule, and the 2025 code-adoption ordinance), while a positive control ("electrical") hit in the same documents and a fabricated control ("zzqqx") did not — confirming the search itself worked. The requirement therefore flows from the adopted state code cycle rather than a local rule.

control-proven absence + code adoption inference checked 2026-08-31 https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/attachment_d_solar_plan_-_revised_october_2022.pdf

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedOrd. 552, Solar Plan Submittal Checklist, and Building Permit Application — the only "disconnect" reference found is a required PHOTO of the existing panel's main disconnect (a submittal item, not a placard spec); no placard/label enumeration exists locally (control-proven absence, same method as Q37).

https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/attachment_d_solar_plan_-_revised_october_2022.pdf

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No

Why the confidence is not higherNo wording for any placard is specified in the solar ordinance, the submittal checklist, or the permit application — control-proven absence (see Q37 methodology; same document set, same controls).

control-proven absence checked 2026-08-31 https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/attachment_d_solar_plan_-_revised_october_2022.pdf

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No

Why the confidence is not higherNo letter height, colour, or material specification for any placard appears in any Lindsay solar document reviewed — same control-proven absence as Q37/Q39.

control-proven absence checked 2026-08-31 https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/attachment_d_solar_plan_-_revised_october_2022.pdf

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedGeneral Building Permit Application (has only a staff-completed "Site Plan Review Yes/No" checkbox, no content spec) and Solar Plan Submittal Checklist (silent on facility-map/placard content) — no 705.10-style facility-map placard requirement found.

https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/building_permit_updated_2023.pdf

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSCE's own DG/Rule 21 interconnection manual was not successfully retrieved this run (public SCE solar pages returned 404s); no city document addresses utility-specific placards.

https://energycenter.org/sites/default/files/docs/nav/programs/smp/20.%20SCE%20Service%20Territory%20Cities.pdf

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedOrd. 552 and the Solar Plan Submittal Checklist — no local label-placement rule found (control-proven absence, same method as Q37).

https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/attachment_d_solar_plan_-_revised_october_2022.pdf

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.08.040(C): systems for producing electricity "shall meet all applicable Codes, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories" — an equipment-listing requirement, though it does not name a specific city-maintained approved-products list.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Batteries/energy storage systems are not addressed anywhere in Lindsay's solar ordinance, submittal checklist, permit application, or fee schedule — the ordinance's "Solar Energy System" definition covers only collection/storage/distribution of solar energy for heating, cooling, or electric generation, without ever using the words "battery" or "energy storage system." An ESS installation would therefore appear to fall outside the streamlined Chapter 15.08 process entirely and default to standard (non-expedited) building/electrical/fire review.

Why the confidence is not higherControl-proven absence: "batter", "energy storage", and "ess" produce zero hits across the solar ordinance, checklist, permit application, and fee schedule, with the same positive/fabricated controls passing as in Q37.

control-proven absence checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

No separate ESS-specific permit or inspection is described anywhere in the documents reviewed — see Q45.

Why the confidence is not higherSame control-proven absence as Q45; recorded at lower confidence because a Yes/No question about a process that may simply not be documented (rather than affirmatively decided) is a weaker absence claim than a Text one.

control-proven absence checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedOrd. 552 (LMC Ch. 15.08) is expressly scoped to rooftop systems only ("small residential ROOFTOP solar energy system", LMC 15.08.010(B)(3)); no document addresses how a ground-mount system would be classified or treated as a structure.

https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo Lindsay document addresses AC-disconnect-to-meter positioning; this is normally set by the utility's own DG manual (SCE Rule 21), which was not successfully retrieved this run.

https://energycenter.org/sites/default/files/docs/nav/programs/smp/20.%20SCE%20Service%20Territory%20Cities.pdf

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How is an inspection booked? Phone or email/fax to the City Services Department, (559) 562-7102 Ext 4 (fax (559) 562-5748) — inferred, since no online booking portal exists (see Q20) and no document names the booking channel explicitly. 55% · permit application form (inference)
    • How much notice is required? 2 business days 90% · adopting ordinance
    • Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Yes — a 2-hour inspection window is assigned 88% · adopting ordinance
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    • Which inspections are required, and in what order? A single consolidated final inspection performed by the City Services Building Division, covering: roof-access/egress clearances and roof-leading-edge safety around the panels, proper flashing installation, installation of smoke alarm(s) and carbon monoxide detectors, and SB 407 compliance (replacement of noncompliant plumbing fixtures). 90% · adopting ordinance
    • Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 90% · adopting ordinance
  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

    • Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes 72% · adopting ordinance
    • Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Not stated — the ordinance's own itemized list of what the single combined inspection checks (roof access/egress clearance, flashing, smoke/CO alarms, SB 407 plumbing fixtures) does not mention verifying PV labels, placards, or equipment listings. 60% · adopting ordinance
  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

    • Is there a re-inspection fee? $130.00 70% · fee schedule
    • How are corrections issued and cleared? A written correction notice detailing all deficiencies in the application and any additional information/documentation needed for expedited-permit eligibility is sent or given to the applicant for resubmission. 90% · adopting ordinance

14 questions answered against City of Lindsay’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Phone or email/fax to the City Services Department, (559) 562-7102 Ext 4 (fax (559) 562-5748) — inferred, since no online booking portal exists (see Q20) and no document names the booking channel explicitly.

Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.08.060(I) describes the timing of scheduling an inspection but not the booking method; the phone/fax numbers are the only contact channel published on the department's own permit application form.

permit application form (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/city_services/page/8398/building_permit_updated_2023.pdf

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

2 business days

Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.08.060(I): "An inspection will be scheduled within two (2) business days of a request being received..."

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

Yes — a 2-hour inspection window is assigned

Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.08.060(I): the inspection "shall be assigned a two (2) hour inspection window."

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.08.060(H): "Only one inspection shall be required and performed by the City Services Building Division for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review."

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNot applicable — LMC 15.08.060(H) states inspection is self-performed by the City Services Building Division, not delegated.

https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

A single consolidated final inspection performed by the City Services Building Division, covering: roof-access/egress clearances and roof-leading-edge safety around the panels, proper flashing installation, installation of smoke alarm(s) and carbon monoxide detectors, and SB 407 compliance (replacement of noncompliant plumbing fixtures).

Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.08.060(H), quoted near-verbatim.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

No

Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.08.060(H) explicitly limits expedited-review systems to "only one inspection" — no separate rough-in/mid-roof step.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Not stated — the ordinance's own itemized list of what the single combined inspection checks (roof access/egress clearance, flashing, smoke/CO alarms, SB 407 plumbing fixtures) does not mention verifying PV labels, placards, or equipment listings.

Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.08.060(H) is unusually specific about inspection scope, and label/listing verification is not among the items named — a genuine, if narrow, absence in an otherwise detailed section.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.08.060(H) itself functions as a published itemized inspection scope, and the City is separately required by LMC 15.08.050(C)-(D) to adopt and periodically update a standard plan/checklist; the Solar Plan Submittal Checklist (Attachment D) is the published, current artifact of that requirement, though it is a submittal checklist rather than a dedicated field-inspection checklist.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedOrd. 552 and the Solar Plan Submittal Checklist — neither states what documents (e.g., approved plans, permit card) must be physically on site at the time of inspection.

https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

$130.00

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's current (7-1-26) Master Fee Schedule lists a general "Re-inspection fees" line at $130.00, confirmed by visual inspection of the fee-schedule page image; it is not solar-specific, so it is presented as the applicable general re-inspection fee rather than a dedicated solar re-inspection charge.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://legacylindsayca.teammunicode.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/finance/page/8648/updated_7-1-26_fee_schedule.pdf

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

A written correction notice detailing all deficiencies in the application and any additional information/documentation needed for expedited-permit eligibility is sent or given to the applicant for resubmission.

Why the confidence is not higherLMC 15.08.060(G).

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedOrd. 552 (LMC Ch. 15.08) — no "Certificate of Occupancy", "Final", "Green Tag", or "Letter" terminology appears anywhere for what is issued on a passed inspection.

https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedOrd. 552 (LMC Ch. 15.08) does not mention utility notification or Permission to Operate at all (control-proven absence, same method as Q37); no city or utility document confirming who notifies SCE was retrieved this run.

https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1572991470_Ord%20552%2001-12-16.pdf

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Lindsay against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Lindsay is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
Holds
Building and Electrical (self-performed, in-house). The Building Official title sits in the City Services Department, not in a department called "Building" or "Community Development" — the city has no separate Community Development or Building department at all; City Services also runs Streets, Parks, Engineering, and the water/wastewater utilities. Fire code is adopted directly by the City (2025 CFC, LMC 15.04.050) and the City's own in-house Public Safety Department — Fire Services Division exists, but for small residential rooftop solar the ordinance requires only ONE combined inspection, performed by the City Services Building Division itself (LMC 15.08.060(H)); Fire Services plays no separate solar review/inspection role.
Overridden by
CA Gov Code §65850.5 (AB 2188 expedited residential solar permitting), codified locally as LMC Ch. 15.08 (adopted by Ord. 552, 12 Jan 2016). Note: Ord. 552's own text cites "Government Code Section 65850.55" for the fee-conformance requirement — there is no such section; this is almost certainly the ordinance's own drafting/OCR-adjacent error for §65850.5, since that is the only statute governing solar permit fee caps. AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) now bars the City from adopting any residential code amendment more restrictive than the state code through 1 Jun 2031.
Why not higher
Ordinance No. 700 (adopted 9 Dec 2025, the current 2025-cycle code-adoption ordinance) names "the Building Official (City Services Department)" seven times across every adopted code chapter (Building, Mechanical, Plumbing, Electrical, Fire, Energy, Green Building, Residential, Referenced Standards, Historical, Existing, and the newly added Wildland-Urban Interface Code). Ordinance No. 552 (LMC Ch. 15.08, the AB 2188 streamlined-solar ordinance) repeatedly names the "City of Lindsay City Services Building Division" as the body that adopts the standard plan/checklist, issues the permit, and performs the single required inspection. The City's own "City Services" department page independently confirms it is "comprised of" Building/construction oversight among Streets, Parks, Engineering, Water/Wastewater — there is no separate Building or Community Development department. Confidence is not higher because I could not verify a codified definitional hook (e.g., a section formally vesting "Building Official" duties in City Services) beyond the ordinances' own recital language, and because the municipal code's live TOC/tree browser (lindsay.municipalcodeonline.com) blocks anonymous read access, so this is built from the ordinance PDFs and department pages rather than the consolidated code text itself.

https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/municipalcodeonline.com-new/lindsay/ordinances/documents/1766419204_Ord%20700%20Updated%20Building%20Code%202025.pdf

Permit required
Yes95%
Permit cost
$450.00 flat for residential systems 1-15 kW, plus $15.00 per kW for each kW above 15 kW75%
Plan review
Same day for over-the-counter submittal; 1 to 3 business days for electronic submittal (for systems eligible for the expedited/streamlined review)90%
Portal
None found — no dedicated online permit portal (e.g., Accela, eTRAKiT, SolarAPP+, OpenGov). Applications are submitted on the City's paper "Application for Permit/Plan Check" form,78%
Electrical code
202380%
Own placard wording
No78%
Booking an inspection
Phone or email/fax to the City Services Department, (559) 562-7102 Ext 4 (fax (559) 562-5748) — inferred,55%
Labels & placards for this authority

Wording 78%

No

Size, colour & material 78%

No

Where they go None%

What the utility wants on top None%

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Tulare County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of Lindsay · city
Solar Requirements
Authority Contact
Address
150 N Mirage Ave, Lindsay, CA 93247
Main Phone
559-562-7102
Building Department
Department
City Services Department
Direct Phone
559-562-7102 ext. 4
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
phone
Request an inspection
Notes
Call 559-562-7102 ext. 4 during business hours (8AM–4PM) to schedule a final solar inspection. Submit Solar Plan Attachment D with building permit application for solar installations. No online inspection scheduling portal found. City Hall address is 251 E. Honolulu St., Lindsay, CA 93247; City Services (building) office is at 150 N Mirage Ave. (collected Jul 2026)