City of Los Altos
Santa Clara County
City of Los Altos is a city authority in the State of California, serving 31,625 residents. 3,603 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — SolarApp+-eligible systems: instant issuance after payment. Standard route: up to 5 business days for completeness verification (Permit Submittal Process page) /… Q18 Where you file — eTrakit (trakit.losaltosca.gov) for permit application/inspection scheduling; SolarApp+ (gosolarapp.org) for the automated solar plan review/payment step that feeds… Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $314.57 flat for residential systems 15 kW or less; tiered above that ($10.48/kW from 15-50kW, $524.28 + $5.24/kW above 50kW, same rate above 250kW).92% source
- Plan review turnaround
- SolarApp+-eligible systems: instant issuance after payment. Standard route: up to 5 business days for completeness verification (Permit Submittal Process page) / 2-4 business days for initial…70% source
- Key document
- inference from adopted platform cited by 6 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · authority's own page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both (Building & Electrical, self-performed); Fire Code delegated to Santa Clara County Fire Department by MMC 12.22.020(a) 92% · ordinance
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 78% · fee schedule + permit application
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 92% · ordinance
- Is there a historic-district review? Conditional -- only for properties individually listed on the city's Historic Resources Inventory (HRI). MMC 14.93.050 requires a Historic Alteration Permit for any alteration of exterior architectural features of an HRI-listed property; the residential exemption list (swimming pools, fences/walls, minor accessory structures, landscaping) does not name solar panels, so no PV carve-out was found for HRI-listed parcels specifically. Non-HRI-listed residential parcels (the large majority) have no historic review at all. 60% · ordinance
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 82% · ordinance (control-proven absence)
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No 62% · ordinance (control-checked absence)
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No codified kW/system-size cap exists in Title 12 (control-proven absence -- 'kilowatt', '65850', '2188', 'expedited' all 0 hits across every Building/Electrical/Fire/Energy/Green Building chapter, against a passing 'electrical' positive control and 'zzqqx' fabricated control). Separately, MMC 14.66.240(E) (zoning) gives solar thermal and photovoltaic panels a height allowance: they 'may project not more than twelve (12) feet above the roof and the permitted building height', and are explicitly excluded from the 4% rooftop-equipment coverage cap that applies to other rooftop equipment. 80% · ordinance
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 78% · permit application
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 88% · authority's own page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 68% · permit application
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? For SolarApp+-eligible systems: a SolarApp+-approved plan set plus the SolarApp+ Approval Document/number, uploaded to an eTrakit contractor account. For the standard route (e.g. ground-mount/ballasted, ineligible for SolarApp+): the completed Building Permit Application (PV/EV/ESS box) plus full plan set submitted electronically per the general Permit Submittal Process; no PV-specific line-item checklist (unlike ADU/New SFD/Additions, which each have a dedicated 'Submittal Requirements' PDF) was found published. 65% · authority's own page
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic only; hard copies not accepted 85% · authority's own page
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes (inferred) 55% · inference from adopted platform
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? eTrakit (trakit.losaltosca.gov) for permit application/inspection scheduling; SolarApp+ (gosolarapp.org) for the automated solar plan review/payment step that feeds into eTrakit. 90% · authority's own page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes, for SolarApp+-eligible systems 85% · authority's own page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $314.57 flat for residential systems 15 kW or less; tiered above that ($10.48/kW from 15-50kW, $524.28 + $5.24/kW above 50kW, same rate above 250kW). Standalone Energy Storage System permit is $419.43. 92% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered / per kW above a 15kW flat-fee threshold 92% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No -- appears to be a single combined fee 62% · fee schedule (inference from layout)
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? SolarApp+-eligible systems: instant issuance after payment. Standard route: up to 5 business days for completeness verification (Permit Submittal Process page) / 2-4 business days for initial processing (Building page) before routing to plan review; no stated SLA for the substantive plan-check turnaround itself. 70% · authority's own page
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 365 days from issuance (12 months per the codified Building Code), or 180 days since the last signed inspection, whichever is sooner; one 6-month extension available at the Building Official's discretion. 82% · ordinance
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) 90% · authority's own document
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit (final AHJ inspection is a precondition for utility Permission to Operate) 75% · utility tariff
28 questions answered against City of Los Altos’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Los Altos Development Services/Building Division issues residential building and electrical permits directly (in-house), confirmed by its own Building, SolarApp+, Forms & Handouts and fee-schedule pages, none of which reference a contracted plan-check firm.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/193/Building
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both (Building & Electrical, self-performed); Fire Code delegated to Santa Clara County Fire Department by MMC 12.22.020(a)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building page describes in-house plan check/inspection staff on the city domain (BLDPermit@losaltosca.gov); the codified fire-code enforcement delegation to SCCFD is verbatim in the municipal code.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/los_altos/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT12BUCO_CH12.22FICO
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFY2026-27 Fee Schedule has a dedicated 'Solar/Photovoltaic Permit' line item with residential and commercial tiers, and the SolarApp+ page describes the permit-issuance process.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2840/Fee-Schedule-Fiscal-Year-2627-PDF
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe fee schedule carries a single 'Solar/Photovoltaic Permit' fee line distinct from the generic 'Electrical, Mechanical or Plumbing Permit' line, and the standard Building Permit Application form has one combined 'PV/EV/ESS' project-type checkbox rather than separate building/electrical applications; not stated explicitly as 'combined' anywhere.
fee schedule + permit application checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2840/Fee-Schedule-Fiscal-Year-2627-PDF
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherSolarApp+'s automated path requires 'Licensed contractors only', but the general Building Permit Application - Residential form (used for the non-SolarApp+ route, e.g. ground-mount/ballasted systems) includes a standard Owner-Builder Declaration citing B&P Code Sec. 7044, so a homeowner may self-permit outside the automated tool.
permit application checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/203/Permit-Application---Residential-PDF
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolarApp+ page states plainly: 'Active Los Altos Business License is required' as an eligibility condition to submit.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/199/SolarApp
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe standard Residential Building Permit Application includes an Owner-Builder Declaration (B&P Code Sec. 7044/7031.5) applicable to the PV/EV/ESS project-type checkbox on the same form; the SolarApp+ automated tool itself is licensed-contractor-only, so self-permit is only available via the standard (non-SolarApp+) route, most relevant for ground-mount/ballasted systems that are ineligible for SolarApp+ anyway.
permit application checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/203/Permit-Application---Residential-PDF
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
For SolarApp+-eligible systems: a SolarApp+-approved plan set plus the SolarApp+ Approval Document/number, uploaded to an eTrakit contractor account. For the standard route (e.g. ground-mount/ballasted, ineligible for SolarApp+): the completed Building Permit Application (PV/EV/ESS box) plus full plan set submitted electronically per the general Permit Submittal Process; no PV-specific line-item checklist (unlike ADU/New SFD/Additions, which each have a dedicated 'Submittal Requirements' PDF) was found published.
Why the confidence is not higherSolarApp+ page gives the automated-path steps explicitly; the standard route is inferred from the general Permit Submittal Process page and the residential application form since no solar-specific checklist PDF exists on the Forms & Handouts page.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/199/SolarApp
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic only; hard copies not accepted
Why the confidence is not higherPermit Submittal Process page: 'Hard copy submittals will not be accepted at City Hall... Digital plans and documents must be PDF, with a 250 MB max'; complete plan set as one PDF, supplemental documents as a separate PDF. This is the general building-submittal rule, not solar-specific, but SolarApp+ is likewise entirely electronic (uploaded to the SolarApp+/eTrakit portals).
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/198/Permit-Submittal-Process
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedForms & Handouts page (no dedicated 'Solar Submittal Requirements' PDF exists, unlike ADU/New SFD/Additions which each have one); Permit Submittal Process page (electronic-format rules only, no site-plan content list); SolarApp+ page (eligibility criteria only)
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes (inferred)
Why the confidence is not higherNo city-authored document states this requirement explicitly for Los Altos; inferred because the city's adopted automated-review tool, SolarApp+, structurally requires an electrical/one-line diagram as part of its standardized national submittal package, and the city's own SolarApp+ page directs applicants into that tool without describing an alternate, lesser package.
inference from adopted platform checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/199/SolarApp
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedForms & Handouts page and SolarApp+ page -- no city-authored document states string/conductor calculation requirements for residential PV
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMMC Title 12 Building Code adoption/amendments (12.06) and Forms & Handouts page -- no structural PE-stamp threshold specific to solar or general residential work was found
https://library.municode.com/ca/los_altos/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT12BUCO_CH12.06BUCO
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMMC Title 12 Electrical Code (12.10, single adopting section only) and Forms & Handouts page -- no electrical PE-stamp threshold found
https://library.municode.com/ca/los_altos/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT12BUCO_CH12.10ELCO
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$314.57 flat for residential systems 15 kW or less; tiered above that ($10.48/kW from 15-50kW, $524.28 + $5.24/kW above 50kW, same rate above 250kW). Standalone Energy Storage System permit is $419.43.
Why the confidence is not higherFY2026-27 Fee Schedule (effective 1 Jul 2026, PDF CreationDate 22 Jun 2026 -- current), Building Division, 'Solar/Photovoltaic Permit' section.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2840/Fee-Schedule-Fiscal-Year-2627-PDF
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered / per kW above a 15kW flat-fee threshold
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule shows a flat $314.57 base for residential systems up to 15kW, then an explicit per-kW rate for capacity above each tier boundary (15/50/250 kW).
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2840/Fee-Schedule-Fiscal-Year-2627-PDF
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No -- appears to be a single combined fee
Why the confidence is not higherThe fee schedule lists 'Building Plan Check 135%' and 'Energy Plan Check (Title 24) 25%' as general percentage-of-permit-fee line items in the Plan Check section, but the 'Solar/Photovoltaic Permit' fee is listed as its own separate section immediately after, not as a percentage add-on -- read as a single stand-alone tiered fee rather than being additionally subject to the 135%/25% plan-check multipliers. Not stated explicitly either way.
fee schedule (inference from layout) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2840/Fee-Schedule-Fiscal-Year-2627-PDF
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
SolarApp+-eligible systems: instant issuance after payment. Standard route: up to 5 business days for completeness verification (Permit Submittal Process page) / 2-4 business days for initial processing (Building page) before routing to plan review; no stated SLA for the substantive plan-check turnaround itself.
Why the confidence is not higherTwo city pages give slightly different day-counts for the front-end completeness step (5 vs 2-4 business days); neither states a turnaround for full plan review on non-SolarApp+ submittals.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/199/SolarApp
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
365 days from issuance (12 months per the codified Building Code), or 180 days since the last signed inspection, whichever is sooner; one 6-month extension available at the Building Official's discretion.
Why the confidence is not higherCodified MMC 12.06.030 (CBC 105.5 local amendment, Ord. 2025-542, 10-28-2025) states 12 months from issuance/last work with one possible 180-day extension; the city's 'Required Inspections for Residential Construction' handout (dated 4 Jun 2025) states '365 days of permit issuance, or 180 days of the last signed inspection' -- consistent, not solar-specific.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/los_altos/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT12BUCO_CH12.06BUCO
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
eTrakit (trakit.losaltosca.gov) for permit application/inspection scheduling; SolarApp+ (gosolarapp.org) for the automated solar plan review/payment step that feeds into eTrakit.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth portals and the workflow linking them are described on the city's own SolarApp+ and Inspections pages.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/199/SolarApp
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes, for SolarApp+-eligible systems
Why the confidence is not higherSolarApp+ page: 'SolarApp+ will instantly issue the permit after payment is complete'; the entire workflow (application, upload, payment, inspection scheduling) runs through SolarApp+ and eTrakit without an in-person step described.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/199/SolarApp
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed from two of the city's own Building Division handouts (not PowerToChoose): 'Required Inspections for Residential Construction' ('Deliver electric release to P.G. & E. to complete meter connection to panel') and 'Residential Final Inspection Requirements' ('Permanent electric meter connection from PG&E is required').
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/228/Required-Inspections-for-Residential-Construction-PDF
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit (final AHJ inspection is a precondition for utility Permission to Operate)
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E's own Electric Rule 21 tariff (downloaded and grepped in this run, current per its August 2025 effective-date stamp), Section F.13.b: PTO is normally processed only after PG&E receives 'evidence of Applicant's final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority having jurisdiction over the Generating Facility.' This is utility-level, not Los Altos-specific.
utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherMMC 14.77 (Design Review), listing improvements not subject to design review, explicitly names 'solar installations' alongside reroofing/mechanical/electrical upgrades as exempt (Ord. No. 2025-534, 7-8-2025). This is the 'explicit exemption' shape (cf. West Hollywood), not a silent gap.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/los_altos/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT14ZO_CH14.77DERE
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Conditional -- only for properties individually listed on the city's Historic Resources Inventory (HRI). MMC 14.93.050 requires a Historic Alteration Permit for any alteration of exterior architectural features of an HRI-listed property; the residential exemption list (swimming pools, fences/walls, minor accessory structures, landscaping) does not name solar panels, so no PV carve-out was found for HRI-listed parcels specifically. Non-HRI-listed residential parcels (the large majority) have no historic review at all.
Why the confidence is not higherCode text is explicit about the permit trigger and the exemption list, but is silent on whether rooftop PV specifically counts as an 'exterior architectural feature' -- this is the 'no carve-out' shape (cf. Los Gatos/Claremont/Beverly Hills), flagged as inference on scope rather than a directly-stated PV rule.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/los_altos/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT14ZO_CH14.93HIPR
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherControl-proven absence: searched all fetched Title 12 Buildings & Construction chapters (Admin, Building, Residential, Electrical, Energy, Green Building, Fire) for 'wind'/'windstorm'/'certification' -- no windstorm-certification concept found anywhere (positive control 'electrical' = 60 hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx' = 0 hits, confirming the search itself worked). California does not use a TDI-style windstorm-certification regime.
ordinance (control-proven absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/los_altos/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT12BUCO
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherMMC 14.80 (Use Permits) has zero hits for 'solar'/'photovoltaic' (checked directly), and the Design Review exemption at 14.77 and state ministerial-review law (Gov. Code 65850.5) both point away from any discretionary Council/SUP step for a compliant rooftop system; no explicit statement that a SUP is never required for solar was found, so this is inference from absence rather than a direct rule.
ordinance (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/los_altos/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT14ZO_CH14.80USPE
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No codified kW/system-size cap exists in Title 12 (control-proven absence -- 'kilowatt', '65850', '2188', 'expedited' all 0 hits across every Building/Electrical/Fire/Energy/Green Building chapter, against a passing 'electrical' positive control and 'zzqqx' fabricated control). Separately, MMC 14.66.240(E) (zoning) gives solar thermal and photovoltaic panels a height allowance: they 'may project not more than twelve (12) feet above the roof and the permitted building height', and are explicitly excluded from the 4% rooftop-equipment coverage cap that applies to other rooftop equipment.
Why the confidence is not higherThe size-cap absence is control-proven across the full Buildings & Construction title; the 12-foot height allowance is a direct, dated (Ord. 2017-436) codified zoning provision naming solar panels specifically -- unusually generous compared to the 12-inch allowances seen in other CA cities.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/los_altos/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT14ZO_CH14.66GESTEX
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 96% · ordinance
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (incorporating the 2024 IBC) 96% · ordinance
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (incorporating the 2024 IFC) 96% · ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 95% · ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The as-amended 2025 California Building/Residential/Electrical/Fire/Energy/Green Building Codes (each incorporating 2023 NEC / 2024 IBC/IFC as applicable); for SolarApp+-eligible systems, SolarApp+'s own automated code-compliance engine performs the check against those same code editions. 80% · authority's own page + ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Los Altos on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, per NEC 690.12 as adopted through the 2025 CEC (based on the 2023 NEC); no local amendment modifies rapid shutdown. 68% · ordinance (inference)
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 78% · ordinance + fire authority page (control-proven absence)
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No 78% · ordinance + fire authority page (control-proven absence)
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes, in a limited way -- PG&E's Electric Rule 21 requires that where a visible manual disconnect is required, it must 'include markings or signage that clearly indicates open and closed positions' and allow visible verification of separation. 75% · utility tariff
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Not specified with a distance from the meter in any city or SCCFD document. PG&E's public Rule 21 tariff requires only that a required visible/manual disconnect be reachable near the Point of Interconnection and carry open/closed markings -- no specific foot-measurement from the meter is given in the public tariff. 52% · utility tariff (partial)
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, under conditions codified from the 2025 California Fire Code Section 1207.11 (MMC 12.22.080): ESS must be in a detached garage/accessory structure; an attached garage separated from living space per CRC R302.6; outdoors/exterior wall at least 3 ft from doors and windows and not below/above emergency escape openings; or an enclosed utility closet/basement/storage space with finished or noncombustible walls (5/8-inch Type X gypsum if unfinished wood-framed). ESS is prohibited in sleeping rooms or spaces opening directly into them. Group R-3/R-4 installations require smoke alarms per Sec. 907.2.11 plus an interconnected heat alarm (or listed heat detector, or a sprinkler-triggered alarm) wherever a smoke alarm cannot be installed. 90% · ordinance
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes 85% · fee schedule
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes (by inference) 72% · ordinance (inference)
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No local amendment on service-upgrade sizing or busbar rating was found 78% · ordinance (control-proven absence)
20 questions answered against City of Los Altos’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherMMC 12.10.010: 'The 2025 California Electrical Code... incorporates and amends the National Electrical Code 2023 Edition' (Ord. No. 2025-542, 10-28-2025).
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/los_altos/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT12BUCO_CH12.10ELCO
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (incorporating the 2024 IBC)
Why the confidence is not higherMMC 12.06.010, adopted by Ord. No. 2025-542 (10-28-2025); the city's Permit Submittal Process page independently confirms the cutover date ('Last day to submit under the 2022 Codes will be December 22nd, 2025').
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/los_altos/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT12BUCO_CH12.06BUCO
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (incorporating the 2024 IFC)
Why the confidence is not higherMMC 12.22.010, adopted by Ord. No. 2025-542 (10-28-2025).
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/los_altos/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT12BUCO_CH12.22FICO
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherMMC 12.06.020/12.22.080/12.22.015 contain extensive, express-finding-backed local amendments (sprinkler thresholds, fire-detection/ESS location rules, permit-expiration administrative clarifications, etc.), all dated to the same Ord. No. 2025-542 (10-28-2025).
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/los_altos/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT12BUCO_CH12.22FICO
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The as-amended 2025 California Building/Residential/Electrical/Fire/Energy/Green Building Codes (each incorporating 2023 NEC / 2024 IBC/IFC as applicable); for SolarApp+-eligible systems, SolarApp+'s own automated code-compliance engine performs the check against those same code editions.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the adoption ordinances with the city's own SolarApp+ page description of the tool's function.
authority's own page + ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/199/SolarApp
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
No local amendment on service-upgrade sizing or busbar rating was found
Why the confidence is not higherControl-proven absence: MMC Chapter 12.10 (Electrical Code) contains only the single adopting section (12.10.010) with no amendment sections at all -- unlike the Building and Fire Code chapters, which run to dozens of amendment sections each.
ordinance (control-proven absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/los_altos/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT12BUCO_CH12.10ELCO
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedForms & Handouts page (no PV structural-criteria document, unlike some CA cities that publish one) and MMC Title 12 Building Code amendments -- no mounting-system or attachment-spacing rule specific to PV found
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCodified Fire Code local-amendment section MMC 12.22.080 (73,000+ characters, fully read) -- zero hits for 'ridge' or PV-related 'setback'; the base, un-amended 2025 CFC Section 1204 (Photovoltaic Systems) would govern by default but its text was not independently pulled in this run
https://library.municode.com/ca/los_altos/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT12BUCO_CH12.22FICO
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, per NEC 690.12 as adopted through the 2025 CEC (based on the 2023 NEC); no local amendment modifies rapid shutdown.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the unamended electrical-code adoption (MMC 12.10, which contains no local amendments at all, confirmed control-checked) plus the statewide mandatory application of 2023 NEC 690.12; not independently verified against the base 2025 CEC text in this run.
ordinance (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/los_altos/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT12BUCO_CH12.10ELCO
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMMC Title 12 (all chapters) and all four of SCCFD's fire-prevention pages (Standards & Specifications, Applications & Forms, Municipal Codes & Fees, Information Sheets) -- 'placard' returns zero hits everywhere searched (control-checked); default NEC 690.56/705.10 labeling would apply without local elaboration, but no authority document was found describing the specific placards required
https://www.sccfd.org/fire-prevention/standards-specifications/
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherControl-proven absence: 'placard' = 0 hits across every fetched Title 12 chapter and across all four of SCCFD's own fire-prevention pages (Standards & Specifications, Applications & Forms, Municipal Codes & Fees, Information Sheets), with 'fire' positive control passing (97-114 hits per page) and 'zzqqx' fabricated control at 0.
ordinance + fire authority page (control-proven absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sccfd.org/fire-prevention/standards-specifications/
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame control-proven absence as Q39 -- no local placard-wording, letter-height, colour or material spec exists in the city's own code or on any SCCFD fire-prevention page.
ordinance + fire authority page (control-proven absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sccfd.org/fire-prevention/standards-specifications/
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q38/39/40 -- no site-plan/facility-map placard requirement found in any city or SCCFD document beyond the generic NEC 705.10 default
https://www.sccfd.org/fire-prevention/standards-specifications/
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes, in a limited way -- PG&E's Electric Rule 21 requires that where a visible manual disconnect is required, it must 'include markings or signage that clearly indicates open and closed positions' and allow visible verification of separation.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly grepped from the current PG&E Electric Rule 21 tariff PDF (Advice 7692-E, effective 29 Aug 2025) downloaded in this run, Section on Visible Disconnect Required. This is a utility-wide requirement, not Los Altos-specific, and applies 'when required by Distribution Provider's operating practices' rather than universally.
utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity Title 12 chapters, SCCFD fire-prevention pages, and PG&E's public Rule 21 tariff -- none specify exact label placement beyond PG&E's general 'near the Point of Interconnection' language for a required visible disconnect; the finer PG&E Greenbook spec (TD-2306M) is gated to PG&E job owners and was not reachable
https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedForms & Handouts page and MMC Title 12 -- no city-specific approved-equipment-list requirement found beyond the universal NEC/UL-listing baseline
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes, under conditions codified from the 2025 California Fire Code Section 1207.11 (MMC 12.22.080): ESS must be in a detached garage/accessory structure; an attached garage separated from living space per CRC R302.6; outdoors/exterior wall at least 3 ft from doors and windows and not below/above emergency escape openings; or an enclosed utility closet/basement/storage space with finished or noncombustible walls (5/8-inch Type X gypsum if unfinished wood-framed). ESS is prohibited in sleeping rooms or spaces opening directly into them. Group R-3/R-4 installations require smoke alarms per Sec. 907.2.11 plus an interconnected heat alarm (or listed heat detector, or a sprinkler-triggered alarm) wherever a smoke alarm cannot be installed.
Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim codified local amendment text, dated to Ord. No. 2025-542 (10-28-2025), current cycle.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/los_altos/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT12BUCO_CH12.22FICO
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFY2026-27 Fee Schedule lists a standalone 'Energy Storage System' permit fee ($419.43) as a Standalone Building Permit, separate from the Solar/Photovoltaic Permit line, implying a distinct ESS permit/inspection.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2840/Fee-Schedule-Fiscal-Year-2627-PDF
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes (by inference)
Why the confidence is not higherMMC 14.02 defines 'Structure' broadly as 'anything constructed or erected which requires a location on the ground' with no exclusion for solar equipment, and the city's own SolarApp+ eligibility rules state 'No ballasted or ground mount systems' may use the automated path -- meaning any ground-mount system must go through the standard structure/plan-check process. No explicit 'ground mount = structure' sentence naming PV was found, so this is inference from the general definition plus the SolarApp+ carve-out (the same broad-definition shape seen elsewhere, e.g. Pacifica).
ordinance (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/los_altos/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT14ZO_CH14.02DE
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Not specified with a distance from the meter in any city or SCCFD document. PG&E's public Rule 21 tariff requires only that a required visible/manual disconnect be reachable near the Point of Interconnection and carry open/closed markings -- no specific foot-measurement from the meter is given in the public tariff.
Why the confidence is not higherThe finer meter-proximity spec, if any, would live in PG&E's internal 'Greenbook' DG documents (e.g. TD-2306M), which are gated to PG&E job owners and were not accessible in this run; answering from the public Rule 21 tariff only, at reduced confidence.
utility tariff (partial) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal (eTrakit) for building inspections; Phone for Fire (Santa Clara County Fire Prevention, 408-378-4010) and Stormwater/Engineering (650-947-2780) inspections. 90% · authority's own page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? AM/PM windows offered: mornings 8:30am-12pm, afternoons 12:30-3:30pm. No same-day scheduling or day-of time-window call described ('the inspector will not call the day of the scheduled inspection to provide a time window'). 90% · authority's own page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes (building/electrical, in-house); fire final is Delegated to SCCFD and appears conditional on project type 78% · authority's own document
- If delegated, to whom? Santa Clara County Fire Department (for fire-code-triggered aspects only) 88% · authority's own page + ordinance
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? General residential sequence (not solar-specific): Foundation -> Underfloor/Rough -> Underfloor Insulation -> Exterior Shear/Roof Nailing -> Rough All (framing/electrical/plumbing/mechanical/fire sprinklers) -> Insulation & Misc -> Drywall/Lath/Interior -> Electric Meter Release -> Final. For a simple rooftop PV retrofit on an existing structure, most of these stages would not apply; realistically only a Rough Electrical (if exposed wiring/panel work occurs) and Final/Meter-Release inspection would be triggered, but no PV-specific abbreviated sequence is published. 65% · authority's own document (inference)
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes, but general rather than solar-specific -- the city publishes 'Required Inspections for Residential Construction' and 'Residential Final Inspection Requirements' handouts covering all residential work. 68% · authority's own document
- What must be on site at inspection? Permit card, approved plan set, prior correction notices, owner's manuals for all installed equipment/systems on site; for SolarApp+ jobs, the SolarApp+ Approval Document/approval number generated during the online application. 78% · authority's own document
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (signed final inspection on the permit card); for a new dwelling, that same signed record 'serves as the official Certificate of Occupancy' -- not applicable in that form to a PV retrofit on an existing home, which would receive a signed final only. 70% · authority's own document (inference)
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer (applicant), on behalf of the customer, submits the interconnection request and evidence of the AHJ's final inspection clearance to PG&E to obtain Permission to Operate. 62% · utility tariff (inference)
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $260.04 92% · fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections are issued via a written comment letter after plan check; the applicant must submit a response letter addressing each comment from every reviewing department, resubmit revised plans (clouded/delta-marked), and resubmit through the same electronic channel. In the field, revisions/field changes must be approved by the City plans examiner before re-inspection. 72% · authority's own page
14 questions answered against City of Los Altos’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal (eTrakit) for building inspections; Phone for Fire (Santa Clara County Fire Prevention, 408-378-4010) and Stormwater/Engineering (650-947-2780) inspections.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the city's Inspections page.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/196/Inspections
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspections page (states booking method and AM/PM windows but no stated advance-notice lead time in business days)
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
AM/PM windows offered: mornings 8:30am-12pm, afternoons 12:30-3:30pm. No same-day scheduling or day-of time-window call described ('the inspector will not call the day of the scheduled inspection to provide a time window').
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the city's Inspections page.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/196/Inspections
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes (building/electrical, in-house); fire final is Delegated to SCCFD and appears conditional on project type
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division performs its own final inspection (confirmed across the Final Inspection Requirements and Required Inspections handouts); those same handouts require 'S.C. Fire Department... finals' to be completed before the building final is requested, and the Inspections page frames fire inspections as booked 'if applicable to your project' -- consistent with fire review not always being triggered for a simple rooftop PV retrofit with no sprinkler/ESS component.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/225/Final-Inspection-Requirements-PDF
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Santa Clara County Fire Department (for fire-code-triggered aspects only)
Why the confidence is not higherMMC 12.22.020(a) codifies the delegation; the city's Inspections page independently gives SCCFD's own phone number for scheduling fire inspections.
authority's own page + ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/196/Inspections
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
General residential sequence (not solar-specific): Foundation -> Underfloor/Rough -> Underfloor Insulation -> Exterior Shear/Roof Nailing -> Rough All (framing/electrical/plumbing/mechanical/fire sprinklers) -> Insulation & Misc -> Drywall/Lath/Interior -> Electric Meter Release -> Final. For a simple rooftop PV retrofit on an existing structure, most of these stages would not apply; realistically only a Rough Electrical (if exposed wiring/panel work occurs) and Final/Meter-Release inspection would be triggered, but no PV-specific abbreviated sequence is published.
Why the confidence is not higherThis sequence comes from the general 'Required Inspections for Residential Construction' handout, which covers new construction end-to-end; applying it to a PV retrofit is an inference, not a stated PV-specific sequence.
authority's own document (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/228/Required-Inspections-for-Residential-Construction-PDF
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRequired Inspections for Residential Construction handout -- describes a general new-construction sequence including a roof-sheathing/'Exterior Shear and Roof Nailing' inspection for new roofs, but no PV-specific statement on whether a rough-in/mid-roof inspection is required for a panel retrofit on an existing roof
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspections page, Required Inspections handout, Final Inspection Requirements handout -- none states explicitly that the inspector verifies labels/equipment listings as a discrete checked item
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes, but general rather than solar-specific -- the city publishes 'Required Inspections for Residential Construction' and 'Residential Final Inspection Requirements' handouts covering all residential work.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth PDFs are current (dated 4 Jun 2025 and 3 Dec 2025 respectively) and published on the Forms & Handouts page, but neither is a PV-specific checklist.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/225/Final-Inspection-Requirements-PDF
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Permit card, approved plan set, prior correction notices, owner's manuals for all installed equipment/systems on site; for SolarApp+ jobs, the SolarApp+ Approval Document/approval number generated during the online application.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the 'Residential Final Inspection Requirements' handout's general on-site-documents list with the SolarApp+ page's description of the approval document generated during application.
authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/225/Final-Inspection-Requirements-PDF
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$260.04
Why the confidence is not higherFY2026-27 Fee Schedule, 'Inspections' section, 'Re-inspection Fee $260.04'.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2840/Fee-Schedule-Fiscal-Year-2627-PDF
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Corrections are issued via a written comment letter after plan check; the applicant must submit a response letter addressing each comment from every reviewing department, resubmit revised plans (clouded/delta-marked), and resubmit through the same electronic channel. In the field, revisions/field changes must be approved by the City plans examiner before re-inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the Permit Submittal Process page's re-submittal procedure with the Required Inspections handout's field-revision rule; described generally, not solar-specific.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/198/Permit-Submittal-Process
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (signed final inspection on the permit card); for a new dwelling, that same signed record 'serves as the official Certificate of Occupancy' -- not applicable in that form to a PV retrofit on an existing home, which would receive a signed final only.
Why the confidence is not higherLanguage is from the general 'Required Inspections for Residential Construction' handout describing new-construction final sign-off; applied to a PV retrofit context by inference.
authority's own document (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.losaltosca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/228/Required-Inspections-for-Residential-Construction-PDF
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer (applicant), on behalf of the customer, submits the interconnection request and evidence of the AHJ's final inspection clearance to PG&E to obtain Permission to Operate.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from PG&E's Rule 21 process description (the Applicant, not the AHJ, is the party who submits the Interconnection Request and supporting evidence); no Los Altos-specific document states who is responsible for this step.
utility tariff (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Los Altos against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Los Altos is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (self-performed, in-house Development Services Department / Building Division; eTrakit + SolarApp+); Fire Code enforcement is delegated by codified ordinance to the Santa Clara County Fire Department (MMC 12.22.020(a): 'The California Fire Code shall be enforced by the Santa Clara County Fire Department...')
- Delegated to
- Santa Clara County Fire Department (fire code only)
- Overridden by
- State law constrains but does not remove city jurisdiction: Gov. Code 65850.5/.52 require ministerial, non-discretionary review of compliant residential rooftop PV (consistent with MMC 14.77's own solar exemption from design review); Civil Code 714/4600 (Solar Rights Act) preempts HOA/CC&R restrictions; AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) freezes new more-restrictive residential building-standard amendments 1 Oct 2025-1 Jun 2031 -- notable because the city's own Ord. 2025-542 (10-28-2025), which added a new 'Single Family Building Remodel Energy Reach Code' electric-readiness mandate to the Energy Code, was adopted AFTER the freeze took effect; validity not independently verified in this run and is flagged as an open question, not asserted.
- Why not higher
- City's own SolarApp+ and Building pages describe an in-house Building Division performing plan check/inspection under Development Services; MMC 12.22.020(a) is a codified, verbatim delegation of fire-code enforcement to SCCFD, cross-confirmed by the city's Inspections page (fire inspections booked by calling SCCFD Fire Prevention at 408-378-4010) and by SCCFD's own overview page naming Los Altos as a served community. No county building-department involvement was found because Los Altos is incorporated.
https://library.municode.com/ca/los_altos/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT12BUCO_CH12.22FICO
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $314.57 flat for residential systems 15 kW or less; tiered above that ($10.48/kW from 15-50kW, $524.28 + $5.24/kW above 50kW, same rate above 250kW).92%
- Plan review
- SolarApp+-eligible systems: instant issuance after payment. Standard route: up to 5 business days for completeness verification (Permit Submittal Process page) / 2-4 business days for…70%
- Portal
- eTrakit (trakit.losaltosca.gov) for permit application/inspection scheduling; SolarApp+ (gosolarapp.org) for the automated solar plan review/payment step that feeds into eTrakit.90%
- Electrical code
- 202396%
- Own placard wording
- No78%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal (eTrakit) for building inspections; Phone for Fire (Santa Clara County Fire Prevention, 408-378-4010) and Stormwater/Engineering (650-947-2780) inspections.90%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 78%
No
Size, colour & material 78%
No
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top 75%
Yes, in a limited way -- PG&E's Electric Rule 21 requires that where a visible manual disconnect is required, it must 'include markings or signage that clearly indicates open and closed positions' and allow visible verification of separation.
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.