City of Maricopa
Kern County
City of Maricopa is a city authority in the State of California, serving 1,026 residents. 67 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — 1 business day for walk-in applications; 1 to 3 business days for electronic submittals, 'when reasonable to do so' Q18 Where you file — Kern County Citizen Access (Accela) online permitting portal Q20
- Permit required
- Yes90% source
- Plan review turnaround
- 1 business day for walk-in applications; 1 to 3 business days for electronic submittals, 'when reasonable to do so'90% source
- Key document
- county code of ordinances cited by 6 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 82% · permit application form
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Delegated 85% · county code of ordinances
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 90% · county code of ordinances
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 70% · county code of ordinances
- Is there a historic-district review? Yes, conditionally 62% · zoning ordinance
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 55% · county code of ordinances
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Yes, conditionally -- a use permit can be required 88% · county code of ordinances
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No hard cap on residential systems; 10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal is only the eligibility threshold for the expedited/streamlined review path 82% · county code of ordinances
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 90% · county code of ordinances
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? No 78% · county code of ordinances
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 82% · permit application form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic submittal (email/internet/fax) is expressly allowed for the expedited solar process with no stated copy count; for a general (non-expedited) electrical permit filed on paper, KCC 17.24.140(B) requires 2 sets of plans at the Bakersfield office (3 sets at any other county office). 62% · county code of ordinances
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? A site/plot plan is part of Kern's general building-permit submittal practice; the county's solar-specific checklist required by KCC 17.57.030(A) to be 'posted on the county's internet website' would state exactly what it must show, but that page returned 'Access Denied' (Akamai block) when checked in this run and no Wayback capture of the current county solar-checklist page exists. 50% · county code of ordinances
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Kern County Citizen Access (Accela) online permitting portal 70% · permit portal
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 65% · county code of ordinances
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 1 business day for walk-in applications; 1 to 3 business days for electronic submittals, 'when reasonable to do so' 90% · county code of ordinances
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 5 years from date of issuance 88% · county code of ordinances
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) 75% · utility tariff
28 questions answered against City of Maricopa’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City of Maricopa is legally the AHJ for its incorporated territory, but performs no building/electrical function itself: its own posted 'Building Permit Application' is a verbatim Kern County Public Works Department, Building Inspection Division form (2700 M Street, Bakersfield), and the city's own government page lists Kern County Fire Department (a KCFD station sits at 801 Stanislaus St, within city limits) and Kern County Sheriff as its fire/police providers -- consistent with a ~1,100-population city that contracts field services to the county. No separate Maricopa building, electrical or fire code was found on any codifier.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 http://cityofmaricopa.wp.iescentral.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/05/Building-Permit-Application.pdf
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Delegated
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding AND electrical permitting/inspection are delegated to Kern County (Public Works Dept./Building Inspection Division, per the county form the city itself distributes); fire is delegated to Kern County Fire Department. Kern's own Electrical Code defines 'Building official' and 'Chief Electrical Inspector' as 'the director of the Public Works Department of the county of Kern, or his designee' (KCC 17.24.020(A)), which is the office performing this function for Maricopa.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.24ELCO
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherKern County Electrical Code 17.24.090 requires a permit 'from the building official' before installing/energizing electrical equipment, and Kern's small-residential-rooftop-solar chapter (17.57) exists specifically to process solar permit applications -- both premised on a permit being required.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.24ELCO
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherFor a qualifying small residential rooftop system, KCC 17.57.040(E) has the building official 'administratively approve the application and issue all required permits or authorizations' as a single action, rather than the applicant obtaining separate building and electrical permits.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.57SMREROSOENSYREPR
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherKCC 17.24.040: 'No person shall install, alter or repair electrical wiring unless he is qualified [C-10 licensed or supervised]...except that: A. A property owner may do electrical work on his own property; B. A homeowner or a member of his immediate family may do electrical work on his residence.'
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.24ELCO
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo local contractor pre-registration requirement was found in Kern's Building Regulations-General (Ch. 17.04) or Electrical Code (Ch. 17.24); the only licensing reference is the state C-10/CSLB requirement. Positive control ('electrical', 4-21 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) confirm the search of both chapters' full text was working.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.24ELCO
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherKCC 17.24.040(A)-(B) expressly permits a property owner (or immediate family member) to perform electrical work on their own residence without a C-10 license, and the county's own Owner-Builder declaration on its standard Building Permit Application (the same form the City of Maricopa distributes) provides the mechanism for an owner to be the permittee of record.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 http://cityofmaricopa.wp.iescentral.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/05/Building-Permit-Application.pdf
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedKern County's own solar submittal checklist, required to be published under KCC 17.57.030(A), at the county's website (kerncounty.com returned an Akamai 'Access Denied' page to direct fetch and to headless-Chrome rendering in this run; no Wayback Machine capture of a current county solar-checklist page was found); the City of Maricopa's own site hosts only a generic (non-solar-specific) Building Permit Application.
http://cityofmaricopa.wp.iescentral.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/05/Building-Permit-Application.pdf
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic submittal (email/internet/fax) is expressly allowed for the expedited solar process with no stated copy count; for a general (non-expedited) electrical permit filed on paper, KCC 17.24.140(B) requires 2 sets of plans at the Bakersfield office (3 sets at any other county office).
Why the confidence is not higherKCC 17.57.030(B) allows submittal 'by personal delivery, mail, or electronic means' with an electronic signature in lieu of handwritten; the 2/3-set paper rule comes from the general electrical-permit plan-check section, which may not apply once a system qualifies for the expedited path.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.57SMREROSOENSYREPR
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
A site/plot plan is part of Kern's general building-permit submittal practice; the county's solar-specific checklist required by KCC 17.57.030(A) to be 'posted on the county's internet website' would state exactly what it must show, but that page returned 'Access Denied' (Akamai block) when checked in this run and no Wayback capture of the current county solar-checklist page exists.
Why the confidence is not higherInference from the ordinance's own instruction that a checklist be developed and posted, combined with standard county submittal practice; the checklist's actual content requirement was not independently verified.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.57SMREROSOENSYREPR
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedKCC Ch. 17.24 (Electrical Code) general plans/specifications requirements (17.24.140-160) and Ch. 17.57 (solar chapter) full text, for an explicit one-line/three-line diagram requirement specific to rooftop solar; not stated in either.
https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.24ELCO
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame two chapters (17.24, 17.57) reviewed for Q11, for a string/conductor calculation requirement specific to solar; not addressed in either.
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedKCC Ch. 17.06 (Residential Code amendments) and Ch. 17.57 (solar chapter), for a structural PE-stamp threshold specific to rooftop PV; 17.57.040(A) only requires the applicant to self-verify structural adequacy 'through the use of standard engineering evaluation techniques,' without stating when a licensed engineer's stamp becomes mandatory.
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame chapters reviewed for Q13, for an electrical PE-stamp threshold specific to rooftop PV; not addressed.
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedKern County's current Master/ESS fee schedule (referenced only as a Board of Supervisors Resolution in KCC 17.04, not itself codified in Municode); kerncounty.com returned an Akamai 'Access Denied' page in this run, and all Wayback Machine captures of ESS/building fee-schedule PDFs found (co.kern.ca.us domain) predate 2020 and are stale.
https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.04BUREEN
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame fee-schedule search as Q15; the codified ordinance text states only that fees are 'a reasonable schedule of fees...as approved by the Board of Supervisors,' without stating the calculation method (flat/valuation/per-kW/tiered).
https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.04BUREEN
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherKCC 17.04's general fee-authority clause has the Board of Supervisors set 'a reasonable schedule of fees for permits, permit renewal, plan checking, processing applications, inspections and enforcement...' as distinct listed items, implying plan-check is billed separately from the permit fee itself, though the current dollar figures were not retrievable (see Q15/Q16 not_found).
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.04BUREEN
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
1 business day for walk-in applications; 1 to 3 business days for electronic submittals, 'when reasonable to do so'
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from KCC 17.57.040(B), the county's small-residential-rooftop-solar expedited review chapter.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.57SMREROSOENSYREPR
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
5 years from date of issuance
Why the confidence is not higherKCC 17.04 (general provisions) states 'permits issued under the provisions of this title shall expire five (5) years after the date of issuance,' and Kern's adopted 2025 California Residential Code expressly does NOT adopt the CRC's own default expiration section (R105.5) in its place (KCC 17.06.040(F)), confirming the 5-year figure is the operative local rule.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.04BUREEN
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Kern County Citizen Access (Accela) online permitting portal
Why the confidence is not higherThe county's building-permit citizen-access system is hosted on Accela at aca-prod.accela.com/KERNCO (agency code KERNCO); the county's main site (kerncounty.com) that would formally describe/link this portal returned an Akamai 'Access Denied' page to both direct fetch and headless-Chrome rendering in this run, so this is confirmed by the portal's own live existence rather than a first-party description page.
permit portal checked 2026-08-31 https://aca-prod.accela.com/KERNCO/Default.aspx
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedKern County Citizen Access (Accela) portal home page (aca-prod.accela.com/KERNCO) was reached and rendered, but whether a NEW solar permit application can be originated and fully completed online (versus requiring in-person/mail/email submission per KCC 17.57.030(B)) was not confirmed by interacting with the portal's actual application workflow in this run.
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E's own current Electric Preliminary Statement A (service-area/territory tariff) lists Kern County within PG&E's electric service territory (elevation-banded Territory 'W' for 'Under 1,000 feet'), and Maricopa sits on the San Joaquin Valley floor at roughly 900 ft elevation. This is a tariff-table inference (by county + elevation band), not a Maricopa-address-specific PG&E confirmation, so confidence is capped below the 80s.
utility tariff checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_PRELIM_A.pdf
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPG&E's Electric Rule 21 tariff (reviewed for Q42/Q48) and Kern's solar chapter (17.57) were checked; neither states where utility interconnection sits relative to permit issuance in the sequence (before/after/parallel/no dependency) for a Kern/Maricopa applicant specifically.
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMaricopa's 2007 Zoning Ordinance (full 196-page OCR text searched for HOA/architectural-review language) and Kern's solar chapter; no HOA or architectural-review-board approval requirement was found in either, but the zoning ordinance's Design Review chapter (17.2.80) was not read in full detail, so this is left open rather than recorded as a proven absence.
http://cityofmaricopa.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/02/Maricopa-Zoning-Ordinance.pdf
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Yes, conditionally
Why the confidence is not higherMaricopa's 2007 Zoning Ordinance (never amended since) defines a 'Historic Landmark' as 'Any object designated as an historic landmark by City Council action' and lists 'designated historic districts' among the specialized-area criteria considered under Design Review (Ch. 17.2.80). Historic review therefore applies only if the specific parcel carries such a designation, not city-wide.
zoning ordinance checked 2026-08-31 http://cityofmaricopa.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/02/Maricopa-Zoning-Ordinance.pdf
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherCalifornia does not use a Texas-TDI-style separate 'windstorm certification.' Wind loading for Kern County structures (including Maricopa via delegation) is addressed through standard structural design using the county's own locally-amended wind-speed map (KCC 17.06.120/17.06.130, Figure R301.2(2)A), not a stand-alone certificate.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.06RECO
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Yes, conditionally -- a use permit can be required
Why the confidence is not higherKCC 17.57.040(C)-(D): the building official's review is normally limited to the checklist/CBSC requirements, 'However, a building official shall also consider public health and safety and shall require a use permit if he/she makes a finding...that the solar energy system could have specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety'; that decision is appealable to the planning commission.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.57SMREROSOENSYREPR
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No hard cap on residential systems; 10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal is only the eligibility threshold for the expedited/streamlined review path
Why the confidence is not higherKCC 17.57.020(B)(1) defines a 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' (eligible for 1-3 day expedited review) as capped at 10kW AC / 30kW thermal; nothing in Title 17 caps residential systems above that size -- they are simply routed to standard (non-expedited) plan review.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.57SMREROSOENSYREPR
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (inferred) 70% · county code of ordinances
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code and California Residential Code (CCR Title 24, Parts 2 and 2.5) 92% · county code of ordinances
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (CCR Title 24 Part 9, based on the 2024 International Fire Code) 92% · county code of ordinances
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 95% · county code of ordinances
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building Standards Code (CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC/Energy/Green Building, CCR Title 24) as locally amended by Kern County Code Title 17, administered by the Kern County Public Works Dept./Building Inspection Division under its delegated authority for Maricopa; solar installations additionally carry the applicant's own structural/electrical self-verification duty under KCC 17.57.040(A). 82% · county code of ordinances
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Maricopa on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes -- rapid shutdown applies under NEC Art. 690.12, as carried by the 2023-NEC-based 2025 California Electrical Code now in force (see Q29) 65% · county code of ordinances
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 70% · county code of ordinances
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes -- PG&E's Electric Rule 21 requires a manually-operated, visible isolating disconnect switch near the Point of Interconnection with markings/signage clearly indicating open and closed positions, when required by PG&E's operating practices, in addition to whatever the AHJ requires under NEC 690/705. 65% · utility tariff
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? PG&E requires the visible isolating disconnect to be located near the Point of Interconnection and reachable by PG&E personnel 'quickly and conveniently 24 hours a day'; Rule 21 does not itself state a fixed distance from the utility meter. 55% · utility tariff
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 70% · county code of ordinances
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, subject to permitting -- batteries/ESS are permitted but regulated as a distinct fire-code activity 82% · county code of ordinances
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes -- both a construction permit and a separate operational permit are required for an ESS 85% · county code of ordinances
20 questions answered against City of Maricopa’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC (inferred)
Why the confidence is not higherKern adopted the '2025 Edition of the California Electrical Code' (CCR Title 24 Part 3) by Ord. No. G-9359 (11-4-25) as the 'Kern County Electrical Code' (KCC 17.24.060). The ordinance text does not itself say 'NEC 2023,' but California's 2025 Title 24 cycle is based on the 2023 NEC per the state's standard triennial adoption pattern, so this is a cycle-matching inference rather than an explicit citation.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.24ELCO
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code and California Residential Code (CCR Title 24, Parts 2 and 2.5)
Why the confidence is not higherKCC 17.08.010/17.06.030: Kern adopted 'the 2025 edition of the California Building Standards Code' Parts 2 (Building) and 2.5 (Residential) by Ord. No. G-9359, adopted 11-4-25, as the 'Kern County Building Code' / 'Kern County Residential Code.'
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.08BUCO
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (CCR Title 24 Part 9, based on the 2024 International Fire Code)
Why the confidence is not higherKCC 17.32: 'California Code of Regulations, Title 24, Part 9, 2025 Edition of the California Fire Code being that portion of the California Building Standards Code that imposes substantially the same requirements as...the International Fire Code, 2024 Edition...are hereby collectively declared to be the Kern County Fire Code,' adopted by Ord. No. G-9359, 11-4-25.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.32FICO
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherKern's Nov. 4, 2025 recodification (Ord. No. G-9359) carries extensive local amendments across every Title 17 chapter reviewed: e.g. a locally-derived wind-speed map (17.06.120/130) and snow-load table (17.06.140) replacing the base CRC figures, a grounding-electrode addition to CEC 250-50 (17.24.080), a 5-year permit-expiration rule replacing the CRC default (17.04, 17.06.040(F)), and a Fire Code exception letting fire apparatus access roads be modified/exempted for solar PV generation facilities (CFC 503.1.1 as amended).
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.04BUREEN
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Building Standards Code (CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC/Energy/Green Building, CCR Title 24) as locally amended by Kern County Code Title 17, administered by the Kern County Public Works Dept./Building Inspection Division under its delegated authority for Maricopa; solar installations additionally carry the applicant's own structural/electrical self-verification duty under KCC 17.57.040(A).
Why the confidence is not higherSynthesis of KCC 17.04, 17.06, 17.08, 17.24, 17.32, 17.56 and 17.57 (all adopted/amended by Ord. No. G-9359, 11-4-25).
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.04BUREEN
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedKCC Ch. 17.24 (Electrical Code) amendments (17.24.070-080) reviewed in full; only one amendment exists (grounding electrode system, 250-50) and it does not address service-upgrade sizing or the 120%-busbar rule, so no Kern-specific local rule beyond the base NEC/CEC provision was found.
https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.24ELCO
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedKCC Ch. 17.06 (Residential Code) amendments reviewed in full (17.06.010-320); no PV-specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing amendment exists (amendments cover wind/snow loads, foundations, masonry, garage separation, reroofing, etc., but not solar racking).
https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.06RECO
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedKCC Ch. 17.32 (Fire Code) amendments reviewed in full for 'setback'/'ridge'/'pathway' language; the only PV-related fire-code amendment found concerns fire-apparatus access ROADS for utility-scale 'solar photovoltaic power generation facilities' (503.1.1), not residential rooftop ridge setbacks/access pathways, and the underlying 2025 CFC's own default pathway section (605.11) was not independently pulled and cited in this run.
https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.32FICO
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes -- rapid shutdown applies under NEC Art. 690.12, as carried by the 2023-NEC-based 2025 California Electrical Code now in force (see Q29)
Why the confidence is not higherNo Kern-specific exemption from NEC 690.12 rapid shutdown was found in the Electrical Code amendments reviewed (17.24.070-080); this follows from the code edition established in Q29/Q30 rather than an explicit Kern citation naming rapid shutdown.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.24ELCO
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedKCC Ch. 17.32 (Fire Code, full text) and Ch. 17.04 (General Provisions, full text) both searched for 'placard'; zero hits in either (see Q39's proven absence of specified WORDING), but the underlying question of which placards the 2025 CEC/CFC require BY DEFAULT (Art. 690/705, CFC marking sections) was not independently pulled and cited in this run.
https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.32FICO
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo county-specified placard wording was found in the Kern County Fire Code amendments (17.32, full chapter text reviewed) or the Building Regulations-General chapter (17.04); both contain zero hits for 'placard'/'label'/'marking' language of this kind, while a positive control term ('electrical') returns hits in both chapters and a fabricated control ('zzqqx') returns none, confirming the search of the full chapter text was functioning.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.32FICO
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame two chapters as Q38/39; no county-specified letter height, color or material for placards was found (nor would it be expected, since Q39 establishes the county has not authored its own wording).
https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.04BUREEN
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedKCC Ch. 17.57 (solar chapter) and Ch. 17.32 (Fire Code) reviewed; neither states a site-plan/facility-map placard requirement of its own beyond whatever NEC 690.56(C)/705.10 already requires by default under the adopted 2025 CEC.
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes -- PG&E's Electric Rule 21 requires a manually-operated, visible isolating disconnect switch near the Point of Interconnection with markings/signage clearly indicating open and closed positions, when required by PG&E's operating practices, in addition to whatever the AHJ requires under NEC 690/705.
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted from PG&E's currently effective Electric Rule 21 tariff (Advice 7692-E, effective Aug. 29, 2025), Section H.1.d 'Visible Disconnect Required.' This is a general PG&E-territory requirement, not confirmed against a Maricopa-specific interconnection file.
utility tariff checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame chapters as Q38/40/41; no county-specific placard PLACEMENT instruction (as opposed to the underlying NEC default) was found.
https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.32FICO
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherListed-equipment use is a baseline requirement of the National/California Electrical Code (2025 CEC, NEC Art. 110.3(B)) now in force per Q29/30; no Kern-specific carve-out from this was found. This is a state-code-level answer rather than a Kern-specific local rule.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.24ELCO
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes, subject to permitting -- batteries/ESS are permitted but regulated as a distinct fire-code activity
Why the confidence is not higherKern's Fire Code (17.32) requires BOTH an operational permit ('Energy storage systems...for stationary and mobile energy storage systems regulated by Section 1207,' 105.5.6) AND a construction permit ('to install, alter or modify an energy storage system regulated by this code,' 105.6.8); no Kern-specific R-3/residential-size exemption amendment was found, so any state-code exemption thresholds (e.g. small UL 9540-listed residential ESS) would apply by default, unamended.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.32FICO
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes -- both a construction permit and a separate operational permit are required for an ESS
Why the confidence is not higherKCC (Kern Fire Code) 105.5.6 (operational permit) and 105.6.8 (construction permit), both added/amended by Ord. No. G-9359, 11-4-25.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.32FICO
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMaricopa's 2007 Zoning Ordinance Accessory Structures section (17.10.30) was reviewed; it addresses ground/wall-mounted MECHANICAL equipment for industrial/commercial development, but does not address a residential ground-mounted solar array's classification as a 'structure.'
http://cityofmaricopa.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/02/Maricopa-Zoning-Ordinance.pdf
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
PG&E requires the visible isolating disconnect to be located near the Point of Interconnection and reachable by PG&E personnel 'quickly and conveniently 24 hours a day'; Rule 21 does not itself state a fixed distance from the utility meter.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21, Section H.1.d (Advice 7692-E, eff. 8/29/25). This is the utility's general accessibility standard, not a meter-distance figure, and was not cross-checked against any Kern- or Maricopa-specific handout.
utility tariff checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
Nothing recorded for City of Maricopa on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Delegated 85% · county code of ordinances
- If delegated, to whom? Kern County Public Works Department / Building Inspection Division (the 'building official'), with the Kern County Fire Chief for any consolidated fire-life-safety component 85% · county code of ordinances
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For a qualifying small residential rooftop system: generally one inspection, which may be a consolidated inspection covering both building/electrical and fire aspects; if it fails, subsequent inspection(s) are required but need not follow the expedited chapter's timing rules. 85% · county code of ordinances
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 70% · county code of ordinances
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes, a checklist is required to exist and be published 72% · county code of ordinances
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Likely yes, by inference 50% · county code of ordinances
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer/applicant 80% · county code of ordinances
- How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections are issued as a written notice detailing the specific deficiencies and any additional information needed; the applicant then corrects and resubmits for a further review/inspection cycle. 80% · county code of ordinances
14 questions answered against City of Maricopa’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedKern County's building-inspection scheduling method was searched for on kerncounty.com (Akamai 'Access Denied' in this run) and on the Accela Citizen Access portal home page; no first-party page describing HOW inspections are booked (portal self-service vs. phone vs. email) was reached.
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q49; no required-notice period for scheduling an inspection was found in KCC Title 17 or on the reachable portion of the county's site.
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q49/50; no statement on same-day or AM/PM inspection windows was found.
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Delegated
Why the confidence is not higherThe City of Maricopa performs no inspections itself; per Q2, building/electrical inspection is delegated to the Kern County Public Works Dept./Building Inspection Division, which under KCC 17.57.040(F) performs the required solar inspection(s) itself (optionally consolidated with the fire chief) rather than delegating further.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.57SMREROSOENSYREPR
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Kern County Public Works Department / Building Inspection Division (the 'building official'), with the Kern County Fire Chief for any consolidated fire-life-safety component
Why the confidence is not higherKCC 17.24.020(A) (building official = director of Kern Public Works or designee) and KCC 17.57.040(F) ('may include a consolidated inspection by the building official and fire chief').
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.57SMREROSOENSYREPR
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For a qualifying small residential rooftop system: generally one inspection, which may be a consolidated inspection covering both building/electrical and fire aspects; if it fails, subsequent inspection(s) are required but need not follow the expedited chapter's timing rules.
Why the confidence is not higherKCC 17.57.040(F): 'In most cases...only one (1) inspection shall be required...may include a consolidated inspection by the building official and fire chief. If a small residential rooftop solar energy system fails an inspection, subsequent inspection(s) shall be authorized...'
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.57SMREROSOENSYREPR
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherKCC 17.57.040(F) states that for a qualifying system 'only one (1) inspection shall be required' in most cases, which implies no separate rough-in/mid-roof inspection is normally required distinct from the single final/consolidated inspection.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.57SMREROSOENSYREPR
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Likely yes, by inference
Why the confidence is not higherKCC 17.57.040(C) limits inspection/review 'generally...to whether the application meets the checklist and the California Building Standards Code requirements'; since the county's own solar checklist (required to be developed under 17.57.030(A)) would itself require listed equipment and completed labeling, verifying it would fall within the inspector's checklist-compliance check. The checklist's actual content was not independently retrieved (kerncounty.com blocked), so this is an inference rather than a direct citation.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.57SMREROSOENSYREPR
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes, a checklist is required to exist and be published
Why the confidence is not higherKCC 17.57.030(A): 'The building official is authorized and directed to develop and adopt a permit process and checklist of all requirements that small residential rooftop solar energy systems shall comply with...The process and checklist...will be posted on the county's internet website.' The live county page itself returned an Akamai 'Access Denied' response when checked in this run, so the checklist's continued live posting was not independently re-verified.
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.57SMREROSOENSYREPR
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedKCC Ch. 17.57 and Ch. 17.24 (Inspection articles) were reviewed; neither lists what documents/permit cards must be physically on site at the time of inspection.
https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.24ELCO
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedKCC 17.04 establishes only the MECHANISM ('The fee for each reinspection shall be established by the Board of Supervisors and as set by Board Resolution'), not a dollar figure; the underlying fee-schedule resolution could not be retrieved (see Q15/16).
https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.04BUREEN
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Corrections are issued as a written notice detailing the specific deficiencies and any additional information needed; the applicant then corrects and resubmits for a further review/inspection cycle.
Why the confidence is not higherKCC 17.57.040(B): 'Upon receipt of an incomplete application, the building official shall issue a written correction notice detailing deficiencies in the application and any additional information required to be eligible for permit issuance.'
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.57SMREROSOENSYREPR
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedKCC Ch. 17.57 and Ch. 17.24 reviewed; neither names the specific document/tag issued on a passing final inspection (Certificate of Occupancy / 'Final' / green tag / letter).
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer/applicant
Why the confidence is not higherKCC 17.57.040(E): county approval/permit issuance 'does not authorize an applicant to connect the small residential rooftop energy system to the local utility provider's electricity grid. The applicant is responsible for obtaining such approval or permission from the local utility provider.'
county code of ordinances checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.57SMREROSOENSYREPR
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Maricopa against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Maricopa is the authority having jurisdiction 82% confidence
- Holds
- Legally the City of Maricopa is the AHJ over its own incorporated territory, but it performs no building, electrical, or fire function itself. Building and electrical permitting/plan-check/inspection are delegated to Kern County (Public Works Department / Engineering & Survey Services, Building Inspection Division); fire is delegated to Kern County Fire Department (a KCFD station sits at 801 Stanislaus St, within city limits, per the city's own government page); police is likewise delegated to the Kern County Sheriff's Office.
- Delegated to
- Kern County Public Works Department, Building Inspection Division (building & electrical); Kern County Fire Department (fire)
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code Sec. 65850.5 (expedited residential solar permitting mandate), implemented locally as Kern County Code Ch. 17.57; AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) additionally freezes any more-restrictive residential local amendment through 1 Jun 2031, which binds Kern's Title 17 in its role as Maricopa's building code.
- Why not higher
- The delegation is not stated in so many words in any interlocal agreement document (none was located), but it is proven convergently: (1) the City of Maricopa's OWN hosted 'Building Permit Application' PDF is a verbatim Kern County Public Works Department, Building Inspection Division form (address 2700 M Street, Suite 570, Bakersfield, CA; phone (661) 862-8650) rather than a city-authored document; (2) Kern County's own codified definitions (KCC 17.04, 17.24.020) designate 'Building official'/'Chief Electrical Inspector' as 'the director of the Public Works Department of the county of Kern, or his designee' -- exactly the office named on Maricopa's own form; (3) the City's own government page lists Kern County Fire Department (with a station address inside city limits) and Kern County Sheriff, not city departments, as its fire and police providers; and (4) no Maricopa-specific building, electrical, or fire code exists on Municode, American Legal, CodePublishing, eCode360, or QCode -- a targeted search for 'Maricopa' among Municode's ~1,000 California clients returned zero matches, and codepublishing.com/CA/Maricopa/ 404s. The only Maricopa-authored code document found is its 2007 Zoning Ordinance (planning/land-use only, never amended since), which contains no building/electrical/fire provisions of its own.
http://cityofmaricopa.wp.iescentral.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/05/Building-Permit-Application.pdf
- Permit required
- Yes90%
- Plan review
- 1 business day for walk-in applications; 1 to 3 business days for electronic submittals, 'when reasonable to do so'90%
- Portal
- Kern County Citizen Access (Accela) online permitting portal70%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC (inferred)70%
- Own placard wording
- No70%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 70%
No
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top 65%
Yes -- PG&E's Electric Rule 21 requires a manually-operated, visible isolating disconnect switch near the Point of Interconnection with markings/signage clearly indicating open and closed positions, when required by PG&E's operating practices, in addition to whatever the AHJ requires under NEC 690/705.
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.