City of Maywood

Los Angeles County

Verified Aug. 4, 2026

City of Maywood is a city authority in the State of California, serving 25,138 residents. 152 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — GOGov (GoGov Permit portal, app.govoutreach.com/maywoodcityca), paired with SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for the automated PV plan-review path Q20

Permit required
Yes95% source
Key document
authority's own page + fire authority's own page cited by 7 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 90% · authority's own page
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both (Building & Electrical) in-house at the city; ESS >3 kWh and all PV/ESS disconnect/rapid-shutdown placarding retained by LACoFD (county-wide pattern, Maywood confirmed a served/contract city) 75% · authority's own page + fire authority's own page
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · municipal code
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 80% · permit application form
    • Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No codified HOA/architectural-review requirement found in the (uncodified) 2009 Maywood Zoning Ordinance. Separately, MZO §4070.110 independently bars placing ANY solar panel where visible from a public street at 6 ft height or below — a zoning placement restriction distinct from HOA review, possibly in tension with the CA Solar Rights Act (Civ. Code §714). Reported as-is; not resolved. 70% · zoning ordinance
    • Is there a historic-district review? No historic-district or landmark-review ordinance found. The zoning ordinance contains only a bare definition of 'Building, Historic' (a National/State/County/Council-recognized building) with no associated review chapter or process. 65% · zoning ordinance
    • Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No local windstorm-certification requirement found; presumably governed by the unamended 2025 CBC/ASCE 7 wind provisions (Maywood is not in a designated Special Wind Region like Banning). 65% · zoning ordinance + municipal code
    • Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No codified kW size cap found for residential solar (no '10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal' or any other wattage figure appears anywhere in the 2009 Zoning Ordinance or Title 8 Building Regulations). 75% · zoning ordinance
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

    • Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Any (state-licensed) contractor — the Electrical Code chapter (MMC §8-3.03) says permits are issued to 'any person' by the Building Official on payment of the fee, with no trade-class restriction named locally; the city separately verifies state contractor license status 60% · municipal code + department page
    • Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 90% · authority's own page
    • Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Not via SolarAPP+ — the page states homeowners 'are not allowed to use SolarAPP+, unless the homeowner is a licensed contractor.' Whether a homeowner may self-permit through the conventional (non-SolarAPP+) plan-check counter is not addressed in any city document found. 65% · authority's own page
  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • What documents make up a complete submittal? SolarAPP+ approval/download documents plus the city's own 'Plan Check/Permit Application' (Building and Planning Permit Application) uploaded into the GoGov portal. No separate itemised PV submittal checklist (site plan spec, one-line diagram spec, etc.) is published. 70% · authority's own page
    • How many copies, and in what format? Digital upload only, through the GoGov online permit portal; no physical copy count is specified anywhere. 60% · authority's own page
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

    • Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 90% · authority's own page

28 questions answered against City of Maywood’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building & Planning Department issues residential building and electrical permits directly via its own GoGov portal and SolarAPP+ page; Director of Building = Building Official under MMC §2-2.701-703.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/474/SolarAPP

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both (Building & Electrical) in-house at the city; ESS >3 kWh and all PV/ESS disconnect/rapid-shutdown placarding retained by LACoFD (county-wide pattern, Maywood confirmed a served/contract city)

Why the confidence is not higherCity page confirms both trades are city-issued; LACoFD retained-scope is a confirmed county-wide pattern (9x elsewhere) applied here by way of Maywood's own page naming LACoFD for PV/ESS notification and LACoFD's About page listing Maywood as served — not independently re-derived from a Maywood-specific LACoFD document.

authority's own page + fire authority's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/474/SolarAPP

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherMMC §8-1.01/§8-3.01 (2025 CBC/CEC adopted by reference) require permits for building and electrical work; SolarAPP+ page and permit application both require a permit for PV.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/maywood/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT8BURE_CH1BUCO

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined

Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own 'Plan Check/Permit Application' (DocumentCenter/View/2556) is a single form with Building/Electrical/Mechanical/Plumbing/Solar Panels boxes together under one project valuation and one signature — the form's own field layout is the evidence (Lemoore-style test).

permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/DocumentCenter/View/2556/BUILDING-AND-PLANNING-PERMIT-APPLICATION

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Any (state-licensed) contractor — the Electrical Code chapter (MMC §8-3.03) says permits are issued to 'any person' by the Building Official on payment of the fee, with no trade-class restriction named locally; the city separately verifies state contractor license status

Why the confidence is not higherMMC §8-3.03 doesn't name a licensed-electrician-only rule; city's Building Permits page says the city 'will verify that contractors have a valid state license' without specifying which state license class. State C-46/C-10 licensing rules apply by default state law, not found locally.

municipal code + department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/164/Building-Permits

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page states plainly: 'Contractors will be required to obtain a City of Maywood Business License to complete the permitting process,' linking to maywood.hdlgov.com.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/474/SolarAPP

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Not via SolarAPP+ — the page states homeowners 'are not allowed to use SolarAPP+, unless the homeowner is a licensed contractor.' Whether a homeowner may self-permit through the conventional (non-SolarAPP+) plan-check counter is not addressed in any city document found.

Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote from the city's own SolarAPP+ page for the automated path; the standard/manual path is silent on owner-builder in every document reviewed (Building Permits page, permit application form).

authority's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/474/SolarAPP

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

SolarAPP+ approval/download documents plus the city's own 'Plan Check/Permit Application' (Building and Planning Permit Application) uploaded into the GoGov portal. No separate itemised PV submittal checklist (site plan spec, one-line diagram spec, etc.) is published.

Why the confidence is not higherThe 5-step process on the SolarAPP+ page names exactly these two documents; no dedicated PV checklist PDF exists elsewhere on the site (searched Building Division, Building Permits, Documents & Forms, Standards/Permits/Maps).

authority's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/474/SolarAPP

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

Digital upload only, through the GoGov online permit portal; no physical copy count is specified anywhere.

Why the confidence is not higherGoGov/SolarAPP+ process is described as entirely online ('upload them into the City's online permitting portal'); no page mentions paper copies.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/474/SolarAPP

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page, Building Permits page, Building Division page, Documents & Forms, Standards/Permits/Maps — no dedicated PV site-plan requirement published

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/474/SolarAPP

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page and its linked NREL eligibility PDF (the latter proxied through a Bell Gardens splash-redirect that 403'd on fetch); no Maywood-specific statement on one-line diagrams found

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/474/SolarAPP

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as q11 — no Maywood-specific statement on string/conductor calculations

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/474/SolarAPP

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Division handouts list, including 'Special Inspection Requirements' (DocumentCenter/View/2956) — but that document is an unmodified City of Gardena template (says 'The City of Gardena has established...' and carries Gardena's own form code 'BLD-200-SPECIAL INSPECTOR'), so it cannot be used as Maywood's own threshold. No Maywood-specific PE-stamp threshold found elsewhere.

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/DocumentCenter/View/2956/Special-Inspection-Requirements

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedElectrical Code chapter (MMC Ch. 3, read in full) and all Building Division handouts — no electrical PE-stamp threshold stated

https://library.municode.com/ca/maywood/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT8BURE_CH3ELCO

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSite search for 'master fee schedule', 'user fee', 'fee resolution', 'building fee', 'permit fee', 'schedule of fees', 'cost recovery fee' (all via CivicPlus /Search/Results, control-verified working: 'building' returns 120 results, fabricated 'zzqqx' returns 0); Business Fee Schedule page (business-license fees only, not building); Documents & Forms; Standards/Permits/Maps; Resolutions page. No comprehensive building/PV permit fee schedule is published anywhere on the site. MMC §8-1.02 confirms the fee is set 'by resolution' of Council but that resolution's text/table could not be located.

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/243/business-fee-schedule

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Valuation-based

Why the confidence is not higherMMC §8-1.02 amends CBC §109.2 'Schedule of permit fees' to the standard valuation-based ICC model set by Council resolution; the city's own permit application asks for a 'Valuation $' figure specifically in the Solar Panels box, consistent with a valuation basis. The actual fee table/resolution itself could not be located (see q15).

municipal code + permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/maywood/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT8BURE_CH1BUCO

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherMMC §8-1.02 (CBC §109.2.1 as amended) states plainly: 'A plan-checking fee, as established by resolution... shall be paid to the City at the time of submitting plans and specifications for plan checking.' Separately, SolarAPP+ itself charges its own $25 processing fee to NREL — a third, non-city fee layer.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/maywood/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT8BURE_CH1BUCO

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page, Building Permits page, Building Division page — no stated plan-review turnaround in business days

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/474/SolarAPP

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Code chapter (MMC Ch. 1, read in full) — no local permit-validity/expiration period stated (only fee/plan-check and work-without-permit amendments present)

https://library.municode.com/ca/maywood/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT8BURE_CH1BUCO

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

GOGov (GoGov Permit portal, app.govoutreach.com/maywoodcityca), paired with SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for the automated PV plan-review path

Why the confidence is not higherNamed directly and linked on the city's own SolarAPP+ page and Building & Planning page.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/474/SolarAPP

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building & Planning page: the GoGov Online Permit Counter lets applicants 'Apply for Permits, Check Inspection Results, Review Project related financial data' 24/7; inspection booking is also online via an embedded Outlook Bookings widget.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/158/Building-Planning

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Southern California Edison (SCE)

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own 'SoCal Edison (SCE) Power Outage Reminder' page and business directory listing confirm SCE as the electric utility serving Maywood — a city-side confirmation, not SCE's own (soft-404-prone) page, per the playbook's utility rule.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/402/socal-edison-sce-power-outage-reminder-

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSCE's own DG/interconnection pages (known to soft-404 per prior CA runs — not retried here); no Maywood-side document states where SCE sits in the sequence

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/402/socal-edison-sce-power-outage-reminder-

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

No codified HOA/architectural-review requirement found in the (uncodified) 2009 Maywood Zoning Ordinance. Separately, MZO §4070.110 independently bars placing ANY solar panel where visible from a public street at 6 ft height or below — a zoning placement restriction distinct from HOA review, possibly in tension with the CA Solar Rights Act (Civ. Code §714). Reported as-is; not resolved.

Why the confidence is not higherFull-text search of the 10,686-line 2009 Zoning Ordinance PDF (control-checked: 'electrical' etc. terms present, fabricated 'zzqqx' absent) found no HOA/ARC chapter, but did surface §4070.110's street-visibility rule for solar panels specifically.

zoning ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/DocumentCenter/View/415/2009-Maywood-Zoning-Ordinance-PDF

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

No historic-district or landmark-review ordinance found. The zoning ordinance contains only a bare definition of 'Building, Historic' (a National/State/County/Council-recognized building) with no associated review chapter or process.

Why the confidence is not higherFull-text search of the 2009 Zoning Ordinance (control-checked) found the term only in the Definitions section, with no procedural chapter attached — Maywood's built-out, non-historic-district housing stock is consistent with this.

zoning ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/DocumentCenter/View/415/2009-Maywood-Zoning-Ordinance-PDF

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

No local windstorm-certification requirement found; presumably governed by the unamended 2025 CBC/ASCE 7 wind provisions (Maywood is not in a designated Special Wind Region like Banning).

Why the confidence is not higherFull-text search of the Zoning Ordinance and the Building/Electrical Code chapters (control-checked) found no wind-specific PV provision.

zoning ordinance + municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/DocumentCenter/View/415/2009-Maywood-Zoning-Ordinance-PDF

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedFull-text of the 2009 Zoning Ordinance (control-checked) — no PV-specific Specific Use Permit or Council-approval trigger found; general CUP framework exists for many other uses but none reference solar

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/DocumentCenter/View/415/2009-Maywood-Zoning-Ordinance-PDF

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

No codified kW size cap found for residential solar (no '10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal' or any other wattage figure appears anywhere in the 2009 Zoning Ordinance or Title 8 Building Regulations).

Why the confidence is not higherFull-text search for 'kW'/'kilowatt' across both documents (control-checked) returned zero hits — a Dana-Point-style clean absence, distinct from a gate.

zoning ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/DocumentCenter/View/415/2009-Maywood-Zoning-Ordinance-PDF

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 90% · municipal code
    • Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (MMC §8-1.01) 95% · municipal code
    • Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (MMC §8-5.01) 95% · municipal code
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes for Building & Electrical (Building Code has fee/plan-check and work-without-permit amendments at §8-1.02-03; Electrical Code has an underground-utility-service amendment at §8-3.02). No local technical amendments found in the Fire Code — its chapter contains only an adoption section and a violations/penalties section (control-checked). 85% · municipal code
    • What is the installation judged against? 2025 California Electrical Code (based on the 2023 NEC), per MMC §8-3.01, together with the general Building Official permit/inspection process in Ch. 1 90% · municipal code
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    • What ridge setback and access pathways are required? No local ridge-setback or access-pathway amendment found — the Fire Code chapter (MMC Ch. 5) contains only an adoption section (§8-5.01) and a violations section (§8-5.02); the unamended 2025 CFC/CRC therefore governs, unverified independently here. 70% · municipal code
  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    • Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown is required per the 2025 California Electrical Code (based on 2023 NEC §690.12); no local amendment to or restatement of this requirement was found. 75% · municipal code
  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    • Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? LACoFD's county-wide retained PV/ESS disconnect placard: 'F.D. – ELECTRICAL / BLDG DISCONNECT / #X of Y', required on every PV job in LACoFD contract cities 65% · inference from fire authority's own current guidance
    • Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No — Maywood has no locally-specified placard wording of its own; wording (where it applies) is LACoFD's county-wide standard, not a Maywood ordinance provision. 65% · municipal code
    • Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Not specified by the city itself. If LACoFD's county-wide standard applies (as it does for its other contract cities), the spec is 2"×3.5" exterior placard, red-on-yellow engraved plastic, Arial all-caps 24/28 bold, epoxy-mounted. 55% · inference from fire authority's own current guidance
  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Batteries/ESS are permitted through the same SolarAPP+/GoGov pathway; the city's own page requires contractors to separately complete IREC's 'How to Use SolarAPP+ For Solar and Storage Projects' training before submitting a solar+storage project. Beyond that, no Maywood-specific ESS condition is published; LACoFD retains review of ESS above 3 kWh county-wide. 65% · authority's own page
    • Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Likely delegated to LACoFD for ESS above 3 kWh (county-wide pattern); not independently confirmed for Maywood specifically. Below that threshold, no separate ESS permit/inspection is described — it appears to ride the same PV permit. 55% · inference
    • Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes 90% · zoning ordinance
    • Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No local busbar-sizing or service-upgrade rule found. The Electrical Code chapter's only local amendment (§8-3.02) concerns undergrounding of new utility service laterals/lines, not busbar sizing or panel upgrades. 80% · municipal code
    • Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? No local mounting-system or attachment-spacing rule found in either the Zoning Ordinance or the Building/Electrical Code amendments. 70% · zoning ordinance + municipal code

20 questions answered against City of Maywood’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2023

Why the confidence is not higherMMC §8-3.01 adopts 'the 2025 California Electrical Code (Part 3 of Title 24)' by reference, which is based on the 2023 NEC (statewide CA mapping); Ord. No. 25-03, 25-05 and 25-06 confirm this is current through March 2026.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/maywood/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT8BURE_CH3ELCO

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2025 California Building Code (MMC §8-1.01)

Why the confidence is not higherCodified text reads plainly: 'the 2025 edition of the California Building Code... is hereby adopted by reference.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/maywood/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT8BURE_CH1BUCO

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

2025 California Fire Code (MMC §8-5.01)

Why the confidence is not higherCodified text: 'the 2025 California Fire Code (Part 9 of Title 24)... is hereby adopted by reference,' via Ord. No. 25-05 (Dec 2025)/25-06 (Mar 2026).

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/maywood/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT8BURE_CH5FICO

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Yes for Building & Electrical (Building Code has fee/plan-check and work-without-permit amendments at §8-1.02-03; Electrical Code has an underground-utility-service amendment at §8-3.02). No local technical amendments found in the Fire Code — its chapter contains only an adoption section and a violations/penalties section (control-checked).

Why the confidence is not higherRead all sections of MMC Title 8 Chapters 1, 3, 5, 13, 19 in full via the Municode API.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/maywood/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT8BURE

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

2025 California Electrical Code (based on the 2023 NEC), per MMC §8-3.01, together with the general Building Official permit/inspection process in Ch. 1

Why the confidence is not higherDirect codified adoption text.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/maywood/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT8BURE_CH3ELCO

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

No local busbar-sizing or service-upgrade rule found. The Electrical Code chapter's only local amendment (§8-3.02) concerns undergrounding of new utility service laterals/lines, not busbar sizing or panel upgrades.

Why the confidence is not higherFull text of MMC Ch. 3 (Electrical Code) read in full via the Municode API (8 sections); no busbar/service-upgrade language present (control-checked against 'electrical' positive hits and a fabricated-term negative).

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/maywood/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT8BURE_CH3ELCO

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

No local mounting-system or attachment-spacing rule found in either the Zoning Ordinance or the Building/Electrical Code amendments.

Why the confidence is not higherFull-text search for 'mounting', 'attachment spac', 'rack' across both documents (control-checked) returned no relevant hits.

zoning ordinance + municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/DocumentCenter/View/415/2009-Maywood-Zoning-Ordinance-PDF

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

No local ridge-setback or access-pathway amendment found — the Fire Code chapter (MMC Ch. 5) contains only an adoption section (§8-5.01) and a violations section (§8-5.02); the unamended 2025 CFC/CRC therefore governs, unverified independently here.

Why the confidence is not higherFull text of MMC Ch. 5 read in full via the Municode API — two sections only, control-checked absence of any technical fire-code amendment.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/maywood/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT8BURE_CH5FICO

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Rapid shutdown is required per the 2025 California Electrical Code (based on 2023 NEC §690.12); no local amendment to or restatement of this requirement was found.

Why the confidence is not higherMMC §8-3.01 adopts the 2025 CEC 'together with any amendments and appendices thereof'; Ch. 3's only local amendment (§8-3.02) is unrelated (undergrounding), so 690.12 applies as written in the state code, not independently re-verified here.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/maywood/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT8BURE_CH3ELCO

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

LACoFD's county-wide retained PV/ESS disconnect placard: 'F.D. – ELECTRICAL / BLDG DISCONNECT / #X of Y', required on every PV job in LACoFD contract cities

Why the confidence is not higherInference from LACoFD's confirmed county-wide retained-placarding practice (documented on LACoFD's own current PV/ESS guide, confirmed in 9+ other LACoFD contract cities) plus Maywood's own SolarAPP+ page explicitly directing PV/ESS applicants to 'LACoFD notification statement and associated links' and LACoFD's About page listing Maywood as served. Not independently re-derived from a Maywood-specific LACoFD placard order.

inference from fire authority's own current guidance checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/474/SolarAPP

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No — Maywood has no locally-specified placard wording of its own; wording (where it applies) is LACoFD's county-wide standard, not a Maywood ordinance provision.

Why the confidence is not higherFire Code chapter has no local technical amendment (control-checked, q31/q36); Zoning Ordinance's own solar section (§4070.110) addresses placement only, not wording.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/maywood/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT8BURE_CH5FICO

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Not specified by the city itself. If LACoFD's county-wide standard applies (as it does for its other contract cities), the spec is 2"×3.5" exterior placard, red-on-yellow engraved plastic, Arial all-caps 24/28 bold, epoxy-mounted.

Why the confidence is not higherInference only — this is LACoFD's documented standard elsewhere, not a Maywood-specific citation; flagged as inference per playbook guidance.

inference from fire authority's own current guidance checked 2026-08-31 https://fire.lacounty.gov/fire-prevention-expeditedpvess/

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedFire Code chapter (no local amendment, q31/36), Zoning Ordinance solar section §4070.110 (placement only, no facility-map requirement) — no site-plan/facility-map placard requirement found

https://library.municode.com/ca/maywood/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT8BURE_CH5FICO

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSCE's own DG manual/placard pages (known to soft-404 per prior CA runs); no Maywood-side document addresses utility-specified placards

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/402/socal-edison-sce-power-outage-reminder-

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as q38-40 — LACoFD's guide gives placard dimensions but this document review did not locate a Maywood-specific label-placement rule beyond the inferred LACoFD standard

https://fire.lacounty.gov/fire-prevention-expeditedpvess/

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedZoning Ordinance, Building/Electrical Code chapters, SolarAPP+ page — no equipment-approved-list requirement stated locally (SolarAPP+'s own national eligibility criteria require code-listed equipment, but that is NREL's program requirement, not a local Maywood rule)

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/474/SolarAPP

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Batteries/ESS are permitted through the same SolarAPP+/GoGov pathway; the city's own page requires contractors to separately complete IREC's 'How to Use SolarAPP+ For Solar and Storage Projects' training before submitting a solar+storage project. Beyond that, no Maywood-specific ESS condition is published; LACoFD retains review of ESS above 3 kWh county-wide.

Why the confidence is not higherDirect statement on the city's own SolarAPP+ page for the training requirement; LACoFD retained-scope is inference from the county-wide pattern, flagged as such.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/474/SolarAPP

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

Likely delegated to LACoFD for ESS above 3 kWh (county-wide pattern); not independently confirmed for Maywood specifically. Below that threshold, no separate ESS permit/inspection is described — it appears to ride the same PV permit.

Why the confidence is not higherInference from LACoFD's confirmed retained-scope pattern (9+ other contract cities) combined with Maywood's own page routing PV/ESS submittals to LACoFD's notification process; not a Maywood-specific document.

inference checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/474/SolarAPP

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherMZO Table 4010.190 'Accessory Structures Setbacks' lists 'Solar collector' as an accessory structure with defined setbacks (not permitted in front yard; rear at the property line; 3'0" side setback), and the accessory-structures section caps accessory-structure height at 12 feet.

zoning ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/DocumentCenter/View/415/2009-Maywood-Zoning-Ordinance-PDF

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSCE's own DG manual (known to soft-404 per prior CA runs); no Maywood-side document states AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/402/socal-edison-sce-power-outage-reminder-

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How is an inspection booked? Portal (online Outlook/Office365 Bookings widget embedded on the city's own 'Building and Planning Appointments' page, hosted on the city's own cityofmaywood.org tenant) or Phone (323-562-5744) 85% · authority's own page
    • Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? No same-day service implied — building inspections are conducted only two days a week (Tuesdays & Thursdays, 8am-12pm, per the Building Inspector's posted phone hours), a narrow AM-only window. 75% · authority's own page
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

    • Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 75% · authority's own page
    • If delegated, to whom? N/A for conventional rooftop PV (self-performed by the city's own contract Building Inspector, firm unnamed). For ESS above 3 kWh, likely LACoFD by the confirmed county-wide pattern — not independently confirmed for Maywood. 60% · authority's own page + inference
  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    Nothing recorded for City of Maywood on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

    Nothing recorded for City of Maywood on this step yet — 4 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

14 questions answered against City of Maywood’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Portal (online Outlook/Office365 Bookings widget embedded on the city's own 'Building and Planning Appointments' page, hosted on the city's own cityofmaywood.org tenant) or Phone (323-562-5744)

Why the confidence is not higherThe booking iframe's src is 'outlook.office365.com/owa/calendar/CityofMaywoodBuildingandPlanning@cityofmaywood.org/bookings/' — checked the calendar-host domain per the playbook's delegation test and found it is the city's own tenant, not a contractor's.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/465/Building-and-Planning-Appointments

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Division page, Building Permits page, Building and Planning Appointments page — no stated inspection lead-time/notice period

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/160/Building-Division

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

No same-day service implied — building inspections are conducted only two days a week (Tuesdays & Thursdays, 8am-12pm, per the Building Inspector's posted phone hours), a narrow AM-only window.

Why the confidence is not higherStated directly on the Building Division page ('For questions regarding building issues, please call the Building Inspector at 323-562-5744 on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 8am-12pm') and echoed on Building Permits page ('Building Inspections are done on Tuesday and Thursdays'). No revision date visible on either page, so treated as current but undated.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/160/Building-Division

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Building Division self-performs final inspection using its own named (contracted) inspector, Luis Gonzalez, 'Building Inspector (Contract Staff)' — a city function using contract labor, not a delegation to another agency, for conventional PV. No firm is named for this contract role anywhere on the site.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/160/Building-Division

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

N/A for conventional rooftop PV (self-performed by the city's own contract Building Inspector, firm unnamed). For ESS above 3 kWh, likely LACoFD by the confirmed county-wide pattern — not independently confirmed for Maywood.

Why the confidence is not higherCombines the city's own staff-directory finding (q52) with LACoFD's county-wide retained-ESS pattern applied by inference to a confirmed LACoFD contract city.

authority's own page + inference checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/160/Building-Division

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page (names only a single generic 'Request Inspection' step), Building Division/Permits pages — no published inspection-stage sequence for PV

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/474/SolarAPP

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame documents as q54 — no rough-in/mid-roof inspection requirement stated for PV

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/474/SolarAPP

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo published inspection checklist exists (q57), so inspector practice on labels/listings cannot be confirmed from any document

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/160/Building-Division

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

No

Why the confidence is not higherSearched the Building Division page, Building Permits page, and every linked handout (Accessibility Hardship, Bathroom Remodel, Block Wall, Construction Regulations, Egress Windows, Reroof Process, Residential Kitchen Remodel, Residential Patio Cover, Special Inspection Requirements) — none is a PV/solar inspection checklist, and no dedicated one exists elsewhere on the site.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofmaywood.com/160/Building-Division

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Division/Permits pages, SolarAPP+ page — no 'what must be on site' list published

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/160/Building-Division

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo fee schedule found at all (q15), so a re-inspection fee specifically cannot be sourced

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/243/business-fee-schedule

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Division/Permits pages — no corrections/re-inspection process described

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/160/Building-Division

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Division/Permits pages, permit application form — no statement of what document/tag is issued on a passing final (Building Code Ch. 1 does not specify locally)

https://library.municode.com/ca/maywood/codes/municipal_code?nodeId=TIT8BURE_CH1BUCO

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page's 5-step process ends at 'Request Inspection' and never mentions a PTO/utility-notification step; SCE's own pages known to soft-404 per prior CA runs, not retried

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/474/SolarAPP

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Maywood against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Maywood is the authority having jurisdiction 85% confidence
Holds
building and electrical (in-house), with ESS >3 kWh and all PV/ESS disconnect & rapid-shutdown placarding retained by LACoFD
Delegated to
Contract staff for Building Permit Technician and Building Inspector functions (city's own department page marks both titles "(Contract Staff)" — no firm named anywhere on the city's site, in its fee resolution, or in its staff directory; treat as a proven Suisun-City-style gap, not a guess). LACoFD (Los Angeles County Fire Department) is a confirmed served/contract city per LACoFD's own About page and is named directly on Maywood's own SolarAPP+ page for PV/ESS notification.
Overridden by
LACoFD retains ESS review above 3 kWh and disconnect/rapid-shutdown placarding on every PV job per its own current PV/ESS guidance (county-wide pattern, confirmed contract city). Separately, Maywood Zoning Ordinance (MZO) §4070.110 bars placing any solar panel where visible from a public street at 6 ft height or below — a local placement restriction that the CA Solar Rights Act (Civ. Code §714) may preempt; unresolved, reported as-is.
Why not higher
City's own Building & Planning page names Daisy Guerrero as 'Director of Building and Planning' — MMC §2-2.701-703 (Municode TIT2AD_CH2DEOR_ART7DIBU) defines the Director of Building as legally interchangeable with 'Building Official', so the Building Official title is an in-house city position, not contracted. Two other named staff (Jose Andrade, Building Permit Technician; Luis Gonzalez, Building Inspector) are explicitly labelled '(Contract Staff)' on the same page, but no firm is named in any document found (department page, directory sub-pages, or any fee schedule — no comprehensive building/PV fee schedule could be located on the site at all, see q15). CORRECTION TO BRIEF: the Municipal Code's Title 2, Art. 3 'Fire Department' (Ord. 477/589, pre-1970s) still describes an in-house city fire department with its own Fire Chief — this is stale/superseded text, not current fact. The city's own live SolarAPP+ page names LACoFD as the fire authority for residential PV/ESS notification, and LACoFD's own About page (fire.lacounty.gov/about-us-2) lists Maywood among its served cities. Zoning itself is NOT codified in the Municipal Code (Title 9, Ch. 3 is a single 'Continuance of existing ordinances' stub) — it lives entirely in the separately-maintained, uncodified 2009 Maywood Zoning Ordinance (No. 66-7 as amended through Ord. 24-02, 2024), the Santa-Paula shape from the playbook.

https://www.cityofmaywood.com/158/Building-Planning

Permit required
Yes95%
Portal
GOGov (GoGov Permit portal, app.govoutreach.com/maywoodcityca), paired with SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for the automated PV plan-review path95%
Electrical code
202390%
Own placard wording
No — Maywood has no locally-specified placard wording of its own; wording (where it applies) is LACoFD's county-wide standard, not a Maywood ordinance provision.65%
Booking an inspection
Portal (online Outlook/Office365 Bookings widget embedded on the city's own 'Building and Planning Appointments' page,85%
Labels & placards for this authority

Wording 65%

No — Maywood has no locally-specified placard wording of its own; wording (where it applies) is LACoFD's county-wide standard, not a Maywood ordinance provision.

Size, colour & material 55%

Not specified by the city itself. If LACoFD's county-wide standard applies (as it does for its other contract cities), the spec is 2"×3.5" exterior placard, red-on-yellow engraved plastic, Arial all-caps 24/28 bold, epoxy-mounted.

Where they go None%

What the utility wants on top None%

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Los Angeles County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of Maywood · city
Solar Requirements
Required placards
Building & Planning | Maywood, CA Skip to Main Content Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more. Website Sign In Search Home City Government Departments Building & Planning Building & Planning The City of Maywood Department of Building and Planning is responsible for current and advance planning activities, the implementation of the Maywood General
Authority Contact
Address
4319 E Slauson Avenue, Maywood, CA 90270
Main Phone
(323) 562-5700
Building Department
Department
Building and Planning Department
Direct Phone
(323) 562-5744
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
online_portal
Notes
Solar permits processed via SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) — licensed contractors only, must complete IREC training and hold a City of Maywood business license. After SolarAPP+ approval, apply for permit via GoGOV portal (app.govoutreach.com/maywoodcityca/public/permits). Inspections scheduled via online appointment scheduler at /465/Building-and-Planning-Appointments; conducted Tuesdays and Thursdays 8am-12pm. Department director: Daisy Guerrero (daisy.guerrero@cityofmaywood.org, 323-562-5721). Building inspector: Luis Gonzalez, reachable at 323-562-5744.