City of Merced
Merced County
City of Merced is a city authority in the State of California, serving 86,333 residents. 5,732 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — Tyler EnerGov Citizen Self Service, branded by the City as 'Civic Access' (cityofmercedca-energovweb.tylerhost.net); Q20
- Permit required
- Yes90% source
- Key document
- inference from authority's own page + SolarAPP+ program design cited by 6 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · authority's own page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 88% · authority's own page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 90% · authority's own page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 60% · inference from authority's own page + SolarAPP+ program design
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 72% · absence on authority's own page + general CA code structure
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 78% · authority's own document folder listing
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 88% · authority's own page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 65% · authority's own document folder listing
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? 2025 California Building/Electrical/Fire Code editions (in force 1 Jan 2026); complete submittal package could not be itemized — see not_found 55% · authority's own document folder listing (title list only)
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes (inferred) 55% · inference from utility application requirement + SolarAPP+ program design
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Tyler EnerGov Citizen Self Service, branded by the City as 'Civic Access' (cityofmercedca-energovweb.tylerhost.net); SolarAPP+ offered as an alternate instant-review path for residential PV 90% · authority's own page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 88% · authority's own page
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days without progress (California Building Code default, Section 105.5) 50% · inference from statewide adopted code, not a Merced-specific document
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Varies by address: Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) for most of the city, but Merced Irrigation District (MID) is a separate publicly-owned electric utility that itself sells retail power inside the city limits of Merced (as well as Livingston and Atwater) — not just PG&E citywide 82% · utility's own page
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit (for MID-served addresses); typically parallel-to-after for PG&E-served addresses 72% · utility's own page
28 questions answered against City of Merced’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Solar Permits page and Building Permit Applications page describe the City (Inspection Services Division) issuing residential solar permits directly through its EnerGov portal; no county or other AHJ substitution found for in-city addresses.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20260510200929id_/https://www.cityofmerced.gov/business-and-development/building-permits/solar-permits
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's Inspection Services Division issues building and electrical permits itself via its EnerGov 'Civic Access' portal; no evidence of delegation to county or a private plan-review agency for routine residential PV.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20260521173630id_/https://www.cityofmerced.gov/business-and-development/building-permits
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherDedicated 'Solar Permits' page exists directing applicants to apply via SolarAPP+ or the standard building-permit portal; a permit process would not be published if none were required.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20260510200929id_/https://www.cityofmerced.gov/business-and-development/building-permits/solar-permits
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ (which the City's own Solar Permits page directs applicants to use) issues a single combined permit covering structural/electrical scope for PV; the City's EnerGov portal was not observed listing a separate 'electrical' permit type specifically for solar. Not confirmed by an explicit City statement, hence moderate confidence.
inference from authority's own page + SolarAPP+ program design checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20260510200929id_/https://www.cityofmerced.gov/business-and-development/building-permits/solar-permits
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permit Applications document folder includes both a 'Contractor Declaration' and an 'Owner-Builder Declaration and Notice to Property Owner' form, indicating either a licensed contractor or an owner-builder may pull the permit; not solar-specific.
authority's own document folder listing checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20250806222710id_/https://www.cityofmerced.gov/business-and-development/building-permits/solar-permits/-folder-2594
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permits page states in bold: 'CONTRACTORS: Must have a Contractor's City of Merced Business License in place prior to applying for a permit,' with a dedicated Civic Access account required to apply.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20260510200929id_/https://www.cityofmerced.gov/business-and-development/building-permits/solar-permits
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherAn 'Owner-Builder Declaration and Notice to Property Owner' form exists in the general building-permit submittal document set, implying self-installation/self-permitting is accommodated; this is a general building-permit form, not confirmed solar-specific.
authority's own document folder listing checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20250806222710id_/https://www.cityofmerced.gov/business-and-development/building-permits/solar-permits/-folder-2594
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
2025 California Building/Electrical/Fire Code editions (in force 1 Jan 2026); complete submittal package could not be itemized — see not_found
Why the confidence is not higherThe Solar Permits page points applicants to 'Forms, Handouts, Outside Agency Contacts » Checklists and Requirements' for solar checklists, but the actual document-folder listing captured (Aug 2025) shows only generic checklists (Residential Plan Submittal Checklist, Master Plans, etc.) with no item titled 'Solar' — the underlying PDFs are served through a Vision-CMS document widget not captured by Wayback, so the specific checklist content could not be read.
authority's own document folder listing (title list only) checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20250806223212id_/https://www.cityofmerced.gov/business-and-development/building-permits/solar-permits/-folder-2592
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Applications / Forms, Handouts, Outside Agency Contacts / Checklists and Requirements folder — document titles only visible (Vision CMS document widget content not captured by Wayback); no PDF content on copies/format reachable
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Permits page and Checklists and Requirements folder listing; no site-plan content requirement text reachable (same Vision CMS document-widget limitation as q8/q9)
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes (inferred)
Why the confidence is not higherNot stated directly by the City. Merced Irrigation District's own solar application process requires a 'single line diagram' as part of the interconnection packet (Step 1), and SolarAPP+, which the City's own Solar Permits page directs applicants to use, universally requires a single-line diagram as part of its standard document set. No City-specific checklist text could be read to confirm directly.
inference from utility application requirement + SolarAPP+ program design checked 2026-08-30 https://mercedid.org/power/solar-power/
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame checklist folder as q8; string/conductor calculation requirement not stated in any reachable City text
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Permits, Building Permit Applications, Permits FAQ pages; no structural PE-stamp threshold stated
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame pages as q13; no electrical PE-stamp threshold stated
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permits > Fees page (checked 2025-08-06 through 2026-04-16 captures) — page contains only a 'Permit Refund and Renewal Policy' document; no fee schedule or solar-specific fee amount is published on the page itself, and no master-fee-schedule URL was found on the domain via CDX search of the site
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Fees page as q15 — no fee-calculation method (flat/valuation/per-kW/tiered) is published
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Fees page as q15 — no mention of a separate plan-check fee
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPermits FAQ and Building Permit Applications pages — no stated plan-review turnaround time in business days
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days without progress (California Building Code default, Section 105.5)
Why the confidence is not higherNo Merced-specific permit-validity statement was found on the City's Building Permits, Fees, or FAQ pages. This is the statewide CBC 105.5 default that applies unless locally amended; no local amendment was confirmed (Municode's JS shell blocked full-text access to Merced Municipal Code Title 15 to check for one).
inference from statewide adopted code, not a Merced-specific document checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20250918025520id_/https://www.cityofmerced.gov/business-and-development/building-permits/permits-faq
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Tyler EnerGov Citizen Self Service, branded by the City as 'Civic Access' (cityofmercedca-energovweb.tylerhost.net); SolarAPP+ offered as an alternate instant-review path for residential PV
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Solar Permits page banner reads 'ATTENTION SolarApp Customers!!! Choose SolarAPP when applying for a permit'; the general portal links throughout the site resolve to cityofmercedca-energovweb.tylerhost.net, referred to on-site as 'City of Merced Civic Access'.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20260510200929id_/https://www.cityofmerced.gov/business-and-development/building-permits/solar-permits
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permit Applications page states the portal supports 'Apply for all building permits, including uploading plans and documents,' 'Paying Fees,' 'Tracking permit, plan review and inspection status,' 'Permit issuance,' and 'Scheduling building permit inspections' — a full online workflow; SolarAPP+ is fully online by design.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20260217032837id_/https://www.cityofmerced.gov/business-and-development/building-permits/building-permit-applications
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Varies by address: Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) for most of the city, but Merced Irrigation District (MID) is a separate publicly-owned electric utility that itself sells retail power inside the city limits of Merced (as well as Livingston and Atwater) — not just PG&E citywide
Why the confidence is not higherMID's own 'MID Power' page states plainly: 'The District now provides electric services to thousands of customers in eastern Merced County. This includes those in the cities of Livingston, Atwater and Merced.' The City's own Permits FAQ separately lists PG&E as an example public utility for encroachment permits, confirming PG&E also operates in the city. Never resolved from a ZIP-code lookup — sourced from the utility's own page.
utility's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://mercedid.org/power/
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit (for MID-served addresses); typically parallel-to-after for PG&E-served addresses
Why the confidence is not higherMID's own Solar Power page: Step 4 says 'MID will perform an inspection (after the City/County Code inspection)... Customers will receive a Permission to Operate (PTO) once the installation has been inspected and approved.' PG&E's Greenbook describes NEM interconnection application processing that can run alongside permitting but PTO/energization still follows permit finalization and PG&E's own review — inferred from Rule 21 process description, not an explicit Merced-area statement.
utility's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://mercedid.org/power/solar-power/
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Permits, Building Permit Applications pages — no mention of HOA/architectural review as a precondition; Merced Municipal Code zoning chapter not reachable (Municode JS shell)
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame pages as q24 — no historic-district review mention found; Zoning Ordinance folder listing on cityofmerced.gov did not reference solar or historic review in captured titles
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherCalifornia uses ASCE 7 wind-load provisions inside the CBC/CRC rather than a separate windstorm-certification program (no TDI-style scheme exists statewide); no City of Merced page or checklist mentions a wind/windstorm certification for solar.
absence on authority's own page + general CA code structure checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20260510200929id_/https://www.cityofmerced.gov/business-and-development/building-permits/solar-permits
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Permits page and Merced Municipal Code zoning title — Municode library.municode.com pages for Merced (clientId 16096) returned only a JS-shell app skeleton with no rendered chapter text across all Wayback captures checked; api.municode.com endpoints did not return full chapter content within available effort
https://library.municode.com/ca/merced/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Municode limitation as q27 — no system-size cap on residential generation located in any City page or reachable code text
https://library.municode.com/ca/merced/codes/code_of_ordinances
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, part of the 2025 California Title 24 cycle) 80% · authority's own page (code-cycle notice)
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code, effective for submittals on/after 1 Jan 2026 (2022 CBC still honored for previously-approved master plans) 92% · authority's own page
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (effective 1 Jan 2026), inferred as part of the same Title 24 cycle bundle referenced by the City's building-code notice 65% · inference from authority's own page
- What is the installation judged against? The adopted 2025 California Building Code / California Electrical Code / California Fire Code (effective 1 Jan 2026), plus any local amendments in Merced Municipal Code Title 15 (not independently verified) 65% · authority's own page + inference
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Merced on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown per NEC 690.12, under the 2023 NEC as adopted via the 2025 California Electrical Code 70% · inference from adopted code edition
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? The City itself publishes no placard spec found; the applicable UTILITY does: MID requires 'WARNING! DUAL POWER SUPPLY SOLAR ELECTRIC SYSTEM' placards at the net meter panel and 'DUAL POWER SUPPLY SOLAR ELECTRIC SYSTEM DISCONNECT' at the AC disconnect enclosure (MID Construction Standard 55010, Figure 7); PG&E requires an engraved placard on the metering equipment for any line/supply-side-tap interconnection (Greenbook TD-7001M-06 §6.3.3.a) plus standard NEC dual-source labeling. 85% · utility construction standard (PDF, text-layer, extracted with pdftotext)
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No (for the AHJ itself) — but the UTILITY does specify its own wording (see q38/q40) 72% · utility construction standard
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Utility-specified only: MID requires labels of 'red reflective, weather-resistant material with white letters,' lettering 'a minimum of 3/8in tall,' permanently attached (Standard 55010, Figure 7 notes). No City-level letter-height/color/material spec was found. 85% · utility construction standard (PDF)
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes — both utilities serving parts of the city specify their own placards beyond code minimums: MID (Standard 55010, dual-power-supply safety labels) and PG&E (Greenbook TD-7001M-06 §6.3, engraved line/supply-side placard + Electric Design Standard 060559 disconnect-switch requirements). 90% · utility manual (PDF, text-layer, extracted with pdftotext; Publication Date 04/22/2026, Effective Date 06/22/2026, Rev. 2026-04 per document footer)
- Where must the labels be placed? MID: safety labels attached to the exterior of the net meter panel and the exterior of the AC disconnect enclosure, with the performance meter and AC disconnect within 10ft of the main service disconnect and in front of any fencing/gates (street-side, accessible). PG&E: engraved placard on the metering equipment itself for line/supply-side taps; if the AC disconnect is more than 10ft from or out of line-of-sight of the meter panel, additional signage/map is required at the meter panel showing its location. 88% · utility construction standard (PDF)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? MID: AC disconnect and performance meter must be within 10ft of the main service disconnect, street-side of any fencing/gates, within sight of the main service panel. PG&E: AC disconnect required for most self-contained/transformer-rated meter panel configurations (Table 6-3) and, where present, must generally be within 10ft and line-of-sight of the meter/service disconnect or additional signage is required. 88% · utility construction standard (PDF)
20 questions answered against City of Merced’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, part of the 2025 California Title 24 cycle)
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Building Permits page states: '2025 CALIFORNIA BUILDING CODES ARE IN EFFECT FOR ANY SUBMITTALS ON OR AFTER JANUARY 1ST, 2026' (with a carve-out for master plans already in the pipeline under 2022 codes). California's 2025 Title 24 cycle statewide is built on the 2023 NEC for the California Electrical Code; the City's notice does not name the CEC/NEC by number, so this is an inference from the adopted code-cycle statement rather than an explicit citation of 'NEC 2023'.
authority's own page (code-cycle notice) checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20260521173630id_/https://www.cityofmerced.gov/business-and-development/building-permits
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code, effective for submittals on/after 1 Jan 2026 (2022 CBC still honored for previously-approved master plans)
Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote from the City's own Building Permits page: '2025 CALIFORNIA BUILDING CODES ARE IN EFFECT FOR ANY SUBMITTALS ON OR AFTER JANUARY 1ST, 2026 **Excludes submittals that have a MASTER plan in place under 2022 Codes**.'
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20260521173630id_/https://www.cityofmerced.gov/business-and-development/building-permits
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (effective 1 Jan 2026), inferred as part of the same Title 24 cycle bundle referenced by the City's building-code notice
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's notice refers to '2025 CALIFORNIA BUILDING CODES' (plural) taking effect 1/1/2026 without naming the Fire Code specifically; California jurisdictions virtually always adopt the full Title 24 family (including CFC) together on the same effective date, but no Fire-Department-specific adoption page was found to confirm directly.
inference from authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20260521173630id_/https://www.cityofmerced.gov/business-and-development/building-permits
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMerced Municipal Code Title 15 (Buildings and Construction) — Municode JS shell blocked full-text access (see q27); could not confirm presence/absence of local amendments to the 2025 CBC/CEC/CFC beyond the City's own code-cycle notice
https://library.municode.com/ca/merced/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The adopted 2025 California Building Code / California Electrical Code / California Fire Code (effective 1 Jan 2026), plus any local amendments in Merced Municipal Code Title 15 (not independently verified)
Why the confidence is not higherSame City notice as q30; local-amendment text sits in Merced Municipal Code Title 15 on Municode, whose library.municode.com pages are a client-side JS shell (all captured Wayback snapshots were ~2-4KB app shells with no rendered content) and whose api.municode.com endpoints returned metadata but not full chapter text for this client ID (16096) within the effort available.
authority's own page + inference checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20260521173630id_/https://www.cityofmerced.gov/business-and-development/building-permits
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Municode limitation as q32 — no local service-upgrade/busbar-sizing rule text reachable
https://library.municode.com/ca/merced/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Municode limitation as q32; Solar Permits page and checklist folder titles also checked, no mounting/attachment-spacing document found
https://library.municode.com/ca/merced/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFire Related Building Permits page (no ridge-setback/access-pathway content in the reachable body text) and Municode Title 15/Fire Code chapter (JS shell, unreachable). CFC §605.11 dimensional table is also ICC-copyrighted and not independently reproducible even if the chapter were reached.
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, rapid shutdown per NEC 690.12, under the 2023 NEC as adopted via the 2025 California Electrical Code
Why the confidence is not higherNot stated in City text directly; inferred from the adopted NEC edition (q29) — NEC 690.12 rapid-shutdown requirements are mandatory in every 2023-NEC jurisdiction and California has not been found to waive them.
inference from adopted code edition checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20260521173630id_/https://www.cityofmerced.gov/business-and-development/building-permits
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
The City itself publishes no placard spec found; the applicable UTILITY does: MID requires 'WARNING! DUAL POWER SUPPLY SOLAR ELECTRIC SYSTEM' placards at the net meter panel and 'DUAL POWER SUPPLY SOLAR ELECTRIC SYSTEM DISCONNECT' at the AC disconnect enclosure (MID Construction Standard 55010, Figure 7); PG&E requires an engraved placard on the metering equipment for any line/supply-side-tap interconnection (Greenbook TD-7001M-06 §6.3.3.a) plus standard NEC dual-source labeling.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth figures/sections read directly from current utility engineering standards; no City-published placard spec was located separately (checked Solar Permits, Building Permit Applications, Fire Related Building Permits pages).
utility construction standard (PDF, text-layer, extracted with pdftotext) checked 2026-08-30 https://mercedid.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/MID-Net-Metering-Standards-0-100kW.pdf
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No (for the AHJ itself) — but the UTILITY does specify its own wording (see q38/q40)
Why the confidence is not higherNo City of Merced document found specifying placard wording; MID's Standard 55010 Figure 7 gives verbatim required wording for its two safety labels, and PG&E's Greenbook specifies an 'engraved placard... indicating there is a line/supply side connection.' These are utility, not AHJ, specifications.
utility construction standard checked 2026-08-30 https://mercedid.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/MID-Net-Metering-Standards-0-100kW.pdf
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Utility-specified only: MID requires labels of 'red reflective, weather-resistant material with white letters,' lettering 'a minimum of 3/8in tall,' permanently attached (Standard 55010, Figure 7 notes). No City-level letter-height/color/material spec was found.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote extracted from MID's PDF construction standard via pdftotext -layout.
utility construction standard (PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://mercedid.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/MID-Net-Metering-Standards-0-100kW.pdf
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMID Standard 55010 and PG&E Greenbook §6-7 (utility docs) and City Solar Permits page — neither source describes a distinct site-plan/facility-map placard requirement at the service equipment (distinct from the single-line diagram submittal); not found as a placard requirement
https://mercedid.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/MID-Net-Metering-Standards-0-100kW.pdf
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes — both utilities serving parts of the city specify their own placards beyond code minimums: MID (Standard 55010, dual-power-supply safety labels) and PG&E (Greenbook TD-7001M-06 §6.3, engraved line/supply-side placard + Electric Design Standard 060559 disconnect-switch requirements).
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from each utility's own current engineering/interconnection document.
utility manual (PDF, text-layer, extracted with pdftotext; Publication Date 04/22/2026, Effective Date 06/22/2026, Rev. 2026-04 per document footer) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/greenbook-manual-full.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
MID: safety labels attached to the exterior of the net meter panel and the exterior of the AC disconnect enclosure, with the performance meter and AC disconnect within 10ft of the main service disconnect and in front of any fencing/gates (street-side, accessible). PG&E: engraved placard on the metering equipment itself for line/supply-side taps; if the AC disconnect is more than 10ft from or out of line-of-sight of the meter panel, additional signage/map is required at the meter panel showing its location.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly extracted from MID Standard 55010 (Figures 1, 3, 7) and PG&E Greenbook TD-7001M-06/07 §6.3 and §7.
utility construction standard (PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://mercedid.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/MID-Net-Metering-Standards-0-100kW.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Permits page and checklist folder titles — no equipment-approved-list requirement mentioned
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFire Related Building Permits page and Solar Permits page — no battery/ESS-specific content found in reachable body text; Fire Code (CFC Ch. 12) ESS provisions apply statewide by default but no Merced-specific amendment or handout located
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame pages as q45 — no mention of a separate ESS permit or inspection
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Permits page and Municode zoning/building chapters (unreachable) — no statement on whether a ground-mount array is treated as a structure
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
MID: AC disconnect and performance meter must be within 10ft of the main service disconnect, street-side of any fencing/gates, within sight of the main service panel. PG&E: AC disconnect required for most self-contained/transformer-rated meter panel configurations (Table 6-3) and, where present, must generally be within 10ft and line-of-sight of the meter/service disconnect or additional signage is required.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly extracted from MID Standard 55010 (Figures 1-3) and PG&E Greenbook Table 6-3 and §7 metering-location rules.
utility construction standard (PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://mercedid.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/MID-Net-Metering-Standards-0-100kW.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal (EnerGov Civic Access self-service, 'Schedule an online inspection' / 'Today's Inspections'); phone (209) 385-4773 or email inspectionservicesweb@cityofmerced.gov also offered 88% · authority's own page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 82% · authority's own page + utility page
- If delegated, to whom? Not delegated — City performs its own final; utility (MID or PG&E) separately performs its own interconnection/PTO inspection, which is additional rather than a delegation 78% · utility's own page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Merced on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
Nothing recorded for City of Merced on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (inspection approval in EnerGov); Permission to Operate (PTO) is separately issued by the utility (MID explicitly; PG&E by standard Rule 21 practice) once the AHJ final has passed 52% · utility's own page + inference for the AHJ side
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer (or homeowner-applicant) 68% · utility's own page
14 questions answered against City of Merced’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal (EnerGov Civic Access self-service, 'Schedule an online inspection' / 'Today's Inspections'); phone (209) 385-4773 or email inspectionservicesweb@cityofmerced.gov also offered
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Inspections page: 'You may use our Portal for the following, no user account necessary... Schedule or view an inspection... View Today's Inspection Results,' with phone/email given as an alternate contact route.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20260314193110id_/https://www.cityofmerced.gov/business-and-development/building-permits/inspections
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspections page — no stated business-days notice requirement for booking
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Inspections page as q50 — no mention of same-day or AM/PM inspection windows
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's Inspection Services Division performs its own final building/electrical inspection through the EnerGov portal; MID separately performs its own additional interconnection inspection 'after the City/County Code inspection' before issuing PTO — this is an extra utility-level check layered on top, not a delegation of the City's own inspection function.
authority's own page + utility page checked 2026-08-30 https://web.archive.org/web/20260314193110id_/https://www.cityofmerced.gov/business-and-development/building-permits/inspections
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Not delegated — City performs its own final; utility (MID or PG&E) separately performs its own interconnection/PTO inspection, which is additional rather than a delegation
Why the confidence is not higherSee q52 sourcing; MID's page explicitly frames its inspection as occurring 'after' the City/County one, i.e. a second, independent check rather than the City handing off its inspection duty.
utility's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://mercedid.org/power/solar-power/
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspections and Solar Permits pages — no published solar-specific inspection sequence (e.g., rough vs. final) found
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame pages as q54 — no mid-roof/rough-in inspection requirement stated for PV
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspections page — no statement on whether the inspector verifies labels/listings at inspection
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Permits page and Checklists and Requirements folder — checklist titles captured show no dedicated solar/PV inspection checklist (list: backflow, hood suppression, fire alarm/sprinkler/underground, sign, residential plan submittal, pool, etc.); a general 'Residential Plan Submittal Checklist' exists but its content was not reachable to confirm inspection-specific coverage
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspections page — no 'what must be on site' list found
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFees page — no re-inspection fee amount published (see q15 absence)
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPermits FAQ and Building Permit Applications pages — closest analog found ('Narrative Deferred-Submittal or Plan-Revisions' form) addresses plan revisions, not field corrections issued at inspection, so not counted as an answer
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (inspection approval in EnerGov); Permission to Operate (PTO) is separately issued by the utility (MID explicitly; PG&E by standard Rule 21 practice) once the AHJ final has passed
Why the confidence is not higherNot stated explicitly as 'Final' on the City's own site (existing single-family homes get a passed final inspection, not a new Certificate of Occupancy, for a PV addition) — this is standard EnerGov/California residential-alteration practice rather than a City-published statement. MID's PTO step is explicit and well-sourced.
utility's own page + inference for the AHJ side checked 2026-08-30 https://mercedid.org/power/solar-power/
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer (or homeowner-applicant)
Why the confidence is not higherMID's own Solar Power page instructs the applicant/installer to submit the PV application, interconnection agreement, and fee package directly to MID (Steps 1-2) — the utility does not pull this itself. PG&E's equivalent NEM/Rule 21 process is standard practice (installer or applicant submits), not confirmed by a Merced-specific PG&E statement.
utility's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://mercedid.org/power/solar-power/
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Merced against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Merced is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical
- Overridden by
- None found for building/electrical; utility interconnection is a parallel process held by PG&E or Merced Irrigation District (MID) depending on address — MID's own standard states it inspects 'after the City/County Code inspection' and issues its own Permission to Operate, layered on top of (not delegated from) the City's inspection.
- Why not higher
- The City's own 'Solar Permits' and 'Building Permit Applications' pages (Inspection Services Division, 678 W. 18th St., (209) 385-4773) describe the City issuing both building and electrical permits for residential PV through its Tyler EnerGov 'Civic Access' portal, with SolarAPP+ offered as an alternate instant-review path. Merced is a general-law city inside Merced County, but nothing found suggests the County retains building/electrical authority inside city limits. Fire is the City's own Merced Fire Department (own social channels, own CERT program), not a county/CalFire contract, so fire-related plan review for solar-adjacent battery/ESS work sits with the City as well.
- Permit required
- Yes90%
- Portal
- Tyler EnerGov Citizen Self Service, branded by the City as 'Civic Access' (cityofmercedca-energovweb.tylerhost.net); SolarAPP+ offered as an alternate instant-review path for residential PV90%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, part of the 2025 California Title 24 cycle)80%
- Own placard wording
- No (for the AHJ itself) — but the UTILITY does specify its own wording (see q38/q40)72%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal (EnerGov Civic Access self-service, 'Schedule an online inspection' / 'Today's Inspections'); phone (209) 385-4773 or email inspectionservicesweb@cityofmerced.gov also offered88%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 72%
No (for the AHJ itself) — but the UTILITY does specify its own wording (see q38/q40)
Size, colour & material 85%
Utility-specified only: MID requires labels of 'red reflective, weather-resistant material with white letters,' lettering 'a minimum of 3/8in tall,' permanently attached (Standard 55010, Figure 7 notes). No City-level letter-height/color/material spec was found.
Where they go 88%
MID: safety labels attached to the exterior of the net meter panel and the exterior of the AC disconnect enclosure, with the performance meter and AC disconnect within 10ft of the main service disconnect and in front of any fencing/gates (street-side, accessible). PG&E: engraved placard on the metering equipment itself for line/supply-side taps; if the AC disconnect is more than 10ft from or out of line-of-sight of the meter panel, additional signage/map is required at the meter panel showing its location.
What the utility wants on top 90%
Yes — both utilities serving parts of the city specify their own placards beyond code minimums: MID (Standard 55010, dual-power-supply safety labels) and PG&E (Greenbook TD-7001M-06 §6.3, engraved line/supply-side placard + Electric Design Standard 060559 disconnect-switch requirements).
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.