City of Montebello
Los Angeles County
City of Montebello is a city authority in the State of California, serving 62,640 residents. 1,463 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — TransTech 'GoPost' ePlanSoft electronic plan-review portal (gopost-transtech.eplansoftreview.com/#/login?portal=Montebello) for plan submittal; Q20
- Permit required
- Yes85% source
- What it costs
- No flat solar fee published. Combination of: $36 permit-issuance fee + valuation-based Building Permit fee (Table 1A, e.g.65% source
- Key document
- fee schedule cited by 5 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 90% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 85% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 55% · fee schedule
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 65% · statute + department page
- Is there a historic-district review? No 55% · department page (absence)
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 75% · department page
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Possible but not confirmed as adopted locally: state law (Gov. Code §65850.5) permits a city to require a non-ministerial Use Permit only on a written finding of 'specific, adverse impact' to health/safety; Montebello's own EV-charger streamlined-permitting checklist uses this exact 'specific adverse impact' escape-valve language for EVSE, suggesting the same statutory pattern would apply if invoked for solar, but no Montebello solar-specific ordinance text was reachable to confirm it has been adopted for PV. 55% · comparable department document
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No AHJ-imposed kW ceiling identified; residential system size in practice is constrained by SCE's NEM tariff sizing rule (system sized to customer's historical usage) rather than by a Montebello building/zoning cap. 50% · inference from absence
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 65% · department form
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? No 75% · department form
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 85% · department form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? No solar-specific checklist published. The general 'Residential Plan Check Submittal Checklist' (applies to all residential permits) requires: completed permit application, full-size PDF plans collated/bookmarked by discipline, plan-check fees paid, plans uploaded to the GoPost portal; plus architectural (site plan, floor/roof plans, elevations), structural (foundation/framing plans, calcs), Title 24 energy forms (CF1R), and CALGreen residential checklist. 55% · published checklist
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic only — full-size PDF plans, collated and bookmarked by discipline, uploaded through the GoPost (TransTech ePlanSoft) portal; no physical copy count specified. 65% · published checklist
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — a site plan is a required architectural document on the general residential checklist; the checklist does not itemize what a PV-specific site plan must show (e.g., array location, fire pathways, disconnect location). 55% · published checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Not stated on any published Montebello checklist (no PV-specific checklist exists); a one-line diagram is a standard statewide CEC electrical-permit submittal expectation that would apply by default. 50% · inference
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? TransTech 'GoPost' ePlanSoft electronic plan-review portal (gopost-transtech.eplansoftreview.com/#/login?portal=Montebello) for plan submittal; SeamlessDocs-hosted forms for permit worksheet and inspection requests. 85% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? No 60% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? No flat solar fee published. Combination of: $36 permit-issuance fee + valuation-based Building Permit fee (Table 1A, e.g. $362 base for $2,001–$25,000 valuation plus $43/$1,000 over $2,000) + valuation-based Plan Check fee (Table 1A) + Electrical Permit fee via the 'Power Apparatus' kW-tier table (e.g. $91 for 3–10kW rating, $136 for 10–50kW rating). 65% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered (valuation-based for the building-permit component; kW/HP-rating tiers for the electrical-permit component) 70% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 90% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 65% · department page (absence)
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel / After permit (installer/homeowner may file SCE interconnection application in parallel with the city permit, but SCE Permission-to-Operate is issued only after the AHJ has finaled the permit, per standard SCE NEM practice) 50% · utility program page
28 questions answered against City of Montebello’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building & Safety Division page states it issues building/electrical/plumbing/mechanical/grading permits; confirmed absent from both LA County Fire's contract-city lists and LA County DPW's Building & Safety contract-city list.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Division page states the division handles issuance of Building, Electrical, Plumbing, Mechanical, and Grading permits directly; nothing is delegated to LA County.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building & Safety master fee schedule prices building permits by valuation (Table 1A) and electrical permits via the Electrical Code Fee Table with no residential-PV exemption; California building/electrical code requires a permit for rooftop PV statewide. No city document states an exemption.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://cityofmontebello.hosted2.civiclive.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_58672/File/Departments/Planning%20&%20Comm.%20Dev/Building%20&%20Safety%20Division/__BUILDING%20AND%20SAFETY%20Master%20Fee%20Schedule%20Effective%2011_01_2025.pdf
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee Schedule lists 'Building Permit Fees' and 'Electrical Permit & Plan Check Fees' as two separate fee line items/tables, but nothing on the city's site states whether solar is issued as one combined permit record or two separate permit numbers; California cities commonly combine PV into one 'solar' permit covering both trades. Inferred, not stated.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://cityofmontebello.hosted2.civiclive.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_58672/File/Departments/Planning%20&%20Comm.%20Dev/Building%20&%20Safety%20Division/__BUILDING%20AND%20SAFETY%20Master%20Fee%20Schedule%20Effective%2011_01_2025.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Licensed Contractor Declaration form requires only that the applicant hold a valid CSLB license in 'full force and effect' (no specific classification named), and the Owner-Builder Declaration form confirms homeowners may pull permits themselves. California allows C-46 (Solar), C-10 (Electrical), or B contractors to install/permit residential PV; city imposes no narrower rule.
department form checked 2026-08-30 https://cityofmontebello.hosted2.civiclive.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_58672/File/Departments/Planning%20&%20Comm.%20Dev/Building%20&%20Safety%20Division/LICENSED%20CONTRACTOR%20DECLARATION%20-%20FILLABLE.pdf
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe Licensed Contractor Declaration form only requires the contractor to declare an active CSLB license class/number/expiration at time of permit application; there is no separate city contractor-registration database referenced anywhere on the Building & Safety pages.
department form checked 2026-08-30 https://cityofmontebello.hosted2.civiclive.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_58672/File/Departments/Planning%20&%20Comm.%20Dev/Building%20&%20Safety%20Division/LICENSED%20CONTRACTOR%20DECLARATION%20-%20FILLABLE.pdf
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity publishes a standard California 'Owner Builder Declaration & Authorization' form for permit applicants acting as their own builder, indicating self-permitting is an accepted route.
department form checked 2026-08-30 https://cityofmontebello.hosted2.civiclive.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_58672/File/Departments/Planning%20&%20Comm.%20Dev/Building%20&%20Safety%20Division/OWNER%20BUILDER%20DECLARATION%20-%20FILLABLE.pdf
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
No solar-specific checklist published. The general 'Residential Plan Check Submittal Checklist' (applies to all residential permits) requires: completed permit application, full-size PDF plans collated/bookmarked by discipline, plan-check fees paid, plans uploaded to the GoPost portal; plus architectural (site plan, floor/roof plans, elevations), structural (foundation/framing plans, calcs), Title 24 energy forms (CF1R), and CALGreen residential checklist.
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the city's generic residential checklist (undated content is dated by internal revision stamp to Mar 2025, and still cites CRC/Title24 2022 — see notes on code-edition questions), not a PV-specific submittal list; no PV/electrical-specific line items (one-line diagram, string calcs) appear on it.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://cityofmontebello.hosted2.civiclive.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_58672/File/Departments/Planning%20&%20Comm.%20Dev/Building%20&%20Safety%20Division/Montebello%20Residential%20Building%20Plan%20Checklist.pdf
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic only — full-size PDF plans, collated and bookmarked by discipline, uploaded through the GoPost (TransTech ePlanSoft) portal; no physical copy count specified.
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly on the general Residential Plan Check Submittal Checklist; not confirmed whether a PV-specific submittal differs.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://cityofmontebello.hosted2.civiclive.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_58672/File/Departments/Planning%20&%20Comm.%20Dev/Building%20&%20Safety%20Division/Montebello%20Residential%20Building%20Plan%20Checklist.pdf
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — a site plan is a required architectural document on the general residential checklist; the checklist does not itemize what a PV-specific site plan must show (e.g., array location, fire pathways, disconnect location).
Why the confidence is not higherOnly the generic residential checklist was found; no PV-specific site-plan content spec exists on the city's site.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://cityofmontebello.hosted2.civiclive.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_58672/File/Departments/Planning%20&%20Comm.%20Dev/Building%20&%20Safety%20Division/Montebello%20Residential%20Building%20Plan%20Checklist.pdf
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Not stated on any published Montebello checklist (no PV-specific checklist exists); a one-line diagram is a standard statewide CEC electrical-permit submittal expectation that would apply by default.
Why the confidence is not higherInference from standard CA electrical permitting practice, not a Montebello-specific document — the only checklist found (general residential) does not mention electrical diagrams at all.
inference checked 2026-08-30 https://cityofmontebello.hosted2.civiclive.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_58672/File/Departments/Planning%20&%20Comm.%20Dev/Building%20&%20Safety%20Division/Montebello%20Residential%20Building%20Plan%20Checklist.pdf
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedGeneral Residential Building Plan Check Submittal Checklist (only checklist published by Building & Safety); no string/conductor calculation requirement mentioned, and no PV-specific checklist exists to check separately
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedGeneral Residential Building Plan Check Submittal Checklist (structural section) — mentions structural calculations and geotechnical report generically but states no PV-specific PE-stamp valuation/weight threshold; Forms & Handouts library also checked for a solar-specific bulletin, none exists
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame checklist and Forms & Handouts library as Q13 — no electrical PE-stamp threshold stated anywhere
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
No flat solar fee published. Combination of: $36 permit-issuance fee + valuation-based Building Permit fee (Table 1A, e.g. $362 base for $2,001–$25,000 valuation plus $43/$1,000 over $2,000) + valuation-based Plan Check fee (Table 1A) + Electrical Permit fee via the 'Power Apparatus' kW-tier table (e.g. $91 for 3–10kW rating, $136 for 10–50kW rating).
Why the confidence is not higherNo dedicated 'solar' or 'photovoltaic' line exists anywhere in the Building & Safety Master Fee Schedule (confirmed by direct text search of the extracted PDF — the only 'solar' hit is 'solar potable water-heating system,' a plumbing fee, not PV); this is a constructed estimate from the generic valuation and kW-tier tables that would apply to a residential PV job.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://cityofmontebello.hosted2.civiclive.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_58672/File/Departments/Planning%20&%20Comm.%20Dev/Building%20&%20Safety%20Division/__BUILDING%20AND%20SAFETY%20Master%20Fee%20Schedule%20Effective%2011_01_2025.pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered (valuation-based for the building-permit component; kW/HP-rating tiers for the electrical-permit component)
Why the confidence is not higherTable 1A prices building permits/plan-check on a sliding valuation scale; the Electrical Code Fee Table prices generation/power-apparatus equipment on kW/HP-rating tiers. No flat or per-panel fee exists.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://cityofmontebello.hosted2.civiclive.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_58672/File/Departments/Planning%20&%20Comm.%20Dev/Building%20&%20Safety%20Division/__BUILDING%20AND%20SAFETY%20Master%20Fee%20Schedule%20Effective%2011_01_2025.pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherTable 1A separately itemizes 'Valuation Building Plan Check Fees' as its own fee table, distinct from the building permit fee table.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://cityofmontebello.hosted2.civiclive.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_58672/File/Departments/Planning%20&%20Comm.%20Dev/Building%20&%20Safety%20Division/__BUILDING%20AND%20SAFETY%20Master%20Fee%20Schedule%20Effective%2011_01_2025.pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPlan Review department page (checked directly, describes submittal method and design criteria but states no turnaround time in business days)
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Safety Master Fee Schedule and the Plan Check/Permit Extension Request form (confirms an extension mechanism exists at 25% of the original fee, implying a finite validity period, but neither document states the number of days before expiration); Montebello Municipal Code, where this would normally be codified, could not be reached (library.municode.com returns a JS-only shell/403 on this network)
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
TransTech 'GoPost' ePlanSoft electronic plan-review portal (gopost-transtech.eplansoftreview.com/#/login?portal=Montebello) for plan submittal; SeamlessDocs-hosted forms for permit worksheet and inspection requests.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Electronic Plan Submittal link 302-redirects directly to this TransTech ePlanSoft login page branded for Montebello; SeamlessDocs form links are published on the Building & Safety Division and Forms & Handouts pages.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division/electronic_plan_submittal
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
No
Why the confidence is not higherPlans are uploaded electronically via GoPost, but the Building & Safety Division page instructs applicants to submit the complete application by email to buildingsafety@montebelloca.gov, and inspections are requested via a separate SeamlessDocs form — no single unified online application-through-issuance system was found.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherNot confirmed from an SCE territory map (SCE's public outage/territory pages did not return a ZIP-specific confirmation). Inferred from the absence of any municipal electric-utility function: the city's Finance department lists no Utility Billing division and Public Works' listed responsibilities (streets, storm drain, sanitary sewer, solid waste) contain no water or electric utility function — consistent with Montebello having no municipal electric utility, leaving SCE (the established IOU across this part of LA County) as the interconnecting utility. This is NOT taken from PowerToChoose.
department page (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/finance
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel / After permit (installer/homeowner may file SCE interconnection application in parallel with the city permit, but SCE Permission-to-Operate is issued only after the AHJ has finaled the permit, per standard SCE NEM practice)
Why the confidence is not higherSCE's public NEM page confirms PTO accounts are activated only after interconnection requirements are met, but does not itself state the permit-finaling sequence; this is standard statewide SCE Rule 21/NEM practice, not a page that names the sequence explicitly. The gated SCE Interconnection Handbook (SharePoint/OAuth) could not be reached to confirm directly.
utility program page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sce.com/residential/generating-your-own-power/net-energy-metering
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherCalifornia Civil Code §714 (Solar Rights Act) preempts HOA/CC&R restrictions on solar installations statewide, and no Montebello architectural-review requirement for residential rooftop PV was found on the Planning Division's page (which lists no design-review or ARB program at all).
statute + department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/planning_division
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe Planning Division's page lists its sub-programs (Current Planning, Public Notices, Forms & Applications, General Plan, Approved Plans, CEQA Documents, Zoning Map, Municipal Code, Project Information, one specific plan) and none is a historic-preservation or historic-district program. Could not independently check zoning ordinance text because the Montebello Municipal Code is hosted on library.municode.com, which returned a JS-only shell / 403 on direct fetch from this network (confirmed via curl, WebFetch, and Wayback captures that are all ~1.7–2.5KB shell pages with no operative text).
department page (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/planning_division
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherWind/windstorm third-party certification (e.g., TDI WPI-8) is a Gulf Coast/Texas coastal requirement with no California analog. Montebello's own Plan Review page cites a 110-mph design wind load as a standard structural design parameter within CBC/ASCE 7 calculations, not a separate windstorm certification program.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division/plan_review/
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Possible but not confirmed as adopted locally: state law (Gov. Code §65850.5) permits a city to require a non-ministerial Use Permit only on a written finding of 'specific, adverse impact' to health/safety; Montebello's own EV-charger streamlined-permitting checklist uses this exact 'specific adverse impact' escape-valve language for EVSE, suggesting the same statutory pattern would apply if invoked for solar, but no Montebello solar-specific ordinance text was reachable to confirm it has been adopted for PV.
Why the confidence is not higherInference from a comparable city document (EV charging checklist) plus the state statute; Montebello Municipal Code itself was not reachable (municode 403/JS-shell).
comparable department document checked 2026-08-30 https://cityofmontebello.hosted2.civiclive.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_58672/File/Departments/Planning%20&%20Comm.%20Dev/Building%20&%20Safety%20Division/MONT%20EV%20CHARGER%20CHECKLIST%20V2.pdf
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No AHJ-imposed kW ceiling identified; residential system size in practice is constrained by SCE's NEM tariff sizing rule (system sized to customer's historical usage) rather than by a Montebello building/zoning cap.
Why the confidence is not higherNo system-size cap appears in the fee schedule, checklists, or department pages reviewed; could not check the zoning code directly (municode blocked).
inference from absence checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC, as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3), statewide effective 1 Jan 2026 75% · adopting regulation
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Standards Code (Title 24), with local design criteria: Climate Zone 9, Seismic Design Category D, 110-mph wind, 2 in/hr rainfall 90% · department page
- Which fire code edition is in force? Presumed 2025 California Fire Code (statewide triennial cycle, effective 1 Jan 2026); not stated on any Montebello Fire Department page found. 50% · inference
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes — local design-criteria amendments exist (Climate Zone 9, Seismic Design Category D, 110-mph wind, 2 in/hr rain per the city's Plan Review page); however, AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) froze the city from adopting any MORE-RESTRICTIVE amendment applicable to residential units from 1 Oct 2025 to 1 Jun 2031. 75% · department page + statute
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building Standards Code (Title 24) — CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC as adopted — plus the city's stated local design criteria (Seismic D, 110-mph wind, 2 in/hr rain, Climate Zone 9). 80% · department page
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Not published by the city; California's statewide Fire Code / Residential Code amendments (e.g., ridge setbacks and access pathway requirements for rooftop PV) would apply by default adoption, but no Montebello-specific bulletin stating exact dimensions was found. 50% · inference from absence
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Required, per NEC 690.12 as incorporated into the 2023 NEC / 2025 CEC cycle Montebello has adopted. 70% · inference from code edition
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Not published — no PV-specific placard/signage bulletin exists on the Building & Safety Forms & Handouts page or on any Fire Department page; only NEC/CEC-default labeling (690.56, 705.10, disconnect marking) would apply by default code adoption. 55% · department page (absence, proven)
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 55% · department page (absence, proven)
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Governed by NEC 705.10 default (facility/site plan placard required where multiple disconnects or power sources exist); no Montebello-specific elaboration found. 50% · inference from absence
- Where must the labels be placed? Not specified locally; NEC-default placement applies (labels at the PV disconnect, main service disconnect, and point of interconnection) by default code adoption. 50% · inference from absence
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Not stated beyond standard code requirement that all equipment be UL-listed/labeled; no separate Montebello-specific approved-equipment list was found. 55% · inference from absence
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Not addressed in any Montebello-specific document found; California Fire Code (2025 cycle) statewide ESS provisions (residential unit/aggregate energy caps, separation) would apply by default adoption. 50% · fee schedule (absence)
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No dedicated ESS permit or fee line was found; battery/ESS equipment would fall under the standard building/electrical permit fee schedule. 55% · fee schedule (absence)
20 questions answered against City of Montebello’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC, as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3), statewide effective 1 Jan 2026
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own Plan Review page confirms adoption of the '2025 California Building Standards Code (Title 24)' as current. DGS/BSC confirms the 2025 Triennial Edition took effect 1 Jan 2026, but the DGS codes page itself does not name the underlying NEC year (it links to NFPA content requiring a login) — the 2023-NEC pairing is inferred from the established CA code-cycle pattern (each CBSC cycle pairs with the NEC published two years prior), not independently confirmed in text.
adopting regulation checked 2026-08-30 https://www.dgs.ca.gov/BSC/Codes
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Standards Code (Title 24), with local design criteria: Climate Zone 9, Seismic Design Category D, 110-mph wind, 2 in/hr rainfall
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly and specifically on the city's own Plan Review page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division/plan_review/
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Presumed 2025 California Fire Code (statewide triennial cycle, effective 1 Jan 2026); not stated on any Montebello Fire Department page found.
Why the confidence is not higherNo Fire Department page names a specific fire-code edition; this is inferred from the statewide 2025 CBSC cycle that the Building Division confirms it has adopted. Fire Department pages (Divisions, How Do I) were checked directly and contain no code-edition text.
inference checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/fire/divisions
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes — local design-criteria amendments exist (Climate Zone 9, Seismic Design Category D, 110-mph wind, 2 in/hr rain per the city's Plan Review page); however, AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) froze the city from adopting any MORE-RESTRICTIVE amendment applicable to residential units from 1 Oct 2025 to 1 Jun 2031.
Why the confidence is not higherDesign criteria are stated on the city's own Plan Review page; the AB 130 freeze is a matter of current state law overlaying that local practice.
department page + statute checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division/plan_review/
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Building Standards Code (Title 24) — CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC as adopted — plus the city's stated local design criteria (Seismic D, 110-mph wind, 2 in/hr rain, Climate Zone 9).
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the city's Plan Review page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division/plan_review/
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPlan Review page, Forms & Handouts library, and EV-charger checklist (closest comparable electrical bulletin) — none states a busbar/120%-rule or service-upgrade amendment specific to Montebello
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedGeneral Residential Building Plan Check Submittal Checklist (structural section lists generic 'structural details' and 'material specifications' but no attachment-spacing spec) and Forms & Handouts library — no PV mounting/attachment-spacing bulletin found
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Not published by the city; California's statewide Fire Code / Residential Code amendments (e.g., ridge setbacks and access pathway requirements for rooftop PV) would apply by default adoption, but no Montebello-specific bulletin stating exact dimensions was found.
Why the confidence is not higherChecked the Fire Department's Divisions and 'How Do I' pages and the Building & Safety Forms & Handouts library directly — no PV-specific setback/pathway bulletin exists in either.
inference from absence checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division/forms_and_handouts/
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Required, per NEC 690.12 as incorporated into the 2023 NEC / 2025 CEC cycle Montebello has adopted.
Why the confidence is not higherFollows from the NEC-edition finding above (Q29); no Montebello-specific rapid-shutdown bulletin exists to confirm independently.
inference from code edition checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division/plan_review/
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not published — no PV-specific placard/signage bulletin exists on the Building & Safety Forms & Handouts page or on any Fire Department page; only NEC/CEC-default labeling (690.56, 705.10, disconnect marking) would apply by default code adoption.
Why the confidence is not higherChecked directly: the Forms & Handouts page renders real content (ADU handout, EV charger checklist, window-replacement bulletin, etc. all confirmed present), proving the page is not a broken/empty render, and none of its items address solar signage.
department page (absence, proven) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division/forms_and_handouts/
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame absence as Q38 — no local placard-wording document was found after directly checking the Forms & Handouts library.
department page (absence, proven) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division/forms_and_handouts/
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedForms & Handouts library and Fire Department pages (Divisions, How Do I) — no placard-wording/letter-height/colour/material document exists anywhere on the city's site
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Governed by NEC 705.10 default (facility/site plan placard required where multiple disconnects or power sources exist); no Montebello-specific elaboration found.
Why the confidence is not higherNo local document addressing facility-map placard content was found in the Forms & Handouts library or on Fire Department pages.
inference from absence checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division/forms_and_handouts/
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's public NEM and interconnection pages; the SCE Interconnection Handbook itself sits behind a Microsoft SharePoint/OAuth login redirect and could not be reached (the '&download=1' workaround was not attempted given the brief's note that it has failed repeatedly)
https://www.sce.com/residential/generating-your-own-power/net-energy-metering
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified locally; NEC-default placement applies (labels at the PV disconnect, main service disconnect, and point of interconnection) by default code adoption.
Why the confidence is not higherNo Montebello-specific label-placement document found.
inference from absence checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division/forms_and_handouts/
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Not stated beyond standard code requirement that all equipment be UL-listed/labeled; no separate Montebello-specific approved-equipment list was found.
Why the confidence is not higherChecked Forms & Handouts and Building & Safety Division pages directly; no approved-products list exists.
inference from absence checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division/forms_and_handouts/
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Not addressed in any Montebello-specific document found; California Fire Code (2025 cycle) statewide ESS provisions (residential unit/aggregate energy caps, separation) would apply by default adoption.
Why the confidence is not higherChecked the Fire Department's pages and fee schedule directly — no ESS-specific bulletin or fee line exists (confirmed by text search of the extracted admin/fire/police fee PDF: no 'battery' or 'energy storage' hits).
fee schedule (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://cityofmontebello.hosted2.civiclive.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_58672/File/Departments/Finance/ADMIN-FINANCE-FIRE-POLICE-COMM%20DEV-PW%20Master%20Fee%20Schedule%20Effective%2011_01_2025.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No dedicated ESS permit or fee line was found; battery/ESS equipment would fall under the standard building/electrical permit fee schedule.
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed absence by direct text search of both the Building & Safety and the Admin-Finance-Fire-Police-CommDev-PW fee-schedule PDFs — neither contains a 'battery' or 'energy storage' line item.
fee schedule (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://cityofmontebello.hosted2.civiclive.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_58672/File/Departments/Planning%20&%20Comm.%20Dev/Building%20&%20Safety%20Division/__BUILDING%20AND%20SAFETY%20Master%20Fee%20Schedule%20Effective%2011_01_2025.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Safety and Planning Division pages; the zoning/ordinance text that would classify ground-mount racking as a 'structure' sits in the Montebello Municipal Code, which could not be reached (library.municode.com returns a JS-only shell/403 on this network, confirmed via curl, WebFetch, and Wayback CDX captures that are all shell-only, ~1.7-2.5KB)
http://library.municode.com/ca/montebello/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's public NEM/interconnection pages (no AC-disconnect placement detail found); the SCE Interconnection Handbook is gated behind a Microsoft SharePoint/OAuth redirect and could not be reached
https://www.sce.com/residential/generating-your-own-power/net-energy-metering
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal 85% · department page
- How much notice is required? Approximately 1 business day — inspection time slots for the next business day are posted on the Building Division page at 5:00pm the day before. 70% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Three arrival windows are offered for the next business day: 8:00am–12:00pm, 11:00am–2:00pm, and 1:00pm–4:30pm. No same-day inspections are indicated. 80% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 85% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? N/A — not delegated 90% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Montebello on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No — the Inspection FAQ page states only that an 'Inspection Record document' identifying required inspection types is generated per permit; no generic published inspection checklist exists on the city's site. 60% · department page
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Not explicitly stated, but standard California building-inspector practice includes verifying equipment listing/labeling at final inspection; no Montebello-specific statement confirming this for PV was found. 50% · inference
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (a solar retrofit on an existing home receives final inspection sign-off rather than a new Certificate of Occupancy, which applies to new construction/occupancy changes per the fee schedule) 60% · inference from fee schedule
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer (submits interconnection completion paperwork to SCE for PTO, standard statewide NEM practice) 55% · utility program page
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $182.00 (electrical) — 'For each extra inspection resulting from defective workmanship or materials, each' 80% · fee schedule
14 questions answered against City of Montebello’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal
Why the confidence is not higherCity publishes a dedicated 'Building Inspection Form' via SeamlessDocs for booking inspections; a direct inspector phone line is also given as an alternative.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division/inspection_faq_s_/
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Approximately 1 business day — inspection time slots for the next business day are posted on the Building Division page at 5:00pm the day before.
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly on the Inspection FAQ page; exact minimum lead time for booking (vs. slot posting) is not separately spelled out.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division/inspection_faq_s_/
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Three arrival windows are offered for the next business day: 8:00am–12:00pm, 11:00am–2:00pm, and 1:00pm–4:30pm. No same-day inspections are indicated.
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly on the Inspection FAQ page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division/inspection_faq_s_/
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own Building & Safety Division page names its own Building Inspector (Romulo Rodriguez) and conducts inspections Monday–Thursday; no delegation to LA County or any other body was found (Montebello is absent from LA County DPW's Building & Safety contract-city list).
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — not delegated
Why the confidence is not higherFollows from Q52: the city performs its own inspections.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspection FAQ page — states only that an 'Inspection Record document' generated per-permit lists required inspections; no generic published stage-by-stage sequence for solar exists
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspection FAQ page — no mention of a rough-in or mid-roof inspection requirement for PV specifically
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Not explicitly stated, but standard California building-inspector practice includes verifying equipment listing/labeling at final inspection; no Montebello-specific statement confirming this for PV was found.
Why the confidence is not higherInference from general inspection practice; the Inspection FAQ page does not itemize what a solar final inspection checks.
inference checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division/inspection_faq_s_/
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No — the Inspection FAQ page states only that an 'Inspection Record document' identifying required inspection types is generated per permit; no generic published inspection checklist exists on the city's site.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the Inspection FAQ page; the Forms & Handouts library (checked directly) also contains no separate inspection checklist.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division/inspection_faq_s_/
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspection FAQ page and Building & Safety Division page — neither states what documents (approved plans, permit card, equipment spec sheets) must be physically on site at time of inspection
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$182.00 (electrical) — 'For each extra inspection resulting from defective workmanship or materials, each'
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the closest explicit re-inspection-type fee line in the Electrical Code Fee Table of the current (11/1/2025) Building & Safety Master Fee Schedule; it is not labeled 're-inspection fee' verbatim but functions as one.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://cityofmontebello.hosted2.civiclive.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_58672/File/Departments/Planning%20&%20Comm.%20Dev/Building%20&%20Safety%20Division/__BUILDING%20AND%20SAFETY%20Master%20Fee%20Schedule%20Effective%2011_01_2025.pdf
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspection FAQ page — no description of how corrections are issued or cleared after a failed inspection
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (a solar retrofit on an existing home receives final inspection sign-off rather than a new Certificate of Occupancy, which applies to new construction/occupancy changes per the fee schedule)
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the fee schedule distinguishing a Certificate-of-Occupancy fee (new construction/change of occupancy) from general inspection fees; no PV-specific statement of what is issued was found.
inference from fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://cityofmontebello.hosted2.civiclive.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_58672/File/Departments/Planning%20&%20Comm.%20Dev/Building%20&%20Safety%20Division/__BUILDING%20AND%20SAFETY%20Master%20Fee%20Schedule%20Effective%2011_01_2025.pdf
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer (submits interconnection completion paperwork to SCE for PTO, standard statewide NEM practice)
Why the confidence is not higherStandard SCE/statewide NEM practice; not confirmed by a Montebello-specific document, and SCE's own Interconnection Handbook (gated behind a Microsoft SharePoint/OAuth redirect) could not be reached to confirm directly.
utility program page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sce.com/residential/generating-your-own-power/net-energy-metering
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Montebello against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Montebello is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Both
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code §65850.5 requires ministerial review of solar applications meeting eligibility criteria; AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) bars the city from adopting any MORE-RESTRICTIVE residential standard from 1 Oct 2025 to 1 Jun 2031; Civil Code §714 (Solar Rights Act) preempts any HOA/CC&R restriction on solar. None of these reassign jurisdiction away from the city — Montebello holds both building/electrical permitting and its own fire-prevention review, unlike many LA County cities that delegate one or both.
- Why not higher
- Montebello runs its own Building & Safety Division (issues Building, Electrical, Plumbing, Mechanical, Grading permits) and its own Fire Department with a Community Risk Reduction (fire prevention) division. Cross-checked by name against LA County's two relevant contract-city lists: it does NOT appear on fire.lacounty.gov/contracting/'s fee-for-service or property-tax city lists, and does NOT appear on dpw.lacounty.gov/bsd's Building & Safety contract-city list (Artesia, Carson, Cerritos, Commerce, Industry, Irwindale, La Cañada-Flintridge, Lakewood, La Mirada, Lawndale, Lomita, Rolling Hills, Rolling Hills Estates, Santa Fe Springs, Temple City, Westlake Village). Both absences were checked by name, not by a block-walk.
https://www.montebelloca.gov/departments/planning_community_development/building_safety_division
- Permit required
- Yes85%
- Permit cost
- No flat solar fee published. Combination of: $36 permit-issuance fee + valuation-based Building Permit fee (Table 1A, e.g.65%
- Portal
- TransTech 'GoPost' ePlanSoft electronic plan-review portal (gopost-transtech.eplansoftreview.com/#/login?portal=Montebello) for plan submittal;85%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC, as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3), statewide effective 1 Jan 202675%
- Own placard wording
- No55%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal85%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 55%
No
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go 50%
Not specified locally; NEC-default placement applies (labels at the PV disconnect, main service disconnect, and point of interconnection) by default code adoption.
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.