City of Monterey Park

Los Angeles County

Verified Aug. 4, 2026

City of Monterey Park is a city authority in the State of California, serving 61,096 residents. 1,448 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Instantaneous for SolarAPP+-eligible systems; ~3 business days for over-the-counter review of non-eligible small PV per an older (2017) bulletin (not reconfirmed… Q18 Where you file — Accela Citizen Access (aca.accela.com/montereypark), plus NREL's SolarAPP+ for eligible systems Q20

Permit required
Yes95% source
What it costs
No dedicated flat solar fee published; calculated off the general valuation-based Building Permit + Electrical Permit fee tables (e.g.55% source
Plan review turnaround
Instantaneous for SolarAPP+-eligible systems; ~3 business days for over-the-counter review of non-eligible small PV per an older (2017) bulletin (not reconfirmed current)55% source
Key document
portal guide cited by 4 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both — Building and Electrical are permitted in-house by the city's own Building & Safety Division; nothing delegated to LA County or another agency 90% · fee schedule
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · department bulletin
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 75% · portal guide
    • Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No city-imposed HOA/architectural review requirement found; statewide Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714/§4600) preempts HOA restriction on residential solar regardless 55% · department page
    • Is there a historic-district review? No 50% · site search (validated)
    • Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No — California uses structural/wind-load calculations under CBC/ASCE 7 rather than a separate windstorm certification (a Texas/Florida TDI-style mechanism) 65% · public bulletin
    • Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No, not for a code-compliant residential rooftop system — processed administratively/over-the-counter, not through Council or a Specific Use/Conditional Use Permit 60% · department page
    • Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No hard zoning size cap identified; the only cap is the ≤10kW AC threshold that determines eligibility for the streamlined/SolarAPP+ path — larger systems are not barred, just routed to standard plan check 60% · public bulletin
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

    • Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either — a licensed contractor (typically C-46 Solar or C-10 Electrical), or the homeowner as an owner-builder 70% · department page
    • Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 85% · department page
    • Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 80% · department page
  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • What documents make up a complete submittal? For SolarAPP+-eligible systems (≤10kW AC, roof-mounted, no battery): NREL pre-approval ID + Accela application, no full plan set. For standard/non-eligible systems: permit application, complete roof/site plan, structural calcs or Structural Criteria checklist, electrical one-line diagram with string/conductor calcs, equipment cut sheets, and either the contractor's license or an owner-builder declaration. 75% · portal guide
    • How many copies, and in what format? Digital submittal via Accela (separate PDF files by document type); over-the-counter plans must be min. 24” x 36” (ARCH D), 10-point/3/32” minimum text 70% · public bulletin
    • Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — a roof/plot plan showing panel layout, fire-code access pathways, disconnect and roof-access locations, and (for standard submittals) property lines, setbacks and existing structures 85% · public bulletin
    • Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 90% · public bulletin
    • Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes 90% · public bulletin
    • Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Required only when the Structural Criteria checklist fails (e.g. non-flush-mount, array >half the roof, non-conforming anchor spacing/fastener) — no valuation threshold, a pass/fail checklist threshold instead 70% · public bulletin
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? Accela Citizen Access (aca.accela.com/montereypark), plus NREL's SolarAPP+ for eligible systems 95% · portal guide
    • Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 90% · portal guide
    • What does a residential solar permit cost? No dedicated flat solar fee published; calculated off the general valuation-based Building Permit + Electrical Permit fee tables (e.g. ~$800-1,200 combined for a typical $20-30k residential PV job) plus $67.58 issuance 55% · fee schedule
    • How is the fee calculated? Valuation 85% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 90% · fee schedule
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

    • What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Instantaneous for SolarAPP+-eligible systems; ~3 business days for over-the-counter review of non-eligible small PV per an older (2017) bulletin (not reconfirmed current) 55% · department page
    • How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 365 days for residential permits (180 days for other permits); plan review applications are deemed abandoned after 180 days 90% · department page
    • Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 95% · city FAQ page
    • Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel / after permit for PTO — interconnection application can run alongside city permitting, but Permission to Operate is issued by SCE only after the city's building/fire final inspection 50% · utility program page

28 questions answered against City of Monterey Park’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building & Safety Division publishes the full residential PV permitting process (SolarAPP+ and standard plan check); confirmed not on either LA County contract-cities list.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/1694/Solar-APP

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both — Building and Electrical are permitted in-house by the city's own Building & Safety Division; nothing delegated to LA County or another agency

Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule (eff. 07/01/2026) prices both Building and Electrical permits directly under 'City of Monterey Park Building and Safety'; Accela portal issues both under one application.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/5710

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherStreamlined PV bulletin states plainly: 'The following permit is required to install a solar PV system with a maximum power output of 10 kW or less: a) Solar permit.'

department bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4670

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined

Why the confidence is not higherAccela step-by-step guide has a single 'Residential Building Solar' record type covering the solar permit; standalone battery/electrical work is filed separately under 'Residential Building Alteration-Repair', implying PV itself (with its interconnection) is one combined permit.

portal guide checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14162

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either — a licensed contractor (typically C-46 Solar or C-10 Electrical), or the homeowner as an owner-builder

Why the confidence is not higherOwner-Builder page confirms homeowner permits are possible under AB 2335 disclosure rules; SolarAPP+ page requires a licensed contractor with a city business license for that path specifically, and directs owner-builders to the standard counter instead.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/194/Owner-Builder

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page: 'A valid City of Monterey Park business license is required to pull a permit in Monterey Park using SolarAPP+.' Not verified whether this applies identically to the standard (non-SolarAPP+) path.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/1694/Solar-APP

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherOwner-Builder page and AB 2335 notice confirm owner-builder permits are issued; SolarAPP+ page explicitly routes owner-builders to the city's One Stop Permit Center rather than the automated SolarAPP+ path.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/1694/Solar-APP

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

For SolarAPP+-eligible systems (≤10kW AC, roof-mounted, no battery): NREL pre-approval ID + Accela application, no full plan set. For standard/non-eligible systems: permit application, complete roof/site plan, structural calcs or Structural Criteria checklist, electrical one-line diagram with string/conductor calcs, equipment cut sheets, and either the contractor's license or an owner-builder declaration.

Why the confidence is not higherCombined from the current live Solar APP+ page, the Accela step-by-step guide's 'For SOLAR' submittal instructions, and the (older, 2017) streamlined PV bulletin's submittal list — the last is not linked from current nav so may be partly superseded by SolarAPP+ for eligible systems.

portal guide checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14162

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

Digital submittal via Accela (separate PDF files by document type); over-the-counter plans must be min. 24” x 36” (ARCH D), 10-point/3/32” minimum text

Why the confidence is not higherPlan-size/text rules are from the general Plan Check Submittal Requirements bulletin (updated 2023) which is not solar-specific; digital upload steps are from the current (Aug 2026) Accela guide.

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/469

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Yes — a roof/plot plan showing panel layout, fire-code access pathways, disconnect and roof-access locations, and (for standard submittals) property lines, setbacks and existing structures

Why the confidence is not higherRequirement stated directly in both the streamlined PV bulletin's submittal list and the general Plan Check Submittal Requirements bulletin's Plot Plan section.

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4670

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherGeneral submittal bulletin lists 'Single line diagram, including wire and conduit sizes and equipment location' under Electrical Plans; PV standard plan is built entirely around single-line diagram templates.

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/469

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherPV Standard Plan requires module Voc/Isc, string-series voltage calculations against CEC 690.7 tables, and conductor sizing (source-circuit and output-circuit) worksheets.

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4670

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Required only when the Structural Criteria checklist fails (e.g. non-flush-mount, array >half the roof, non-conforming anchor spacing/fastener) — no valuation threshold, a pass/fail checklist threshold instead

Why the confidence is not higherStructural Criteria bulletin: 'One or more items are checked NO. Attach project-specific drawings and calculations stamped and signed by a California-licensed Civil or Structural Engineer.' Document is from the 2016/2017 code cycle so may be dated, though structural-criteria practice changes little cycle to cycle.

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4671

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked the Plan Check Submittal Requirements bulletin (requires a CA-licensed architect/engineer stamp only for non-conventional-construction plans generally, no electrical-specific threshold) and the streamlined PV bulletin (sets a structural-engineer stamp threshold via the Structural Criteria checklist, but no separate electrical-PE threshold). No city document sets an electrical PE-stamp threshold distinct from the general design-professional requirement.

https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/469

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

No dedicated flat solar fee published; calculated off the general valuation-based Building Permit + Electrical Permit fee tables (e.g. ~$800-1,200 combined for a typical $20-30k residential PV job) plus $67.58 issuance

Why the confidence is not higherCurrent (eff. 07/01/2026) fee schedule has no PV-specific line; fee is inferred by applying the general Building Permit Fee Schedule (valuation table) plus Electrical Permit fee items. An older (2017), no-longer-linked bulletin claimed a $500 solar-permit cap that is inconsistent with the current valuation table and is not treated as current.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/5710

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Valuation

Why the confidence is not higherBoth the Building Permit Fee Schedule and Electrical Permit Fee Schedule in the current fee document are valuation/item-based tables, not flat or per-kW.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/5710

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

Yes

Why the confidence is not higher'BUILDING PLAN CHECK FEE shall be equal to 81.2% of the Building Permit Fee...Minimum plan check fee per trade is $283.33' — stated as a distinct line item from the permit fee.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/5710

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

Instantaneous for SolarAPP+-eligible systems; ~3 business days for over-the-counter review of non-eligible small PV per an older (2017) bulletin (not reconfirmed current)

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ live page confirms 'instantaneous permit issuance'; the 3-business-day figure for standard OTC review is from the 2017 streamlined bulletin, no longer linked from current nav, so treated as historical/likely-still-representative rather than confirmed current.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/1694/Solar-APP

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

365 days for residential permits (180 days for other permits); plan review applications are deemed abandoned after 180 days

Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the Plan Check & Permit Expirations page.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/195/Plan-Check-Permit-Expirations

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

Accela Citizen Access (aca.accela.com/montereypark), plus NREL's SolarAPP+ for eligible systems

Why the confidence is not higherBoth portals are named and linked directly from the Solar APP+, Building Permits and Request-for-Inspections pages, and the Aug 2026 step-by-step guide.

portal guide checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14162

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherStep-by-step guide walks through full online application, document upload, and payment through Accela; SolarAPP+ is fully automated end-to-end for eligible systems.

portal guide checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14162

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Southern California Edison (SCE)

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own 'Local Utility Companies Serving Monterey Park' FAQ names SCE as the electric utility (no CCA/community-choice program found for the city in a validated site search).

city FAQ page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/faq.aspx?qid=186

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

Parallel / after permit for PTO — interconnection application can run alongside city permitting, but Permission to Operate is issued by SCE only after the city's building/fire final inspection

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from standard statewide NEM/Rule 21 practice on SCE's own NEM page (not Monterey-Park-specific); SCE's dedicated interconnection-handbook / DG-manual pages (on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook) now redirect to the SCE homepage per the known dead-link issue, so no authority-specific sequencing document was found.

utility program page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sce.com/clean-energy-efficiency/solar-generating-your-own-power/billing-incentives/net-energy-metering

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

No city-imposed HOA/architectural review requirement found; statewide Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714/§4600) preempts HOA restriction on residential solar regardless

Why the confidence is not higherNo HOA/ARC clearance appears in the Building & Safety submittal, Permit Application, or Clearance-from-Other-Agencies pages (validated site search, no relevant hits).

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/191/Clearance-from-Other-Agencies

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherNo historic-district or historic-preservation-overlay review requirement surfaced in a validated site search ('historic district' returned no zoning/permitting hits); city has no identified historic-preservation ordinance in the pages reviewed.

site search (validated) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=historic%20district

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

No — California uses structural/wind-load calculations under CBC/ASCE 7 rather than a separate windstorm certification (a Texas/Florida TDI-style mechanism)

Why the confidence is not higherStructural Criteria bulletin handles wind uplift via ASCE 7-10 design wind-speed maps and anchor-fastener tables, not a separate certificate.

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4671

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

No, not for a code-compliant residential rooftop system — processed administratively/over-the-counter, not through Council or a Specific Use/Conditional Use Permit

Why the confidence is not higherNo CUP/SUP or Council-approval step appears anywhere in the Building & Safety, Planning, or SolarAPP+ pages for a standard residential PV installation.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/184/Building-Permits

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

No hard zoning size cap identified; the only cap is the ≤10kW AC threshold that determines eligibility for the streamlined/SolarAPP+ path — larger systems are not barred, just routed to standard plan check

Why the confidence is not higher10kW threshold appears as an eligibility-checklist item, not a maximum system-size zoning restriction.

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4670

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? 2022 CEC per the city's most recently located adoption record (Nov 2022 Council item and June-2023 submittal bulletin); California's 2025 Building Standards Code cycle (2025 CEC) became the statewide baseline 1 Jan 2026, and no city-published bulletin reflecting that cycle was found as of this check 55% · public bulletin
    • Which building code edition is in force? 2022 CBC per the same city record noted for q29; 2025 CBC is the statewide default since 1 Jan 2026 55% · council agenda
    • Which fire code edition is in force? 2022 CFC (adopted as part of the same 2022 code-cycle ordinance package that includes CBC/CRC/CEC per the city's standard adoption-ordinance pattern) 50% · council agenda
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 85% · adopting ordinance
    • What is the installation judged against? CEC Articles 690 & 705, CRC §R324, and CFC §605.11 (fire access/marking) as amended locally 80% · public bulletin
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    • What ridge setback and access pathways are required? 3-ft clear access pathways eave-to-ridge (two on single-ridge roofs), 150'x150' max array size with 3-ft separation between arrays, panels kept ≤18" from hips/valleys (or flush against a hip/valley of equal length), and panels no higher than 3 ft below the ridge for smoke ventilation; ground-mounted arrays need a 10-ft brush-free clearance 80% · public bulletin
  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    • Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown is required under CEC §690.12; note the city's only published rapid-shutdown guidance (2017 bulletin) still describes pre-module-level (array-boundary, 10ft/5ft) shutdown methods that predate California's 2019 CEC module-level rapid-shutdown mandate — current code requires controlled conductors within the array boundary ≤80V and outside it ≤30V within 30 seconds 60% · public bulletin (dated/superseded)
  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    • Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? WARNING: PHOTOVOLTAIC POWER SOURCE (junction boxes/conduit); PV SYSTEM AC/DC DISCONNECT ratings labels; dual-power-source warning at main service; inverter-output-OCPD 'do not relocate' warning; ungrounded-conductor shock-hazard warning (if applicable); rapid-shutdown label at AHJ-approved location; and a CEC §705.10 permanent plaque/directory of all power sources 85% · public bulletin
    • Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Yes 90% · public bulletin
    • Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Yes — 3/8-inch minimum white letters on a red background, on reflective, weather-resistant, permanent material (phenolic plaque suggested; 20-point/3/8" minimum text per ANSI Z535.4 guidance cited) 90% · public bulletin
    • Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Yes — a roof plan/site plan showing panel/module layout, all clear fire-access pathways, approximate disconnect locations, and roof-access points, plus (per CEC 705.10/690.56(B)) a permanent directory/plaque at the service and inverter locating all disconnecting means 80% · public bulletin
    • Where must the labels be placed? On junction/combiner boxes and conduit (every 10 ft, within 1 ft of turns/penetrations), adjacent to the main service disconnect (visible from where it's operated), on AC and DC disconnects, on the inverter, and on the inverter-output OCPD 85% · public bulletin
  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Not specified by the city or by a reachable SCE document; as a fallback proxy, CFC §605.11.1.3 requires the PV disconnect marking be placed adjacent to (i.e. clearly visible from) the main service disconnect/meter location, which is the closest local rule found 45% · fire-code proxy (not a utility document)
    • Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 80% · public bulletin
    • Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Batteries/ESS are permitted under state code but are explicitly excluded from the city's expedited/streamlined PV checklist path ('Solar system is utility interactive and without battery storage' is a pass/fail eligibility item) — systems with storage must go through standard full plan review. No dedicated city BESS ordinance was found; a resident's Apr-2026 written communication to Council specifically asked staff to draft one to prohibit standalone BESS, implying none currently exists. 60% · council agenda item
    • Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No separate ESS permit type — Accela's 'Residential Building Solar' record type explicitly excludes storage batteries; battery/ESS work is instead filed as electrical work under 'Residential Building Alteration-Repair' 85% · portal guide
    • Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Likely yes (treated as an accessory structure requiring standard structural/building permit review), but not confirmed by a direct city statement 50% · public bulletin
    • Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Yes for the expedited/standard-plan path: PV interconnection limited to a single-phase 120/240V panel with bus bar ≤225A, using the CEC 705.12(D)(2)(3) 120%/100% busbar rule; systems exceeding this go to full engineered plan check 65% · public bulletin
    • Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Yes — detailed anchor-spacing and fastener tables for flush-mounted arrays (e.g. 5/16" lag screw, 2.5" rafter embedment, horizontal anchor spacing per rafter spacing/span tables); arrays must be 2– 10" off the roof, ≤4 psf (PV) additional dead load, and cover no more than half the roof 75% · public bulletin

20 questions answered against City of Monterey Park’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2022 CEC per the city's most recently located adoption record (Nov 2022 Council item and June-2023 submittal bulletin); California's 2025 Building Standards Code cycle (2025 CEC) became the statewide baseline 1 Jan 2026, and no city-published bulletin reflecting that cycle was found as of this check

Why the confidence is not higherGenuine contradiction flagged rather than resolved: submittal bulletin (dated 2023-06-29) still cites '2022 CEC'; no newer local ordinance or bulletin naming the 2025 cycle was found in a validated site search, even though the statewide 2025 cycle took effect 1 Jan 2026 by default under Health & Safety Code §17958.7 regardless of local re-adoption.

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/469

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2022 CBC per the same city record noted for q29; 2025 CBC is the statewide default since 1 Jan 2026

Why the confidence is not higherSame contradiction as q29 — city's newest located ordinance record (11-16-2022 Council agenda item) adopted the 2022 edition; no 2025-cycle local ordinance found.

council agenda checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/14103

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

2022 CFC (adopted as part of the same 2022 code-cycle ordinance package that includes CBC/CRC/CEC per the city's standard adoption-ordinance pattern)

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the pattern in the city's earlier ordinances (2140 for 2016, 2165 for 2019) which always adopt CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC together; the fire-safety citations in the PV bulletin (dc_4670) still reference older (pre-2019) CFC section numbers, so edition currency is not fully confirmed.

council agenda checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/14103

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherEvery adoption ordinance located (2140, 2165, and the 2022 agenda item) is explicitly titled '...MAKING CERTAIN AMENDMENTS BASED UPON LOCAL CONDITIONS'; submittal bulletin also refers to the CRC 'as amended by the City'.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/10224

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

CEC Articles 690 & 705, CRC §R324, and CFC §605.11 (fire access/marking) as amended locally

Why the confidence is not higherExplicitly named as the governing code sections throughout the PV Standard Plan and Structural Criteria bulletins.

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4670

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

Yes for the expedited/standard-plan path: PV interconnection limited to a single-phase 120/240V panel with bus bar ≤225A, using the CEC 705.12(D)(2)(3) 120%/100% busbar rule; systems exceeding this go to full engineered plan check

Why the confidence is not higherThis is the CEC 705.12 statewide rule applied as an eligibility limit for the city's simplified standard plan, not a unique local amendment to busbar sizing itself.

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4670

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

Yes — detailed anchor-spacing and fastener tables for flush-mounted arrays (e.g. 5/16" lag screw, 2.5" rafter embedment, horizontal anchor spacing per rafter spacing/span tables); arrays must be 2– 10" off the roof, ≤4 psf (PV) additional dead load, and cover no more than half the roof

Why the confidence is not higherFull detail in the Structural Criteria for Residential Flush-Mounted Solar Arrays bulletin; document is keyed to the 2016 CBC/CRC cycle so exact table values may have shifted in later cycles, though the framework is typically stable.

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4671

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

3-ft clear access pathways eave-to-ridge (two on single-ridge roofs), 150'x150' max array size with 3-ft separation between arrays, panels kept ≤18" from hips/valleys (or flush against a hip/valley of equal length), and panels no higher than 3 ft below the ridge for smoke ventilation; ground-mounted arrays need a 10-ft brush-free clearance

Why the confidence is not higherFull fire-safety pathway/setback list appears verbatim in the PV bulletin's Fire Safety Requirements section, citing (older-numbered) CFC §605.11.1.x provisions that are substantively the same requirements carried through more recent CFC editions.

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4670

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Yes, rapid shutdown is required under CEC §690.12; note the city's only published rapid-shutdown guidance (2017 bulletin) still describes pre-module-level (array-boundary, 10ft/5ft) shutdown methods that predate California's 2019 CEC module-level rapid-shutdown mandate — current code requires controlled conductors within the array boundary ≤80V and outside it ≤30V within 30 seconds

Why the confidence is not higherThis is a genuine staleness finding, flagged rather than glossed over: the city's own document describes an outdated rapid-shutdown scheme; the current statewide requirement (module-level RSD) is stated here from general CEC 690.12 knowledge, not from a Monterey-Park-specific updated bulletin, because none was found.

public bulletin (dated/superseded) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4670

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

WARNING: PHOTOVOLTAIC POWER SOURCE (junction boxes/conduit); PV SYSTEM AC/DC DISCONNECT ratings labels; dual-power-source warning at main service; inverter-output-OCPD 'do not relocate' warning; ungrounded-conductor shock-hazard warning (if applicable); rapid-shutdown label at AHJ-approved location; and a CEC §705.10 permanent plaque/directory of all power sources

Why the confidence is not higherFull labeled diagram and text specified in the PV Standard Plan's Markings section and again in the 68-item inspection checklist's Signs and Labels items 63-68.

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4670

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherExact required wording for every label is spelled out verbatim in Table 1 - Signage Requirements for PV systems (e.g. 'WARNING: PHOTOVOLTAIC POWER SOURCE').

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4670

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Yes — 3/8-inch minimum white letters on a red background, on reflective, weather-resistant, permanent material (phenolic plaque suggested; 20-point/3/8" minimum text per ANSI Z535.4 guidance cited)

Why the confidence is not higherDirectly specified: 'The markings say “WARNING: PHOTOVOLTAIC POWER SOURCE” and have 3/8-inch minimum-sized white letters on a red background. The signs are made of reflective weather resistant material.'

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4670

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Yes — a roof plan/site plan showing panel/module layout, all clear fire-access pathways, approximate disconnect locations, and roof-access points, plus (per CEC 705.10/690.56(B)) a permanent directory/plaque at the service and inverter locating all disconnecting means

Why the confidence is not higherRequired both as a submittal item and as a permanently posted plaque; directly stated in the streamlined bulletin and PV Standard Plan.

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4670

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked SCE's public NEM/DG pages and attempted SCE's interconnection handbook (on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook, which redirects to the SCE homepage per the known dead-link issue) for placard/signage requirements beyond the AHJ's; none published there distinct from the CEC/CFC-derived labels already sourced for q38-40, and no Monterey-Park-specific utility placard addendum was found on the city's own site.

https://on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

On junction/combiner boxes and conduit (every 10 ft, within 1 ft of turns/penetrations), adjacent to the main service disconnect (visible from where it's operated), on AC and DC disconnects, on the inverter, and on the inverter-output OCPD

Why the confidence is not higherPlacement rules spelled out item-by-item in the PV bulletin's Markings section and inspection-checklist items 63-66.

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4670

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherPV Standard Plan requires 'Listed and labeled equipment shall be installed and used in accordance with any instructions included in the listing or labeling (CEC 110.3). Equipment intended for use with PV system shall be listed for the application (CEC 690.4[B]).'

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4670

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Batteries/ESS are permitted under state code but are explicitly excluded from the city's expedited/streamlined PV checklist path ('Solar system is utility interactive and without battery storage' is a pass/fail eligibility item) — systems with storage must go through standard full plan review. No dedicated city BESS ordinance was found; a resident's Apr-2026 written communication to Council specifically asked staff to draft one to prohibit standalone BESS, implying none currently exists.

Why the confidence is not higherEligibility exclusion is explicit in the streamlined bulletin; absence of a standing BESS ordinance is inferred from a citizen communication asking for one to be created, not from a direct code search (eCode360/qcode routes to Monterey Park's Title 16 were both blocked by Cloudflare during this run and could not be checked directly).

council agenda item checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/18953

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

No separate ESS permit type — Accela's 'Residential Building Solar' record type explicitly excludes storage batteries; battery/ESS work is instead filed as electrical work under 'Residential Building Alteration-Repair'

Why the confidence is not higherStep-by-step guide states directly: 'Residential Building Solar: Residential Solar Only. For Storage Battery or electrical work, create the application under Residential Building Alteration-Repair.'

portal guide checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14162

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Likely yes (treated as an accessory structure requiring standard structural/building permit review), but not confirmed by a direct city statement

Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Structural Criteria bulletin is scoped explicitly to roof-mounted flush arrays only, implying ground-mount arrays fall outside that streamlined path and default to standard structural/accessory-structure review under CBC; no explicit city sentence saying 'a ground mount is a structure' was found.

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4671

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Not specified by the city or by a reachable SCE document; as a fallback proxy, CFC §605.11.1.3 requires the PV disconnect marking be placed adjacent to (i.e. clearly visible from) the main service disconnect/meter location, which is the closest local rule found

Why the confidence is not higherSCE's own interconnection/DG-manual pages (on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook) redirect to the SCE homepage per the known dead-link issue, and no Monterey-Park-specific AC-disconnect-to-meter distance rule was found; the fire-code marking-adjacency rule is offered only as a labeled fallback, not a utility rule.

fire-code proxy (not a utility document) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4670

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How is an inspection booked? Portal 85% · department page
    • How much notice is required? 1 business day — requests made before 4 p.m. on a business day (except Friday) are scheduled for the next business day 85% · department page
    • Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? No fixed AM/PM slot system; a roughly 3-hour window is provided starting after 8 a.m. on the day of inspection 85% · department page
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

    • Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 90% · department page
    • If delegated, to whom? N/A — not delegated, but co-sign-off is required from the city's own Fire Prevention Division (and Planning for the streamlined PV path) before Building will accept a final 80% · department page
  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    • Which inspections are required, and in what order? Building/electrical inspection(s) of the installed system, then Fire Prevention final approval, which must be obtained before the Building Division will accept the building final inspection request 85% · department bulletin
  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

    • Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes 70% · public bulletin (orphaned link)
    • What must be on site at inspection? Approved plans and supporting documents, available on site for the inspector, per general Fire and Building practice 80% · department bulletin
    • Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes 85% · public bulletin
  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

14 questions answered against City of Monterey Park’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Portal

Why the confidence is not higherBoth a 24-hour online portal (Accela) and a phone inspection-request line are offered; Accela is the primary route pointed to first.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/1360/Request-for-Building-Inspections

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

1 business day — requests made before 4 p.m. on a business day (except Friday) are scheduled for the next business day

Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the Request for Building Inspections page.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/1360/Request-for-Building-Inspections

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

No fixed AM/PM slot system; a roughly 3-hour window is provided starting after 8 a.m. on the day of inspection

Why the confidence is not higher'No appointment will be made for construction inspections, however a three-hour window may be provided after 8 a.m. on the day of the inspection.'

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/1360/Request-for-Building-Inspections

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Division performs its own inspections in-house (not delegated to LA County); confirmed by the city's own Building Permits, Final Sign-off, and Request-for-Inspections pages.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/182/Building-Safety

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

N/A — not delegated, but co-sign-off is required from the city's own Fire Prevention Division (and Planning for the streamlined PV path) before Building will accept a final

Why the confidence is not higherFinal Sign-off page lists Fire Prevention among divisions whose clearance is required; PV bulletin states 'Fire Department approval is required for solar PV installations of this size.'

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/201/Final-Sign-off-of-Permits

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

Building/electrical inspection(s) of the installed system, then Fire Prevention final approval, which must be obtained before the Building Division will accept the building final inspection request

Why the confidence is not higherFire Department's own 'General Notes for Plan Review' bulletin states: 'A fire inspection and final approval is required before the Building Department will accept a building final inspection request.'

department bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/10713

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked the streamlined PV bulletin's Inspections section (describes only a single post-installation final inspection) and the Request-for-Building-Inspections page — neither mentions a rough-in or mid-roof inspection stage specific to solar.

https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4670

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherThe published inspection checklist includes items '10. Equipment installed, listed and labeled according to the approved plan', '11. AC modules are properly marked and labeled', and '17. PV system markings, labels and signs according to the approved plan.'

public bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4670

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherA detailed 68-item PV inspection checklist exists within the streamlined bulletin (dated 2017, no longer linked from current site navigation — found only via the city's own search index), so treated as historical/likely-still-representative of practice rather than confirmed current.

public bulletin (orphaned link) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/4670

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

Approved plans and supporting documents, available on site for the inspector, per general Fire and Building practice

Why the confidence is not higherFire Department notes: inspection requester is 'responsible for...having an approved set of plans and supporting documents available at the time of the inspection'; PV bulletin: 'Permit holders must be prepared to show conformance with all technical requirements in the field at the time of inspection.'

department bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/documentcenter/view/10713

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

$139.51

Why the confidence is not higher'Building Reinspection ... 139.51' listed in Section G — Building and Safety of the current (eff. 07/01/2026) Master Schedule of Fees and Charges.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/19247/Master-Schedule-of-Fees-and-Charges-2026-2027-

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked Final Sign-off of Permits, Permit Issuance, and Request-for-Building-Inspections pages, plus the Fire Department's General Notes for Plan Review, for a published corrections/re-inspection procedure specific to solar — only the reinspection fee amount (q59) was found, no documented correction-notice process.

https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/201/Final-Sign-off-of-Permits

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Final

Why the confidence is not higherA residential PV retrofit is not new construction, so no Certificate of Occupancy is issued; the Final Sign-off of Permits page describes clearance/sign-off from Building and any other divisions that stamped the plans as the terminal step.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/201/Final-Sign-off-of-Permits

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Installer

Why the confidence is not higherNot confirmed by a Monterey-Park-specific document; inferred from standard statewide NEM/Rule 21 practice on SCE's own NEM page, since SCE's dedicated interconnection-handbook pages are currently dead (redirect to the SCE homepage) per the known issue.

utility program page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sce.com/clean-energy-efficiency/solar-generating-your-own-power/billing-incentives/net-energy-metering

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Monterey Park against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Monterey Park is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
Holds
Building and Electrical (own Building & Safety Division, Community Development dept.); Fire plan review and final sign-off held by the city's own Fire Prevention Division (Monterey Park Fire Department) — not LACoFD
Overridden by
SolarAPP+ (NREL) offered as a mandatory-per-AB-2188/SB-379-style instant-permitting route for eligible ≤10kW AC, battery-free rooftop systems; non-eligible/oversized/battery systems route to the city's standard Accela plan-check process. Statewide AB 130 (2025) also freezes more-restrictive local residential code amendments 1 Oct 2025–1 Jun 2031, and Civil Code §714/§4600 (Solar Rights Act) preempts HOA restriction.
Why not higher
City's own Building & Safety Division issues combined building/electrical permits through its own Accela Citizen Access portal (aca.accela.com/montereypark) and adopts building/fire codes by its own City Council ordinance (e.g. Ordinance 2165 for 2019 cycle, agenda item 11-16-2022 for 2022 cycle) — not delegated. Cross-checked BY NAME against LA County DPW's building-contract-cities list (dpw.lacounty.gov/bsd, listing Artesia, Carson, Cerritos, Commerce, Industry, Irwindale, La Cañada-Flintridge, Lakewood, La Mirada, Lawndale, Lomita, Rolling Hills, Rolling Hills Estates, Santa Fe Springs, Temple City, Westlake Village) and LACoFD's contracting page (fire.lacounty.gov/contracting) — Monterey Park is on NEITHER list, confirming it runs its own Building & Safety Division and its own municipal Fire Department (with its own Fire Prevention Division, distinct from LACoFD), the opposite of the Alameda-CDA-style delegation trap flagged in the brief.

https://www.montereypark.ca.gov/182/Building-Safety

Permit required
Yes95%
Permit cost
No dedicated flat solar fee published; calculated off the general valuation-based Building Permit + Electrical Permit fee tables (e.g.55%
Plan review
Instantaneous for SolarAPP+-eligible systems; ~3 business days for over-the-counter review of non-eligible small PV per an older (2017) bulletin (not reconfirmed current)55%
Portal
Accela Citizen Access (aca.accela.com/montereypark), plus NREL's SolarAPP+ for eligible systems95%
Electrical code
2022 CEC per the city's most recently located adoption record (Nov 2022 Council item and June-2023 submittal bulletin);55%
Own placard wording
Yes90%
Booking an inspection
Portal85%
Labels & placards for this authority

City of Monterey Park writes its own placard wording. A standard NEC label set will not satisfy it — the exact text, and in most cases the size, colour and font, are specified below.

Wording 90%

Yes

Size, colour & material 90%

Yes — 3/8-inch minimum white letters on a red background, on reflective, weather-resistant, permanent material (phenolic plaque suggested; 20-point/3/8" minimum text per ANSI Z535.4 guidance cited)

Where they go 85%

On junction/combiner boxes and conduit (every 10 ft, within 1 ft of turns/penetrations), adjacent to the main service disconnect (visible from where it's operated), on AC and DC disconnects, on the inverter, and on the inverter-output OCPD

What the utility wants on top None%

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Los Angeles County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of Monterey Park · city
Solar Requirements
Required placards
Building & Safety | Monterey Park, CA - Official Website Skip to Main Content Advisory Air Purifier Reimbursement Program Info Read On... Sign Up for Free Emergency Alerts via Everbridge Read On... Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more. Website Sign In Search Home Government Departments Community Development Building & Safety Building & Safety On
Authority Contact
Address
320 W Newmark Avenue, Monterey Park, CA 91754
Main Phone
626-307-1458
Building Department
Department
Building & Safety Division
Direct Phone
626-307-1300
Portal Software
Accela
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
online
Book in advance
1
Notes
Schedule final solar inspection online via Accela Citizen Access portal (https://aca-prod.accela.com/MONTEREYPARK/Default.aspx) or by calling the Inspection Hot-Line at (626) 307-1229. Provide permit number, job site address, permittee name, and inspection type. Requests received before 4:00 PM Monday–Thursday are scheduled for the next inspection day. Inspections run 8:30 AM–4:30 PM Mon–Thu only (no Friday inspections). Call (626) 307-1300 the morning of the inspection to confirm scheduling and receive an AM or PM window. Solar APP+ available for licensed contractors — register at https://solarapp.nrel.gov/register, get pre-approval ID, then apply through the Accela portal selecting "Residential Solar" under Building category. Owner-builders must apply in person at the One Stop Permit Center. (collected Jul 2026)