City of Morgan Hill
Santa Clara County
City of Morgan Hill is a city authority in the State of California, serving 45,483 residents. 5,379 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — eTRAKiT (https://morg-trk.aspgov.com/eTRAKiT/), fed by SolarAPP+ for eligible residential PV compliance checks. Q20
- Permit required
- Yes98% source
- What it costs
- Electrical Permit Fee Schedule (current, eff. 7/1/2026-6/30/2027): Photovoltaic Systems - New, Residential = $317.00, plus the flat $119.00 electrical-permit-issuance fee = $436.00 base,85% source
- Key document
- authority's own page cited by 6 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · authority's own page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · authority's own page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 98% · authority's own page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 75% · permit application form (PDF, current, ModDate 6 Mar 2025)
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 70% · authority's own page
- Is there a historic-district review? No 65% · authority's own page
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 55% · authority's own page
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No, for standard rooftop PV — it is processed as a Building-Division-only 'Simple Plan Check' item, with no Council or Special/Conditional Use Permit step mentioned anywhere in the City's solar materials. 65% · authority's own page
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 70% · permit application form (PDF)
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 88% · authority's own page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 80% · authority's own page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Permit Application (PDF, emailed to Building Division); a plan set showing plot plan with panel/equipment location; installation guidelines and/or engineered drawings; Panel Load Calculations (only for EV chargers on services under 200A); structural calculations if required by the reviewer. 85% · authority's own page
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic only — PDF submittal by email to the Building Division; JPEGs/photos are not accepted. No physical copies are called for residential solar submittals. 85% · authority's own page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — 'A plot plan showing the location of the solar panels, equipment' is listed as part of the required plan set. A generic Sample Plot Plan handout exists but is image-only (not solar-specific) and does not itemize additional required content beyond location of structures/setbacks. 75% · authority's own page
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes (implied, not named) — the submittal list requires 'Installation guidelines and/or engineered drawings' but the page never uses the phrase 'one-line diagram' or 'three-line diagram' explicitly. 55% · authority's own page
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Not explicitly named; covered generically under 'installation guidelines and/or engineered drawings' and the separate Residential Electrical Service Load Calculations worksheet (which is framed around service/EVCS sizing under CEC Art. 220.82, not PV string sizing specifically). 50% · authority's own form (PDF, 15 Jun 2022)
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No stated valuation/size threshold; the Solar PV page only notes 'Structural calculations may be required,' left to the plan reviewer's discretion rather than a published trigger point. 55% · authority's own page
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? eTRAKiT (https://morg-trk.aspgov.com/eTRAKiT/), fed by SolarAPP+ for eligible residential PV compliance checks. 95% · authority's own page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes for SolarApp+-eligible systems (automated compliance check, then issuance and inspection scheduling entirely through eTRAKiT); for ineligible systems the application and plans are still emailed to the Building Division rather than uploaded through a portal, so it is not fully online in every case. 75% · authority's own page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? Electrical Permit Fee Schedule (current, eff. 7/1/2026-6/30/2027): Photovoltaic Systems - New, Residential = $317.00, plus the flat $119.00 electrical-permit-issuance fee = $436.00 base, plus a 15% Long Range Planning surcharge and 5% GIS Technology surcharge on that total (per the Administrative Code Fee Schedule), plus nominal Building Standards Commission/microfilm fees — roughly $520-$530 all-in for a straightforward residential system. SolarApp+ users also pay a separate, smaller processing fee directly to the SolarAPP+ platform, on top of the above. 85% · fee schedule (PDF, current cycle)
- How is the fee calculated? Flat 88% · fee schedule (PDF, current cycle)
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Partial — Solar PV is classified by the City as a 'Simple Plan Check' item (Building Division plan review only, no multi-department review), and the flat PV fee line does not carry a separate itemized plan-check charge. A distinct 'PLAN CHECK — BASED ON VALUATION + LPR' fee and a 'SOLAR REVISION' fee of $132.00 exist in the Administrative Code Fee Schedule for cases needing revision/valuation-based review (e.g., non-SolarApp+ eligible or ground-mount systems), so it depends on the submittal path. 70% · authority's own page + fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 365 days — a permit becomes inactive if it does not have a passing inspection within 365 days of issuance (or of the last passing inspection); a permit extension may be requested from the Building Division. 85% · authority's own instructional PDF
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) is the interconnecting/distribution utility. Silicon Valley Clean Energy (SVCE) is the Community Choice Aggregator supplying generation service to Morgan Hill customers, but SVCE does not touch interconnection — PG&E owns the wires and issues Permission to Operate. Morgan Hill's own Utility Billing division is water/wastewater only; there is no municipal electric utility. 90% · utility's own page + city page
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel, with the utility gating final energization. The interconnection application can be filed with PG&E independently of/alongside the building permit, but under Electric Rule 21 (Sheet 45) Permission to Operate is processed only after PG&E receives 'evidence of Applicant's final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority having jurisdiction' — i.e., PTO cannot be granted until the City's final inspection has passed. 90% · utility tariff (PDF)
28 questions answered against City of Morgan Hill’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building & Fire Prevention Division administers building/electrical permitting and its own Solar PV page states a permit is required for residential PV; no county or independent fire district claims jurisdiction over standard residential rooftop PV here.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/914/Solar-PV-and-EV-Charging-Stations
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherCity performs its own Building and Electrical permitting/inspection (Building & Fire Prevention Division, Development Services). Fire plan review/inspection is also performed by the City's own Morgan Hill Fire Department (CAL FIRE-staffed under a 2013 agreement, not county-contracted) rather than delegated to Santa Clara County or a special fire district. Nothing is delegated for standard residential rooftop PV.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/1089/About-Us
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higher"A permit is required for the installation of a solar PV system and an electric vehicle charging station (EVCS) for all residential and commercial buildings."
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/914/Solar-PV-and-EV-Charging-Stations
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherA single 'Building Permit Application' form has checkboxes for Building/Electrical/Mechanical/Plumbing/Grading, with 'PV System' listed as an Electrical Permit item on that same form — one application, priced against the Electrical Permit Fee Schedule.
permit application form (PDF, current, ModDate 6 Mar 2025) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/235/Permit-Application
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Permit Application has both a licensed 'Contractor' block (State License #) and an 'Owner / Builder' checkbox; both may sign for an electrical/PV permit, consistent with the Application Process page's separate 'Owner/Builders' signing procedure.
permit application form (PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/235/Permit-Application
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherApplication Process page: contractors signing for permits must provide proof of City of Morgan Hill Business License, Workers' Comp insurance, and State Contractor's License; the permit application also has a dedicated 'MH Bus. License #' field.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/154/Application-Process
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherApplication Process page describes an 'Owner/Builders' signing path requiring a 'Notice to Owner/Owner's Acknowledgement' form; the permit application form itself has an 'Owner / Builder' checkbox alongside 'Owner w/ Contractor'. Not solar-specific, but applies to any residential permit including electrical/PV.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/154/Application-Process
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Permit Application (PDF, emailed to Building Division); a plan set showing plot plan with panel/equipment location; installation guidelines and/or engineered drawings; Panel Load Calculations (only for EV chargers on services under 200A); structural calculations if required by the reviewer.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV & EV Charging Stations page's 'Submittal Requirements' section, read in full.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/914/Solar-PV-and-EV-Charging-Stations
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic only — PDF submittal by email to the Building Division; JPEGs/photos are not accepted. No physical copies are called for residential solar submittals.
Why the confidence is not higherApplication Process page ('Only PDF submittals will be accepted. JPEGs and photos are not acceptable') plus the Solar PV page's 'may be emailed directly to the Building Division' instruction.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/154/Application-Process
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — 'A plot plan showing the location of the solar panels, equipment' is listed as part of the required plan set. A generic Sample Plot Plan handout exists but is image-only (not solar-specific) and does not itemize additional required content beyond location of structures/setbacks.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV & EV Charging Stations page submittal list; Sample Plot Plan PDF checked but is a scanned image with no extractable text describing solar-specific plot-plan content.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/914/Solar-PV-and-EV-Charging-Stations
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes (implied, not named) — the submittal list requires 'Installation guidelines and/or engineered drawings' but the page never uses the phrase 'one-line diagram' or 'three-line diagram' explicitly.
Why the confidence is not higherAuthority's own current page, but the wording is generic ('engineered drawings') rather than naming a one-line diagram by name, so this is an inference.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/914/Solar-PV-and-EV-Charging-Stations
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Not explicitly named; covered generically under 'installation guidelines and/or engineered drawings' and the separate Residential Electrical Service Load Calculations worksheet (which is framed around service/EVCS sizing under CEC Art. 220.82, not PV string sizing specifically).
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV page submittal list plus the Residential Electrical Service Load Calculations PDF, neither of which names string/conductor calculations for PV directly.
authority's own form (PDF, 15 Jun 2022) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/41518/Residential-Electrical-Service-Load-Calculations
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
No stated valuation/size threshold; the Solar PV page only notes 'Structural calculations may be required,' left to the plan reviewer's discretion rather than a published trigger point.
Why the confidence is not higherAuthority's own current page states the requirement exists but gives no threshold, so this is as far as the record goes.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/914/Solar-PV-and-EV-Charging-Stations
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar PV & EV Charging Stations page, Building Permit Application, Adopted Codes & Design Criteria page — none mention an electrical PE-stamp threshold for residential PV
https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/914/Solar-PV-and-EV-Charging-Stations
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Electrical Permit Fee Schedule (current, eff. 7/1/2026-6/30/2027): Photovoltaic Systems - New, Residential = $317.00, plus the flat $119.00 electrical-permit-issuance fee = $436.00 base, plus a 15% Long Range Planning surcharge and 5% GIS Technology surcharge on that total (per the Administrative Code Fee Schedule), plus nominal Building Standards Commission/microfilm fees — roughly $520-$530 all-in for a straightforward residential system. SolarApp+ users also pay a separate, smaller processing fee directly to the SolarAPP+ platform, on top of the above.
Why the confidence is not higherFigures taken directly from the current (7/1/2026-6/30/2027) Electrical Permit Fee Schedule and Administrative Code Fee Schedule; the all-in total is my addition of the two schedules' stated surcharge percentages, not a single line the City prints as a grand total, hence not 95.
fee schedule (PDF, current cycle) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/35685/Electrical-Permit-Fee-Schedule
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat
Why the confidence is not higherPhotovoltaic Systems - New, Residential is a single flat dollar figure ($317.00) in the Electrical Permit Fee Schedule, not tied to system valuation or per-kW/per-panel; PG&E-related note on the schedule references Gov. Code §66015 as a cap on what the flat fee may be, but the fee itself is flat.
fee schedule (PDF, current cycle) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/35685/Electrical-Permit-Fee-Schedule
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Partial — Solar PV is classified by the City as a 'Simple Plan Check' item (Building Division plan review only, no multi-department review), and the flat PV fee line does not carry a separate itemized plan-check charge. A distinct 'PLAN CHECK — BASED ON VALUATION + LPR' fee and a 'SOLAR REVISION' fee of $132.00 exist in the Administrative Code Fee Schedule for cases needing revision/valuation-based review (e.g., non-SolarApp+ eligible or ground-mount systems), so it depends on the submittal path.
Why the confidence is not higherHome Improvement Resources page ('Simple Plan Check... Residential solar / photovoltaic systems') plus the Administrative Code Fee Schedule's separate 'SOLAR REVISION' and 'PLAN CHECK' lines — two of the City's own current documents give slightly different pictures depending on submittal type.
authority's own page + fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/165/Home-Improvement-Resources
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPermit Information, Application Process, and Solar PV pages checked for a stated plan-review turnaround in business days — none is published
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
365 days — a permit becomes inactive if it does not have a passing inspection within 365 days of issuance (or of the last passing inspection); a permit extension may be requested from the Building Division.
Why the confidence is not highereTRAKiT user brochure: 'Permits not having a passing inspection within 365 days from date of issuance or from date of last passing inspection will become inactive.' Not solar-specific, but applies generally to all City permits including electrical/PV.
authority's own instructional PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/227
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
eTRAKiT (https://morg-trk.aspgov.com/eTRAKiT/), fed by SolarAPP+ for eligible residential PV compliance checks.
Why the confidence is not higherSolarApp+ Automated Solar Permits page names both platforms explicitly and gives the eTRAKiT URL.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/2578/SolarApp-Automated-Solar-Permits
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes for SolarApp+-eligible systems (automated compliance check, then issuance and inspection scheduling entirely through eTRAKiT); for ineligible systems the application and plans are still emailed to the Building Division rather than uploaded through a portal, so it is not fully online in every case.
Why the confidence is not higherSolarApp+ page's step-by-step process (fully online) versus the Solar PV & EV page's 'application and plans may be emailed directly to the Building Division' instruction for the general case.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/2578/SolarApp-Automated-Solar-Permits
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) is the interconnecting/distribution utility. Silicon Valley Clean Energy (SVCE) is the Community Choice Aggregator supplying generation service to Morgan Hill customers, but SVCE does not touch interconnection — PG&E owns the wires and issues Permission to Operate. Morgan Hill's own Utility Billing division is water/wastewater only; there is no municipal electric utility.
Why the confidence is not higherSVCE's own 'about' page lists Morgan Hill as a member jurisdiction; the City's Utility Billing page confirms the City only bills for water/wastewater; PG&E's own Greenbook (TD-7001M) and Rule 21 tariff describe PG&E as the Distribution Provider gating interconnection statewide including Santa Clara County.
utility's own page + city page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.svcleanenergy.org/who-we-are/
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel, with the utility gating final energization. The interconnection application can be filed with PG&E independently of/alongside the building permit, but under Electric Rule 21 (Sheet 45) Permission to Operate is processed only after PG&E receives 'evidence of Applicant's final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority having jurisdiction' — i.e., PTO cannot be granted until the City's final inspection has passed.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21 tariff (current, Advice 7692-E, eff. 29 Aug 2025) Sheet 45 §D.13.b, and PG&E's own Greenbook (TD-7001M, §1.11.11-12, current 22 Apr 2026 edition) both state final AHJ inspection/approval is required before PG&E establishes/energizes service.
utility tariff (PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Home Improvement Resources page classifies residential solar/PV as a 'Simple Plan Check' item requiring Building Division plan review only — the Planning Division (which would handle architectural/HOA-adjacent review) is not in the loop for standard rooftop PV. Any HOA restriction would separately be pre-empted by the CA Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714), which the City does not need to restate.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/165/Home-Improvement-Resources
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame 'Simple Plan Check — Building Division plan review only' classification implies no Planning-Division/historic-overlay review is triggered for standard rooftop PV; I did not find a historic-district ordinance provision specifically addressing solar to confirm this negatively at the code level.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/165/Home-Improvement-Resources
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo separate wind/windstorm certification process is described anywhere in the Building & Fire Prevention pages; the Adopted Codes & Design Criteria page states a design wind speed (Risk Category II: 92 mph) that is simply an input to standard structural calculations, not a stand-alone certification.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/174/Adopted-Codes-Design-Criteria
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No, for standard rooftop PV — it is processed as a Building-Division-only 'Simple Plan Check' item, with no Council or Special/Conditional Use Permit step mentioned anywhere in the City's solar materials.
Why the confidence is not higherHome Improvement Resources page's Simple Plan Check list.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/165/Home-Improvement-Resources
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar PV page, SolarApp+ page/eligibility checklist, and Adopted Codes page checked for a stated kW or system-size cap on residential generation — none is published; NEM sizing is governed by PG&E's tariff (customer load) rather than a City-set cap
https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/914/Solar-PV-and-EV-Charging-Stations
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 85% · authority's own page
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code, with the 2025 California Residential Code governing one- and two-family dwellings (fire sprinklers required for all new residential buildings per that page). 95% · authority's own page
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code. 95% · authority's own page
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 75% · authority's own page
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building/Residential/Electrical/Fire Codes as adopted (see Q29-31), applied against the City-specific design criteria (Climate Zone 4, Exposure C, Seismic D, 92 mph wind) on the same Adopted Codes page; for permits submitted before 1 Jan 2026 the prior (2022) code cycle governs per the City's own code-cycle transition notice. 85% · authority's own page
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Morgan Hill on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes — rapid shutdown is required under the 2025 California Electrical Code (based on the 2023 NEC), i.e. NEC §690.12. Note: the only PV-specific eligibility document the City links (SolarAPP+ PV Eligibility Checklist) is a generic, dated 26 Apr 2021 national template that still references the 2017 NEC and excludes the §690.12(B)(2)(3) 'no exposed wiring' rapid-shutdown method — it has not been updated for the City's current 2025 code cycle, so treat its code citations as stale. 70% · authority-linked but generic/dated PDF
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 65% · authority's own page (absence)
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No 65% · authority's own page (absence)
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes — for a line/supply-side-tap AC disconnect, PG&E requires 'an engraved placard (signage), indicating there is a line/supply side connection, installed on the metering equipment,' per its Electric Generation Interconnection rules. 90% · utility manual (PDF)
- Where must the labels be placed? Per PG&E: the required line/supply-side-connection placard goes on the metering equipment; the AC disconnect itself (see Q48) sits between the meter and main breaker/after the meter. No City-specific label-placement rule was found beyond this. 75% · utility manual (PDF)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Depends on service configuration. Per PG&E: for a self-contained, socket-based single-phase meter panel rated 320A or less, no AC disconnect is required at all (Table 6-3). Where an AC disconnect IS required (all other panel types, or any line/supply-side tap), it must be installed after the meter and ahead of the main breaker, on/adjacent to the metering equipment. 85% · utility manual (PDF)
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 70% · authority-linked PDF (generic template, but this line is a standard CEC-list requirement)
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Batteries/ESS are permitted as a standard electrical permit item — the City's own Building Permit Application lists 'Energy Storage System' as its own checkbox alongside 'PV System' under the Electrical Permit section — governed by the adopted 2025 California Fire Code/Residential Code (no separate City ESS ordinance or conditions bulletin was found). 65% · permit application form (PDF)
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No separate ESS-specific permit type — 'Energy Storage System' is one of several checkboxes on the same single Building Permit Application used for PV, and none of the current fee schedules (Electrical, Fire, Administrative Code) carries a distinct ESS fee line; it appears to fall under the generic 'electrical apparatus... for which no fee is herein set forth' catch-all ($198.00) in the Electrical Permit Fee Schedule. 60% · fee schedule (PDF)
20 questions answered against City of Morgan Hill’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Adopted Codes & Design Criteria page lists '2025 California Electrical Code' as currently in force (effective 1 Jan 2026 per the City's own Inspection Requests page code-cycle notice). The 2025 CEC is based on the 2023 NEC.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/174/Adopted-Codes-Design-Criteria
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code, with the 2025 California Residential Code governing one- and two-family dwellings (fire sprinklers required for all new residential buildings per that page).
Why the confidence is not higherAdopted Codes & Design Criteria page, current.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/174/Adopted-Codes-Design-Criteria
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code.
Why the confidence is not higherAdopted Codes & Design Criteria page, current.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/174/Adopted-Codes-Design-Criteria
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe same Adopted Codes page publishes City-specific design criteria layered onto the state codes: Climate Zone 4, Exposure C, Seismic Design Category D, and Risk Category II wind speed 92 mph. I did not find a further, separately-codified chapter of textual amendments to the building/fire code beyond these design-criteria fill-ins, which is itself the local-amendment layer California code adoption requires (e.g., wind speed, seismic values are always locally set).
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/174/Adopted-Codes-Design-Criteria
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Building/Residential/Electrical/Fire Codes as adopted (see Q29-31), applied against the City-specific design criteria (Climate Zone 4, Exposure C, Seismic D, 92 mph wind) on the same Adopted Codes page; for permits submitted before 1 Jan 2026 the prior (2022) code cycle governs per the City's own code-cycle transition notice.
Why the confidence is not higherAdopted Codes & Design Criteria page plus the Inspection Requests page's explicit 2022-vs-2025-cycle cutover note (submittals through 31 Dec 2025 = 2022 cycle; from 1 Jan 2026 = 2025 cycle).
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/180/Inspection-Requests
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAdopted Codes & Design Criteria page, Electrical Permit Fee Schedule, and Solar PV page checked for a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing beyond the state 2025 CEC (690.12/705.12) — none is published
https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/174/Adopted-Codes-Design-Criteria
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar PV page and Submittal Checklists page checked for a City-specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing bulletin — none is published; the only structural note is the generic 'Structural calculations may be required' line
https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/914/Solar-PV-and-EV-Charging-Stations
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFire Marshal 'Standard Details & Specifications' list (items 11-A through 11-T, read in full) and the Adopted Codes & Design Criteria page checked for a PV-specific ridge-setback/access-pathway bulletin — the standard-details list runs 11-A to 11-T with no PV/solar entry, so residential rooftop access spacing appears to default to the state-adopted 2025 CRC/CFC without a published local amendment
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes — rapid shutdown is required under the 2025 California Electrical Code (based on the 2023 NEC), i.e. NEC §690.12. Note: the only PV-specific eligibility document the City links (SolarAPP+ PV Eligibility Checklist) is a generic, dated 26 Apr 2021 national template that still references the 2017 NEC and excludes the §690.12(B)(2)(3) 'no exposed wiring' rapid-shutdown method — it has not been updated for the City's current 2025 code cycle, so treat its code citations as stale.
Why the confidence is not higherAdopted Codes page (2025 CEC currently in force) plus the SolarAPP+ Eligibility Checklist PDF, which is a national NREL/DOE-style template, not customized to Morgan Hill's current code cycle.
authority-linked but generic/dated PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/49336/SolarAPP-Eligibility-Checklist
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar PV page, SolarApp+ page, Fire Marshal Standard Details list, and Adopted Codes page checked for a City-specified placard list at the service equipment — none is published; only PG&E's own line/supply-side-connection placard requirement was found (see Q42)
https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/914/Solar-PV-and-EV-Charging-Stations
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo City document specifies its own placard wording for residential PV; checked the Solar PV page, SolarApp+ page, and Fire Marshal's standard-details list. The only wording requirement found is PG&E's own ('engraved placard... indicating there is a line/supply side connection').
authority's own page (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/914/Solar-PV-and-EV-Charging-Stations
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo letter-height/color/material specification for PV placards was found in any City building or fire document reviewed.
authority's own page (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/914/Solar-PV-and-EV-Charging-Stations
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar PV page and Fire Marshal standard-details list checked for a City-specific facility-map/site-plan placard requirement beyond NEC 705.10 — none is published; the only site-plan requirement found is the general plot-plan submittal item
https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/914/Solar-PV-and-EV-Charging-Stations
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes — for a line/supply-side-tap AC disconnect, PG&E requires 'an engraved placard (signage), indicating there is a line/supply side connection, installed on the metering equipment,' per its Electric Generation Interconnection rules.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Greenbook (TD-7001M-06, current, Publication Date 22 Apr 2026 / Effective 22 Jun 2026), Table 6-3 and accompanying text.
utility manual (PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/greenbook-manual-full.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Per PG&E: the required line/supply-side-connection placard goes on the metering equipment; the AC disconnect itself (see Q48) sits between the meter and main breaker/after the meter. No City-specific label-placement rule was found beyond this.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Greenbook §6.3, same citation as Q42.
utility manual (PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/greenbook-manual-full.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ Eligibility Checklist requires 'Modules and Inverters must be listed on CEC' (California Energy Commission's approved-equipment list) for the automated pathway; standard 2025 CEC listing requirements (UL-listed equipment) apply generally to any submittal method.
authority-linked PDF (generic template, but this line is a standard CEC-list requirement) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/49336/SolarAPP-Eligibility-Checklist
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Batteries/ESS are permitted as a standard electrical permit item — the City's own Building Permit Application lists 'Energy Storage System' as its own checkbox alongside 'PV System' under the Electrical Permit section — governed by the adopted 2025 California Fire Code/Residential Code (no separate City ESS ordinance or conditions bulletin was found).
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permit Application form (current, Mar 2025) plus the absence of any dedicated ESS policy page on the Building & Fire Prevention site.
permit application form (PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/235/Permit-Application
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No separate ESS-specific permit type — 'Energy Storage System' is one of several checkboxes on the same single Building Permit Application used for PV, and none of the current fee schedules (Electrical, Fire, Administrative Code) carries a distinct ESS fee line; it appears to fall under the generic 'electrical apparatus... for which no fee is herein set forth' catch-all ($198.00) in the Electrical Permit Fee Schedule.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permit Application checkbox list plus the Electrical Permit Fee Schedule's catch-all line — no ESS-specific fee found in any of the four current fee-schedule PDFs checked.
fee schedule (PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/35685/Electrical-Permit-Fee-Schedule
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar PV page and Adopted Codes page checked for a statement that a ground-mounted PV array is treated as a 'structure' under the CBC — none is published; the Home Improvement Resources 'Simple Plan Check' scope only names rooftop PV
https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/914/Solar-PV-and-EV-Charging-Stations
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Depends on service configuration. Per PG&E: for a self-contained, socket-based single-phase meter panel rated 320A or less, no AC disconnect is required at all (Table 6-3). Where an AC disconnect IS required (all other panel types, or any line/supply-side tap), it must be installed after the meter and ahead of the main breaker, on/adjacent to the metering equipment.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Greenbook (TD-7001M-06), Table 6-3 'Requirements for AC Disconnect Switches' and accompanying text, current edition.
utility manual (PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/greenbook-manual-full.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal 90% · authority's own page + instructional PDF
- How much notice is required? Next-business-day cutoff of 3:30 PM the day before — same-day inspections are not offered; requesting by 3:30 PM secures the next available day. 85% · authority's own instructional PDF
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Yes — AM (8am-12pm) or PM (12pm-4pm) windows, or 'ANY,' selectable when booking; the City states it 'will try to accommodate AM/PM inspection requests, but cannot guarantee them,' and the specific one-hour window is provided by 8:00 AM on the day of the inspection. 90% · authority's own instructional PDF
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 85% · authority's own page
- If delegated, to whom? N/A — not delegated. Building/Electrical inspections are performed directly by the City's own Building Division; fire-related inspections are performed by the City's own Morgan Hill Fire Department (which is itself CAL FIRE-staffed under a 2013 services agreement, but organizationally a City department, not a delegation to CAL FIRE or the County). 80% · authority's own page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? An Electrical Final inspection is required for solar PV. A footing inspection and/or underground electrical inspection is additionally required only if panels or EV chargers are ground-mounted. No rough-in/mid-roof inspection is called out for standard rooftop PV — an Inspection Compliance Form may be used so that 'only a final inspection is necessary for solar panels.' 90% · authority's own page
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No, generally — the Solar PV page frames the norm as a single Electrical Final, with the City's Inspection Compliance Form specifically intended so that 'only a final inspection is necessary for solar panels' on typical roof conditions. A footing/underground inspection is required only if the array or an EV charger is ground- or below-grade-mounted. 80% · authority's own page
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No dedicated published solar inspection checklist was found; the only related published form is the general-purpose 'Inspection Compliance Form' (2010), used for hazard conditions like steep-pitch roofs, not a technical PV inspection checklist. 65% · authority's own form (PDF) — confirms the absence
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Likely yes, but not stated as a checklist item on the City's public page — this is an inference from standard California building-inspection practice (2025 CEC listing/labeling requirements) rather than a City-published statement that the inspector affirmatively checks labels/listings. 50% · inference from adopted code, not a direct statement
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (an inspection-card sign-off) — the City does not issue Certificates of Occupancy for residential units at all; 'A Residential Dwelling Occupancy Approval will be signed and dated by the inspector on the inspections card at the time of the final.' For a PV-only permit this is the passed Electrical Final on the inspection card/eTRAKiT record. 75% · authority's own page
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer/Applicant — under PG&E's Electric Rule 21, Permission to Operate is processed after PG&E receives 'evidence of Applicant's final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority having jurisdiction,' which in practice the installer/applicant submits to PG&E (the City does not notify PG&E directly). 70% · utility tariff (PDF)
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $264.00 85% · fee schedule (PDF, current)
14 questions answered against City of Morgan Hill’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal
Why the confidence is not highereTRAKiT (https://morg-trk.aspgov.com/eTRAKiT/) — inspections are requested by selecting 'Request' under the Inspection column after logging in.
authority's own page + instructional PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/180/Inspection-Requests
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Next-business-day cutoff of 3:30 PM the day before — same-day inspections are not offered; requesting by 3:30 PM secures the next available day.
Why the confidence is not highereTRAKiT user brochure: 'Cut-off time for next day inspections is 3:30 PM.'
authority's own instructional PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/227
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Yes — AM (8am-12pm) or PM (12pm-4pm) windows, or 'ANY,' selectable when booking; the City states it 'will try to accommodate AM/PM inspection requests, but cannot guarantee them,' and the specific one-hour window is provided by 8:00 AM on the day of the inspection.
Why the confidence is not highereTRAKiT user brochure, same document as Q50.
authority's own instructional PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/227
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division performs its own Electrical Final inspection for solar; not delegated to county or a special district. Fire prevention inspections for other permit types are performed by the City's own Morgan Hill Fire Department, also not delegated.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/914/Solar-PV-and-EV-Charging-Stations
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — not delegated. Building/Electrical inspections are performed directly by the City's own Building Division; fire-related inspections are performed by the City's own Morgan Hill Fire Department (which is itself CAL FIRE-staffed under a 2013 services agreement, but organizationally a City department, not a delegation to CAL FIRE or the County).
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV page (Building Division performs the Electrical Final) and Fire Department 'About Us' page (2013 CAL FIRE staffing agreement, ending the prior 1995-2013 Santa Clara County Fire Department contract).
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/1089/About-Us
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
An Electrical Final inspection is required for solar PV. A footing inspection and/or underground electrical inspection is additionally required only if panels or EV chargers are ground-mounted. No rough-in/mid-roof inspection is called out for standard rooftop PV — an Inspection Compliance Form may be used so that 'only a final inspection is necessary for solar panels.'
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV & EV Charging Stations page, 'Inspections' section, read in full.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/914/Solar-PV-and-EV-Charging-Stations
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No, generally — the Solar PV page frames the norm as a single Electrical Final, with the City's Inspection Compliance Form specifically intended so that 'only a final inspection is necessary for solar panels' on typical roof conditions. A footing/underground inspection is required only if the array or an EV charger is ground- or below-grade-mounted.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV & EV Charging Stations page.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/914/Solar-PV-and-EV-Charging-Stations
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Likely yes, but not stated as a checklist item on the City's public page — this is an inference from standard California building-inspection practice (2025 CEC listing/labeling requirements) rather than a City-published statement that the inspector affirmatively checks labels/listings.
Why the confidence is not higherNo City document explicitly states this; inferred from the general listing requirements of the adopted 2025 CEC.
inference from adopted code, not a direct statement checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/174/Adopted-Codes-Design-Criteria
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No dedicated published solar inspection checklist was found; the only related published form is the general-purpose 'Inspection Compliance Form' (2010), used for hazard conditions like steep-pitch roofs, not a technical PV inspection checklist.
Why the confidence is not higherChecked the Solar PV page, Inspection Requests page, and Forms page; Inspection Compliance Form (DocumentCenter/View/4403) reviewed directly and confirmed to be a generic hazard-acknowledgement form, not a PV checklist.
authority's own form (PDF) — confirms the absence checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/4403
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar PV page and Inspection Requests page checked for a stated list of documents required on-site at inspection (e.g., approved plans, permit card) — none is explicitly published
https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/914/Solar-PV-and-EV-Charging-Stations
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$264.00
Why the confidence is not higher'REINSPECTION ADMIN. FEE — INSPECTORS HOURLY RATE — $264.00' in the current (FY 2026-2027) Administrative Code Fee Schedule.
fee schedule (PDF, current) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/35672/Administrative-Code-Fee-Schedule-Web
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspection Requests and Application Process pages checked for a published description of how corrections are issued/cleared (e.g., via eTRAKiT comment log) — no explicit process description is published beyond 'the Building Division will provide those comments to you for corrections' for plan review
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (an inspection-card sign-off) — the City does not issue Certificates of Occupancy for residential units at all; 'A Residential Dwelling Occupancy Approval will be signed and dated by the inspector on the inspections card at the time of the final.' For a PV-only permit this is the passed Electrical Final on the inspection card/eTRAKiT record.
Why the confidence is not higherApplication Process page (general C of O policy) combined with the Solar PV page's statement that an Electrical Final is the operative solar inspection.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.morganhill.ca.gov/154/Application-Process
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer/Applicant — under PG&E's Electric Rule 21, Permission to Operate is processed after PG&E receives 'evidence of Applicant's final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority having jurisdiction,' which in practice the installer/applicant submits to PG&E (the City does not notify PG&E directly).
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21 tariff, Sheet 45, §D.13.b (current, Advice 7692-E, eff. 29 Aug 2025) — a utility-level, statewide provision rather than a Morgan Hill-specific statement, hence not scored higher.
utility tariff (PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Morgan Hill against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Morgan Hill is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical, performed directly by the City's Building & Fire Prevention Division (Development Services). Fire plan review/inspection for other permit types is also performed in-house by the City's own Morgan Hill Fire Department, which the City reconstituted in Jan 2013 (ending a 1995-2013 contract with Santa Clara County Fire Department) and now staffs via an agreement with CAL FIRE for both fire protection and EMS. Nothing is delegated to Santa Clara County or to South Santa Clara County Fire Protection District — Morgan Hill only shares a single reciprocal apparatus with that district and is not on SCCFD's (Santa Clara County Fire Department's) own served-communities list.
- Overridden by
- PG&E's Electric Rule 21 gates Permission-to-Operate (energization) on the City's own final-inspection clearance, so PG&E cannot short-circuit the City's authority — if anything the utility's rule reinforces it. Silicon Valley Clean Energy (SVCE) is the CCA supplying generation service to Morgan Hill customers but has no role in permitting, inspection, or interconnection, which stay with PG&E and the City respectively.
- Why not higher
- Brief named 'Community Development' style naming risk generally; here the City's own site consistently names the department 'Building & Fire Prevention' (a division of Development Services) as the single point of contact for both building/electrical AND fire-related residential permitting (permits@morganhill.ca.gov, 408-778-6480), so unlike some sister counties there is no separate agency actually holding building/electrical. The one real correction versus the brief's lead: Morgan Hill Fire is neither its own fully independent department in the ordinary sense, nor SCCFD-contracted like some neighbors — it is a city department staffed by CAL FIRE personnel under a 2013 agreement, the 'third pattern' the brief warned to watch for.
- Permit required
- Yes98%
- Permit cost
- Electrical Permit Fee Schedule (current, eff. 7/1/2026-6/30/2027): Photovoltaic Systems - New, Residential = $317.00, plus the flat $119.00 electrical-permit-issuance fee = $436.00 base,85%
- Portal
- eTRAKiT (https://morg-trk.aspgov.com/eTRAKiT/), fed by SolarAPP+ for eligible residential PV compliance checks.95%
- Electrical code
- 202385%
- Own placard wording
- No65%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal90%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 65%
No
Size, colour & material 65%
No
Where they go 75%
Per PG&E: the required line/supply-side-connection placard goes on the metering equipment; the AC disconnect itself (see Q48) sits between the meter and main breaker/after the meter. No City-specific label-placement rule was found beyond this.
What the utility wants on top 90%
Yes — for a line/supply-side-tap AC disconnect, PG&E requires 'an engraved placard (signage), indicating there is a line/supply side connection, installed on the metering equipment,' per its Electric Generation Interconnection rules.
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.