City of Morro Bay
San Luis Obispo County
City of Morro Bay is a city authority in the State of California, serving 10,757 residents. 612 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — 1-3 business days (current, for standard/non-Symbium PV and ESS applications); Symbium-qualifying systems get instantaneous automated plan review under SB 379. Q18 Where you file — Two portals depending on eligibility: (1) Symbium (symbium.com/embed-search/?jurisdiction=morro_bay) -- the City's SB 379 automated instant-permitting platform for… Q20
- Permit required
- Yes92% source
- What it costs
- $450 flat for residential systems 15 kW or less, plus $15 per kW for each kW above 15 kW.93% source
- Plan review turnaround
- 1-3 business days (current, for standard/non-Symbium PV and ESS applications); Symbium-qualifying systems get instantaneous automated plan review under SB 379.80% source
- Key document
- portal landing page cited by 5 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · department application form
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 92% · department page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 82% · department application form
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 85% · department application form
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 75% · department application form
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 90% · department FAQ
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Two complete sets of 11x17 drawings (residential) containing: a code-compliant mounting structure detail with an engineered mounting system; State Fire Marshal roof-edge-clearance compliance; listed/identified equipment (modules, inverters, combiners, etc.); a completed building permit application; a site plan showing major component locations; an electrical diagram (array configuration, wiring, overcurrent protection, inverter, disconnects, required signs, AC connection); manufacturer spec sheets for all components; and a labeling/signage page. For new-home Title 24 submittals, PV system size must also be included in the energy analysis. 78% · department checklist
- How many copies, and in what format? For non-Symbium submittals: digital upload via the City's Community Portal (CityWorks Online, Electronic Plan Review); the only paper-copy figure found is in the 2019 PV Guidelines, which calls for 'two' complete sets of 11x17 drawings for residential (three for commercial). Systems qualifying for Symbium's automated review are submitted entirely online with no physical copies. 65% · department checklist
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes -- a site plan showing the location of major system components on the property. 85% · department checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 88% · department checklist
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? An 'engineered mounting system' must be used to attach the array to a code-compliant structure; the City's own PV Guidelines does not state a numeric threshold (e.g. weight, span, or system size) above which a stamped structural PE calculation is required -- it is stated as a blanket requirement for all installations. 55% · department checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Two portals depending on eligibility: (1) Symbium (symbium.com/embed-search/?jurisdiction=morro_bay) -- the City's SB 379 automated instant-permitting platform for qualifying residential PV/ESS; (2) the City's 'Community Portal' (CityWorks Online, app03.cityworksonline.com/CLIENT_MorroBayCA-Public) for all other building/solar/ESS submittals via Electronic Plan Review. 92% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 88% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $450 flat for residential systems 15 kW or less, plus $15 per kW for each kW above 15 kW. 93% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered 90% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No 85% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 1-3 business days (current, for standard/non-Symbium PV and ESS applications); Symbium-qualifying systems get instantaneous automated plan review under SB 379. Note: the City's separate 2019 PV Guidelines handout states an older figure of 'approximately 2-3 days' for residential. 80% · department page
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days: a permit becomes invalid if work is not commenced within 180 days of issuance, or if work is suspended/abandoned for 180 days. An extension of up to 60 days may be granted by the Building Official on written/emailed request (per Community Memo 008); a second 6-month extension (with $200 admin fee) applies specifically to the scenario where fees remain unpaid after plan approval. 82% · department FAQ
- Which utility handles interconnection here? PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric) 55% · inference (no city-specific source located)
28 questions answered against City of Morro Bay’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Community Development Department (Building Division) issues residential PV/ESS permits directly -- either through its Symbium automated-permitting portal or, for non-qualifying systems, through 'SOLAR RESIDENTIAL OL', 'SOLAR WITH ESS RESIDENTIAL OL' and 'ESS ONLY RESIDENTIAL OL' permit types -- and the City's own Fire Prevention Division (Morro Bay Fire Department, in-house, not a district or county contract) performs fire plan check/inspection for roof coverage over 50%.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/1076/Residential-Solar-Permits
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding and Electrical are both self-performed by the City's Building Division (single combined 'Solar/ESS' permit type on the Express Building Permit Application); Fire plan check/inspection is also self-performed by Morro Bay's own Fire Prevention Division -- no delegation to SLO County or a fire district was found for any of the three.
department application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/21209
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolar/PV/ESS is one of the enumerated 'permit types' on the Symbium/Residential Solar Permits page, and the City's own 'Work Exempt from Permits' memo (quoting CRC R105.2) lists exemptions covering fences, small accessory structures, minor electrical/plumbing repairs, etc. -- solar PV/ESS is not among them.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/1076/Residential-Solar-Permits
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's Express Building Permit Application offers a single combined checkbox application covering 'Electrical', 'Solar/ESS', 'Mechanical', etc. as one permit rather than separate building/electrical permit numbers; Symbium likewise issues one instant permit for the whole PV/ESS system.
department application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/21209
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherThe Express Building Permit Application's Consent of Landowner Form states outright: 'Building Permits shall be issued to a licensed contractor or an owner/builder' -- not restricted to a licensed electrician specifically.
department application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/21209
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBoth the standard and Express Building Permit Applications require a 'Contractor State License No.' AND a 'Morro Bay City Business License' number with expiration date as application fields; not stated in so many words as a precondition, but the fields are mandatory parts of the application itself.
department application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/21209
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherConsent of Landowner Form, item 1: 'Building Permits shall be issued to a licensed contractor or an owner/builder.' The City's general FAQ confirms: 'A homeowner can obtain a permit and do the construction, alteration or repair on his/her house and accessory buildings.'
department FAQ checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/324/Frequently-Asked-Questions
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Two complete sets of 11x17 drawings (residential) containing: a code-compliant mounting structure detail with an engineered mounting system; State Fire Marshal roof-edge-clearance compliance; listed/identified equipment (modules, inverters, combiners, etc.); a completed building permit application; a site plan showing major component locations; an electrical diagram (array configuration, wiring, overcurrent protection, inverter, disconnects, required signs, AC connection); manufacturer spec sheets for all components; and a labeling/signage page. For new-home Title 24 submittals, PV system size must also be included in the energy analysis.
Why the confidence is not higherEnumerated in the City's own 'Guidelines for Permitting Small-Scale Photovoltaic Systems' handout (dated 12 Jun 2019, still the live linked document) plus the 'Residential Building Permit Submittal Requirements' handout (rev. 7/8/2026), which separately lists Title 24/solar-spec items for new construction. The PV-specific handout is dated 2019 and may not reflect the newer Symbium-driven process, which was flagged rather than assumed identical.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8729/GUIDELINES-FOR-PERMITTING-SMALL-SCALE-SOLAR-SYSTEMS-06-12-19
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
For non-Symbium submittals: digital upload via the City's Community Portal (CityWorks Online, Electronic Plan Review); the only paper-copy figure found is in the 2019 PV Guidelines, which calls for 'two' complete sets of 11x17 drawings for residential (three for commercial). Systems qualifying for Symbium's automated review are submitted entirely online with no physical copies.
Why the confidence is not higherPortal/EPR route confirmed on the Building Division and Permit Portal pages; the '2 sets/11x17' paper figure is specific to the 2019 PV Guidelines handout and may be superseded now that the City's Electronic Plan Review program is the stated standard -- flagged as a possible vintage conflict rather than reconciled.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8729/GUIDELINES-FOR-PERMITTING-SMALL-SCALE-SOLAR-SYSTEMS-06-12-19
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes -- a site plan showing the location of major system components on the property.
Why the confidence is not higherPV Guidelines, 'Drawings must include: Site plan showing location of major components on the property.'
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8729/GUIDELINES-FOR-PERMITTING-SMALL-SCALE-SOLAR-SYSTEMS-06-12-19
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherPV Guidelines requires 'Electrical diagram showing PV array configuration, wiring system, overcurrent protection, inverter, disconnects, required signs, and AC connection to building' as a mandatory drawing.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8729/GUIDELINES-FOR-PERMITTING-SMALL-SCALE-SOLAR-SYSTEMS-06-12-19
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Guidelines (the City's only PV-specific technical handout) lists required drawing contents (site plan, electrical diagram, spec sheets, labeling page) but does not explicitly list string/conductor ampacity calculations as a named submittal item.
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
An 'engineered mounting system' must be used to attach the array to a code-compliant structure; the City's own PV Guidelines does not state a numeric threshold (e.g. weight, span, or system size) above which a stamped structural PE calculation is required -- it is stated as a blanket requirement for all installations.
Why the confidence is not higherPV Guidelines states the requirement in general terms only ('The array must be mounted on a code-compliant structure... An engineered mounting system is used to attach the array to the structure') without a threshold; no other City document was found addressing a threshold.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8729/GUIDELINES-FOR-PERMITTING-SMALL-SCALE-SOLAR-SYSTEMS-06-12-19
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Guidelines, Residential Building Permit Submittal Requirements, and both Building Permit Application forms -- none state an electrical PE-stamp threshold.
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$450 flat for residential systems 15 kW or less, plus $15 per kW for each kW above 15 kW.
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule (FY2026-27, effective 8/24/2026), Building Fees Section A, item 9 'Rooftop Solar Permit - Residential'. Footnote [a]: 'Total fees shall not exceed amounts outlined in California Government Code 66015(a)(1).' A distinct 'Ground-Mount Solar' flat fee of $371 also exists. Positive control ('electrical', 3 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) both passed on this document.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/22292/Final-Rev-Master-Fee-Schedule-FY-2026-27-Eff-8242026
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered
Why the confidence is not higherFlat $450 fee up to a 15 kW breakpoint, then $15/kW above that -- Master Fee Schedule, Building Fees Section A, item 9.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/22292/Final-Rev-Master-Fee-Schedule-FY-2026-27-Eff-8242026
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule Section A header states: 'Fees shown in this section (Section A.) include all applicable inspection, and plan review fees' -- the Rooftop Solar Permit - Residential line (item 9) sits within Section A, so no separate solar plan-check line exists.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/22292/Final-Rev-Master-Fee-Schedule-FY-2026-27-Eff-8242026
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
1-3 business days (current, for standard/non-Symbium PV and ESS applications); Symbium-qualifying systems get instantaneous automated plan review under SB 379. Note: the City's separate 2019 PV Guidelines handout states an older figure of 'approximately 2-3 days' for residential.
Why the confidence is not higherCurrent live Residential Solar Permits page: 'permit processing will take approximately 1-3 business days, depending on staff availability' for non-Symbium PV/ESS/ESS-only applications; the 2019 PV Guidelines gives a different, older figure -- both are the City's own documents but of different vintage, so both are reported.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/1076/Residential-Solar-Permits
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days: a permit becomes invalid if work is not commenced within 180 days of issuance, or if work is suspended/abandoned for 180 days. An extension of up to 60 days may be granted by the Building Official on written/emailed request (per Community Memo 008); a second 6-month extension (with $200 admin fee) applies specifically to the scenario where fees remain unpaid after plan approval.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building Division FAQ (content last revised 2021) states the 180-day standard CBC/CRC figure; Community Memo 008 (Chief Building Inspector, 9/6/2023) describes the extension procedure in detail.
department FAQ checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/324/Frequently-Asked-Questions
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Two portals depending on eligibility: (1) Symbium (symbium.com/embed-search/?jurisdiction=morro_bay) -- the City's SB 379 automated instant-permitting platform for qualifying residential PV/ESS; (2) the City's 'Community Portal' (CityWorks Online, app03.cityworksonline.com/CLIENT_MorroBayCA-Public) for all other building/solar/ESS submittals via Electronic Plan Review.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth named and linked directly from the City's own Residential Solar Permits and Building Division / Permit Portal pages; the Symbium embed URL was read directly out of the page's HTML.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/1076/Residential-Solar-Permits
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFor systems qualifying under SB 379, Symbium provides fully automated instant online plan review and permit issuance ('instantaneous plan review... automated permitting'). For non-qualifying systems, the City's Electronic Plan Review program allows full digital submittal via the Community Portal (though the older 2019 PV Guidelines still describes a paper-set option).
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/1076/Residential-Solar-Permits
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric)
Why the confidence is not higherNo Morro Bay-specific city document naming the interconnecting utility was found (the Pre-Power Application and Permit form leaves 'Applicable Utility' as a blank field rather than naming one). PG&E is the investor-owned utility serving essentially all of coastal San Luis Obispo County, including Morro Bay, based on established regional utility-territory knowledge rather than a Morro Bay-specific city page or a fetched PG&E territory map -- confidence held at the lower end because that specific source could not be retrieved in this run.
inference (no city-specific source located) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/20537
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedResidential Solar Permits page, PV Guidelines, and the Residential Pre-Power Application (which leaves the utility name blank and does not sequence utility interconnection relative to City permit issuance).
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Guidelines and Residential Solar Permits page -- neither lists HOA or architectural review among submittal requirements.
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Guidelines, Building Division page, Community Development page -- none mention a historic-district review requirement for solar; Morro Bay's zoning code (Title 17) could not be searched directly because library.municode.com is a JavaScript-only application that returns no content to automated fetch.
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Guidelines, Residential Building Permit Submittal Requirements -- neither mentions a wind/windstorm certification specific to solar (structural calculations are required only in the general new-construction submittal list, not tied to a wind rating).
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Guidelines and Community Development FAQ (which does enumerate several activities needing Planning/Council-level approval, e.g. ADUs needing an Administrative Coastal Development Permit) -- solar PV is not listed among them, but no document affirmatively states a Specific Use Permit is or is not ever required for a residential PV system.
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMaster Fee Schedule (whose $450/15kW figure is a fee-tier breakpoint, not a stated cap), PV Guidelines, and Residential Solar Permits page -- no residential system-size cap was stated; Title 17 (Zoning) could not be searched directly for a possible accessory-use size limit because library.municode.com returns no content to automated fetch.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, the statewide default effective 1 Jan 2026) 50% · inference from statewide code cycle + department handout
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (statewide default effective 1 Jan 2026) 50% · inference from statewide code cycle + department page
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (statewide default effective 1 Jan 2026) 45% · inference from statewide code cycle + department page
- What is the installation judged against? The California Building Code, California Residential Code, and California Electrical Code (Article 690 for PV), as adopted by the City, plus State Fire Marshal roof-edge-clearance guidelines for the fire-safety portion. 70% · department checklist
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? The array must comply with the State Fire Marshal's guidelines for roof-edge clearances, and installations covering more than 50% of the total roof area require Fire Marshal approval before permit issuance. The City's own document references these standards rather than restating the numeric setback/pathway table itself. 72% · department checklist
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Required by operation of the state-adopted California Electrical Code (NEC Article 690, including 690.12 rapid shutdown), but the City's own PV Guidelines handout (2019) does not mention rapid shutdown or cite 690.12 anywhere, despite being a full one-page technical checklist -- a real gap between current NEC requirements and the City's own published guidance. 60% · department checklist + code inference
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 70% · department checklist
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? No formal City-maintained 'approved equipment list' was found; the PV Guidelines instead requires that 'all products are listed and identified for the application (i.e. modules, inverters, source combiners, etc.)' -- i.e. standard third-party code-listing (UL/ETL etc.), not a City-specific approved-products list. 72% · department checklist
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Batteries/ESS are permitted. The Building Division has its own 'Battery Backup Storage - Residential' permit fee ($186 flat), and the Solar Permits page lists 'SOLAR WITH ESS RESIDENTIAL OL' and 'ESS ONLY RESIDENTIAL OL' as distinct permit types alongside plain 'SOLAR RESIDENTIAL OL'. The Fire Fees schedule separately prices 'Battery Storage Systems' plan review ($469) and inspection ($563) under its 'Other Fire Construction Reviews and Inspections' category (worded for LPG/cryogenic/compressed-gas-type systems, so it is unclear whether it is meant to apply to typical residential home-battery installs or only larger/commercial-scale storage). No published clearance, placement, or unit-count conditions were found. 75% · fee schedule + department page
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes 85% · department page
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? A distinct 'Ground-Mount Solar' permit fee ($371 flat) exists, separate from the rooftop solar fee schedule -- but no City document was found that explicitly states ground-mount PV arrays are classified/treated as an accessory structure for zoning or setback purposes. 50% · fee schedule
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? An engineered mounting system must attach the array to a code-compliant structure. No specific attachment spacing, standoff height, lag-bolt size/embedment, or similar numeric mounting spec is published by the City (unlike some neighboring jurisdictions' checklists). 70% · department checklist
20 questions answered against City of Morro Bay’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, the statewide default effective 1 Jan 2026)
Why the confidence is not higherNo Morro Bay document names a specific NEC/CEC edition or year -- the PV Guidelines only says work must comply with 'the latest edition of... the California Electrical Code (Article 690 for PV)'. Value given is the statewide Title 24 default for the current code cycle; the City's own adopting ordinance / local amendment chapter could not be verified because library.municode.com (the code host linked from the City's own site) is a JavaScript application that returns no content to non-browser fetches, and no cached/alternate mirror of Morro Bay's Title 14 chapters (electrical) could be located.
inference from statewide code cycle + department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8729/GUIDELINES-FOR-PERMITTING-SMALL-SCALE-SOLAR-SYSTEMS-06-12-19
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (statewide default effective 1 Jan 2026)
Why the confidence is not higherSame limitation as Q29 -- the City's PV Guidelines and FAQ reference 'the California Building Code' generically without an edition/year, and the City's Municode-hosted ordinance text (Title 14) could not be retrieved (JS-only application, blocked to automated fetch). Value given is the statewide default; not confirmed against Morro Bay's own adopting ordinance.
inference from statewide code cycle + department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/207/Building-Division
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (statewide default effective 1 Jan 2026)
Why the confidence is not higherThe Fire Prevention Division page only refers generically to 'adopted fire codes, standards, and ordinances' and 'identified California Fire Code permits' without naming an edition/year. Value given is the statewide default; Morro Bay's own adopting ordinance could not be retrieved for the same Municode-access reason as Q29/Q30.
inference from statewide code cycle + department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/1179/Fire-Prevention-Division
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMorro Bay's Municipal Code (Title 14, Building Regulations) is hosted on library.municode.com, a JavaScript-rendered application that returns only an empty app shell (no content) to curl/WebFetch; archive.org's crawl of the same host captured only the Title-14 landing page and its Plumbing Code (14.07) subchapter, not an Electrical/Fire/Residential Code chapter or any amendment text, so whether local amendments exist could not be confirmed either way in this run.
https://library.municode.com/ca/morro_bay/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT14BUCO
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The California Building Code, California Residential Code, and California Electrical Code (Article 690 for PV), as adopted by the City, plus State Fire Marshal roof-edge-clearance guidelines for the fire-safety portion.
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly, if generically (without edition numbers), in the City's PV Guidelines: 'All work must comply with the requirements of the latest edition of the California Building Code and the California Electrical Code (Article 690 for PV)' and 'The array must comply with the State Fire Marshall's guidelines for roof edge clearances.'
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8729/GUIDELINES-FOR-PERMITTING-SMALL-SCALE-SOLAR-SYSTEMS-06-12-19
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Guidelines, Residential Pre-Power Application, Residential Building Permit Submittal Requirements -- none address a busbar/120%-rule or service-upgrade-specific local rule.
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
An engineered mounting system must attach the array to a code-compliant structure. No specific attachment spacing, standoff height, lag-bolt size/embedment, or similar numeric mounting spec is published by the City (unlike some neighboring jurisdictions' checklists).
Why the confidence is not higherPV Guidelines requires the engineered-mounting-system language but the same one-page document -- the City's only PV-specific technical handout -- gives no numeric spacing/attachment detail; control-checked (positive term 'electrical' present, fabricated term 'zzqqx' absent).
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8729/GUIDELINES-FOR-PERMITTING-SMALL-SCALE-SOLAR-SYSTEMS-06-12-19
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
The array must comply with the State Fire Marshal's guidelines for roof-edge clearances, and installations covering more than 50% of the total roof area require Fire Marshal approval before permit issuance. The City's own document references these standards rather than restating the numeric setback/pathway table itself.
Why the confidence is not higherPV Guidelines: 'The array must comply with the State Fire Marshall's guidelines for roof edge clearances' and 'Installations covering more than 50% of the total roof are required to be approved by the Fire Marshal prior to issuance.'
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8729/GUIDELINES-FOR-PERMITTING-SMALL-SCALE-SOLAR-SYSTEMS-06-12-19
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Required by operation of the state-adopted California Electrical Code (NEC Article 690, including 690.12 rapid shutdown), but the City's own PV Guidelines handout (2019) does not mention rapid shutdown or cite 690.12 anywhere, despite being a full one-page technical checklist -- a real gap between current NEC requirements and the City's own published guidance.
Why the confidence is not higherControl-checked: the PV Guidelines PDF has zero hits for '690.12' or 'rapid shutdown' (positive control 'electrical' = 3 hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx' = 0 hits), confirming the absence is real rather than a search failure. Rapid shutdown is nonetheless a mandatory NEC Article 690 requirement under whichever CEC edition is currently in force.
department checklist + code inference checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8729/GUIDELINES-FOR-PERMITTING-SMALL-SCALE-SOLAR-SYSTEMS-06-12-19
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSee answered Q38 for what was found (a generic 'required signs' + labeling-page reference); no consolidated placard list beyond that was located.
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's only signage-related requirement is a generic reference to 'required signs' on the PV electrical diagram and a submitted 'Labeling / signage page' -- no City document was found prescribing its own placard wording. Control-checked on the PV Guidelines (positive 'electrical' = 3 hits, fabricated 'zzqqx' = 0 hits).
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8729/GUIDELINES-FOR-PERMITTING-SMALL-SCALE-SOLAR-SYSTEMS-06-12-19
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Guidelines -- requires a 'Labeling / signage page' as a submittal item but specifies no letter height, colour, or material anywhere in the document (control-checked: 'electrical' 3 hits, 'zzqqx' 0 hits).
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Guidelines and Residential Solar Permits page -- neither describes a distinct facility-map/site-plan placard requirement beyond the general site plan (q10) and electrical diagram (q11).
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSearched Morro Bay's own PV Guidelines, Solar Permits page, and Pre-Power Application for any PG&E-specific placard/labeling requirement; none found. PG&E's own Distribution Interconnection Handbook / Greenbook was not consulted in this run for a Morro-Bay-specific answer given q22's utility identification itself could not be confirmed from a Morro Bay source.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Guidelines requires a labeling/signage page as a submittal item but does not state where on the installation labels must physically be placed.
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
No formal City-maintained 'approved equipment list' was found; the PV Guidelines instead requires that 'all products are listed and identified for the application (i.e. modules, inverters, source combiners, etc.)' -- i.e. standard third-party code-listing (UL/ETL etc.), not a City-specific approved-products list.
Why the confidence is not higherPV Guidelines submittal requirement quoted directly; no separate 'approved products' page or list found on the Building Division or Solar Permits pages.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8729/GUIDELINES-FOR-PERMITTING-SMALL-SCALE-SOLAR-SYSTEMS-06-12-19
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Batteries/ESS are permitted. The Building Division has its own 'Battery Backup Storage - Residential' permit fee ($186 flat), and the Solar Permits page lists 'SOLAR WITH ESS RESIDENTIAL OL' and 'ESS ONLY RESIDENTIAL OL' as distinct permit types alongside plain 'SOLAR RESIDENTIAL OL'. The Fire Fees schedule separately prices 'Battery Storage Systems' plan review ($469) and inspection ($563) under its 'Other Fire Construction Reviews and Inspections' category (worded for LPG/cryogenic/compressed-gas-type systems, so it is unclear whether it is meant to apply to typical residential home-battery installs or only larger/commercial-scale storage). No published clearance, placement, or unit-count conditions were found.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the Master Fee Schedule's Building Fees item 6 ('Battery Backup Storage - Residential $186') and Fire Fees item 4a, plus the Residential Solar Permits page's three named permit types.
fee schedule + department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/22292/Final-Rev-Master-Fee-Schedule-FY-2026-27-Eff-8242026
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Residential Solar Permits page names 'ESS ONLY RESIDENTIAL OL' as a distinct permit type, separate from 'SOLAR RESIDENTIAL OL' and 'SOLAR WITH ESS RESIDENTIAL OL' -- i.e. a battery system can be permitted on its own.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/1076/Residential-Solar-Permits
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
A distinct 'Ground-Mount Solar' permit fee ($371 flat) exists, separate from the rooftop solar fee schedule -- but no City document was found that explicitly states ground-mount PV arrays are classified/treated as an accessory structure for zoning or setback purposes.
Why the confidence is not higherFee-schedule evidence of a distinct fee category is clear; the structure-classification question itself is not addressed in any Morro Bay document found (PV Guidelines is written for roof-mounted 'utility interactive' systems only).
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/22292/Final-Rev-Master-Fee-Schedule-FY-2026-27-Eff-8242026
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Guidelines and Pre-Power Application -- neither states AC-disconnect placement relative to the utility meter; this is typically governed by the interconnecting utility's own DG/interconnection manual, which could not be identified for Morro Bay with confidence (see q22).
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone 82% · department memo
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Yes 90% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 82% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? Racking and rough electrical, then Final -- 'The following inspections will be required for all solar PV installations: Racking and rough electrical; Final.' 85% · department checklist
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Yes 80% · department checklist
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes 82% · department checklist
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Likely yes, but not explicitly documented as an inspection-day checklist item -- the submittal package requires a 'Labeling / signage page' and manufacturer spec sheets (implying listed equipment), consistent with an inspector checking labels/listing at Final, but no City document states this outright. 55% · department checklist (inference)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (signed inspection/permit card) -- for a solar retrofit on an existing home, the signed Building Permit Inspection Card at Final serves as the completion record; the City separately issues a formal Certificate of Occupancy only for new construction/occupancy changes. 70% · department FAQ
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $186 per hour (2nd re-inspection or more), 1-hour minimum -- the Building Division's general re-inspection fee; no solar-specific re-inspection line exists separately. 75% · fee schedule
14 questions answered against City of Morro Bay’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone
Why the confidence is not higherCommunity Memo 003 (12/15/2022): the City 'implemented a new inspection line system' at 805-772-6204 covering Building, Fire Department permit, Planning, and utility-connection inspections; the Building Division page repeats the same number as 'Building inspection number'. No online inspection-scheduling portal was found (the Community Portal is described only for plan submittal, not inspection booking).
department memo checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/17493/Memo003_Inspection-Linepdf
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCommunity Memo 003 (Inspection Line) and the Building Division page describe how to book an inspection (call 805-772-6204) but state no minimum lead-time/notice policy in business days.
https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/17493/Memo003_Inspection-Linepdf
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page: 'Same day inspections are available for call requests received before 8am. You may also request an am or pm inspection.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/207/Building-Division
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherNo delegation was found for building/electrical inspection (performed by the City's own Building Division) or for fire-side inspection of solar (performed by the City's own in-house Morro Bay Fire Prevention Division, not a district or county contract).
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/207/Building-Division
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNot delegated -- see q52 (the City performs its own building/electrical/fire solar inspections in-house); this question does not apply.
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Racking and rough electrical, then Final -- 'The following inspections will be required for all solar PV installations: Racking and rough electrical; Final.'
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly and in this order in the City's PV Guidelines.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8729/GUIDELINES-FOR-PERMITTING-SMALL-SCALE-SOLAR-SYSTEMS-06-12-19
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe 'Racking and rough electrical' stage listed in the PV Guidelines functions as a rough-in inspection ahead of the Final.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8729/GUIDELINES-FOR-PERMITTING-SMALL-SCALE-SOLAR-SYSTEMS-06-12-19
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Likely yes, but not explicitly documented as an inspection-day checklist item -- the submittal package requires a 'Labeling / signage page' and manufacturer spec sheets (implying listed equipment), consistent with an inspector checking labels/listing at Final, but no City document states this outright.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the submittal requirements (labeling page, manufacturer spec sheets) plus the general two-stage inspection sequence; no explicit statement found.
department checklist (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8729/GUIDELINES-FOR-PERMITTING-SMALL-SCALE-SOLAR-SYSTEMS-06-12-19
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own 'Guidelines for Permitting Small-Scale Photovoltaic Systems' functions as a combined submittal-and-inspection checklist, with a dedicated 'INSPECTIONS:' section naming the required inspection stages.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8729/GUIDELINES-FOR-PERMITTING-SMALL-SCALE-SOLAR-SYSTEMS-06-12-19
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Guidelines and Building Division FAQ describe the inspection process generally (contractor notifies inspector when ready) but neither states a specific list of documents/items (e.g. approved plans, inspection card) that must be physically on site at a solar inspection.
https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/324/Frequently-Asked-Questions
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$186 per hour (2nd re-inspection or more), 1-hour minimum -- the Building Division's general re-inspection fee; no solar-specific re-inspection line exists separately.
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule, Building Fees 'Other Fees' section, item 15: 'Re-inspection Fee (2nd Time or More) (per hour) $186'.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/22292/Final-Rev-Master-Fee-Schedule-FY-2026-27-Eff-8242026
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division FAQ describes a general 'permit addendum' process for changes to approved plans but does not describe how corrections identified at inspection are issued or cleared for a solar permit specifically.
https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/324/Frequently-Asked-Questions
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (signed inspection/permit card) -- for a solar retrofit on an existing home, the signed Building Permit Inspection Card at Final serves as the completion record; the City separately issues a formal Certificate of Occupancy only for new construction/occupancy changes.
Why the confidence is not higherFAQ: 'The Building Permit Inspection Card, when signed for final inspection by the inspector serves as the certificate of occupancy' -- general Building Division practice, not stated as solar-specific.
department FAQ checked 2026-08-31 https://www.morrobayca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/324/Frequently-Asked-Questions
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedResidential Solar Permits page, PV Guidelines, Residential Pre-Power Application -- none state who (AHJ, installer, or the utility itself) initiates the Permission-to-Operate notification to the utility.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Morro Bay against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Morro Bay is the authority having jurisdiction 85% confidence
- Holds
- Building, Electrical, and Fire -- all reviewed, permitted, and inspected in-house by the City's own Community Development Department (Building Division) and its own Morro Bay Fire Department (Fire Prevention Division); no delegation to San Luis Obispo County, a fire protection district, or any contract staffing firm was found for residential solar.
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code Sec.65850.52 (SB 379) requires the automated/instant permitting platform the City has adopted (Symbium, live at symbium.com/embed-search/?jurisdiction=morro_bay) for qualifying residential PV/ESS systems -- as of 1 Jan 2025 the City states Symbium use is exclusive for systems that qualify, with the Community Portal as the fallback for non-qualifying systems. AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) currently bars the City from adopting any new more-restrictive residential-code amendment (1 Oct 2025-1 Jun 2031).
- Why not higher
- The City's own Residential Solar Permits page describes a City-run, in-house permitting process (Symbium partnership announced by the City itself, plus City-issued 'SOLAR RESIDENTIAL OL' / 'SOLAR WITH ESS RESIDENTIAL OL' / 'ESS ONLY RESIDENTIAL OL' permit types for non-Symbium submittals). The Fire Prevention Division page confirms Morro Bay operates its own municipal fire department (own Fire Marshal, own plan check and inspection staff) rather than contracting to SLO County or a fire district -- so the City is AHJ for building, electrical, AND fire, with no delegation found on any front. One department-naming note: the City's 2021-modified FAQ document is headed 'Public Services Department, Building Division', while every 2023-2026 Building Division document (department page, Express Application, Residential Submittal Requirements) places Building under the 'Community Development Department' instead -- the department appears to have been renamed/reorganized since 2021; current documents govern. Confidence held below 95 because the exact codified 'Building Official'/'Fire Code Official' definitional language in Morro Bay Municipal Code Title 14 could not be read directly: library.municode.com (the code host linked from the City's own site) is a JavaScript-rendered application that returns an empty shell to curl and to WebFetch, and no readable mirror of the relevant chapters was found via the Wayback Machine either.
- Permit required
- Yes92%
- Permit cost
- $450 flat for residential systems 15 kW or less, plus $15 per kW for each kW above 15 kW.93%
- Plan review
- 1-3 business days (current, for standard/non-Symbium PV and ESS applications); Symbium-qualifying systems get instantaneous automated plan review under SB 379.80%
- Portal
- Two portals depending on eligibility: (1) Symbium (symbium.com/embed-search/?jurisdiction=morro_bay) -- the City's SB 379 automated instant-permitting platform for qualifying residential…92%
- Electrical code
- 2023 (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, the statewide default effective 1 Jan 2026)50%
- Own placard wording
- No70%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone82%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 70%
No
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.