City of Mountain View
Santa Clara County
City of Mountain View is a city authority in the State of California, serving 82,376 residents. 2,902 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Same day (SolarAPP+, single-family) / 3 business days (single-family via ePermitsMV, Q18 Where you file — SolarAPP+ (for qualifying single-family roof-mounted PV, with or without battery/panel upgrade) and ePermitsMV (Avolve/ProjectDox-based portal at… Q20
- Permit required
- Yes98% source
- What it costs
- $500 city permit fee (SolarAPP+ single-family) plus a $35 SolarAPP+ program fee (or $60 with battery storage) plus a $16.29–$17.34 convenience fee = $541.29–$577.34 total.95% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Same day (SolarAPP+, single-family) / 3 business days (single-family via ePermitsMV, and EV charging/PV on ADUs) / 5 business days (multifamily residential and nonresidential PV)95% source
- Key document
- ordinance / department page cited by 12 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 98% · department page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 85% · department page
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No (as a City permit precondition) 70% · ordinance / department page
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 65% · ordinance
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No 65% · department page
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No Mountain View–specific cap found; the applicable ceiling is the state/utility NEM ceiling of generating facilities under 1,000 kW (1 MW), per SVCE's program description. 60% · utility DG manual
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 80% · department page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 90% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 80% · department page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- How many copies, and in what format? Digital only — no paper copies. All materials are uploaded online through ePermitsMV, or entered directly into SolarAPP+ for qualifying single-family systems. 60% · department page
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes (inferred) 55% · utility DG manual
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? SolarAPP+ (for qualifying single-family roof-mounted PV, with or without battery/panel upgrade) and ePermitsMV (Avolve/ProjectDox-based portal at mountainview-ca-us.avolvecloud.com, for all other PV — multifamily, commercial, ground-mount, non-SolarAPP+ single-family). 95% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 90% · portal landing page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $500 city permit fee (SolarAPP+ single-family) plus a $35 SolarAPP+ program fee (or $60 with battery storage) plus a $16.29–$17.34 convenience fee = $541.29–$577.34 total. Non-SolarAPP+ single-family PV (via ePermitsMV) is subject to the same $500 city fee plus convenience fee only. Multifamily/commercial PV is valuation-based: ~$1,100 for a $50,000 project, ~$2,300 for a $250,000 project. 95% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Flat ($500 flat city fee for any single-family PV permit, SolarAPP+ or not) / Valuation (multifamily, commercial, and other non-single-family PV, per the general construction-valuation fee table) 88% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No (for single-family) 70% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Same day (SolarAPP+, single-family) / 3 business days (single-family via ePermitsMV, and EV charging/PV on ADUs) / 5 business days (multifamily residential and nonresidential PV) 95% · department page
- Which utility handles interconnection here? PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric) is the interconnecting/distribution utility and issues Permission to Operate. Silicon Valley Clean Energy (SVCE), a Community Choice Aggregator, is the default retail electricity/generation provider for most Mountain View accounts but does NOT perform interconnection — SVCE's own solar page tells customers to confirm NEM status with 'PG&E Solar Customer Service' and directs them into PG&E's Rule 21/NEM process. 90% · utility territory map + city source
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel for the application (PG&E recommends submitting the interconnection application/single-line diagram early, even before the system is built, so it runs alongside the City permit) / After permit for final Permission to Operate — PTO requires the City's final electrical inspection clearance to be submitted to PG&E before the system can be energized. 75% · utility DG manual
28 questions answered against City of Mountain View’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Building Division (Community Development Department) issues residential solar permits directly via SolarAPP+ and ePermitsMV; no county or other agency involvement for building/electrical.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherCity issues building AND electrical permits itself for solar (combined into one PV permit); it also runs its own Fire Department (MVFD, confirmed by name — not Santa Clara County Fire) which co-reviews Chapter 14 fire-code items. Nothing is delegated to the county.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permits page states a City permit (via SolarAPP+ or ePermitsMV) is required for residential PV.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higher'While the permit is issued by SolarAPP+, it is a City of Mountain View building permit' — electrical work is folded into the single PV building permit, not issued as a separate electrical permit.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherAll building permits must be signed by a CA-licensed contractor, EXCEPT single-family/duplex where the owner may elect owner-builder. However SolarAPP+ specifically requires a SolarAPP+-registered contractor with a CA C-46/C-10 license and MV business license — homeowner self-permit is not available on that path.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/who-can-pull-a-permit
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higher'Only SolarAPP+ registered contractors can submit for permits through SolarAPP+ with proof of a Mountain View business license and a valid California contractors license.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherWho Can Sign for a Permit page: 'a permit can be signed by a California Licensed Contractor, except for permits related to single-family home and duplex properties whereby an owner can elect to sign as an owner-builder.' This applies on the ePermitsMV path; SolarAPP+ itself is contractor-only.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/who-can-pull-a-permit
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Permits page links to the 'Photovoltaic (PV) System Installation' handouts for Single-Family Residential and Multifamily/Commercial (the documents that would list the complete submittal checklist), but developmentpermits.mountainview.gov / mountainview.gov are behind an Akamai bot-block that returns 403 'Access Denied' to direct fetch (confirmed on robots.txt itself, so it is a whole-domain block, not a page-specific one); HTML pages were retrievable via the translate.google.com proxy (translate.goog), which fetches server-side, but that proxy redirects straight to the blocked origin for binary content, so linked PDFs could not be retrieved. Wayback Machine has no capture of this URL and a save-now request returned HTTP 523; public CORS-proxy fallbacks (allorigins.win, api.codetabs.com) were unreachable (522) this session.
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Digital only — no paper copies. All materials are uploaded online through ePermitsMV, or entered directly into SolarAPP+ for qualifying single-family systems.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the Solar Permits page's description of both permitting paths as fully online ('Upload required materials... online'); the handout PDF that would state format/copy requirements explicitly could not be retrieved (Akamai-blocked).
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame blocked PV System Installation handout PDFs (SFR and Multifamily/Commercial) would specify site-plan content; developmentpermits.mountainview.gov / mountainview.gov are behind an Akamai bot-block that returns 403 'Access Denied' to direct fetch (confirmed on robots.txt itself, so it is a whole-domain block, not a page-specific one); HTML pages were retrievable via the translate.google.com proxy (translate.goog), which fetches server-side, but that proxy redirects straight to the blocked origin for binary content, so linked PDFs could not be retrieved. Wayback Machine has no capture of this URL and a save-now request returned HTTP 523; public CORS-proxy fallbacks (allorigins.win, api.codetabs.com) were unreachable (522) this session.
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes (inferred)
Why the confidence is not higherNot stated on any accessible Mountain View page. PG&E's own NEM interconnection process explicitly calls for a single-line diagram submission, and SolarAPP+ nationally requires one-line diagram data entry as part of its online form; the City's own handout confirming this for its submittal checklist could not be retrieved (Akamai-blocked).
utility DG manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/en/about/doing-business-with-pge/interconnections/net-energy-metering-program.html
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWould be covered by the blocked PV System Installation handout PDFs; developmentpermits.mountainview.gov / mountainview.gov are behind an Akamai bot-block that returns 403 'Access Denied' to direct fetch (confirmed on robots.txt itself, so it is a whole-domain block, not a page-specific one); HTML pages were retrievable via the translate.google.com proxy (translate.goog), which fetches server-side, but that proxy redirects straight to the blocked origin for binary content, so linked PDFs could not be retrieved. Wayback Machine has no capture of this URL and a save-now request returned HTTP 523; public CORS-proxy fallbacks (allorigins.win, api.codetabs.com) were unreachable (522) this session.
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe general 'Professional Design Limitations' page covers PE/architect stamp thresholds for construction generally (wood-frame single-family additions, structural alterations, etc.) but does not mention photovoltaic/roof-mounted solar specifically, and the PV handout that would state a PV-specific threshold is Akamai-blocked.
https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/professional-design-limitations
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q13 — general Professional Design Limitations page does not address electrical PE-stamp thresholds for PV, and the PV handout is Akamai-blocked.
https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/professional-design-limitations
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$500 city permit fee (SolarAPP+ single-family) plus a $35 SolarAPP+ program fee (or $60 with battery storage) plus a $16.29–$17.34 convenience fee = $541.29–$577.34 total. Non-SolarAPP+ single-family PV (via ePermitsMV) is subject to the same $500 city fee plus convenience fee only. Multifamily/commercial PV is valuation-based: ~$1,100 for a $50,000 project, ~$2,300 for a $250,000 project.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permits page publishes a full fee table by project type, dated/current as of this check.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat ($500 flat city fee for any single-family PV permit, SolarAPP+ or not) / Valuation (multifamily, commercial, and other non-single-family PV, per the general construction-valuation fee table)
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permits page fee table; general Building Permit fee schedule confirms the valuation-based table used for 'all other' PV.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No (for single-family)
Why the confidence is not higherSingle-family PV fee (SolarAPP+ or ePermitsMV) is a flat $500 with no separate plan-check line item shown. Multifamily/commercial PV, being valuation-based, is subject to the standard 'Building Permit Plan Check Review = 65% of building permit fee' listed on the general fee schedule.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/fees/building-fees
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Same day (SolarAPP+, single-family) / 3 business days (single-family via ePermitsMV, and EV charging/PV on ADUs) / 5 business days (multifamily residential and nonresidential PV)
Why the confidence is not higherPermit Timelines page has a dedicated 'Electric Vehicle Charging and Photovoltaic (Solar)' row broken out by project type, matching the Solar Permits page's stated 3/5-business-day review commitments.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/permit-timelines
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Permits, Permit Timelines, Building Permit Fees, and Building & Fire Codes pages give no stated permit-validity/expiration period; the local Chapter 8 (Building) amendment PDF that would state any local override of the state-code default (typically 180 days without inspection activity) is Akamai-blocked, so a city-specific figure could not be confirmed.
https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/building-code
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
SolarAPP+ (for qualifying single-family roof-mounted PV, with or without battery/panel upgrade) and ePermitsMV (Avolve/ProjectDox-based portal at mountainview-ca-us.avolvecloud.com, for all other PV — multifamily, commercial, ground-mount, non-SolarAPP+ single-family).
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permits page names both portals explicitly and links to ePermitsMV's actual login domain.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBoth SolarAPP+ (instant online issuance) and ePermitsMV (online application, upload, fee payment, and inspection scheduling) are described as fully online.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric) is the interconnecting/distribution utility and issues Permission to Operate. Silicon Valley Clean Energy (SVCE), a Community Choice Aggregator, is the default retail electricity/generation provider for most Mountain View accounts but does NOT perform interconnection — SVCE's own solar page tells customers to confirm NEM status with 'PG&E Solar Customer Service' and directs them into PG&E's Rule 21/NEM process.
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed Mountain View is in SVCE's 13-jurisdiction service area (own site), and separately confirmed SVCE customers still interconnect and get PTO through PG&E (SVCE's Rooftop Solar page + PG&E's NEM program page). No municipal or irrigation-district utility found serving Mountain View.
utility territory map + city source checked 2026-08-30 https://www.svcleanenergy.org/solar/
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel for the application (PG&E recommends submitting the interconnection application/single-line diagram early, even before the system is built, so it runs alongside the City permit) / After permit for final Permission to Operate — PTO requires the City's final electrical inspection clearance to be submitted to PG&E before the system can be energized.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E NEM program page describes early submission of the single-line diagram plus a 'final electrical clearance' step required before PTO; PG&E's own consumer guidance states never to turn on the system before receiving the PTO letter.
utility DG manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/en/about/doing-business-with-pge/interconnections/net-energy-metering-program.html
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No (as a City permit precondition)
Why the confidence is not higherNo HOA/architectural-review step appears in the City's solar permitting pages (SolarAPP+ or ePermitsMV). California's Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714) separately prohibits HOAs from unreasonably restricting solar installations, reinforcing that this is not a City-enforced precondition.
ordinance / department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Zoning > Development Guidelines page and the Building & Fire Codes / solar pages for a historic-district review trigger on residential rooftop PV; none of the pages retrieved mention historic-district review, but Mountain View's Precise Plan and historic-resource inventory pages were not fully checked this run, so this is an incomplete search rather than a proven absence.
https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/zoning/development-guidelines
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherCalifornia does not operate a windstorm-certification program comparable to Texas's TDI/TWIA; no wind/windstorm certification is referenced on the City's building/fire code or solar permitting pages.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/building-code
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe Solar Permits page describes only a building-permit-level process (SolarAPP+ or ePermitsMV) for residential rooftop PV, with no Planning Commission/Council or Specific-Use/Conditional-Use-Permit step referenced.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No Mountain View–specific cap found; the applicable ceiling is the state/utility NEM ceiling of generating facilities under 1,000 kW (1 MW), per SVCE's program description.
Why the confidence is not higherSVCE's Rooftop Solar page: 'this includes customers with renewable electric generation systems... that are less than 1,000 kW.' No additional city-specific size cap appears on the Solar Permits or Building & Fire Codes pages.
utility DG manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.svcleanenergy.org/solar/
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, effective 1 Jan 2026) 78% · adopting regulation
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code and 2025 California Residential Code, adopted with local amendments, effective 1 Jan 2026 90% · adopting regulation
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code, effective 1 Jan 2026, located in Chapter 14 of the City Code 90% · adopting regulation
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 85% · ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building Standards Code (Building, Residential, Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing, Energy, Fire, Green Building) as locally amended by the City of Mountain View (City Code Ch. 8, 14, 24), effective 1 Jan 2026 85% · ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Not confirmed locally. Absent a locally-differing Fire Code amendment (which could not be retrieved — Akamai-blocked Chapter 14 PDF), the statewide 2025 California Fire Code's PV-system provisions (roof access pathways, ridge setbacks scaled to roof size/slope) would apply as the baseline in Mountain View. 45% · fire code + amendments
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, to the 2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, effective 1 Jan 2026) — NEC 690.12 rapid-shutdown has been a CEC requirement in every cycle since the 2017 NEC. 75% · NEC edition in force
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? At minimum, the NEC Art. 690/705-mandated labels that come with the adopted 2025 CEC (rapid-shutdown label, PV system disconnect label, dual-power-source warning at the main service panel). Whether Mountain View requires anything beyond the code-mandated set could not be confirmed — the PV System Installation handout that would list any AHJ-specific placards is Akamai-blocked. 50% · ordinance / utility spec
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? A utility-required Site Map Placard is triggered by PG&E when the AC disconnect is more than 10 ft from the PG&E electric meter (or when more than one AC disconnect is installed) — see Q42. A City-required facility/site-plan placard under NEC 705.10 specifically could not be confirmed; the PV handout PDF that would address it is Akamai-blocked. 65% · utility DG manual
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes. PG&E's 'AC Disconnect & Variance Requirements' spec requires: an AC Disconnect with signage on all non-inverter-based generators; sequential labeling ('1 of x, 2 of x') if more than one AC disconnect is installed; and a Site Map Placard if the AC disconnect is more than 10 ft from the PG&E electric meter (or a fusible AC disconnect installed within 10 ft, or a formal Variance). 88% · utility DG manual
- Where must the labels be placed? At/adjacent to the AC disconnect switch, which itself must be installed within 10 ft of the PG&E electric meter unless a Variance is granted; if it is sited farther than 10 ft (or a Variance applies) a Site Map Placard directing to the disconnect's actual location must be posted, and sequential numbering labels are required when more than one AC disconnect is installed. 85% · ordinance / utility spec
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Within 10 ft of the PG&E electric meter, as a fusible AC disconnect, unless a Variance is obtained (triggered by conditions like a line-side connection above the main breaker, a transformer-rated meter panel, or a meter panel rated over 320 amps) — in which case a Site Map Placard showing the disconnect's actual location is required instead. 90% · utility DG manual
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? At the utility level, yes — PG&E's online interconnection tool requires selecting generating equipment from 'an approved equipment listing' drop-down as part of the Standard NEM application. A separate City-of-Mountain-View approved-equipment list for building-permit purposes was not found. 60% · utility DG manual
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes — permitted. SolarAPP+ explicitly supports 'roof-mounted or building-integrated solar photovoltaic panel installations... with or without energy storage systems,' and the City's fee table has a distinct line for 'Solar installation and battery storage' ($500 + $60 SolarAPP+ fee vs. $35 for solar-only). Specific siting/fire-code conditions (kWh thresholds, UL 9540 listing, location) are in the PV System Installation handout, which is Akamai-blocked and could not be verified. 65% · fee schedule + department page
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No — battery storage is folded into the same solar permit/application (an added SolarAPP+ program fee of $60 vs. $35 for solar-only), not issued as a separate ESS permit. 80% · fee schedule
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Likely yes, though not stated in so many words. Ground-mounted systems are explicitly excluded from the SolarAPP+ prescriptive pathway and must go through the standard ePermitsMV building-permit process, which is consistent with (but does not on its own prove) treatment as a structure for zoning/setback purposes. 45% · ordinance
20 questions answered against City of Mountain View’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, effective 1 Jan 2026)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building and Fire Codes page: 'Effective January 1, 2026... 2025 California Electrical Code' adopted with local amendments. The 2025 CEC is based on NFPA 70-2023 per California's standard 3-year Title 24 adoption cycle — that base-year mapping is general CA code-cycle knowledge, not stated verbatim by the city page itself, hence not scored higher.
adopting regulation checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/building-code
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code and 2025 California Residential Code, adopted with local amendments, effective 1 Jan 2026
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building and Fire Codes page lists the full 2025 Title 24 code set as in force effective 1/1/2026, located in Chapter 8 of the City Code.
adopting regulation checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/building-code
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code, effective 1 Jan 2026, located in Chapter 14 of the City Code
Why the confidence is not higherSame Building and Fire Codes page.
adopting regulation checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/building-code
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity Council adopted local amendments to the 2025 State Code by Ordinance No. 9.2025 (approved 9 Sep 2025), including new Reach Code requirements (heat-pump/electric-readiness/bird-safe glass). NOTE — tension flagged: the city's Building & Fire Codes page still offers the codified local-amendment PDF copies as covering the '2022 California Building Standards Codes,' even though the base code now in force is the 2025 cycle; the 2025-cycle Chapter 8/14 amendment PDFs are linked but Akamai-blocked, so their content vs. the 2022 PDF's content could not be diffed this run.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/building-and-fire-codes/green-building-and-reach-codes
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Building Standards Code (Building, Residential, Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing, Energy, Fire, Green Building) as locally amended by the City of Mountain View (City Code Ch. 8, 14, 24), effective 1 Jan 2026
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding and Fire Codes page.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/building-code
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo Mountain View-specific service-upgrade or busbar-sizing rule found on the Building and Fire Codes, Solar Permits, or Professional Design Limitations pages; the local Chapter 8 amendment PDF that might contain such a rule is Akamai-blocked.
https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/building-code
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWould be covered by the blocked PV System Installation handout PDF; developmentpermits.mountainview.gov / mountainview.gov are behind an Akamai bot-block that returns 403 'Access Denied' to direct fetch (confirmed on robots.txt itself, so it is a whole-domain block, not a page-specific one); HTML pages were retrievable via the translate.google.com proxy (translate.goog), which fetches server-side, but that proxy redirects straight to the blocked origin for binary content, so linked PDFs could not be retrieved. Wayback Machine has no capture of this URL and a save-now request returned HTTP 523; public CORS-proxy fallbacks (allorigins.win, api.codetabs.com) were unreachable (522) this session.
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Not confirmed locally. Absent a locally-differing Fire Code amendment (which could not be retrieved — Akamai-blocked Chapter 14 PDF), the statewide 2025 California Fire Code's PV-system provisions (roof access pathways, ridge setbacks scaled to roof size/slope) would apply as the baseline in Mountain View.
Why the confidence is not higherChapter 14 (Fire) local-amendment PDF linked from the Building and Fire Codes page is Akamai-blocked; no Fire Prevention Division page found that restates pathway/setback numbers.
fire code + amendments checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/building-code
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, to the 2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, effective 1 Jan 2026) — NEC 690.12 rapid-shutdown has been a CEC requirement in every cycle since the 2017 NEC.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the confirmed code edition in force (Q29/Q30); no Mountain View-specific page was found stating this explicitly for PV, but rapid shutdown is a code-mandated (not locally optional) NEC 690.12 requirement.
NEC edition in force checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/building-code
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
At minimum, the NEC Art. 690/705-mandated labels that come with the adopted 2025 CEC (rapid-shutdown label, PV system disconnect label, dual-power-source warning at the main service panel). Whether Mountain View requires anything beyond the code-mandated set could not be confirmed — the PV System Installation handout that would list any AHJ-specific placards is Akamai-blocked.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the adopted electrical code edition; the authority-specific handout is unreachable.
ordinance / utility spec checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/building-code
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV System Installation handout PDF (would state any City-specific wording) is Akamai-blocked; no wording appears on any HTML page retrieved.
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame handout PDF; Akamai-blocked.
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
A utility-required Site Map Placard is triggered by PG&E when the AC disconnect is more than 10 ft from the PG&E electric meter (or when more than one AC disconnect is installed) — see Q42. A City-required facility/site-plan placard under NEC 705.10 specifically could not be confirmed; the PV handout PDF that would address it is Akamai-blocked.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E 'AC Disconnect & Variance Requirements' document; City-side confirmation unavailable.
utility DG manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/content/dam/pge/docs/about/doing-business-with-pge/ac-disconnect-variance-requirements.pdf
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes. PG&E's 'AC Disconnect & Variance Requirements' spec requires: an AC Disconnect with signage on all non-inverter-based generators; sequential labeling ('1 of x, 2 of x') if more than one AC disconnect is installed; and a Site Map Placard if the AC disconnect is more than 10 ft from the PG&E electric meter (or a fusible AC disconnect installed within 10 ft, or a formal Variance).
Why the confidence is not higherDocument is currently linked from PG&E's live NEM interconnection page (fetched today); PDF metadata shows a 2017 creation date but the document is still the one actively referenced, so it reflects PG&E's current published requirement even though undated on its face.
utility DG manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/content/dam/pge/docs/about/doing-business-with-pge/ac-disconnect-variance-requirements.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
At/adjacent to the AC disconnect switch, which itself must be installed within 10 ft of the PG&E electric meter unless a Variance is granted; if it is sited farther than 10 ft (or a Variance applies) a Site Map Placard directing to the disconnect's actual location must be posted, and sequential numbering labels are required when more than one AC disconnect is installed.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E AC Disconnect & Variance Requirements document.
ordinance / utility spec checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/content/dam/pge/docs/about/doing-business-with-pge/ac-disconnect-variance-requirements.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
At the utility level, yes — PG&E's online interconnection tool requires selecting generating equipment from 'an approved equipment listing' drop-down as part of the Standard NEM application. A separate City-of-Mountain-View approved-equipment list for building-permit purposes was not found.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E NEM program page describes the approved-equipment drop-down in its interconnection tool.
utility DG manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/en/about/doing-business-with-pge/interconnections/net-energy-metering-program.html
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes — permitted. SolarAPP+ explicitly supports 'roof-mounted or building-integrated solar photovoltaic panel installations... with or without energy storage systems,' and the City's fee table has a distinct line for 'Solar installation and battery storage' ($500 + $60 SolarAPP+ fee vs. $35 for solar-only). Specific siting/fire-code conditions (kWh thresholds, UL 9540 listing, location) are in the PV System Installation handout, which is Akamai-blocked and could not be verified.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permits page fee table and program description.
fee schedule + department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No — battery storage is folded into the same solar permit/application (an added SolarAPP+ program fee of $60 vs. $35 for solar-only), not issued as a separate ESS permit.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permits page fee table lists 'Solar installation and battery storage' as one combined permit line, not a second permit.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Likely yes, though not stated in so many words. Ground-mounted systems are explicitly excluded from the SolarAPP+ prescriptive pathway and must go through the standard ePermitsMV building-permit process, which is consistent with (but does not on its own prove) treatment as a structure for zoning/setback purposes.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permits page: ground-mounted systems 'DO NOT qualify to use SolarAPP+.' Zoning code was not checked this run for an explicit 'accessory structure' classification of ground-mount PV.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Within 10 ft of the PG&E electric meter, as a fusible AC disconnect, unless a Variance is obtained (triggered by conditions like a line-side connection above the main breaker, a transformer-rated meter panel, or a meter panel rated over 320 amps) — in which case a Site Map Placard showing the disconnect's actual location is required instead.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E 'AC Disconnect & Variance Requirements' decision tree, currently linked from PG&E's NEM program page.
utility DG manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/content/dam/pge/docs/about/doing-business-with-pge/ac-disconnect-variance-requirements.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal (Building inspections are booked online, 24 hours a day) 90% · department page
- How much notice is required? Effectively 1 business day: requests received by 3:00 PM on a business day are scheduled for the next business day; requests after 3:00 PM are scheduled for the second business day. 90% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? AM/PM windows are offered (inspections are scheduled for AM or PM, not time-specific, Mon–Fri 8am–3pm); the City does separately offer 'Same-Day Permits' for some project categories but that is a permit-issuance feature, not an inspection-scheduling one, and PV is not listed among the same-day-permit categories. 85% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 92% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? N/A — not delegated. The City of Mountain View Building Division performs its own final solar inspection. 85% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? SolarAPP+ path: a single final/site inspection, scheduled by the contractor at least one business day after the SolarAPP+ permit is approved. ePermitsMV path: plan review/corrections, then permit issuance upon fee payment, then a final inspection scheduled online — no intermediate stage is described for residential PV on either path. 70% · department page
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No (not found to be required) 55% · department page
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- What must be on site at inspection? For SolarAPP+ permits: 'Contractors are required to retain a copy of the [approved SolarAPP+] permit on-site.' For ePermitsMV permits, the approved permit/plans would be expected on-site per standard City practice, though this is not separately spelled out. 75% · department page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (a finaled/closed-out building permit) 55% · department page
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer/contractor — after the City's final inspection passes, the contractor (or customer) submits the final electrical inspection clearance and any outstanding interconnection documents to PG&E, which then issues the Permission to Operate (PTO) letter. The customer must not energize the system before that letter is received. 70% · utility DG manual
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $437 per reinspection for a standard building 'no-show/not inspection-ready' reinspection (general fee schedule). For SolarAPP+ permit revisions specifically, the City charges a $207 reinspection fee plus a $6.30 convenience fee ($213.30 total). 88% · fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? The building plan checker returns comments/corrections to the applicant within 3 business days (single-family residential) or 5 business days (all other property types); once the applicant resubmits and City staff verifies all corrections, the permit is prepared for issuance. 85% · department page
14 questions answered against City of Mountain View’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal (Building inspections are booked online, 24 hours a day)
Why the confidence is not higherSchedule Inspections page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/schedule-your-inspections
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Effectively 1 business day: requests received by 3:00 PM on a business day are scheduled for the next business day; requests after 3:00 PM are scheduled for the second business day.
Why the confidence is not higherSchedule Inspections page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/schedule-your-inspections
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
AM/PM windows are offered (inspections are scheduled for AM or PM, not time-specific, Mon–Fri 8am–3pm); the City does separately offer 'Same-Day Permits' for some project categories but that is a permit-issuance feature, not an inspection-scheduling one, and PV is not listed among the same-day-permit categories.
Why the confidence is not higherSchedule Inspections page and Permit Timelines table.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/schedule-your-inspections
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higher'Adherence to code design requirements and installation practices are then verified by a City Building Inspector at a site inspection' — the City performs its own final inspection, not delegated.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — not delegated. The City of Mountain View Building Division performs its own final solar inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permits page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
SolarAPP+ path: a single final/site inspection, scheduled by the contractor at least one business day after the SolarAPP+ permit is approved. ePermitsMV path: plan review/corrections, then permit issuance upon fee payment, then a final inspection scheduled online — no intermediate stage is described for residential PV on either path.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permits page process description for both paths.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No (not found to be required)
Why the confidence is not higherNeither the Solar Permits page nor the Schedule Inspections page describes a rough-in or mid-roof inspection for residential PV — only a single final/site inspection is described for the SolarAPP+ path, and inspection is not itemized further for ePermitsMV solar.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo Mountain View document found stating explicitly that the inspector checks labels/listings at the solar final inspection (a reasonable inference from standard code-compliance inspection practice, but not stated on the Solar Permits or Schedule Inspections pages).
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Schedule Inspections page and the Solar Permits page; neither links a published PV-specific inspection checklist. The Fire Department's 'Forms and Checklists' page lists category headings (e.g., 'Plan Check & Inspection Forms') but the underlying documents load via an accordion widget not present in the static/translated HTML, so this is an incomplete rather than proven absence.
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
For SolarAPP+ permits: 'Contractors are required to retain a copy of the [approved SolarAPP+] permit on-site.' For ePermitsMV permits, the approved permit/plans would be expected on-site per standard City practice, though this is not separately spelled out.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permits page, quoted directly for the SolarAPP+ requirement.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$437 per reinspection for a standard building 'no-show/not inspection-ready' reinspection (general fee schedule). For SolarAPP+ permit revisions specifically, the City charges a $207 reinspection fee plus a $6.30 convenience fee ($213.30 total).
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permit Fees page (general $437 rate) and Solar Permits page fee table ($207/$213.30 SolarAPP+-specific rate).
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/fees/building-fees
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
The building plan checker returns comments/corrections to the applicant within 3 business days (single-family residential) or 5 business days (all other property types); once the applicant resubmits and City staff verifies all corrections, the permit is prepared for issuance.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permits page, ePermitsMV process description.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (a finaled/closed-out building permit)
Why the confidence is not higherNot explicitly named on any Mountain View page retrieved; inferred as standard practice since the Solar Permits page frames the whole exercise as a 'City of Mountain View building permit' that is inspected to completion, without describing a separate CO, green tag, or letter.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://developmentpermits.mountainview.gov/about-permits/apply-for-permit/building-permits/solar-permits
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer/contractor — after the City's final inspection passes, the contractor (or customer) submits the final electrical inspection clearance and any outstanding interconnection documents to PG&E, which then issues the Permission to Operate (PTO) letter. The customer must not energize the system before that letter is received.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E NEM program page FAQ content on final-clearance submission and PTO issuance.
utility DG manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/en/about/doing-business-with-pge/interconnections/net-energy-metering-program.html
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Mountain View against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Mountain View is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (combined into one PV permit); Fire plan review/inspection is handled by the City's own Fire Department (Fire and Environmental Protection Division), not delegated to Santa Clara County
- Overridden by
- PG&E (Rule 21) controls interconnection, meter clearances, and Permission-to-Operate timing independent of the City; Silicon Valley Clean Energy (SVCE, a CCA) is the default electricity/generation provider for most Mountain View accounts but has no permitting or inspection authority; CA Civil Code §714 (Solar Rights Act) preempts HOA disapproval of solar as a permitting precondition.
- Why not higher
- City of Mountain View's own Building Division (within the Community Development Department) issues residential solar permits directly via SolarAPP+ and ePermitsMV, per its Solar Permits page. Verified BY NAME that Mountain View operates its own Fire Department (Mountain View Fire Department / MVFD, ISO Class 1 rated) rather than contracting Santa Clara County Fire — confirmed on the city's own Fire department page. Also verified the retail electricity picture rather than assuming PG&E alone: Silicon Valley Clean Energy (a CCA) is the default generation provider for Mountain View, but PG&E remains the interconnecting/distribution utility and PTO issuer — SVCE's own solar guidance routes customers back into PG&E's Rule 21/NEM process. No irrigation district or municipal utility was found serving any part of Mountain View. Santa Clara County has no jurisdiction inside incorporated Mountain View.
- Permit required
- Yes98%
- Permit cost
- $500 city permit fee (SolarAPP+ single-family) plus a $35 SolarAPP+ program fee (or $60 with battery storage) plus a $16.29–$17.34 convenience fee = $541.29–$577.34 total.95%
- Plan review
- Same day (SolarAPP+, single-family) / 3 business days (single-family via ePermitsMV, and EV charging/PV on ADUs) / 5 business days (multifamily residential and nonresidential PV)95%
- Portal
- SolarAPP+ (for qualifying single-family roof-mounted PV, with or without battery/panel upgrade) and ePermitsMV (Avolve/ProjectDox-based portal at mountainview-ca-us.avolvecloud.com,95%
- Electrical code
- 2023 (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, effective 1 Jan 2026)78%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal (Building inspections are booked online, 24 hours a day)90%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go 85%
At/adjacent to the AC disconnect switch, which itself must be installed within 10 ft of the PG&E electric meter unless a Variance is granted; if it is sited farther than 10 ft (or a Variance applies) a Site Map Placard directing to the disconnect's actual location must be posted, and sequential numbering labels are required when more than one AC disconnect is installed.
What the utility wants on top 88%
Yes. PG&E's 'AC Disconnect & Variance Requirements' spec requires: an AC Disconnect with signage on all non-inverter-based generators; sequential labeling ('1 of x, 2 of x') if more than one AC disconnect is installed; and a Site Map Placard if the AC disconnect is more than 10 ft from the PG&E electric meter (or a fusible AC disconnect installed within 10 ft, or a formal Variance).
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.