City of Oakley
Contra Costa County
City of Oakley is a city authority in the State of California, serving 43,357 residents. 6,039 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — Oakley Civic Access Portal (OCAP) — Tyler Technologies Civic Access, live since 14 Jul 2026 (previously by email to inspections@ci.oakley.ca.us) Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $303.95 flat (includes applicable City fees)88% source
- Key document
- department handout / permit application cited by 7 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department handout / permit application
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · department handout
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 75% · fee schedule
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 75% · codified ordinance
- Is there a historic-district review? No 80% · municipal code search
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Ground/pole-mounted arrays require wet-stamped structural engineering for wind loads (city Basic Wind Speed = 80 mph, Wind Exposure Category 8, per the Adopted Building Codes page); no separate 'wind certification' document distinct from the standard structural-engineering submittal is specified for roof-mounted arrays. 65% · department page
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 10 kW AC (or 30 kW thermal) cap applies only to eligibility for the ministerial/expedited review path under OMC §7.2.116 (defining a 'small residential rooftop solar energy system'); there is no absolute cap on residential system size — larger systems simply fall outside the ministerial fast-track and receive standard discretionary/plan review. 85% · codified ordinance
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 85% · department page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? No 65% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 80% · permit application form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Site plan (address, owner, contractor incl. state license #, module locations, ground/pole-mount setbacks + wet-stamped seismic/wind engineering, 3' fire-access clearance); electrical line (one-line) drawing showing module strings, combiner box(es), DC/AC disconnects, inverter(s), main panel/subpanel, fuses/breakers, conductor size/type/count; system ampacity and wire-size calculations for DC and AC conductors; manufacturer product/installation sheets for modules, inverters, racking (incl. grounding info); summary of required warning stickers/signage with exact wording and location per the CEC. 92% · department handout
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic only — submittals are emailed to inspections@ci.oakley.ca.us or uploaded via the Oakley Civic Access Portal (OCAP, live since 14 Jul 2026); no physical/paper copy count is specified for building permits. 75% · department page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — site plan must show the project address, owner's name, installing contractor's name/address/phone/state license #, and the location of all module strings on the rooftop or in the yard; ground/pole-mounted arrays additionally require property-line setbacks and wet-stamped seismic/wind engineering; 3' clearance must be shown around rooftop arrays for fire access/maintenance. 92% · department handout
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 92% · department handout
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes 92% · department handout
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Ground/pole-mounted arrays require wet-stamped engineering for seismic and wind loads (no size threshold stated — applies to any ground/pole mount). For roof-mounted systems using the City's Expedited/Eligibility Checklist path, item 11 requires 'a completed structural criteria and supporting documentation' without a numeric threshold for when a licensed engineer's wet stamp (vs. a standard/prescriptive form) is required. 60% · department handout
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Oakley Civic Access Portal (OCAP) — Tyler Technologies Civic Access, live since 14 Jul 2026 (previously by email to inspections@ci.oakley.ca.us) 92% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 90% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $303.95 flat (includes applicable City fees) 88% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Flat 85% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No 65% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 365 days 85% · codified ordinance
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) 92% · city department page
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit (utility Permission-to-Operate is conditioned on the AHJ's final electrical-inspection clearance; the interconnection application itself may be filed in parallel) 85% · utility tariff
28 questions answered against City of Oakley’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Oakley Building Division (Community Development Dept.) administers building/electrical permits for residential PV; confirmed by its own Solar Permit Requirements handout and Building Permit Application form which includes a dedicated 'SOLAR' permit-type checkbox.
department handout / permit application checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page states it administers 'Building, Electrical, Plumbing and Mechanical Codes' in-house; no delegation to a private plan-check firm found. Fire-code review/enforcement is a separate, non-delegated function held by a different AHJ (Contra Costa County FPD), not delegated BY the city.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/212/Building
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity publishes a dedicated 'Solar Permit Requirements' handout and 'Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Solar Permitting for Residential Systems' (eff. 1/3/2023) describing the required PV permit submittal.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee Schedule (eff. 1/1/2026) lists a single flat 'Solar' line item ($303.95, 'Includes Applicable City Fees') in the Building Valuation Data Supplement, and the Building Permit Application form has 'SOLAR' as its own permit type distinct from a plain 'ELECTRICAL' checkbox — indicating one combined solar permit rather than separate building + electrical permits for a standard rooftop PV job. Lowered from 90 because the general electrical-fee section of the same schedule also describes a scenario where 'a separate electrical permit is required' for work not covered elsewhere, creating some ambiguity for non-standard/larger systems.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1587/Proposed-Master-Fee-Schedule-Effective-01012026
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permits page: 'Permits can only be issued to the owner of the property, an agent authorized by the owner, or a licensed contractor licensed by the California State License Board (CSLB).' No trade-specific (e.g., C-10) restriction is stated for solar electrical work specifically.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/213/Building-Permits
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo separate 'contractor registration with the Building Division' requirement found in the municipal code (eCode360 search for 'contractor registration' returned only an unrelated zoning definition of 'Contractor's Yard' land use). A City business license IS required to conduct any business, including contracting, within Oakley, per the Business License Information page, but that is a general business-license requirement, not a building-department contractor registry.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/163/Business-License-Information
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building Permit Application includes an 'Owner-Builder Declaration' section citing Bus. & Prof. Code §7044, allowing an owner to perform or contract the work themselves; Building Permits page also states permits may issue directly to the property owner.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1436/Solar-Permit-Application-PDF
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Site plan (address, owner, contractor incl. state license #, module locations, ground/pole-mount setbacks + wet-stamped seismic/wind engineering, 3' fire-access clearance); electrical line (one-line) drawing showing module strings, combiner box(es), DC/AC disconnects, inverter(s), main panel/subpanel, fuses/breakers, conductor size/type/count; system ampacity and wire-size calculations for DC and AC conductors; manufacturer product/installation sheets for modules, inverters, racking (incl. grounding info); summary of required warning stickers/signage with exact wording and location per the CEC.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly enumerated, item-by-item, in the City's own 'Solar Permit Submittal Requirements' handout.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic only — submittals are emailed to inspections@ci.oakley.ca.us or uploaded via the Oakley Civic Access Portal (OCAP, live since 14 Jul 2026); no physical/paper copy count is specified for building permits.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permit Requirements handout instructs 'Please email all submittals'; Building Permits page (updated for OCAP) states 'All Building Permit applications and applicable plans are processed electronically.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/213/Building-Permits
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — site plan must show the project address, owner's name, installing contractor's name/address/phone/state license #, and the location of all module strings on the rooftop or in the yard; ground/pole-mounted arrays additionally require property-line setbacks and wet-stamped seismic/wind engineering; 3' clearance must be shown around rooftop arrays for fire access/maintenance.
Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim requirement 1(a) of the City's Solar Permit Submittal Requirements handout.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherHandout requirement 1(b): 'An electrical line drawing that includes the module strings, combiner box(s), DC and AC disconnects, inverter(s), main electrical service panel...'
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherHandout requirement 1(c): 'Provide system ampacity calculations and the wire size calculations for the DC and AC current carrying conductors.'
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Ground/pole-mounted arrays require wet-stamped engineering for seismic and wind loads (no size threshold stated — applies to any ground/pole mount). For roof-mounted systems using the City's Expedited/Eligibility Checklist path, item 11 requires 'a completed structural criteria and supporting documentation' without a numeric threshold for when a licensed engineer's wet stamp (vs. a standard/prescriptive form) is required.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permit Requirements handout is explicit for ground mounts; the Eligibility Checklist's 'structural criteria' item does not itself state a PE-stamp threshold, so the rooftop threshold is inferred rather than stated outright.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Permit Requirements handout; Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Solar Permitting; OMC Ch. 7.2 electrical amendments (administrative-only)
https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$303.95 flat (includes applicable City fees)
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule effective 1 Jan 2026, 'Building Valuation Data Supplement' table, line item 'Solar — $303.95 — Includes Applicable City Fees.' PDF revision stamp: CreationDate 14 Oct 2025 (Acrobat PDFMaker for Excel), i.e. the current, dated fee schedule for the code cycle now in force. Not 100 because it is unclear whether this flat fee covers non-standard/larger systems outside the expedited-eligibility path.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1587/Proposed-Master-Fee-Schedule-Effective-01012026
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat
Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee Schedule lists 'Solar' as a flat $303.95 line item rather than a valuation- or per-kW-based calculation, distinct from the generic percentage-of-building-permit formulas used for ordinary electrical/mechanical/plumbing work.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1587/Proposed-Master-Fee-Schedule-Effective-01012026
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe flat $303.95 solar fee is stated to include 'Applicable City Fees,' implying plan review is bundled in for the standard/eligible case; the schedule's general Section 109.8 (plan review = % of building permit fee) would separately apply only to non-standard systems requiring full plan review outside the flat-fee/eligibility-checklist path — the schedule does not disambiguate this explicitly.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1587/Proposed-Master-Fee-Schedule-Effective-01012026
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding (/212), Building Permits (/213), OCAP (/408), SolarAPP+ (/402) department pages; Solar Permit Requirements and Eligibility Checklist PDFs
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
365 days
Why the confidence is not higherOMC §7.2.102 (amending CBC §105.5) as re-adopted by Ord. 1-26 (Jan 2026): permit 'shall expire... if... not commenced within 365 days from the date of such permit, or if... suspended or abandoned... for a period of 180 days.' The Building Permit Application form separately states permits expire '365 days from last valid approved inspection.'
codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/49656470#49656470
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Oakley Civic Access Portal (OCAP) — Tyler Technologies Civic Access, live since 14 Jul 2026 (previously by email to inspections@ci.oakley.ca.us)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own OCAP page and Building Division page both announce OCAP as the current portal for building permits, plans, and licenses.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/408/Oakley-Civic-Access-Portal-OCAP
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherOCAP page: application submittal, plan upload, fee payment, and inspection requests can all be completed online through the portal ('Pay any fees or estimate your fees before applying. All online.' / 'Request Inspections... right from the Civic Access dashboard.').
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/408/Oakley-Civic-Access-Portal-OCAP
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own MCE Contra Costa page states Oakley joined the MCE Community Choice Aggregation program in 2017 for electricity procurement, 'while maintaining the existing electricity provider, Pacific Gas and Electric Company, for customer billing, transmission and distribution services' — i.e., MCE is the CCA/generation choice, but PG&E remains the interconnecting distribution utility. Not sourced from PowerToChoose.
city department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/239/MCE-Contra-Costa
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit (utility Permission-to-Operate is conditioned on the AHJ's final electrical-inspection clearance; the interconnection application itself may be filed in parallel)
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21 (Advice 7692-E, eff. 29 Aug 2025), Sheet 45, §D.13.b: PTO for NEM systems ≤1MW is processed within 30 business days of receipt of, among other things, 'evidence of Applicant's final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority having jurisdiction.' Confirmed by directly downloading and grepping the current 26 MB tariff PDF (pdfinfo/pdftotext), not a summary.
utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo city requirement for HOA/architectural approval prior to permit; OMC §7.2.116(a)(2) itself cross-references Civil Code §714(c)(iii) (the Solar Rights Act), which bars HOAs from unreasonably restricting solar installations — the local ordinance affirmatively incorporates the state preemption rather than adding a local HOA-approval step.
codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/49656470#49656470
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not highereCode360 full-text search for 'historic district' returns only an unrelated floodplain-management definition of 'historic structure' (OMC §6.12.110) — no historic-district zoning overlay exists. Consistent with Oakley being a young city (incorporated 1999). Positive control ('electrical') and fabricated control ('zzqqx') both behaved correctly in this session, validating the search.
municipal code search checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/OA4568/search?query=historic+district
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Ground/pole-mounted arrays require wet-stamped structural engineering for wind loads (city Basic Wind Speed = 80 mph, Wind Exposure Category 8, per the Adopted Building Codes page); no separate 'wind certification' document distinct from the standard structural-engineering submittal is specified for roof-mounted arrays.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the Solar Permit Requirements handout's ground-mount engineering requirement with the city's published wind design parameters; no standalone wind-certification form found.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/307/Adopted-Building-Codes
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedeCode360 full-text search of the Zoning chapter (Ch 9.1) for solar-related CUP triggers; positive control 'electrical' and fabricated control 'zzqqx' both behaved correctly in the same session
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
10 kW AC (or 30 kW thermal) cap applies only to eligibility for the ministerial/expedited review path under OMC §7.2.116 (defining a 'small residential rooftop solar energy system'); there is no absolute cap on residential system size — larger systems simply fall outside the ministerial fast-track and receive standard discretionary/plan review.
Why the confidence is not higherOMC §7.2.116(a) 'Small residential rooftop solar energy system... means... no larger than ten (10) kilowatts alternating current nameplate rating or thirty (30) kilowatts thermal' — this is the Gov. Code §65850.5 ministerial-review definition, not a hard cap on all residential solar.
codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/49656470#49656470
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 82% · enacted ordinance
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code 90% · department page
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (Cal. Code Regs. Title 24, Part 9), adopted for Oakley via Contra Costa County Fire Protection District Ordinance No. 2025-14 and ratified by City of Oakley Ordinance No. 1-26 88% · fire district ordinance list
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 88% · codified ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building/Residential/Electrical/Mechanical/Plumbing/Energy/Green Building Codes (2023-NEC-based CEC) as locally amended by OMC Ch. 7.2, plus the 2025 California Fire Code as amended by Con Fire Ordinance 2025-14, plus the Civil Code Solar Rights Act (§§714, 801.5) referenced directly in OMC §7.2.116. 85% · codified ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? 3 feet clearance at gables; 18 inches at ridge (with conditions), hips, and valleys 88% · department handout
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes — rapid shutdown required per CEC/NEC §690.12; current adopted code is the 2025 CEC (based on the 2023 NEC), effective ~26 Feb 2026 per Ord. 1-26 82% · department handout
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Not specified by the City — the Solar Permit Requirements handout requires the applicant to submit 'a summary of all required warning stickers or signs and include the wording and location of all the signs as required by the current California Electrical Code,' i.e. the City defers entirely to the CEC's own placard/marking requirements (CEC Art. 690, 705) rather than publishing its own placard list. 80% · department handout
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 78% · department handout
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No 78% · department handout
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? A roof-layout diagram is required as part of the SUBMITTAL package (showing panel/module locations, clear access pathways, and approximate locations of electrical disconnecting means and roof access points) — this is a plan-set drawing reviewed at permitting, not a separate posted facility-map placard at the service equipment. 70% · department handout
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes — PG&E Rule 21 requires a visible, manually-operated, lockable isolating disconnect switch near the Point of Interconnection that must 'include markings or signage that clearly indicates open and closed positions,' independent of any AHJ-required labeling. 78% · utility tariff
- Where must the labels be placed? City: not specified beyond deferring to the CEC. Utility: the Rule-21 visible disconnect switch must be located near the Point of Interconnection and be reachable 24/7 by PG&E personnel without obstacles. 65% · utility tariff
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Not specified by the City. PG&E Rule 21 requires a visible, lockable, clearly-marked manual disconnect 'near the Point of Interconnection,' reachable 24/7 without obstacles, but does not give a specific distance-from-meter dimension in the public tariff text; that level of detail sits in PG&E's gated DG-specific Greenbook document (TD-2306M), which is not publicly reachable ('See your PG&E Job Owner for access'). 55% · utility tariff
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Batteries are permitted but EXCLUDED from the City's expedited/ministerial review path — the Eligibility Checklist requires the system to be 'utility interactive, without battery backup' to qualify for expedited processing; systems with battery storage must go through standard (non-expedited) plan review. 85% · department handout
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? At the City building-permit level: No separate ESS permit type distinct from the standard (non-expedited) building/electrical permit. At the fire-district level: Yes — Con Fire's Engineering/Plan Review Fee Schedule lists a dedicated 'Energy Storage System — Battery Systems/Energy Storage' plan-review line ($944 minimum fee) plus a separate 'UL9540A Review' fee ($516), under Ordinance No. 2026-07 (adopted 12 May 2026, fees effective 13 Jul 2026). 78% · fire district fee schedule
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Effectively yes for permitting purposes — the City's Solar Permit Requirements handout requires ground/pole-mounted PV arrays to include property-line setbacks and wet-stamped structural engineering for seismic and wind loads, i.e. treated like a structure for building-permit purposes — although the Zoning Code's own 'Accessory Structures' article (OMC §9.1.1802) does not explicitly list PV arrays among examples of accessory structures. 65% · department handout
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No blanket local busbar-sizing amendment in OMC Ch. 7.2 (Electrical amendments are administrative-only, per §7.2.106). However, the City's own Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Solar Permitting conditions ministerial/expedited approval on the system interconnecting to 'a single-phase AC service panel of nominal 120/240 ac with bus bar rating of 225A or less' — a condition of the fast-track path, not a universal service-upgrade rule. 70% · department handout
20 questions answered against City of Oakley’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance No. 1-26 (passed 27 Jan 2026, effective ~26 Feb 2026, 30 days after passage) adopts the '2025 Edition' of the California Electrical Code, 'incorporating the National Electrical Code and all annexes' — the 2025 CEC/Title 24 cycle is based on the 2023 NEC (there is no '2025 NEC'). NOTE: eCode360's live codified text as of its own 'Code current through' date of 9 Dec 2025 still displays the SUPERSEDED '2019 Edition' wording pending publication of Ord. 1-26's amendments — do not rely on the eCode360 in-context text alone; the enacted ordinance and the city's own /307 Adopted-Building-Codes page (both dated Jan 2026) are the current authority. Confidence reduced for this codification-lag risk, though both primary sources (ordinance PDF + department page) agree.
enacted ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/OA4568/laws/LF2633666.pdf
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance No. 1-26 (adopted 27 Jan 2026) and the city's own /307 Adopted Building Codes page ('ATTENTION: JANUARY 1, 2026 THE 2025 CALIFORNIA BUILDING CODES TOOK EFFECT') agree.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/307/Adopted-Building-Codes
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (Cal. Code Regs. Title 24, Part 9), adopted for Oakley via Contra Costa County Fire Protection District Ordinance No. 2025-14 and ratified by City of Oakley Ordinance No. 1-26
Why the confidence is not higherOrd. 1-26 §1(l): 'The 2025 Edition of the California Fire Code... Ordinance 2025-14 of the Contra Costa County Fire Protection District... is hereby adopted and ratified.' Independently confirmed on Con Fire's own site listing 'Adopting 2025 California Fire Code Ordinance No. 2025-14' among its Fire Code Ordinances.
fire district ordinance list checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cccfpd.org/321/Fire-Code-Ordinances
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherOMC Title 7, Ch. 7.2 'Amendments to Codes' contains extensive local amendments to the CBC, CRC, CEC (administrative only), CMC, CPC and IPMC (permit expiration/fees/re-inspection/appeals provisions, etc.), separately from the base code adoption in Ch. 7.1; Con Fire separately amends the base 2025 CFC via its own Ordinance 2025-14.
codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/49656470#49656470
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Building/Residential/Electrical/Mechanical/Plumbing/Energy/Green Building Codes (2023-NEC-based CEC) as locally amended by OMC Ch. 7.2, plus the 2025 California Fire Code as amended by Con Fire Ordinance 2025-14, plus the Civil Code Solar Rights Act (§§714, 801.5) referenced directly in OMC §7.2.116.
Why the confidence is not higherSynthesis of Ord. 1-26 (code adoption/amendments) and OMC §7.2.116 definitions.
codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/49656470#49656470
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
No blanket local busbar-sizing amendment in OMC Ch. 7.2 (Electrical amendments are administrative-only, per §7.2.106). However, the City's own Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Solar Permitting conditions ministerial/expedited approval on the system interconnecting to 'a single-phase AC service panel of nominal 120/240 ac with bus bar rating of 225A or less' — a condition of the fast-track path, not a universal service-upgrade rule.
Why the confidence is not higherOMC §7.2.106 states CEC administrative provisions follow the CBC amendments (no separate busbar text); the 225A busbar ceiling is drawn from the city's own dated (1/3/2023) Eligibility Checklist PDF.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedOMC Ch. 7.2 (Amendments to Codes); Solar Permit Requirements and Eligibility Checklist PDFs — deliberately excluded the generic undated 2021 national SolarAPP+ PV Eligibility PDF also hosted on the SolarAPP+ page as a non-Oakley-specific source
https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
3 feet clearance at gables; 18 inches at ridge (with conditions), hips, and valleys
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own 'Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Solar Permitting for Residential Systems' (Building Division, effective 1/3/2023), item 13 under Fire Safety Requirements: 'Clear access pathways are provided (3' at gables and 18" at ridge with conditions, hips, and valleys).'
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes — rapid shutdown required per CEC/NEC §690.12; current adopted code is the 2025 CEC (based on the 2023 NEC), effective ~26 Feb 2026 per Ord. 1-26
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Eligibility Checklist (eff. 1/3/2023, referencing the then-current 2022 CEC) requires compliance with 'CEC 690.12 (1) thru (5) for rapid shutdown' as an eligibility condition; the underlying NEC 690.12 rapid-shutdown mandate carries forward under the now-adopted 2025 CEC/2023 NEC. The checklist itself has not been reissued to cite the 2025 cycle by name, so the specific subsection numbering should be re-verified against the 2023 NEC text rather than assumed identical.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified by the City — the Solar Permit Requirements handout requires the applicant to submit 'a summary of all required warning stickers or signs and include the wording and location of all the signs as required by the current California Electrical Code,' i.e. the City defers entirely to the CEC's own placard/marking requirements (CEC Art. 690, 705) rather than publishing its own placard list.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted requirement 1(e) of the handout; confirmed as an absence rather than an oversight because the same handout is explicit and detailed on every other submittal item.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame handout defers wording to 'the current California Electrical Code' rather than prescribing City-specific wording; no separate placard-wording bulletin found on the Building, Fire (Con Fire), or Fire-Prevention-Fees pages.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo City or Con Fire document specifies letter height, colour, or material for solar placards; both defer to the CEC's own signage requirements.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
A roof-layout diagram is required as part of the SUBMITTAL package (showing panel/module locations, clear access pathways, and approximate locations of electrical disconnecting means and roof access points) — this is a plan-set drawing reviewed at permitting, not a separate posted facility-map placard at the service equipment.
Why the confidence is not higherEligibility Checklist item 16: 'A diagram of roof layout of all panels, modules, clear access pathways and approximate locations of electrical disconnecting means and roof access points is completed and attached.' No separate posted-placard requirement (distinct from this drawing) was found.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes — PG&E Rule 21 requires a visible, manually-operated, lockable isolating disconnect switch near the Point of Interconnection that must 'include markings or signage that clearly indicates open and closed positions,' independent of any AHJ-required labeling.
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed by directly downloading and grepping PG&E's current Electric Rule 21 tariff PDF (Advice 7692-E, eff. 29 Aug 2025), Sheet 171, §H.1.d — not a summary. PG&E's DG-specific Greenbook detail document (TD-2306M) that would give further utility-side label specs is gated ('See your PG&E Job Owner for access') and could not be independently checked.
utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
City: not specified beyond deferring to the CEC. Utility: the Rule-21 visible disconnect switch must be located near the Point of Interconnection and be reachable 24/7 by PG&E personnel without obstacles.
Why the confidence is not higherSame Rule 21 §H.1.d language; the specific numeric distance from the meter (if any) sits in PG&E's gated Greenbook DG detail (TD-2306M), which could not be reached.
utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Permit Requirements and Eligibility Checklist PDFs (Oakley's own text) — deliberately excluded the generic undated 2021 national SolarAPP+ PV Eligibility PDF, which does state a CEC-listing requirement but is not an Oakley-authored document
https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Batteries are permitted but EXCLUDED from the City's expedited/ministerial review path — the Eligibility Checklist requires the system to be 'utility interactive, without battery backup' to qualify for expedited processing; systems with battery storage must go through standard (non-expedited) plan review.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from item 4 of the City's own dated (1/3/2023) Eligibility Checklist. This matches the exact pattern flagged in the research brief (battery exclusion from an expedited path) and was verified by reading the checklist's own text rather than a summary.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
At the City building-permit level: No separate ESS permit type distinct from the standard (non-expedited) building/electrical permit. At the fire-district level: Yes — Con Fire's Engineering/Plan Review Fee Schedule lists a dedicated 'Energy Storage System — Battery Systems/Energy Storage' plan-review line ($944 minimum fee) plus a separate 'UL9540A Review' fee ($516), under Ordinance No. 2026-07 (adopted 12 May 2026, fees effective 13 Jul 2026).
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed by downloading and reading (not summarizing) Con Fire's current Engineering/Plan Review Fee Schedule PDF (CreationDate 21 May 2026). The fee line does not state a kWh threshold or exclude residential systems, so its exact applicability to a small home battery is inferred rather than stated (flagged per the brief's Palm Springs-style ambiguity warning).
fire district fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cccfpd.org/437/Fire-Prevention-Service-Fees
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Effectively yes for permitting purposes — the City's Solar Permit Requirements handout requires ground/pole-mounted PV arrays to include property-line setbacks and wet-stamped structural engineering for seismic and wind loads, i.e. treated like a structure for building-permit purposes — although the Zoning Code's own 'Accessory Structures' article (OMC §9.1.1802) does not explicitly list PV arrays among examples of accessory structures.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the Building Division's own practice document (explicit) with the Zoning Code's Accessory Structures definition (silent on PV specifically, confirmed by reading the full section text).
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Not specified by the City. PG&E Rule 21 requires a visible, lockable, clearly-marked manual disconnect 'near the Point of Interconnection,' reachable 24/7 without obstacles, but does not give a specific distance-from-meter dimension in the public tariff text; that level of detail sits in PG&E's gated DG-specific Greenbook document (TD-2306M), which is not publicly reachable ('See your PG&E Job Owner for access').
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed the public Rule 21 tariff (grepped in full) does not contain a numeric meter-proximity spec; the more specific document is structurally gated, not merely hard to find.
utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal or Phone 85% · department page
- How much notice is required? 1 business day (by 4pm the day before) 88% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? AM/PM windows: mornings 8am–noon, afternoons 1–4pm; Building Division is closed the 1st and 3rd Fridays of each month. No same-day inspection option is offered. 88% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 85% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? Building/electrical: not delegated (City of Oakley Building Division, in-house). Fire-code enforcement is delegated by the City Council to the Fire Chief of the Contra Costa County Fire Protection District. 88% · codified ordinance
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? A final inspection is required (ladder + knowledgeable representative on site); for systems eligible for the City's ministerial/expedited path, OMC §7.2.116(e) states 'only one inspection shall be required... which may include a consolidated inspection by the Building Official and Fire Chief.' 80% · department handout
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No — not for systems eligible for the expedited path 65% · codified ordinance
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes 70% · department handout
- What must be on site at inspection? A ladder meeting OSHA requirements; the printed permit and inspection card (downloaded from OCAP); a representative able to answer the inspector's questions; an adult (18+) present if any interior access is needed. 82% · department page
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes 60% · department handout
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final 55% · department page
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer 82% · codified ordinance
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $69.25 per hour 75% · fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? Plan-review comments/corrections are uploaded to the OCAP portal and the applicant is emailed a notification; for the ministerial/expedited path, OMC §7.2.116(f) requires the Building Official to issue a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies, appealable to the City Council if the applicant disputes an 'incomplete' determination. 78% · department page
14 questions answered against City of Oakley’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal or Phone
Why the confidence is not higherTraditionally by phone (925-625-7005) per the Building and Inspection Necessities pages; OCAP's brochure adds a 'Request Inspections' feature directly in the portal since 14 Jul 2026.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/408/Oakley-Civic-Access-Portal-OCAP
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
1 business day (by 4pm the day before)
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding page FAQ: 'Inspection requests are required to be made by 4 pm the day prior to the desired Inspection.' SolarAPP+ page separately confirms: 'City of Oakley building inspections are typically carried out the next business day after the request.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/212/Building
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
AM/PM windows: mornings 8am–noon, afternoons 1–4pm; Building Division is closed the 1st and 3rd Fridays of each month. No same-day inspection option is offered.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding page: 'Morning inspections are performed between 8 am and noon and afternoon inspections are performed between 1 and 4 pm... closed the 1st and 3rd Fridays of each month.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/212/Building
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Oakley Building Division performs its own building/electrical inspections in-house (no delegation found). Fire (a separate AHJ, Con Fire) is generally handled via a Solar Photovoltaic Notification Form rather than a mandatory field inspection for standard eligible residential PV, though OMC §7.2.116(e) permits a 'consolidated inspection by the Building Official and Fire Chief' for expedited-eligible systems if needed.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/212/Building
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Building/electrical: not delegated (City of Oakley Building Division, in-house). Fire-code enforcement is delegated by the City Council to the Fire Chief of the Contra Costa County Fire Protection District.
Why the confidence is not higherOMC §7.1.102(l)(3) (Ord. 1-26): 'the City Council delegates enforcement of Ordinance 2025-14 to the Fire Chief of the Contra Costa County Fire Protection District, or his or her authorized representatives.'
codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/49656403#49656403
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
A final inspection is required (ladder + knowledgeable representative on site); for systems eligible for the City's ministerial/expedited path, OMC §7.2.116(e) states 'only one inspection shall be required... which may include a consolidated inspection by the Building Official and Fire Chief.'
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the Solar Permit Requirements handout's final-inspection instructions with OMC §7.2.116(e).
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No — not for systems eligible for the expedited path
Why the confidence is not higherOMC §7.2.116(e) specifies 'only one inspection shall be required' for eligible small residential rooftop systems, implying no separate rough-in/mid-roof stage for those systems; not explicitly addressed for non-eligible (standard-review) systems.
codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/49656470#49656470
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherInferred rather than explicitly stated as an inspector checklist item: the Eligibility Checklist requires as a precondition that 'all required markings and labels are provided' (item 15), and the submittal package requires a summary of exact signage wording/location — implying the final inspection verifies these are actually installed, though no city document says this in so many words.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City publishes an 'Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Solar Permitting for Residential Systems' (Building Division, eff. 1/3/2023) which functions as the closest published checklist for solar; it is primarily a permitting-eligibility checklist rather than a dedicated field-inspection checklist, so confidence is moderate rather than high.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2029/Solar-Permit-Requirements-PDF
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
A ladder meeting OSHA requirements; the printed permit and inspection card (downloaded from OCAP); a representative able to answer the inspector's questions; an adult (18+) present if any interior access is needed.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the Inspection Necessities page ('Provide a ladder that meets OSHA requirements... There must be an adult... present for any inspections of the interior'), the Building Permits page ('permit and inspection card will be...required to be printed and on site'), and the Solar Permit Requirements handout ('have a ladder on site and a representative that can answer any questions').
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/308/Inspection-Necessities
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$69.25 per hour
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule, 'RE-Inspection Fees Assessed Under Provisions of Section 305.8 — $69.25 — Per Hour' (construction/building context), consistent with OMC §109.7 (Re-inspections). A different, unrelated $112.00 flat re-inspection fee also appears in the same schedule but under Code Enforcement/rental-registration, not construction permits — not applicable to solar.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1587/Proposed-Master-Fee-Schedule-Effective-01012026
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Plan-review comments/corrections are uploaded to the OCAP portal and the applicant is emailed a notification; for the ministerial/expedited path, OMC §7.2.116(f) requires the Building Official to issue a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies, appealable to the City Council if the applicant disputes an 'incomplete' determination.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the Building Permits page's OCAP workflow description with OMC §7.2.116(f).
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/213/Building-Permits
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final
Why the confidence is not higherNo document uses a distinct term like 'green tag' or 'Certificate of Occupancy' for a PV retrofit on an existing home; the process described (permit + inspection card, final inspection sign-off recorded in OCAP) is consistent with a standard 'final' inspection approval rather than a separate certificate.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.oakleyca.gov/213/Building-Permits
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer
Why the confidence is not higherOMC §7.2.116(g): 'Such approval does not authorize an applicant to connect the small residential rooftop energy system to the local utility provider's electricity grid. The applicant is responsible for obtaining such approval or permission from the local utility provider.' PG&E Rule 21 confirms the interconnection application (culminating in PTO) is submitted by the applicant/installer, conditioned on the AHJ's final inspection clearance.
codified ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/49656470#49656470
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Oakley against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Oakley is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (in-house, no third-party plan-check/inspection delegation found)
- Delegated to
- Fire code enforcement is delegated by the City Council to the Fire Chief of the Contra Costa County Fire Protection District (Con Fire); Con Fire is a SEPARATE AHJ for fire-code matters, not a city department
- Overridden by
- Gov. Code §65850.5/§65850.52 ministerial-review mandate (codified locally at OMC §7.2.116); Civil Code §714/§4600 Solar Rights Act preempts HOA veto; PG&E Rule 21 gates utility Permission-to-Operate on the AHJ's final electrical-inspection clearance
- Why not higher
- City's own Building Division page (oakleyca.gov/212/Building) shows an in-house Chief Building Official (Conrad Fromme) administering Building/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical — no evidence of a contracted plan-check firm (CSG/4LEAF/Bureau Veritas/etc.) despite Oakley being a small, young (inc. 1999) city, so that specific brief-flagged risk did not materialize here. CORRECTION TO THE BRIEF: fire is NOT the East Contra Costa Fire Protection District (ECCFPD) as the brief assumed — ECCFPD merged into the Contra Costa County Fire Protection District effective 1 July 2022 per Contra Costa County's own Fire Protection Districts page, and both Oakley's own adopting ordinance (Ord. 01-08 as re-adopted by Ord. 1-26, Jan 2026) and the County's site name 'Contra Costa County Fire Protection District' as covering Oakley among its 13 member cities. ECCFPD's old domain (eccfpd.org) no longer resolves.
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $303.95 flat (includes applicable City fees)88%
- Portal
- Oakley Civic Access Portal (OCAP) — Tyler Technologies Civic Access, live since 14 Jul 2026 (previously by email to inspections@ci.oakley.ca.us)92%
- Electrical code
- 202382%
- Own placard wording
- No78%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal or Phone85%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 78%
No
Size, colour & material 78%
No
Where they go 65%
City: not specified beyond deferring to the CEC. Utility: the Rule-21 visible disconnect switch must be located near the Point of Interconnection and be reachable 24/7 by PG&E personnel without obstacles.
What the utility wants on top 78%
Yes — PG&E Rule 21 requires a visible, manually-operated, lockable isolating disconnect switch near the Point of Interconnection that must 'include markings or signage that clearly indicates open and closed positions,' independent of any AHJ-required labeling.
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.