City of Ojai
Ventura County
City of Ojai is a city authority in the State of California, serving 7,637 residents. 1,772 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — Accela Citizen Access (aca-prod.accela.com/OJAI) -- linked from the City's own 'Public Portal' page as the 'Citizen Portal' for building and planning records. Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $349 flat, for residential solar < 10 kW (includes permit issuance, plan review, and inspection). No published tier exists for systems ≥10 kW AC;88% source
- Key document
- municipal code (control-checked absence) cited by 7 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · authority page + municipal code
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 88% · municipal code
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · municipal code
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 65% · fee schedule (dated 27 Jul 2026 per PDF metadata)
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No (at the City-regulatory level) 65% · municipal code (zoning)
- Is there a historic-district review? Only for designated Historic Landmarks, not citywide. Ojai has a Historic Preservation Commission that reviews alterations/signs for designated landmark buildings (e.g., the downtown Arcade), but no evidence was found that this reaches an ordinary, non-landmarked single-family residence installing rooftop PV. 60% · municipal code (zoning)
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 78% · municipal code (control-checked absence)
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No, for a routine residential rooftop system 65% · municipal code
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal, but only as the eligibility gate for the expedited/administrative review path -- not a hard ceiling on system size. Larger systems remain permittable through standard (non-expedited) plan review. 90% · municipal code
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 55% · authority handout (general, not solar-specific)
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 85% · authority handout
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 85% · authority handout (general, not solar-specific)
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? A Building Permit Application, a Zoning Clearance for a Building Permit (submitted concurrently, per the City's own Zoning Clearance handout), project design plans/plot plan, and -- per §9-1.216(e) -- the applicant's own pre-submittal structural and electrical self-verifications (the posted 'Roof-mount Solar - Structural Criteria for Res. Flush-mounted Solar Arrays' checklist implements the structural half). 72% · municipal code + authority handout (2019, general)
- How many copies, and in what format? Per the general Zoning Clearance handout: one full-size plan set (scale not less than 1"=20', 22"x34" to 30"x42"), one reduced 11"x17" set, and one electronic (digital) copy, preferably by e-mail. 60% · authority handout (dated 07/01/19, general)
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes. The general plot-plan requirements (Zoning Clearance handout) call for a fully-dimensioned site/building plan showing north arrow and scale, a location map, all property lines and dimensions, all existing/proposed buildings and structures with setbacks, utility lines and pad/wall-mounted equipment, and (per Handout #64) a roof plan of the module and anchor layout for roof-mounted PV. 75% · authority handout (OCR'd scanned PDF, dated 2017)
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Yes, conditionally: a California-licensed Civil or Structural Engineer's stamped calculations are required only if the project fails any item on the City's structural checklist (roof condition, anchor spacing per Table 1, array weight >4 psf PV/5 psf thermal, coverage >50% of roof, etc.); if all items pass, no additional calculations/stamp are required. Separately, OMC §9-1.216(e)(1) requires the applicant to verify structural adequacy 'through standard engineering evaluation techniques' before submittal. 88% · authority handout (OCR'd scanned PDF, dated 2017; statewide PV Toolkit template adopted verbatim)
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Accela Citizen Access (aca-prod.accela.com/OJAI) -- linked from the City's own 'Public Portal' page as the 'Citizen Portal' for building and planning records. 80% · authority page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Partially / unclear. The Public Portal page advertises 24/7 online access to 'building and planning records,' but the Building and Safety Division's own page separately states the counter is 'open Monday through Friday, between the hours of 8 am to 5 pm for submittals ONLY' -- language that reads as an in-person/paper submittal expectation rather than confirming full online application. 45% · authority pages (ambiguous)
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $349 flat, for residential solar < 10 kW (includes permit issuance, plan review, and inspection). No published tier exists for systems ≥10 kW AC; those would presumably be priced off the standard valuation-based Building Permit fee table since no solar-specific line covers them. 88% · fee schedule, dated 27 Jul 2026
- How is the fee calculated? Flat 85% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No 82% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Two conflicting provisions currently sit in Title 9: the newer CBC 105.5 amendment (Ch.1 Art.3, part of the 2025-cycle Ord. 969, eff. 1/8/2026) says a permit 'become[s] invalid... unless work... is commenced within 365 days,' with up to two 180-day extensions; but the older, seemingly still-codified §9-2.09 (Ch.2, from Ord. 743, 2000) says 'All building permits shall expire and become null and void 180 days after their issuance,' with two 180-day extensions (any extension beyond 1.5 years needing Planning Commission approval). Both are live in the current code with no cross-reference reconciling them. 65% · municipal code (internal conflict)
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 82% · authority page (indirect confirmation)
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit / not before utility approval 88% · municipal code
28 questions answered against City of Ojai’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building and Safety Division page states it 'is responsible for processing building permits, plan checks, conducting site and building inspections... and enforcing Ojai's codes,' and Ojai Municipal Code §9-1.102 adopts the state code 'as the City Building Code.'
authority page + municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/283/Building-and-Safety-Division
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherCity self-performs both Building (Title 9 Ch.1 Art.3, CBC amendments enforced by 'the Building Official') and Electrical (Art.7, CEC amendments enforced by the same Building Official/Building Inspector) in-house on @ojai.ca.gov emails. Fire plan review/inspection is separately delegated to Ventura County Fire Protection District (see jurisdiction.why) but that is outside this Building/Electrical scope.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherOMC §9-1.216 codifies a 'Small residential rooftop solar energy system review process' implementing Gov. Code §65850.5's expedited-permit mandate, presupposing a permit is required; the current Master Fee Schedule (rev. 7/14/26) separately lists a dedicated 'Residential Solar < 10 kW' permit fee of $349, confirming a permit and fee exist.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's Building Permit Application is a single form and the Master Fee Schedule's 'Residential Solar < 10 kW $349' line is presented as one figure whose header note says the amount 'include[s] all permit issuance, plan review, and inspection fees' without separating an electrical trade permit -- inference from the fee schedule's structure, not an explicit statement that electrical is folded into one permit.
fee schedule (dated 27 Jul 2026 per PDF metadata) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/DocumentCenter/View/362/Master-Fee-Schedule---Revised-7-14-26-PDF
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherNo solar-specific restriction found. General rule from the City's own Property Owner Package (Owner-Builder disclosures) and License Requirements handout is the statewide CSLB default: a state-licensed contractor (any properly classed trade license) or an Owner-Builder may apply; nothing in Title 9 narrows this to a licensed electrician specifically for PV.
authority handout (general, not solar-specific) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/DocumentCenter/View/634/Property-Owner-Package-PDF
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own 'License Requirements' handout states: 'City of Ojai Municipal Code §6-1.102 requires that all general and subcontractors doing work in the City obtain a business license,' and that final inspections/CofO will not be issued until subcontractors hold a current City business license.
authority handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/DocumentCenter/View/622/License-Requirements-PDF
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's 'Property Owner Package' is built entirely around Owner-Builder self-permitting ('Owner as Worker', 'Owner as Contractor', 'Owner as Employer'), with a required Owner-Builder Acknowledgment form before a permit issues in the owner's name -- a routine path, not barred for solar.
authority handout (general, not solar-specific) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/DocumentCenter/View/634/Property-Owner-Package-PDF
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
A Building Permit Application, a Zoning Clearance for a Building Permit (submitted concurrently, per the City's own Zoning Clearance handout), project design plans/plot plan, and -- per §9-1.216(e) -- the applicant's own pre-submittal structural and electrical self-verifications (the posted 'Roof-mount Solar - Structural Criteria for Res. Flush-mounted Solar Arrays' checklist implements the structural half).
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the codified §9-1.216 requirements with the City's general 'Zoning Clearance for a Building Permit' handout (Rev. 07/01/19), which is not solar-specific but is required 'concurrently with all Building Permit submittals'; no single solar-only submittal checklist was found bundling all of this in one document.
municipal code + authority handout (2019, general) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/DocumentCenter/View/630/Zoning-Clearance-For-A-Building-Permit-PDF
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Per the general Zoning Clearance handout: one full-size plan set (scale not less than 1"=20', 22"x34" to 30"x42"), one reduced 11"x17" set, and one electronic (digital) copy, preferably by e-mail.
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the general submittal-copy rule from the 2019-dated Zoning Clearance handout, not a solar-specific instruction; no dedicated solar checklist restates it.
authority handout (dated 07/01/19, general) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/DocumentCenter/View/630/Zoning-Clearance-For-A-Building-Permit-PDF
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes. The general plot-plan requirements (Zoning Clearance handout) call for a fully-dimensioned site/building plan showing north arrow and scale, a location map, all property lines and dimensions, all existing/proposed buildings and structures with setbacks, utility lines and pad/wall-mounted equipment, and (per Handout #64) a roof plan of the module and anchor layout for roof-mounted PV.
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral plot-plan content list is city-wide (not solar-specific); the roof/anchor-layout plan requirement is solar-specific and comes from the City's own posted structural-criteria handout.
authority handout (OCR'd scanned PDF, dated 2017) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/DocumentCenter/View/349/64---Roof-mount-Solar---Structural-Criteria-for-Res-Flush-mounted-Solar-Arrays
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTitle 9 Ch.1 Art.7 (Electrical Code amendments), §9-1.216 (small residential rooftop solar review process), and the City's posted Building & Safety Handouts list -- no explicit one-line/three-line diagram requirement was stated anywhere; it is very likely required in practice (standard for PV interconnection) but not documented in any authority-published text.
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Title 9 Electrical Code amendments and §9-1.216 text -- no explicit string/conductor calculation requirement found.
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Yes, conditionally: a California-licensed Civil or Structural Engineer's stamped calculations are required only if the project fails any item on the City's structural checklist (roof condition, anchor spacing per Table 1, array weight >4 psf PV/5 psf thermal, coverage >50% of roof, etc.); if all items pass, no additional calculations/stamp are required. Separately, OMC §9-1.216(e)(1) requires the applicant to verify structural adequacy 'through standard engineering evaluation techniques' before submittal.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly from the City's own posted, OCR'd 'Roof-mount Solar - Structural Criteria' handout (the statewide 'PV Toolkit for Local Governments Part 3' template, adopted by Ojai as its own checklist), Summary section: 'One or more items are checked NO. Attach project-specific drawings and calculations stamped and signed by a California-licensed Civil or Structural Engineer.'
authority handout (OCR'd scanned PDF, dated 2017; statewide PV Toolkit template adopted verbatim) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/DocumentCenter/View/349/64---Roof-mount-Solar---Structural-Criteria-for-Res-Flush-mounted-Solar-Arrays
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTitle 9 Ch.1 Art.7 (Electrical Code amendments) and §9-1.216(e)(2) (electrical self-verification clause) -- unlike the structural side (Q13), no explicit electrical PE-stamp threshold or requirement was found; §9-1.216(e)(2) only calls for the applicant's own 'standard electrical inspection techniques' verification.
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$349 flat, for residential solar < 10 kW (includes permit issuance, plan review, and inspection). No published tier exists for systems ≥10 kW AC; those would presumably be priced off the standard valuation-based Building Permit fee table since no solar-specific line covers them.
Why the confidence is not higherCurrent City of Ojai Master Fee Schedule, 'Revised 7-14-26' (PDF metadata CreationDate 27 Jul 2026, confirmed current, not just an undated filename), Building & Safety Fees section, line 3: 'Residential Solar < 10 kW ... $349.' Positive control ('electrical') and fabricated control ('zzqqx') both ran clean in this document.
fee schedule, dated 27 Jul 2026 checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/DocumentCenter/View/362/Master-Fee-Schedule---Revised-7-14-26-PDF
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat
Why the confidence is not higherThe $349 residential-solar-<10kW line is a single flat figure, distinct from the schedule's separate valuation-based 'Building Permit and Plan Check Fees' tables used for general construction.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/DocumentCenter/View/362/Master-Fee-Schedule---Revised-7-14-26-PDF
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe fee schedule's own header note over the Building & Safety 'stand-alone' permit table (which contains the solar line) states: 'The fee amounts shown include all permit issuance, plan review, and inspection fees' -- i.e. plan check is bundled into the one $349 figure, not billed as a separate line for this category.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/DocumentCenter/View/362/Master-Fee-Schedule---Revised-7-14-26-PDF
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we looked§9-1.216 (solar review process), the Building and Safety Division page, and the current Master Fee Schedule -- none states a specific number of business days for plan-review turnaround (unlike, e.g., Fairfield's 'same day / 1-3 business days' language); §9-1.216(g) only requires a correction notice 'within' an unspecified timeframe for incomplete applications.
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Two conflicting provisions currently sit in Title 9: the newer CBC 105.5 amendment (Ch.1 Art.3, part of the 2025-cycle Ord. 969, eff. 1/8/2026) says a permit 'become[s] invalid... unless work... is commenced within 365 days,' with up to two 180-day extensions; but the older, seemingly still-codified §9-2.09 (Ch.2, from Ord. 743, 2000) says 'All building permits shall expire and become null and void 180 days after their issuance,' with two 180-day extensions (any extension beyond 1.5 years needing Planning Commission approval). Both are live in the current code with no cross-reference reconciling them.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly off the ecode360-hosted, current codification of Title 9; reporting both per the conflicting-provisions rule rather than picking one, since neither section repeals the other in the text as codified.
municipal code (internal conflict) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Accela Citizen Access (aca-prod.accela.com/OJAI) -- linked from the City's own 'Public Portal' page as the 'Citizen Portal' for building and planning records.
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's Public Portal page (Community Development) links directly to https://aca-prod.accela.com/OJAI/Default.aspx as 'the Citizen Portal website.'
authority page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/208/public-portal
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Partially / unclear. The Public Portal page advertises 24/7 online access to 'building and planning records,' but the Building and Safety Division's own page separately states the counter is 'open Monday through Friday, between the hours of 8 am to 5 pm for submittals ONLY' -- language that reads as an in-person/paper submittal expectation rather than confirming full online application.
Why the confidence is not higherThe two City-published pages point in different directions and neither states outright whether a new solar building-permit application can be started-to-finish in Accela; recorded at low-moderate confidence rather than guessing which controls.
authority pages (ambiguous) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/283/Building-and-Safety-Division
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own website references SCE as the servicing utility in a first-party City page ('Information Regarding Southern California Edison Tree Trimming'), which the City would only coordinate with if SCE holds the local electric-distribution franchise; Ojai has no municipal electric utility of its own.
authority page (indirect confirmation) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/536/southern-california-edison-tree-trimming
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit / not before utility approval
Why the confidence is not higherOMC §9-1.216(h): permit approval 'does not authorize an applicant to connect the small residential rooftop energy system to the local utility provider's electricity grid. The applicant is responsible for obtaining such approval or permission from the local utility provider.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No (at the City-regulatory level)
Why the confidence is not higherOMC §10-2.2003(a)(1) exempts 'construction of or an improvement to a single-family residential dwelling in a single-family zone' from the City's own Design Review Permit requirement (except new 2-story/tall single-story dwellings), and (a)(3) requires Design Review only for exterior alterations to buildings OTHER than a single-story single-family dwelling -- so an ordinary rooftop-PV retrofit on an existing single-story SFR does not trigger City architectural review. No private HOA requirement was found in City code (the City does not enforce private CC&Rs, and Civil Code §714/§4600 (Solar Rights Act) would preempt any HOA restriction in any case).
municipal code (zoning) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44890010
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Only for designated Historic Landmarks, not citywide. Ojai has a Historic Preservation Commission that reviews alterations/signs for designated landmark buildings (e.g., the downtown Arcade), but no evidence was found that this reaches an ordinary, non-landmarked single-family residence installing rooftop PV.
Why the confidence is not higherTitle 10 references a Historic Preservation Commission with landmark-specific sign and lighting review authority; no separate citywide historic-overlay trigger for residential rooftop solar was found in the sections reviewed.
municipal code (zoning) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44890010
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherFull-text review of Title 9 (Building Regulations) found zero mentions of a wind or windstorm certification requirement (control-checked: 'electrical' returns 31 hits, fabricated 'zzqqx' returns 0, so the search method works) -- consistent with California's general practice of not using a separate windstorm-certification regime like Texas/Florida.
municipal code (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No, for a routine residential rooftop system
Why the confidence is not higher§9-1.216 provides for administrative (staff-level) approval of eligible small residential rooftop solar, with no Council or Planning Commission step in that process; no CUP/SUP requirement for rooftop PV was found elsewhere in Title 9 or Title 10. (Note: an unrelated CUP process exists at §10-2.405(c)(8), but it concerns building-height exceptions on large lots for general 'solar access' purposes, not permitting a PV array itself.)
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal, but only as the eligibility gate for the expedited/administrative review path -- not a hard ceiling on system size. Larger systems remain permittable through standard (non-expedited) plan review.
Why the confidence is not higherOMC §9-1.216(a)(2)(i): 'Small residential rooftop solar energy system' means a system 'no larger than 10 kilowatts alternating current nameplate rating or 30 kilowatts thermal' -- the AB 2188-era figure, carried into the current (2025-cycle) code with no update.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 88% · municipal code + statewide code-cycle fact
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code / California Residential Code 95% · municipal code
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code 88% · municipal code
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 90% · municipal code
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 CBC/CRC, 2025 CEC (2023 NEC), and manufacturer/UL listing standards, per OMC §9-1.216(a)(2)(ii): a small residential rooftop solar system must 'conform to all applicable state fire, structural, electrical, and other building codes as adopted or amended by the City.' 85% · municipal code
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Ojai on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12, by inference from the City's adoption of the 2025 CEC (based on the 2023 NEC); no Ojai-specific ordinance text quoting or restating 690.12 was found. 55% · inference from adopted code edition
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? No local placard requirement found beyond the state model codes. Full-text review of Title 9's Fire Code (Art. 9) and Electrical Code (Art. 7) amendment sections found no placard, label, marking, or signage provisions tied to solar/PV service equipment. 65% · municipal code (control-checked absence)
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 68% · municipal code (control-checked absence)
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Not specified locally 65% · municipal code (control-checked absence)
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Not locally amended -- only the baseline NEC 705.10 requirement would apply (by inference from the adopted 2023 NEC), with no Ojai-specific facility-map/placard content found. 55% · municipal code (control-checked absence + inference)
- Where must the labels be placed? Not specified locally 60% · municipal code (control-checked absence)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Batteries/ESS appear to be governed by Ventura County Fire Protection District rather than the City itself: VCFD's current (FY2026-27) fee schedule carries three residential-facing ESS lines -- an Energy Storage Systems plan-review fee ($572), an Energy Storage Systems operational/fire-code permit ($704), and a residential-only 'Energy Storage Systems - UL9450A [sic UL9540A] Test Review' fee ($352) -- but no ESS-specific conditions (siting, clearances, capacity limits) were found published anywhere on the City's or VCFD's own sites. 58% · fee schedule (VCFD, dated 24 Jun 2026)
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes -- delegated to VCFD, not the City 70% · fee schedule (VCFD, dated 24 Jun 2026)
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes 90% · municipal code (zoning)
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Yes -- flush-mount roof arrays: anchor horizontal spacing tables by roof slope/rafter spacing (as tight as 1'-4" at steep slopes on 16" o.c. framing), a minimum 5/16" lag screw with 2.5" rafter embedment (or manufacturer-guideline equivalent), and a 2"-10" gap requirement between the module underside and the roof surface. 85% · authority handout (OCR'd scanned PDF, dated 2017)
20 questions answered against City of Ojai’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherOMC §9-1.701 adopts 'the 2025 California Electrical Code' (Title 9 Ch.1 Art.7); the 2025 CEC is statewide based on the 2023 NEC (there is no separate '2025 NEC' or '2024 NEC').
municipal code + statewide code-cycle fact checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code / California Residential Code
Why the confidence is not higherOMC §9-1.101/§9-1.301: 'the 2025 Editions' of the CBC and CRC are adopted by reference, per Ord. 969, eff. 1/8/2026.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code
Why the confidence is not higherOMC §9-1.901: 'That certain Code known as the "2025 California Fire Code"... is hereby adopted and enacted as the primary Fire Code of the City,' Ord. 969, eff. 1/8/2026 -- a bare adoption with no PV-specific local amendments found. Note fire plan review/inspection is functionally performed by VCFD, whose own code-cycle status was not independently confirmed for this run.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherTitle 9 carries numerous local administrative amendments layered on the state codes (e.g., CBC 105.3.2/105.5 time-limit and expiration amendments, CEC 89.108.9.x disconnect/nuisance-abatement amendments) throughout Articles 3 and 7.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 CBC/CRC, 2025 CEC (2023 NEC), and manufacturer/UL listing standards, per OMC §9-1.216(a)(2)(ii): a small residential rooftop solar system must 'conform to all applicable state fire, structural, electrical, and other building codes as adopted or amended by the City.'
Why the confidence is not higherDirect text of §9-1.216(a)(2)(ii).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTitle 9 Ch.1 Art.7, §9-1.701 (California Electrical Code amendments) -- full text reviewed line by line; no local rule on service-panel upgrades, busbar sizing, or 120% rule for solar backfeed was found (control-checked: 'electrical' 31 hits, fabricated 'zzqqx' 0 hits in the whole Title).
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Yes -- flush-mount roof arrays: anchor horizontal spacing tables by roof slope/rafter spacing (as tight as 1'-4" at steep slopes on 16" o.c. framing), a minimum 5/16" lag screw with 2.5" rafter embedment (or manufacturer-guideline equivalent), and a 2"-10" gap requirement between the module underside and the roof surface.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own posted structural-criteria handout (statewide PV Toolkit Part 3 template, adopted as Ojai's own document), Tables 1-2 and Sections 2.A-2.G, extracted via OCR since the PDF has no text layer.
authority handout (OCR'd scanned PDF, dated 2017) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/DocumentCenter/View/349/64---Roof-mount-Solar---Structural-Criteria-for-Res-Flush-mounted-Solar-Arrays
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTitle 9 Ch.1 Art.9, §9-1.901 (California Fire Code adoption, bare adoption with no PV-specific local amendment found), plus Ventura County Fire Protection District's own 'Fire Prevention Applications & Forms' page (fire.venturacounty.gov) which lists 11 named forms, none solar-specific ('solar'/'photovoltaic' = 0 hits, 'fire' = 1046 hits, 'zzqqx' = 0 -- controls pass). No ridge-setback or access-pathway specification was found at either the City or VCFD level.
https://fire.venturacounty.gov/fire-prevention-applications-forms/
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12, by inference from the City's adoption of the 2025 CEC (based on the 2023 NEC); no Ojai-specific ordinance text quoting or restating 690.12 was found.
Why the confidence is not higherStandard-code inference only -- Title 9's Electrical Code amendments (§9-1.701) do not mention rapid shutdown or cite §690.12 anywhere in the codified text.
inference from adopted code edition checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No local placard requirement found beyond the state model codes. Full-text review of Title 9's Fire Code (Art. 9) and Electrical Code (Art. 7) amendment sections found no placard, label, marking, or signage provisions tied to solar/PV service equipment.
Why the confidence is not higherControl-checked absence: 'electrical' returns 31 hits and the fabricated term 'zzqqx' returns 0 in the same extracted Title 9 text; VCFD's own Applications & Forms page was separately checked and also carries no solar/PV document ('solar'/'photovoltaic' = 0 hits, 'fire' = 1046 hits, 'zzqqx' = 0).
municipal code (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame control-checked absence as Q38 -- no local ordinance sets its own placard wording for solar/PV/ESS disconnects.
municipal code (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified locally
Why the confidence is not higherSame control-checked absence -- no letter-height, colour, or material specification found in Title 9.
municipal code (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not locally amended -- only the baseline NEC 705.10 requirement would apply (by inference from the adopted 2023 NEC), with no Ojai-specific facility-map/placard content found.
Why the confidence is not higherNo local text on a site plan/facility map placard was found in Title 9; recorded as inference from the adopted NEC edition rather than a local citation.
municipal code (control-checked absence + inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNot independently checked this run -- Southern California Edison's Rule 21 / Distributed Generation interconnection manual (its own DG placard/labeling requirements) was not fetched due to time; the City's own site has no page cross-referencing SCE placard specs.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified locally
Why the confidence is not higherSame control-checked absence as Q38-40 -- no Ojai ordinance states where solar/PV labels must be placed.
municipal code (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTitle 9 Ch.1 Art.7 (Electrical Code amendments) and §9-1.216 -- no explicit 'approved equipment list' or listing requirement specific to the City was found beyond the general statewide CEC/UL-listing expectation implicit in any electrical installation.
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Batteries/ESS appear to be governed by Ventura County Fire Protection District rather than the City itself: VCFD's current (FY2026-27) fee schedule carries three residential-facing ESS lines -- an Energy Storage Systems plan-review fee ($572), an Energy Storage Systems operational/fire-code permit ($704), and a residential-only 'Energy Storage Systems - UL9450A [sic UL9540A] Test Review' fee ($352) -- but no ESS-specific conditions (siting, clearances, capacity limits) were found published anywhere on the City's or VCFD's own sites.
Why the confidence is not higherFee-line evidence proves ESS permitting activity exists at VCFD; the absence of a published conditions document is itself checked (VCFD's Applications & Forms page has zero 'solar'/'battery'-named forms) but could reflect an unpublished internal standard rather than no requirement at all.
fee schedule (VCFD, dated 24 Jun 2026) checked 2026-08-31 https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/Fee-Schedule-2026-2027.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes -- delegated to VCFD, not the City
Why the confidence is not higherVCFD's current fee schedule prices Energy Storage Systems separately from both new-construction plan review and from PV, at three distinct line items (plan review, operational permit, and a residential UL-test review), evidencing a distinct ESS permit/inspection step outside the ordinary building permit.
fee schedule (VCFD, dated 24 Jun 2026) checked 2026-08-31 https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/Fee-Schedule-2026-2027.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherOMC §10-2.804(d)(2)/(g)(2): 'free-standing solar devices... that do not exceed a height of 18 inches above the surrounding grade' are exempt from setbacks, but detached freestanding solar devices that 'exceed a height of 18 inches above the surrounding grade at any point... shall conform to the setback requirements of these Zoning Regulations for detached accessory structures' -- i.e. a ground-mount PV array over 18" tall (essentially all of them) is treated as a structure for zoning purposes.
municipal code (zoning) checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44890010
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNot independently checked this run -- Southern California Edison's own DG/interconnection manual (Rule 21 Greenbook) specifying AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter was not fetched due to time; no City document addresses this.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone 88% · authority page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Windows are given by phone, not a self-serve AM/PM toggle: 'call 805-646-5581 EXT 112 after 9:30 am' to get an inspection window. Inspections run Mon-Thu 10:00 am-5:00 pm only; no Friday inspections. 78% · authority page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 85% · municipal code
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For an expedited-eligible small residential rooftop system, only one (final/consolidated) inspection is required. Non-eligible projects (ground-mount, oversized, multi-family, or systems failing eligibility) would follow the City's general building-inspection sequence (no solar-specific staged sequence was found for that path). 82% · municipal code
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 78% · municipal code
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
Nothing recorded for City of Ojai on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (the City's own posted 'Final Inspection Sign Off Form' is the document used to close out a permit) 62% · authority page (form title only)
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer 85% · municipal code
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $155 per inspection 85% · fee schedule, dated 27 Jul 2026
- How are corrections issued and cleared? For the expedited path, the Building Official must issue a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies upon receiving an incomplete application. More generally, re-inspection fees are assessed when work is not ready, plans are unavailable on-site, or the installation deviates from approved plans; the permit will not be finaled until fees are paid. 78% · municipal code
14 questions answered against City of Ojai’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding and Safety Division page: 'To schedule an inspection call the 24-Hour Inspection Request Line (805) 646-5581 ext. 127.' No online portal-based scheduling is mentioned on this page.
authority page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/283/Building-and-Safety-Division
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety Division page ('UPDATED INSPECTION SCHEDULE' notice) -- gives phone numbers and call-in windows but does not state a minimum number of business days' advance notice required to book an inspection.
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Windows are given by phone, not a self-serve AM/PM toggle: 'call 805-646-5581 EXT 112 after 9:30 am' to get an inspection window. Inspections run Mon-Thu 10:00 am-5:00 pm only; no Friday inspections.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly from the Building and Safety Division page's 'UPDATED INSPECTION SCHEDULE' notice.
authority page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/283/Building-and-Safety-Division
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherOMC §9-1.216(f): for eligible small residential rooftop solar, 'only one inspection shall be required... which shall be done in a timely manner and may include a consolidated inspection by the building official' -- i.e. the City's own Building Division performs it, not a delegated agency, for the typical residential case.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedOMC §9-1.216(f) and the Building and Safety Division inspection notice -- both describe a self-performed inspection, with no delegation language for the routine case.
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For an expedited-eligible small residential rooftop system, only one (final/consolidated) inspection is required. Non-eligible projects (ground-mount, oversized, multi-family, or systems failing eligibility) would follow the City's general building-inspection sequence (no solar-specific staged sequence was found for that path).
Why the confidence is not higherOMC §9-1.216(f), same section as Q52/Q55.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame §9-1.216(f) text limiting eligible small residential rooftop solar to a single inspection -- no separate rough-in/mid-roof step is described for that category.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety Division page and §9-1.216 -- neither states whether the field inspector specifically checks equipment labels/UL listings at the solar final inspection (as opposed to structural/electrical soundness generally).
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Safety Handouts list (48 numbered items) -- reviewed in full; no item is a published field-inspection checklist for solar (the only solar item, #64, is a pre-submittal applicant self-certification/structural worksheet, not an inspector's checklist).
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety Division page and general Inspections notice -- no published list of documents (approved plans, inspection card, etc.) required to be on-site was found stated explicitly for solar or for building inspections generally.
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$155 per inspection
Why the confidence is not higherCurrent Master Fee Schedule (rev. 7-14-26), Building & Safety Fees section: 'Missed Inspection / Excess Re-inspection Fee (per inspection) ... $155.' Not solar-specific, but it is the general re-inspection fee that would apply to a failed solar inspection.
fee schedule, dated 27 Jul 2026 checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/DocumentCenter/View/362/Master-Fee-Schedule---Revised-7-14-26-PDF
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
For the expedited path, the Building Official must issue a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies upon receiving an incomplete application. More generally, re-inspection fees are assessed when work is not ready, plans are unavailable on-site, or the installation deviates from approved plans; the permit will not be finaled until fees are paid.
Why the confidence is not higherOMC §9-1.216(g) for the solar-specific correction-notice rule; the general re-inspection-fee conditions come from the standard Building Code amendment (CBC 109.7, Reinspection fees) in the same Title.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (the City's own posted 'Final Inspection Sign Off Form' is the document used to close out a permit)
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the existence and title of the City's posted 'Final Inspection Sign Off Form' handout on the Building and Safety Division page; the form itself was not opened/read for exact wording, and no explicit 'green tag' or 'CO' terminology tied to solar was found.
authority page (form title only) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.ojaicity.org/283/Building-and-Safety-Division
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer
Why the confidence is not higherOMC §9-1.216(h): permit approval 'does not authorize an applicant to connect... The applicant is responsible for obtaining such approval or permission from the local utility provider' -- i.e. the applicant/installer, not the City, deals with the utility for interconnection/PTO.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/44870860
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Ojai against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Ojai is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (both, in-house); Fire plan review/inspection is delegated to the Ventura County Fire Protection District (VCFD, Station 21)
- Delegated to
- Ventura County Fire Protection District (fire only)
- Why not higher
- The City's own Building and Safety Division page names an in-house Building Official (Stephanie Spieler) and Building Inspector (Colton Herbruck), both on @ojai.ca.gov emails, with no contractor-firm domain anywhere in the staff list -- Building and Electrical are self-performed, not contracted out. Ojai Municipal Code Title 9 (Ch.1 Art.1, §9-1.101/.102) adopts the 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CPC/CMC/CGBSC/CFC 'as the City Building Code' by reference (Ord. 969, eff. 1/8/2026), and Article 7 amends the CEC's own permit/enforcement sections naming 'the Building Official' as the enforcing officer -- so electrical sits with the same Building Division, not a separate agency. Fire is a different story: the City's own Public Safety page states 'Fire Station 21 [Ventura County Fire Department] serves the City of Ojai', and the Building Division's own posted 'Form 610 Fire Permit Application' is VCFD's own form (dated Jan 1, 2023) required for new construction, additions, and fire-code-regulated occupancies -- confirming VCFD, not the City, holds fire plan review/inspection. VCFD's own current (FY2026-27) fee schedule carries no residential PV fee line at all (only 'Commercial Photovoltaic Systems $396' and three ESS lines), a control-checked absence (positive control 'fire'=65 hits, fabricated 'zzqqx'=0), meaning most ordinary residential rooftop PV jobs likely never generate a separate VCFD submittal.
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $349 flat, for residential solar < 10 kW (includes permit issuance, plan review, and inspection).88%
- Portal
- Accela Citizen Access (aca-prod.accela.com/OJAI) -- linked from the City's own 'Public Portal' page as the 'Citizen Portal' for building and planning records.80%
- Electrical code
- 202388%
- Own placard wording
- No68%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone88%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 68%
No
Size, colour & material 65%
Not specified locally
Where they go 60%
Not specified locally
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.